David Estwick - Minister of Agriculture
David Estwick – Minister of Agriculture

We have had hints posted to BU in recent days that Dr. David Estwick is not a happy camper sitting in the ministry of agriculture far away from the ministry of finance and economic affairs. It must be clear to Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and his cabinet if they were not aware that Minister Estwick is not happy at events currently unfolding in Barbados. BU goes further to state that Estwick has been fuming since the late David Thompson banished him to the ministry of agriculture. BU is aware it had to take heavy language from DLPites to coax Estwick to accept the ministry and in the process the DLP was able to avoid embarrassment.

Any government which has to administer austerity measures will not receive acclaim.    What must NOT happen however is for the government to be perceived as divided on the issue of it’s economic strategy. Minister David Estwick’s maverick position today will only add to the lack of confidence currently affecting Barbados. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart must demonstrate he has a firm grip on his cabinet. With a 2-seat majority in parliament it is difficult to believe Stuart will be able to exert any influence of note on Estwick.

Estwick’s statement even if construed to be a bark has has done damage to the government by conveying to the Barbados public, and internationally, that the stability which Barbados has been known for over the years does not exist.  Unlike other political commentators who have dismissed Estwick’s public utterence, BU believes this Stuart government has been placed squarely on the defensive.

How long can the Barbados government continue to manage our affairs in an acrimonious climate?

232 responses to “Minister David Estwick Yelps Again”

1. DE boycotted the cabinet meeting today so obviously his intended outburst was against the his own peers. I would be great to see him cross the floor but we all know that that usually means the end of ones political career. I am afraid that he is for now shaking the tree to see what falls out. We have 4 long hard years ahead of us and each of us will have to hunker down and do what we can do to survive,. Confidence has been eroded and unless the dlp can pull a rabbit out of the hat, it will not return until we have a change of administration. I don’t belong to any party all I would like is good governance and to be put back on to the road of sustainability.

2. “It is being reported that Estwick boycotted cabinet today angry about the pending retrenchment.”.

@BU, Is Dr. Estwick really concern about pending layoffs of thousands of Barbadians? This was public information since March or so 2013 when Caswell revealed such. He just want attention and surely he will get such. According to VOB 4:30 pm news, Fumble was to meet with him. He is trying to disassiciate himself from the shite…………… that has been happening since 2008. Too late now.

3. David – boycotted Cabinet?
    This here ain’t so straight forward. I hope the PM is able to encourage Estwick to stay involved in the DLP administration and help Barbados from there.
    The motion of no-confidence in Sandi was not because of they (the faction) refused accept his unilateral appoint of Tony Arthur but because he refused to provide them with an audience to discuss the issue.
    Looks to me that Stuart is making the same mistake.

4. If it is true that Fumble and the MoF have stopped the sugar industry project, that would seem to be a credible reason for Estwick throwing his toys out of the pram.
    It is, after all, his project and he must have badly wanted it to go ahead. Sceptics would say that a Minister in his position, with a large project like that, would have had ample opportunity to squirrel away some commission money. I do not hold that view; in my view all politicians are fine, honest, upstanding members of society who are second only to Mother Theresa in their frugality and good works.

5. The Democratic Labour Party is the Drinking-water of the common folk in Barbados, irrespective of the vitiations that are designed to besmear its good image. Jump ship? Hell no….. not the party of my hero EWB, the very conscience of the poor Barbadian people. Your legacy have been written on the collective conscience of the poor people in Barbados EWB, and remember we will…..

6. Hear Adverbs Miller the Blog Sage:

“When are you black fools going to get it into your stupid heads”
    “silly black fool”
    “you and the other nigga man”

QED

7. Truthseeker
    You are a mischief maker. But if the MoF didn’t stop the project but wanted to unilaterally and without cabinets agreement, to redict the project to Sagicor and not the japanese, then what was his motivation or ‘incentive’ to so do?

8. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

I somehow missed that there is now a Sugar Industry Sagicor project that took over from a Japanese project. Anyone knows what is the difference between the projects? Has any project documents fallen off the back of the proverbial truck?

