Submitted by the good and bad
David Comissiong

Today in the Nation newspaper there is a photo and caption concerning the situation in Venezuela…With the likes of David Comissiong and other left leaning individuals fully backing a worldwide known government that has so totally failed a once prosperous and potential country, that it is now used in major Universities all over the world as a model of failure.

I hardly think Comissiong is really aware of what is happening in Venezuela…its so easy to lay back totally removed from reality and spout garbage that sounds good, which helps to elevate his status and make for more conversation when he attends cocktail functions.

I know because I have family there who tell me the truth about nothing on supermarket shelves for days…items that were once all Venezuelan made now being imported, a crime rate that would make wars a walk in the park, a total disregard of freedom of speech, false accusations and imprisonment…etc.

Mr.Comissiong you are a true coward who hides behind words and manipulation for your own self-fulfilment and agenda

165 responses to “Venezuela: Reality Check”

1. MB
    I KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT FIRST HAND

ONE MINISTER TERMINATED MY CONTRACT IN THE MOH BECAUSE I HAD DESTROYED HER A FEW YEARS BACK IN THE LAW COURTS WHEN SHE TRIED TO TALK TO ME LIKE IF I WAS A DUMMY.

2. @Bushie
    Thanks for revealing why you are making so many errors, you accustomed to beating up the lies of AC! That explains everything.

3. LOL @ the two HC men…..

First to money brain
    Why the hell should a bushman be bright and good at Maths? That is not the point of any discussion.
    We are talking about why two highly talented bright products of the Bajan education system should be content to sit down in Canada and the USA talking shiite when there are important jobs down here to be done….

You could imagine the impact that an enlightened white Bajan (like you claim to be) could have on Bajan politics?
    Wuh shiite man…bout here would be sweet as sugar…
    All the permanent Secretaries would work hard….
    All the statutory boards would function. Not a boy would steal government money. People would be at work early as shiite ….and you would have to chase them home pun a night…

…you ever see how a Bajan does wuk fuh a white man?

…but no!
    You up there insulting a bushman who just happen to read between your pissy lines bout tax…
    Everyone knows that you ONLY pay high taxes ABOVE a certain limit….. Pun the GRAVY money 🙂
    …you think Bushie born this century or Wuh?

…and GP, ….you let two pissy political pimps chase you from home?
    You need to talk with Caswell man….. BIG PRIME MINISTERS and DEPUTY PM and AGs and even Bushmen tried chasing Caswell …..but Caswell don’t chase easily ….know why..?

Two reasons…..
    First…
    Foes in plenty he will meet
    Hearts courageous scorn defeat
    So he press with eager feet
    Up and on …up and on

Secondly…
    He does drink a regular dose of Lowdown Hoad’s special goat milk.
    Now…
    We can’t help you with number one, but perhaps Hoadie could ship you down a double dose of goat milk when the week comes…

4. @GP
    Yes, I recently heard from another HC bro who got tangled with govt Liars and would not play ball due to his pure Christian beliefs. He has been cast out of any potential jobs where the Pols have influence, GONE!

It is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING that some still believe that if we coulda get rid a Whitey from bout hey life would be tooooooo sweeeeeet in Bim.
    True in Guyana, JA, Zimbabwe ??????????

5. Christ…..Monybrain, that topic is soooo tiring, would you believe all I can do is watch…..lol

6. @ ac
    Hello sweetheart, passing strange that you have so far not seen it fit to share your rare insight on this important topic…
    You must know that Bushie is saddened and hurt by you absence and that he miss you dearly…. XXX

7. @Bushie
    The joke is pun you! Check the TAX Rates under Tom in 1979.
    Bushie maths is integral to any discussion about Tax Rates, so you are saying we cant continue?

Right, I gin come down there to play the role of Colonial Master so your buds and U could use me for Target Practice——my name is Waterford or Kendal????lol

What piss is Lowdown putting that milk???

8. MoneyBrain

Stupse …!

9. @GP

Whites for the purpose of this discussion is anyone of the MB variety.

10. no bushie
    the political pimps didnt chase me
    i left them to their own devices
    i have this major sin
    I DONT SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY
    SOME I DONT SUFFER AT ALL!:

11. I have to give both BLP and DLP what they deserve seeing that they are both branches of the same gang who are nothing more than enablers of Cow and his gang, Bjerkham and his gang, etc, etc,, i see Mia calling for march against DLP, what march what, Bajans just need to sit back and watch both political parties like hawks and have a good laugh eventually when things spin completely out of their control, let Mia go march she looks like she can do with the exercise anyway, the crap both political parties have done to their own people over the last 4 decades is nothing short of evil and unconscionable….

