Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler will appear on VoB on Sunday (6/7/2014) to explain the Muni Tax

The recently implemented Municipal Solid Waste Tax will be a burden on most Barbadians because it will only affect a percentage of the population, mainly the middle class. It is true that when a government needs money to effectively run a country that they increase taxes, but this would be done across the board so that everybody would be tax and not just a few. We all know that Barbados is not a manufacturing country and depends solely on a fragile tourism and sugar industry to earn foreign exchange. The only other method to raise money to run the country and pay it’s multitude of foreign loans is to increase an already over burden tax society is to implement more taxes. Since all countries implement new taxes from time to time, it is expected by society that at some time their taxes will increase, but it is the manner in which it is done. In most countries, the government would go to public with a referendum or sensitize them regarding their intended plans to raise money through increasing or implementing a new tax. In Barbados case, the current government did neither of the two. The strategy used by the government is one of a dictatorial or strong arm method of imposing this new tax and which would not have gone down well in other countries. In some countries the public would be openly voicing their opinion through picketing, petitions to the government or marching to show their disapproval, especially regarding the manner in which it was done. What has happened to democracy in Barbados in recent years? Barbadians need to stand up for their rights and stop grumbling for nine days and sweeping things under the carpet and speak out, demonstrate, picket, bombard the press and boycott when their rights are being infringe on.

If the government had come to the people and stated beforehand that they have to raise the taxes or implement a new tax, the public outcry or backlash would not be as great, since the majority of the public understands that from time to time governments would have to increase or raise new taxes. In this case, this tax is an unfair tax since Barbados does not have a Waste Treatment Plant and the general public already pays taxes for the collection of their garbage.

Also, every occupied house has a well, a grease trap and in some cases a septic tank on its property which from time to time the occupant has to pay an independent contractor to draw off when it becomes over filled. I could understand if this tax was implemented for those on the South Coast who are connected to the sewerage system. Since Barbados does not have a Solid waste plant in place and this was discuss and implemented in Parliament two years ago, why is it that the government is now all of a sudden dropping this tax on the people  like the way the bomb was dropped on Hiroshima? The government had plenty of time to sensitize the public regarding their plans to introduce this tax, or is it because the economy is so bad and that they are doing it as part of the reconstruction of the economy and to raise finances to help pay for its multitude of foreign debts that are either overdue or about to become due?

Since this tax does not affect the entire society, I would like to know who is paying the taxes for those tenants who are living in government houses areas free of cost and the upscale government houses which use as much or more garbage than the average household. What the government should have done was to introduce across the board a 0.1 % tax on every working individual salary so that everybody would be paying the tax. This would not have been too burdensome on the tax payer and in cases where there are multiple workers in a household, means that they would be paying more and it would balance back out evenly. If a person had to pay on a site value of $200.000.00 a 0.1 % tax, they would only have to pay $200.00 for the year by the number of people working in that house hold. Soon Barbados will become one of the most expensive places in the world to live because of its tax structure, which in turn will be a deterrent for returning nationals or others who might want to consider living here. The government cannot continue to raise taxes as a quick fix every time they need to raise money to bail out the country for one reason or another. The government needs to find new ways of raising funds and one of the main ways especially if it wants to save a fragile tourism industry from going under is to have two or three casinos, which should have been done years ago. The government has to bite the bullet with regards to the casinos, since a small selected few already control a plethora of one arm bandits on the island which they do not benefit from other than from a license fee. There are lots of other ways that the government can create jobs and in many cases save a lot of wasteful expenditure, however, I will leave that to the technocrats and experts to figure out since they are the ones being paid huge salaries and fees to run the country affectively.

122 responses to “Unfair ‘Muni’ TAX”

1. Every time I see or hear Christopher Sinckler , I remembered the remarks of the E D and H R officer of the organization, his C V could not even make the short list, for him to be interviewed for a research job
    Chris was working for a N G O after carrying E S bags , but years after a man call David Thompson with the help of Leroy Parris thief CLICO Policyholders
    Money and paid people to vote for Chris to get a seat in Parliament and today the people of Barbados are suffering from all sorts of dictatorial and strong arm method of imposing taxes and hardships netted out by a man that just cannot + or – and a bunch of DLP lowlifes that benefited from the thief CLICO policyholders money to buy their way to Parliament, one day coming some this country shall wakeup God put
    a HAND

2. One should venture where on has little or no competence. This solid waste tax shall have a trickle down effect. Rent shall increase for businesses and ordinary folk; land rent shall increase (poor people normally pay this) and generally that shall cause a number of connected things (prices in the supermarket) to drive inflation more in this economy. Every Barbadian shall be effected not only people with property!!

