Submitted by Poor Barbados
Peter Wickham political scientist โ€˜...gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here...โ€™
Peter Wickham, Political Scientist

Clearly the answer is NO!

As we are now suffering in Barbados under the DLP, it is clear the cadres pollsters played role in the DLP’s victory.

I like many can’t seem to get over the unintentional or intentional impact we believe the cadres poll had on the outcome of the last election in Barbados.ย ย  It’s either that the cadres pollsters were drinking too much rum punch election night, secretly in bed with the DLP or the election was stolen noting the small margin of victory.ย  It is felt by many that misinformation on election night from cadres impacted voter turnout.

So as I see my fellow Bajans struggling to make ends meet under this current government, each time I hear political analyst from cadres on the radio or TV I can’t help but to reflect back on that major polling blunder not talked about enough to this day, so I’m talking about it on BU today.

For Political analysts who are usually spot on, to be so far off just seems real curious to me. When the next election comes and hopefully soon… I don’t even want to hear the word CADRES ok peter.

164 responses to “Is the Cadres Polling System Good for Barbados?”

1. Gentleman Jumbo

Who fed you such crap? A leader who fails to assert his or her authority, is viewed as a weak leader in the political world. The comparison can be made with Reagan and Carter’s handling of Iran Hostages Affair. The majority of Americans viewed Carter as weak on the issue and Reagan as strong an assertive!

2. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Agreed. Their is a growing fear in the DLP and in those opposed to her, that it is looking increasingly unlikely that this government will be able to turn around the economic ship within the time left and that MIA stands to win all as a result.
    No rash decisions, no bold and decisive actions and certainly no more bluffing and betting your reputation/ political capital.

MIA must turn her focus inwards and do all that she can to rebuild the spirit of the BLP, demonstrate her leadership through wisdom of thought and action also Marshall all the ‘friends’ and ‘resources’ needed to win the ultimate prize.

3. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Dompey

You to fail to recognize the uniqueness of the situation that MIA faces, one where she is trying to become a Prime Minister when there are those with her own party and nationally who still incredible loyalty to a three term prime minister who says he is done without tics but does everything to show otherwise.

Any jackass Leader of an Opposition can wake up tomorrow and create turmoil in their party…………….but to what ends and why?

Tillman Thomas was a forceful Prime Minister too, he showed who was the BOSS in the cabinet but how much good did that do him in the end?

4. ac | May 24, 2014 at 2:31 PM |

“so here is the million dollar question which arterexes and prodgial needs to ask themselves and the party brigade..”

AC:
    I AM NEITHER A MEMEBER OR SUPPORTER OF THE BARABADOS LABOUR PARTY, AND BASED UPON MY PAST EXPERIENCES WITH THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY, I WILL NEVER, EVER SUPPORT THE DEMS EITHER.

It amazes me how some of you are prepared to throw common sense and logic through the window in an effort to support your party. I am not going to do that.
    My opinion is one that says bring proof to substantiate your accusations or criticisms, and not pure speculation,emotive party political diatribe or regurgitating political rhetoric from politicians.

As such, I come to this blog with an alternative perspective to some of the blind loyalist contributions that supporters present, and not as a supporter of any particular party.

So please “ac”, when you are making your references to the BLP. please leave me out.

5. Gentleman Jumbo

President John F. Kennedy’s father told him when he was going to politics that: ” It is not who you are that really matters in politics, but the people’s perception of you.” And if the Barbadian people perceive this woman to be a weak and unassertive leader, than her goose is cook.

6. Gentleman Jim:
    For Mia that shall be a large undertaking. She is already frothing at the mouth for political power!! For her to back flip politically and gain the kind of respect that is needed would take a full metamorphosis !! She is in big trouble politically!!

7. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Lemuel
    I agree with you, the worst thing to be is a person impatient to be the Prime Minister. That’s why patience is her best course for now. You must however understand her impatience, she is fighting demons within her own party who would again cut political throat and toss her overboard given a second chance.

I put it you that not if, but when she becomes Prime Minister, she would have overcome tremendous political challenges to get there hopefully she would be a better Prime Minister for it. You know what they say “anything worth having is worth fighting for”

8. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

How much of a betterlace Barbados would be if most us wanted neither a B or D prime minister but rather the person who is capable of being the best prime minister for all of Barbados.

