Submitted by Mark

Please permit me some space on your blog to share some information regarding the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). It must be made known what damage Mia Mottley is doing to this party. Mia has cast aside the party along with the parliamentary group and now runs the party with a group of people who really have no connection to the party but are her personal friends, most of who are seen as DLP members.

Mia’s chief adviser is Hartley Henry. While Hartley is a professional one can understand why and how this would cause problems for most in the BLP. Her relationship with the MoF is well known, so it does not surprise many when she eases the pressure on her friend, Chris. Anyone who knows Mia Mottley well would tell you her best asset is the loyalty she has for her friends. The likes of Lucille Moe, Debra Hughes, Carol Roberts and Avinash Persaud etc. The look on the MP’s faces was priceless when Avinash entered the room to advise them on Barbados’ economy a few days ago.

Mia does not have the support of the parliamentary group because of these relationships and the belief that the BLP is to be run like her house with no one outside her circle of friends knowing her plans. Mia believes she can bring down this government by the middle of the year. This is what she tells the group but no one knows how. This approach does not instil confidence but it makes persons question your judgment and motives.

When you add all this to the fact Mia would of tried to make more than a handful of BLP candidates lose in the last election, it is easy to see why she will fail before she starts the job.

245 responses to “The Back Story on Mia Mottley”

1. Here we go again.

2. OSA cannot save Barbados! He is no magician! MIA has approached the present situation with maturity. OSA is paving the ground to give the incompetents another term in office. Is he too thick to realise that it is his own doing helped him to lose the election.

3. Barbados is at critical juncture and we the electorate were looking for combined intellects to pull us from this dilemma. This is why I am damn vexed with Owen with his selfish act. When he was leader, he called on all of his wards to deal with issues and all of them jump in and assisted in the cause. (sorry, the only exception is the dean of St. Andrew – brother Payne). I am saying with conviction that Mr. Arthur is disappointing his party members, his constituents and the entire country with his selfish acts. I am sick with these constant Owen mouthing and the laid back, spiteful position of the real pain from Andrew land. I now see why the PM is a silent powerful leader since all of his wards supports him in public even though some of his members might be diametrical opposed to his leadership. BLP you must wheel and come gain as a unified party or the electorate will overlook you as an alternative government. “nolite nonsence”

4. @IslandGirl – the BLP yardfowl
    ” MIA has approached the present situation with maturity.”- Utter Rubbish – this woman is calling on people to march to protect her falling political fortunes. What maturity what? and will not put a serious economic proposal on the table.
    You are cussing Owen Arthur now because he does not have any confidence in Mottley. I could have told you that every since.

Listen, not only Arthur but the Co-leader Mascoll does not think that much of her either. Add to that list – Lynette Eastmond, Jerome Walcott, Payne and a list of others. These are all BLP supporters.
    If you knew what they do, you would distance yourself from Mottley too.

5. “If you knew what they do, you would distance yourself from Mottley too.”

If you know what is good for you distance yourself from me please! You are a sick paling cock/hen! You have no backbone that is why this government can chew you up and spit you out without one word of protest. That is why everything is in a mess BECAUSE no one wants to make a noise, stand up and march for what you believe in. You lack decency and integrity!

