Submitted by William Skinner
Bizzy Williams,  leader of the entrenched white corporate class, slapped him down and reminded all and sundry who pays the bills and calls the tunes.
Bizzy Williams, “leader of the entrenched white corporate class, slapped him down and reminded all and sundry who pays the bills and calls the tunes

Our erudite Prime Minister, Mr. Freundel Stuart spoke the truth, when he said that there are powerbrokers that want to control black politicians but want no contact with the masses. As the Prime Minister said: “They don’t want to dirty their hands.” In other words, they avoid politics but want to be powerbrokers within the system. He also asserted that he is proud to be of the political class and that this class knows how to bury their differences when it is necessary.

Former Prime Minster, Erskine Sandiford, once reminded a group of corporate heavy boys that he was “not elected in a board room”; Dr. Don Blackman reminded us that there were white shadows, whose main focus was to influence and control the black political management class and another former Prime Minister, Mr. Owen Arthur, called Mr. Harold Hoyte, a black power player, a “negrocrat”. When we examine these comments, we realize that Mr. Stuart is not that far off target.

On the heels of Stuart’s speech, we have the Mr. Ralph “Bizzy” Williams, informing us that wealthy business persons pump money into the elections campaigns of both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party. The revealed strategy, according to Williams is to be equally generous to both parties. He boldly proclaimed that he supports the PIG, which is the Party in Government. We note the acronym P.I.G- those who feed at the public trough.

Serious observers will no doubt connect the dots and understand that Williams’ decision to go public with his comments is an act of premeditated corporate political slaughter of the black political management class. While Stuart, the present leader of the black political class was touting his qualifications and immense love and association for his group; Williams the leader of the entrenched white corporate class, slapped him down and reminded all and sundry who pays the bills and calls the tunes.

During the last campaign, citizens were concerned about the expenses incurred and wanted to know how the parties, BLP and DLP, were financing the elaborate entertainment packages, advertisements and dishing out of hard cash. They were told by Mr. Dale Marshall of the Barbados Labour Party, that their efforts were being financed by car washes and cake sales. Mr. Ronald Jones of the Democratic Labour Party said that the DLP received a “$500 here and there” from supporters. We recently learned that candidates spent over two million dollars to finance their efforts. This represents a whole lot of cake sales and car washes. It takes quite a bit of ‘here and there” contributions to reach that level.

Well, Williams have exposed them. If Jones, Marshall and Williams are speaking the truth, it means that somebody is lying. I totally agree with Mr. Peter Wickham, pollster and political scientist, who opines that unless we know the level of corporate and other donations, the figure of two million dollars that was given as the official sum spent by candidates, in the last elections, is useless.

The apologists and loyal defenders of the BLP/DLP, and those who support the corporate class should now realize that our country is about to undergo or is already undergoing, a very serious and dangerous shift, in its political/corporate culture. As the old people say: “Those who have eyes to see let them see.”

140 responses to “Black Political Class Funded by White Elite”

1. Digicel wants Viber, Tango, Nimbuzz providers to pay

RENUKA SINGH
    Published: 
    Sunday, July 6, 2014

Caribbean mobile provider Digicel has effectively barred users from accessing popular “free calls” applications Viber, Tango and Nimbuzz. Digicel has blocked free voice calling applications that utilise the Voice Over Internet Protocol (VoIP) on its service. In an e-mail exchange with the Sunday Guardian, Digicel’s comunications manager Penny Gomez confirmed the ban.

“Unlicensed VoIP operators like Viber and Nimbuzz use telecoms networks to deliver their services, but they do not pay any money for the privilege. “This unauthorised activity puts enormous pressures on bandwidth—which means customers’ data usage experience is negatively impacted as a result,” she said. “As such, Digicel has been forced to take firm action to prevent this parasitic activity.” Gomez said VoIP services by their nature are network intensive and given priority in terms of delivery across the network.

