Submitted by Cedriann Martin, UNAIDS Caribbean – Op-Ed by Dr. Ernest Massiah, UNAIDS Caribbean Regional Support Team Director

"Protests over Prof Bain's sacking in Kingston, Belize City" - Click image
“Protests over Prof Bain’s sacking in Kingston, Belize City” – Click image

Recently, the discussion on HIV has been a mix of the selective review of scientific evidence, comments on an administrative procedure at the regional university, and perceptions on the existence of agendas that seek either to change or hold back Caribbean societies. Lost in this debate is a Caribbean reality. At the end of 2012, UNAIDS estimated that there were 260,000 people living with HIV in the region.  In many countries, approximately one in three new cases is among men who have sex with men. How do we deal with this as we work to end the epidemic in the Caribbean?

First we must recognise that HIV is a virus, not a crime.  Laws that criminalise being HIV positive, sexual behaviours such as anal sex or sexual orientation, make it difficult to mount an effective HIV response.   Persons who know their sexual behaviour or orientations are illegal are less likely either to go to health services or to speak openly about their sexual behaviour while there, thus limiting their treatment options and prevention efforts.

A soon to be released UNAIDS internet survey of more than 3,500 men who have sex with men across the Caribbean, the CARIMIS study, shows that about two in three men who got a negative HIV test result from the private or public health sector, did not talk to their doctors about their sex with men. Our laws should help create an environment in which there is no impediment to delivering targeted prevention and treatment services to a population particularly affected by HIV.

There is consensus around this among leaders of the region’s HIV response. Over the last ten years, under the umbrella of the Pan Caribbean Partnership against AIDS (PANCAP), civil society, national AIDS responses and international partners have supported the goal of removing laws that criminalise sexual orientations and behaviours. The 2008 – 2012 Caribbean Regional Strategic Framework reinforced this target. This is a regional goal and a global one. It is one of the key steps that must be taken to end AIDS.

Second, we must remember that stigma and discrimination still exist.  It is not only the law that complicates people’s lives; it is the prejudice that the law codifies and reinforces. The UNAIDS CARIMIS study shows that within the month before responding to the survey, almost a quarter of the men were verbally abused because of their same sex attraction. Recent surveys of doctors and nurses in two Caribbean countries show that approximately 25 percent reported seeing HIV positive persons receiving low quality medical treatment and about ten percent would rather not provide services to men who have sex with men.  These workers had been trained.  They had the clinical knowledge. What they did not have was the ability to overcome their prejudices. Until we overcome prejudice, people will not seek services and we will see a steady rise in new cases.

Sexual behaviour and sexual orientation exist in a social context in which prejudice, stigma and the fear of violence influence the behaviour of both those who seek health services and the medical professionals who offer those services. That’s why removing criminal laws against consensual same sex sexual conduct cannot be a stand-alone strategy. UNAIDS urges all governments to implement laws to protect men who have sex with men, lesbians, bisexuals and transgender people from violence and discrimination; to address homophobia and transphobia through public education campaigns; and to ensure that adequate health services are provided to address their needs.  UNAIDS stands for all those living with or vulnerable to HIV, regardless of their social or legal status.

Finally, we must ensure the rights of all Caribbean citizens.  Caribbean history is one of a struggle to ensure the inclusion of all citizens, against a backdrop of exclusions based on race, class, ethnicity and colour.  The individuals who stood for the rights that we now enjoy were called names, jailed, beaten and killed. Today, those who stand up for the rights of gay, lesbian bisexual and transgendered citizens are labelled as supporting a “gay agenda”. There is no gay agenda. There is a human rights agenda which seeks to ensure that all Caribbean citizens are treated with respect and dignity. Every individual should benefit from HIV prevention, treatment, care and support and all people should have the same human rights everywhere.

All rights are coupled with responsibility. Freedom of expression carries the burden of responsibility for the consequences of one’s speech. In Belize, Mr. Caleb Orozco, the young man who asked the court to determine whether the sodomy law violated his constitutional rights, faced verbal abuse, physical violence and death threats. The recent media coverage has led to increased threats against him.

The voices speaking for the removal of punitive and discriminatory laws are women, adolescents, gay men, public health professionals, human rights supporters, researchers, leaders in the regional HIV response, priests, pundits, and imams. These are people from different walks of life, with differing backgrounds and beliefs, united against prejudice. This is what standing up for justice and freedom should be about.  This is what will be required if we are to end AIDS and leave no Caribbean citizen behind.

