Submitted by Mark

Please permit me some space on your blog to share some information regarding the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). It must be made known what damage Mia Mottley is doing to this party. Mia has cast aside the party along with the parliamentary group and now runs the party with a group of people who really have no connection to the party but are her personal friends, most of who are seen as DLP members.

Mia’s chief adviser is Hartley Henry. While Hartley is a professional one can understand why and how this would cause problems for most in the BLP. Her relationship with the MoF is well known, so it does not surprise many when she eases the pressure on her friend, Chris. Anyone who knows Mia Mottley well would tell you her best asset is the loyalty she has for her friends. The likes of Lucille Moe, Debra Hughes, Carol Roberts and Avinash Persaud etc. The look on the MP’s faces was priceless when Avinash entered the room to advise them on Barbados’ economy a few days ago.

Mia does not have the support of the parliamentary group because of these relationships and the belief that the BLP is to be run like her house with no one outside her circle of friends knowing her plans. Mia believes she can bring down this government by the middle of the year. This is what she tells the group but no one knows how. This approach does not instil confidence but it makes persons question your judgment and motives.

When you add all this to the fact Mia would of tried to make more than a handful of BLP candidates lose in the last election, it is easy to see why she will fail before she starts the job.

245 responses to “The Back Story on Mia Mottley”

1. @Hal

How does one measure the standing and track record of any economist?

2. @Pachamama 12/01/2014 at 9:16 am “Next time he Hal Austin come here and talk this kind of shite we shall tell him to go and kiss the Queen’s cunt hole.:

But Pacha he might enjoy it

3. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

David not sure that someone who has failed as badly as he has and has taken with him a huge payday by dishonest means and someone who affixed Professor to his name is either to be trusted or taken seriously this maybe why he and Mottley were such close partners, thankfully he has been exposed as a fraud to all and sundry and to the property owners of Four Seasons as well they to are elated that he is history.

4. @Hal Austin 12/01/2014 at 9:57 am “”Pachamama In Britain you would have been sectioned under the mental health act”

Dear Hal: We may not agree with a thing that Pacha says, but there is not need to threaten to incarcerate the person in a mental hospital.

In Barbados we do section [involuntarily commit to a mental hospital] people just because we disagree with their political views, or just because they are sh1te talkers.

Barbados has no gulags yet.

Thankfully.

5. Correction: In Barbados we do NOT.

6. @ SS
    More importantly, he wans to exhibit real madness by doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result in relation to himself and Persaud. THAT IS THE REAL MADNESS

7. @ David

There are no economists. There are only politicians who pretend they are expert in economy. This is the basic lie we must start to see. Recent years should have shown this too.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pachamama | 12/01/2014 at 10:45 am |

We share your concerns about Persuad. He is an intellectual fraud and snake oil salesman selling economic management piffle to stupid Bajans whom he knows just as well as the East Indian itinerant salesmen aka “coolie men” know Bajans’ love for conspicuous consumption of material trifles and trinkets. He has no track record of success except bullshitting par excellence. That is how he makes his living selling bullshit to naïve crooked politicians and ass-licking senior bureaucrats (mandarins) who have been promoted way above their level of competence using the Peter Principle of performance evaluation.

It would do MAM and the BLP a world of good to distance themselves from this quack, or at least keep him at arm’s length.
    We feel confident Dr. Frances Chandler, despite your known stance against her tribe, would even back you on your call to treat Persuad as a professional pariah.

9. @Miller

But Avi and MAM are secondary school buddies no? MAM is not only royal but loyal.

10. @ miller
    This man has failed Barbados time after time, again and again, having been given ample opportunities to mislead us and we will have a jack ass like Hal Austin, a prominent writer here every Friday, talk ignorance that this man is a world renowned economist and we should continue to have him anywhere near the political elites. What a complete ass hole is Hal Austin

From the first time we heard this man we thought he was an impostor. Everything that has happened since has fortifies that initial judgment. If the police were doing their work and if senior politicians and academicians were to cooperate Persaud should rightly be arrested for impersonating a so-called profession.

