Tuberculosis in Barbados

Barbadians are alarmed at the news Tuberculosis (TB) has reared its head in Barbados. The Chief Medical Officer Dr. Elizabeth Ferdinand has reported one case so far in a secondary school – see Barbados Today report.- Click image to view presentation on Tuberculosis submitted by Dr. Georgie Porgie
235 responses to “Tuberculosis in Barbados”
-
Simple Simon raises many important points. I fully support vaccinations against TB and other diseases. However, I am interested as to how this child got exposed to TB. I understand that not being vaccinated puts one at risk of getting TB but to get the disease one still has to be exposed to the bacterium. So given that TB has not been reported in Barbados for many years, so long that most local doctors may never have seen a case, I am curious as to how the disease has been able to recur. Does the bacterium lie dormant for many years in the soil or somewhere until it comes into contact with an unvaccinated person or someone whose immunity system is compromised? Infection from outside i.e. via tourists or immigrants from places where TB occurs, seems to me to be the most likely route. Another question would be as to which other groups other than unvaccinated persons and dairy cows would be most likely to cause a spread of TB?
-
I know of a case where somone contracted it from a patient at a poly clinic.. The hospital took a while before they identified it. They were diagnosing it as something else. And we claiming to be first world with a shanty for a hospital.
-
Simple Simon you have described the charlatan that GP is. How can anyone take him seriously with the type of behaviour exhibited by him on BU. I hope that Big brother is not watching him spew his poison. If ever any of his students read the manifestos he has published here on BU they would be shocked. Elliot Rodgers was walking around looking sane enough to convince the police he was well and then went on to massacre six persons all because he didn’t get any sex from girls. There is no telling what this maniac GP will post next on BU. And he has supporters too like Le Mule and Bush Tea. Well Hitler had believers too!
-
i just wake up friends.lol
HAD A GREAT SLEEP AS USUALislandgal246 | May 28, 2014 at 8:04 AM |
I know of a case where somone contracted it from a patient at a poly clinic.. The hospital took a while before they identified it. They were diagnosing it as something else. And we claiming to be first world with a shanty for a hospital.
THIS IS NOT HARD TO BELIEVE
SINCE THEY HAVE NOT BEEN CASES OR YEARS THE YOUNG DOCTORS HAVE NOT SEEN CASES, and they are at a loss! SADYOU CANNOT MAKE A DIAGNOSIS OF A DIAGNOSIS IF YOU DO NOT KNOW ABOUT THE DISEASE or that it exists
IT IS HARD TO MAKE A DIAGNOSIS OF A DISEASE YOU HAVE NOT SEEN
THIS IS WHY MEDICAL STUDENTS DO CLINICAL ROTATIONS -
Hamilton Hill | May 28, 2014 at 6:52 AM |
What is even more shocking is that these are the ones that boldly claim to be washed in the blood of the lamb. Hippocratic oath notwithstanding, I pray for any and all patients that misfortune may send your way.NOW YOU ARE DISCRIMINATING AGAINST ME LOL
I STOPPED PRACTICING AND STARTED TEACHING BECAUSE I DIDNT WANT TO BE INFECTED BY BULLERS WHO DID NOT REVEAL THAT THEY WERE BULLERS DURING CLINICAL INTERACTIONS
WHEN I PRACTICED I WAS DAMN GOOD AT IT TOO
IF BEING WASHED IN THE BLOOD OF THE LAMB PRECLUDES ME FROM CALLING A BULLER A BULLER< LET ME CALL THEM BOTSY MECHANICS THEN
YOU CANT CONTRADICT MY SCHOLARSHIP OR THE MICROBIOLOGY PATHOLOGY OR THE PHARMACOLOGY IN MY PPT though lol
-
It has been reported that the Chief Medical Officer did a rapid assessment exercise and will continue to ‘monitor’ the 170 students. What does this mean?
-
GP…..i am sure you know that for some reason when Caribbean people travel to the US and get a TB test, it is more often than not false positive, i cannot remember the reason for that, i believe it was something to do with the vaccine given in the Caribbean that shows up false positive after a re-test, however, people do travel, Barbados is a tourism dependent island and TB bacterium is not extinct. in this case anything is possible.
