Submitted by Poor Barbados
Peter Wickham political scientist ‘...gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here...’
Peter Wickham, Political Scientist

Clearly the answer is NO!

As we are now suffering in Barbados under the DLP, it is clear the cadres pollsters played role in the DLP’s victory.

I like many can’t seem to get over the unintentional or intentional impact we believe the cadres poll had on the outcome of the last election in Barbados.   It’s either that the cadres pollsters were drinking too much rum punch election night, secretly in bed with the DLP or the election was stolen noting the small margin of victory.  It is felt by many that misinformation on election night from cadres impacted voter turnout.

So as I see my fellow Bajans struggling to make ends meet under this current government, each time I hear political analyst from cadres on the radio or TV I can’t help but to reflect back on that major polling blunder not talked about enough to this day, so I’m talking about it on BU today.

For Political analysts who are usually spot on, to be so far off just seems real curious to me. When the next election comes and hopefully soon… I don’t even want to hear the word CADRES ok peter.

164 responses to “Is the Cadres Polling System Good for Barbados?”

1. however my observations are not at all contrary as to what some in private sectors..that support the blp belive..which often is duplicated in the sudden and provocative contraversial mouthings of OS A..which should be taken seriously by the blp yarfowls moving. into the election.serious thought should be given priorty on such internal matters as corrective action could not hurt

2. so here is the million dollar question which arterexes and prodgial needs to ask themselves and the party brigade..what are the dividens generated for the blp as a result of mia leadership that would be benefical in helping the party to win the next election.what examples has mia demonstrated on putting the countries. best interest first..above all in a time. when a call for healing and recovery is necessary. her purpose seems to be that of building a political foundation on appeasement and not one that is crucial. and necessary to the security of a country..she should have learned from the recent bouts in the financial decline of our economy ..that political pandering does not get the job done..

3. Mia can be inspired from the many years of DLP infighting Thompson versus Mascoll. Mascoll versus Taitt. Kellman, Estwick and Stuart versus Thompson etc. DLP imploded and has survived.

4. Mia can be inspired by spending her entire life immersed in politics.

The savagery exhibited against her by Owen Arthur showed me he has a personal dislike for Mia.

Mia needs to step up and stamp her authority on the party.

She could take a less on from Justin Trudeau.

“Justin Trudeau’s announcement that all future Liberal MPs must be pro-choice or vote pro-choice.”

In other words…. I am the Leader.The party must be united or “…………. fuddle duddle

Like father like son.

5. @Hants

MAM has a little time on her side but you are correct, at some point she will have to deal with Arthur and Payne winner takes all.

6. David

What about Dr. Don Blackman fighting Tom Adams? We were glad to have Don on our side during his stint in the DLP.

7. David, I don’t know how far back your memory goes, but you ought agree that the BLP started the in -house fighting?

8. Trevor Prescod is right to raise the issue in the BLP about some members being treated differently. Owen Arthur should have been discipline long time ago for constantly embarrassing his leader. Rommel Marshall was expelled for speaking against the party but Owen Arthur is doing the same thing but is too powerful to be expelled.
    Trevor Prescod is no idiot because Jerome Walcott ordered him off the platform at one of those rubbing shoulders meeting and he can recognize that he is a small fish in the party..
    He is also right in saying that the party is not ready for government although the people are frustrated with the DLP. Read on in Barbados today interview.

9. @Clone

It is a good interview by Prescod and one which is on point with the general mood about how general public feels about politics in Barbados by BOTH political parties. You should note Prescod is a Mia supporter and he maybe running with this matter because there is a plan in mind.

10. @David | May 24, 2014 at 2:35 PM |

Mia can be inspired from the many years of DLP infighting Thompson versus Mascoll. Mascoll versus Taitt. Kellman, Estwick and Stuart versus Thompson etc. DLP imploded and has survived………………………..

Exactly…………just so Mia’s detractors remember this. Stuart cursed Thompson black is white, issued the famous 7 point indictment on Thompson yet in the end Thompson still made him a deputy and today we are saddled with him as PM.

