Tuberculosis in Barbados

Barbadians are alarmed at the news Tuberculosis (TB) has reared its head in Barbados. The Chief Medical Officer Dr. Elizabeth Ferdinand has reported one case so far in a secondary school – see Barbados Today report.- Click image to view presentation on Tuberculosis submitted by Dr. Georgie Porgie
235 responses to “Tuberculosis in Barbados”
-
PPT #4
• Why the fuss about tuberculosis today ? Because TUBERCULOSIS IS BACK WITH A BANG!
• So we need to take it seriously even here in Barbados too! Here’s why?
• The development of antibiotics changed tuberculosis from a debilitating/fatal illness to one that was readily controlled with oral medications.
• The prevalence declined until the 1980s, but is now rapidly increasing, particularly among immunodeficient individuals. WE EVEN CLOSSED THE LAZARETTO
• The organisms are increasingly resistant to multiple antimicrobials.
• Treatment consists of several drugs because resistance develops to single agent therapy.
• More and more people are migrating to Barbados that might be carrying the disease!
WE HAVE BEEN LETTING EVERY TOM DICK AND HARRY INTO THIS COUNTRY
TB IS PROBABLY ONE OF THE PLAGUES/PESTILENCES THAT WILL WREAK HAVOC IN THE ESCHATON AS IT WILL PROBABLY BE UNTREATABLEPPT 5
• Mycobacteria infect mononuclear phagocytes, where they may live for years as intracellular parasites.
• Mycobacterial infections are intracellular and, generally, result in the formation of slow-growing granulomatous lesions that are responsible for major tissue destruction.
• Fulminant mycobacterial infections develop when the host’s immune response is compromised.
• Thus patients with AIDS and alcohol addiction are particularly susceptible.
TB bacteria are able to survive in the mononuclear phagocytes that are designed to kill bacteria!
Overwhelming infections develop in immune compromised folk like patients with AIDS – which as we know ORIGINATED IN MEN WHO WERE BULLING ONE ANOTHER, AND THEN SPREADING THE DISEASE TO UNSUSPECTING FEMALES.
THUS BULLING IS VERY MUCH INVOLVED IN THE RESURGENCE OF TB!• Tuberculosis is a particularly insidious problem to those who have AIDS. In these patients, the T lymphocytes, immune system cells that normally mount a response to M. tuberculosis, are being destroyed, and the patient cannot respond to the bacterial infection.
• HIV-infected patients face a mortality rate from TB of 70 to 90 percent, usually within one to four months of developing symptoms.
• Unlike most other TB patients, those with HIV usually develop tuberculosis in the lymph nodes, bones, liver, and numerous other organs.
• Ironically, AIDS patients often test negative for the tuberculin skin test because without T lymphocytes, they cannot produce the telltale red welt signaling exposure.
• Tuberculosis often is the first disease to occur in the AIDS patient, even before any of the other opportunistic illnesses appear, and it is generally more intractable than in non-AIDS patients.NOTE THAT THE BULLIN DISEASE AIDS DOES NOT ALLOW the tuberculin skin test TO WORK PROPERLY
SO WE CAN BE IMPORTING TB INFESTED BULLERS WITH AIDS INTO BIM, AND IF WE TEST THEM FOR TB WE WILL GET FALSE NEGATIVESTB LIKE AIDS AND BULLERS IS VERY INSIDIOUS
IN TB LIKE AIDS THE BODY DOES NOT MOUNT THE USUAL ATTACK AGAINST DISEASE
SO YOU BULLIN BAJANS YOU MIGHT HAVE TB ALL LIKE NOW WITH OR WITHOUT AIDS• NOTE THAT HIV-infected patients face a mortality rate from TB of 70 to 90 percent, usually within one to four months of developing symptoms.
• NOTE THAT Tuberculosis often is the first disease to occur in the AIDS patient, even before any of the other opportunistic illnesses appear, and it is generally more intractable than in non-AIDS patients.LIKE AIDS TB IS Highly infectious, and chronic
WE IN BARE TROUBLE BOY
THE BULLERS BRING THE AIDS
NOW THEY BRINGING BACK THE TB• tuberculosis—the leading cause worldwide of death from infection AND THE BULLERS BRINGING IT BACK TO BIM MURDER.