We wonder what it has cost the Government and the country by the misdirection of Persaud, a fraudster! But this mendicant Austin knows how to assess costs when other Bajans f–up but not when his special people. The so-called civilized and so-called educated!

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | 12/01/2014 at 11:36 am |

Hence my advice to treat him at arm’s length. Just school buddies and give him a pick on committees where bullshit and empty talk is the staple fare.

Since he was unable to sell the Four Seasons projects to people with money we doubt very much he can contribute anything meaningful to rescuing Bim from the economic shit hole it is in.
    My suggestion is to give the project to Rihanna to market. At least she should be able to convince some rich young people to buy into the rehab centre for fading celebrities even if for tax write-off purposes. Why not market the retreat as place where marijuana and casinos would enjoy the same status as Butch Stewart’s Sandals deal with the Government?

12. @Miller

Does it say anything about MAM’s judgement to have Avi a key player in party conversations at this time?

13. Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford says that we are back where we were in 1990s ( 91-94)

JUST ASKING SHOULD BE GIVEN THE TRUTH AWARD

JUST ASKING HAS SAID THE SAME THING REPEATEDLY TO THE CHAGRIN OF DLP SYMPATHIZERS INCLUDING THE BLOG OWNER WHO HAS DEEMED JUST ASKING A YARDFOWL (which JUST ASKING is not) JUST BECAUSE JUST ASKING JUST ASKS THE QUESTION THAT JUST ASKING ASKS

IS THWE EMINENT AND PRE EMINENT SIR LLOYD A YARDFOWL ‘TO’ ?

JUST ASKING

14. It would appear from what has been said on ALL sides that Mottley’s poor judgment extends to how she formed an alliance with Persaud to fleece the Barbados Government .

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | 12/01/2014 at 11:53 am |

We can’t argue against that. The recent bandwagon hoppers of cussing the DLP administration in the opportunistic form of Persaud and Taylor should be handled with a barge pole to avoid contamination.

We will give Wild Coot Russell a pass since he has been in the vanguard of “objectively” identifying the foibles and avoidable mistakes the present DLP administration was engaging in for time now.

Where were these johnnies-come-lately when the shit was building up under the high-flying fan other than kissing the administration ‘s incompetent backside for a few dollars of taxpayers’ money and access to the mutt of an MoT?

16. Pachamama | 12/01/2014 at 10:45 am |
    Hal Austin
    You are a fucking idiot.

pacha are you using the f word here as a verb or an adjective? murdah wuh loss

17. Pray tell me can the BLP party survive two leaders …what a side show…tonight meeting show be called “barnum and Bailey presents.”

18. Simple Simon…………EWWWWWWW!!! ……..gross much:

Piece…i am borrowing your observation:

“He also wrote “… this (Old Year’s Day) meeting saw in support of Arthur ones such as Allan the crook Fields, Fred Gollop from One Media, Jevan Jutagir, Peter Harris and some who provided financial support as recently as ……”

When the likes of Harris, Inniss (DLP) Walcott (BLP) can conspire to seize the healthcare system on the island in a death grip to the detriment of the population, monopolizing healthcare, i would not trust either of them as far as i can spit on them, besides we do not even know how many more of them from both political parties are involved, wading in the filth and mud of this very lucrative scam……shame, shame, shame……

19. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

David, you leave the matter of the alliance of one CROOK Mottley with the other. CROOK Persaud to a debate coming very shortly in the House of Assembly, every week Symmonds and Arthur keep begging the Minister of Finance to bring the debate because like the Govt they to are ready to finger Mottley for her involvement in that project, former her warning as Dep PM those days past, that local contractor needed to tow the line with the 600 Chinese Workers on site for if they did not tow the line that they would find themselves subjected to a VAT and TAX AUDIT but her day is coming soon in Parliament and she will be exposed for the fraud that she is.

