Submitted by the good and bad
David Comissiong

Today in the Nation newspaper there is a photo and caption concerning the situation in Venezuela…With the likes of David Comissiong and other left leaning individuals fully backing a worldwide known government that has so totally failed a once prosperous and potential country, that it is now used in major Universities all over the world as a model of failure.

I hardly think Comissiong is really aware of what is happening in Venezuela…its so easy to lay back totally removed from reality and spout garbage that sounds good, which helps to elevate his status and make for more conversation when he attends cocktail functions.

I know because I have family there who tell me the truth about nothing on supermarket shelves for days…items that were once all Venezuelan made now being imported, a crime rate that would make wars a walk in the park, a total disregard of freedom of speech, false accusations and imprisonment…etc.

Mr.Comissiong you are a true coward who hides behind words and manipulation for your own self-fulfilment and agenda

165 responses to “Venezuela: Reality Check”

1. Amazing that an oil rich nation is able to spiral to where it is now.

2. “David | February 25, 2014 at 6:10 AM |

Amazing that an oil rich nation is able to spiral to where it is now”

I just cannot understand how supposedly intelligent and enlightened individuals people like Mr Commissiong who pride themselves as freedom fighters can continually align themselves with regimes which hold their people under subjection by fear and intimidation. People of Venezuela, rise up and fight for the right to be who you want to be and not the clone of a repressive system.

3. What does this bode for Petrocaribe countries? The consencus is Maduro lacks the charisma of Chaves therefore he has no choice to use brute force if he wants to be Presidente.

4. This is why Bajans must be careful not mindful of power hungry individuals who would sacrifice the stability of Barbados.

I hope the marches the opposition is calling for will be peaceful.

For the last 50 years Bajan politicians and yardfowls have been cussing each other bad, but it has not led to riots.

Let us continue the cussing but keep Barbados safe.

5. This is democracy at work, pitting one set of citizens against another. When the middle classes ruled the extreme suffering of the poor was very real, but ignored by the media. Now the tables have turned and there is a very vocal middle class. How much of what is happening is :-

Government incompetence (an illness exhibited by just about every Government in the Western world)
    Aided and abetted by US special operatives (an illness that happens in every country that defies US international authority)
    Local business class inspired, (a phenomenon that even Barbados has experienced during the final years of the Sandiford administration)

Democracy is a dumb phenomena … People are far more worthy of recognition than a mere geographical poll will try to promote.

6. “This is why Bajans must be careful not mindful of power hungry individuals who would sacrifice the stability of Barbados.

I hope the marches the opposition is calling for will be peaceful.

For the last 50 years Bajan politicians and yardfowls have been cussing each other bad, but it has not led to riots.

Let us continue the cussing but keep Barbados safe”

Who are these power hungry individuals other than the ones clinging to power for their own selfish ends aided and abetted by those whose love for party organisation exceeds love for country. It should be the Trade unions and not the opposition who should be calling for marches and demonstrations as a form of protest against the suffering inflicted on their membership because of mismanagement of the economy. Let us protest to show the powers that be that we are not happy with what has transpired to bring us to this situation. The time for lame duck excuses or passing the buck has expired .

7. @BAFBFP
    Government incompetence (an illness exhibited by just about every Government in the Western world)
    Aided and abetted by US special operatives (an illness that happens in every country that defies US international authority
    I wondered how many posts it would take before someone saw the hand of Uncle Sam behind the Maduro’s problems and I know I could count on you not to let me down. Lets call a spade a spade the Gov’t of Venezuela has been in trouble for years Chavez’s charisma kept it afloat but charisma can only go so far, if Chavez was alive he would be facing the same issues.
    Its time you looked for another bogeyman to explain world events and stop focusing on the convenient scapegoat in our hemisphere.

8. as so totally failed a once prosperous and potential country, that it is now used in major Universities all over the world as a model of failure.