3. John:
    I viewed the video, but with all these benefits accruing to Barbados why am I paying a municipal solid waste tax. In fact my taxes on the whole should be going down not up!!!

4. Colonel Buggy Avatar

This is the second time that Barbadians tax payers have been asked , or forced ,to pay a solid waste tax. The first being $44+Million of our tax dollars going into the white elephant Greenland Landfill. Up to this day after ,a decade or more, not a single load of refuse has gone to that site. It looks as if our new Solid Waste Tax will follow a similar, with nothing to show for it over the next four years.
    Is part of this Solid waste Tax going towards the building of Greasy mout Lowe SSA mechanical workshop?

5. WAR HAS BEEN declared on the Municipal Solid Waste Tax.

Yesterday, the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) declared the tax must be repealed because it is “a bad tax, it is ill-conceived, disproportionate and excessive”.

And it has endorsed the proposal of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur to assist constituents with letters on the basis of inability to pay. That idea involves seeking exemption from paying the tax in writing from the Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler as outlined in the legislation if people are facing undue hardship.

BLP leader Mia Mottley said the party expected thousands will not pay the new tax – which charges land owners a rate of 0.3 per cent on the site value payable by those with an improved value on their land (that is, house or buildings on the land) – either because they cannot pay or will not pay.

“The Government cannot prosecute 5 000, 10 000, 20 000 people without collapsing the Court system . . . . Or, if people cannot pay, is the Government going to prosecute them?” she asked.

“The danger here is that a significant level of non-compliance impugns the integrity of the revenue measures and undermines the rule of law,” she added.

Speaking at BLP headquarters in Roebuck Street, The City, after a parliamentary group meeting, Mottley charged that Government had only extended the deadline orally, but the actual law to make this happen could not be amended without going back to Parliament.

‘A BAD TAX’

WAR HAS BEEN declared on the Municipal Solid Waste Tax.

nationnews.com

6. The tax is bad. But why should poor people not pay the tax only to be in collision with the Law. Yet, the Mia and Arthur are paying theirs. I know they have property. Show me by not paying and being prosecuted!! Let ALL the members of the BLP and Bobby Clarke protest by not paying the tax!!!

We all know that shall never happen. As usual poor people are to take the brunt of any back lash!!!

7. In the so called bastion of where democracy is found citizens demonstrated against the Iron Lady and the Poll Tax and the government had to pull back. Nothing like citizen power but Bajans are not there yet.

8. This tax for whatever reason has provoked the wrath of all Barbadians, the more the government seeks to explain the more people become pissed off. A tax is never liked but it must appear to be equitable.

9. Wayne Cadogan,

It is clear you need to deepen your thought processes on what EVIL WICKED TAXATION is in Barbados or anywhere else; what is it EVIL WICKED designs and purposes; what are its EVIL WICKED results, etc.

It is clear that you are making many false assumptions and assertions in your above address about TAXATION generally.

Anyhow, a certain future coalitional government regime in Barbados and of which the PDC will be a part shall ABOLISH ALL TAXATION in this country and replace it with the appropriate strategies and methods for the government fairly and properly coming by more of its own remunerations and for fairly and properly passing money from itself to the relevant others in commercial contexts in the country.

10. Lemuel | July 3, 2014 at 10:11 PM |

John:
    I viewed the video, but with all these benefits accruing to Barbados why am I paying a municipal solid waste tax. In fact my taxes on the whole should be going down not up!!!

So who is going to pay for the undertaking if your taxes go down?

Isn’t there already an Environmental levy you may say with some indignation?

That was then …. this is now may come the answer!!

11. The government cannot continue to raise taxes as a quick fix every time they need to raise money to bail out the country for one reason or another. The government needs to find new ways of raising funds and one of the main ways especially if it wants to save a fragile tourism industry from going under is to have two or three casinos, which should have been done years ago. The government has to bite the bullet with regards to the casinos, since a small selected few already control a plethora of one arm bandits on the island which they do not benefit from other than from a license fee. There are lots of other ways that the government can create jobs and in many cases save a lot of wasteful expenditure, however, I will leave that to the technocrats and experts to figure out since they are the ones being paid huge salaries and fees to run the country affectively.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….Where is the govt going to get the money to build two or three casinos those are billion dollar projects and are not sure guarantees to make ,money,,furthermore such projects are time consuming and takes longer to implement…also govt have to spend……Yes spend……Spend>>>> more on such project to collect in the long term that have built in risk and depends on other countries economies and economic stability to be profitable ,,,,,,,taking the burden off the taxpayer should have been thought of years ago with projects that would have further enhanced and produce the redevelopment of a stable barbados,,, .,,,,,,,,yes i agree that YOU wayne does not have any clue about how govts should be run and should leave it to the technocrats and experts to figure out,l