6. I listen to Hon.Donville Innisss stating that the private sector in Barbados actually survived on the rewards gotten by the governments of Barbados. In other words, they did not have any real entrepreneurial skills. No wonder that idiot Sir Allan Fields sold Barbados Shipping & Trading to the Trinidad Indians.
    We Black Barbadians allowed clowns like Avinash Persaud,Sir Allan fields, Sir David Seale and now Lalu Vaswani to become powerful and as result dictate the economic & financial policies of this country. Oh I forgot to mentioned the Chief Rat Catcher – Mrs Ram Merchandandi of Furniture Limited & Dead Chicken fame.
    Black Barbadians are not stupid and even though this government is making a few mistakes such as they handling of the pending lay offs in the public sector, we Black Barbadians do not have any intentions whatsoever to return this country into the hand of the political despots and nuisances that are the Barbados Labour Party today.
    Onwards with Freundel & the great Democratic Labour Party.
    Owen Arthur is a selfish individual who is seeking glory for himself. That political nuisance when he was Prime Minister of Barbados introduced the concept of politics of inclusion and in the process nearly decimated the Democratic Labour Party. I remembered Owen Arthur indicating that those persons who have skills and knowledge that can be of help in the development of this country he is willing to bring on board despite their political opinion or affiliation. Hence his politics of inclusion or prostitution.
    Owen Arthur the scum bag recognized after fourteen (14) years as Prime Minster of Barbados he left no legacy. Therefore, he is hoping that this present government implode and he like the Knight in Shining amour rides into power again and rescue Barbados.
    Scum bag Owen Arthur Barbados does not need you. Barbados is in good hands with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and then great Democratic Labour Party.

7. The problem in Barbados is a lack of leadership on both sides. If there was leadership many of these kinds of issues would be invisible.

8. Discussing Politicians is like farmers discussing Manure.
    At the conclusion its all MANURE.

9. I have realise that negroman allways talk racism

10. @islandgirl
    “If you know what is good for you distance yourself from me please”
    Is that not what Owen is saying to Mia?

Just asking and observing.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Negroman | January 13, 2014 at 12:45 PM |
    “I listen to Hon.Donville Innisss stating that the private sector in Barbados actually survived on the rewards gotten by the governments of Barbados.”

Why are you allowing yourself to be guided by a black jackass similar to your self?

Why don’t you query that stupid statement by asking the same jackass from where does government get its tax revenues if not from spending by consumers of goods and services provided by businesses in the private sector?
    Why don’t you ask the Pornville man where he made his money? Did he make his money on the rewards from the government while holding ministerial portfolios or from hosting websites involved in “private” activities?

How do you think the St. John polyclinic will be completed unless the private sector creates growth to generate tax revenues? Unless, of course, you would like to see the Families First CLICO funded Account raided to complete the David Thompson Memorial Mausoleum?

12. Next action will be the Transport Board.

13. I gotta agree with Negroman…….now what will the government and black people in Barbados do about this nasty habit of enriching semi-literate bajan whites??? Inniss should be able to put a stop to this injustice, it has been happening for decades ably aided and abetted by the same politicians who love to fill their pockets…time for this to end, grow some balls, learn some ethics and high level managerial skills so some half-ass illiterate bajan white is not your manager because his or her father/uncle/brother/sister/niece/cousin or bajan white frieinds owns the company, export all the money too other countries outside of Barbados never to be seen on the island again, buys the pimp titles (sir,dame, lady etc) from the black government of the day to further impress and keep the blacks who know no better in line…..the island is in this sorry state because of that useless (to the majority blacks only) practice.

Well, Well, Well……….the sharks are circling and there are not enough band-aids around to stem the blood spilling into the water. Mia is not as bright as she projects………..i always have problems with her pretend elitist mentality, eminent persons group my foot, particularly if it involves that other lowlife billie miller…..anyhow, this is some kinda development. lol

14. Almond done pay for yet the polyclinic in St. John is still unfinished. Negroman is a black rasshole! He and Mark frundel’s panty Fenty and AC prefer to keep on their dark shades and carry a white cane.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | January 13, 2014 at 1:08 PM |
    “I gotta agree with Negroman…….now what will the government and black people in Barbados do about this nasty habit of enriching semi-literate bajan whites???”

But Well, Well, that is exactly what the political party he religiously believes in is practising with impunity and not a word of objection from the negroman.

Who do you think are getting the big housing contracts to build pigeon coops for black Bajans? Who do you think are getting all the road maintenance contracts? What race do the owners of jada, preconco and SOL belong to? Who do you think brought Cost-U-Less to Bim to take away business from black shop keepers like ShopSmart?
    Who do you think own Sandals if not a white man? Who do you think would end up owning the Transport Board and the get the contracts to do the work that soon will be taken away from the NCC?
    Stop being led astray by that foolish hypocrite Negroman. Ask him about the thief and liar Thompson who grave he visits for inspiration.

