Submitted by the Owner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hooliganism, Bullying, Intimidation, Moral Decay

All of the above, in my opinion aptly describe an experience I had recently. I remember in my youth and even to this day hearing persons muse about the fact that Barbadians are a docile people. One of the favourite things we like to say in times of despair is “if Bajans were like Jamaicans, the things that happen here, would not happen”. I assume that by quoting this statement, we are implying that we are a more tolerant society. Ask persons who have been victims of intolerance, if this is so and I guarantee they would not agree.

The moral decay that is endemic in our society, is not a new phenomenon. There have been incidents of violence, hooliganism, bullying, and intimidation for decades. What we are brilliant at, is sweeping it under the carpet or applying a band-aid on an open sore and hoping it would heal.

One of my favourite quotes is “All it takes for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing”. I live by this principle and one other, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. These are lessons learnt as a young impressionable child and they have stuck with me for 35years.

I own and operate a Boutique in Speightstown, St. Peter. On the morning of December 16th, 2013, while assisting a client, a ‘Lady’ entered the store and asked, “Is this Josephine’s Boutique?” I replied in the affirmative and she informed me that she had a delivery for me. I finalized the transaction with my client, all the while oblivious the other activity going on in the store.

I finally had a chance to speak to the ’Lady’, who was waiting on me in the store, this time accompanied by another ‘gentleman’, so I approached them to find out about said delivery. I was greeted by a HUGE box of garbage, with Josephine’s Boutique written on the outside. I immediately recognized the box, since I had put it in the garbage disposal area at the mall where I work the previous week and it had been collected on Thursday of same week. After my initial shock, I asked both of them, why did they bring a box of garbage and put it in my store. The ‘Lady’ responded in a sneering tone, “it was on my property so I brought it back”. They wanted no explanation or had any more time to converse with me. Their mission was completed and they huffed and puffed, got in their vehicles and drove off.

Again, their behaviour can only be described in the terms I listed at the beginning of this letter. Common sense, rational thought, decency, professionalism, respect, morals, principles all went south for the winter in this situation. Garbage is collected from one location, it obviously falls of the truck at another location and instead of reacting rationally, this ‘Lady’ and two ‘thugs’, drive to my store in Speightstown and dump the HUGE box of filthy garbage, in my store because the box says ‘Josephine’s Boutique’ on the outside. Bear in mind, everyone else in the mall has thrown garbage in the box since it was the biggest one in the disposal area.

This is an open sore, and no amount of band-aids will heal it. Who does such things, unless they feel that they can get away with it because we Bajans are ‘docile’ and we like to sweep things under the carpet? No more!!!! It takes a tiny pebble to start a big ripple in the ocean. I am that pebble.

531 responses to “‘Lady’ Mary-Anne Williams is it really you?”

1. @ R. Ross

A deviant old hack who cannot maintain a robust debate without resorting to vulgarisms.

2. H Austin the dreamer

As fun as this is, I have to go out. But I will very happily re-engage you in three hours or so. We might consider the following: ‘The social and economic implications of onanism as productive of warts and finger shedding’. What do you say?

3. wunna neva see them things hanging off Lady Loins ears??? dem ent nuh earrings y’know… dem long dangly tings dat she sports really belong to Sir Cow.

4. @ R. Ross

In case we do not cross again before 2014, a Happy New Year to you and yours and may all your dreams come true.

5. H Austin the dreamer

Oh what a delicate flower you are……..I am sooooooooooooooo sorry. Bye

6. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

By the way, the academic lawyer who claims that anti-social behaviour is not necessarily a crime should re-read his legal theory books.

Mr Austin,
    I have re-read my books on legal theory as you asked and am still of the view that anti-social behavior is not necessarily a crime. You say different. Tell me about it.

