Submitted by Poor Barbados
Peter Wickham political scientist ‘...gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here...’
Peter Wickham, Political Scientist

Clearly the answer is NO!

As we are now suffering in Barbados under the DLP, it is clear the cadres pollsters played role in the DLP’s victory.

I like many can’t seem to get over the unintentional or intentional impact we believe the cadres poll had on the outcome of the last election in Barbados.   It’s either that the cadres pollsters were drinking too much rum punch election night, secretly in bed with the DLP or the election was stolen noting the small margin of victory.  It is felt by many that misinformation on election night from cadres impacted voter turnout.

So as I see my fellow Bajans struggling to make ends meet under this current government, each time I hear political analyst from cadres on the radio or TV I can’t help but to reflect back on that major polling blunder not talked about enough to this day, so I’m talking about it on BU today.

For Political analysts who are usually spot on, to be so far off just seems real curious to me. When the next election comes and hopefully soon… I don’t even want to hear the word CADRES ok peter.

164 responses to “Is the Cadres Polling System Good for Barbados?”

1. What Peter would not tell the rest of Barbados is that the young man who presented the last poll when Peter was overseas is a DLP!! And I believe what he did was purposely done. It made the difference for the DLP to win!!

2. I can’t believe that this post was written by a BU member. PLEASE WEAR SOME EAR MUFFS AND SOME BLINDERS WHEN THE NEXT ELECTION COMES AROUND! FOOL!

LE MULE you in this garbage too???

3. Obviously, the DEMS used the three month period between the constitutional election date and the actual date of elections to their advantage. While the opposition was focusing on the legality of the election date, the DLP was busy strategizing.
    I believe that DLP interest groups were responsible for commissioning the second pole and not the DLP, since there was a clear falling out between them and Wickham. However, the fundamental point is which party used the poll to its advantage. Of course, we know the DLP won hands down.

First, the DLP attacked the reputation and integrity of CADRES and its directors, by implying the organisation was in bed with the BLP, and used Wickham’s anti DLP articles in the Nation and opinions on “Brass Tacks” as proof he was against them. They got their supporters to call the programs to question Wickham’s methods….{Mind you, these are the same people who thought Wickham was the best thing since sliced bread when his previous poll predicted a 20 – 10 win for the DLP}
    Secondly, the took advantage of Wickham’s perceived association with the BLP to send subliminal messages that the poll was actually commissioned by the BEES and used that as the basis to mobilize their troops to garner the much needed support of those supporters who would have probably stayed at home on polling day because they thought all was lost.

As such, I’m of the opinion that there isn’t anything wrong with polls, it’s how each political party manipulate the results to their advantage, and when the results are not in their favour, how they seek to tarnish the reputation and integrity of the organisation conducting the poll.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Well I never read so much shite on her yet. I mean this makes some of my boo AC writings look good. The outcome of the last general elections was not decided upon a CADRES Poll it was decided upon by those last few hundred who received the greatest pocket change from the Democratic Labour Party. The Barbados Labour Party just could not match the money the DEMS ‘spit’ out in the pockets of people willing to sell their vote next to nothing.

5. @Artax

Agree with your comment. Why would Wickham self inflict harm to his reputation? It is all he has to make money. Agree with his assesment that the close result exposed his poll method.

6. everybody and evrthing is being blamed for the blp losing the last election..blah..blah..blah..uh know the real reason the blp took the electorate for fools..and decided to count dem chickensbefore they hatched

7. Well Wickham said on Brasstacks that he was surprised at the results of the first poll given all the previous polls and data. He then undertook at his own expense at the beginning, later being joined and funded by some ‘interest groups’ to comission the second poll. This second poll I believe gave those disaffected and diassatisfied Dems that would of sat out voting in the last elections to go to the polls because they did not want Aurthur’s return (my opinion).

On another note, Wickham has nothing to be ashamed of. His polls are usually correct, not all but most. There is that usually footnote accompanying most polls results: [MARGIN OF ERROR]. And this was evident in his last set of polls. Many seats was were by less than 2% – 5% of the vote. But he sullied his professional rep. as soon as his contract at CBC wasnt renewed. His anti-Dem rants did not go unnoticed.

8. FOOD FOR THOUGHT ! Avatar
    FOOD FOR THOUGHT !

David sounds like a person who would have preferred we stayed ignorant as to what is really going on in politics.

EVOLVE IDIOT !