“Which in turn means that other customers’ browsing will be impacted. Digicel uses a separate network for voice so that quality on our 4G network is not impacted by our own voice service,” she said. She said while Digicel “invested millions in its network and business,” unlicensed VoIP reaped the benefits with no capital investment. “The situation is untenable on a medium- to long-term basis and so we are taking a stand,” she said.

Gomez said while it was “unfortunate” that Digicel was forced to take this step, the VoIP providers should pay “a fair price for the services that they are currently taking from us for free.” She did not disclose how much money Digicel lost as a result of the free services. “Once an agreement is in place, then Digicel will have no hesitation in allowing customers to once again use their services,” she said.

In a release on social media, Digicel repeated the statement. The company also likened the free service to a shopper taking goods for free. “Just as a consumer would not expect to go to a supermarket and take the goods off the shelves for free, so the VoIP operators must be forced to pay their dues so that our customers can feel the benefits of our investments,” the company said. 

Viber founder to challenge move
    The Sunday Guardian contacted Viber founder and chief executive officer Talmon Marco, on Twitter, informing him of the ban and asking “What is triggering these developments?” Marco replied, “You mean, why are they doing this?” The Sunday Guardian replied, “Yes. Is Digicel expecting payments for their infrastructure?” To which Marco replied, “I believe Digicel is already paid for the use of its infrastructure—by its customers.”

When asked if he intends to bypass any security bans Digicel may put in place, Marco said, “If they (security bans) exist, yes. They will be bypassed automatically in a day or two.” Digicel has already blocked its customers from accessing the applications in Haiti and Jamaica, before imposing the ban in T&T. On July 2, the Jamaican Gleaner reported Marco as saying that Viber “will soon be up and running, notwithstanding efforts by Digicel and Lime to derail it.”

In a series of Twitter exchanges with Jamaican Gleaner reporter Richard Browne over the past two days, Marco seemed confident that Viber would be able to bypass the software block. Marco tweeted then that “the Viber system should finish bypassing this block in the next few hours. Users may want to rethink their choice of carrier,” he tweeted. One day later, he asked, “Is it working now?” Sunday Guardian understands that in Jamaica, Digicel’s block has not been bypassed by any of the free calling applications.

In a media release yesterday, majority state-owned provider Telecommunications Services of T&T and its mobile arm Bmobile said it “declined from offering any comment on Digicel’s decision to block VoIP service providers.” BMobile said it should be noted that VoIP was an inescapable feature of modern telecommunications.

“BMobile’s policy on the matter as far as use of VoIP on its mobile network is concerned is that we provide customers with a conduit to voice and data services. Customers pay us a subscription fee for this access and once customers have bought data services from bMobile, customers determine how they wish to use their data,” communications manager Graeme Suite said.

“VoIP essentially is data on the mobile network much like e-mail, YouTube, social media or downloading apps and games. Each local provider must therefore decide, based on what it knows of the capabilities of its network, how to treat with customers using VoIP,” he said.

TATT: It’s a retrograde step

Chairman of the Telecommunications Authority of T&T (Tatt), Selby Wilson, yesterday described the block as a “retrograde step.” “That is where the technology is going,” Wilson said, in a telephone interview yesterday. 

2. Digicel bans/ block free IP calls from android apps like Viber & Tango.
    Boycott Digicel , they trying to hold us back.They want to keep robbing us blind.
    They can’t stop the internet revolution, boycott them and leave them behind.

3. Cellular providers block ‘free’ call apps in Caribbean angering consumers
    A decision by one of the Caribbean’s largest cell phone companies to block popular Internet call apps from using its network is catching the wrath of consumers.

BY JACQUELINE CHARLES, JCHARLES@MIAMIHERALD.COM
    July 10, 2014 | Updated 6 hours ago.