-
What does this mean? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!
wHAT HAVE THEY DONE TO INVESTIGATE THE SITUATION AT LOUIS LYNCH? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!
I CAN THINK OF NO SITUATION WHERE THE LAZY FOLK IN THE MOH HAVE TRACKED DOWN ANYTHING DURING THE ALMOST 40 YEARS IVE BEEN IN MEDICINE
-
Well Well | May 28, 2014 at 8:52 AM |
yoU ARE OF COURSE CORRECT.THE STATISTICS IN THE FIRST PART OF MY PPT FROM THE CDC ON THE ASSOCIATION OF BULLIN AIDS AND TB MUST HOWEVER BE TAKEN VERY SERIOUSLY, ESPECIALLY IN THE LIGHT OF THE GAY LOBBY, AND WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO BRENDAN
PEOPLE WILL BE AFRAID TO SPEAK OUT FOR FEAR OF BEING PILLORIED
-
GP said:
“wHAT HAVE THEY DONE TO INVESTIGATE THE SITUATION AT LOUIS LYNCH? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!I CAN THINK OF NO SITUATION WHERE THE LAZY FOLK IN THE MOH HAVE TRACKED DOWN ANYTHING DURING THE ALMOST 40 YEARS IVE BEEN IN MEDICINE”
And of course past students and teachers of the Louis Lynch School dying of cancer means nothing to the lazy asses at the Ministry of Health or in the government, so little value is placed on the lives of their own people by these parasites in government.
-
I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO FIND THE CASE OF THE INVESTIGATION OF POISONING DEATHS VIA COUNTER FLOUR IN BUFF BAY JAMAICA IN 1976, AS AN EXAMPLE OF THE KIND OF INVESTIGATIVE WORK THAT THE LAZY FOLK IN THE MOH ARE INCAPABLE OF DOING.
BUT THEN WHY DO YOU THINK THAT SOME FOLK GO INTO PUBLIC HEALTH? NO ON CALL. YOU SEE VERY FEW IF ANY PATIENTS, AND YOU SIT ON YOUR BOTTOM AND SURPRES THE IDEA OF SHARP YOUNG DOCTORS.
-
Island:
I love you too; don’t I get points for that. Yet, I see you here blowing all kind of kisses to Bushie!! I believe that given the democratic society with in which I exist that I have a right to the freedom of association. If I choose Gerogie, then Island find some one else!! -
David | May 28, 2014 at 8:45 AM |
It has been reported that the Chief Medical Officer did a rapid assessment exercise and will continue to ‘monitor’ the 170 students. What does this mean?I CAN SEND YOU A PPT ON HOW THEY SHOULD PROCEED BUT
1 WHY SHOULD I TELL THEM HOW TO DO THEIR WORK — THEY GET PAID
2 THE BU AUDIENCE ONLY INTERESTED IN POLITICS AND TOPICS THAT DONT REQUIRE FACTS OR KNOWLEDGEWHY WASTE TIME?
-
It is not wasting time GP. The process of public alertness and advocacy is a process.
-
Understand the importance of:
• the organism
• the pathology
• the transmission
• the diagnosis
• the immunology and defenseTb is the leading cause of death due to a single infectious organism in the world, with 8 to 10 million new cases each year, and 2 million deaths/year. It is estimated that 1.7 billion individuals harbor latent tuberculosis. In the US, TB is declining after a resurgence between 1985-92. Although this resurgence of TB in the US has now been contained, the increase in therapy was accompanied by the emergence of multi-drug resistant tuberculosis (MDRTB). This is defined as strains resistant to two or more first-line drugs: isoniazid, rifampin, pyrazinamide, ethambutol, and streptomycin.