Contact

UNAIDS Caribbean | Cedriann Martin | tel. +868 625-4955 ext. 96519 / +868 371-7195 | martinc@unaids.org

UNAIDS

UNAIDS, the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, is an innovative United Nations partnership that leads and inspires the world in achieving universal access to HIV prevention, treatment, care and support. Learn more at unaids.org and unaidscaribbean.org

215 responses to “HIV in the Caribbean: science, rights and justice”

1. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Come on Bajanyankee and others. LETS TALK ABOUT CLASS!

That is a big thing in our MOCK BAJAN SOCIETY FILLED WITH OUR POOR GREAT FOLKS SEEKING CLASS.
    My wife had a helper in her buyness, who told me of a day she was offered a “lift” by a man with “CLASS”. He invited her out too.

When she got there it was filled with a host of some CLASSY BAJANS!
    Yes it was an orgy with you guessed it…. WICKERS AND BULLERS!

There were lawyers and doctors and other folk of CLASS, including a woman who had a child out of wedlock and even sits on the bench of the high court today. NOW THAT IS CLASS.

There was a lawyer who found himself in trouble who recieved this advice from a man of CLASS, no other than OUR CURRENT GOVERNOR GENERAL in his chambers when he was a high court judge.

he said to the lawyer ” THIS IS MY ADVICE TO YOU ,, AS A BROTHER,(fellow lawyer) and as a BROTHER (a member of the DLP) and as a BROTHER (fellow lodge member) YOU HAVE TO LEAVE BOUT HERE.
    This was the advice given to a lawyer who was eventually locked up. THE MAN WHO GAVE THIS ADVICE HAS A VERY HIGH OFFICE IN BARBADOS TODAY- that of governor general..

THAT IS BAJAN CLASS.

Bajanyankee, let we talk more about CLASS in Barbados.
    I have many such stories.

What about the big bank manager, who when I went to his office to get a loan, told me about the young woman he had offered a lift on his way to town from taking his son to Lodge school, took the girl to his home and had his way with her? THAT IS BAJAN CLASS.

When on BU I mentioned that we had a BULLIN BISHOP, I got the response that he had a lovely HIGH BROWN woman for a wife. THAT IS BAJAN CLASS.

Why did we chose a BULLIN BISHOP in 1973? BECAUSE THE SYNOD COULD NOT DECIDE WHO WAS THE WORSE OF THE CANONS WHO WAS PUT FORWARD.
    One was a know womaniser and the other a wife beater inter alia
    THAT IS BAJAN CLASS.

The later had two sons, one was a priest who got locked up in ENGLAND for screwing a young girl, and the other is a BIG BULLEE IN CANADA.

THESE ARE ALL FOLK WID CLASS

ah lie

LEH WE TALK BOUT CLASS

2. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

I am not out of touch at all.
    I understand well all that has been said.
    But can you understand what I have said.

They kiil bullers in Jamaica even today, but the “HAPPY” community also have CLASS. They are HIGH CLASS WICKERS AND BULLERS AND LOW CLASS WICKERS AND BULLERS , and the HIGH CLASS WICKERS AND BULLERS dont associate or help the LOW CLASS WICKERS AND BULLERS

THEY ARE JUST INTERESTED IN CONTROLLING THE SOCIETY

3. AC:
    I am very sure you did not understand the video you posted. If whether you become homosexual or is determined by the amount of hormone absorbed during development in the womb, then when you absorb too little it is ABNORMALl!! For normally you would have been wired by the hormone to like women and not men!! The speculation about the role of enzymes is just what it is speculation and catching at straws!! Remember National geographical is not a good, objective source for any discussion on homosexuality or Prof. Alleyne who used to run PAHO!!

