Submitted by Cedriann Martin, UNAIDS Caribbean โ€“ Op-Ed by Dr. Ernest Massiah, UNAIDS Caribbean Regional Support Team Director

"Protests over Prof Bain's sacking in Kingston, Belize City" - Click image
“Protests over Prof Bain’s sacking in Kingston, Belize City” – Click image

Recently, the discussion on HIV has been a mix of the selective review of scientific evidence, comments on an administrative procedure at the regional university, and perceptions on the existence of agendas that seek either to change or hold back Caribbean societies. Lost in this debate is a Caribbean reality. At the end of 2012, UNAIDS estimated that there were 260,000 people living with HIV in the region.ย  In many countries, approximately one in three new cases is among men who have sex with men. How do we deal with this as we work to end the epidemic in the Caribbean?

First we must recognise that HIV is a virus, not a crime.ย  Laws that criminalise being HIV positive, sexual behaviours such as anal sex or sexual orientation, make it difficult to mount an effective HIV response.ย ย  Persons who know their sexual behaviour or orientations are illegal are less likely either to go to health services or to speak openly about their sexual behaviour while there, thus limiting their treatment options and prevention efforts.

A soon to be released UNAIDS internet survey of more than 3,500 men who have sex with men across the Caribbean, the CARIMIS study, shows that about two in three men who got a negative HIV test result from the private or public health sector, did not talk to their doctors about their sex with men. Our laws should help create an environment in which there is no impediment to delivering targeted prevention and treatment services to a population particularly affected by HIV.

There is consensus around this among leaders of the regionโ€™s HIV response. Over the last ten years, under the umbrella of the Pan Caribbean Partnership against AIDS (PANCAP), civil society, national AIDS responses and international partners have supported the goal of removing laws that criminalise sexual orientations and behaviours. The 2008 โ€“ 2012 Caribbean Regional Strategic Framework reinforced this target. This is a regional goal and a global one. It is one of the key steps that must be taken to end AIDS.

Second, we must remember that stigma and discrimination still exist.ย  It is not only the law that complicates peopleโ€™s lives; it is the prejudice that the law codifies and reinforces. The UNAIDS CARIMIS study shows that within the month before responding to the survey, almost a quarter of the men were verbally abused because of their same sex attraction. Recent surveys of doctors and nurses in two Caribbean countries show that approximately 25 percent reported seeing HIV positive persons receiving low quality medical treatment and about ten percent would rather not provide services to men who have sex with men.ย  These workers had been trained.ย  They had the clinical knowledge. What they did not have was the ability to overcome their prejudices. Until we overcome prejudice, people will not seek services and we will see a steady rise in new cases.

Sexual behaviour and sexual orientation exist in a social context in which prejudice, stigma and the fear of violence influence the behaviour of both those who seek health services and the medical professionals who offer those services. Thatโ€™s why removing criminal laws against consensual same sex sexual conduct cannot be a stand-alone strategy. UNAIDS urges all governments to implement laws to protect men who have sex with men, lesbians, bisexuals and transgender people from violence and discrimination; to address homophobia and transphobia through public education campaigns; and to ensure that adequate health services are provided to address their needs.ย  UNAIDS stands for all those living with or vulnerable to HIV, regardless of their social or legal status.

Finally, we must ensure the rights of all Caribbean citizens.ย  Caribbean history is one of a struggle to ensure the inclusion of all citizens, against a backdrop of exclusions based on race, class, ethnicity and colour.ย  The individuals who stood for the rights that we now enjoy were called names, jailed, beaten and killed. Today, those who stand up for the rights of gay, lesbian bisexual and transgendered citizens are labelled as supporting a โ€œgay agendaโ€. There is no gay agenda. There is a human rights agenda which seeks to ensure that all Caribbean citizens are treated with respect and dignity. Every individual should benefit from HIV prevention, treatment, care and support and all people should have the same human rights everywhere.

All rights are coupled with responsibility. Freedom of expression carries the burden of responsibility for the consequences of oneโ€™s speech. In Belize, Mr. Caleb Orozco, the young man who asked the court to determine whether the sodomy law violated his constitutional rights, faced verbal abuse, physical violence and death threats. The recent media coverage has led to increased threats against him.

The voices speaking for the removal of punitive and discriminatory laws are women, adolescents, gay men, public health professionals, human rights supporters, researchers, leaders in the regional HIV response, priests, pundits, and imams. These are people from different walks of life, with differing backgrounds and beliefs, united against prejudice. This is what standing up for justice and freedom should be about.ย  This is what will be required if we are to end AIDS and leave no Caribbean citizen behind.

Contact

UNAIDS Caribbean | Cedriann Martin | tel. +868 625-4955 ext. 96519 / +868 371-7195 | martinc@unaids.org

UNAIDS

UNAIDS, the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, is an innovative United Nations partnership that leads and inspires the world in achieving universal access to HIV prevention, treatment, care and support. Learn more at unaids.org and unaidscaribbean.org

215 responses to “HIV in the Caribbean: science, rights and justice”

1. when one uses hate speech and bigotry to push an agenda ..there is nothing to discuss.TB is world wide and has been before any knoweldge of the HIV virus and will be aftr the virus is no longer prevalent..the focus by GPon TB and its impact on the gay community has one purpose only and a stragety fueled by vengance in respect of the firing of Dr. Bain.Gp constant attempts to isloated and discriminate Lbg is being well documented and will be dealt with in the appropriate manner…his so called deep analysis with slanted views and perceptions should not be tolerated or endorsed or supported by people whose lives had or have been in any shape or form affected by hate speech and discrimination.

2. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

ba ling ba ling

Here is a braying jack ass

TB is world wide and has been before any knoweldge of the HIV virus and will be aftr the virus is no longer prevalent..

WHEN WILL THE HIV VIRUS NOT BE PREVALENT?
    HOW WILL IT BE CURED?

MAYBE WHEN THE LAST BULLER AND BULLEE DIES!

BA LING BALING

THE FACT IS THAT IN ALL THE LITERATURE THAT I HAVE READ THERE IS NOW AN ASSOCIATION OF TB AND AIDS AND BULLIN

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Georgie Porgie

AC is now my boo. I am reaching out to her but her status quo and lawyer husband got she head big big big. She said some day she will forgive me but for now she has me on a ban of ignore. I am trying to help her come to the realization of her pathetic-ity. Her reasoning leaves a lot to be desired even though there is some semblance of intellectual capability. I want to implore her to watch the brilliant written movie by Denzil Washington and I believe Oprah Winfrey had some involvement in it as well (but stand to be corrected) called “The Great Debaters.” There was one scene where Denzil told his young debate team to present facts and bring truths. That truths dispel nonsense. And that nonsense, articulated with the best of oral skills, is still nonsense. So when the young boy told the truth about the “Lynching” they witness and top it all of with…” You should be happy that We (blacks) choose the latter i.e, the staging of peaceful demonstrations over the action of civil disobedience…he pop up the Harvard pompous brats with their prejudicial account of truth. By the way the movie is base on a true story…So do not come on here talking shite but it fictitious.

AC is a “general practitioner” and so when ever someone delve into the historical facts of the cuntery the party she loves so much has done, she retreats and do a surrender with a submissive comment. If only she would praise the truths of both parties and criticize the wrongs of each, she would make for the better. But as I have said before: if you eating or have ate from the plates of kings you are subject to the rule of the King, unless you poison he LOL

4. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BA LING BA LING

COME ON AC SPEW SOME MORE OF YOUR IGNORANCE
    I AM HERE WAITING TO RUN YOU RAGGED

ARE YOU A WICKER OR A WICKEE?

OR IS IT ONE OF YOUR BOYS THAT IS A BULLER OR A BULLEE?

YOU DOTH PROTEST TOO MUCH

THERE WAS A MEDICAL SCHOOL AT WHICH I TAUGHT IN 2006
    THEY MESSED WITH ME, AND I WROTE TO THE PM OF THE COUNTRY WHERE THEY HAD THEIR CHARTER.

GUESS WHAT? CHARTER GONE SCHOOL CLOSED THERE
    THERE STARTED BACK AT THE TEXAS BORDER IN MEXICO, AND GOT SO MANY LICKS ONLINE THAT THEY GOT NO NEW STUDENTS

GUESS WHAT ac? THIS IS DESPITE THEM THREATENING ME WITH A MILLION DOLLAR LAW SUIT ONLINE AND SENDING A MAN TO MY GATED COMMUNITY YARD.

THE POLICE CAUGHT HIS TAIL! I ONLY LEARNED THE DETAILS LATER WHEN THE NEIGHBOR TOLD US

I AM NOT AFRAID AC OF YOU OR ANY WICKER WICKEE OR BULLER OR BULLEE
    BA LING BA LING

5. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Hants,
    re the newspaper report

Here we have a medical illiterate of ACesque and Balaamโ€s ass pontification about a matter that he knows nothing about!
    We read that Principal Vincent Fergusson denied knowledge of any case of tuberculosis, referring instead to โ€œan upper respiratory tract infectionโ€. Does this jackass know anything at all about TB?
    He says โ€œMaybe one of our students was exposed to a respiratory challenge.โ€ However, yesterday afternoon, the Ministry of Health confirmed that the upper respiratory tract infection at the school was the contagious TB disease.

The head said the childโ€™s case was isolated and no one else was affected.
    This debilitating disease IS MOST DEFINITELY A RESPIRATORY CHALLENGE.
    DOES THIS JACKASS KNOW THAT THE DISEASE IS CONTAGIOUS AND FATAL?

DOES THIS JACKASS KNOW THAT THE DISEASE IS is spread through the air when a person sneezes, coughs or even speaks?

THIS IS WHAT BUSH TEA CORRECTLY CALLS BRASS BOWLERY

6. Georgie Porgie

You an illiterate ass. This year marks twenty five years that I have been working in the healthcare field here in America. And here in America, everyone who works in the healthcare field most get a PPD/ TB test to work. And if there are found to positive, their have to then take a chess ex ray. Just to inform your thinking: most people from the Caribbean who are test for TB or given the PPD test comes up positive because of the polio vaccination their have had when they were children.

7. Georgie Porgie

Please forgive me because I have misspelled some words; in a hast to reply to this nincompoop GP. And by the way PPD, is defined as Purified Protein Derivative.

8. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

balaams ass brays once more HE HAW HE HAW HE HAW

because he has worked 25 years in health in the USA, he seeks to teach me.HE HAW HE HAW HE HAW

you have not made any point or added anything to the discussion HE HAW HE HAW HE HAW

but you may bray on HE HAW HE HAW HE HAW
    allows me to expose your ignorance

HE HAW HE HAW HE HAW

9. David the tone of BU by so called educated people has sunk to a new low. The hate filled diatribe by so called Christians supported by you is beyond belief. I am appalled that you have not pulled in the reigns on GP. He is a disgrace to humankind and his profession.