Rise up against these vampires like digicel

4. Trinidad & Tobago telecom regulator intervenes as Digicel blocks VOIP apps on its network
    Posted on July 10, 2014 – 9:13 amNo Comment

The Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad & Tobago (TATT) has requested Digicel to restrain from blocking customers from using third party Voice over Internet Protocol (VOIP) applications like Viber and Skype while it conducts an investigation into the matter.

Digicel had earlier this week informed customers that they would no longer be allowed to use VoIP applications over the company’s cellular network infrastructure. The move blocked customers from utilizing Viber and other services.

But in a statement issued late Tuesday night, the telecommunications regulator said that it had requested that “Digicel consider its position in relation to the provision of access to consumers such that all consumers in Trinidad & Tobago are treated equally in the interim period.

“Whilst the regulator has made no determination or decision in the matter, we believe that the maintenance of the provision of these services in the interim period would be in the best interest of all stakeholders and would allow the regulator time to engage in this process in a calm and constructive manner,” TATT added.

Digicel said it has “considered the authority’s request and welcomes the tone and spirit in which it was made. “Digicel is willing, in light of the regulator’s commitment to carefully review these matters in consultation with the industry, to accede – effective July 09 – to (TATT’s) request in the interim period whilst preserving its rights in relation to the matter generally.”

Digicel said that it has been engaged in discussions with TATT and has sought to relay its concerns relating to the use of these applications and the attendant impact they have on consumers in Trinidad & Tobago

5. Digicel is trying to hold back progress & continue to milk the people of the Caribbean for more & more money . Apps like viber,tango & Skype are reducing the cost of telecommunications .People can save millions of dollars on local/international / regional calls.This can translate into a reduction in the cost of goods & services / businesses locally /across the region / world.
    THEY CAN’T STOP POROGRESS.
    Stop them now, before they gain any ground. Power to the people , if they shut us down we will boycott digicel & run them out of town.

6. Iwatchya

You need not waste your precious time trying to convince Bush Tea that he is a major distraction on the BU blog. Because he obviously seems to think that he is the smartest man on the blog who gives the blog its very purpose, but in reality: he merely an egotistical noncompoop who stink up the blog with his ever present halitosis. The bottom- line is it would serves you best to ignore Bush Tea because his profound intellectual disability, prevents him from realizing that he is an old decrepit fogy, who is probably in the early stage of mental decline.

7. John | July 10, 2014 at 10:13 PM |

lemuel | July 9, 2014 at 8:59 AM |

How dumb shall we continue to be here on BU. The whites in Barbados realized that their corporate structure shall broken into pieces to be OWNED by Blacks. The White solution was to GIVE AWAY their businesses to WHITE Trinidadians!!

Iwatchya and concious speak to that!!

I just want to point out the obvious ….. this is so far from the truth as to be ridiculous.

Plantations Ltd. Todds Estates etc. went to CLICO and Cyril Duprey.

By no stretch of the imagination could your generalization hold in CLICO’s case.

CLICO is identified in my mind with Leroy Parris, Cyril Duprey and David Thompson.

I can’t think of a “white” face involved in the CLICO mess but I am sure there are some.

…. and then the Barbados Government sold its shares in BNB and ICBL to mention but two.

Again your generalization does not stand.

People on here generally describe the GOB as “Black”!!

What you could say in the case of the GOB, assuming the description of the GOB as “Black” is valid is that “Blacks” in Barbados realized their ability to manage and control corporate structures in Barbados was lacking so they gave away their businesses to Trinis interests and others …… now all we have to do is to determine the colour of the Trini interests that received the gifted businesses!!

The truth is that the only colour that matters is the colour of money, and that is neither black nor white!!

Neal and Massa’s acquisition of BS& T …… shares held by both black and white Bajans came down to money …. and its use!!
    ++++++++++++++++

I am amazed that the brainwashing of a few intellectually bankrupt politicians and their lackeys over the years could so blind a person to the reality of several situations.