I agree though, Mia needs to show more leadership and make her troops fall in line. I will not defend indiscipline.

11. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Owen is too old to have any realistic chance of a return to the office of Prime Minister and I suspect that the rank and file of BLP knows this too. The Executive Counsil of the BLP must also appreciate that unless Mia is given a full, free and clear run as the undisputed Leader of the Opposition in the next General Election then the BLP could very well be in opposition for a term or two more.

All that said she cannot be disruptive to the BLP in her attempt to remain Leader of the Opposition. She MUST learn to build political friends from within, from without and she must also know that OSA is not really a threat to her any longer there is no need to burn the house down to kill a rat.

12. so what does it mean for the blp when one of their own,,,,slaps them in the butt,,,,if Trevor interview is all about leadership,,,,,MIa should have been the one giving the interview,,,,,,now it seems like the leadership role is slipping away from mottley,,,,a clear sign coming from the interview,,,,, mia cannot take examples from past dissension in the dlp and use it to her advantage,,,,,her only advantage is to firmly take control of the BLP leadership starting by removing the stigmas and perceptions of double leadership.,,through ,,restructuring and reformation within the party ..advancing a necessary hard line message of change done by words and actions which would eventually breathe and activates new life among her followers with the intention as a catalyst as to to motivate and win the support of the( in) house detractor..mia coming into her own is a “must” waiting and praying for everything to work out just right is not going to happen as the rifts and calls by those internally and externally for her removal would only get louder,,the choice is her,,,only she can control the outflow of noise and confusion heard coming from her party,,,,,her stamp of disapproval with the concerns mentioned in the interview is necessary and must be firm strong and bold and loud in order to gain respect and rejuvenate a once strong and powerful blp party, her first plan of action is to confront OSA under no uncertain terms reminding him as to who the leadership is,,no sense in being intimidated by that old gorilla as his years are long gone,,, and no need for mia to live in the shadows of what used to be,,,,,the blp should be about ..New beginnings,,, not traveling on a path of yesteryear endings,,,,,ghee i think i now became a member of the blp…..

13. Here is an extract from Prescod’s interview. The bold is BU’s emphasis.

There is a lot of frustration in the society. It is being felt that an effort should be made to bring the country back to a level of social and economic equilibrium. Now I do not feel that the people are happy with the present administration. The alternative in our political culture is that when one political party is out, the other is in. At present the people are not happy with the Democratic Labour Party as a Government, but there is a sense of bewilderment at the way the BLP is responding to the issues,” Prescod added.

14. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Only an idiot what take that advice especially from you as well. You know full well that what you are prescribing would see the BLP reduced to pure internal turmoil, in fighting and back stabbing…………but let’s be real that’s what you would love to see.

Mia need only have patience and good political judgement, time will do the rest for her.

15. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Let’s get real Precod is a political buffoon so I would not pay must attention to him, he is not the Leared of the Opposition and its certainly safe to say, he NEVER will be.

16. @Gentleman Jimbo

It is not if Prescod is a light weight but the discord within the party he is projecting.

17. Gentleman Jumbo

Fair analysis but I sense a residue of age discrimination on your part. Now, what has the man’s age to do with anything? Has he said or done anything that who lead you to arrive at the conclusion that he isn’t fit for political office? Is there a clear indication that this man’s cognitive function is declining?

18. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

His memory is bad and he has false teeth.

19. Gentleman Jumbo

You ought and must be circumspect with respect to the labels you use to describe others because people take notice and would find your labeling quite offensive. Here in America you would be labeled as bigot because there are age discrimination laws here, which guard against such conduct.

20. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Gentleman Jimbo | May 24, 2014 at 6:57 PM |
    Owen is too old to have any realistic chance of a return to the office of Prime Minister

IS OWEN OLDER THAN FUMBLE ? IF SO, BY HOW MUCH?
    Gentleman Jimbo | May 24, 2014 at 7:38 PM |
    His memory is bad and he has false teeth.