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine | May 22, 2014 at 10:21 AM |

Perhaps you need to read and take time to understand what was stated before reacting so aggressively. No one has stated in any of their comments (at least not mine) that the poll was responsible for the election results. The poll was effectively USED by the DLP as their basis of formulating their campaign strategy. This may also include the financial aspect of the campaign i.e. the buying of votes, bearing of gift (iPads, iPhones, laptops, computers, etc) and the payment of bills.

10. @Food for thought

Do you know what defines a political partisan aka yardfowl.

11. ac | May 22, 2014 at 11:16 AM |

It seems as though the DEMS had a windfall of money to spend on Election Day and beyond. They paid AC to vote for them on election day, and they still paying her to write shiite on BU every day.

12. @Artax

Why do you et al allow ac and co to tease you all morning noon night? Ac and team are clueless about what unfolds in Barbados.

13. And for your informatiom david what i say is true …the blp was pompous arrogant and conceited ..pissing drunk with self assurance..and throwing darts and political stonk bombs every which way in the dlp direction.maquerading with a bunch a chickens under their arms and counting them before they hatch..hoping and praying for govt to fall.but a las poll after poll by wickham which showed PMStuart with dissmal approval ratings did not discourage the voters from.voting dlp..now. the blp running around like billy goats grazin on dry grass

14. “For Political analysts who are usually spot on, to be so far off just seems real curious to me. ”

Haven’t you ever been to a doctor and been diagnosed with one thing when it was another? Have you ever baked a cake or cooked following a recipe and it flopped? Have you ever thought you wanted to shite and found out that it was only gas you’ve had? Have you ever thought you had it right and then found out that you were wrong? Do you still believe that you will go to heaven when you die? Do you still believe in the virgin birth?

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Artaxerxes

Star boy or star girl which ever applies. What aggression are you talking about. Lets be frank, how many Barbadians besides the educated and those who like to talk about politics would have been influenced or interested in the CADRES poll? If you deduce the amount of people who are following the scientific projections for determining outcomes you will find that the percentage of those not interested are far greater than the percentage of those that are interested. This means that the percentage of the voting public interested in such a poll would be more than likely marginally influence in respect of those who showed less interest or no interest at all in the CADRES Poll. Therefore the sampling size taken in the last general election produce a margin of error that was skewed differently towards the unknown voting factor which was that group that more than likely had the influence of money taking them to the poll. Now tell me where in my previous comment I showed aggression?

16. and to show u david who the cluless person was ,,,u was even hoodwinked into posting an imaginary stinking poll” months ahead before notice of when the election would be called,,,,yes u david, showing favourable numbers in support of the now losing blp.the blp yardfowls had a field day kick the dlp faithful backside left and right her on BU,,,,and yes u david,, u were also instrumental in playing your role as the grand master of cermonies,,,,in the meanwhile dlp faithful stood ground fighting against what the blp belived was a losing battle,,,,wid them being the winners,,,, so davide tell me who u belived are the clueless,, fuh sure it can.t be ac,,,,btw u like wickham shot uh self in the foot wid that crazy poll….but they will be a next time fuh yuh to repeat the foolishness,,,,,,in the meanwhile i rather not get my clue from u……

17. @ac

Hush.

18. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Analysis paralysis should be name of this piece. The BLP got beaten because:
    1. People hated Owen more that they loved Fruendel
    2. Owen’s side swipe of Mia turned off a lot of BLP and Independent voters.
    3. The DLP had the better run campaign and the more easily digestible campaign message.
    4. The BLP message of (“call the damn election”) prior to the day FS announced the date for elections was ill advised and appeared cocky to an electorate who wanted the right to make the final determination.
    5. The BLP ran out of money 5 days before Election Day and the DLP not only capitalized on this by out spending them but also by out raising them in terms of campaign financing.
    6. The 2nd poll motivated a lot of D’s to go out and vote.
    7. The BLP refused to use Mia’s national popularity.

19. LOL…..David the joke on u…

btw,,,,,gentle jim..analysis paralysis ……..is correct expect for whom the people loved the most,,,most likely it was a preference call,,,,,a preference that the people had already determined months ahead ,,,,,,,and one that might be repeated in the next election……now david don’t go saying i clue less again…i am sitting in a comfortable position to know how these things work out,,,,i can afford to sit in the hot seat ,,cause i always get the last laugh,,,

anyhow back to analysis paralysis..
    most note worthy..is no 3 & 5,, bad management by the blp handed the dlp a win…,,,,,,,if the BLP failed in managing an election,,,,,the possibility of them managing a sick economy is remote,,
    no. 5 spending…..cost overruns a familiar flaw of the blp…spending more than they can manged,,,,,handed the dlp a win.. dlp spend little and was able to achieved the inevitable,,, same strategies and principles apply to an economy and the possibility that if the blp lost was due to both one mismagement and poor strategy,,,,there management of a sick economy would have met the same fate, ..