Dreaming again.

9. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Dompey
    That maybe so for America but I know her in Barbados we do not vote in a Government, we vote out a Government. That’s thanks to a simple uncomplicated two party system.

Despite people saying all manner of things about David Thompson including predictions that he would NEVER be prime minister history showed us again in 2008 and in 2013 that the electorate wanted:-

1. In 2008 wanted OSA out
    2. 2013 wanted OSA still out.

Put another way the people of Barbados still were not done with FJS to lead them.

10. Gentleman Jimbo:
    I hope she reads and heeds your advice. She must also know that some people only want what is best for Barbados!!

11. Dompey | May 25, 2014 at 5:31 AM |

โ€œDo the BLP proponents honestly believe that the electorate is going trust a party that cannot even settle it differences amicably?โ€

We have witnessed infighting in the DLP within the recent past, when the party had problems with Harold Eastmond, Richard Byer, Wes Hall, Keith Simmons, Stuart, Thompson, Mascoll, Kellman, Taitt and more recently, Dr. David Estwick. The party also saw an exodus of many of its younger members, such as Rudy Grant, Ralph Thorne, Kerry Symmonds and Michael Estwick. These differences were not settled amicably and resulted in the DLP being in opposition for approximately 14 years.

However, in recent times, the DEMS have been able to camouflage the threat of the infighting caused by the โ€œEager 11โ€, the outbursts by Dr. Estwick and the separation from the party by Hartley Henry and Ruedon Eversley to give us the impression that the party is united and all is well in camp DLP.

As it relates to Dr. Estwick, he has proven to be quite an interesting fellow. After the death of Thompson was made public, I remember seeing Estwick at Government Headquarters as the only MP in a RED shirt. He has not found satisfaction in any of the ministries to which he was appointed, and has often used events held under the auspices of his ministries to publically vent his dissatisfaction.
    Estwick also demonstrated his lack of confidence in the Stuart, Sinckler, GCBB Dr. Worrell and the governmentโ€™s economic policies, when he publically announced he negotiated a loan with a source in the UAE and suggested he had an alternative economic plan.

I agree with your comment…… under the present circumstances (i.e. the infighting) the electorate will not perceive the BLP as the alternative choice for government.

12. Gentleman Jumbo

I believe you’re mistaken because I was born and bred on the island, and understand quite conspicuously, the psychological apparatus of the Barbadian people. And whether the electorate vote out its leaders, is a matter of opinion.

But this I am cognizant of: in the era of social media, it is highly unlikely that the younger generation of Barbadians would fall for the political- demagoguery of those silver tongues Devils we call politicians; as our generation and previous generations did.

13. Gentleman Jumbo

I believe you’re mistaken because I was born and bred on the island, and understand quite conspicuously, the psychological apparatus of the Barbadian people. And whether the electorate vote out its leaders, is a matter of opinion.

But this I am cognizant of: in the era of social media, it is unlikely that the younger generation of Barbadians would fall for the political- demagoguery of those silver tongues Devils we call politicians; as our generation and previous generations did.

14. Bush Tea | May 25, 2014 at 8:37 AM |

@ ac

โ€œIt is โ€œanointedโ€ not appointed
    Shiite manโ€ฆ.your middle name must be Malapropโ€

Bushie, how you could accuse your friend โ€œacโ€ of using malapropisms?

Then again, I heard she went to George Street and tell Estwick if he donโ€™t behave he self she gine extinguish he from the DLP. Is that true, Bush-Man?

15. Bush Tea | May 25, 2014 at 8:37 AM |

@ ac

Tell ac that although “extinguish” means to put out, it aint the correct word to use in this instance.

16. @ Artaxerxes

…that sounds like ac……she once threatened to burn Bushie too…devils like a lotta fire talk…. LOL
    But…
    …..give Bushie a break nuh….you going set the BU Malaprop family on the bushman now….?
    …the whacker on a break..
    ..Bushie ain’t able with them now.. ๐Ÿ™‚

17. Artaxeres

The force of a word depends of the context in which it is used. Think about it, that word could have well been used in context in which AC had used it, if it had had the validation of a noted academic.