20. Can someone tell me on what basis Allan Fields became a Sir? In today’s interview in the Nation he is quoted as saying that poor people does not create employment. A true statement, but one that shows that our education system has failed the majority of the people who are black.

These poor people made him rich and eventually he got a knighted. That to me is the attitude of these persons whose ancestors came to Barbados as indentured servants.
    They happened to get ahead because of their colour. The free education prepared the labour for them to exploit and that they did.
    To me he did nothing to be knighted.

They must be a reason outside of rescuing Barbados why they want Owen Back.
    Every time the DLP gets into power and look after the poor people the private sector slow any economic activity.

The DLP governments have a good record of socially uplifting programs for the masses and have nothing to be ashamed of.

21. Hal Austin is a mental pimp that was recently released from one of the leading mental institutions in the UK.

It should not be a surprise to anyone on this BU site that there is a particular reason why in an earlier post he referred to the UK Mental Health Act.

For it was under that said Act that he was locked away from the public for a good few years.

22. @Fair and Balanced

Hope we don’t have to wait for a Four Seasons debate like we have been waiting for a CLICO and BARRACK debate, both promised by the DLP BEFORE the last general election.

@Clone

He became a Sir because of the private sector influence he gained from being head of the largest conglomerate BS&T at the time.

23. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

Allan Fields is no different from anyone of them spending time in Dodds for theft or breaking and entering your home, the only difference is that he is outside and they are inside, he is crooked bastard.

24. Just Amazing !! Avatar

@ DAVID
    is that the very reason which allowed him to arrange the sale of one of BS&T’s subsidiaries to HIS OWN SON ? A knight indeed !!!!

25. @Just Amazing

How Fields operated is no different to how business is done in Barbados, on both sides of the political fence.

26. Just Amazing !! Avatar

You did not answer my query ? what did it have to do with the political fence?

27. @Just Amazing

Because of his influence as a result of campaign financing and ability to influence decisions by throwing money around. The same is continuing under this government, Maloney, Bjerkhamn, Parris and that lot. Same old same old.

28. Just Amazing !! Avatar

None of the names you mentioned is a KNIGHT !!!

29. @Just Amazing

We have Knights with official and unofficial titles conferred, end result, the same.

30. @ Fair and Balanced
    One must say on his behalf however, that at least the “SIR” did not deliberately deceive Bajans by promising to faithfully look after our national interests diligently and honestly ” …so help him God” ….and then turning around and jacking out our eyes….
    …he was a known crook well before his SIR days……

Indeed there are a set of “well-to-do elites” whose financial success have been based PRECISELY on their openness to dishonesty….and mostly this is well known….and they are not even ashamed… Ask Plantation DEEDS….
    …..but as Simple Simon says, few will enjoy their ill-gotten wealth or reputations….. One wonders how those names so openly detailed by Plantation Deeds are able to face the public daily…KNOWING what must be said of them behind their backs…..

On which note, one must also mention the recently dead Ariel Sharon of Israel, a monster of biblical proportions, who laid in a coma for 7 years as karma for his dastardly deeds against innocents….

Karma is indeed a bitch….

31. Welcome to the JUST family
    where
    Like the Chinese , the last name comes first
    so JUST is the family name.

32. Just Amazing !! Avatar

And we have honourable and dishonourable knights , agree ?

33. @Bush Tea

Good point, with social media and the Internet the legacy of many of these so called prominent and eminent persons will be smeared for all to see sooner rather than later.

34. @Just Amazing

Let us admit it, the recipients of Knighthoods is a product of a deficient Westminster system. One which the politicians have to reward the deep pockets to ensure their tenure.

35. THE MINIBUS DRIVER THAT CAUSED THAT ACCIDENT AT EAGLE HALL SHOULD HAVE BEEN OFF THE ROAD AND WITHOUT LICENCE TO DRIVE. EVERSINCE.