12. I know I am not paying the tax, them could do as they like but not a facking cent from me.

13. ac
    You jackass, if the stupid Min of Finance had realized he was an incompetent bastard who was incapable of being a Minister of Finance then we would not be in this position right now. Since 2010 Barbados should have taken serious action, like St.Kitts and other but we didn’t. Why? Because idiots like you and those who make up the DLP administration wanted to we an election even tho you and they knew you would ruin the facking country as a consequence.

This SHITE TAX will be the death or the undoing of the DLP, MARK MY FACKING WORDS.

14. fuk yuh drop jaw,,don;t pay ,,that is what happens when govts pretend to be living high off the hog and not saving for rainy days,,,, there is plenty of blame to go around starting with years of incompetency lead by happy go feeling govts,, and which now has landed the taxpayers in hot water ,,,don;t pay,,,,,and the country would suffer,,selfishness carries a high price,,,,,,

15. What needs to happen is to incent Barbadians who are willing to change behaviour to their pattern of consumption and producers who produce. We have it all backward thinking we are able to sustain unbridled consumption.

16. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

If you pay that TAX , you are a fool and need to be Broke.
    DBLP government is the biggest waste on the Island of Barbados and with about 30 scumbag lawyers, sucking the People like a blood sucking leech .. pay on some thing you do not even own or can show Clear title to ,
    Who ever pay that TAX id part of Barbados Problem.

Now you all can see clear what vote buying gets you All.
    Water up
    Taxes up
    Light Bill up
    Bus up
    Taxi up
    Road Tax up
    Gas up
    Vat up
    The Church Still want their 10%
    COURTS % Up
    Give UP on This DBLP PONZI,
    Remember $350,000 USD FOR Roll-Royce they bought with you TAXES
    How Long before you all get Fed UP.

17. For those persons who are on BU – under whatever threads – writing that they are paying TAXES, or that they are NOT paying TAXES, you had better think again about what you are writing.

For, the fact is that you CANNOT pay for any resource, good or service anywhere.

It is highly impossible and inconceivable to do so.

However, it is highly possible, conceivable, actual to pass any money, resource, good or service physically to another or to their possessions or their ownerships, in respect of any particular extant contractual arrangements.

The word “for” when used in such commercial senses in an entire assumption; it merely denotes which something or intangible is possible to have, get, obtain, use, etc .

Furthermore, the term “to pay” is defined on a certain online dictionary site as: to give over (a certain amount of money) in exchange for something.

Notwithstanding that reproduced definition of the term “to pay” is already absurd and illogical in any commercial context of doing business anywhere, it is furthermore clear that the meaning of the term “to pay”, or any other meaning of the term “to pay” that is apparently conceivably close to the above one, is so horrendous and pernicious to the proper use of language and meanings of such words/terms in the TAXATION process here in Barbados or any where else where there is TAXATION, that when anyone would seek to apply it, or does apply it to any circumstance where another is FORCED to hand over money (which represents some form of remuneration belonging to the TAX VICTIM) to this evil wicked criminal remuneration stealing robbing government of Barbados or any government elsewhere; or where that other finds that their commercial contract is being seriously violated when – in passing remunerations to the relevant others or in receiving such remunerations from the relevant others in commercial contexts – the government happens also at the same time to be illegally wrongly dishonestly taking from what is rightfully properly one’s remuneration properties portions of their remunerations that do NOT belong to it – that it has to be totally inconceivable to be rationally applying such a term to circumstances where this evil wicked TAXATION process is taking place in Barbados or any where else where there is such a process.

So really what is taking place in such circumstances of the government TAXING and permanently immorally wrongly dishonestly taking countless portions of what is one remuneration properties without your permission consent, is the stealing and robbing of the relevant portions of the remunerations of the relevant individuals, businesses, and other entities in this country.

So it is impossible to pay TAXES, or to NOT pay TAXES!!

TAXATION is theft, theft is evil, TAXATION is evil!!

18. In the last paragraph, fourth line in the PDC piece above , the term should have been “one’s permission consent” and not what it is written there.

Our apologies.

19. If there were ever a time in the post-independence history of Barbados for the majority of people of this country to REVOLT against the TAXATION system and the backward corrupt despicable DLP and BLP disorganizations in this country, it IS NOW!!