Spread by Inhalation of droplets AVOID COUGHING BULLERS AND AIDS PATIENTS PEOPLE• M. tuberculosis enters the respiratory tract in small aerosolized droplets (multiple exposures are generally necessary).
• Crowded conditions and poor ventilation contribute to disease spread. Thus, people who live in overcrowded urban ghettoes often contract TB.
• Malnutrition and a generally poor quality of life contribute to the establishment of disease.
• Unlike many of the other infectious diseases where the individual becomes ill within a week or two of infection, TB takes much longer.BEAR THIS IN MIND WHEN YOU ATTEND MASS MEETINGS ESPECIALLY NOW OUR FOLK ARE NEARLY ALL LAID OF AND ARE PROBABLY MALNOURISHED
AVOID KNOWN BULLERS WHEN YOU GO TO MASS MEETINGS
THE BULLERS HAVE HELPED TO BRING BACK TB TO BIM -
Could we be overacting to 1 or 2 reported cases?
What is the communication protocol to be followed by the Chief Medical Officer.
-
We travel all over the world and we are exposed to diseases that we thought we were rid of.. Some countries still have things that Bim
-
dAVID
i NEVER SAW A SINGLE CASE DURING 1977-1999 WHILE I WORKED IN BIM
CHECK THE MOH ANNUAL REPORT FOR THE INCIDENCE BETWEEN SAY 1960 AND 2000
DID YOU UNDERSTAND THIS INFO
The prevalence declined until the 1980s, but is now rapidly increasing, particularly among NOTE WHO ARE MOST LIKELY TO GET TB —— immunodeficient individuals.
NOTE WHO ARE MOST LIKELY TO GET TB —-patients with AIDS and alcohol addiction are particularly susceptible.
NOTE WELL Tuberculosis is a particularly insidious problem to those who have AIDS. In these patients, the T lymphocytes, immune system cells that normally mount a response to M. tuberculosis, are being destroyed, and the patient cannot respond to the bacterial infection.
• HIV-infected patients face a mortality rate from TB of 70 to 90 percent, usually within one to four months of developing symptoms.
• Unlike most other TB patients, those with HIV usually develop tuberculosis in the lymph nodes, bones, liver, and numerous other organs.
• Ironically, AIDS patients often test negative for the tuberculin skin test because without T lymphocytes, they cannot produce the telltale red welt signaling exposure.
• Tuberculosis often is the first disease to occur in the AIDS patient, even before any of the other opportunistic illnesses appear, and it is generally more intractable than in non-AIDS patients.
• The WHO estimates that worldwide, about 4.4 million people are coinfected with HIV and M. tuberculosis -
THIS PPT IS IN THREE PARTS
PART THREE TELLS US HOW DIFFICULT IT IS TO TREAT THE DISEASE BECAUSE OF ITS NATURE, AND BECAUSE THE LEADING ANTIBIOTICS ONCE EFFECTIVE ARE BECOMING QUICKLY INEFFECTIVE
IN ADDITION IT TAKES A LONG TIME TO CURE THE DISEASE
PART TWO GIVES SOME LOVELY PICTURES THAT SHOW WHAT THE LUNGS OF THE TB PATIENT LOOK LIKE
THE FIRST PART INDICATES THE CONTEMPORARY CONNECTION OF TB WITH AAIDS
DONT YOU THINK THAT WE SHOULD TAKE THIS SERIOUSLY?
1 OR 2 CASES ARE TOO MANY CASES
TB WAS LICKED BY THE 80’S IN DEVELOPED COUNTRIES LIKE OURS
WHY IS IT BACK?