12. The latest in the Venezuela saga, the Pope gets involved.

Pope pleads for ‘end to violence’ in Venezuela

Pope Francis says he is concerned about recent unrest in Venezuela, in which at least 13 people have died.

Speaking at the end of his weekly general audience, the Pope said he hoped that “violence and hostility will cease as soon as possible”.

He called on the Venezuelan people “to promote reconciliation through mutual forgiveness and sincere dialogue”.

His appeal came after more than two weeks of anti-government protests, some of which have ended in violent clashes

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-26353651

13. Makes one wonder why Mia is calling for any march at all seeing how quickly things can escalate. example, Venezuela, hope her master Cowpat is not putting pressure on her to upset the applecart so he can have his way with taxpayers money, according to Just Want to Know, Cowpat can buy and sell bajans with their own tax dollars gleefully helped by the shithound politicians/lawyers/ministers..

14. Mia Mottley’s call for marches and protestations just goes to what a vile and errant person she is.

Knowing full well that she is unlikely to be PM unless Owen Arthur gives her his blessings…..she has sort to resort to the warpath.

15. @ Money and GP
    Look men, let us drop this topic, cause it only making wunna look bad…..
    …admitting that two big able hard-back independent professional men from HC are such chickens must be hard confessions to make…

Man why wunna don’t come back and help Caswell with the BUP thing nuh?….and bring Hants too…

Shiite man!! When it ain’t one thing it is the next…. Wunna got the brains and the know how , and Caswell got the balls and the street smarts….
    Why not ‘BUP’ something together and save Barbados from the 30 infidels currently racking up the 375th anniversary?
    …..cuh dear….we begging!!!

16. I know for sure that under a BLP government this country would NEVER be in the position it is in today.

Having said that, had the BLP been the government today who brought the country to its knees, this Destructive LYING Party would have brought the country to a standstill. The unions who have their heads up this DLP’s backside would be joining them, pulling every worker from every sector on the streets until the government fell.

We all know that this would be the case.

I heard the moderator on Brasstacks today, who came on as a so called independent moderator pontificating today. It did not take long for her to show her true colours. David Ellis sure knows how to find Dems to host the programme. She may be educated but how in God’s name could this woman say that the BLP always gets a good wicket to bat on? This was in response to a caller who said that every time the DLP is in office, the people suffer and endure hardships.

She said maybe…….the BLP get to bat on a good wicket…………she forgot that when the BLP took over in 1994, the unemployment rate was 25% and they found only 100 million dollars in foreign reserves. Compare this to what this, the worst government ever found……….and they squandered it all…….2.5 BILLION dollars in foreign reserves, unemployment at 6% and in six short years……..look where we are today. And this moderator wants the BLP to tell Barbados what are its plans, a caller said ……….you have not been listening, the BLP produced a manifesto a year ago, they are putting forward ideas from the People’s Assemblies but this government dont want to hear from nobody but the IMF. That’s their eminent persons.

The worst government ever!

17. BUSH TEA
    I DONE DECIDE ALL I AIM TO DO NOW IS CHILL OUT AND WAIT FOR THE RAPTURE.
    I AINT FIGHTING NOBODY FOR NOTHING
    I HAVE NEVER YET WON FOR STANDING UP FOR THE RIGHT OR ADVANCING GOOD IDEAS

I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN PENALIZED

SO I HAVE DECIDED NOW TO JUST OBSERVE.

I TRYING TO REFLECT ON MY SINS AND SEEK FORGIVENESS THEREFOR, AND SEEKING GRACE TO DO BETTER THAN I DID BEFORE

18. @ GP
    Skippa, that is called burying your talents – while waiting for the master to return…..
    Your role here is NOT to ‘win’ anything…but to represent TRUTH, JUSTICE and righteousness….
    Leave the winning to Caswell and BAffy….

Wuh if they crucify the boss man for just trying to do the right things, ..why would you feel that you should be able to win any shiite..? Wuh GP, ….you lucky that they did not crucify your donkey….

Therefore you should NEVER be put off by idiots and evil jokers…. Those fellow are just like weeds and slugs among the vineyard….. Why do you think there is a need for a bushman with a mighty bush whacker and regular salt treatments ….? LO.