9. Are you STILL trying get your greasy hands on the project plans and financial information?

10. My madda is addictived to drugs and illegal ones at that…. so I guess, I must kick her to the curb right? I suppose the BLP supporters are in complete agreement with this narrative because their are expecting the DLP supporters to do likewise.

11. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Warinka; The Project Plans only. You have them?
    btw. Congrats on a good attempt to camouflage your very distinctive style of writing / speaking after you made one mistake that revealed all.

12. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@ Mark Fenty as the saying goes GET REAL!!!!!!. This DLP may have the same name as Barrow’s DLP but is definitely not the same party in spirit. You got ministers complaining publicly about reduced pay when 3000 gine suffer with no pay. A party that sponsoring a political football tournament but people’s Reverse Tax Credit must be reduced by half. A party with members that benefited from “free” university education but want to slam that door shut to the children of the poor class…… Need I go on!!!!!!!!!. Does that sound like a party that gives a damn about the poor!!!!!! What they are doing is contemptible and despicable and doing it in a recession!!!!!
    I listened to Fumble and his ……speech (for lack of a better word) on TV last night. Firstly if people had any doubts about CBC being DLP TV it was all but confirmed last night. Secondly in MY OPINION it was a …..”speech”….. with half truths mixed with a sprinkle of gobbledegook and a whole LOT of ignorance. Really i don’t know if he was just playing to the audience or if he really believes what he is saying. If it is the latter then Barbados is in real DIRE STRAITS. I can now see why he “removes” himself from any economic discussions and leaves it to Sinckler. Call me a BLP yardfowl all yuh want but if you listen good you can tell when someone knows what he is talking about from when they are RAMBLING.
    To David Estwick and the DLP, the DEMS should not fear. They should be glad that somebody in their party has a CLUE and a conscious. They should know that this is a democracy and people will have differences in opinion without being regarded a some GREAT RIFT in the party. Just like what happened between Mia and Owen just weeks ago

13. are-we-there-yet
    My identity is not a secret.
    Camoflage is not my style.
    My positions are not contrived.
    I am not a blind follower.
    Have you tried the MoA to get access to the Project Plans? What does the dog do when catches the car his is chasing, piss on the wheels?

14. @mark fenty January 30, 2014 at 7:08 PM “The Democratic Labour Party is the Drinking-water of the common folk in Barbados… Hell no….. not the party of my hero EWB, the very conscience of the poor Barbadian people”

Barrow died and the DLP died with him.

15. A national TV station should be fair when it comes to news that will affect its people. This Estwick issue is real news, yet CBC Morning Barbados failed to broadcast the substantial part about Estwick’s critical position of the economics of Barbados but instead focused only on the Molasses terminal. Again tonight in the 7:00 p.m Evening News, CBC refused to discuss anything on the latest statement from Estwick and his refusal to attend the Cabinet meeting. This is what you call Controlling News. We definitely need another TV station and I salute The Nation and Barbados for bringing electronic NEWS for our PEOPLE.

16. CBC is a joke station, nobody takes them seriously.

CBC is a joke station when the BLP is in office.

The CBC is a joke station when the DLP is in office

Everybody except CBC knows that it is no longer possible to control the news.

17. David wrote “How long can the Barbados government continue to manage our affairs in an acrimonious climate?”

Given the divsion and conflict in the BLP the acrimonious climate would continue with a change of government.

Conflict and acrimony is a natural human condition.

18. mark fenty
    The DLP may well be drinking water of the common folk in Barbados but Estwick is clearly refusing to drink the cool-aid.

19. Doan look fuh nuh increase in tourisses from kanader eh!

Best Buy Canada is laying off 950 people at its Future Shop and Best Buy retail stores after being hurt by intense competition during the important holiday sales period.

Sears Canada is laying off 624 employees, the second time in as many weeks the struggling retailer has announced cost-saving cuts to its workforce.