THINK ABOUT IT -
one report and the blazing misleading HEADLINE,,,,,,,TB IN BARBADOS,,GP WERE U FIRED from that day job of yours,,cause you seem to have found a new line of work IN THE FIELD OF PROPAGANDA<,,NEGRO I THINK IT IS ABOUT TIME YOU HAVE YOUR HEAD CHECK<<<<CAUSE I BELIVE YOU ARE MISSING PLENTY SCREWS THAT NEED TO BE REPLACED <<<ASAP<
-
AC
THIS PPT WAS WRITTEN FOR AND UNDERSTOOD BY YOUNG PEOPLE WHO GRASPED ITS CONTENTSIM SORRY THAT YOU WONT UNDERSTAND THE ISSUES HERE
YOUR ATROPHIED BETZPAENIC BRAIN WILL NOT ALLOW YOU TO DO ANYTHING MORE THAN ATTACK AND SPEW BOVINE EXCREMENT
2 CASES MEANS TB IS IN BARBADOS
IT HAS NOT BEEN SEEN IN BIM FOR DECADES
THE NATURE AND DIFFICULTY OF TREATMENT OF THIS DISEASE IS CAUSE FOR ALARM IN THE LIGHT OF THE FACT THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL IMMUNOCOMPROMISED PEOPLE AROUND1 OR 2 CASES ARE TOO MANY CASES
TB WAS LICKED BY THE 80′S IN DEVELOPED COUNTRIES LIKE OURS
WHY IS IT BACK?
THINK ABOUT IT…………..SORRY I FORGET YOU CANT THINKTHIS IS GOING TO BE FUN
-
To All Barbadians:
Are we returning to an under, under developed country?
Pay attention. TB is in Barbados. The Ministry is trying feverishly to prevent the spread. Not half a case of TB but a case. That is the report.
When travelling we ought to take the relevant preventative vaccinations especially to those places specified.
When back home obey the Doc’s orders.
-
Great presentation, Doc. Hopefully, folk like me would now be able to grasp the danger that this disease can cause. Of course, the more brain-challenged folk like ac with her comment above will take much longer to understand. I expect her sidekick will soon be along to add his bovine excrement to hers.
Keep up the good work , so that lesser mortals like myself can benefit. Thanks again.
-
OH I AM SORRY I MASHED UH FRIGGIN TOES>< BUT THE HEADLINE WAS ENUFF TO SCARE THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS OUT OF ME< YOU JUST CAN"T SEEM To be able to help yuhself<>> I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH RESEARCH<<BUT YUH SEEM TO HAVE FORGOTTEN TO TAKE YUH MEDICINE THAT WAS PRESCRIBE FUH YOU AND IT IS CLEAR THAT YOU ARE BECOMING MORE AND MORE EVERYDAY IN NEED OF MEDICAL HELP<<< THE HEADLINE IS RIDICULOUS AND PREPOSTEROUS ,,I SUGGEST YOU TAKE UH MEDS FORTWITH<<CAUsE AT THe RATE YOU ARE GOING YOU MIGHT SOON BLOW UP,, HAVE A BLESS DAY
-
DE HOOD
IF AN OLD MAN LIKE YOU CAN UNDERSTAND AND THE 20 YEAR OLDS CAN UNDERSTAND WHY CANT AC UNDERSTAND?IS IT BECAUSE SHE LACKS SOMETHING THAT YOU AND THE YOUNGSTERS HAVE CALLED A BRAIN?
-
http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hc-ps/dc-ma/tuberculos-eng.php
For most Canadians, the risk of developing tuberculosis is very low. However, there are about 1,600 new cases of tuberculosis reported in Canada every year,
Mar 21, 2014 – In 2013, a total of 9,588 new tuberculosis (TB) cases were reported in the United States, with an incidence rate of 3.0 cases per 100,000
TB in the UK remains high compared to most other Western European countries, with 8,751 cases reported in 2012, an incidence of 13.9 per 100,000 population.
HERE ENDETH MY CUT AN PASTE.
-
Georgie:
Of the first line drugs, I noticed streptomycin. I know the even in the Enmore STDs clinic days that drug was being used. Are there any signs of drug resistant strains developing in relation to streptomycin?The DOTS program has always been lauded; yet, you seem to have given it a passing mention, why?
If I remember well the Winston Scott Polyclinic still has a DOTS program so TB has to be in Barbados!!
-
Such a disgusting report on what could have been a sensitive, educational one for those interested in what is happening re the finding that a student has tuberculosis in a school here. You should be ashamed of yourself Georgie Porgie for this ridiculous – almost laughable if it was not so incredibly gross – homophobic rant. David, I am surprised this type of nonsense is even allowed by you. But I guess this is what freedom of hiding behind a name gives to those whose mind lies simply in the gutter of life.