4. @georgie

if u r a real doctor and had intellectual ability, would understand that I did not mean class in the sociological sense, but in the bajan culture, you classless animal who happened to migrate overseas and spew your rambling logic on here.

my discourse with you is about your classless behavior, or in a word your gutter behavior, I have a question for you, if your son was to introduce another man to you as his partner what would you do. By the way I have a cousin who is a doctor and is gay, we did not ostracize him, Would you abandon your son, If u r a doctor as u claim u r, would you refuse to treat a gay or lesbian patient and what would be the consequences for u under the oath which real doctors have signed on to,

5. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Lemueli agree with you

The chancellor like vice chancellor has to tow the line. THAT IS CLASS
    The easiest thing on earth is to work the BU herd into an emotional frenzy and keep them.
    These idiots and pseudo intellectuals can only see the situation from one point of view, i.e the feelings of the HAPPY PEOPLE. (AKA BULLERS & BULLEES), and all they can offer in debate are ad hominems

What about the folk that get disease?
    What about the universal statistics concerning the suffering of the millions with HIV/AIDS and the concomitant complications?

What about the ploy in the USA to teach school children that it is normal to have two bullers or two wickers at the head of a family, and that the bulling and wicking lifestyle is wrong. PROMOTE THE WRONG IN CHILDREN AND WHEN YOU GET A CROP OF FRUIT CAKES EXPENSE THE TAXPAYERS WITH THEIR CARE.

THAT MAKES NO PUBLIC HEALTH SENSE TO ME
    THE BU HERD IS NO DIFFERENT TO THE HAPPY COMMUNITY
    IF YOU DONT SEE EYE TO EYE WITH THE BU HERD OR THE BULLERS & WICKERS., YOU ARE WRONG.

It is fun to just smash down their petty arguments.

Some will cut and paste irrelevant stuff that they do not understand.

6. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

bajan yankee
    I will now treat you like Balaam’s ass
    YOU ARE OBVIIOSLY NOT IN MY INTELECTUAL OR SOCIAL CLASS

7. Epigenetics is a Key Player in Sexual Preference

Epi-marks act as another layer of information fused to our genes that control their expression. Essentially, genes hold the directions, while epi-marks instruct how they are put into motion and completed.
    Historically, epi-marks are eliminated and created anew with each generation, but new research shows that they can occasionally pass over between generations, causing similarities within families and appearing as shared genes
    Sex-specific epi-marks are made during early fetal development and serve as security against the considerable natural variation in testosterone that happens in late fetal development. For example, sex-specific epi-marks prevent female fetuses from becoming masculine when there are unusually high testosterone levels present, and vice versa for male fetuses.
    Different kinds of epi-marks safeguard different sex-specific characteristics; some protect the genitals, others protect sexual identity, and this study suggests others keep safe sexual partner preference.
    When these epi-marks are passed between generations from fathers to daughters or mothers to sons, they have the potential to result in reverse effects. The outcome is feminization of characteristics in sons or masculinization of some characteristics in daughters, occasionally affecting sexual preference.
    This study provides an answer to the evolutionary mystery of homosexuality, suggesting that “sexually antagonistic” epi-marks can, at times, pass from generation to generation and result in homosexuality in opposite-sex children. The mathematical modeling shows that the coding of the genes for these epi-marks can spread in the population easily because they invariably raise the fitness of the parent, but are very rarely erased and do not reduce fitness in their children.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

foot note maybe if DR.bain.had done an taken an investigative approach of of all facts known about homoseuality with more probing scalpel instead of a scalpel which prohibits ..he would still be revered as one whose views and opinions are well balanced and as a practitioner whose truth all can learned from….,,
    BTW it is dumbfounding that the Blog master can allow racist and bigoted comments to permeate the halls and walls of BU without picking a teet,,however if my recollection serves me correct,as of recent his condemnation of the two racially sparked episodes which drew lots of attention..DAVID BU used his website to condemn the racist rants by the two individuals whose names were attached to the episodes which was admirable however there comes a time when one has to think out aloud (that being the case) myself and wonders if David BU was masking his true feelings of racism in the past two episodes one of CLarkson and the football owner,,, when he vehemently condemn and was openly intolerant to racist speech and innuendo,,,,….as it is unbelievable to say the least that after all the condemnation leveled at Clarkson and the other jackass,,which is mild in comparison to BIgoted and hate speech which is being permitted here on BU relentlessly every day DAVID BU would sit idly by and say or do nothing,,,.There is something very wrong with this picture ,,or maybe ,,just maybe there is another side of David which all have finally met living in the racist closet that we have never known..UNBELIVABLE…. DAVID BU you are being watched,,,

8. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Its Epigenetics now folk
    Poor ac
    just like balaam’s ass she is a jackass in a horse race

Fight on AC.
    georgie wont give you up, or give up on bashing you
    you are great to beat up on