7. @ Cumberbatch

I do not intend spending my entire day debating the obvious. As I have already stated, all anti-social behaviour is deviancy, but all anti-social behaviours are not crimes.
    A crime is a social construct, based on the public morality of the society. I pointed out that in the UK dumping rubbish, fly-posting, is a crime, but Barbados is a different jurisdiction and that may not necessarily be so.
    I do not know what legal theory books you have re-read, since you have not named any, but every dominant school of criminology defines crime and anti-social behaviour as social constructs.
    This embraces the state and its power of law making, which iws why some Marxists believe that crime is inevitable in a capitalist society.
    Only a few days ago in Britain Alan Turing, the wartime scientist and convicted homosexual, was given a Royal Pardon. So, historically, he is no longer an offender.
    That is the power of the state in defining deviant behaviour. This is the theoretical understanding throughout the developed world.
    These are the theories that inform criminal justice policy in the US, UK, Australia and major European nations.
    |If there are other theories plse let me know where I can find them.

8. ” I am keen to learn from a leading lawyer and you are top of the tree”

LOL Ha Ha oh shiite … Ha muh belly!!!!
    Ross?
    Leading lawyer?
    Top of the tree?

Man Hal – if you want to call the man a useless ambulance chasing, monkey lawyer just say so nuh…. Wuh top of Wuh tree Wuh?!?

You think Amused would have time to engage in this kinda petty tit for tat? …NAH! He probably preparing some brief, reviewing an affidavit, or finalizing some complex legal document….

Ross ain’t got one shiite to do since no one was seriously hurt when that bus overturned Saturday…

Bushie lie Rossie? 🙂

…having said one thing though, …Bushie gotta say the other….
    …you ain’t got an article to write or something Hal?..?
    Ha. Ha LOL
    How about:
    THE ROLE AND IMPACT OF BARBADIAN HOUSE NIGGERS AND OTHER “SLAVES WITH KEYS” AFTER EMANCIPATION AND THEIR ONGOING ROLE IN THE PERPETUATION OF SLAVERY OF THE MIND – WELL INTO THE TWENTY FIRST CENTURY: A STUDY OF THE MISGUIDED AND EXPENSIVE EDUCATION SYSTEM IN A POST SLAVERY SOCIETY THAT IS BARBADOS AS EXEMPLIFIED BY AN ALLEGED LEGAL HUMBUG GOING BY THE MONIKER ROBERT ROSS ON BU.

…of course you may wish to add to the title as is your wont…. 🙂
    LOL Ha Ha

Tek dat Ross!!
    Hall will now show you what God you serving…
    …think he is Amused that you could bribe with sweet talk cause wunna discover ‘areas of common interest’ nuh…?

9. @ Bush tea

Thanks for the suggestion. It is too long and complicated for an article, but I will tweak it and submit it for a PhD thesis at the UWI Cave Hill campus on the power of the state and the creation of crime.

10. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Mr Austin,
    So what are you saying that I did not? And many thanks for informing me that it is the state which defines criminal behavior. Please note that there is also the concept of the common law crime.

I bid you good day and all the best for 20141

11. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

12. @ Cumberbatch

As you no doubt know, common law is based on case law. If there is no crime on the statute books, as you are implying, on which the alleged offender can be charged, then the DPP’s office can look at similar jurisdictions to our own: England and Wales, Scotland, New Zealand, Australia, Canada.
    I suggest the dumping of rubbish in the boutique is a prima facie offence, if only a breach of the peace.
    I think there should be a police interview, and if the facts stand up, a formal prosecution. The police should intervene.
    Thanks for your generous compliments and a Happy and Wonderful New Year to you too.

13. @Hal & Jeff

so since anti-social behaviour (of which crime is a subset), is a social construct and subject to the power of the state, all such behaviour could theoretically be criminalized but , all are not necessarily so done, particularly depending on the state and its morality..

Jeff is not wrong then, and actually either are you. Thanks to both you for a nice debate. I learned something.

If I missed anything or erred feel free to fill me in or correct me.