-
The reluctance of the Ministry of Health to name the affected school, is akin to the case , some years ago when an innocent girl for the country was hired as a live -in maid to look after a sick old man, but no one had warned her that the man was suffering from TB. On her first week -end off she went back home and infected her entire family. In those day the poor suffering from TB were temporarily housed in the Almshouse’s windowless TB ward,which at times doubled up as a Mortuary. Those with money,and what they may term pride, stayed at home and hired a poor innocent maid, or traveled down to Bathsheba in the hope that the fresh Atlantic breeze would cure them. No wonder that some locals down there used to vacate the beach when certain types enter.
-
u DAVID HAVE ALLOWED THIS LOOSE CANNON ONE GP TO GET UP IN THE CLASSROOM AND BEHAVE AS HE DAMN LIKE PLEASE…… TO YOU AS THE PRINCIPAL OF BU I SUGGEST U DISCIPLINE THIS NOW OUT OF CONTROL STUDENT< EITHER YOU REPRIMAND OR REMOVE THAT BLAZING HEADLINE TUBERCULOUS IN BARBADOS<< A FIRST TIME VISITOR TO YOUR WEBSITE CAN TAKE SUCH INFORMATION AND SPREAD SUCH NONSENSE VIA other SOCIAL NETWORKS … FASTER THAN THE DISEASE TB<< <<
-
Are there any signs of drug resistant strains developing in relation to streptomycin? YES
If I remember well the Winston Scott Polyclinic still has a DOTS program so TB has to be in Barbados!!
THAT IS OF COURSE A NONSEQUITUR, BUT WE NOW HAVE CASES DONT WE?
THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MY PPT HALF SCALD WOMAN
THE MICROBIOLOGY IS SOUND- BUT YOU WONT KNOW THAT
THE PATHOLOGY IS SOUND AND – BUT YOU WONT KNOW THAT
THE PHARMACOLOGY IS SOUND – BUT YOU WONT KNOW THAT
STICK TO COOKING OR WHAT EVER IT IS YOU DO
THE FACTS REMAIN THERE IS AN ASSOCIATION WITH AIDS AND TB
AND THERE IS AN ASSOCIATION WITH AIIDS AND BULLIN aH LIE?DO WE STILL HAVE A SITUATION IN BARBADOS WHERE THE WHITE PEOPLE DICTATE WHAT CAN BE SAID AND WHAT IS LAUGHABLE DAVID?
ROSEMARY I WON MY SPURS AND THE RIGHT TO OPINE
HC=.>.. BDOS EXHIBITION => TO MEDICAL SCHOOLI DONT ANY LONGER LET FOLK KNOW THAT I WENT TO UWI
QUID SCRIPSI DIXI QUE, SCRIPSI DIXI QUE,
AND I HAVE NOTHING TO APOLOGISE FORSTOP THE BULLIN
IF YOU DONT LIKE WHAT I WRITE DONT READ IT
CAUSE I WONT BE STOPPIN
LOL LOL LOLI AM HAVING FUN
STOP THE BULLIN
BULLIN IS THE REAL GUTTER BEHAVIORIT CAUSES AAIDS MISS AMELANOTIC
NOW CUSS ME AGAIN
I DONT CARE
BULLERS AND WICKIN TRYING TO STOP GOOD MEN FROM WORKINLOL
-
AC
THERE IS TUBERCULOSIS IN BARBADOS! ITS A FACT
I USED TO HEAR ABOUT IT AS A CHILD
IT WAS THEN ERADICATEDBUT WITH THE AIDS FROM THE IMMUNOCOMPROISED BULLERS IN BIM IT IS BACK WITH A BANG
THERE IS TUBERCULOSIS IN BARBADOS!
THIS IS BARE FUN -
Lemuel
The important issue about the treatment is that several drugs are used together in the effort to reduce the onset of drug resistance.Ask David to get permission from the half scald amelanotic for me to discuss drug resistance and the mechanisms of actions
We cant talk about politics all the time.