10. @Islandgal

We may not agree with GP’s bedside manner but we encourage free speech on BU.

11. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

david
    Bedside manner has to do with the way you treat patients.
    Was great at that and got many a good history in my time

I HAVE BEEN MOCKED ON BU FOR BELIEVING THE BIBLE—– THE BOOK OF FABLES ETC

I HAVE BEEN CALLED ALL SORTS OF NAMES OVER THE YEARS AND UNJUSTLY SO. DID YOU HEAR ME COMPLAIN ?
    BUT NOW I ACCURATELY DESCRIBE BULLERS AND BULEES AS THEY AE AND WICKERS AND WICKEES AS THEY ARE I AM THE WORST MAN OUT

ba ling baling

I TOLD MY BOYS EARLY

DONT EMBARRASS ME WID DE POLICE
    DONT THIEF
    DONT DO DRUGS OR SMOKE…..

AND ABOVE ALL………….DONT BULL

BULLIN IS WRONG

I WIL SOON LOOK UP STRONGS CONCORDANCE AND GIVE ALL THE REFERENCES LOL

12. Georgie Porgie

Man go and hid yourself somewhere because you worse than the itch.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Geez on bread David release ma comment na

14. David, I must say: I do admire your equanimity, restraint, patience and resolve, for tolerating GP and Bush Tea over the years. These two egotistical bugaboos, makes a mockery of this poor blog.

15. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BALAM’S ASS
    I WILL ALWAYS BE AN ITCH TO YOU BECAUSE YOU ARE A WANNA BEE
    YOU WOULD LOVE TO HAVE ACHIEVED WHAT I HAVE IN MY LIFE

YOU WOULD LOVE TO BE ABLE TO ARTICULATE YOUR POSITION WITHOUT GOING TO THE PUBLIC LIBRARY AS YOU POSTED YESTERDSY

GO GOOGLE HERD IMMUNITY AND POST IT TO PLEASE SIMPLE SIMON

16. Georgie Porgie,

I do not know you from Adam. And who are you in the world of anybody? You’re a sick, sick, sick man and I only hope that you find Jesus someday brother. And why would I want what you have? How do you know what I value in life?

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hahaha
    Dompey seems like you got yourself a nemesis. Man this fella ripping you a new pooch hole. LOLOLOL

18. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

PLANTATION AND NO DEEDS,

I DONT KNOW WHERE TO GET A GOOD PIZZA IN BIM
    BUT IN CENTRAL FLORIDA AND SOME OTHER STATES IN THE USA WE TEND TO GO TO CICI’S
    THEY HAVE A PIZZA BUFFET FOR 5 US

ALL SORTS OF DIFFERENT FLAVORS INCLUDING DESERT PIZZAS

19. LOl @ Islandgal
    Bushie can’t believe that you of all people begging David for shelter from GP’s lashes……
    …have a quick look back at most of your comments about Christians and believers generally…. You don’t bother Bushie of course….but can you imagine how your comments must make people like Zoe and GP recoil…?
    Personally, Bushie thinks that GP is taking it a bit too far…but his position is FUNDAMENTALLY a very sound one.
    One of the problems with starting a war is that you have no control on the type of ammunition and weaponry that your enemy may want to use in retaliation…and right now GP pelting bout big rocks left, right and center….
    LOL….That 2X4 can’t help you one shiite ๐Ÿ™‚ in this war zone….

Wait Dompey was in health care for twenty five years …..?
    Hmmmmmm
    Let’s see….
    He was buying pizzas in Barbados
    He was in Station Hill helping police to beat up bad boys
    Dompey was in the USA’s army and is a full military tactician
    …now Dompey was in health care for the last 25 years…

Boss….why don’t you chose a story and stick with it…?

Is it true that you where in the US army during the period of “don’t ask, don’t tell…”
    Is it also true that you could not keep your trap shut …and told…..?
    LOl
    Ha Ha

20. Bush Tea you and GP are one of a kind I won’t waste my time with maniacs of your ilk. It has been proven that most religious people are mentally insane so I will excuse you and GP. This blog has been hijacked and It has become rather boring. I will take a sabbatical adieu!

21. Bush Tea, I was born and bred behind District Wall, and the age of eighteen I migrated to the US. Where I joined the US Army at nineteen. I spent four years on active duty and two years in the state national guard. 19+6= 25 and I was born in 1964;you do the math.

22. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BUSH TEA
    RE Wait Dompey was in health care for twenty five years โ€ฆ..?
    Hmmmmmm
    Letโ€™s seeโ€ฆ.
    He was buying pizzas in Barbados
    He was in Station Hill helping police to beat up bad boys
    Dompey was in the USAโ€™s army and is a full military tactician
    โ€ฆnow Dompey was in health care for the last 25 yearsโ€ฆ

Bossโ€ฆ.why donโ€™t you chose a story and stick with itโ€ฆ?