20. ac
    What has landed the people of Barbados in hot water is A TOTALLY FACKING INCOMPETENT GOVERNMENT. Now don’t get me wrong we voted for them so that means we wanted A TOTALLY FACKING INCOMPETENT GOVERNMENT and that is exactly we got and what we will continue to have.

BARBADOS is beautiful country with good people afflicted by a bad government. Owen said it correctly.

21. @Drop jaw and people like i who want to want to love large and loud without having to do little or nothing in provision or way to replenish. f uk negro ..this country is not about u and your selfish dead a.ss…if u belive u pull the wagon long enough tek uh dead a.sss where there is no wagon to pull.

22. OWEN, Oh Owen. Why every time you open you mouth we can see a blatant confrontation with your leader. Although you might feel that your decision to wring the MoF hands to give people a rebate might be your personal way of dealing with this crippling tax…..I am saying that your style is like going a begging with hat in hand. If you are so concern, why the hell you don’t show faith with Clarke by marching with the said signatories Saturday. When you brought the no-confidence against Sandi, did you envisage that three of his men would have gone against their leader. Come on Owen, stop the constant criticism of the leader of the Opposition in the public domain. If you want to be the next PM, go and form your own political party. During your tenure of leader, your parliamentary group towed the line, raised you and stood by your side even when the then opposition criticized you during your stint with the Jamaican Government. I am disappointed due to your childish behaviour. I always held you in the highest esteem my friend and mentor. It is not to late to make amends since the whole of Barbados is suffering and are looking up to someone to represent them during this and many crisis.

23. ac

You cannot even string a intelligent sentence together.

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

tell me why
    the only one who can help barbados now is JESUS

25. @ Tell me Why | July 4, 2014 at 12:54 PM

I could not agree with you more. I uttered similar sentiments when I heard the 12.30 news dramatically read by Stetson Babb.

When Mia brought the no confidence motion against the Stinkliar, I heard OSA with my own ears in the Park saying that Mia’s motion was even stronger than the motion he brought against Sandi in 1994. Now he is being critical. I just cannot understand him anymore. Does he not know that he is coming over as being spiteful? Mia is the leader, he should be towing the party line, not the other way round. He tolerated no dissent when he was PM or LOTO. He saddens me!

26. Adian Loveridge Avatar
    Adian Loveridge

The email address shown on the Municipal Waste Tax bill does NOT work and the telephone number printed just gets VOICE BOX FULL.
    I have reported it to the Commission of BRA silversm@barbados.gov.bb

27. One thing I can proudly say. I hold no brief for no one, regardless if it is Bee, Dee, Cee or Zee. This country in xhite street and we have to stand up for what’s right.

28. I got a piece of land which had a house pun in years ago before it was demolished and them send me tax bill with an improved value claiming my property is eligible to taxed. Idjuts all over Barbados.

29. Adian Loveridge Avatar
    Adian Loveridge

CORRECTION- Commissioner of BRA – siversm@bra.gov.bb
    I will advise if I get a response.

30. We have had this conversation about Arthur already, he obviously does not want to see MAM as leader, we wait to find out what is his reason. He undermining MAM should not be interpreted as vying for office.

31. David wrote “we wait to find out what is his reason.”

Owen has already stated his reason.

I can think of several “reasons” that include mosquitoes, elitism and privilege.

32. @Tell me Why | July 4, 2014 at 12:54 PM |
    “……………..Although you might feel that your decision to wring the MoF hands to give people a rebate might be your personal way of dealing with this crippling tax…..I am saying that your style is like going a begging with hat in hand. If you are so concern, why the hell you don’t show faith with Clarke by marching with the said signatories Saturday……………………

TmW,

Do you really think that this buffoon we have for a Finance Minister is going to even consider any rebates? Some may think that OSA’s position could be considered a waste of time and that the Stinkliar may have only put in that clause to pretend something can be done.

My take is that no one or not many will get a reprieve…………the Stinkliar has messed up this economy so much that he needs every cent he can squeeze out of us. The more taxes he imposes, the less he collects. Most of those letters will be thrown into the garbage bin. This tax has nothing to do with solid waste, it is to bring in revenue for the Stinkliar to misspend like he has been doing since 2010.

By the way, did you hear Fumble praising Darcy Boyce this morning on the 7.30 news? Did the fool we have for a PM not know …….”let another praise thee”. This Darcy Boyce who is responsible for the mess Barbados is in as a result of that first budget in 2008 when the taxes imposed then threw this economy in a tailspin from which it cannot rebound.

