Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler will appear on VoB on Sunday (6/7/2014) to explain the Muni Tax

The recently implemented Municipal Solid Waste Tax will be a burden on most Barbadians because it will only affect a percentage of the population, mainly the middle class. It is true that when a government needs money to effectively run a country that they increase taxes, but this would be done across the board so that everybody would be tax and not just a few. We all know that Barbados is not a manufacturing country and depends solely on a fragile tourism and sugar industry to earn foreign exchange. The only other method to raise money to run the country and pay it’s multitude of foreign loans is to increase an already over burden tax society is to implement more taxes. Since all countries implement new taxes from time to time, it is expected by society that at some time their taxes will increase, but it is the manner in which it is done. In most countries, the government would go to public with a referendum or sensitize them regarding their intended plans to raise money through increasing or implementing a new tax. In Barbados case, the current government did neither of the two. The strategy used by the government is one of a dictatorial or strong arm method of imposing this new tax and which would not have gone down well in other countries. In some countries the public would be openly voicing their opinion through picketing, petitions to the government or marching to show their disapproval, especially regarding the manner in which it was done. What has happened to democracy in Barbados in recent years? Barbadians need to stand up for their rights and stop grumbling for nine days and sweeping things under the carpet and speak out, demonstrate, picket, bombard the press and boycott when their rights are being infringe on.

If the government had come to the people and stated beforehand that they have to raise the taxes or implement a new tax, the public outcry or backlash would not be as great, since the majority of the public understands that from time to time governments would have to increase or raise new taxes. In this case, this tax is an unfair tax since Barbados does not have a Waste Treatment Plant and the general public already pays taxes for the collection of their garbage.

Also, every occupied house has a well, a grease trap and in some cases a septic tank on its property which from time to time the occupant has to pay an independent contractor to draw off when it becomes over filled. I could understand if this tax was implemented for those on the South Coast who are connected to the sewerage system. Since Barbados does not have a Solid waste plant in place and this was discuss and implemented in Parliament two years ago, why is it that the government is now all of a sudden dropping this tax on the people  like the way the bomb was dropped on Hiroshima? The government had plenty of time to sensitize the public regarding their plans to introduce this tax, or is it because the economy is so bad and that they are doing it as part of the reconstruction of the economy and to raise finances to help pay for its multitude of foreign debts that are either overdue or about to become due?

Since this tax does not affect the entire society, I would like to know who is paying the taxes for those tenants who are living in government houses areas free of cost and the upscale government houses which use as much or more garbage than the average household. What the government should have done was to introduce across the board a 0.1 % tax on every working individual salary so that everybody would be paying the tax. This would not have been too burdensome on the tax payer and in cases where there are multiple workers in a household, means that they would be paying more and it would balance back out evenly. If a person had to pay on a site value of $200.000.00 a 0.1 % tax, they would only have to pay $200.00 for the year by the number of people working in that house hold. Soon Barbados will become one of the most expensive places in the world to live because of its tax structure, which in turn will be a deterrent for returning nationals or others who might want to consider living here. The government cannot continue to raise taxes as a quick fix every time they need to raise money to bail out the country for one reason or another. The government needs to find new ways of raising funds and one of the main ways especially if it wants to save a fragile tourism industry from going under is to have two or three casinos, which should have been done years ago. The government has to bite the bullet with regards to the casinos, since a small selected few already control a plethora of one arm bandits on the island which they do not benefit from other than from a license fee. There are lots of other ways that the government can create jobs and in many cases save a lot of wasteful expenditure, however, I will leave that to the technocrats and experts to figure out since they are the ones being paid huge salaries and fees to run the country affectively.

122 responses to “Unfair ‘Muni’ TAX”

1. well again it is back to the same noise that keeps echoing across the halls of BU,,,,,BTW miller the loud mouth Prophet,,,did u march,,,,,,seems like BUsh Tea has been silenced amidst all of the advised he gave ,,one suggesting that Saturday would be the best day,,well bush Tea at least you have proven to ALL that You do not have the wisdom of king solomon….BTW there are still five more days left maybe You can pick another day ,,eventually you would be right,,,,,

2. @ AC
    you can offer yourself as a LAB RAT

3. Miller said:
    “And, of course, the political class will always look out for itself by retaining subscriptions to political parties by parliamentarians to be an allowable deduction.”

All that shit should also stop, all these perks to pimphood holders, Judges who are not really working hard enough to free up the embattled Judiciary that is now a huge turn off for foreign investors, corrupt politicians who take bribes anyway, so what the hell do they need duty-free concessions and perks for, they make enough on bribes/extortion to banks millions in everyone’s accounts.

Those are the real parasites that i believe Miller is alluding to……

4. What is the electricity bill for all Govt Offices (Schools, Polyclinics,etc) ? The BWA spend millions every month in electricity to pump water. Government investment in renewables especially solar would save millions of dollars . There is no justification no increasing taxes .

5. Sorry , that should read – there is no justification for increasing taxes.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Don’t worry about AC, he was a fervent supporter of the BLP before he and Liz Thompson fell out. He is a yardfowl for hire.

7. Caswell Franklyn | July 7, 2014 at 7:33 PM

Don’t worry about AC, he was a fervent supporter of the BLP before he and Liz Thompson fell out. He is a yardfowl for hire.|
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

lol……..

8. Why complain about the Muni Tax when we the people of Barbados asked for it; by voting these competent people in who love the poor people so much that water rates went up, gas went up, food prices escalating, hospital in crisis, public servants sent home, some waited long before they could get their money, and not sure if all received their money as yet. If another new tax comes our way, just pay it, don’t say a word, don’t ask any questions, our beloved politicians love when we are like that and that is why they can get away with it because this is Barbados. How sad we are!