Risk factors for tuberculosis
Patients with HIV are more susceptible to M. tuberculosis. The incidence of TB in HIV-infected patients is 2.5-15% per year, which is a 50-fold risk increase over HIV-negative patients. The likelihood of progression to active disease following the initial exposure is greater than 40%, as against approximately 5% if HIV-negative. The risk of reactivating latent TB infection is 2-10% per year if HIV positive, but less than 0.1% annually if HIV negative. Other predisposing conditions are diabetes, malnutrition, drug abuse, poverty, and low educational levels.TB is one of one of the most common AIDS-related opportunistic infections. Prior to the Aids epidemic in 1981, the estimated incidence of MAC cervical lymphadenitis and MAC pulmonary infection were 300 and 3000 cases per year in the US, respectively. Prior to the introduction of HAART (highly active antiretroviral therapy) there were at least 20,000 cases of disseminated infection/year. HAART has significantly reduced this incidence.
Risk factors for MAC disease
For disseminated MAC disease, HIV infection is essentially the risk factor. Pulmonary MAC disease generally afflicts patients with underlying lung disease, although patients with HIV infection also occasionally develop MAC pneumonitis.NOTE AGAIN THE VERY CLOSE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN TB & AAIDS AND THUS WITH BULLERS OR BOTSY MECHANICS
-
Hants,
Here we have a medical illiterate of ACesque and Balaam”s ass pontification about a matter that he knows nothing about!
We read that Principal Vincent Fergusson denied knowledge of any case of tuberculosis, referring instead to “an upper respiratory tract infection”. Does this jackass know anything at all about TB?
He says “Maybe one of our students was exposed to a respiratory challenge.” However, yesterday afternoon, the Ministry of Health confirmed that the upper respiratory tract infection at the school was the contagious TB disease.The head said the child’s case was isolated and no one else was affected.
This debilitating disease IS MOST DEFINITELY A RESPIRATORY CHALLENGE.
DOES THIS JACKASS KNOW THAT THE DISEASE IS CONTAGIOUS AND FATAL?
DOES THIS JACKASS KNOW THAT THE DISEASE IS is spread through the air when a person sneezes, coughs or even speaks? -
Guess we may have to review the policy of allowing students entry to school on religious grounds.
-
Off topic.
Why is a Bajan playing test cricket for England.
Jordan finished with 5 for 29.
He began his career playing for Surrey as a British player, and although qualified for both England and the West Indies, he decided to play for England
How the fcuk did he get away while the West Indies team pack wjth shitehounds?
-
I thought that all students had to have certain immunizations to enter school. I did not know that some students were exempted on religious grounds -
Doesn’t TB require treatment over months? If so how can student after spending a week in hospital for TB be allowed back in school a week later?! -
i dont care about GP analysis.i refuse to partake or engage in any discussion that promotes hate speech using scholarly language to push a discriminatory agenda believing that no aattention would be given to the outrageous and bigoted comments..in the meanwhile inflicting psyschological pain on those they disagree.i will not remain silent and would do or take steps to discouraged any such behaviour
-
AC I totally agree with you! It is obvious the Doctor is unemployed. I wonder why?
-
Ping Pong | May 28, 2014 at 2:23 PM |
Doesn’t TB require treatment over months? If so how can student after spending a week in hospital for TB be allowed back in school a week later?!I DONT UNDERSTAND EITHER LOL
-
islandgal246 | May 28, 2014 at 2:30 PM |
It is obvious the Doctor is unemployed. I wonder why?
when you reach a certain age, you stay home ITS CALLED RETIREMENT LOL
I DO TEACH ONLINE. Much more fun especially if you have good students
LOL -
my dear Ac you can protest as much as you like
The more you protest, the more I will stress my view.BULLERS AND BULEES AND WICKERS AND WICKEES CAN BULL AND WICK AS MUCH AS THEY LIKE
BUT THEY MUST NOT TRY TO DETERMINE THE BEHAVIOR OF NON BULLERS AND NON WICKERS
WHETHER YOU LIKE Y ANALYSIS OR NOT, DOES NOT MAKE IT ILLOGICAL
WHETHER YOU PARTICIPATE OR NOT (and you have been by fretting and making your nasty remarks designed to inflicting psyschological pain on ME BECAUSE YOU DISAGREE WITH ME) YOU WILL NOT SILENCE ME
BULLERS AND BULEES AND WICKERS AND WICKEES MUST LEAVE NON BULERS ALONE
BA LING BALING
-
re The Lord Thy God | May 28, 2014 at 3:32 PM |
For so it was written: Georgie Porgie SHALL burn in the fires OF Hell. For he IS hateful in THE eyes of THE Lord.NOT HATEFUL MY LORD………… I JUST MOCKING THE WICKERS AND BULLERS lol
-
Students are allowed without immunization once approved by the ministry.