18. Gentleman Jimbo

A while ago Sahar Palin attempted to used the word Repudiate and mistakenly invented the word Refudiate. Which is now a word in the lexicon; check it out brother.

19. Gentleman Jumbo

It is funny how I am also accused of employing malapropism in my conversations. And some of the same people who make these accusations cannot even “DISTINGUISHED” the difference between Malapropism, Verbosity and Tautology. How about the word Distinguish? Did I used it in the correct context? Lol

20. ignore ..ignore……. whatever those linguist what to make of the “anointed “…diappointed issue they will for indeed there effort is to extinguish the fire that that rages in the belly of an ac……. brackish and slimy water …not gonna work…….i say potatoe ,,,,,,,use say pu-tah-toe …..now back to patience and its importance as how one uses it to control a bad situation…mia.s patience has lost its strength .. some situations need strength and discipline,,,,,,the towering infernos inside the BLP not going disappear with patience ,,,,the necessary apparatus ,,needed is strength in order to gain some semblance of control, to demonstrate authority ,,next election this issue gonna be on table and relevant to winning..,for the BLP,,,,, and laying out a table of the hypocrisy once again as a winning strategy displaying of peace and harmony within the party as previuoly done in last election is not gonna work…the truth of the matter is most followers “done ” with patience and most of (us) knows that the BLP have no tolerance for any kind of patience, for them fast action is all but requried ,,nothing less,,,,MIA job is to use her strength to activate….that patience card is all but exceed its limits and some in the party have had enough of itand have decided to use it against her ….also another reason to believe that the interview was an attempt to get Mia attention…….for the BLP brigade this patience ‘Thing” has kicked the bucket……and eventually Mia would follow,,,,…… …..

21. equating estwick differences with his leader is far different from equating the Past leader of the BLP OSA….with his castigation and poltical mouthings of his leader MIA,,,,,,,,,osa political influence with his party faithful carries a lot of weight ,,,indeed although both difference highlight similar perceptions or an individual opinion..the weight or influence with which they carry to garnish support is not the same,,,in the case of OSA,,,,he has been a PM and leader of the BLP and he has a better advantage through his experience to make judgement calls whether one agree or not with his comments….,,as with estwick although as perceived to be knowledgeable in economic affairs,,his judgement might be limited by lack of experience as one not having held such office,,,in economic affairs and his influence might only appeal to his followers or those who have a vested interest in seeing the DLP divided…..but clearly what ever differences the now govt has had among fellow members ,,the PM have been able to take control and not allow them to fester and be filtered out piece meal for the public to feast on..as in the case of estwick ..he made his opinions known,.. and theStuart took control the same can’t be said for the duo of OSA and MIA,,,,,a constant battle that needs immediate attention..mia would do well to take a foot note from PM> stuart,,,,,,,,,as her patience continues to raise mayhem on the BLP>>..

22. David

It is a product of one’s reasoning, imagination and madness, to assume a none assertive position, when one’s party is disintegrating from the inside out. This kind of thinking obviously, belies the principles common-sense and productive reasoning.

23. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Dompey
    We can agree to disagree however it is clear from the last election the electorate neither voted in OSA or voted out FJS. On that their is no dispute.
    MIA’s patience is upsetting one faction within the BLP that is the faction loyal to OSA.
    OSA recent outburst against MIA was disproportionate with the alleged offense by MIA, and from that you can determine OSA’s political intentions. He is attempting to say that she does not have sound judgement and therefore she is not capable/eligible to be a Prime Minister.

MIA is OSA’s biggest threat and that, and alone is he only reason OSA wants nothing to do with MIA.

24. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Why you think OSA wanted MIA out of the BLP?
    OSA knew then as he does now MIA is the future for the BLP but the end for him as politician. This is not rocket science guys.

25. @Gentleman Jim

As far as the young people will respond in the age of social media the stats show they become disengaged from the political system, What % of the electorate voted in the last general election again?

26. Gentleman Jimbo

The late Errol Barrow was reverenced within the DLP until his death at 67. And I know that there are those who would have argued that he was too old for political office. But beyond that reality, I have neither heard nor have I read of anyone challenging his position in the party. He may have had his differences with certain members of the party, but that’s the human condition. In any event, I ought to ask this question: why is Arthur not respected in his party, given the position he has occupied previously?

