Submitted by Mark

Please permit me some space on your blog to share some information regarding the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). It must be made known what damage Mia Mottley is doing to this party. Mia has cast aside the party along with the parliamentary group and now runs the party with a group of people who really have no connection to the party but are her personal friends, most of who are seen as DLP members.

Mia’s chief adviser is Hartley Henry. While Hartley is a professional one can understand why and how this would cause problems for most in the BLP. Her relationship with the MoF is well known, so it does not surprise many when she eases the pressure on her friend, Chris. Anyone who knows Mia Mottley well would tell you her best asset is the loyalty she has for her friends. The likes of Lucille Moe, Debra Hughes, Carol Roberts and Avinash Persaud etc. The look on the MP’s faces was priceless when Avinash entered the room to advise them on Barbados’ economy a few days ago.

Mia does not have the support of the parliamentary group because of these relationships and the belief that the BLP is to be run like her house with no one outside her circle of friends knowing her plans. Mia believes she can bring down this government by the middle of the year. This is what she tells the group but no one knows how. This approach does not instil confidence but it makes persons question your judgment and motives.

When you add all this to the fact Mia would of tried to make more than a handful of BLP candidates lose in the last election, it is easy to see why she will fail before she starts the job.

245 responses to “The Back Story on Mia Mottley”

1. Well Well

I wonder if you understand my meaning. I know him well. But tell your story.

2. well! wel!l u too dumb to understand my comment,,,,,,,,,,,,,the DLP was the govt the people voted for… however their policies are being torn to shred by those people who were hand in glove with the BLP…. most of them control the economy. BARBADOS TAKE YUH COUNTRY BACK.,. i can sympathize with mottley…i believe she knows and understand the dynamics of what is happening and is helpless to do any thing ,,,even if she won the election in 2018 i guarantee that she would have an equally hard time running govt she is not” far right” enough for those who hold economic power……….OSA he must have believed that swimming with the sharks was sweet bread but after what he is going through he must be asking …What de F.uuck i got myself involved him……OSA my boy your duck is cook.. what you should have known that there are rules and there are RULERS and you not a ruler………YOU are just a mere poor rakey puppet

3. David

Race is an issue because we make it an issue. A post about Mia and Owen is turned into a race question. I find it disgusting. Yes – one person makes a comment. Is it improper for someone to say ‘I agree’. Gee -what show are you running?

I am Hausa. I am Yoruba. I am Tutsi. I am Hutu. I am Jew. I am Arab. I am slave. I am free. I am white. I am black. I am straight. I am gay. I am Hindu. I am Christian. I am protestant. I am Catholic. I am. I am .I am. I am…..and so on and so on. Is that all the human race is or can be? Are the differences all that validate us? When will the nonsense stop? Go on David. Be bigger than the rest of us. Lead us. Do your bit to create a better world, and so a better Bim, if you really have it in you.

4. how is OSA going to step down.,…….HE has found himself in the company of fearless corrupt people……are you kidding step down,,,look how many times he tried and failed,……..only a jackass would want to put themselves through so much ridicule,,,,,,,Even if he wanted to be a leader a meaning after the last election ,somewhat in OSA mind would have shown him reality ..but unfortunately retirement is not of yet OSA call….sAD but TRUE…

5. The PM is getting back at the M of F for the failed 11 but not one of the thiefing minister got the balls to do anything its a pensioners thing so we shall suffered for the next 4 years

6. @Miller

Heard it on the VoB news this evening. There is a good reason no? The process.

On 13 January 2014 22:32, Barbados Underground

7. MAM has apologized and that should be the end of it.

8. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

To ASS CLOWN (i.e. the one that calls himself ac on this blog). I know that as a DEM wunna desperate for some ease off the heat that the DLP feeling so have your 24 hrs of fun. The only truth that unravelling is that wunna DEMS desperate, wunna incompetent and now wunna can be easily fooled TOO. Usually I support the Nation (sort of) but i got to throw some big rocks at them now because for want of the sale of some newspapers the truth was lost. The only “wrong” that Owen has done is to say no to this “eminent group”. The Nation got it sound like it some sort of “earthquakian” rift between Mottley and Owen with Owen’s “gimmick” comment. Really and truly this is old news because it was dealt with since late December.