THE REASON FOR LEARNING WELL IS SO THAT YOU CAN STAND UP FOR WHAT YOU KNOW AND UNDERSTAND EVEN IN THE FACE OF WHITESWHEN THEY CALL ME AFRICAN AMERICAN UP HERE I TELL THEM PLAINLY………I AM NOT AFRICAN OR AMERICAN.
-
Romans 1:18-28 is definitely true.
And it seems that the pestilences mentioned i Revelations 6 will be THE BULLIN DISEASES.
WHAT YOU THINK ROSEMARY?
AAIDS AND TB – potentially incurable diseases both CAUSED BY THE PANDEMIC OF BULIN IN OUR CONTEMPORARY WORLD.
THE LORD WILL HAVE THE BULLERS AND WICKERS IN DERISION ROSEMARY
THE LORD WILL HAVE THE LAST LAUGH
-
How about rifampin?
-
The WHO figures for Barbados are here:
https://extranet.who.int/sree/Reports?op=Replet&name=%2FWHO_HQ_Reports%2FG2%2FPROD%2FEXT%2FTBCountryProfile&ISO2=BB&LAN=EN&outtype=pdf -
When I was just a little thing every village had its TB patients, so I know that it is a serious illness, which is very expensive to treat, because treatment is so labour intensive and medicine intensive (I am quite a bit older than GP)
If there were zero TB cases between 1977 and 1999 is is possible that our current health professionals have only book knowledge about TB, and no practical experience in treating TB?
I am a little worried that it seems as though the child was sick several weeks or months ago and the Ministry of Health is only now acting. Was the Ministry not immediately informed about the child’s illness?
If the child was seriously ill were lab tests done early in his illness?
Isn’t TB still a notifiable disease?
Did the child’s health professionals immediately inform the Ministry of Health?
-
VARIOUS SERIES OF DRUGS ARE BEING USED FROM PLACE TO PLACE SIMPLE SIMON. NO ONE DRUG IS USED
THE PROBLEM IS SIDE EFFECTS, THE FACT THAT RESISTANCE IS COMMON AND ALSO THE MYCOBACTERIA GROW SLOWLY IN THE MACROPHAGES
THE MORE SLOWLY A BACTERIUM DIVIDES THE HARDER IT IS TO ELIMINATE IT BECAUSE THE MECHANISMS OF ACTIONS OF MOST OF THESE DRUGS ACTS AT VARIOUS SECTIONS OF CELL DIVISION.
ALSO THE MACROPHAGES INSTEAD OF EATING UP THE MYCOBACTERIA FORMA A WALL AROUND THEM . THIS IS THE TUBERCLE THAT GIVES THE DISEASE ITS NAME
WHEN A TUBERCLE BREAKS THE DISEASE SPREADS. -
GP YOU ARE A PARASITE,,HOW DO YOU CORRELATE THE FINDINGS OF A CHILD HAVING THE TB VIRUS TO HIV AIDS .. FURTHERMORE MORE IF YOU VISIT THE CDC WEBSITE<<YOU WILL SEE THAT YOUR INFORMATION CONNECTING INCIDENTS OF TB IN BARBADOS TO HIV IS INCORRECT<<<,,YOU ARE AN ALARMIST AND A PERSON FILLED WITH HATE<<YOUR MISSION OF HATE TO DESTROY THE GAY COMMUNITY IS GOING TO DESTROY YOU<<THE FACT IS THAT TB RELATED INCIDENTS TO HIV HAS DROPPED IN BARBADOS AND CONTINUES TO DROP ACCORDING TO CDC STATISTICS
-
GP notwithstanding your rant it may well be that this case of TB has nothing to do with homosexuality.
It maybe that the child’s parent’s because of their RELIGION do not believe in immunization. There are a number of religious zealots who do not believe in nor practice immunization. So you may find that this case of TB has to do with RELIGION.. If that is the case I hope that you will be man enough ti apologize to the male homosexual community. And that you will warn parents against letting their religion interfere with good science (immunizations)
AND THAT YOU WILL WRITE A BIG RANT AGAINST UNSCIENTIFIC RELIGIOUS NONSENSE.
-
rE If there were zero TB cases between 1977 and 1999 is is possible that our current health professionals have only book knowledge about TB, and no practical experience in treating TB?