Sears Canada Inc. announced the layoffs of more than 1,600 employees late Wednesday, the latest cost-slashing move from the struggling department store chain as it tries to boost its operating performance.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/economy/jobs/canadian-labour-hit-by-wave-of-mass-layoffs-plant-closings/article15854738/

20. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Warinka;

I am interested in the project because someone who worked on it told me about it one or two years ago. At that stage funding had not been identified. I thought that the project sounded like an excellent one when I heard about it and I have a passing interest in seeing if the elements of it are the same as described to me a few years ago, as a retired bajan with a little expertise in some of the aspects of the project that was outlined to me.

I did not know that Japanese funding had been obtained and that such funding was discarded in favour of Sagicor funding although I vaguely recall that there was some mention of Sagicor funding of the project on BU some time ago.

That’s all.

Why are you so acid when I merely suggested that I would like to see the project? or was it because I suggested that your style of delivery betrayed your identity? You a BLP MP?

Thanks for the suggestion that I approach the MoA for a copy but that would only be possible if I had high level contacts there or was even tangentially involved in the project. But I do and am not!

21. are-we-there-yet
    Here is a question for you. Do you support the position that we should continue with a sugar industry producing only bulk sugar where the GOB continues to subsidize the production cost while the product is exported for refining in the UK and where they sell it for multiple times the purchase price selling the refined product in Europe and exporting the rest back to Barbados?

22. Cause that my friend is economic slavery.

23. Warinka please tell the rest of the story because we all know it is a simple case of what we export is refined and sent back to us. Only Bdos sends bulk sugar to T&L?

24. Enuff
    Do we really care what others do or are we concerned with how to maximize our resources?

25. Warinka
    My point is the reason why Estwick is in bdostoday talking about pay farmers more.

26. Explain please

27. Belle who called for the overthrow of the government and his protégé Wick-ham are using reverse psychology on Estwick. They are trying to make Estwick look as if he always ‘ cries wolf ‘ hoping that the easily ruffled Estwick acts reckless and attacks or leaves the government. Such action will play into the hands of Belle and Wick-ham both of whom are supporters of the BLP.. They are setting a trap for the infamously thin skinned Doctor. Lets see if Eswick falls for it..

28. I am here wondering how Barbados moved from being the Bread- basket of the Caribbean, to the Basket- case David?

29. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Mark fenty | January 31, 2014 at 5:20 AM |

I am here wondering how Barbados moved from being the Bread- basket of the Caribbean, to the Basket- case David?@

Stop wondering, The BLP and now the DLP are involved in a MASSIVE PONZI fraud with PLANTATION LAND , TheY sold off what they did not own for a fast buck,=LAUNDERING FRAUD
    Sold off the Bread, and then the Basket at a cheap price and kept the money for self , Now they have to RENT back the Basket and Bread at a much higher price THAT WE DONT CONTROL.
    ASK THE 30 OR SO LAWYERS IN THE GOVERNMENT . Think of the cases in court , going on for more than 20 years, Now look at the government , they are the same people , so nothing moves,to be solved,

30. Permanent Secretary Avatar
    Permanent Secretary

Dr. Estwick like so many of us who have had great ideas that have never seen the light of day, is frustrated, after all he is only human. I don’t believe that he was ever a part of all the fumbling going on and that is why he was shifted from ministry to ministry. This effort to muzzle him has not and will not work. He stands on principle!

However, the more critical thing to discuss is how are the 3000 (or 6000) civil servants, most of who are single parents with small children and ailing parents, going to make ends meet after today? NUPW is talking about arranging skills training(My words) for the displaced.
    Have we taken into account the fallout for those persons left behind? Counselling is going to be needed, have we thought of that?

On another sad note, Why have we been seeing the Director of Reform, Michael Archer suddenly in the news talking about productivity? His latest rant was about those persons going home and the possibility of the unproductive ones being washed out with them! How insensitive can he be? And he wonders why the administrations don’t take him or his office seriously??? Wake up, Mr. Director. You like our esteemed leader does not inspire confidence in your constituency…….why do you think that NISE and Productivity council are always in the limelight? YOU need to lead and by example, so instead of being a sour puss, DO SOME WORK and LEAD or you too can go with the other “unproductive” workers!!! Enough!!!!!