9. take this from your ass clown ac………..the blp is done ,the splinters are so tiny not even a microscope can help pick up the pieces,,,,how in the hell can a two leaders drive one carriage,,,,,

10. ac | January 13, 2014 at 6:45 AM |

there is a third party/group a sinister and well developed group who are fully in play at undercutting the political and economic policies in this country,,, these swordsman knows exactly what they want ,what is happening in the BLP and the political landscape and economy is all well planned and designed by these fearless dark horses, bajans need to wake up and stop fighting among themselves and take a hard look and see what is happening outside the lens of yarfowlism to understand why events seemly designed with poisonous intent has so infiltrated the intelligence of both B and D…….and what does it mean for the country

THIS IS THE ONLY THAT I HAVE AGREED WITH ac ON ANYTHING.
    I ENDORSE THIS COMMENT EVEN THOUGH PROBABLY FOR DIFFERENT REASONS. THAN ac
    BUT THAT THIRD PARTY/GROUP A SINISTER AND WELL DEVELOPED GROUP”

I THINK DON BLACKMAN CALLED BY A NAME.
    ANYHOW THERE ARE THERE IN EVERYTHING: POLITICS; SPORTS; EDUCATION; THE CIVIL SERVICE

YUH DONT SEE THEM; YUH DONT HEAR THEM BUT THEIR OPINIONS AND MACHINATIONS FROM BEHIND THE SCENES CONTROL AND DICTATE OUTCOMES

WHETHER OR NOT THERE ARE THERE IN THIS PARTICULAR CASE IS FOR ac TO ARGUE, NOT ME

JUST REMEMBER THOUGH–I LOVE OWEN ARTHUR
    I LOVE OWEN ARTUR BECAUSE HE LOVES BARBADOS AND HE IS SENSITIVE AND KIND. I LOVE SENSITIVE PEOPLE.

I LOVE OWEN !

11. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Miller; re. your 5.40 pm post

I heard the CBC 7.00 pm news report on the extension of the start date for the layoffs to 1st February and it did not suggest that the PM is stalling the implementation of the layoffs. Rather, it suggests that the Public Service Ministry, very surprisingly, does not yet have a list of those proposed for layoffs in 2 days time since it was implied that such a list will now be prepared between now and 1st February. The PM indeed confirmed his Government’s commitment to implementing the layoffs.

12. FREUN-DUL STUART HAS POSTPONED THE LAYOFFS
    POSTPONED NOT CANCELLED
    I
    S THIS A SLAP IN THE FACE OF THE MINISTER OF FIASCO

I DONT KNOW
    BUT HE JUST WANTS TO APPEAR TO BE DOING’SOMETHING’ I SUPPOSE
    I DONT KNOW
    BARBADOS GET REAL STRANGE ; REAL STRANGE
    BARE FOOLISHNESS DOES HAPPEN BOUT HERE.
    CANT BLAME SOME PEOPLE FOR CALLING FOR WHITE PEOPLE TO RUN BARBADOS -POLITICALLY

BUT AS -ac IMPLIES –THAT MIGHT BE HAPPENING BEHIND THE SCENES.ALREADY

13. BUT AS -ac IMPLIES –THAT MIGHT BE HAPPENING BEHIND THE SCENES.ALREADY
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………. don’t get it all twisted jus asking………….there are rules and laws and regulations that govern and protect these employees…………..don’t get it twisted………..we don’t want to see another alexander type scenario coming out of this….

14. St George's Dragon Avatar

“One person makes a comment and you use a broad brush? In the real world race is an issue so deal with it.”
    Why is it not acceptable for me to sum up what I think is one of the key things wrong with Barbados, which is its inability to shake off the black / white / chip on the shoulder mentality.
    Racism such as that expressed by Negroman is the kind of attitude which is preventing this country from achieving its full potential, not, with respect, my “broad brush” comments.

15. @St. Georges Dragon

You visit the BBC, Huffington Post and many international blogs race issues are always present.