YES
This is probably why this case was not more quickly diagnosed
The only cases I ever saw were chronic cases in a TB /chest hospital in kingstonSimple Simon, All of your questions are important . Like you I am concerned even though I laugh at the bullers.
There has been a fall of in standards in Bim, and the wicker/ buller coalitions agenda will make health standards worse– coupled with increasing travel to our shores from lands where we formerly had no visitors.
-
Dear ac:
TB is NOT caused by a virus.
It is a bacterial infection.
Which is why it is treated with antibiotics, NOT antivirals.
-
DAVID FOR THE INTEGRITY OF BU >>U NEED TO STOP THIS MANIACAL JACK A<SS FROM USING THIS WEBSITE TO UNLEASHED ASININE AND VENOMOUS ATTACKS ON THE GAY COMMUNITY<< SOONER OR LATER THE GAY COMMUNITY MIGHT RESPONSE AND ACTION UNDER HATE SPEECH MIGHT BE USED AS REMEDY<<< TAKEN TO A LEVEL THAT BU MIGHT BE UNABLE TO RECOVER<<I LOVE BU AND WOULD HATE TO SEE IT DISAPPEARED MONEY TALK BULL SHIT WALK AND GP IS THE LATTER<<<<THIS IS NO LONGER A JOKE<<<<…..MY HANDS ARE FOLDED<<,,
-
ac | May 27, 2014 at 11:14 PM |
you are a betzpaenic ass
you dont have a clue about what is said
so hushgo on a date with balaam’s ass
TOMORROW WILL BE FUN except there is is cricket and tennis to compete LOL -
are you gay?
do you wick? or are you a bullee? lol -
The Hate Speech Watch is focusing to Homphobia and Transphobia in May. It is inviting its followers, partners and supporters to identify online hate speech against people with different gender identity and sexual orientation and report them. The Internet is full of hatred and incitement towards LGBTQI people and it actually affects freedom of expression of all of us. A survey conducted by the Youth Department of the Council of Europe in 2012 shows that homophobic and transphobic hate speech is the most frequently encountered form of hate speech online. Addressing such hate speech is a cause for action for all as it reaches everybody.For this reason protecting freedom of expression including of people with different sexual orientation and gender identity is of utmost importance for all of us who considers Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law the basic principles of the peaceful life of human kind. View
-
“AS A TEACHER OF MICROBIOLOGY TO MEDICAL STUDENTS” (your capitals) I expect you are governed by some form of code of ethical conduct.
I cannot imagine that what you are posting and how you are behaving complies with those rules.
Please help us to understand by posting them on BU. -
IF YOU ARE A BULLER OR A WICKER YOU ARE A BULLER OR A WICKER AC. simple!
RE The Internet is full of hatred and incitement towards LGBTQI people and it actually affects freedom of expression of all of us.
IT DID NOT AFFECT THE FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION OF THE COALITION OF BULLERS AND WICKERS IN JAMAICA THAT HAD THE UWI FIRE A MAN AFTER 40 YEARS OF DILIGENT SERVICE
THEY FREELY EXPRESSED THIER FEELINGS FREELY Ah lie?
RE For this reason protecting freedom of expression including of people with different sexual orientation and gender identity is of utmost importance for all of us who considers Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law the basic principles of the peaceful life of human kind.
BRAVO DOES THIS NOT MEAN THAT NON WICKERS AND NON BULLERS SHOULD HAVE THE RIGHT TO SPEAK OUT TOO?
OR DOES people with different sexual orientation ONLY MEAN BULLERS AND WICKERS AC.
YOU THINK YOU ARGUING WITH BALAAM’S ASS
-
St George’s Dragon | May 28, 2014 at 12:03 AM |
“AS A TEACHER OF MICROBIOLOGY TO MEDICAL STUDENTS” (your capitals) I expect you are governed by some form of code of ethical conduct.
I cannot imagine that what you are posting and how you are behaving complies with those rules.