19. BT
    tired with idiots and evil jokers…

i doing the minimum to survive from here in man

20. @ Prodigal Son

Moderator Miss Watson’s lack of knowledge of anything going on in Barbados is amazing. One wonders why David Ellis would foist upon the people of Barbados, a moderator who by her own admission rarely reads up on anything and goes into the studio totally unprepared. When she admitted not knowing that Almond Beach is to be knocked down and rebuilt I logged off.

21. @David
    What white variety am I? Speak straight and to the point.

Wunna dont like somebody who wont roll over and play dead? I asked you previously to elucidate your points where you called me a liar and yet nothing. Does not seem professional on your part.

I have never said White people did not historically control Bajan Business. That would be obvious given the long term history. What is important is whether Black people had the opportunity to compete and the answer is yes.

Mr Rowe of Trimart fame, allegedly actually stated that he was going to put Big B and JBs out of business. At that point he must have been very confident of all aspects of his business to make such a bold claim. Did NOT sound like some fella who was worried about a lack of opportunity, financing from his bank etc.

There are many successful black Bajans in a variety of spheres—professionals and business people.

22. @Bajan in NY,

She must be very wealthy because when a caller talked about the doubling of fees paid by professionals………she said she did not pay a lot of attention to it at the time …………..I well remember the outcry of most professionals…..the fees were doubled in most cases and if they are not paid on time, the fees are doubled.

The BLP in its manifesto, proposed that professional fees be done in stages and opined that it was not fair for a young lawyer to be paying the same fee as Henry Forde or for a young doctor to pay the same as Micky Walrond. Yet this woman says she is not hearing what the BLP plans to do. What lawyer has four hours to pontificate in VOB’s studio? She must be so busy!!!!!!!!!!

David Ellis, take a bow! You have again foisted a closet Dem on us!

23. @ Prodigal Son

I was told she is the daughter of RSS chief – Mr. Grantley Watson.

24. LOL
    Except for her overbearing back and forth with the petty caller on the Barrack issue, Bushie rated her as the best female moderator to date.

There is no academic merit in two persons taking the same position in a radio discussion. A good moderator NEEDS to have the ability to appear to be on the other side of any such discussion…

A whole string of BLP eager beavers attacked the damn woman …but she seemed to defy them with glee…..especially Prodigal son ….LOL

One gets the impression that DLP callers will get equal but opposite treatment from her…when ac and Fenty get their turns…

25. No Bush Tea…………if she treated the DLP callers as she did the BLP callers, I would have no problem with her. I am tolerant of other people’s views.

She let that stupid man Arthur get away with murder today. He continues to flog OSA for selling 51% of the shares of BNB………he keeps repeating the lie that OSA sold the BNB. He sold 51% of the shares. The DLP under the dead king was to have bought back the BNB, instead the Stinkliar sold the 49% shares at a loss…………..below the market price because they went cap in hand to Republic Bank and being the economic idiot that the Stinkliar is, he did not know that Republic Bank jucked out the taxpayers’ eyes.

The Arthur character keeps repeating the lie and only got away with it with her today because she is so not up to date with facts. None of the other moderators let Arthur get away with saying that OSA sold BNB.

She showed her DLP colours today and she came off badly. Shades of Maxine McClean.

26. @ Prodigal Son

I was shocked when she allowed Arthur to make his contribution without interruption, since she has a propensity to interrupt when callers are speaking.
    BT is of the opinion PM Stuart is doing a heck of a job, so I’m not surprised he is impressed by a moderator who by her own admission is unprepared.

27. Independent moderator wuh?

Stupse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Everybody know the Watsons is hard core DEMS.

28. Congratulations must go to David Ellis and Starcom for introducing Ms. Watson to the Brasstacks family.

Her sharp and incisive comments will surely give Prodigal Daughter and other BLP pariahs….nightmares !

Only a few hours on the job and Ms. Watson has Prodigal Daughter wailing as though she misses her nurse bottle !

Keep up the good work David Ellis….you are indeed a true BLUE !

29. MONEY TALK blp bullshit walk……starcom must have realized that not being balanced would cause them to lose listeners,,,,,i for one had stopped listening too much one sided BLP CRAP ,,,,,

30. Off topic
    There was some one on BU touting the merits of BITCOIN, where did he go to?

31. “One gets the impression that DLP callers will get equal but opposite treatment from her…when ac and Fenty get their turns”

I do not listen often but strangely when looking for a distraction and turn on the car radio which is permanently on 92.9 I happen to hear her. I thought that initially she was trying to be balanced but her distortions with winnie yesterday and her stupid insistence last week that Ms Mottley ought to be able to provide alternatives to the public to be seen as a credible opposition and govt in waiting changed my view.