On 14 January 2014 00:35, Barbados Underground

16. St George's Dragon Avatar

“You visit the BBC, Huffington Post and many international blogs race issues are always present.”
    Yes, they are but the difference between those countries and here is that they are trying to do something about racism and it is generally when that goes wrong that it hits the news. Here,we do nothing except say the same old stale things about White plantation slave owners, and Black people’s inability to run businesses successfully.
    We need to do something about it, rather than just passively accept it is part of life.
    The first part of doing something, is to agree it is unacceptable.

17. @St. Georges Dragon

They appear to be doing something but what has changed?

Barbados unlike many countries in the developed world “doing something about it”is a predominant Black country and we will have to find our way on the issue, eventually.

On 14 January 2014 00:51, Barbados Underground

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet? | January 13, 2014 at 7:45 PM |

Don’t be fooled by the ploy.
    As a man quite familiar with the workings of the process of policy development and implementation you would know that Cabinet ought not to agree to such a serious political and fiscally impacting move unless data in arriving at specific target numbers and timelines were rigorously examined.
    Such a list of jobs and job holders to be axed by March 1st , 2014 would have been compiled from the one of the data bases held in the Ministry of the Civil Service or readily compiled from the most recent Estimates data available and by using IT completed that exercise ready for the December 13th announcement in Parliament.

The number of jobs to be axed would have been arrived at in a timely fashion and made ready for inspection and the stamp of approval by the IMF during their last “Consultation” visit and timely announced by the MoF before the Xmas Parliamentary break and certainly before the IMF officials landed back in Washington.

You should treat the Fumbler’s excuse in the same light he told the little school boy about not knowing when elections would be called or even the assurance he gave in August to the temporary workers when the job cuts were first announced. He told the workers not to worry since he and his Cabinet had consulted with the various Heads of Departments and ministries and there were able to identify sufficient savings to keep the workers on.
    Pick sense from that.

How can a man who believes Leroy Greenverbs is a most astute business man with estimable qualities and worthy to be called an outstanding son of the soil be relied on to execute such an important fiscal adjustment in an effective manner?

Here is an extract from the MoF’s statement given in the HoA on December 13th which confirms the information on established posts and temporary jobs are already in hand:
    “Information supplied by the Ministry of the Civil Service indicates that there are 16,956 Public Sector posts in central government and another 9,000 spread across the various Statutory Corporations. In the general service 15,333 posts are established and I,623 are temporary posts. Further, there are 5,341 temporary employees in the public service composed of 1,082 in temporary posts and 4,177 in established posts. Some 70 public sector posts are filled with contract workers, another 72 listed as “Apprentice” and 80 persons working on a part-time basis.
    In considering the adjustments which we are proposing to reduce government’s overall wages and salaries bill, we had to take a number of factors into consideration.”

“We have agreed that, if possible, there should be an even split in the proposed retrenchments between central government and statutory entities but, if not possible, then a split of 2000 from the general service and 1,000 from the statutory entities would be imposed.
    We further propose that the process of retrenchment be spread over the period January to March 2014, and be front-loaded starting with the first 2,000 job cuts by January 15th 2014, followed by the second tranche no later than March 1st 2014.
    Additionally, Cabinet has agreed to institute a strict programme of attrition across the central public service, filling posts only where it is absolutely unavoidable, over the next five years, ending 2018-2019. This attrition is expected to reduce central government employment levels from approximately 16,970 to 14,612 jobs – a projected loss of 2,358 posts; and savings of $121 million. Over the current 19-month adjustment period public sector employment will be reduced by an additional 501 jobs with a projected savings of 26 million dollars.”

19. but miller why are u in such a hurry to see people in the bread line,,,another day of reprieve means another mouth of a child or family member would be fed,,,,,,,,,,it seems like your sense of compassion has died and been replaced with a lot of political horse s,hit,,,,,,

20. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

Would you believe that Ms. Mottley got the gall to query leaking of the letter. She is the same woman who will get in Parliament quoting from Cabinet Papers. Ask her which is more serious. Such righteous indignation is misplaced. When she was getting info from several Ministries she did not complain. She needs to counter Owen’s charge that the process by she became Leader of the Opp was not above Board. That comes after she charged by her peers of taking the Party’s money and spending it unwisely

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 13, 2014 at 9:33 PM |

It is not the miller who calculated the numbers and set the dates. Why attack the messenger? The miller is simply pointing out the lies and incompetence of this administration and the questionable qualities of integrity of its leadership.
    Did the 400 Drainage workers get a stay of execution? Don’t they too have mouths to feed?
    But now you are on the topic of food Mr. Ac the alter ego, do you think the stew of “No Layoffs, No privatization” is ready for the soup kitchen that would soon be established like in the days of Mottley Park Food or do you think it needs a little more cooking to meet the devaluation deadline which could now be a bit more premature than planned given the bonehead decision announced today. What’s next on Fumble’s agenda? A postponement until the new financial year April 01 to be known as Fumble the Fool day?

22. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Miller;
    Your post at 9.25 was an excellent one.
    My earlier post was essentially intended to be “tongue in cheek”. Note that in referring to the excuse of the necessity for a list I said “Rather, it suggests that the Public Service Ministry, very surprisingly, does not yet have a list of those proposed for layoffs in 2 days time “.

Your full repetition of the relevant portions of the MoF’s statement of early December makes it pellucidly clear that a list actually must exist because of the thoroughness of the statistical backdrop to that statement and therefore the PM is more likely than not to be once again being quite parsimonious with the truth.

My take on the situation, following on your comments above, is that the PM has once again demonstrated his usual intransigence as well as a level of disregard for his cabinet and particularly his MoF by using what appears to be a somewhat spurious excuse for delaying the process after perhaps recognizing the merit of the arguments of the Unions. I think he would have recognized that the list that was slated for use on 15th January would have significant challenges if implemented. Therefore this might explain why another list is to be drawn up.

Look for your predicted serious implementation difficulties to evidence themselves in the next couple of days as the various Ministries and Departments try to rein back instructions that might already have been sent via the payroll system effecting the termination of some workers in certain departments. I suspect that some relatively recently employed workers who were safe on the old list will be no more so in the putative one that will be prepared over the next couple of weeks and that might lead to the kind of fireworks that were not evident in the passive reaction of laid off workers of the NEEP program. It should also be recognized that information of this type, that seriously affects individuals, can easily fall off lorries of friends and families who have access to payroll information in line Ministries and Governments. I would be most surprised if many people don’t already know the content of the current lists.

The effect of this postponement on accessing needed foreign exchange is also something that needs to be watched carefully. If the Government indeed wishes to send a message of seriousness, resolve and ability to manage change effectively in order to access future foreign exchange and buttress our Exchange peg it certainly seems to be doing it in a non standard way.

I suspect that there is still a lot of political action to be seen and disclosed yet.

23. St George

LOL…see St George…David doesn’t want to “lead” us. Sad isn’t it?.

24. ALL THESE THINGS INCLUDING OPPOSITION SCENARIOS UNFOLDING ARE THE SIGNS OF A POOR GOVERNMENT IN POWER. IF THE GOVERNMENT WAS ANY GOOD , ALL THIS CRAP WOULD BE MINIMIZED

I BLAME THE GOVERNMENT

25. i listened to MIA response and her apology( which really was not needed) .sounded like a person asking for forgiveness from OSA a man who has done her wrong

26. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

Just asking what a total idiot you are indeed, you carry your stupidity to extreme levels when you attempt to blame the Govt for the BLp’s internal fighting that you are unable to confine to the corridors of Roebuck Street but have now filled the entire island with the knowledge that Mottley is nothing but a CROOK a Thief and one who embezzled funds of the BLP for her own use and orders who’s phones should be tapped by a corrupt Mottley and a Corrupt Dottin ?
    Don’t make yourself bigger idiot than you already appear to be.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fair and Balanced | January 14, 2014 at 8:09 AM |
    “.. but have now filled the entire island with the knowledge that Mottley is nothing but a CROOK a Thief and one who embezzled funds of the BLP for her own use and orders who’s phones should be tapped by a corrupt Mottley and a Corrupt Dottin ?

And what is the Nemsis for a current CoP doing about these heavy criminal charges you are so much aware of?
    The same thing about the people you personally know to have threatened the life of the sicko liar?

28. The DLPITES continue to accuse BLPites while in government of high levels of corruption while in office but guess what, not one person has been arrested. Please refer also to the Auditor Generals Report.