8. Iwatchy

Question: what is so special about being a White man? You have accused Bush Tea of speaking negative again White people because deep down inside Bushie wants to be White. Well, I take affront to that comment because it seems as though you’re insinuating that White is something to be desired? Now, when one examines the content of your statement, one can’t help but to concluded that it is loaded with a racial- supremacy. Furthermore, I must ask this question: why would you arrive at that conclusion rather than assuming that Bush Tea harbors a genuine dislike for some White people? Think about your thinking for a moment sir!

9. Iwatchy

I respect what the White has done to advanced our human civilization, but he is to be desired no more than the next man. Some Black people must overcome this flawed thinking, that the White man is something to be desired and I am not a bigot in any respect.

10. Dompey | July 11, 2014 at 8:50 AM |

Furthermore, I must ask this question: why would you arrive at that conclusion rather than assuming that Bush Tea harbors a genuine dislike for some White people? Think about your thinking for a moment

I wonder if you are saying you have reached the conclusion that BT is a racist.

Disliking people based on skin colour …….

11. John

If Bushie is a racist as you seems to suggest, than I am quite sure he has his reasons for thinking as he does. ( that’s not my concern) The fact of the matter is there are some valid reasons why some black people think as they do, as far as some White people are concern. Now, John, I hope you have taken note of the fact that I haven’t used an ABSOLUTE to described the race of White? The people who think in these terms are obviously, misinformed, shortsighted and wilfully ignorant in my estimation.

12. If a person dislikes anyone based on their skin colour in my book that makes the person an absolute racist …. and there are many such persons.

13. @ John
    What Bushie dislikes are idiots who insist on imposing their ignorance on others….

What the donkey actually said was that HE THINKS that Bushie dislikes SOME white people….
    Knowing Bushie, he probably dislike some black people, some red people and some shiite people too…

YOU ….then join in your idiocy – talking about “Disliking people based on skin colour ….” ..or some such irrelevant shiite….
    You don’t know the meaning of SOME……?!?

Bushie knew that some shiite was wrong when you wrote two sensible posts yesterday….. You probably blew your last remaining brain cells in THAT process 🙂
    Wuh…
    If Bushie was a racist would Lowdown continue to be in the Bushman’s top drawer? You read Lowdown? ….you should read him and see what a sensible, thinking, Bajan white man is all about….
    BB…

14. i do not care what you all think of me.
    but my fellow bajans we can not forget the massive loans made to barbados by mostly white nation BANKS.
    England,canada,Europe,china, and so on.in this equation.
    that money comes into play as i was saying before.
    payback is our land. is it not??????
    payback is most hotel’s being owned by foreigners.
    and so on.
    as a bajan i know you know what i saying.
    the English and others have practically taken over barbados .!
    exactly as David noted in hotels,and other institutions employing and getting permission to bring more outsiders to take bajan jobs.
    this is ridiculous.with all our highly educated Barbadians they can not find a bajan to do the job.[fantasy].
    what do we import the most?
    why can some rich black or white or both produce these things we import.
    TV sets,cars,all things barbados has the people and the brains to make our own.
    we must make our own products.
    or we are going down the path to dependency on the outside world.
    that is where we are now.
    one question off this subject completely is where is Mr bejorkum the man that shot and killed his son.???
    are the cruse ships and the hotel’s paying their share to keep barbados together?
    are the tour companies paying their share .they are after all the ones benefiting most from these cruse ships .
    i bet a million us dollars or more is given to them in tips every year.
    where is that going?
    we have the brains and the skills to make our own brands.
    why is barbados not on this path?
    just a thought ,
    no need to curse me please.

one more thing . are these English that are buying up barbados descendents of our old slave masters????
    the joke would really be on us if they were.
    they would be using the money made off the backs and blood of the slave trade to buy back barbados .how ironic would that be.?

15. Barbadosadvisor

Brother/ sista, you’re making good sense but I am afraid to inform you that you’re beating a dead – horse, as far as attaching any attention to your wise suggestions. I spoke of the need for scientific inquiry and technological innovation yesterday, rather than focusing too much of our energies on working the land, and someone asked if I was on the loose from Black – Rock.