20. @Gentle Jim

We took note you have not included any reference to which party was perceived to be capable of better managing the economy.

21. chukle chuckle,,,,,,that was then….

22. what note…..the little snippets provide was enough food for thought. spotlighting the failures of the blp in its failure to win an election..how note worthy,,mismanagement and poor strategy and for good measure i add in house fighting,,all coupled together for poor results ,,,,as they say the proof of the cake is in the eating and for sure this analysis shone the spotlight in many ways and offered an insight of what would have become of the economy if the BLP had won…..more over runs,,,,continual in house fighting,,,,,and poor strategy implemented by gimmicks,,does anybody remember the three down grades under the BLP in good economic times..i do,,,

23. @ ac
    After conducting a random poll of your postings here on BU it is very difficult to see when you have time to ‘percolate’….(as the Market Vendor would say….)
    …you realize that may be your problem….?!? 🙂

24. six minutes later ,,i say to u old fart bush tea”it is none of your business,,btw the way why are u stalking me, lol.

25. Whilst we continue to decline. SMFH

26. LOL@ ac
    …just trying to be helpful he he he

27. As,
    The Dems won by stealth and buying votes. Barbados lost big time. You and your ilk can rejoice but the majority of Barbadians are weeping!

28. Artaxerxes,

Did you hear and read Jepter Ince’s response to Wilfred Abrahams’ contribution to debate in the Senate to raise the borrowing limit? My goodness, how could a buffoon like this man be anywhere near the purse strings?

No wonder the economy is off the cliff! This man is a total jackass! He does not know anymore about economics than me who only did a course during my UWI days!

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I was/am wondering about this polling thing and said i would ask this simple question as another ole fart on BU.

Wunna evah play dominoes?

Banks does give out some dominoes to loyal rummiels (that is rum drinkers of the 9th degree, otherwise known as the OSA-MA)

The OSA-MA is not any relationship to OBAMA if is the ultimate state of drunkeness that OSA (owen seemore alcohol) does be in when that man does be so drunk dat he does call he ma (mudder) tuh come for he scvnt.

But back to the dominoes.

when you is playing dominoes in Bulbados you is not a man if you cant slam de dominoes hard, at all times uh de night, whey evah you is playing, I should know causing I is a man at eveh one uh de ole fellows house but my own, de madam does cuntrol evey ting bout heah.

When you bring a domino from 5ft 3 in in de air, i is a shot man, at a speed approaching mach 1, late pun a night, aftah a while de dominoes does get chip and de fellows does get to know whu in you han jes by looking at dem back.

I wrapping up, i wrapping up…jes to say to unna dat, it really ent matter whu dominoes pack we bajans is playing wif, de pack chip and we gots some ingrunt swine pun boaf sides uh de parliament house so did poll to chose between swine and jobby ent really nuh choice

By de way, I doan get nuh Nation deliver tuh my door nuh more, it appear dat since I start mekking comments heah pun BU bout Vivianne Gittens dat she sen out instructions dat, even doah i pay de subscription, I is not to get a newspaper.

AC I was wondering if I cud come cross by you and read all de newspapers bout Sinckliar and Fumble dat I ent get recently and I promise dat I is not going to peep if you percolating and I certainly not gine tell Bush Tea nufin bout de sounds and whimperings dat I hear..

I is dat sorta fellow if you tell me someting i does keep it to meself, like how Sealy, tell de young ting dat she cyan use all de credit card limit pun clothing each and evey munt and dat she is tuh buy food en ting.

Man at $10,000 in food a munt she gots to be feeding all de peeples up in de Pine whey she life nuh??

I wudda ask my udder girlfriend SSS but she gots one uh dem battery tings dat wud embar-ass an ole fart like me and probably gi me a conniption and sen me to de nex side before Sista Headley get she way wid me…

30. Hamilton Hill Avatar

This writer’s analogy is as far off base as government’s lame attempt to have us believe that our predicament is as a result of a worldwide recession, rather than its own ineptitude. Both scenarios need to be punished with laughter. That phrase was taken from the very expansive vocabulary of the greatest clown Prince ever known to Barbados.