REMEMBER THIS YOU CAN NOT DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE
    YOU MUST REALLY MISS BONNY PEPPA NOW lol lol

9. @ac

ac, all GP is trying to say is that he does not see why the LGBT folk should have it all their way at the expense of the non-LGBT folk. It seems that as soon as one of the LGBT folk even as much as sneezes that it is expected that the non-LGBT folk should be rushing to wipe their noses or face the consequences otherwise. He is trying to tell us that he does not give a hoot what the LGBT crowd do with themselves but that they should not try to force the non-LGBT folk to adhere to their whims and fancies. Now, GP might be going about it a bit harshly and a bit derogatary as some folk may think but he is entitled to his opinion. He has rights too. Capiche?

10. @dehood i think u and maybe one or two more people cares what GP says,,,check the gay lobby do YOU THINK THEY CARE<<<IF so DO YOU BELIEVE THAT THE JACKASS<>>>ON BU EVERDAY >>>>>I GOT NEWS FOR YOU THE GAY LOBBY all 6 MILLION OF THEM JUST STICK THEIR MIDDLE FINGER RIGHT UP GP RECTUM>>>AND IT IS CAUSING HIM SO MUCH PAIN>> THAT HE CANT SIT OR STAND,AND NOW ALL HE DOES IS HOLLER,,CAPICHE

11. @dehood i think u and maybe one or two more people cares what GP says,,,check the gay lobby do YOU THINK THEY CARE<<<IF so DO YOU BELIEVE THAT THE JACKASS>>ON BU EVERDAY DR FAKESTEIN…GP.. WOULD BE UP IN HERE HOLLERING AND PANTING…>>>>>I GOT NEWS FOR YOU THE GAY LOBBY all 6 MILLION OF THEM JUST STICK THEIR MIDDLE FINGER RIGHT UP GP RECTUM>>>AND IT IS CAUSING HIM SO MUCH PAIN>> THAT HE CANT SIT OR STAND,AND NOW ALL HE DOES IS HOLLER,,CAPICHE

12. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DE HOOD

AC CANT UNDERSTAND YOU. SHE IS TOO BLIND. SHE CAN NOT REASON. SHE IS ILLOGICAL. SHE IS SPINNING HER TOP IN THE MUD, POOR THING

the sweetest thing today though is that mark fenty or dompey or balaam’s ass cant get no body to talk to, so he come back as bajan yankee and gets caught like the silly likkle boy that he is

boy this is bare fun

13. @ GP

Ihope you realise the identity of bajanyankee? None other than the Clown prince of BU. 🙂

14. Now, GP might be going about it a bit harshly and a bit derogatary as some folk may think but he is entitled to his opinion. He has rights too. Capiche?
    The point however, is that in this case, GP is correct.

Why is it so critical that these people be accepted as NORMAL?
    …no question that they are PEOPLE
    …no question they are to be loved
    …no question Bushie could (BFTGOG) be one…

BUT Homosexuality is ABnormal folks…..PERIOD.
    ….just like pedophilia
    ….just like the fellows that like corpses
    ….just like the fellows that like sheep

Whoever ….can talk whatever shiite they like, but IT WILL NEVER BE NORMAL to have an attraction to excreta…..N E V E R !!!

……well perhaps except for ac……since the stuff seems to flow from her very mind….. LOL

15. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LOL DEHOOD

AC GOING MAD
    THE HAPPY PEOPLE DONT CARE WHAT I SAY
    BUT WHAT I AM SAYING GOT AC GOING CRAZY

THIS IS BARE FUN
    AC IT SEEMS THAT YOUR THONG IS TOO TIGHT
    IT AFFECTING THE BLOOD SUPPLY RETURNING TO YA HEART AND THEREFORE TO YA BRAIN

16. @ GP

Ok, our comments crossed. Yeah I was wondering if you had realised who it really was. He must really think others are donkeys like him. 🙂

17. @GEORGIE PORGIE June 2, 2014 at 11:04 PM “AC IT SEEMS THAT YOUR THONG IS TOO TIGHT”

I will have you to know that AC uses respectable granny bingo bags

18. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DE HOOD
    DO YOU REMEMBER THE DAYS WHEN AC AND BONNY PEPPA AND BT GIRL FRIEND USED TO GANG UP ON ME?
    BUT THIS TIME I NOT GOING AWAY
    THIS IS SERIOUS SEAM BOWLING; : LINE AND LENGTH LINE AND LENGTH