-
Little Baby Jesus
They cant refute the science or the logic for both are sound
They are left therefore to attack me, as if their attacks are not water of decks back.I am always willing to engage in repetition and I will be MOCKING THE WICKERS AND BULLERS, and my attackers lol
-
David | May 28, 2014 at 3:59 PM |
Students are allowed without immunization once approved by the ministry.
I DIDN’T KNOW THAT
All my children were immunized, and I thought that ALL CHILDREN IN BARBADOS HAD TO BE IMMUNISED TO BE ELIGIBLE TO ATTEND SCHOOL. That is what I was taught in the 70’sSimple Simon @ | May 28, 2014 at 6:56 AM |
Simple Simon @| May 28, 2014 at 7:09 AM |
Made a meaningful contribution to the discussion
She asked two relevant questionsGeorgie Porgie can not tell us anything about religious exemption and its impact on immunization programs, because I do not know what the statistics are.
The issue of herd immunity is also very relevant. I Do know about it but why is she giving me the job to “to educate the res; o’ wunna about herd immunity, and about the role religious exemption, religious zealotry, religious nuttiness, plays in compromising herd immunity.”
Since she knows all about it why doesn’t she make that contribution?
I cant do eva ting! LOL -
thanks for the info The Lord Thy God and Little Baby Jesus
i stand condemmned but I wont be letting upIT IS KNOWN UNIVERSALLY THAT TB IS NOW ASSOCIATED WITH HIV AND BULLIN
HATE ME THATS OK IM NOT HEAR LOOKING FOR FRIENDS
BUT HEED THE INFO
ALSO MY MAIN INTEREST IS NOT IN DISCUSSING THE CASES AT CP -
GP ac couldn,t care less about your scholastic reports,,, your mission is to attack those with whom you believe are sexually abnormal ,ac mission is to dissuade and discourage others from following your example moron… your bombasatic and hate filled comments are what is abnormal and only attracts those of like mind,,, ,, ,,.you get here on BU bawling about how the report support your facts,,,,but that is a lie from the pit of helll… the report does not support discrimination and bigotry,,, the report shows a concern and an awareness to healthy living,,,the report does not say that the gay community is the cause of TB,.,, You are a criminal and a fraud ,, and falsely engages in the dissemination of the truth ..hiding behind a computer where u believe that no one can find u, negro i got news for u and anyone who would allow u to use what ever avenue or venue to promote hate speech under the guise of “FREEDOM OF SPEECH<<<< those or any one who wishes to be a partaker of venom and hate must be reminded that what ever fall out comes about because of this despicable and uncouth character GP,they have no one else to blame but themselves,,,, you can fool some of the people as many times as u please ,,but ac ,,,never…moron…
-
GP……i just remembered how hot and ready the ministry of health crowd were to use young underage children in Barbados as guinea pigs for the HPV Vaccine that no one in government can tell who is responsible for spending all that money to get it into Barbados, you can be sure that is someone they deem wealthy and holding the usual small time, small island status behind that scam and of course all of a sudden no one knows anything and their lips are all sealed, yet they do not have time for the victims of the Louis Lynch School…….they are some scary creeps.
-
WELL WELL
Since the involvement of Dr Vaughan Wells, Dr Ramsey & Sir Maurice Byer there have been no leaders or motivators or movers in the MOH.WE have had a succession of lazy fat bottom women who do not work, except to try to destroy the lives of young sharp doctors. These folk in stead of standing up on their feet , allow themselves to be bullied by the Ministers of Health- who are usually medical illiterates.