Just Observing

14. Maybe hate was to strong a word distain may have been better, I worked at McDonalds ,lived in a council flat and travel to Barbados ,so I am the type of person you have in your crosshairs .I can understand when shop owners bump cruise passengers ahead because they are under time constraints that is just good business but to you it is elitism a lot of those cruisers are elderly. I always let an elderly person go ahead of me in line ,it used to be like that in Barbados…. not anymore. Council flat people are real warts and all not with their fat ass loaded up with degrees, real people that go and fight for a cause, fight for justice fight for the underdog and fight for you to sit behind a desk and look down your nose at them. Barbados has always been for the rich even today it is out of reach for most council flat people, so I am sure your exposure was to people with money maybe that feeling of pocket book inadequacy has made you lash out. Forget all the side bars to this story ,race, money nationality the stupidity etc, your a reporter there are more holes in this story than swiss cheese. Of course they talked, of course if she was choking she would tell them to shut the engine off, she should name the garbage company who moved it didn’t, name the mall owners whos responsibility it was to have it moved didnt wouldn’t say what kind of garbage, was just some paper When there is meaningful fights to fight them. This is two women having a row, you see that at any council flat area on a sat. night

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Robert Ross | 30/12/2013 at 7:14 am.
    “Please will you ask H Austin to write a post on ‘onanism as deviant behaviour’.”

R R, what do you mean by “onanism”? Are you referring to that case of premature ejaculation or to possibly that risky form of family planning as recorded in the Hebrew book of myths or to Hal Austin’s notion of “wanking” or “jacking off”?

The story of Onan is about a murderous Hebrew god taking advantage of a poor soul who could have been gay and decided to go against his father’s orders for levirate marriage and practiced “coitus interruptus” in order not to perpetuate his “deviant” genes via his dead brother’s widow.

How can it, under either definition, be seen as anti-social or deviant behaviour when every ‘man jack (if not woman Jackie) has suffered both the pleasure and indignity early in his ‘career’. A standard cannot also be a deviation from the norm. What a paradox that would be indeed!
    Let any man or woman on this blog deny meeting that standard on a consistent basis. Even Zoe and GP would agree to having met the standard of “released” behaviour (LOL!!).

16. @H Austin
    The Red Necks have always been worse than the aristocrats when it comes to naked violence and anti-social behaviour
    /\/\/\/\/\/\
    Sorry to intrude on this illuminating discussion but the above caused me to raise a quizzical eyebrow and as a layman or someone who is not proficient in Journalism, Law, Legal Theory, Economics, Sociology or Finance (I think I have the bases covered) I believe that generalisations are in a word appalling.

At any moment in time other people are stereotyping people of our complexion whether we were born in the “Islands”, First World, Third World, Inner City or Suburbs.

In other words we just have to show up.

17. Does anyone remember when a parent sent a letter to BU which claimed that MP Hamilton Lashley at the time had not paid the a cricket team her son was a member prize money?

How did BU respond?

18. FIVE WORDS COME TO MIND, NAKED DEPARTURE / BARBADOS THE TERRIBLE!

19. Well gentlemen, there we are then.

MILLER
    Yes and yes. The condition and practice are dirty, depraved, adolescent, evil, diseased, unnatural anti-social, psychotic and result only in dirty finger-nails and visions of the end time – at least from the Olympian heights of nowhere very much. H Austin has already written 14 chapters on the subject in a book to be entitled ‘Whither Release?’.
    LAWSON
    That’s my boy.
    BT
    The last was for you.
    JEFFERSON
    LOL. Do you feel over-awed too?
    H AUSTIN – Still Dreaming
    Yes of course.

20. Then we talk about vision amd leading by example. yet we expect those standards to be brought to the table which we ourselves are lacking. a rareity found among us ……………………………and to u Mary anne. a word of advice good moral standards trump class and prestige………..

21. @ David (BU)
    Hi Dave,
    I know I am know the sharpest tack in the bag when it comes to intelligence, but could you (or anyone else) possibly explain to me, how is it, that a discussion on the merits or demerits of one person returning another person’s garbage that the discussion would suddenly gravitate to one on the practice of “Onanism”? I guess that is a result of this country being 98% literate, huh?

BTW, best wishes for 2014 to you and everyone else.

22. @ David (BU)

Could you correct my blooper above from “I know I am know” to “I know I am NOT”.? Thanks.