THE MAN HAS 71 PREVIOUS CONVICTIONS FOR TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS. WHEN HE REACHED 10, HE SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ALLOWED TO GET 15. LICENCE SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN AWAY FOR 5 YEARS AND IF HE START BACK DOING FOLLY, TAKE AWAY THE LICENCE AGAIN AFTER THE FIRST OFFENCE. THERE NEEDS TO BE ZERO TOLERANCE

I BLAME THE GOVERNMENT FOR ALL THIS
    THE MINIBUS DRIVER IS INDISCIPLINE
    THE GOVERNMENT IS INDISCIPLINE AND ENCOURAGES INDISCIPLINE.THE MINIBUS DRIVER FOLLOWS EXAMPLE IN A SIMPLE MINDED KIND OF WAY

THE DLP SHOULD HAVE ITS LICENCE TAKEN AWAY FROM RUNNING GOVERNMENT FOR 30 YEARS.

THAT SHOULD HAVE HAPPEN AFTER 1994

36. Bush Tea:

“On which note, one must also mention the recently dead Ariel Sharon of Israel, a monster of biblical proportions, who laid in a coma for 7 years as karma for his dastardly deeds against innocents….

Karma is indeed a bitch….”

That particular monster murdered millions to steal what they did not put there and killed whom they did not give life to…..you would think the monsters he left behind would learn something, but oh no, they are blighted enough to allow history to repeat itself over and over and over and……………..i for one was extremely happy to see Sharon lay like a vegetable and hoped he was well aware of his crimes and had 7-8 years to reflect on hid evil actions of many decades…..yet the so called world leaders will learn absolutely NOTHING from Sharon’s experience and happily and giddily continue his legacy of evil.

37. Actually Well Well…..they can’t do otherwise. That is, they have not the ability to do so…..
    As Zoe would put it, they are constrained by the directives of their father…..evil incarnate himself.

It is complicated, but it all makes perfect sense. 🙂

38. I mentioned on the blog before of what I saw with those minibuses on mornings going to Speightstown from Oistins. The empty Transport bus behind the mini buses down by the Globe cinema but a conductors on the minibuses herding on people on these two minibuses until persons have the conductors hanging out through the door.

Someone had to pay with their life. A sad day. May he rest in peace.

39. Bush Tea……i now put it down to genetic memory, something i am trying to get as much information on as possible, because it is very real and affects members of the descendants of slaves in a manner that keeps subservience alive and well……..even the so called leaders seem not to be able to shake off these memories.

40. Well Well | 12/01/2014 at 2:45 pm |

Bush Tea……i now put it down to genetic memory, something i am trying to get as much information on as possible, because it is very real and affects members of the descendants of slaves in a manner that keeps subservience alive and well……..even the so called leaders seem not to be able to shake off these memories.
    even the so called leaders seem not to be able to shake off these memories.

I agree
    I remember as a child growing up having this sense of slavery that I could not understand . Even before going to school , I had a sense of slavery. I sense that would have been a rebel slave or come from a rebel slave line at least on one side of my ancestors, since I am mixed up several times over not only Black and White but Amerindian /East Indian/Chinese/Lebanese/Japanese/Giyanese/Italian/English

41. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

Wunna Dem yardfowls so desperate which is not a surprise since desperate does begins with a “D”. Why are you all dragging Hal Austin’s name through the mud!!!! Tell wunna what, if wunna DEM yardfowls and potstarvers ain’t got nutting to do, get together some funds and buy wunna good pal Chris a copy of “Economics for Dummies” and “An Idiots Guide to Economics” since the gov’t ain’t got nuh money. While wunna at it, buy Freundel a copy of “An Idiots Guide to being a Prime Minister”. Also PLEASSSSSSEEEE tell Freundel stop watching episodes of “Yes, Minister” and “Yes, Prime Minister” because even though it is a good British comedy, it is not advisable to take pointers in running a country from it. The latest nonsense the DEMs unleashing is that the drainage unit workers are not part of the 3000 going home. So using basic primary school “mass” (math for the educated) ~ 400 workers from the Drainage unit + 3000 that going home + 500 that are going to be “retired out” = 3900 workers. When will it end from this gov’t!!!! Please GOD when will it end!!!!!