Is it true that you where in the US army during the period of โ€œdonโ€™t ask, donโ€™t tellโ€ฆโ€
    Is it also true that you could not keep your trap shut โ€ฆand toldโ€ฆ..?
    LOl
    Ha Ha

BALAAM/SASS IS EITHER
    A JESUS
    B SUPERMAN
    C NONE OF THE ABOVE
    D A BLASTED LIAR THAT IS A WANNABEE

POOR FELLA HE FOUND HIMSELF ON THE WRONG BLOG
    FELLAS HERE HAVE MEMORIES THAT EASILY EXPOSE LIARS AND WANNABEES

23. St George's Dragon Avatar

I just Googled Strong’s Concordance. The first entry that came up was Wikipedia. Sounds like that’s a website run by lesbians. Best avoided at all costs.

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

THERE ARE SEVERAL ENTRIES FOR STRONGS CONCORDANCE ON THE INTERNET.

STRONG’S CONCORDANCE IS AN INDEX OF THE OCCURENCE OF EVERY WORD IN THE BIBLE.

IT IS COUPLED TO A STRONGS NUMBER TO INDICATE WHICH HEBREW OR GREEK WORD IS USED

ST GEORGE DRAGON YOUR IGNORANCE HERE IS OF THE SAME ORDER AS BALAAM’S ASS AND ACMURDER

25. Bush Tea

Let me inform your thinking: in the state national guard, you’re required to served one weekend a month and two weeks a year for your annual train. In other words: one is at liberty to still hold a full time job, as he/ she works in the private sector ,while he/ she serves in the state or federal national guard. Essentially, you’re a citizen soldier and at liberty to work in private sector as you serve the county.
    On the active duty this isn’t permitted.
    ย 

26. Lemuel | May 27, 2014 at 10:11 PM |
    Dompey:
    I am very aware of your mythological triumphs in almost every filed including medicine. However, most of the US counter intelligence hardware is produced by โ€œprivate firmsโ€ who recruit their employees from the top university in the US. Now if you are producing the hardware, wouldnโ€™t that private firm have much more capacity than its client the US government?

But you only live in Brooklyn where apart from the sound of gun fire around the projects you would not be privy to the action of which I speak. Furthermore, the private firms have even clearance that a puny weekend soldier like yourself would never have or achieve. I bet you that you only made the National Guard to cement acquisition your green card and then your citizenship.

Again donโ€™t bluff about handling sensitive equipment; the mere fact that you would speak of it here tells me a whole lot about your real role in any military organization in the US!!

Dompey, go and rest yourself!!

27. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

I REPEAT
    BALAAM’S ASS IS EITHER
    A JESUS
    B SUPERMAN
    C NONE OF THE ABOVE
    D A BLASTED LIAR THAT IS A WANNABEE

THE ANSWER IS D
    POOR FELLA HE FOUND HIMSELF ON THE WRONG BLOG
    FELLAS HERE HAVE MEMORIES THAT EASILY EXPOSE LIARS AND WANNABEES

28. @ Dompey
    …tek it easy man
    That is too much information you are spilling here

First of all, no one is impressed….
    Secondly the National Guard is a mock army where rich kids like George Bush (and cowards) go to try to avoid active duty by playing soldier on weekends….
    And thirdly
    …we ain’t care….cause you was only a private anyhow ๐Ÿ™‚

Besides, all this info will only come back to haunt you when you feel the need to tell us about how you worked in the aerospace industry for 5 years teaching astronauts how to survive in space….

Cuh dear man…..ease up on then nuh! You got Bushie’s girl Islandgal upset …..and that is likely to reduce the Bushman’s chances of getting the little dinner invitation….
    While you are right about the CONSEQUENCES of this abhorrent behavior, …you must recognize that the VICTIMS are arbitrary and random…..the actual individuals (and their families) who fall victim could be the most upright and straight forward among us….

THIS IS WHY. THIS IS SUCH A DIFFICULT SUBJECT.
    IT IS CATCH 22….. But the ORIGINAL cause is where we need to focus our ire…

It goes like this…..
    The unenlightened among us, highly focused on their personal greed, use their influence to reverse GOD’s spiritual laws. They INSTITUTIONALIZE wickedness….
    They frustrate the justice system
    The police force is ineffective (except against petty nonsense)
    The leaders mostly become bribe-takers and puppets controlled by secret forces
    The church is a total joke
    …and the deviants in society become the ones with clout… (As happened in this case with UWI)

When societies reach this level, the minds of the people become warped and they see wrong as right, and false as truth…
    ..so shiite like evolution, apartheid, racism, and all kinds of idiocy is acceptable….(like the kind of logic that comes from Ross)

One of the spiritual diseases resulting, is homosexuality..
    …basically BBE is saying…if wunna insists on accepting this shiite, I will turn wunna minds to the stuff…(the scripture that GP quoted)
    Unfortunately, the victims are largely random….so the REAL issue is not the victims, but the spiritual nastiness that has been allowed to fester in the country for so long…

Wuh shiite, if the water works department and the sanitation services stopped doing their jobs and the place became infested with cholera, dengue, gastro and other such diseases…..would we cuss the sick people (even though they would be contagious)?
    OF COURSE NOT…..
    we cuss the brass bowls whose jobs it is to get these services working efficiently….

GP ….stop cussing the bullers …and let us get back to the damn politicians nuh….

29. Dompey

You deserve a medal for bothering.

Lemuel, Bush Tea, GP and one of two others…………talking to yourselves proves nothing. Yes indeed, enjoy yourselves. As Island says, you really are a set of boring, small-minded wankers – repeat WANKERS. Get it?

30. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Robert

I TALKING TO YOU NOW OK?

do bullers and bullees wank too?

ARE YOU A BULLIN WANKER ROSS?
    Lemuel, Bush Tea, GP and one of two othersโ€ฆ WILL GO TO HELL BECAUSE THEY STAND FOR RIGHT. THATS OK SIR

BUT PUTTING YOUR DOGGIE IN ANOTHER MAN’S BOTSY IS BULLIN ROSS

IT IS WRONG ROSS

IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN WRONG ROSS

AND ANYONE WHO CONDONES IT HAS A PROBLEM

NOW GO AND WANK WITH YOUR BULLER/BULLEE FRIENDS

BA LING BALING

31. BU PEOPLE

I quite agree that this kind of post is now boring and not worth contributing to. Everyone who opposes these people is either an “idiot” or “a buller”. Moreover they become irresistible when it happens that their colossal egos become conjoint. And they say that the gay lobby is loud!

What I’ve noticed is that generally people who contribute do so as individuals. It is fairly rare to read “I agree with X”. Since I divine that more people actually oppose the wanker crowd than support them why don’t people actually do what they are doing? St George says something. Who says “I agree” – and particularly when the racists on here start their racial antics? I say something. Who on here says OK (even if I don’t like you) you got that one right? AC says something. She is cast as an idiot and no one actually thinks about what’s she’s saying in her ac mode. Why? Then Dompey. More sense than most of us – posing little questions, searching, guiding. But no, Dompey is a frustrating idiot. And so it goes on….isn’t it time to become principled and to work together to forward the principle? David is always saying that so much of it all is down to the “common citizenry”. Well, that’s us. But, frankly, you’d never know it.

32. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

ROSS

I WILL KEEP IT SIMPLE

PUTTING YOUR DOGGIE IN ANOTHER MANโ€™S BOTSY IS BULLIN ROSS

IT IS WRONG ROSS

IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN WRONG ROSS

AND ANYONE WHO CONDONES IT HAS A PROBLEM

NOW GO AND WANK WITH YOUR BULLER/BULLEE FRIENDS

BA LING BALING

33. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

rOSS
    RE AC says something. She is cast as an idiot and no one actually thinks about whatโ€™s sheโ€™s saying in her ac mode. Why?

She is cast as ann ass simply because she is an ass
    why do you think that no one thinks about what she says

Then Dompey. More sense than most of us โ€“ posing little questions, searching, guiding. But no, Dompey is a frustrating idiot.

SORRY ROSS
    BALAAMS ASS MAY HAVE MORE SENSE THAN YOU I GRANT YOU THAT
    HE MAY BE SEARCHING………BUT GUIDING ? WHO ROSS? YOU? HAS THE SHIT GONE UP TO YOUR BRAIN?

stop bullin man and you will be able to think straight

BALAAMS ASS is just that. Someone who cuts and pastes and tries to sound like what he is not

34. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Bain Supporters Keep Up The Pressure
    Published: Friday | May 23, 2014 1
    Several of the island’s lobby and citizens’ groups yesterday continued to condemn this week’s dismissal of Dr Brendan Bain from the post of director of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training Network (CHART), by the University of the West Indies (UWI).

One group has taken its disapproval to the Internet with the launch of an on-line petition, demanding an apology to Dr Bain from the university for the “unjust dismissal” of the doctor.

The petition, which has already garnered more than 500 signatures, was delivered to the mail box of the principal of the UWI Mona Campus, Professor Archibald McDonald, and president of the West Indies Group of Teachers, Anthony Perry.

Authors of the petition “citizen stakeholders”, said to be made up of university lecturers, students, scientists, medical doctors and ordinary citizens, called the termination unwarranted as Bain did nothing wrong.

political ideologies

They went on to argue that the university’s action might prevent medical experts from freely carrying out their mandate out of fear of repercussions. They went on to argue that the fight against HIV/AIDS was too important for researchers to be intimidated or dismissed “because of the political ideologies of a few interest groups”.

The petition was also highly critical of the university administration. It argued that the group had lost confidence in the vice chancellor of the university for firing Dr Bain. They were also concerned that if the university continues on its current path, it will not remain a centre for open and objective, scientific research, as public policy suggestions would be based on the whims of interest groups.

Professor McDonald is yet to respond to the petition.

In the meantime, a statement from the Jamaica Umbrella Group of Churches stated that while it understands the reasons stated for the dismissal of Bain, it felt it was a move that would do little to eliminate the discrimination homosexual groups face in Jamaica.

“A decision such as this, against such a reputable professional, has served to concretise the view that those with a homosexual agenda are prepared to discriminate against, stigmatise and silence those who do not share their world view,” said the church group.

The group also felt that the university and Bain could have come to a more “amicable” resolution.

Bain was dismissed by the university after it said it lost confidence in him as director of CHART. This followed his position contained in a court document in a high-profile Belize case in which Caleb Orozco, a gay man, challenged the constitutionality of an 1861 law that criminalises men having sex with men.

35. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Pioneering University HIV/AIDS researcher sacked over accurate but politically incorrect court testimony

Posted by William A. Jacobson Monday, May 26, 2014 at 7:15pm
    Dr. Brendan Bain, a pioneer in fighting HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean, lost his research position at University of West Indies after submitting expert report in landmark Belize case.

http://stluciatimes.com/article/professor-bain-spoke-truth-carifam
    Professor Bain Spoke the Truth โ€“ CARIFAM

http://www.zoominfo.com/p/Brendan-Bain/124146657

36. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Amandala Newspaper
    Headline
    Crime
    Politics
    Sports
    Editorial
    Publisher
    Letters
    Features
    General
    Regional
    International
    DR. BERNARD BULWER DISCUSSES PROF. BRENDAN BAIN Letters โ€” 23 May 2014 โ€” by Dr. Bernard Bulwer
    Dear Editor,

I have a lot on my plate, but I feel compelled to press โ€œpauseโ€ and issue a brief comment on Professor Brendan Bain and the recent events. There are many things I would like to say, but for now, I will let this editorial below and two additional links speak.

I must say a personal word about Professor Bain: Dr. Bain taught me and an entire generation of doctors at UWI. I last met Dr. Bain when he visited Belize a few years ago. He is among the very top in my list of the finest human beings ever to walk on this planet, and one of the most caring, conscientious, and humblest of human beings I have ever met. This is an overused statement, but to me, the label of a person โ€œwithout an ounce of hateโ€ towards anyone, applies especially to Brendan Bain.

During my time at UWI, when patients with AIDS were being stigmatized and discriminated against (at the University Hospital of the West Indies), Dr. Bain led the effort to rescue and give hope to those infected with HIV and afflicted with AIDS, which at the time were mainly MSM. He personally mentored myself and my colleagues about this.

Neither in public or in private have I ever heard Brendan calling for any oneโ€™s head. To the contrary, Brendan not only issued lip service of support, but he was there, getting down in the trenches like the Good Samaritan, taking personal risk to his own health. This was the time during which there was the fear even of going into a room of patients with AIDS.

To me, it is a very sad day when this very Professor Bain who gave his life โ€ฆ and life-giving therapies and programs that especially benefit some of the very people who have called for his head, is now so publicly vilified.

To my knowledge, Dr Bain has not been given the opportunity to defend himself of what he has now been accused. Dr. Bain is a man of faith, a practicing disciple of Christ, who like the Good Samaritan, did not look the other way or walk on the other side. Dr. Bain walked the walk.

I believe even now, in his heart, Brendan is saying, โ€œFather, forgive them, for they know not what they do.โ€ Hold strong, Brother Bain. If only they knew. What you prescribed and stood for was not hate โ€ฆ is not hate, and will never be hate. What you DID and administered was life and hope, even to some who now crucify you. And I know what you would say to me; it would go something like this, โ€œBernard, I would to it all over again, even if it came to this.โ€

37. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

May 22, 2014
    Professor Bain Spoke the Truth – CARIFAM
    – See more at: http://stluciatimes.com/article/professor-bain-spoke-truth-carifam#sthash.RRe02V0S.dpuf

The Caribbean Centre for Family and Human Rights (CARIFAM) is shocked, scandalized and deeply disappointed by the decision of the University of the West Indies to relieve Professor Dr. Brendan Bain of his post as Director of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART) Centre.

Professor Bain is an acknowledged pioneer in clinical infectious disease practice and a leading medical authority on the HIV/AIDS epidemic in the Caribbean region.

He has been the Director of CHART since its inception in 2001. As a testimony to his sterling contribution as head of CHART, he was given a two year contract to continue to head the organization after his retirement from UWI in 2013.

Unfortunately, in dismissing Dr. Bain, UWI has not only ignored the sound advice of many Caribbean citizens and credible organisations, but has bowed to pressure from sexual rights activists who will stop at nothing, including the use of untruths, bullying, and intimidation to achieve their agenda promoting โ€œfree sexโ€, regardless of the scientific and medically documented harmful consequences.

It was these unquestionable harmful consequences which Dr. Bain highlighted in his expert testimony on the case in the Belizean courts which have subsequently led to his dismissal.

In his testimony, inter alia, Bain noted the following:-

The fact that all the published evidence suggests that decriminalizing anal intercourse among consenting adults will lead an increase in HIV infections among Men who have Sex with Men (MSMโ€™s).
    That data from several parts of the world show the risks of sexually transmitted diseases and cancers is unacceptably higher among MSMโ€™s, and that this is the case even in countries where decriminalization has taken place.
    That the risk to MSMโ€™s and their intimate sexual partners is not limited to their physical health but places a financial burden on the society as a whole.
    Bain, in effect, rendered the sexual rights activistโ€™s case for decriminalizing homosexual acts null and void and he provided clear, scientific evidence to back his findings.

Bainโ€™s testimony is not new evidence.

These findings relating to the higher prevalence of HIV infections among MSMโ€™s have been repeatedly published by the American Centre for Disease Control.

Dr. Bain, unlike many of his colleagues, has not been afraid to speak the truth.

In doing so, he has put the interests of his patients and the people of the Caribbean first. With his years of experience in treating HIV/AIDS patients he has pointed out key elements required for a successful HIV/AIDS programme – behavior change, avoiding harmful and unhealthy sexual behavior, and NOT decriminalising buggery, anti-sodomy laws.

It is clear from their actions that the sexual rights activists and the University of the West Indies are more concerned with promoting โ€œfree sexโ€ in the name of โ€œhuman rightsโ€ than with effectively dealing with the HIV/AIDS epidemic thus alleviating suffering and saving lives.