IS NOT FUMBLE BETZPAENIC?
    ONLY ASKING OK?

21. gentle jimbo..,………..whatever advice she has been taking seems to so far is not working,,,,,,,one cannot rule out such advice as patience,,,,,,, patience however does not necessarily mean “to give in” it is clear from the interviews that Mia is intimated and overwhelm…..her courage to stand up and fight back has been weaken,,, she has tried what You call patience which in my mind is an overt attempt to weaken and so far it has worked against her ,what does she has to lose by being brave and bold,,,as it stands now the detractors see her as weak.. and they will do whatever it takes to push that perception forward,,now is the Time for her to crack thew whip, demonstrating leadership…,,her party faithful would be proud of her and the party would have gain ed rather than lost the respect, ..i am not any bpody,,, but there are times when enough is enough… fair is fair ,nobody can be faulted for taking a stance for right,,Nothing stops OSA from gallivanting all over the media projecting MIA as a buffoon..and continuing internal mischief . yet the mover and shakers endorsed him..the reason is that he shows strength, even though he has nothing formidable to show or give his party in his latter years…even the electorate said so…. MIA stand UP… don;t let them old battle axe steal yuh thunder,,,,,good advice,,,, yuh tried patience ,,now try boldness it bound to work,,,, i know …..

signed

22. Gentleman Jumbo

So what…? Ronald Reagan governed the US, at 70 years of age and he did it with a hair piece and dentures. At the end of Reagan’s tenure, he was 78 years of age.

23. DLP apologists giving advise to Mia, what a joke. Elections are a way away and like Gentleman Jim commented MAM can afford to be patient 3-4 years out.

24. David, I guess the Gentleman Jim, gets his advice from a gypsy crystal ball. lol

25. David

And you trust Jimbo judgment because he is a political tactician?

26. ac,
    You were told ages ago to stay out of BLP politics. Who would take advice from you? Not even your DLP does!

What you should concern yourself with is page 5 of the Saturday Sun. “IMF the next move”…………..Barbados Economic Society president Jeremy Stephen is warning that on its present course Government will be forced to seek “budgetary support” from the IMF or turn to the privatisation bogeyman.

That is what you should be concerned about ac, that is the big worry not OSA, the BLP and Mia. If this inept incompetent government has to go cap in hand to the IMF, no doubt Christine la Garde will have the last laugh at the governor’s incompetence!

27. look prodigal wunna still trying the old and outdated strategy to wunna own peril…,if the blp yardfowls really cared about keeping ther party in tact and not being perceived as jokers and brawlers,,wunna would ask the instigator of all that is happening to retire permanently for the good of the party ,,and resist and desist from attaching his name and comments to party affairs,,, no but wunna get up in here on bu ,,runnung wunna mout and afraid to speak the truth when it comes to the internal affars,,,wuh damn/// ac is not the problem..ac not running fuh anything,,ac not trying to recapture 14years of glory,,, all the said mention is what the blp yearns for,,,,only to be denied as present leader does nit have the political might to fight back…

28. AC:
    For once I can identify with your comment. There too much wining coming from the party. If they want my vote, please find some serious candidates. This fourteen I am not impressed.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | May 24, 2014 at 9:07 PM |
    “What you should concern yourself with is page 5 of the Saturday Sun. “IMF the next move”…………..Barbados Economic Society president Jeremy Stephen is warning that on its present course Government will be forced to seek “budgetary support” from the IMF or turn to the privatisation bogeyman.”

I trust you are not surprised by the turn of events.
    What that academic Stephen is saying is what was seen long ago by people with commonsense as the ‘only’ highly probable outcome if the management of the Bajan economy remains in the hands of a blatant liar and an incompetent fool living in ivory towers.

When it was predicted that Barbados will end up in the hands of the IMF with a possible devaluation and forced into a non-negotiable programme of privatization and outsourcing I was abused by both ac and Bush Tea for wishing hell and damnation on Bajans and branded as unpatriotic. Were Ryan Straughn, Prof. Howard( and now Jeremy) being unpatriotic too?