Please help us to understand by posting them on BU.I AM NOT TEACHING MICROBIOLOGY OR BIOCHEM OR PATH ON BU
YOUR POINT IS BOTH MOOT AND MUTE DUMMYI CALL A SPADE A SPADE
I CALL A BULLER A BULLER AND A WICKER A WICKERBULLIN AND WICKIN IS WRONG I WAS TAUGHT
BUT CALLING A BULLER A BULLER OR CALLING A WICKER IS NOT WRONGWHAT AM I POSTING BUT THE TRUTH !
IDONT HAVE TO EXPLAIN ANYTHING TO YOU OR ANY OF YOUR ILK
WHAT BEHAVIOR?I AM HERE QUIETLY WATCHING TENNIS AND HAVING A GOOD LAUGH AND DESTROYING ILLOGICAL NONSENSE I AM READING ON BU
-
BU’s response to commenters is to shatter untruths by putting their truths on the table. Whether we debate racism, immigration, homosexuality etc we will see emotive positions taken given the subject matter. About the use of monikers, emailers send messages to talk shows and ask to be anonymous, people from all stations in life in Barbados post anonymously on BU, people write letters to the editors of our newspapers under anonymity. Make your damn point anonymously if you want or shut the hell up.
-
To repeat the question ask above. With the discovery of two cases of TB what is the protocol the Chief Medical Officer suppose to follow?
-
I AM 100% IN AGREEMENT WITH ROSEMARY PARKINSON. As a person of color living in a country where prejudice and racism is rife and rampant I know and understand only too well the impact discrimination can have when inflicted. I find it appalling that such last year, backward and troglodytic thoughts still reside in educated minds. What is even more shocking is that these are the ones that boldly claim to be washed in the blood of the lamb. Hippocratic oath notwithstanding, I pray for any and all patients that misfortune may send your way.
-
It has been reported that Mr. Vincent Ferguson f the Colridge and Parry School has said that there are no cases of TB at his school.
Since it appears that the TB occurred within the last 6 months
And since it appears that the TB has only now come to the attention of the Ministry of Health
And since the modern treatment protocol is to treat the patient for 9 months before declaring the patient cured.
And since 9 months have not yet passed
How can Mr. Ferguson make that statement?
Does Mr. Ferguson know that even if the patient has died it is still possible that he may have infected others.
Does Mr. Ferguson know that TB vaccine is NOT 100% effective?
I am sure that Mr. Ferguson is a bright fella, but since he did not live in Barbados when TB was commonplace I am sure that he is only now grappling with learning what TB is.
Has the Ministry of Health checked the child’s domestic, community, sports club and community contacts?
And in case we are worrying about the impact on the tourism industry (as we usually do with such things) we should worry a little less as all of our tourism source countries have a higher incidence of TB than Barbados does.
But we should worry never the less, and we should demand the truth, the WHOLE truth, and NOTHING BUT the truth from the Ministry of Health.
from the Ministry of Health.It worries me very much that the Minintry of Health seems not to have been informed until 6 months after the infection was first noted by others.
Is Mr. Ferguson that many, many people with TB are asymptomatic? That is they have TB but display no symptoms, but can infect others.
As I said before neither Mr. Ferguson nor any of our current health and education officials lived in the days when every village had its TB patients. I still remember the Ministry of Health coming to my village to burn the patient’s beds and soft furnishings, and to fumigate the houses (serious stuff)
I still remember when more than one member of a household became infected.
But then I remember the Barbados when measles and mumps were rampant, when my school mates were left permanently disabled by polio etc.
-
David:
As a notifiable disease, it has to be reported to the office of the CMO. But you need a lab confirmed test result. To only use the symptoms that are presented in the patient could be possible but you need to clearly demonstrate that it is what you the doctor or doctors believe it is. Then the CMO can discharge her people under the full weight of the health services act to investigate and remedy the situation.Protocols would then feature as to treatment or prevention.
-
I gather that a fair number of parents today are claiming religious exemption from the Ministry of Health’s very, very EXCELLENT immunization program.
Can the Ministry of Health or Education tell us what percentage of children come to school without being immunized because their parents have claimed the religious exemption?
Can the Ministry of Health tell the percentage of children at the Coleridge and Parry school who claimed the religious exemption? And how does this compare with other schools?
Are we still tuberculin testing all of our our cows? Even the cows of farmers who have only one beast?