Could this happen to B’dos ???
    Lets hope not
    Lets guard against it happening

9. Balance a government voted into office in Barbados’ mature democracy is clinging to power? Truly a nonsense posit by you. The desperation by Mottley and her declining followers to gain power has now become laughable yet sick and sobering. The woman is reduced to begging the unions to strike and march. The unions, as are a majority of Barbadians are asking march for what? How is disruptive marches with the inevitable violence going to help stabilize the economy? Far from it marches and the calls for the violent overthrow of the government coming from BLPites will frighten away investors, tourists, capital the very things we need. If the Bees take to the streets the Dems will also to oppose them. How is chaos on the streets going to help temporary workers get back their jobs?

Where is miller ? Was it miller who Trevor Prescod told to fcuk off in Carrington Village when he was ordered to exit the stage. Prescod is a old time communist waiting for an opportunity as are his pals Denny , Commisiong and Belle. Vigilance by freedom loving Barbadians is a prequisite at this moment in our history.

10. Sargeant
    Is it possible that you are the only person in the world that does not “believe” that the Government of the United States of America does NOT meddle in the affairs of foreign governments, whether friendly or otherwise .. and have actively participated in their destabilization …?

11. Sargeant
    Is it possible that you are the only person in the world that “believes” that the Government of the United States of America does NOT meddle in the affairs of foreign governments, whether friendly or otherwise .. and have actively participated in their destabilization …? (double negative .. 3:) )

12. @Sarge and BAFFY
    Sarge you appreciate that Baf defends and likes the North Korean Kim’s who consider themselves a Diety and propagate such. They have starved at least 3MN of their citizens in the last 10-15 yrs and sentence 3 generations of families for the “crimes” of an individual.

He neglects that Chavez tried to overthrow the Ven Govt and was jailed prior to becoming leader. Chavez was Brainless and like many “supposed lefties” nationalise their Oil industry BUT never are capable of managing it properly and therefore the Economy is seriously wounded. Naturally this is blamed on the USA! Did you expect that Chavez would relinquish power because he was incompetent?

Venezuela and Latin Am have always been a Politically induced MESS. Costa Rica and in more recent times Chile have been the most successful politically. To be sure the US has not acted properly by any means. However, the major problems in Sth Am are internal.

13. Hants…..cussing each other is so much more fun and not a drop of blood shed.lol

14. Prescod is a old time communist waiting for an opportunity as are his pals Denny , Commisiong and Belle. Vigilance by freedom loving Barbadians is a prequisite at this moment in our history.

Amazing that – the old communist bogey -man
    is being used to scare people from the thoughts
    of progressive individuals
    Why are folks so dishonest in their comments
    What nonsense !
    utter utter nonsense

15. Never been to North Korea, and know better than to believe the shite that is hoisted as international news. It is called giving the benefit of the doubt to those who are not White btw, as they seek to plot their own course and earn their way in the world. Secondly all, did I not say that loud enough .. ALL governments are incompetent and corrupted by monied interests, particularly those which have a history of vocalizing judgement on others. Single out Venezuela if you must, but that would be all that you are doing. Iceland and not Chile, is where you should look to as an example of making a creative difference in challenging the established way of doing things.

16. Saw a clip of a news item in which Chrisgopher Stinkler is saying COW is his friend.lol.COW only know him for what he can get out of his ministry,in other words a means to an end.Stinkler,ever the jackass.

17. @Baffy

Isn’t the middle class usually a silent group?

18. just want to know Avatar
    just want to know

There is a certain element in Barbados, & in the world that accuse the American Government for every wrong doing in the world. When things are good America should take a back seat, as soon as some thing goes wrong America must help, especially if it is a natural disaster,if it is a drought that will cause starvation America must help, send food, but must not seem to interfere in their political process. America is the food basket of the world, & because of that everyone who has a political agenda hates them, so if I was an American, when they are hungry let them starve, when they are killing each other, just leave them to it, when they are natural disasters let them ride it out for them selves. I am not saying they are perfect, but for goodness sake give the country it’s due.

19. @Just……
    It is BIG TARGET Syndrome!