The fundamental and universally recognized right to freedom of speech has been severely undermined by UWIโ€™s action in this matter and brings the integrity of this august Caribbean institution into disrepute.

We need more experts and professionals like Dr. Bain to speak the truth when and where it matters.

Nowhere more so than here and now, where the focus in HIV/AIDS needs to be on saving lives not on promoting, radical, harmful, selfish, sexual and political agendas which will inevitably destroy our societies.

38. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Friday, May 23, 2014. AARON HUMES Reporting: This afternoon in Belize City, members of Belizeโ€™s Christian community led by Belize Action showed their support for fired UWI professor Dr. Brendan Bain, released after pressure from LGBT rights organizations for his testimony in the Caleb Orozco Case last May.

They taped their mouths shut, displaying a message stating โ€œfreedom under attackโ€ as well as additional slogans on placards.

Pastor Richard Smith of Belmopan says it is about family values.

While LGBT have their individual rights and freedoms it is felt that they are interfering with Dr. Bainโ€™s right to work and live and have free speech.

Attorney Audrey Matura-Shepherd felt the wrath of the LGBT movement when last year she wrote a critical column in the Amandala newspaper that prompted her to leave the vice-presidency of OCEANA in Belize.

She told us that if the LGBT are allowed to get away with bullying their opponents that there is no limit to what they will do.

Can what Orozco and his supporters did be classified as a crime?

Pastor and news director for PLUS TV Louis Wade thinks so.

Because the case has not been decided, he told us, any attempt to disturb expert witnesses like Dr. Bain can be seen as witness tampering. But he said he would leave it to Government to speak out.

The protest lasted through the lunch hour.

39. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Editorial from Jamaica Observer
    The sacking of Dr Brendon Bain: The dilemma of our times

THE latest example of how we self-destruct as a nation comes in this week’s firing of Professor Brendan Bain as director of the Regional Co-ordinating Unit of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART) Network, by the University of the West Indies (UWI). Dr Bain lost his job following news reports that a coalition of 33 lobby groups from across the Caribbean had called for his head because of expert testimony he gave in a constitutional challenge brought by a gay Belizean man against that country’s criminal code in September 2010.

Dr Bain, regarded as a pioneer in clinical infectious disease practice in the Caribbean and a leading medical authority on the HIV epidemic in the region, has developed a formidable reputation for caring and devoted service to the HIV/AIDs community but that could not save him because he has an opinion against homosexuality.
    And that’s the bane of our existence, if readers will forgive the unintended pun.

Just before that it was the turn of Energy Minister Phillip Paulwell, who was hounded out of the 381-megawatt power plant project, to suit certain interest groups, without any solid explanation as to what is being done now to get the project back on track. We’re good, really good at dismantling but not so at building.

In capitulating to the pro-gay interest groups, the University of the West Indies โ€” we have no doubt โ€” would have considered the various agendas of its donors, many of whom have serious financial clout and are very favourable to the gay community. But the decision has left the university on the horns of a dilemma.

Must all its officers now subscribe wholly to the lifestyle of the various communities they serve? Was it in Dr Bain’s job description, as well as that of the other academics at the UWI, that he must hold no public opinion against homosexuality? How far must the university go in censoring and muzzling its academics to suit interest groups? Is this the end of scientific freedom and freedom of expression in the academic community?

Of course, the decision would also have confirmed what many people have long held that homosexuals have strong influence in the running of the university and have firmly ensconced themselves in the human rights lobby.

We have been consistently circumspect in this editorial space where the gay lifestyle is concerned, promoting tolerance about people’s right to their lifestyle if it does no harm to other citizens. But we admit to growing unease that the gay community is not as tolerant as they want others to be of them.

If action speaks louder than words, Dr Bain’s hard work to better the life of HIV/AIDS sufferers should have outweighed his personal opinion against homosexuality. A surgeon may be publicly against murder but that should not stop him from saving a murderer’s life in his professional capacity. And who is to say that all HIV/AIDS sufferers are men who have sex with men (MSMs)? Who is speaking for those who are not gay?

We should be free to admit that not all MSMs are promiscuous, wild and careless about sex. But there are some who are, and this makes Dr Bain’s pronouncement about the spread of HIV/AIDS among MSMs something to be taken seriously.

40. It is a shame the way Professor BAIN was treated and the University of the West Indies owes him an apology for the public humiliation by posting the rationale for the termination of his contract. A CAREFUL read of the rationale clearly demonstrated that UWI fought hard to give a valid reason, but to me it is not convincing.

I hope that Professor Bain sues the university for public humiliation, among other things.

TO GEORGIE R U A REAL REAL DOCTOR. IF U R SUCH BEHAVIOUR CLEARLY DEMONSTRATE THAT YOU HAVE NO CLASS. TAKE ME ON IF YOU WILL

41. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

i dont give a rats rectum what you think
    i have said what i have to say and have no apologies to make
    ev ellington my biochem teacher had lots of class but he was a buller

I WILL NOT USE EUPHEMISMS
    IF YOU DONT LIKE THAT I AM NOT SORRY
    THERE ARE BULLERS AND WICKERS AND I CALL THEM BULLERS AND WICKERS

ARE YOU ONE TOO?