There was a so called SMOH, WHOSE ONLY DEFINING ACCOMPLISHMENT WAS TO BREED A YOUNG GIRL WHO WAS HIS PATIENT AT BRPC. He used to be seen running puffing up hills to keep it so he could keep up with the young thing.
he used to be referred to as GRAVY because he reminded the mental nurses of the Antiguan cricket character
Would you believe that the Chief Public Health nurse, and another head nurse at one of the polyclinics have a MPH., but none of thee can rise to the occasion to do proper work at CP
-
ac | May 28, 2014 at 5:44 PM |
YAWNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNFACTS
BULLIN CAUSED THE INITIAL CASES OF AIDS IN 1981SINCE THEN MEN WHO BULL OTHER MEN HAVE BEEN HAVING SEX WITH
WOMEN WHO HAVE INADVERTENTLY HELPED TO CONTINUE THE SPREAD O THE DISEASE
BULLIN CONTINUES TO BE THE CAUSE OF SPREAD OF THE DISEASE
NOW IT IS KNOWN THAT IMMUNO COMPROMISED FOLK WITH AIDS – OFTEN BULLERS- ARE ASSOCIATED WITH THE RESURGENCE OF TB
THESE ARE THE FACTS
DEAL WITH IT
BA LINN BALING BALING
-
u keep pushing ..the fact is i can push much harder and i willll with out even as much as a yawn,,,,,,,,those are the facts,,,,,,,,
-
just noticed all yuh buddies and supporters who have been on this nasty and despicable roller coaster ride and uncalled for attacks against gays ,,have disappeared ,,,,,, i wonder why,,,,,,,,,
-
YAWNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNFACTS
BULLIN CAUSED THE INITIAL CASES OF AIDS IN 1981SINCE THEN MEN WHO BULL OTHER MEN HAVE BEEN HAVING SEX WITH
WOMEN WHO HAVE INADVERTENTLY HELPED TO CONTINUE THE SPREAD O THE DISEASE
BULLIN CONTINUES TO BE THE CAUSE OF SPREAD OF THE DISEASE
NOW IT IS KNOWN THAT IMMUNO COMPROMISED FOLK WITH AIDS – OFTEN BULLERS- ARE ASSOCIATED WITH THE RESURGENCE OF TB
THESE ARE THE FACTS
DEAL WITH IT
BA LINN BALING BALING
-
Some thoughts captured in a presentation by Doc GP:
http://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/tb_outbreak.pdf
-
@David May 28, 2014 at 1:27 PM “Guess we may have to review the policy of allowing students entry to school on religious grounds.”
That won’t happen because the Barbados constitution protects religion AND non-religion. If the government attempts to remove the religious exemption the religious people will object, and some who are like Georgie Porgie will object loudly, they will complain to international human rights groups that the Barbados government is trampling on their constitutional right to practice their religion.
-
It is a great pity that this debate has been allowed to reach the low level it has, what a waste.
It was confirmed to me today by a Doctor that there is a confirmed case of TB, the student in question is not a Barbadian & was not immunized when allowed entry into this Country. Now every non- Barbadian child has to be immunized against TB before being allowed to enter school in this country. Our question should how/why was a child who was not immunized allow to live in Barbados and attend school – whom do her parents know, how could this have happened? more questions than answers.
-
@Tudor
To repeat, many children are allowed to enter school in Barbados without having to be immunized, especially Rastas.
-
Simple Simon
You got it wrong. My belief in the Bible does not cloud my medical principles. I am not religious. I believe the Bible, and seek to study and understand it.
Tudor
it is sad to hear that he student in question is not a Barbadian & was not immunized when allowed entry into this Country, especially when Bajan children are supposed to be immunized prior to school entry. -
re David | May 28, 2014 at 8:05 PM |
@TudorTo repeat, many children are allowed to enter school in Barbados without having to be immunized, especially Rastas.
VERY INTERESTING DAVID VERY INTERESTING
-
PG, with that fact in hand, why aren’t you advocate for these school children?