23. We have reviewed the above. But are not surprised that the neo-racist will defend these atrocities. But for supposedly intelligent people like Jeff Cumberbatch to think that there could be any law anywhere that should get a chance to deal with COW Williams wife and her bodyguards before the demands of natural justice that they should be blown away, with extreme prejudiced, can only speak to the impotence of Black people in Barbados. This fucking country should be brought to a stand still, immediately! And these White elites should be rushing to find their yachts and private jets, with or without their heads.

24. Not true. He would care as it reflects on his family….sons and grand sons. He has always been a sensitive and caring man. You may know him from a business perspective, but not the man personally.

25. @ David (BU)
    Well, there we go, Dave. We have now moved on to another topic! …………. Inciting anarchy! What next? Just think people, we have moved from a discussion on garbage to one on Onanism and we are now on to anarchy! This should be real fun for the coming year! Only thing is, I wonder just how many of us are going to be finding it all that funny when its over.

26. @ POTRYR

Let me tell you something.. AC thinks that people come to this blog to read her posts. She bragged about all the responses her comments generate, then called me a bald faced liar and a dumb jerk. It is my opinion the person has 3 personalities (like Eve). So one does not remember what the other two do. If I were not busy getting things sorted for my travels I would search for the post, just to shove it in her face.

27. That is the law here in Ottawa too. Since the city has started collecting garbage only every two weeks, some residents have started dumping on the verges and others in the dumpsters at industrial and commercial establishments. Lots of CCTVs are now covering dumpsters.

28. @Bush Tea

Yuh instigata! ha, ha, ha! You tek ova from Adrian Hinds. I still laugh at how he called out Ossie Moore’s nephew.

29. @hoodie

You are advised to pick sense from nonsense.

30. @ Pat
    In defence of Jeff, he was at pains to say that there is “no law against crassness”. (Or something to that effect)
    Jeff KNOWS that there are laws against illegal dumping and that from all indications, those laws were broken by multiple parties – INCLUDING lady COW.
    This is a basic legal tactic (which Ross has also been crudely trying to employ with his “Jerk off talk”) to encourage your opponents to come to the conclusion that they have no case…
    Ross seem to be suggesting that his wanking somehow entitles him to these weird opinions that create mountains of small molehills…..and wants Hal to do some research to support this…

But Jeff smart – he NEVER said anything about dumping or trespass or assault or intimidation or threatening actions…… Just that “bad manners are not against the law”.
    Don’t allow that tactic to lead us to conclude that one of our legal luminaries is of the opinion that lady COW broke no law….

31. I agree with Pacha Barbadians are impotent, but that is the very reason they wont give up those silly white wigs at the court house. Cause if they are impotent they want to look impotent. News flash “standstill ” your country is going backwards .Look at your pension plan you have to keep getting older to get it. Is it all whites, just elite whites or can you include some mocha people we don’t like the look of. Pacha don’t you be choppin Ri Ri .

32. Pat
    Bushie could NEVER take over from Adrian….. He was a born vagabond from small…
    Bushie is one of his students 🙂

33. May the Great Architect deliver us from Stuart and the Rev FR(aud).The latter should be frog marched to Seawell and slammed into a seat near the toilets and hog tied on to backest seat of British Imperial or Branson
    de Upstart airlines and deeported,that is kicked out of Buhbaydus.Two times a fraud .

34. EVERY BAJAN SHOULD FIND WHERE COW WILLIAMS AND THESE PEOPLE LIVE OR GOT THEIR BUSINESSES AND DUMP GARBAGE ON THEM.

In spite of this behaviour, we still have a Barbados government that is fixing to give these same people a monopoly on the biggest business in the world – garbage. What irony! Yuh could not make this up. It speaks to the banality of everything.

35. Pachamama | 30/12/2013 at 2:36 pm | Reply

Pachamama | 30/12/2013 at 2:36 pm | Reply
    ……..impotence of Black people in Barbados. This fucking country should be brought to a stand still, immediately! And these White elites should be rushing to find their yachts and private jets, with or without their heads.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    I am willing to join you, if you are going to deal firstly and just as harshly with our very own people who , have succeeded in bringing “this f****** country”,not just to a standstill, but have placed it in the reverse mode.