27. David,
    And I am afraid that they will become more disengaged now that many will leave school and cannot go to UWI, those who are already at UWI and have to drop out, those who are not UWI or BCC candidates and cannot even find a trademan’s job and those who are qualified but cannot find a job. Not to mention those who had jobs but were laid off.

Now there is a serious cohoblopot of anger, frustration and disappointment. People do not forget those who took bread out of their mouths or who lied to them.

Welcome back miller, your post was spot on!

28. We have been told that enrollment has dropped at UWI and we have to accept there is a correlation with young people remaining at home or some other idle occupation and not focused on education. Also we have seen the UWI both land base and Open Campus aggressively advertising classes. This is a matter to watched closely.

29. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

David | May 25, 2014 at 4:39 PM |@
    the DBLP thinks if the student cant get in to UWI that they will never think past the parties to think of how they were hoodwinked ,
    Number have to drop that is math ,
    One PM gave us Education
    One PM gave tax credit
    One PM taking everything back that make us the Pride of the Caribbean.
    Now The Voters are to Blame ?, the Voters out in back of the Risk Plantation house 1937 Students , WE HAVE THE DEED ALSO.
    Maybe they just want to lock out the student from studding the truth and see the real gaps in Barbados History, The they will see the lies and to know first hand they were wasting their money depending on the subjects taken.,
    With All the time on their hand they now can go to the Archives and see what we mean , Maybe they will have better luck finding the truth and the lies Bajans have been living for more than 20 years.
    MIA need to be in JAIL for Murder and take fraud man Sir Beckles ,

30. Prodigal Son

In the real world, most people usually pay their wayย through university, as their juggle a full time job. Maybe this experience will imprinted on the minds of some Barbadians, that their ought not depend on government to provide their bread and butter.(A hand up and not a hand out, ought to be the motto for succeeding generations) The situation that is now wreaking havoc on the Barbadian way of life, isn’t unlike what others people in different corners of the global have come accustom to. Across the vast ocean and on the great shores of America, difficulty still confronts many people.
    Many are still finding it quite impossible to gain full time employment, as the cost of living keeps steadily climbing; and gas prices skyrockets astronomically etc.

31. don ,t pay prodigal and the blp yarfowls any mind .they pretend as if they do npnot underdtand. the reason govt had to implement policies to protect the financial security of the country.any how yhat is ok when election time comes around..all the fowl shite they talk would be handed right back to them compliments of govt and voters.the. nerve of them to spread lies and propaganda going blow right up in there faces

32. Dompey | May 25, 2014 at 1:04 PM |

โ€œArtaxeres

The force of a word depends of the context in which it is used. Think about it, that word could have well been used in context in which AC had used it, if it had had the validation of a noted academic.โ€

My friend, the โ€œscenarioโ€ I shared with Bush Tea was just a joke to highlight his reference to Mrs. Malaprop.
    I suggest you should not be so hasty to comment on issues that you are not familiar with. Surely, if you knew the meaning of โ€œmalapropismโ€, you would not have made the above quoted comment.

33. Artaxerxes

I admire your arrogance, but I knew the word when you were travering Barbados without shoes brother. It pisses me off when self- absorbed retards, like Georgie Porgie and you yourself, dictates to others what their do and do not know. Now, for your information: the former teacher, CID detective and now journalist Wade Gibbons, taught me the words, malapropism, tautology and verbosity. And I knew they meaning by the time you were able to afforded a good pair of shoes.

34. Artaxerxes

Excuse me if I appear conceited, but are you cognizant of the fact that I have a commanding vocabulary?

35. Change is possible:

Ukip wins European elections with ease to set off political earthquake

For the first time in modern history, neither Labour nor Conservatives have won a British national election

Nigel Farage

Ukip leader Nigel Farage at the European parliamentary elections count at the Guildhall in Southampton, Hampshire. Photograph: Steve Parsons/PA

Nigel Farage has unleashed his much-promised political earthquake across British politics as Ukip stormed to victory in the European elections, performing powerfully across the country.

The Eurosceptic party’s victory marked the first time in modern history that neither Labour nor the Conservatives have won a British national election.