31. see what i mean listen to the tone of hamilton hill comment…….phew,,,,the same arrogance,, man wunna never gonna learn… what govt want people to belive,,man that is the kind of cheap unrealistic crap that got wunna yardfowls still trying to figure out how de hell the blp lost the election……it seems that the only people living on this planet that NEVER heard of the RECESSION and its impact on ALL countries are the BLP Clowns,,,,,wunna real brain dead yard birds fuh trute,, living in denial,,, ……………………………………………………………………. btw wuh happen to miller,,,,,,it seems like every year about this time he head off to jenkins for his yearly retreat,,,,,,,hi miller,,,say hello to onions hear he is your next door neighborhood right down the hall ,,rat…

32. Piece:
    The only “old fart” bout here is Hants.

33. Ac,
    Your ignorance knows no boundaries!

34. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ ac….Hey ac you and I have always walked the same path. Whose fault is it if you walk with your eyes closed? Not even those you so valiantly seek to defend believe in themselves anymore, hence the stumbling and bumbling. Cabinet meets and makes a decision.Every single minister has a different interpretation of that decision. Ac the evidence is clear. We are being governed by the CCG.This is a Circus Clown Gathering, and you must understand your transition from being just pathetic to flat out ridiculous. Sorry friend, but there is where we part company.

35. Sunshine Sunny Shine | May 22, 2014 at 4:27 PM |

My friend, you continue to miss the point….. no one is saying that the polls influenced people to vote……. what I’m saying is that the DLP USED the poll to their advantage by implementing the appropriate strategy to mobilize their supporters to go out and vote.

Now tell me, where in the above statement does it tell you that the poll influenced people to vote? Common, where are your comprehension skills?

36. Gentleman Jimbo | May 22, 2014 at 5:02 PM |

Excellent points

37. Prodigal Son | May 22, 2014 at 8:17 PM |

I do not listen to anything Jeptar “Physical Deficit” Ince has to say. He is just a political buffoon who is swimming in unfamiliar waters.

38. Hamilton look bro..the govt short comings does not alter or change the fact that the global recession had a negative impact on small nation econies one can argue policy
    …methods..ideas…that govt has been using but one cannot disregard or discount the recessionary impact which had disadvantage small nation. my response to u was harsh and intended..as those said comments has been used by the blp propaganda machine to cast doubt and frenzy..until the blp can prove otherwise i refused to fall into their trap of sensationalisation and bastardisation of a govt who has had the eneviable job of keeping the country standing…bro no hard feelings..Peace

.   .                  

was

39. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

I don’t think the Barbadian electorate was concerned with which party was more competent to run the country during the last elections. Barbadians are still very immature when it comes to voting and their expectations of politicians and political parties.

Mia will lead the BLP into the next election and she will win by a country mile.

40. David | May 22, 2014 at 12:45 PM |

“@Artax

Why do you et al allow ac and co to tease you all morning noon night? Ac and team are clueless about what unfolds in Barbados”

Point taken, David……

41. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Is the Cadres Polling System Good for Barbados?

But THE NEWSPAPERS not free,,,,, Information not free,
    TV station not free
    radio not free
    MINISTERS TELLING LIES
    DBLP GOVERNMENT TELLING LIE AFTER LIE,
    Who is really funding the Cadres ? Well he on CBC and in the papers all run by government
    So why is the CADRES POLLING TO BE FREE….?
    MORE CROOKS LIARS AND SCUMBAGS
    maybe they need to take their polls fishing,

42. @artexes…..u are such a whimp..

43. lookia first hurdle would be that of convincing the homophobic bajans that the gaylifestyle is not contagious.after that mia next hurdle is overcoming such a perception..now if. she can pulled those two hurdles off..the chances of her becoming pm greatly improves..until then the doubters and skeptics would be her biggest nightmare standing in her way.

44. btw. just judging by the blp voters response to gentle jim coment rregarding mia. there shouldn,t be toomuch cause for concern coming from the dlp faithful

45. Belize City Walls Avatar
    Belize City Walls

Mia is unstoppable that why OSA does not like, she represents the biggest danger to him returning to the coveted prime minister position.