16. Businesses is what keeps a country afloat,and white ppl and indians are the best business ppl .we blacks cannot run a business,show me a successful black business person.

17. @David
    The problem in Barbados is a lack of leadership on both sides

I know i sound like a stick record. Will the real leaders please stand up?

18. Miller……I realize Negroman did not realize that the DLP is guilty of the same practice why I want to know what they plan to do to stop it which will in effect stop the financial bleeding of the island, if he and Inniss don’t understand that, well, I tried my best.,.

19. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Miller
    “including BLPNationNewspaper still think the Nation newspaper is pro BLP ”

Wake up Miller – The story on the front page is there because someone influential in the BLP wanted it there.
    Of course, the Nation newspaper is still pro BLP.

20. Countryman……. it .is not that black people can’t run or manage businesses in Barbados, the problem is the dependency they have practised for decades and the mistaken belief that whites are better at managing businesses and making money than the average black,, a horribly evil myth continually perpetrated by blacks on black, not to forget that blacks are also very bad minded, hating to see other blacks excel or become wealthy, they much prefer see a white or indian with wealth than another black like themselves and are happy to watch each other wallow in poverty and helplessness………the politicians are also very guilty of this injustice to their own people…….lots of damage to fix in the minds of these people.

21. Yeap OSA can,t help himself now all the political power that he gave the powerful elite has come back to haunt him…UM how many times have OSA retire… only a fool would dismiss these actions as actions of a sane man . but then again maybe the actions of one who is being controlled. yes the battles lines are being drawn and OSA is being thrown butt naked into all of it deservingly so .ac doesnt know if to laugh or cry. Barbados is being caght in the jaws of apolitical whirlwind mafiosa style..

22. Tuh BLP yardfowls take a hike the truth is unfolding right before wunna very eyes…OSA nakedness is being openly revealed with the help ofothers…..his biggest mistake in his 14 year reign has been exposed and those with whom he did their bidding are going to use and control him until they get want they want…boy this guy must be under tremendous stress and lost of many slepless night. Bajans wakeup take wunna country back…..From the powerful and blighted BLP party

23. ac: “Bajans wakeup take wunna country back…..From the powerful and blighted BLP party”

ac. It look like yuh sendin’ a message tuh yuh party. Yuh forget that the DLP is the guvment and we can only tek back de country from the ones in charge. LoL!!!

24. @TMW
    “Bajans wakeup take wunna country back…..From the powerful and blighted BLP party”

Was hey saying the same thing! murda!

25. SIMPLE Question:

If Owen Arthur as an economist and former BLP leader has no confidence in Mottley, why should we ?

26. Gotta forgive AC, she/he/it is so scared, she/he/it has become really giddy and confused……..LOL

27. It was obvious for a long time that OSA and MAM had not totally reconciled, and were seemingly running two parliamentary groups under the BLP banner, as MAM never seemed to have the full support of all members on her side of the floor at any time. With OSA’s “gimmick” comments recently and now the publication of this letter in the Nation Newspaper, it is clear that (yet again) battle lines have been drawn, and the BLP is facing a civil war.

While all that is going on, we have the small matter of a country in the grips of an economic tailspin, with poor local- and overseas investor confidence in the ability of the Government of the day to get us back to stability. With job losses imminently approaching numbering in the thousands, and likely more to follow after during the course of the year. Our PM is mostly-silent, and we are unsure if the MOF knows what he is doing, as he has, so far, not got things right that he has proposed to do to better the situation.