16. Barbadosadvisor

Brother/ sista, don’t waste your precious time and energy because you’re not dealing with progressive thinkers. The scope of their understanding prevents them from grasping the bigger picture. How can any progressive minded person in the year 2014 limit his/her hopes and dreams to tourism and working the land? It that conducive to this new global economy?

17. David, there is a dying need to attach some of the forward thinking young men and women to the BU blog. I expressed this desire last year and here we are in the year 2014 with these antiquated and backwards ideas, throw around by people who have obviously run out of productive ideas.

18. “Methinks the lady doth protest too much”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_lady_doth_protest_too_much,_methinks

However, on a more serious note the Trini Company that gobbled up Plantations Ltd. and many other major assets in Barbados has a name in which Colonial features. Like KFC, it was shortened to make it more palatable …… Colonial Life Insurance Company Ltd. became simply CLICO.

I am not the first to point this out …. I think it was while reading Lowdown many, many years ago that I discovered this amazing fact ….. if my memory serves me right.

Not only did CLICO re-colonise Barbados for its masters but it preceded the advent of Neal and Massa (I call it that) which took over BS&T, a Bajan company formed by merchants to compete against Plantations Ltd. way back in 1917 or thereabouts.

Now we can look “hither thither and yon” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRA2UY974Qs) and can see the name Massa up on supermarkets, stores and businesses the length and breadth of Barbados that were once proudly owned by Bajan interests.

It isn’t that I don’t like Trinis or that I am some kind of xenophobe, for heavens sake my Father was a Trini and I have lived all over the world.

It is just that I like pointing out the inconsistencies that result when supposedly well educated Bajans who have always said the opposite up and gave away the family silver.

19. John

It does not matter if Trinidad owns 99.99% of Barbados and Barbados does likewise, isn’t that the way in which this new global economy suppose to work? Correct me if I am wrong but shouldn’t we be working towards this unilateral global economy amiss the widespread trade protectionism of the past?

20. John, if Trinidad has the financial resources to manage the businesses in Barbados more efficiently and effectively, then I say more power to Trinidad.

21. Dompey

BS&T seemed to work fine from 1917 when it was founded until its takeover, getting up to a century.

Perhaps it was the assets built up over time or the bottom line that attracted Neal and Massa to offer to take it over.

Point is, access to financial resources doesn’t equate with efficient or effective management ….. ask CLICO!!

22. Dompey | July 12, 2014 at 9:10 AM |

John

It does not matter if Trinidad owns 99.99% of Barbados and Barbados does likewise, isn’t that the way in which this new global economy suppose to work? Correct me if I am wrong but shouldn’t we be working towards this unilateral global economy amiss the widespread trade protectionism of the past?

Do you really think the Global economy is that great?

23. ….. or sustainable?!!

24. Sometimes what is does not necessarily match what should be.

25. John is on a roll here again….

All these companies were managed 19th century style – where the owners hoarded assets, held back the advancement of modern dynamic employees, and depended on insider trading and protected markets to accumulate wealth.
    In the new business environment of the 21st century, these ‘leaders’ found themselves at a complete loss when challenged by the Trinidadians (where the racial dynamics were different and where dynamic, aggressive young business leaders were encouraged and promoted by the older owners)

Asset rich entities like BS&T, BL&P etc were snatched away from outdated jokers and essentially stripped of their reserves and then utilized as cash cows….
    In many cases, the gain realized on purchase nearly equaled the purchase price paid for these National assets…

What John is reluctant to admit, however, is that the UNDERLYING reason for the non-emergence of the required dynamic aggressive young businessman in Barbados is RACIAL…..as the predominantly white owner class (and their lackie political and administrative surrogates) tended to favor either women, or soft and unthreatening blacks for promotion while retarding the assertive, (and often aggressive) types that are needed to compete in the modern business place….