The problem is compounded by the US’s pisspoor Foreign Policy strategists who tend to be somewhat mediocre.

20. @ just want to know
    Wait to fcuk up. The Government of the United States of America has created it’s own legacy of intervention. They do NOT deny anything that is thrown at them, and they never completely claim to be doing what ever wrong that there are involved in, is for the benefit of mankind. They are insistent about “defending national interests” what ever the fcuk that means. Do you NOT think that the tragedy that is the lot of a significant portion of the worlds people could easily be solved if given appropriate attention by the world’s mightiest power ..? What due …? You have no idea what you are talking about.

MoneyBrain .. Big Target syndrome my ass.

It is probably only in Barbados that the middle class says nothing … and that probably is because their hands are dirtied with what ever it is that they should be complaining about

21. @Baffy
    Everyone knows that the largest, the First Placed is ALWAYS where people TARGET! Nubuddy din tell U?

22. Money…….you ever heard the saying “be careful for what you ask, you might get it” well US wanted to be super power, they got it, goes with the territory…ask DLP, they wanted in, they go in…………………….lol

23. My view is the USA is the greatest country in the world and the greatest hero of the 20th century, finally recognized by Time magazine, is the American GI who without, the world would be ruled by tyrants. Without the Americans their would never have been independence from Great Britain for Barbados. Perhaps from another country, but without the Americans it is doubtful that Great Britain would have survived the difficulties of WWII.

And lets not forget it is the US$ that we on the island of Barbados all want.

24. @WW
    Agreed, but it is obvious anyone or thing that is number ONE will be hated or Targeted by many. One of life’s LAWS!

Militarily the US is far ahead of the others, in terms of raw power and size.

Personally there is a lot I dont like about the US, especially how the country is run—–Education is a DISASTER. These youngsters are far behind Asia!
    HealthCare is in CHAOS now and before ObamaCare. It is comical that the US spends 2-4Times as a %of GDP compared with the Top 25 Nations and has terrible HC stats.

These 2 sets of facts should subject Fed Pols to The Electric Chair!!!

25. “……………..a government voted into office in Barbados’ mature democracy is clinging to power? ………………………………………………..

Yes! yes! yes! Especially one whose candidates bought votes openly and was witnessed by the lazy inept PM and the worst AG this country has ever had…………….and especially since most of the votes buying occurred in the said constituencies!
    ….A government clinging to power just so that some of its members can secure pensions while they send home people from the pooer class to suck salt!
    …A government who lied to the electorate and does not care that it lied. But I guess they have nothing to lose if they can inch on for another two years.
    ……A government that does not care about this country, only its own narrow interests.

……………………………….Truly a nonsense posit by you.

26. People like Commie are what are known as “useful idiots”. The dictators and other nation destroyers use people like him who can only think in terms of concepts and have no orientation to reality and how people suffer due to their “dreams of worker utopia”. Hopefully the situation in Venezuela will not end in bloodshed and Maduro will go quietly.

27. @BAFBFP
    Is it possible that you are the only person in the world that “believes” that the Government of the United States of America does NOT meddle in the affairs of foreign governments
    +++++++++
    I don’t discount anything but I do know that I can count on you to provide a knee jerk response of blaming the US for any flare up in any trouble spot throughout the world.

28. Mr Clarkson. Mr Thompson instructed his parliamentary colleagues to boycott Parliament just prior to the 2008 elections and led a march from Carlisle park to Independence Square on the same day that his mentor Mr Barrow was immortalised by Statue in Independence square. Was he trying to incite violence or overthrow a duly elected Government at the time by marching?

29. I often disagree with Mr Comissiong but he is not a coward. Unlike most of us on this blog (including myself) who hide behind pseudonyms he has always openly espoused his beliefs no matter how unorthodox or contrary to officialdom and the status quo.

30. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commentaries/US-hand-in-Venezuela-crisis-247165491.html

Looks like Rickey is into the US interference discussion. Is it so farfetched? Their position is known about Cuba.