32. @Sarge
    Look for a NUT case!

33. GP…..don’t mind the Bushman, you go to Barbados touting any honesty, try to prevent them enriching the same minorities who buy and sell their asses or change how they operate and see if you don’t end up in prison, down jenkins or as sharkfood….lol can’t you see a setup? lol

34. @MB

Relax, the reference to ‘variety’ was to clarify GP’s reference to poor Whites which based on your postings you were no!

35. @David
    Just like to clarify, it is true I am not poor BUT it is important to appreciate that when I migrated to Canada I had very little, was only 24 and my family did not help me with introductions for a job here or any contacts whatsoever. I was on my own just like many darker bros.

Interesting that some people on meeting me after a phone conversation did admit that they thought I was black at first.

Many Bajans, irrespective of race, here in Canada have had to work cleverly and hard. the good news is that we as a group have accomplished much. I remember years ago receiving a phone call from a White gent, whose son in law is black Bajan, asking questions about me and making quite clear that I should treat him well in our business relationship.

36. @WW, GP
    Bushie loves to set peeps up for amBush! Indeed, that is why he calls himself Bushman it has nothing to do with loving the ladies or trekking etc LOL

37. off message:
    http://www.voice-online.co.uk/article/us-attorney-general-eric-holder-hospitalised
    Holder’s father, Eric. Sr., was a native of Barbados who emigrated to the U.S. as a boy.

38. @Exclaimer
    It is interesting how many successful Bajans resulted from those migrants, the lady Gwen Ifill of PBS, that moderated the VP Debate in 2007 has Bajan roots. Plenty nuff besides.

Never forget in 1979 being on a train between Hamburg and Copenhagen, met some large black American gents (I am White BaJan) and we got chatting and then one turns to me and says your accent seems familiar but I cant place it. On learning that I am Bajan he says, “Bajans come to NY with nothing and then you see Baje is working in a Bakery and then 5yrs later he buys a Bakery and then 5 yrs after that he owns 2/ 3/ 4 Bakeries, put us locals to shame”. Must confess I was very proud of that.

39. Moneybrain………..now we know how commendable that achievement is for a Bajan or any Caribbean person, but try getting that same Bajan to do the same thing in Barbados and therein lies the rub, a lot of times it’s their own people keeping them down for one reason or another they work on each other to make sure those dreams are never achieved AND to be fair, the population size is really a factor in trying to achieve any type of successful endeavor that could generate millions, 1/4 billion people in the US, 34 million in Canada, 67 million in the UK, chances of a Bajan or Caribbean person being financially successful in any country with a large population magnifies at least 1000% when compared with Barbados AND there is very rarely anyone to work on ruining it for them if they try.

40. @WW
    A major factor is that someone leaving the sweeeeet family, friends and weather life in Bim and migrating to these countries has the key attributes
    1 determination
    2 self confidence
    3 ambition
    4 willingness to work hard

Personally, I did not migrate because I preferred the Climate. (MINUS 30 something overnight tonight aint easy) corbluma!

41. @ Moneybrain
    Personally, I did not migrate because I preferred the Climate.
    Not exactly true….
    You migrated cause you could not stand the heat bout here – so you ran from the kitchen….
    Men like you, Hants and GP should be bout here doing some much NEEDED bullying…..instead wunna up there relaxing, fishing and in your case, swimming in money, ….while we got a bunch of softy softy men down here playing the donkey….

Bushie don’t set up anyone for no ambush…
    What amBush what?!
    If Bushie could get you back here as Minister of fine ants, GP as minister of Health, Family and Education and Hants as Minister of Tourism, fisheries and Rum…..along with Caswell as Chairman of the National Supervisory Committee and Baffy as his deputy to keep their hawk eyes pun wunna ….in six months bout here would be sweet like sugar….

…the only people that would get amBush would be the 30 jokers currently making mock sport celebrating 375 years….

42. @Bushie
    I doan Bull Bushie!

Just because you newsed to observe dem fine red ants, up by the Parliament buildings, you think I could be up in dat because I red?

43. …”the only people that would get amBush would be the 30 jokers currently making mock sport celebrating 375 years”

one minute you wunnuh condemning colonialism and slavery ; another minute wunnuh celebrating what must be the very bastion of colonialism and slavery itself ; one minute want poor nelson statue ignominiously removed saying that he was a slave owner ; another minute spending money to preserve and restore without any certainty a place slave owner George Washington supposed to spend a night or two sock it to them bushie

44. I cracked up the other day in the archives. I came across in the Shilstone Papers a clipping about the moving of Nelson from as long ago as 1926 if my memory serves me right.