The Ministry of Civil Service has been of late been the whipping boy of yet another administration! The latest being all the recent talk about the special project! Will we ever hear the results of it or is that too going to go the route of many others before it? Was this a way to position the project leader to take over the reigns of Reform and silently lead the Director into pasture? Will he run reform as a fraternity? Questions, questions? Is this the signs of someone ascending to supremacy? I may appear to be rambling but as the time continues, BU will see what I speak of!

31. Like the outgoing head of the Barbados Private Sector has stated, we are in a right mess and the majority of Barbadians do not have the confidence in those in leadership to direct us.

On 31 January 2014 10:05, Barbados Underground

32. @ Mark Fenty
    you are a born wonder , your moral compose is so fuckup , how you know day from night is a wonder

33. i don,t understand the nervousness about Estwick comment coming from some of the DLP supporters. as for the comment made by John he belive that the poor should have to suffer for the past administration inept policies ..Yes decision had to be made it isn.t as if people livelihoods were not invoved… John first interest is to protect the inteset of the wealthy. in the time he served how come he nevercalled on those in the sector to pay what they owed govt. but thinks poor can be dispose of like trash

34. @ac

Whether politically partisan or not one has to agree that Estwick’s untimely intervention has served no useful purpose but to erode ‘non existent’ confidence.

35. david ..i don.t know about the ersion. effect of his comment…….however he could have simply say what he believes and get it over and done .Now what i will say that his statement did create another “firestorm” of suspicion and doubts driven by ones intrepretations. The sooner Estwick put closure the better

36. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

I think you are being unnecessarily harsh on Dr. Estwick. First thing first, you cannot erode something that does exist, ok?
    There is no confidence because Barbados debt is expected to rise to Bds$11.0 billion in 2014 and when you add contingent liabilities, the total public sector debt is 146% of GDP. In addition Barbados is running a current account deficit of Bds$1.1 billion a year or 14% of GDP and growing. Add to that Barbados revenues continue to fall.
    Barbados has the second highest public sector debt in the Caribbean, second only to sT. kITTS & nEVIS.

37. Hants…..the only people expecting any tourists in Barbados, tourists who are just as much in financial trouble as Bajans, are the minsters of the DLP, talk about delusions of grandeur.

Why can’t someone contact Raoul and Fidel and tell them they are free to keep PM Stuart (FUNDELL) deep within the bowels of Cuba.INDEFINITELY, it will not be a crime and Bajans would not mind….lol

38. Plantation……….and if you think what happened with your ancestral lands was laundering and fraud, wait until Harris and his countrymen, India, are done with Barbados this time around.

39. it is so easy for John williams to endorse and embrace harsh polices that would affect the poor without looking at the implications. i mening the realities and choices are not equally divide .furthermore it,s not as if the debt problem would have been resolved.over night given the reality that the tourism which was the main driver of the economy is still stagnant.

40. @Equal Amongst First

While there is some agreement Estwick is a member of the cabinet which operates on the tenet of collective responsibility. He needs to resign if he has a problem with cabinet decisions taken on the economy.

41. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

It may or may not serve your purpose to paint Estwick in negative light but remember this people sang and danced on the mighty unsinkable Titanic almost until the moment it went underwater.
    The canary in the coal mine dies at the moment he is most valuable and after it provides the ultimate service to the coal miners.

42. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

why does Estwick have a responsibility to resign when the PM also has a responsibility to discipline those cabinet members who break collective responsibility and yet he (the PM) does not so do?

Let be real, we are operating in a situation where convention and protocol has be thrown through the window or alternatively is being ignored by the cabinet members, all of them.

43. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

What Estiwick has a responsibility to do is tell Barbados what the true situation is with the Barbados economy and what he think is or should be done, including how to preserve the jobs.

44. Therefore Estwick should operate by his standard of what is right.

45. I totally agree since Estwick said he is all man, if you have a measuring stick for ethics and what the DLP government is doing does not meet your requirements of how the country should be managed successfully, why are you still only talking?

46. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

Politics has its own morality, you know that.

47. Where is BushTea?

48. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

now is the time to get in the Herb business

49. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

FS said 2014 of CS: “blind men in a dark room looking for black cat”

OSA said in 2012 of CS: “leaping around in the dark”