31. @ BAFFY
    …mean you ain’t worked out yet that brass bowls will accept any shiite thrown into them…..

Passing strange that countries which find themselves in possession of large reserves of highly desired natural resources always seem to “get themselves” into such binds….. Iran, Iraq, Libya, Syria, Egypt, Venezuela…
    …unless of course they have been almost totally aligned with the Moneybrain-like western ideology of total USA worship….

Economically, both Iraq and Libya were STATE-OF -THE-ART countries….

One good thing that we have done is to have buried those off-shore oil plans that Mia dreamed of….Perhaps we still have a chance to see the REAL values that we need to pursue as a nation – and a people…

Wealthy and successful people can only appreciate such values when they are blessed with special wisdom. …..but blessed are the poor… for THEN they are better able to appreciate such higher (spiritual) realities…
    LOL… So perhaps Fumble and Sinckler may be God-sends for the brass bowls of Bim.

32. Bush Tea

Without brass bowls the world as we know it, with Queens, Governors General, Political Parties and political scientists, Churches, consumer driven growth indicators, economic consultancies, Sports Administrations, retail businesses would go away … It would be a disaster …

33. @Bushie
    Is your inability to comprehend MoneyBrain’s writting due to your illiteracy or over indulgence in the Seethru?
    I have on several occasions here incised a fresh posteriorial orifice for the US lack of proper Policy in Education, HealthCare et al.

Worship the US??? NEVER! Far too many flaws that could and should be fixed.

Proof positive of my true views on the subject is the fact that I l;ive in Canada and not the USA. When I migrated I had the option of the USA, Canada, UK and Australia so why NOT USA if I love them so?????

Just because I have the ability to counter your biased pov does NOT indicate that I cant at least appreciate the genuinely good points you stumble on from time to time. .LOL Even Baffy qualifies periodically even though sometimes I fear he will turn Creamy like his bruds lil chubby Kim in NK or settle for RED like most of his leftie luminaries. I know neither of you will follow the courage of your supposed convictions and migrate to NK, Cuba etc BUT stay in Western White Dominated Domiciles and bitch while feeding on the teet of Capitalism’s Bountiful Wealth, which you have condemned. Smacks of hypocrisy!

34. MANJAK of MY LORDS HILL Avatar
    MANJAK of MY LORDS HILL

David Comissiong can be silly at times despite being maybe the best public figure on the left in Barbados. One understands his support for Chavez in Venezuela (who I do believe putting aside his populist rabble rousing was one of the better political leaders in the Americas and history will suggest as such)
    It is more difficult still to understand Comissiong and his party’s support for the horrid monster in Zimbabwe, Robert Mugabe. One suspects it is very much to do with Mugabe’s faux anti colonial rhetoric and anti white demagoguery especially in relation to the British, be it the labour administration of Tony Blair or the present one of David Cameron.
    He Comissiong I am afraid is representative of many progressives and those on the left whose critical faculties appear to desert them in relation to some countries and leaders.
    As for the notion from your poster Clarkson that Denny, Belle and Trevour Prescod are communists awaiting the prescient time to become big time maguffies in Barbados can but evince hollow laughter.
    Is this the same Prescod who have switched from the National Democratic Party, to the DLP and presently is ensconced in the warn boson of Mia Mottley’s conservative and homophobic BLP.
    Political principles tends to be as rare as hens teeth. In Barbados they appear to be almost totally absent amongst the slime ridden, money grubbing Bajan political caste. One cannot attribute such to Comissiong despite some of the twaddle that he can at times emit.

35. Moneybrain
    ….you don’t worry about Bushie’s ability to interpret your writing….you are probably accustomed to dealing with brass bowls who listen to what you actually say or write, but Bushmen are able to read between lines and to dispense with BS and PR by dealing directly with the smell…

You may complain about the USA’s many and OBVIOUS weaknesses….but you share their central alter of worship…. MONEY, power, influence, and dominance….