Parliament approved it, …… but no money!!

By all rights, when you come through the Green Gates of Parliament onto upper Broad Street you should be coming face to face with Nelson!!

Sounds almost like Jenkins!!

…. and yes, Nelson and Parliament are intricately bound up with slavery.

Nelson saved Africa from French invasion on the night of 1st August 1798 at the Battle of the Nile and won control of the sea for Great Britain who could then easily enforce the abolition of the Slave Trade in 1807 after his death.

Parliament as I pointed out on another thread abolished Slavery itself, an institution that had existed for millennia before it was created.

Parliament’s purpose has been subverted by wicked people and we should reflect for a moment on what exactly is its purpose.

It has its own Chaplain who doubtless begins every session with a prayer asking God’s guidance.

Maybe if someone could find the words of those prayers we might figure out what it is that Parliament is really supposed to do.

We are really very lucky to have both Nelson and Parliament in our history.

45. WORLD NEWS Venezuela Protests Continue, National Guardsman Killed

March 01, 2014 Anti-government protesters continued to clash with Venezuela’s security forces overnight, as violent street demonstrations dragged into the third day of a national holiday.

Scattered barricades blocked streets Saturday in the capital, Caracas, as student demonstrators threw stones, bottles and Molotov cocktails at security forces, who responded with tear gas and water cannons.

One national guardsman was shot dead as he tried to remove a barricade, bringing the death toll in three weeks of clashes to at least 18. Another guardsman was wounded.

Protesters are demanding that President Nicolas Maduro, who succeeded the late president Hugo Chavez, resign because of the country’s high crime rate, inflation and shortages of staples such as milk and flour.

The Maduro government blames the violence on right-wing opponents of his government, accusing them of receiving support from the United States. The U.S. government denies involvement in the unrest.

Venezuelans began a week-long national holiday on Thursday. People traditionally abandon cities and head for Caribbean coastal beaches to relax and party for the Carnival holiday.

Mr. Maduro says there will be an extra day off on March 5 to mark the first anniversary of Mr. Chavez’s death from cancer. Officials hope the long break will dampen the student-led protests.

More from the topic World News

46. @ Prodigal Son
    Arthur sold control of BNB, leaving Barbados as a minority share holder. More than that, the people in Britain knew it was being sold before staff in Barbados.
    I remember it well: Arthur addressed a London audience at Lambeth town hall on the Monday night; I had a meeting with the deputy director of the Chartered Institute of Bankers that afternoon, gave Mr Greenidge a lift back to his hotel that night, and arrived in Barbados on the Wednesday.
    on the Thursday I was talking to a senior manager at the BNB and she told me they heard the news on CBC on the Tuesday night.
    It was one of the worst decisions made in the financial intermediation of Barbados, a mistake for which we are still suffering.

47. “a mistake for which we are still suffering.”
    In what way? Hal. You intellectuals wild coot etc keep singing this song but I am yet to understand how did the establishment or demise of the BNB add or subtract to development in Barbados?

48. @ balance
    For the economy to grow there must be financial intermediation. The foreign-owned banks are not lending to small and medium enterprises, or to enterprising young people.
    We do not have a substantial shadow or non-banking sector, govt has not introduced legislation incentivising venture capital, etc.
    The only Barbados-domiciled bank was sold to the Trinidadians. The price we pay is that under-funding of small businesses, which is necessary for the economy to grow.
    It was a huge mistake made to get urgent cash.
    It is economics 101 – except at Cave Hill..

49. @Hal

Agree with you partly, yes we need financial institutions which are geared to support key sectors of the economy but we should separate whether we need developmental more so than traditional financial institutions. At the end of the day evaluating risk is what is comes down to foreign own bank or not.

50. @ David
    Everything in financial services, especially banking, is based on risk. Bur risk is not a scientific concept. It is partly actuarial, partly underwriting and partly policy.
    A good business plan should remove most doubt. And if you have, for example, a small family-owned hotel, there are numerous ways of funding that project: debt for equity, sale and lease back, secured lending, sale and management agreement, etc.
    Foreign-owned banks do not – will not – have the same approach as a Barbados-domiciled bank.
    That is the history of commercial banking, it is called the home advantage.