-
@GEORGIE PORGIE May 28, 2014 at 1:57 PM “David
I thought that all students had to have certain immunizations to enter school. I did not know that some students were exempted on religious grounds”I am truly surprised that you did not know about the religious exemption.
The religious exemption has always existed.
It exists in most democratic countries whose constitutions protect religious freedom
I expect that it exists in the U.S. as well. But since you teach medicine there you can tell us.A lotta wunna religious people get involved in medical matters even while having no training in medicine or science (and I don’t mean you as an individual GP. I don’t believe that you are a quack, but I do believe that you are a religious nut.
Christian Scientists/no medicine
Jehovah’s Witnesses/no blood transfusions
Orthodox Judiasm/no contraception
Some Muslims (although thankfully not in Barbados as far as I know, but in Nigeria/Afghanistan/Pakistan etc.)/no immunizations, and they are willing to kill health care workers in order to enforce this
Rastafarians/many of the more devout brethen do not believe in immunizations, contraception or other modern medical practices
Pentecostals/no abortion even if a mother already has 14 children or even if the lives of the mother and/or the fetus are in danger
Roman Catholics/no condoms, even in the midst of a global HIV/AIDS pandemic, when condoms are a most useful preventative. No contraception even if a mother already has 14 children. No abortion even if the lives of the mother and/or the fetus are in danger
Many different religions (Christianity-Islam-Orthodox Judiasm-Animists)/insist on very early marriage for girls, even while the young girls reproductive organs are unready for sex, and unready for labour and child bearing.
I still remember my school mate who was left permanently disabled by polio because in the 1950’s/1960’s his devoutly Pentecostal parents did not believe in immunization.
I still remember my niece who is <42 years who got measles in the mid-70's right here in Barbados because her devout mother did not believe in immunizations.
I still remember my cousin who died of leukemia age 23 because her devout Jehovah's Witness husband did not believe in blood transfusions. He is over 60 now, still alive, and happily married to someone else. His first wife my cousin is still dead.
Almost certainly when all is said and done we will find that this child was vulnerable to catching TB not because of homosexuality, but because of what I call religious nuttiness.
But of course people are afraid to offend the religious. People are afraid of even seeming to breach the constitutional rights of the religious…including the right of the religious to put their children AND other people's children (including mine) at risk of a serious infectious disease.
-
I AM NOT A RELIGIOUS NUT
ALL MY SONS WERE IMMUNIZED
I DONT BELONG TO ANY OF THEM YOU CITED OK?
SINCE YOU KNOW SO MUCH ABOUT THIS WHY DONT YOU DO OR SAY SOMETHING ABOUT IT WHERE IT MATTERS.
-
GEORGIE PORGIE | May 28, 2014 at 6:08 PM
YAWNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN|
yeah f,,ing idiot yuh need to YAWNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN,,,jungle breath
GP…
now how does the facts of the new recent report which states that lack of immunization of the alleged child was the cause for the one TB scare lined up with your scary and screaming headline TB IN BARBADOS ,,which you jackass turned into a homophobic love feast for bigots and hatemongers like uh self,,yuh a,ss need to be tarred and feathered ,,then a hot iron rammed up uh backside,,u old pissy ram goat,,, for promoting hate speech,,,, -
@Bush Tea May 28, 2014 at 7:58 AM “Gal you like you got in some good vintage in truth yuh….”
Is a good thing you said “vintage” instead of the “O’ word..otherwise I wouldda have to send a certain islandgal246 and her trusty 2×4 fuh you.
LOL!!!!
-
i do not care what caused a tb case in BIMI HAVE CAREFULLY COGENTLY COMMUNICATED THAT TB IS KNOWN TO BE ASSOCIATED WITH AIDS
WE KNOW SINCE 1981 THAT BULLIN IS ASSOCIATED WITH AIDS
IN THE FUTURE WE CAN EXPECT A RISE IN TB IN BARBADOS SPREAD BY IMMUUNO COMPROMISED BULLERS AND BULLEES
THESE ARE THE FACTS