Are people in the community unlawfully producing, selling and consuming raw milk? Do people in the community understand the dangers of drinking raw milk? Or of drinking inadequately processed milk?
Can Georgie Porgie tell us anything about religious exemption and its impact on immunization programs? Can Georgie Porgie address the issue of herd immunity? (and here uh don’t mean cows) I asked Georgie Porgie a similar question last night and I’ve noticed that he is uncharacteristically silent this morning. Wha’ happen man?
I hope that he does not think that I am a Baalam’s ass.
I hope that he does not think that I have a betzpaenic brain.
Answer the question man like a real-real man.
-
Simple Simon:
If you want to test the depths of Georgie’s medical knowledge or expose him as a charlatan, a question about “herd immunity” is of the highest puerility? -
@David “David May 28, 2014 at 5:53 AM “With the discovery of two cases of TB what is the protocol the Chief Medical Officer suppose to follow?”
If there 2 cases (and I have not heard that there are two cases) there may be more.
THE PROTOCOL: Checking everyone of the child’s community contacts, parents, siblings, playmates, school mates, church mates,club mates, school bus mates then checking the contacts of the contacts in an ever expanding circle until no more TB is found. Wherever TB is found administering directly observed treatment (DOT) for a period of 9 months for every person who is found to have been infected by TB, even if they are asymptomatic especially if they are asymptomatic. This is labour intensive, this is medicine intensive. But we have done it before back in the 1940’s, 50’s and 60’s and we can do it again.
Unless we act like idiots as we did with the first African snails.
Unless we act like idiots as we did with HIV.the first HIV cases.
Unless we choose to pretend, unless we choose to be cheap and we wait until things get out of hand.
Because with TB there are no short cuts.
-
And ask Chris Sinkler to put the NECESSARY money into the Ministry of Health’s budget.
Chis I am sure knows nothing about TB. He is of the fully immunized generation. He does not know the Barbados when public Health nurses in blue dresses tramped up and down Barbados immunizing people in their schools, and in their homes. This was in the days when there were only one or two public health clinics, Enmore and the one of the main road in Speightstown.
I have always felt that if we need to do the statue thing we should make a statue of a middle aged public health nurse in uniform and mount it in the middle of Bridgetown. Those women saved the lives of thousands of us and SHAMEFULLY we have forgotten them, and yet we choose to remember politician after politician after politician.
-
And Dr. Ferdinand don’t talk about “speedy resolution”
TB treatment is slow.
9 months long.
You know that Dr. since you are a public health specialist.
-
AC:
Would you rather hide the TB cases?When one of the tourists pick it up here, what do you think that would do to the tourism product? It is like having a STI and hiding; eventually it breaks through in ways you can hide no longer!!This tells me that all the talk the DLP put down about transparency was all talk. It seems like DEMS can’t handle the TRUTH!!!
-
@Lemuel “If you want to test the depths of Georgie’s medical knowledge or expose him as a charlatan, a question about “herd immunity” is of the highest puerility?”
GP is NOT a medical charlatan.
Georgie Porgie IS a religious nut.
I know that he knows about herd immunity. I want him to educate the res; o’ wunna about herd immunity, and about the role religious exemption, religious zealotry, religious nuttiness, plays in compromising herd immunity. Leh ‘e talk ’bout dat.
Don’t talk fah GP. He got nuff talk. Leh ‘e talk fah heself.
-
Wht TB, HIV and AIDS tells us is that we cannot compromise with our health budget.
-
@ Simple Simon
Gal you like you got in some good vintage in truth yuh…..The problem with these young people (who grew up when things were sweet and the sea was calm) is that they do not know how much they don’t know….
…they don’t understand why the old fellow used to pop the necks of murderers…..
…they don’t understand the phobia that oldsters had with bullers….
…they don’t understand why children got they asses cut when they were out of place and inclined in the wrong direction..But as you know….
hard ears yuh won’t hear…..
own way, yuh would feel…They will learn the hard way why we oldsters had the foolish phobias that we did…..
-
Simple Simon:
I shall never speak for Georgie. If you want to engage Georgie, that herd immunity question is a stupid as your labeling. He has a right to his opinion. By the way, purge yourself of your inadequacies before labeling someone else!! That is simple Simon!!