19. Granny bingo bags?? Now that’s a new one ! Care to explin further?

20. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

OK SIMPLE SIMON
    I DIDNT KNOW THAT AC USED QUATRE CORDORS
    I THOUGHT SHE WAS UP TO DATE AND WEARING THE IN THING

21. Which one of BT’s girlfriends? He has had several here over the years. 🙂

22. GP

Ok I enjoy a good bit of bowling when the bowler is spot on. Just wondering when we gonna see a “doosra”? 🙂

23. @Bush Tea “GP is correct…BUT Homosexuality is ABnormal folks”

Homosexuality may be statisticall y abnormal as the majority are not homosexual.

BUT homosexuality is completely natural.

Note that your great grandparents born and find homosexuality, and that they died and left it, and so will you and Georgie Porgie, and me and AC, and Dompey and you, and so will our children, and grand children, and great grand children.

Homosexuality was probably put in there by the natural order in order to act as a brake on human fertility, a most effective contraceptive in the hundreds of thousands of years before we discovered man made contraceptives.

If all the people born in the world since the beginning of time had been heterosexual the human population would be more than 10 billion by now, or 20.

The fact the most homosexuals do not have children, in a very real sense means that our grandparents, and parents, and us, and our children,, and our grand children have more to eat therefore less competition for food and therefore we heterosexuals and our children, and our children’s children are more likely to survive.

No wonder that so many homosexuals feel so uncomfortable when they first discover their homosexuality. At some level they must recognize that the NATURAL order has dealt them a hard blow. “You shall desire the same sex, and hence you will be unable to reproduce, and you will not have children, nor grandchildren etc.”

That is a hard enough to deal with, so I think that we should leave the homosexuals alone.

Or as Shakespeare wrote in King Lear “As flies are to wanton boys, we are the playthings of the Gods. They use us for their sport.

But Georgie Porgie is likely to com e on here and tell me that Shakespeare was gay.

Sigh!!!!!!!

24. @de hood une 2, 2014 at 11:18 PM “Granny bingo bags?? Now that’s a new one ! Care to explin further?”

100% cotton, one color (white) real roomy, very, very, comfortable. Post-sexual.

I hope that Georgie Porgie does not tell me now that post-sexuality is an abomination

25. So why the extra room ?

26. @Bush Tea “IT WILL NEVER BE NORMAL to have an attraction to excreta…..N E V E R !!!”

To say that homosexuals are attracted to excreta is like saying that your wife is attracted to semen…once semen is out of the penis it stinks, and it a wet sticky mess..not too attractive at all. I don’t think that any woman would describe the love of her life by saying “I am, attracted to semen”

But a heterosexual man is not just his semen. He is more that that.

Just as a homosexual man is more than excreta.

27. Great SS. So now we getting down to the “finer” points of homosexual attraction? 🙂

28. the fact is that opinions,,comments are all supported under the umbrella of free speech but free speech that is inflammatory and hateful must be condemn…those who would try to wiggled and twist and turn and condone inflammatory response as acceptable or apply a wrapped philosophy to free speech which distorts or supports intolerance and hate towards another human being is disturbing,,,,,

29. ac would you like to translate what you just posted?

30. @Georgie Porgie “There was a lawyer who found himself in trouble who recieved this advice from a man of CLASS, no other than OUR CURRENT GOVERNOR GENERAL in his chambers when he was a high court judge…
    he said to the lawyer ” THIS IS MY ADVICE TO YOU ,, AS A BROTHER,(fellow lawyer) and as a BROTHER (a member of the DLP) and as a BROTHER (fellow lodge member) YOU HAVE TO LEAVE BOUT HERE.”

But how you can know this Geeeorgie Porgie?

Aren’t conversations which take place in chambers private? And if so why woul either lawyer discuss it after exiting chambers?

If I was an accused of wrong doing I certainly won’t walk ’bout discussing my matters with others.

I may not have class, but I am not stupid.

31. if we as a people cannot understand the origins of life and why we are here and where we are going,except for some it was simple divine intervention. which in itself is unexplainable,,and can only be accepted by FAITH..,,.how can we understand why nature does act or intervene in life the way it does ,,unless we have walk in another persons shoes ,,who are we to question,,,,or to judge,,,,,

32. @GEORGIE PORGIE June 2, 2014 at 8:26 PM “They kiil bullers in Jamaica even today”

How does this square with “Thou shall do no murder”?