Ac, the simpleton of a yard-fowl, is allowed to continue to stew in her “No layoffs, No privatization” cauldron of nonsense.
    But for Bushie, the BU Nostradamus, he needs a good hauling over the coals for his loud silence and obvious lack of comments on the devaluation and privatization thing.
    Even Minister Inniss is singing the praises of privatization with nary a word of dissent from Bushie although it is clear breach of promise made by his favourite party to the electorate.

Now here is a man (the bushman, that is) who believes he is anointed by his personal god the BBE but through sheer unabashed hypocrisy refuses to excoriate the minister and the planned privatization programme as he did to the poor miller.

Now if the real brass bowl Bushie really had those special powers of prophecy, perspicacity and perspicuity conferred upon him alone by the BBE as to be able to readily identify Bajan brass bowls he would have been able to see the IMF and privatization programmes on the horizon.

But poor man, we all know he is a charlatan just like the fake Bonke brought in by the DLP and now another charlatan being brought in by another weed-whacker with a dog collar vying for Bushie’s special place next to the right hand of his BBE.

But as the perspicuous Bajan New-Yorker pointed out, Bushie and ac are only different sides of the same coin of hypocrisy and yardfolwism.

Your turn Bushie to rant and rave and cuss off the miller, Prodigal Son and the IMF instead of Inniss, Sinkliar, Fumble and the guv.

30. Do the BLP proponents honestly believe that the electorate is going trust a party that cannot even settle it differences amicably? The longer the electorate witness this political dysfunction, the worse it gets for the BLP. How are you going to convince a conscientious electorate that you’re the party of choice come next election, when it has witnessed this prolonged record of in-house fighting? And how can David even suggested the Patience is the strategy to be employed, when the party is now fractionalized and divided against itself?

31. Bushie:
    wake up Miller and Prodigal on your door step. I do not know you favored the DLP Bush Man!!

32. Lemuel | May 25, 2014 at 7:57 AM |

“Bushie:
    wake up Miller and Prodigal on your door step. I do not know you favored the DLP Bush Man!!”

Le Mule where have you been? On planet Mars? If you of all people didn’t know that the Bushman supported the present government then you gotta tah be the biggest centipede pon BU.

33. “But poor man, we all know he is a charlatan just like the fake Bonke brought in by the DLP and now another charlatan being brought in by another weed-whacker with a dog collar vying for Bushie’s special place next to the right hand of his BBE.”

Miller yuh pon a roll! LOLL I loves yuh too much!

34. Island:
    I have never seen him showing any political leaning. But if you say so I would have to go with you. But remember the Bush Man does have a right to follow some party or the other. I must admit it could be a little difficult in the current political circumstances!!

I do not normally read posters looking for their political leanings.

35. Who are the two politicians within the DLP who always seeking something? I know it cannot be Chris Sinckler or Rev Denis Lowe! The country needs to know.

36. That fella AC is thei same tall jackass on facebook as Adrian Clarke from Haynesville living in the USA?

37. What the hell!!!
    Bushie don’t know where Miller went, but he come back talking even more shiite than he was prior…..
    …perhaps he went to visit Dompey for enlightenment…..especially since he come back with the same kinda shiite verbosity…. 🙂

First thing Bushie would warn you Miller…. Curse not BBE’s anointed… You may end up with your donkey whacked…. Ha Ha

NOW….Is Bushie a DLP supporter?!?!
    DLP shiite……

BUSHIE IS A DIE HARD BBE SUPPORTER

….which part of dat wunna yard fowls don’t get? Bushie is a BBE yardfowl……
    Unfortunately, in the last election, there were no BBE candidates…. ….and none will be in the next either…..cause when BBE is ready, we just TEKKING over….. :). OK?