I hope that Professor Bain sues the university for public humiliation, among other things.
    WHAT CAN YOU DO ME NOW?
    EXCEPT TALK
    CAN YOU TEK WAY MY JOB TOO

YOU WANT ME TO START TALKING ABOUT REAL DOCTORS NOW ON BU
    THE DOCTORS I KNOW COMPLETE WITH CLASS ARE SOME OF THE WORSE PEOPLE I KNOW
    I HAVE NEVER THOUGHT THAT BEING A DOCTOR WAS SOMETHING TO GRASP

WHAT CLASS WHAT?
    BRENDAN HAS LOTS OF CLASS
    WHERE DID IT GET HIM?
    QUID SCRIPSI DIXIQUE, SCRIPSI DIXIQUE ,

AND YOU CANT DO ONE THING BOUT IT BESIDES TALK AH LIE
    YOU TINK YOU IS DE FIRST TO TRY TO CUSS ME ON BU? ,

42. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BAJANYANKEE
    NOT ONLY AM I REAL
    BUT I WENT SCHOOL PUN YOURS AND YOUR PARENTS DOLLAR
    AND YOU CANT DO ONE TING BOUT IT! ah lie?

43. The Supreme Court of Canada has ruled that the nationโ€™s laws against hate speech do, in fact, restrict anti-gay rhetoric, regardless of whether it reflects religious beliefs or not. The case dealt with William Whatcott of Saskatchewan, who regularly protests in public spaces with signs that say things like โ€œKeep Homosexuality out of Saskatoonโ€™s Public Schools!โ€ and โ€œSodomites in our Public Schools.โ€ According to the Courtโ€™s unanimous decision, Whatcottโ€™s religious beliefs do not entitle him to spread messages that are harmful and marginalizing to a whole group of people:
    Framing speech as arising in a moral context or within a public policy debate does not cleanse it of its harmful effect. Finding that certain expression falls within political speech does not close off the enquiry into whether the expression constitutes hate speech. Hate speech may often arise as a part of a larger public discourse but it is speech of a restrictive and exclusionary kind. Political expression contributes to our democracy by encouraging the exchange of opposing views. Hate speech is antithetical to this objective in that it shuts down dialogue by making it difficult or impossible for members of the vulnerable group to respond, thereby stifling discourse. Speech that has the effect of shutting down public debate cannot dodge prohibition on the basis that it promotes debate. Section 14 of the Code provides an appropriate means by which to protect almost the entirety of political discourse as a vital part of freedom of expression. It extricates only an extreme and marginal type of expression which contributes little to the values underlying freedom of expression and whose restriction is therefore easier to justify.

44. @Georgie

If I were one, certainly a low life classless one like you would not even attract a glare. Go on you classless gutter rat. I reiterate, I hope that u r a mock doctor because doctors are taught not to discriminate regardless of class, colour, creed or sexual choice. Perhaps you don’t have to pursue continuous professional training, and hence your archaic thought process.

45. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Quid dixi scripsi que dixi scripsi que

Hear it a gain
    WHAT CAN YOU DO ME NOW?
    EXCEPT TALK
    CAN YOU TEK WAY MY JOB TOO

YOU WANT ME TO START TALKING ABOUT REAL DOCTORS NOW ON BU
    THE DOCTORS I KNOW COMPLETE WITH CLASS ARE SOME OF THE WORSE PEOPLE I KNOW
    I HAVE NEVER THOUGHT THAT BEING A DOCTOR WAS SOMETHING TO GRASP

WHAT CLASS WHAT?
    BRENDAN HAS LOTS OF CLASS
    WHERE DID IT GET HIM?
    QUID SCRIPSI DIXIQUE, SCRIPSI DIXIQUE ,

AND YOU CANT DO ONE THING BOUT IT BESIDES TALK AH LIE
    YOU TINK YOU IS DE FIRST TO TRY TO CUSS ME ON BU? ,

the herd going again

46. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

ac | June 2, 2014 at 7:09 PM |
    The Supreme Court of Canada has ruled that the nationโ€™s laws against hate speech do, in fact, restrict anti-gay rhetoric, regardless of whether it reflects religious beliefs or not
    AC THESE LAWS CANT TOUCH GP AND THEY MEAN NOTHING TO ME
    SO I WONT READ PASS THESE THREE LINES

ARE YOU GOING UP TO JAMAICA TO FIGHT THE PEOPLE THAT KILLING THE BULLERS ON DE STREET UP THERE?

OR YOU DOES JUST TALK BULL PUN BU? CARRY BAJAN YANKEE WID YA

47. @ Bajan Yankee….GP is in the early stages of Alzheimer that is the reason for his behaviour.

48. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

i AM IN the early stages of Alzheimer BUT I CAN STILL TAKE ON THE BU HERD ANY DAY
    BOY THIS IS FUN
    TELL ME WHAT SHALL I CALL A WICKER AND A BULLER BUT A WICKER AND A BULLER?
    THAT IS LANGUAGE THAT ALL BAJANS UNDERSTAND.ah lie?
    next!.

49. @AC

I think georgie has more than that, he is simply out of time and out of touch, perhaps his capacity in grasping facts has impacted what little he has left. I hope his son doesn’t take home a male partner and kill him.

I could remember this father who uses to curse msm with impunity, and guess what he went home and find his son in bed with another man. He wanted his wife to banish the young man and she refused. The young man eventually went to live overseas and guess what, the father point of view changed because it hit right home.

PERHAPS has an underlying fear which he is trying to wrestle with and perhaps needs to see a psychiatrist and a psychologist and a counselor, how you like mah.