33. If any of you doubt me about the stinkiness of semen, tell me would you like to work as the laundry person in a brothel?

34. @georgie

your classless ranting continues. You and Bush Tea have added NOTHING to the discourse. REGARDLESS of what you say homosexuality has been around from time immemorial and will be around as long as civilization continues, Have you ever observed that male animals try to mount one another. HOW do you explain that? Perhaps you don’t have the intellectual capacity to respond to what I am saying in a coherent and reasoned manner and hence your dismissive approach.

I am not going anywhere, I do not run away from social discourse, especially one you should have a greater understanding of, than the regular blogger, if you claim to be intellectual superior to I, then your response should be measured and based on current knowledge. Have you understood what ac has enlightened you about, or your limited capacity has prevented you from soaking up the information and you are so obsessed with emitting bovine excreta from your mouth and the smell of it has impacted your ability to think;

If you truly are a doctor, you are the “igorentest” that ever graduated from uwi, I really hope you did not pass through those doors ,because UWI should disown you or claim that something went wrong with your brain since graduation.

@Dehood

I can only be bajanyankee and no other person

35. @de hood une 2, 2014 at 11:44 PM “So why the extra room ?”

In real estate they say location, location, location

In life sensible people say comfort, comfort, comfort.

Location is a valuable commodity.

Comfort is a valuable commodity.

36. Simple Simon:
    You like AC are out of your depth now!! Homosexuality can not statistical and abnormal and normal at the same time. It can only be of two states: normal or abnormal. When one looks at it statistically that is judging from its appearance in the general population , then it is a statistical abnormality in the extreme ends of the bell curve!!

This why AC continues to put nonsense here not knowing of which she speaks.

37. @lemuel

what constitutes abnormal, 1%, 2%,3% etc, and when does the abnormal becomes a part of mainstream. In the days of slavery it was normal thinking that slaves were less than human beings, this abnormal behavior changes over time due to a number of social factors, Beliefs change as society becomes more enlightened.

38. Is homosexuality down to epigenetics?

17 December 2012

By Nicola Davis

Appeared in BioNews 686
    Homosexuality is inherited, not through genes, but through ‘epi-markers’, a study based around mathematical modelling suggests.

Epi-markers are modifications that alter gene expression, but do not change the DNA sequence. Normally, epi-markers are not passed down from one generation to the next, but sometimes this can happen and can influence a child’s characteristics.

In their paper, published in the Quarterly Review of Biology, the authors suggest that when sex-specific epi-markers are passed on they can influence the offspring’s sexual orientation.

Professor Sergey Gavrilets, from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, co-author of the study claims that this ‘transmission of sexually antagonistic epi-marks between generations is the most plausible evolutionary mechanism of the phenomenon of human homosexuality’.

From an evolutionary perspective, the prevalence of homosexuality in the general population (estimated at six percent in the UK by the Department of Trade and Industry, as it then was) is perplexing. Twin studies suggest that homosexuality is at least partly heritable but no genes specific for homosexuality have been discovered. Moreover, homosexual adults are less likely to have children and so are less likely to pass on their genes.

This study combined biological and mathematical models to predict that sex-specific epi-markers, rather that any specific ‘homosexuality gene’, are passed from parents to offspring and influence sexual preference.

These epi-markers are produced early in fetal development to protect the fetus from large natural variations in testosterone exposure in the womb. They can protect girls from becoming masculinised by excessive testosterone, or alternatively protect boys from becoming feminised by insufficient testosterone.

The new model suggests that if a father passes his sex-specific epi-markers to his daughter, rather than her producing her own, she can become more masculinised with this impacting sexual orientation. Similarly if a mother passes her sex-specific epi-markers to her son, he can become feminised, resulting in homosexual preference.

‘These epi-marks protect fathers and mothers from excess or underexposure to testosterone’, Professor William Rice of the University of California and lead author of this research, told US News. However, ‘when they carry over to opposite-sex offspring, it can cause the masculinisation of females or the feminisation of males’.

Professor Rice admits that ‘there’s more verification needed’ on his model but, he says: ‘This can be tested and proven within six months. It’s easy to test. If it’s a bad idea, we can throw it away in short order’.