David Estwick said that…..the Dems are responsible for this mess!

33. I fuh one ent paying one fucking cent. I am so fucking sick of these johnnies it ent funny. Tell Chris to cah he cunt. If duh had more people like me, dem won’t collect one red cent in discretionary taxes. Just now I plan to get rid of de piece car so dat duh cah thief nuh more road tax from me when de year come. It is time to put de squeeze pon dese sons uh bitches.

Too many graduates and too many glorified pimps parading in parliament, pissing on poor people and playing puss puss catch a corner with taxpayer’s money. Shape tuh fuck up or pack wunna Georgie bundles.

As for de march dat duh got planned, I ain’t wasting my fucking time wid no rasshole gimmicks. I cud be wrong, and I usually am, but this time I feel dat I right, dese marches are just a pappy show for the masses.

De Dems got de country fucked up. Everybody and he next door neighbour knows it, but wunna watering down de protests effort with wishy washy ideals and objectives.
    Stop all de rasshole begging and start making demands. Do dis, dis and dat or else we gine do dis fus, den we gine do dis next and if wunna still feel dat wunna bad, we gine do dat, dat and even dat if necessary.

Don’t get tied up like the turncoats in Harmony Hall and Dalkeith.

34. Why is Estwick silent. Although he admitted the Barbados problems is due to this administration (his words). Yet, he refuse to show that he is the only one with balls. Me think those balls are flat and needs pumping back up. Lol.

35. TMw
    Maybe the pending BIG projects in this Ministry of Agriculture.

36. The outcry to the Muni Tax shows how reactive we are as Bajans. This tax was mooted we should recall when Inniss and Sinckler disagreed on the rate, .07 or .7%.

37. He has not been re-named Yestwick for nothing! These men wont stand up, they impotent as Bumba sung a few years ago.

38. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Drop Jaw
    This SHITE TAX will be the death or the undoing of the DLP, MARK MY FACKING WORDS.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    Don’t count on that. In the land of the blind,the one eyed man is king. With Owen, Mia and the BLP at odds with this MSW Tax, plus other issues, come next election, the Dumb Boy may well slip through as King again.

39. Colonel Buggy Avatar

But have you realise the deliberate timing of the commencement of this MSW Tax? Right at the start of crop over when Bajans are more interested in wuk up and jump up. If the natives become restless, no need for bullpistles, CS Gas, Batons and Head cracking, throw them a
    calvacade and a Last Cane do , and Bob’s ya uncle.,…….or rather Stephen.

40. Leff Dem …….you are one big effing joke. All you can do is to stay home and grumble and come here on BU and cuss. People are marching to be seen and heard. You come here with your cowardly self playing big bad maguffy and frighten to even stand up and be counted. Man get to rass fron bout here do!

41. David please delete the above duplicated post.

42. I am having a sneaky feeling that Owen has something under his sleeve. Don’t you feel surprise with the PM stating that the former PM idea of begging for a rebate might influence the MoF. Have anyone heard about any Land Tax rebate for disadvantaged people? Could those rebate applied to party supporters ONLY? People let’s have a conversation on these vicious taxes. It seems that Hurricane Arthur twin is lurking in Barbados blowing a storm to destroy Mia.

43. @darcy Cunt Boyce will be the next governor of de Central Bank.

44. This would not be a surprise. Is this not why he stabbed OSA in the back because he was not made governor?

45. TmW,

You would never believe that this is the same OSA the Dems crucified last year………….they went after him savagely.I wonder how he could take the nastiness they threw at him day in and nightly! Politics,eh? Whatever suits people’s fancy to fit their agenda!

46. islandgal,
    What time will the march begin? Want to be there!

47. Prodigal participants are asked to get there by 9.00 starts at 10.00

48. Thanks, islandgal.

49. @David July 4, 2014 at 2:48 PM “he obviously does not want to see MAM as leader, we wait to find out what is his reason.”:

He spent too much time around foolish Jamaicans and caught the homophobic disease from them. Traditional Bajans have not been homophobic at all.

He hates Mia because it is widely believed that she is a lesbian. Nothing at all wrong with being a lesbian.

If we can have a series of adulterers as Prime Ministers, and “yes” we have had a series of adulterous Prime Ministers I see no reason why we can’t have a lesbian as Prime Minister. Because adultery is ALWAYS deliberate and always sinful. Whereas homosexuality is jut the way a person was born. Like being left handed or right handed. NOT something that anybody plans.

But we Bajans too damn deceitful.