We have therefore found ourselves with a collection of ball-less persons in high positions, unable to compete with their international equivalents – and with many of our TRUE MEN doing shiite jobs like driving ZRs, selling herb and liming on the blocks.
    ….see if the WHOLE society don’t have to pay for this stupid and cowardly policy now…..

Talk bout brass……

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

What global economy what?
    Dont you all know that the global economy is a ploy that favors the rise of antichrist as predicted in Holy writ?

27. …… guess BT’s narrative explains the sale by the GOB of BNB, ICB etc!!

28. the Trinidadians (where the racial dynamics were different and where dynamic, aggressive young business leaders were encouraged and promoted by the older owners) ……

Like CLICO and Duprey enlisting David Thompson and Leroy Parris as the dynamic aggressive young business leaders!!

Oh Lord muh belly …. wulla

29. … and all made possible by the collapse of law and order where criminals go unpunished!!

The problem now is having sown the wind the whirlwind will follow!!

King James Bible
    For they have sown the wind, and they shall reap the whirlwind: it hath no stalk: the bud shall yield no meal: if so be it yield, the strangers shall swallow it up.

The world has been there and done that already ….. nothing new!

30. It is not your pot belly John…it is your hard head.

The politicians sold BNB and ICB because they are idiots and thieves – who were focussed on having MONEY…which can be diverted to personal accounts….unlike National assets.

They are idiots that are owned by the business people who buy them. …as Bizzy explained recently…..Idiots tend to be easily brought….

David Thompson and Leroy Parris were dishonest idiots who operated according to the crooked rules they came and found… …RATHER THAN BRING OPENNESS AND JUSTICE….
    However…If they were white they would have blended into the landscape smoothly…..

31. John, critics would have you believe that this new global economy, destroys the ability of states to regulate their national economies and that it favour the predatory private corporations. But the reality is this new global economy is designed with the expressed purpose of: allowing the free movement of goods and services, labour and capital, thereby creating a “Single Market” in input and output; and full national treatment for foreign investors( as in the case of Trinidad with respect to ownership in Barbados) and nationals working abroad, so that economically speaking, there are no foreigners John.

32. John, give little thought to the fact that Trinidad now owns more than haft of Barbados. Because if the Americans thought as you now do, where would America be today? Don’t you know that America own its success to its immigrant population?

John, you’re an intelligent man I suppose, so let me ask you this question: does it make any good sense to break up the world economy into 200 small pieces, bearing in mind of course, the protectionist policies of the past? Or would it benefit the smaller economies in the Caribbean and the likes, to have a global economy that best serve their interest?

33. So BT, you don’t consider a mortgage as owned by a bank, eg BNB to be an asset?

Do you consider the Capital invested in the elaborate buildings owned by BNB or ICB to be an asset?

A look at their balance sheets will show you just how much capital they own.

You haven’t addressed the CLICO, Duprey, Thompson, Parris link but instead you have gone of on a tangent.

Plantations Ltd. owned some of the most prime real estate in Barbados. CLICO, a Trini company purchased it. Duprey was the old brains according to you encouraging his young Turks, Thompson and Parris, one a politician the other not.

Your problem is really simple but you can’t solve it.

You have been so well brainwashed by the old time politicians to reduce everything to black and white that you cannot and will not look at the facts of each case separately.

Yet, they are there for anyone to see who cares to look and they do not fit your black/white thesis.

Each example contradicts it.

…. and I agree Barbados is missing its people of courage from the economy.

They are still there, but addressing a more pressing problem, corruption and spiritual wickedness in high places.

You see, the National Assets you speak of are valueless if something as simple as law and order is undermined.

Corruption and spiritual wickedness in high places has a habit of doing just that.

34. You’re rambling again John…..

35. Dompey

John, you’re an intelligent man I suppose, so let me ask you this question: does it make any good sense to break up the world economy into 200 small pieces, bearing in mind of course, the protectionist policies of the past?