AC:

Note the author’s comment it is only an idea!! Mathematical models can not replace the biological investigation that would need to be done. I know you do not know but this is only theoretical!! I thought Dompey was mixed up!!

39. AC:
    Epi-markers are “natural” and have a specific biological role!!! I hope this helps your hopelessness! By the way, better luck with those flour bags panties that Simple Simon said that you wear!!

40. Bajan yankee:
    Please, you are statistically challenged!!

41. The good thing about Simple Simon is that the name says it all…. …simple minded Simon, with the primary school logic and the best of intentions….
    Look Simple, statistical results have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with what is ‘normal’ or ABnormal. Something is considered normal when it is in accord with its intended and designed purpose.

It is therefore ‘normal’ to put on your underwear BEFORE your pants.
    If, statistically, there have been many people (like ac) who have been reversing this process – THAT DOES NOT MAKE IT NORMAL – just popular ….but still ABNORMAL.

In statistics, ‘normal’ also refers to the typical bell curve frequency distribution that can be found in any untainted population….but that is a different kinda normal…..

42. Bushie:
    That old grey matter still sparking!!!

43. @lemuel

the fountain of all knowledge you are AS WISE AS SOLOMON.

44. @ Simple Simon
    ….and we all sympathize with you experiences with stinking semen…. It probably explains the large number of “ex – partners” of which you previously spoke….
    Perhaps you need to know that semen is not really intended for such close proximity to your nose…..
    Perhaps you need to know that semen is the seed of LIFE, and like all living things when they have completed their life cycle, it DIES, and smells….
    Excreta, on the other hand, is the GARBAGE resulting from the process of living, which is being EJECTED for disposal. It contains all the disease and contaminants that are REJECTED by the body….and smells because it is shiite….

Anyone who would compare the seed of life with the disposal of ‘garbage of living’ could only be described as ‘SIMPLE”……

45. @Lemuel June 3, 2014 at 7:11 AM “You like AC are out of your depth now!! Homosexuality can not statistical and abnormal and normal at the same time.”

No I am not.

I did not use the mathematical term norm or normal.

I used the biological term NATURAL..

Homosexuality IS NATURAL.

46. @Bush Tea “statistical results have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with what is ‘normal’ or ABnormal. Something is considered normal when it is in accord with its intended and designed purpose.”

Natural I said. Not normal.

Homosexuality is designed to reduce human fertility. It is therefore completely NATURAL, since it is used for its designed purpose. That is to reduce human fertility.

Homosexuality is NATURAL.

47. @ Simple Simon
    ….well Bushie started it…. and said that it is ABnormal.
    Natural shiite….
    What do you know about what is natural…? You set the rules…?

Natural / normal ….same shiite….. It is what was DESIGNED to be the done thing…..
    BBE, the engineers, designers, builders, and final judges – are the ONLY ones capable of determining what the rules are….
    I.e. What is NATURAL.
    ….and it sure AIN’T being sexually attracted to shiite or to the same sex….
    It may be POPULAR.
    It may be ACCEPTED
    It may be GENUINE
    It may even be SENSUOUS
    …….but NATURAL or NORMAL it ain’t….

48. ignorance breedd and that is apparantlytrue as one witness the on going daily verbal to a level of insanity under the guise of Freedom of Speech promoting hate speech and bigotry .ac not trying to reverse anything. ..for all we know homosexuality might have been determined and designed by nature for population control therfore what might. seem illogical and out of step with religious doctrine can be an absolutelynorm with natures plan for population control. homosexuality would be around umtil nature decides differently ..even god failed im efforts to destroy and reverse..the only thing ac interested in reversing is the hate filled and bigoted speech that has become the new norm on BU

49. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

AC

GOD IS NOT THE AUTHOR OF CONFUSION

WHY DID HE CREATE EVE?
    HE COULD HAVE EASILY MADE ANOTHER MAN IF BULLING WAS HIS DESIGN

THE NATURAL WAY IS ADAM& EVE, NOT ADAM & STEVE OR BETTY &HETTY

TELLING THE TRUTH IS NOT HATE SPEECH

FROM THE TIME I WAS GROWING UP THEY WERE CALLED BULLERS AND WICKERS, AND I WILL CALL THEM BULLERS AND WICKERS TILL I DIE.OK?