Just like they feel quite justified in taking other people’s things for themselves, using overwhelming force to protect their “THINGS” …..from ANY kind of threat….from Iraq and Iran, down to “stand your ground”…. Don’t you revel in your wealth? in your status? ..and the fact that, having benefitted from a sound Bajan education you ran off to green pastures in pursuit of your selfish ends rather that ever consider making contributions to improve your native society?

Did you take over your father’s business to help develop Barbados?…not a shiite!!! You sell out to the Trickidadians who gutted the business and left the ruins here for us to bury….
    That is called GREED and Selfishness…. The very genesis of the USA….

….so don’t come here sounding sanctimonious to us on BU….cause you done know that Bushie don’t mek dat kinda sport….

The Americans are doing to Venezuela exactly what you have done to Barbados …and they are also feigning innocence ….just like you….

@ ac
    How are you today child? Hope that you are well…cause you KNOW that Bu could never be the same without you….. keep good!,

36. @Manjak
    Surely Mugabe is NOT responsible for IMPOVERISHING his own Black population with his dictatorial nonsense? Certainly he did NOT ensure that the rightful newly and duly elected black PM should be beaten within inches of his life?

The lefties have No Problem going along with animals like this, neither did Trotsky!

37. @Bushie
    My apologies for not appreciating that it is indeed your OLFACTORY and Visual capabilities that are culpable. Please see a good ENT/ Opthamologist Specialist for Medical Testing and Prognosis.

On the contrary Bushie what you write is mostly SPECULATIVE nonsense that corrupts what others have stated. How could I take over my fathers business at the age of 16 while still at HC??? Furthermore, the company grew with the financing that the 67% Sale afforded. The darker employees did well some in very senior capacity.

My family and i PAID very high Tax Rates including 70% of a bonus, the equation $900 for MB and $2100 for Bdos Govt Wastage did NOT compute. Only a really Dumbass subhuman idiot in their mid 20s woiuld stick around for further PUNISHMENT. I thought you disliked the concept of SLAVERY? That was getting somewhat close from my perspective. In those days 12% of the Bajan population were paying 80% of the Taxes. TOM certainly got that wrong!

I dont share the traits of the US, BUT I do absolutely enjoy shredding the shyte you would like to perpetrate on the slower thinking peeps.

HINT: when you SELL you want to maximise the price and PROFIT you receive.

I know it really grates simple minded Bajans that some Whites would escape their clutches with their $$$$$$ FULLY INTACT and NOT be available for Financial RAPE and PLUNDER BUT even the TEEFENeST Forbes of Guyana was unsuccessful in grabbing what was ours, SURE his strategy really worked for the NEWLY RICH Guyanese, correct? Guyana the Successful Leftie / Commies, yeah Comrades! Teefing Forbes carry way the Peeps $$$$$$, of course NO BLACKS suffered as a result!!!

38. MoneyBrain | February 26, 2014 at 2:09 PM |

MB
    SOMETIMES ITS BEST NOT TO WASTE YOUR TIME RESPONDING TO SOME FOLK ON BU

SOME OF US HERE ON BU KNOW EVERYTHING, ABOUT EVERYTHING ………….DIDNT YOU KNOW THAT

39. @GP
    True but you have to protect the innocent by exposing hypocritical expressions.

40. Man MoneyB….you sure you want to develop this discussion about black and white and being ripped off ….?

That you were asked to pay 80% in taxes only tells us the level of your income….and yet you are complaining..? Back in dem days Bushie paid NO taxes….did not earn enough to do so….BT would have LOVED to be in a position to have to pay 80%

How much did your (rich) father pay to school you at what was then one of the best schools anywhere?
    …and where the hell did you think your father’s money came from in the first place…? …if not ultimately off the backs of the free slave labour of what you call darker folks?

…and if you had shown ANY interest in developing the family business at age 16 your father would not have sold it to strangers… Unless of course he was a mercenary, heartless, Moneybrain like you 🙂
    …..but even back then you were clearly eyeing the easy life – gambling and speculating ….and planning for the easiest ride available….Canada (well either that or your father knew that you lacked the ability to do so….)