46. mottley winning the PM is between slim and none,,,she picks petty fightsand worst than that she never wins .. and then meekly bows out,,,..make some bad political calls,,,,like the clico debacle ..telling the people a whole bunch of rubbish that govt should give them back the money,,,,, her most recent fight was showing support for the vendors,,,,,gone silent on that too calling for chris and PM stuart heads on a platter that one was a total failure blowing up in her face couldn;t even get her party support ,,,the imminent group,,everybody still laughing at how OSA treat her ,,,her silly boycotts of parliament and the list of failures go on..just imagine mia running an economy when simple matters small in comparison to managing an economy catspraddle her leaving her with egg in her face,,,,,MIA for PM….i think not,,,,,,boo boo haa ha,,,

47. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

All of what you said they said about David Thompson too, remember?
    You will live to eat those words.

48. ac | May 23, 2014 at 12:49 PM |

“lookia first hurdle would be that of convincing the homophobic bajans that the gaylifestyle is not contagious.after that mia next hurdle is overcoming such a perception.”

Sorry David and Bushie, I promised myself to ignore “ac”, but I could not let this one slip by. I’m not Mia Mottley’s publicity agent, president of her fan club, or am I one of her supporters, but here once again “ac” is basing her assessment on emotive political diatribe and not fact.

Mottley first entered elective politics in 1991 at the age of 26, when she contested the St. Michael North East seat for the BLP and loss against the DLP’s Philip Greaves. She was able to poll 1,580 seats as opposed to 2,335 for Greaves.
    1994 election she won 2,450 seats to Leroy McClean;
    1999 general election: Mia Mottley = 3,393 – Leroy McClean = 865
    2003 general election: Mia Mottley = 3,724 – Herman Lowe = 938
    2008 general election: Mia Mottley = 3,320 – Patricia Inniss = 1,665 (with a clear swing against the BLP)
    2013 general election: Mia Mottley = 3,495 – Patricia Inniss = 1,577

If you examine the above results, you will have to agree that she convinced, in your words, “homophobic Bajans that the gay life style is not contagious” and overcame the perception each time. Mottley withstood an onslaught of bashing about her perceived lifestyle on the political platforms and blogs, in the streets, rum shops, city, country and even in Trevor Eastmond jokes, whether in innuendo or blatantly…… to win the SMNE seat each election after 1991. Additionally, we do not have a system here where we vote for a prime minister as they do in countries that vote for a president, as such, your argument does not hold water. These are facts…… but I guess I will hear from you that I’m a political yardfowl.

Now, word on the street is that there are similar sentiments being expressed about certain ministers of your party, and if the mannerisms of these persons are taken into consideration or are anything to go by, I’m sure many of us will be convinced that these rumors are indeed true. Most of us are educated enough to see it……… and even the tourist may have an opinion as well. But I know you will tell me otherwise, since two lefts don’t make a right.

AC…….you are the epitome of “yard-fowlism”…… you huff and puff like the big bad wolf, keep nuff noise and talk a lotta shiite for the DLP, without any supporting facts to substantiate your political diatribe…… and this statement is an axiom.

49. o.k. artexeres no need to remind ac of all them facts,,,,,just have them in safe and secured place for the next round of MIA OSA decapitation.. in that case you remind him of those facts,,,,,,,,,,,,btw don;t get hot under the collar,,,,,,the election is only a three years away,,,,but i notice u didn;t comment on her failures as a leader of the BLP,,, and boy there are many……
    and don’t pay bushie or david any mind they idea of freedom of speech is when they can dictate to others how and what must be said…,,stand up like a real man or woman and speak out loud and hard,,,,,,don;t let nobody frighten u,,,,,boss man…..

gentle bim…..those are facts already happened,..nothing left to eat,,,,,

50. look aretexeres don’t get me wrong,,i am not downplaying her significance,,as a powerhouse po;itician i give her her dues ,,she does ,,understands the power of will and determination..all of which she has mastered exceptionally well helping her to win those elective seats in her constituency,,however on a wider scale in the area of leadership she has fell flat, her inability to gather up big support among her peers should be a real cause for concern,, having to live in the shadows of OSA is a killer …..meaning that the party faithful in some respect still looks to him as their leader,,,, not one here to agitate or aggravate but the truth is mia leaderships skills have been put to the test in small matters and so far she has not been able to accomplish any plausible or reasonable action convincing enough that she has the right stuff to be a good leader,,,,,or can do better than the dlp…. btw ignore bush tea,,,,,he is a a two faced hypocrite,,,no no can’t be trutsted,,,,,,,