People generally are rebelling against the Municipal Tax imposed on the improved site value of their land.

In the past, the GOB imposed an Environmental Levy on imports but this was removed.

Chris Sinkler claims the Environmental Levy discriminated against imports and would be taken straight to the CCJ. This was considered to be a protectionist policy of the past.

I’ll see if I can find his words.

Which tax would you prefer to pay?

36. “People have to know that it is because of the failing of the last administration that we are in the position that we are in now. But we have to do this [impose the tax]. It’s either you’re going to tax it on land, or put it on food. Either way it has to be done.

“And if you do it on imported stuff, it can’t be on imported stuff only, it has to be done on all production in Barbados,” declared Sinckler.

He blamed then prime minister Arthur for imposing an environmental levy which he said the current government was forced to remove because of challenges faced with CARICOM and the World Trade Organisation.

He warned:“If we do it that way again, straight to the CCJ [Caribbean Court of Justice], and the CCJ rightfully will say, ‘it is a tax against CARICOM imports into Barbados, remove it’.”

Sinckler argued strongly in defence of the tax was on land saying “if you have to pay [businessman] Bizzy Williams $30 million to treat garbage to reduce the volume of the garbage going to the Belle . . . there is nothing else.

“They ain’t no other landfill in Barbados. So if you don’t do waste to energy, and if you don’t extend the life, as it is, of the current cell, we have to take [millions of dollars] to get done. If we don’t do that, Barbados will have a problem where we have no place to put garbage,” he stressed.

Taken from Concerned Citizen’s comment in the blog on Muni Tax.

The BMA among others is squealing over the Municipal Tax charged on its members.

It would probably squeal if an environmental levy was placed on the output of its members so as to say Barbados has no protectionist policies but I suspect it would be a lot less.

37. If you notice Bizzy is on about the environmental levy in today’s press. No doubt he has figured out the Municipal Tax will probably not be paid and he will be short!!

However, I agree with his logic.

We will see now if the Government changes its tack and proves that “The Black Political Class is controlled by …….”

In this case I think the Black political class has got it wrong and anybody could correct them!!

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/bizzy-dump-waste-tax/

“Dump the municipal solid waste tax which targets landowners, and replace it with an environmental levy, which every consumer would pay.

That’s the suggestion from Ralph “Bizzy” Williams, chairman of Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre Inc., the major beneficiary of the revenue to be raised from the controversial tax.

Williams said he was speaking out because of concern over the growing dissent and agitation across the country over the tax.

His proposal, he added, was one way for Government to secure the revenue needed to deal with the problematic garbage situation and at the same time calm public anxiety.

Williams said an environmental levy on imports was the fairest and most equitable way for every Barbadian to contribute towards the disposal of the country’s waste. The money is collected at the ports of entry so Government is assured of receiving every cent, and the average homeowner would not be faced with a big bill.

“If you buy very little, that is you buy local food, take the bus and so on, you would not be affected by an environmental levy. [However], if you buy everything imported, you will rightfully carry your share of the cost of managing solid waste . . . . Government gets the money immediately and nobody has to write a big cheque,” said Williams.”

38. Sometimes it is good to get down to details and see how, and indeed if a generalization applies before you accept it as the truth.

That way you can avoid being brainwashed!!

39. Rambling again John….
    Wuh shiite man….this is what the bushman said AT THE VERY BEGINNING IF THIS SHIITE TAX THING

This DLP set has taken incompetence to a new low….
    We should have realized it when they came up with the cell phone tax….and then could not conceptualize a methodology…..

40. Bush Tea | July 13, 2014 at 6:59 AM |

Wuh shiite man….this is what the bushman said AT THE VERY BEGINNING IF THIS SHIITE TAX THING
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

You had a word in Bizzy’s ear down Cattlewash?

What is this world coming to?