LOL….you probably have not broken a sweat since your days back at H.C. chasing that ball at lunchtime…..

Easy boy number 2……

41. …and you GP better keep a low profile in truth
    To whom much is given MUCH is expected.
    It is really wunna bright HC boys that should be bout here steering the rocky shop SSS Barbados…… But no!!! Wunna up in Canada and USA freezing wunna asses off…and dropping remarks bout Sinclair and Fruendy…

That is why Bushie admires Caswell so much….wunna know how much EFFORT he put into things like Credit Unions, political life etc trying he best to improve Barbados? While wunna with the talent out there looking for easy life….

Wunna better don’t test Bushie for the next two weeks yuh….cause David just force the bushman to back off ac……so somebody got to tek de heat 🙂

42. @Bushie
    My father had to PAY for at least 10 of other peoples children so they could have a Free Education!
    He used to say that he should otherwise been in a position to BUY each one of his children a WALL house if not for unfair Taxation.
    You see Bushie I dont believe that if U made endless money U should have to pay more than 33% TAX for Govt to theef and WASTE on Political shyte and bureaucratic bungling. Proper efficiently and effectively managd Education, HealtCare et al is great but TAX should be fair top provide INCENTIVE!

Bushie U back to misreading, I wrote 70% NOT 80%. That was on a Salary of $30,000/yr and had to part with 70%! I know how to THROW off the shackles!!!

Bushie I am starting to realise that you are rather limited in Math and reading BUT I am sure happy to learn there are SUCKERS like U willing to PAY 80% TAX, I will duly forward to the Commissioner of Revenue.

Free slave labour in the 1940-70s? OMG you are also appallingly SLOW in History too! What Certs you got Birth with Death pending? Aug 1st 1834 was Emancipation Day in the British Colonies, sorry old chap!

It seems that all my Father’s TAX paying for your Education was a TOTAL WASTE! Further proof that some just cant be helped! lol

Truth Bushie is that my father went to work at 13 from a poor family that demanded some income for the household, it was not easy like you would like to believe BUT you are welcome to believe that your own inadequacies are somebody else’s fault. It probably soothes your self inflicted pain and delusion. The fact is you could do better if you did not carry around your errant, excuse for thoughts.

43. Bush Tea | February 26, 2014 at 3:56 PM |
    re…and you GP better keep a low profile in truth
    you will notice dats what i doing

re To whom much is given MUCH is expected.

last time i heard dat was in sundy school in 69

in real life nobody dont want me around man, cause i cant help laffing when the bosses talking and doing shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhte

it is not an easy life not to be making use of your ideas or talent, sir.
    it is very hard and boring.

44. @Bushie
    Where dat heat coming from Bushie, your rectal orifice? lol

45. @Moneybrain

Where your position can be challenged is the reality the Whites have always dictated and controlled economic power in Barbados. You can used other reasons for leaving Barbados but what you posited is far from the truth.

46. in 2008, my mother and the elder of my church begged me to go to the MOH and ask fuh a job, cause they both wanted me to stay in buhbadus.

the elder set up the meeting so i went in front bulling jerome and lienul wekes

they ask me what work i want
    i asked them what they had dat i could do

about a year later they sent a letter to say they had no vacancies

now i am wondering how i wuda survive working wid such morons

better for me to not work to hard and get a few dollars, even though i so bored

but i can watch lots of cricket on tv and lots of good tv shows on science in between reading the daily shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhtte on BU

47. @David
    Please be direct and explicit, I dont get what exactly you are talking about.

48. DAVID

YOU DO REALIZE THAT THEY HAVE A LOT OF POOR WHITE PEOPLE IN BARBADOS, DONT YOU? ITS ONLY A FEW OF THEM THAT GOT MONEY.

BUT THEY KEEP TO THEMSELVES

49. @GP
    What these gents dont understand is that as much as we love Bim it is too small a pool for certain people and you have the frustration of dealing with inferior Tin Pot dictators. The only compromise would be to attain a controlling position.