Bushie voted AGAINST the list of jackasses that were presented by the joke party that led us to the position we were in back in 2008, and will likely vote AGAINST the other set of jackasses who led us further down the gully since then….

Our last chance to climb out of the gully was presented to CASWELL by the bushman (at no cost) and unless he accepts that challenge, Bushie will vote AGAINST BOTH the sets of jackasses that you , Miller, and the Jenny – ac have been hanging wunna hats on…..

Got it now…?

@ Islandgal
    …you laugh!
    Wait till Bushie get you in a corner…..

38. gawd mawning miller……..what is most important to ac is the best interest of the country ,,the blp political yardfowls yourself included have an agenda,,,,,tagged and labeled “I TOLD YOU SO ” some what kinda of childish and unpatriotic. …..the article is not( new ) news or even news worthy ….just a repeat retread of what the blp yardfowls have been hoping and wishing for…… more fear and gloom…..at this point ac really doesn’t care,,,,….the public by now are exhausted and looking for positive answer not wanting to hear and read the same ole unpatriotic hash tag article ,..but needs to hear and read articles that have agenda on putting the country first……..the article in question is not of any great help,,,but attempts to breed confusion and hopelessness…..it would be of more interest if the article had presented a more plausible alternative,,,,,taking a negative and presenting it to..a positive,,for the good of a country,,,,,,,one that reveals a patriotism that supersedes selfishness and political posturing……the country needs healing and for sure does not need another injection or interjection of political poison in its wound,,,,,,something the BLP spin doctors need to learn in their maddening unpatriotic attempt of deception and destruction of the populace mind…..ac would not drink from such cups,,,,,.

39. @ Lemuel
    …thanks for putting in a few kicks and a butt on Bushie’s behalf against the bush whacking Miller, Prodigal and Islandgal trio…..
    Bushie is obliged… 🙂

40. fuh years bushie had all wunna fool but not ac,,,Bajan new Yorker was right on the money when she shone the spotlight on Bushie. hypocrisy……..here is another one of his golden nuggets,,,,,, he is one of BBE anointed,,,,,,,i rather say DISAPPOINTED,,,,,,,,

41. Bushie:
    You putting this thing here for Miller to tell me where my mother get me from now! I find that Miller lets his or her brilliance go awry once the BLP seems to be under threat so I normally allow him or her that latitude!!

42. @ ac
    It is “anointed” not appointed
    Shiite man….your middle name must be Malaprop…..

43. @ Lemuel
    ” he or she” is an enlightened supposition on your part 🙂

44. so what is your problem……if ac says that your anointment….has been a Disappointment……. ..an intended “pun”” which is used intentionally in gist,,nothing wrong or ungrammatical about it,,,,,u need to stop trying so hard to come off as intelligent in a world where the queen English is no longer being use as the standard bearer ,,,,,,,,,, with aged comes wisdom..however in your case ,,,,it seems to be a one of stubbornness and ridicule. lol…

45. Bushie:
    That Miller is bright no problem. That Miller is he or she is undetermined!!

46. Lol @ Lemuel
    Undetermined…?
    …speak for yourself boss…..

47. Le Mule you are NOT too bright a fellow please cease and desist exposing your behind. You are another zealot hiding behind the bushes with Bushtea. Tekcake yuh doan get a dose! ROFLMAO

48. Island:
    Thank you for that solid assessment!!

49. Gentleman Jimbo Avatar
    Gentleman Jimbo

Concrete is wet and sloppy when poured and placed but given time it turns into formidable structure capable of withstanding much abuse and stresses.
    MIA must wait, be patient knowing full well that he time will come and wet that time/event comes she must have the wisdom to recognize it and exploit it.
    In politics patience is seen as maturity and in politics maturity is seen a being trustworthy and responsible, so MIA just be patient.

50. @Gentleman Jimbo

Agree added to which there is no alternative at the moment to MAM. Symmonds and Marshall don’t have the appeal and throw one of tbe wet behind ghd ears MPs would have to be supported as a compromise candidate in much the same way we witnessed the rise of OSA.