29. Ross…..i don’t have to tell the guy’s story, but suffice it to say, most people on the island would not give him sole credit for having the business acumen to reach the heights (given the size of the island) he has reached without saying that he would not have reached it without David Seale…..I am not taking anything away from Mr. Bynoe’s hard work, I am just highlighting how the bajan mind works as it pertains to having confidence in their own people’s ability to be successful in any endeavour without the help of another race…..

AC….say what you want, you are still confused as to what is really happening on the island, even though you are on the ground…….give it a few more days, then you will understand.

30. Well Well

AB has NEVER denied the help he had as a kid from a white person. What does that prove? Some white people are not all bad? AB didn’t make his own success? His case proves nothing other than this – for some, race is totally irrelevant, which is as it should be.

31. Ross….again you missed my point, AB could have done it on his own without help from any white person, it’s not about white being good or bad, it’s about black people also having the ability, potential, ambition, know how, brains, intelligence, etc to be successful ON THEIR OWN in a black majority country without help from any other race….OR without the black population erroneously thinking that another black or rather all blacks need the help of other races to excel…i can’t simplify it anymore, i know you got my drift…

32. So Delisle says the economy will grow by less than 1% this year, which contradicts the IMF projections. whistling

33. Then again -1 is less than 1.

34. The drainage unit when implemented with no funds to pay the workers. the payroll came from the NIS fund. that money has now run out.

35. wheeling and dealing in politics. Owen spoke.

36. Distractions distractions….mam has not had a chance to show her leadership skills and yet you all are ready to to crucify her. The reason I didn’t vote for the blp the election before last is because OSA treated her terribly and was falling into the 15 year comfort zone where it was a free for all the ministers to pad their nests. I vote for the blp the last time because their was within the first five years a loss of direction and ineptitude….no one to lead. I don’t care b or d…I want us out of this mess and the best solution is to have a young dynamic leader like mins and an intelligent elder statesman like Owen to get us out of this mess that Chris Sinclair has got us in. B nor d will matter when we get devalued and our unemployment rate skyrockets….I know we are in this for the next 4 years so that this Ossis Moore crew get their pensions but instead of stoking the fire between Mia and Owen we should be hoping that they can work together for the betterment of this place we call home
    Codify and power seems to be the order of the day.

37. Edit…there….Mia……cupidity ..blasted spell check

38. Wow, Millertheanunaki compares Owen Arthur’s wife to Jezebel. Why are some BLP supporters trying to throw Arthur “under the bus” because the man exposed the lack of integrity of Mia Mottley and her refusal to keep her word to him.

Arthur as a former PM was treated as a pawn in Mottley’s political theatrics and games and he said that he wanted no part of it , yet she persisted because she thought that she could invoke Arthur’s name to boost her fortunes among the Arthur faction of the party.
    As usual, she was thinking of herself first and now comes out with a “focus group tested” response.

39. Ross…..I take it our little debate did not turn out as you desired………LOL

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife | January 14, 2014 at 7:26 PM |
    “because the man exposed the lack of integrity of Mia Mottley and her refusal to keep her word to him.”

Wow, Bajanfuhlife has the guts to talk about somebody lacking in integrity!

Why don’t you look inside your own house and see who lacks integrity? Why not start at the top and you would see where all the integrity has disappeared from.

What more evidence can you ask for than to classify a liar as totally devoid of integrity? Now try to argue against that one and prove yourself a liar.

41. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition: No opposition and not a leader .

42. Wait David, you read that story in Barbados Today on the football probe?
    Dog bite muh!!!! That look like nuff bassa bassa yuh!

You see how much money FIFA used to give to the BFA?
    What the hell!!!!
    …and our football has been getting poorer and poorer….shiite we can’t even beat The Grenadines …..

Perhaps we are beginning to see now why these BIG-UPs fight so hard to keep their positions
    They CANT AFFORD to have the Randy Harrises of this world initiating probes into their dealings…..

One wonders how other sports in Barbados are any different in this regard…..
    Perhaps we need some more probes and audits…..

43. Triangle Bangle Avatar

BUSH TEA

Time to Nationalise the Lottery.

44. Have not read it yet BT but on BU as you know we have been highlighting these issues for 5 plus years now.