OSA was not successful in re-taking the Govt during his last outing when he took over the leadership of the BLP, and led them into elections. He then demitted office and MAM took over. Now he is again at public loggerheads with his Leader. Perhaps he has learnt some new strategies to win the next general election whenever it will be held. Perhaps he just wishes to shaft MAM, and ensure that she doesn’t get into position to become the next PM. MAM spoke today on radio about not letting the issue with OSA become a distraction to addressing the country’s ills. I submit that it is too late for that. The infighting in the BLP is not only a distraction, but may be a signal to what priority they give to saving this country for the benefit of those who don’t have parliamentary pensions to rely on, or offshore bank accounts.

28. It’s a mess down there. Barbados according to Forbes is on its knees. George Payne sues Edmund Hinckson and now Mottley is no longer supported by Owen Arthur but its chaos elsewhere, the crack cocaine addict, Rob Ford in Toronto Ontario, Canada is running for re-election and yet another one – the New Jersey bridge scandal – disrupts and damages Governor Chris Christie’s 2016 presidential bid. The Republicans and Republican convention is HIT.

29. Sorry to say this but……… Why does so much of our discussion centre on race? I see it as the leitmotif of a little people, a silly people, a people who, at root, are incapable of growing up because their minds are fixed, mostly in the past. On ignorant (or “semi-literate”) bajan whites…….ignorant people are just ignorant people…..black, white, brown it makes no matter…just ignorant people, and that includes bloggers – black bloggers, white bloggers, brown bloggers – just ignorant bloggers. On myths – consider Andrew Bynoe.

30. Yes the battle ground is being laid rich elite against the poor who now must become victims from the policies of the past 14years

31. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Robert Ross
    I absolutely agree. This country will not be successful unless it casts off this black / white / slavery / oppression stupidity. All it does is provide a ready-made excuse for failure.

32. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

There is one objective here, but the benefits are multiple. This is to reserve for OSA the option to be PM again should the DLP tumble.

This effectively scuppers any possibility that Mia had to secure a member or two from the DLP to cross the floor. After all No one rushes into a burning building.

The next thing he must do is accuse her of being power hungry even to the point of destabilizing the country and negatively affecting the financial markets.

33. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Without his blessing she cannot ever be PM.

34. This is a racist world and we are part of it. Barbados like the other regions of this world was built along racist lines by the marauding, killing, stinking Europeans That is a fact. Accept it.
    Racism through slavery made the stinking White people of Barbados rich. Likewise, the Europeans countries in Europe got their riches from robbing & stealing the resources of other regions & countries. Africa & some parts of Asia are prime example. America was founded on racism and consequently racism will destroy that country.
    Stupid Black people who believe that racism does not exist are extremely stupid, foolish and ought to be discarded from country and the world at large.
    Stinking Europeans, rat catching Indians and nasty Chinese do not have any special skills that we as Black people do not have.
    Barbados was built on racism – slavery and ultimately racism will destroy this country .After which, Black Barbadians will rebuild it to our benefits.
    Black people of this world do not need the white stinks of Europe, the rat catchers from India & the nasty Chinese. We can survive on our own

35. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Negroman

You are screwed buddy and only possible positive (from your life) is you chose not to have kids to propagate your ignorance further.

Your are a f__ktard.

36. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

The real detriment to black Bajans is not white Bajans but from idiots like you who want to live in the past carrying a stone on their shoulder.

37. @Back in time

We can’t be sure that this is a power grab. There is more.

@St.Georges Dragon

One person makes a comment and you use a broad brush? In the real world race is an issue so deal with it.

38. Nobody has tackled the question why MAM ignored OSA’s request to remove him from the list of speakers at S.James yesterday knowing it would likely provoke a negative response.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NationBLPnewspaper | January 13, 2014 at 1:34 PM |
    “The story on the front page is there because someone influential in the BLP wanted it there.”

You mean these are the same people who gave the Eager Eleven letter to the same newspaper and send loads of documents that fall off the back of lorries to BU like the letter firing the ex COP Dottin and the deals involving the crook Denis the down low(e) menace whose pending departure has rekindled OSA’s thirst for power to be somebody again.
    What about the $75,000 cheque deposited by OSA or the Pegasus Hotel tapes?
    These also were arranged by influential BLP people like MIA?