9. Colonel Buggy Avatar

When I went pass the Tax Office in Oistin this morning, the line of people awaiting to pay their MSW Tax, snaked all the way outside. The average Bajan are people who in general respect the law , and who do not like being in debt to anyone. I am not speaking here of the newer middle class. Those whom we have elected, know this, and are not aversed to taking advantage to this good naturedness.
    Many of those people I observe in the tax queue were pensioners, and that explained why, earlier on while conducting business at the Oistin Post Office, on a day when Pensioners could be seen in a long line stretching outside of the post office doors, that there were only three customers in the post office.
    The Government gave these pensioners their monies in one hand and then quickly snatched it back by the other.

10. Have you observed this taking place at any other post offices,The Land Tax Department and the other branches where you can pay this Muni Tax. Poor old people who are too feeble to speak. Some may not eat but rather pay their bills first. It is my hope that one day, we as a people will say something, so the politicans will get the message that Barbadians will no longer tolerate this nonsense that is going on.

11. It is amazing to see the long lines paying the muni tax made up of pensioners, what an abomination.

12. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@iiwatchya
    It is my hope that one day, we as a people will say something, so the politicans will get the message that Barbadians will no longer tolerate this nonsense that is going on.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    In the spaghetti western, The Good , the Bad and the Ugly, Eli Wallah’s character is heard to comment…. ” One bastard gone in and another bastard comes out. ” That’s the way with our politicians.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (BU):

Do you know if this Solid Waste Tax is also intended to underwrite the cost of removing the thousands of abandoned and derelict vehicles that now “uglyfy” the many communities and scar the once green and pleasant countryside?
    These derelict vehicles represent a clear and present danger not only as environmental ‘blotches’ to a so-called tourist destination but also a threat to public health by providing havens and breeding grounds for vermin and other vectors of diseases.

Why couldn’t the tax be tied to the water bill now that there is a programme to meter all households? Why not a separate line item called “The Sewage & Solid Waste Charge” but calculated at a very small rate and tied to the volume of water used?
    In that case every household would be covered with the concomitant benefit of encouraging water users to conserve.

14. @ Colonel Buggy
    ….skippa, you does talk more shiite than Bushie and Pieceuhderock put together…. 🙂

@ Miller ….hush do!!!
    You sound just like the politician you are….
    Tax shiite….why should we be paying a tax to fund Bizzy in the first place….?

Oh wait….
    Um is wunna party that sign most of these contracts with Bizzy ent it?
    You know bout the desalination scam?
    You know about the 3S scam?
    Wunna was waiting to sign the Red Jet juck-out-eye?
    You know who signed this plum garbage deal?
    You probably know why we paying $240M for a $15 M plant to CAHILL ….

Shiite man….things so sweet for Bizzy that he bring in his Jamaican pal from Sandals for some of we sugar…..

The question is not only HOW the tax is calculated …but WHY we have these shitty contracts with Bizzy
    …YOU KNOW?!!!

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

What nonsense are you talking? There is absolutely no need for any new tax. All they need to do is collect the outstanding VAT that has been collected and not paid in to Government which is already in excess of $1billion.

16. Colonel Buggy Avatar

We see many a plantation house, occupied,surrounded with many many acres of bush and grass. It would be interesting to see how much,if any, in the way of this Solid Waste Tax has been leveled on them,given the fact that the small farmer with half acre or so of land which he works for a living, has been hit hard. This goes counter to what Tom Adams had done, penalise land owners who allow their properties to go to waste.
    But it isn’t in the Government ,or any minister’s,interests to promote agriculture, when they eventually become better off when the land is converted to residential use . The government could then impose a Solid waste Tax,on the householders and the Minister, a GHL, grease hand levy,on the developers.

17. It is good to see that certain people/organisations now feeling the pinch. The people that were sent home, and the manner in which is was done, not a cent for some. Where were the voices of the Bar Association, BARP, Boy Scouts and others. It shows us how selfish we are. It took something like this to happen. It is now affecting most of us. It really was not a well thought out tax at all. I hope that Minister Inniss will keep his word. But thanks for listening to the people,

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Caswell Franklyn | July 8, 2014 at 9:06 PM |

Miller

What nonsense are you talking? There is absolutely no need for any new tax. All they need to do is collect the outstanding VAT that has been collected and not paid in to Government which is already in excess of $1billion.@@@

We Agree, go get the money MOF,,, and leave the People alone , Lowe down and dirty got 5 Million start there,

19. Colonel Buggy. Avatar
    Colonel Buggy.

Saw a Pensioners,Land Tax and Solid Waste Tax bills today. Land Tax for the year 2013…………….. $10.00
    Municipal Solid Waste Tax…………$290.00
    Property.—–House spot with old timber house.

There are property owners out there ,who have two storied buildings, either rented out in apartments or by rooms ,which generates relatively more solid waste, yet are paying less than this pensioner.

“The Best Government that we ever had”.

20. Colonel Buggy. Avatar
    Colonel Buggy.

But lets be honest, some Bajan Businessmen for years have been levelling a very high Solid Waste Tax on poor Bajans. On a 6 X 4 foot piece of land, with a small dwelling , attracted a cost on average in excess of $12000 – $15000 . The more affluent,like Ms Fenty , may have to fork out a cool $1/4 million.

21. Colonel Buggy,
    How much should the poor Bajans be paying if you had to build a house for them? I suppose you would build it free of cost, you have no bills to pay, no children to feed, no utilities etc., To me I don’t see the correlation between the two.