42. When will we stop this nonsense about the “after effects of slavery”….none of us as “Just asking” pointed out are 100% slave descendants….the only purpose this will serve is to control the sheeple,through misinformation……and one wonders to what end?

43. @ Pachamama

Everything you say, including your vulgarities, show that you have lost it. It is the anger of frustration, of a man (we?) who has lost touch with reality.
    But then again you think that the Austrian School was revolutionary.

44. @ Fractured

There is an obvious reason why some people use nom de plumes. I must be mad for engaging guys like you. Cheap entertainment and character assassination must be in your DNA.

45. Hal AUSTIN
    Here the idiot of the decade goes name dropping again. We don’t care which school it comes from if that philosophy serves our interests we will cite it. We are long pass such a doctrinaire approach and have no particular allegiance to any of the dominate currents of economic and social policy. There are dozens of schools of economic and social thought. Sometimes we are Anarchist, sometimes Marxist, sometime Islamic, at other times, any of the other dozens of school. Unlike you we are not teetered to any one school. In other words, we care not what colour the cat is, once it catches mice. And the cat which we sent you to kiss, is no longer catching any mice.

46. I agree with Hal Austin

Pacha has lost it

AND

Fractured has cheap entertainment and character assassination in the DNA

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Because of his influence as a result of campaign financing and ability to influence decisions by throwing money around. The same is continuing under this government, Maloney, Bjerkhamn, Parris and that lot. Same old same old.”

We are most surprised (and indeed disappointed) that Parris has not yet demanded his official pound and flesh and insisted on being called Sir Le Roi to put the grand Duke of York to shame.
    After all, in the saintly eyes of the Fumbler the real King is not the one who rode on the backs of the workers to ascend the throne but the country boy who brilliant business acumen facilitated the defrauding of thousands of policyholders of millions of dollars some of which ended up in the DLP coffers to help them buy not one but two elections.

Well done King Parris you deserve not only a knighthood but also your soon coming canonization to join your eternal pal waiting for you in St. John

48. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Miller

Canonization? We have a cannon that big to be able put Parris in to shoot him out to sea from the break wall at the Careenage?

I will always remember the rushed press conference in 2010 when he mauled the Queens English to such an extent that DT lamented to some that he (Parris) sounded like a retard.

49. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

It is amazing that while Rome burns we are engaged in such puerile discussions. One of the reasons that we are here as a country is because of the nonsense politicians and their surrogates continue to do and say. The other reason is that neither the current BLP or DLP politicians have any real vision as to where they want to take this country. They got into politics for mere selfish reasons and when crises come along, they flounder as is presently happening. Errol Barrow and Tom Adams agree with them or not had a vision as to where they wanted to take this country. And we made impressive strides while they were in charge. I think when Mr. Arthur first got into politics he also had a vision for this country but along the way he was engulfed in his own self importance. This DLP administration came in and became the Santa Claus, they gave and gave and gave. Pretending that the financial crisis didn’t affect us. Meanwhile, the BLP opposition continue their “I told you so” stance right thru the elections and beyond. So here we are being called Cyprus West by Forbes and being downgraded by the rating agencies every chance they get while we have futile PR meetings with unions. I believe in our collective brilliance as a nation but we need to have decisive leadership. We don’t need bravado or scholarly speeches, we need leadership. Finally, MLK once said “Ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience but where he stands in times of challenge and controversy”. We are in times of challenge and controversy so who are we?

50. Just Asking…….genetic memory is very real, unfortunately most of us are unable to put it all into perspective because as you so consciously realize, we are all descended from the various groups because of interlocking bloodlines, therefore those lines can sometimes become blurred.