In a stunning warning to the established political parties, Ukip was on course to win as much as 28% of the national poll. That is a near doubling of the 16.5% it secured in the last European elections in 2009, when it came second to the Tories with 13 seats.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/may/26/ukip-european-elections-political-earthquake

36. Dompey | May 25, 2014 at 10:34 PM |
    โ€œArtaxerxes – Excuse me if I appear conceited, but are you cognizant of the fact that I have a commanding vocabulary?โ€

I was about to believe that you do have โ€œa commanding vocabularyโ€ and was going to concede that Iโ€™m a retardโ€ฆโ€ฆ that was until I read the below post carefully, only to discover that you are indeed wrong. So, like the arrogant person I am, I decided to make the appropriate corrections [in brackets].

Dompey | May 25, 2014 at 10:17 PM |
    โ€œArtaxerxes – I admire your arrogance, but I knew the word when you were travering (traversing) Barbados without shoes brother. It pisses me off when self- absorbed retards, like Georgie Porgie and (you) yourself, dictates to others what [they] their do and do not know. Now, for your information: the former teacher, CID detective and now journalist Wade Gibbons, taught me the words, malapropism, tautology and verbosity. And I knew [their] they meaning by the time you were able to afforded (afford) a good pair of shoes.โ€

A commanding vocabulary?????? First โ€œyou yourselfโ€ is a double positive; hence the use of โ€œyouโ€ is not needed in that sentence. It also appears that you do not know how and when to use โ€œtheyโ€ and โ€œtheirโ€ {who is the retard now?}
    I always had shoes my friend…… so there was no need for me to traverse anywhere in this island without them, except for my house. Additionally, Wade Gibbons taught me West Indian History at school.

37. Artaxexes

It is not my design to cantankerous, or impertinent to anyone here on BU sir. But toย focus my energies on productive conversation, which informs my thinking, and heighten my awareness to a broader understanding of the issues before deliberation here.
    Now, with that being said, I think that it is only fitting that I close with the words of one of great philosophical mind, who has left an indelible imprinted on the Western Intellectual Tradition Aristotle. And he said: ” It is just that we should be grateful, not only to those with whose views we may agree, but also to those who have expressed more superficial views; for those also contributed something, by developing before us the power of thought.” And perhaps, David, should give some consideration to Aristotle’s words, when he seeks to dismiss the more extreme narratives on the blog.

38. Today is Memorial Day here in America. God bless those men as well as women of the Military, who gave their lives in support of freedom. And as the cadence goes in the Army: freedom ain’t free.

39. and boy there are a lot of idiots roaming the halls of BU…like those who are always damn sure that everyone is an idiot but them selves and the list is long ,,,,,

40. @ac

Of your last comment you are dead SURE?

41. David

That quote does not make any good sense. Because for one, there are absolutes in life that we need not wonder about. Death is one such absolute and the intelligent as well as idiot knows this.

42. yeap fuh sure i am dead sure that there are a lot of IDIOTS roaming the halls of BU as ac have been so called by many of those IDIOTS,,,….and the list is long….

43. Artaxerxes:
    Do not be so cocky. You also missed the subject and verb agreement in the sentence by Dompey. When one is typing here, mistakes can be made !!

44. Artaxerxes:

“Retards” cannot “dictates”!!

45. the author of the quote,,might have spent some time on bu,,,,,ironically he is dead right branding those who believes themselves to be always RIGHT as IDIOTS ,,,one such name comes to mind the provocative so called prophet of RIGHT is MIGHT ,,one BUSH TEA,, the grand ole WIZARD of sage and folly,,,

46. Is death really an absolute? Just wondering.

47. “I have never met a man so ignorant that I couldn’t learn something from him.” – Galileo Galilei [1564 – 1645]

Some of you guys have proven Galilieo wrong……… and from that list, two individuals immediately come to mind.

48. Lemuel | May 26, 2014 at 7:20 AM |

“Artaxerxes:โ€œRetardsโ€ cannot โ€œdictatesโ€!!”

Sorry, Lemuel……..but you should refer your comment to dompey, as he is the author of that post….. NOT me!!!!

49. @Lemuel

And this is the point, one cannot accept that the fallibility of man is always in play but enter a crusade of pointing out the imperfections of others. We need to grow up, tackle the issues robustly and curtail the constant snipping. It is immature and BORING.