40. Sad, the BLP right now now not in a position to lead, can’t lead Barbados, can’t lead a mule either, members are all in disarray. Might as well leave Stuart and Sinckler alone.

41. Miller
    We agree to disagree.Robert Mugabe at 89 is still a force to reckon with in Zimbabwe.And you know his Madam is a young thing too!This youthful association seem to have a transmigratory effect on the affected significant other.

42. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Mugabe is hardly someone to use as a justification for something or someone. The man has virtually wrecked Zimbabwe in less than 40 years.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Negroman | January 13, 2014 at 4:11 PM
    “Black people of this world do not need the white stinks of Europe, the rat catchers from India & the nasty Chinese. We can survive on our own”

Now you see why we see you as one deranged delusion racist scumbag.
    Here you are cussing the Chinese yet the “black” led and controlled deceitful lying party you so loyally backed and which can do no wrong is relying on the same “nasty Chinese’ to prevent your black country from total economic meltdown and social collapse.
    Now tell us Nigger man whom are you expecting to finance the following projects, Black Bajans or Africans?

The new Sandals Hotel at Heywoods.
    The Sugar Cane Resuscitation project.
    The Performing Arts Centre at Brandons.

And the list of gifts from the nasty Chinese and Japanese goes on.
    What colour or race are most of the tourists you MoT is wishing and hoping would visit the country this winter season to save its sorry ass from economic collapse and devaluation?
    Why not ask the same nasty Chinese to finance the West Coast Sewage project before the shit literarily hits the tourism fan?
    Listen up, you black fool, don’t allow your skin colour to blind you from drinking from the font of knowledge and understanding.

44. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Look; re. your 5.04 pm post
    Leaving Stuart and Sinckler alone is the worse thing that could be done in this situation. Those two are the main architects of where we are at the present time along with DeLisle Worrell. Leaving them to continue to wreck what little is left of Barbados is unthinkable and a sure prescription for speeding up the attainment of failed statehood.

45. Why don’t you people stop your crap talk about the BLP ? and see what the DLP is doing to this BIM , how many of us will have the house, car ,take care of our children at school, for the next 4 yrs that the DLP is in power , think people

46. Ross said:
    On myths – consider Andrew Bynoe.

Ross……i gather you don’t know the story behind Andrew Bynoe, i suggest you do some research and i mean serious digging……..if you face the problems head-on instead of trying to pretend they never/don’t exist, they tend to fix themselves, people stop pretending and therefore they disappear because realization sets in that it’s time to move on instead of pretending, depending and the failing to figure out that no one is responsible for them and they can do everything for themselves successfully..

47. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

I done tell wunna sense befo Christmas dat dem two jackasses Mia and Affa did at it again, but wunna thought I did mekking laughing sport. Wunna in see neffin yet. Look a knife and fork hay, look. Leh dem yam de one anneda! De res a we got a country to build back up. We in got na more time wid dem two blasted clowns.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:

So your favourite PM Fumble has again put the spanners in the works of the MoF?
    He has again overruled his own Cabinet’s decision to remove 2,000 public sector workers from payroll w.e.f. January 15, 2014.
    What would the IMF have to say about this effrontery of a most stubbornly ignorant man other than trigger the process of Devaluation?

49. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Miller

Please elaborate on FS decision and your source of this news.

50. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Miller;

Where is that news item? I somehow expected the PM to do just that, given his track record, but I didn’t think that he was really so out of touch with the hard realities of the situation that he and his Cabinet had got us into, to actually do it.

Yuh certain he made that decision?

If he did so, the OSA-MIA fight pales into insignificance. Can’t some of the elders of the DLP, including former PM Sandiford, somehow get some sense into his head or develop a strategy for him to step down from the PM position and let someone else lead?