36. Perhaps the same could be said about your Irish ancestors who were brought to the West Indies as slaves/indentured servants, thus avoiding the dreaded Great Potato Famine or 1845-1857, as well as the 38 long years of carnage , killings and destruction of Northern Ireland’s Troubles of 1969 to 2007, among others.

37. @ CB
    We have already called for the beheading of the politicians, both your Bees and the Dees and the party hacks too. For all intents and purposes these Black politicians are honorary Whites. These are the people who enabled a Cow Williams, so that his wife and her international White moneyed class can now do this to us.

38. @ David

Why don’t we have a photo of this bitch?

39. The only honarary white that I know of is a red fella named Gordon Matthews,anudder Rev Fr(aud).Effyamama acid and crule noassboi!

40. There are some pics of the Williams’ House at:

http://www.maw.bb/pdf/IL39MagBromefield.pdf

Cozy little home don’t you think?

And a video of the home; and the lovely Mary Ann and COW (and pet pig Hogey) is at:

41. Well, okay.

Here wuh happen – on Saturday December 28, 2013 in $3. store in Warrens – a white woman with a cheque book belonging to ‘Mosaic Gift Shop Tamarind Hotel’ told the cashier that she pays by cheque in Bridgetown, some other $3. stores and never had problems. Her attitude – LOUD (had to be heard), hands flaring, standing like concrete bellowing for a Supervisor who was standing six steps behind her.

The Cashier obviously, politely shared the corporate policy of not accepting cheques of whatever type for we did not hear one word from the Cashier not even when she beckoned for the Supervisor.

I said to another customer ‘I thought that foolishness was done with. People still behave like that and in a $3. store!’

The little boy with her was running through the store, driving his toy car over the glass ware and everything else on the shelves, and, at one point he actually lied face down at the front of the store between a box of flowers (I think) and the glass pane window, with the little toy car in his hand, face down on the to the floor looking up periodically.

This woman a representative of Mosaic Gift Shop and Tamarind Hotel was indifferent to that cashier and grossly disrespectful.

Honestly, business houses you ought to tell that type of person you do need their business. Send them out with their cheque let them return with good manners.

Regardless of her colour, creed, ethnicity she is a brawling woman, uncouth, indisciplined (like the child with her).

I forgot to video tape her behaviour.

The cashier should be given a gold award for remaining compose throughout the disruption.

42. Pacha
    As much as I respect you, I do think you might read more carefully. Jeff did NOT say there was no law anywhere. He said that he was not clear there was. And I can understand why he might have said that. For one thing, what was being returned was Lisa’s own property. But that’s not what this post is about is it? If it is, then let Lisa (as has been said) consult a lawyer. But, surely, it is actually about the alleged arbitrary use of power by the privileged class in respect of what David calls a “black entrepreneur”, and I would call a shopkeeper, in circumstances where the antagonists are not, in fact, on an equal footing (a) because the other side hasn’t been heard; (b) there is only anecdotal evidence; and (c) we know nothing of the character or antecedents of the complainant nor her relationship with Lady whatsit and her husband. There are also unanswered questions as ac and Lawson have made clear. Jeff unreservedly condemned the act, as did I. I’m not clear what else – given the range of possible views here – could reasonably be expected from “supposedly intelligent” people. Certainly not words like “bitch”.
    But then I don’t know the lady. Perhaps you do.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | 30/12/2013 at 1:58 pm |
    “… and to u Mary anne. a word of advice good moral standards trump class and prestige…”

Is that really you, ac, or is it your less stupid alter ego using your “cuntputer” (to borrow PODRYR’s word for ac’s viral mouthpiece)?

That is the position you should have taken from the outset instead of trying to defend the indefensible as in the case of Fumble and his bungling administration.

Why were you backing a classless stupidly misguided “arroignorant” Cow for a johnny-come-lately instead of an intelligent enterprising hardworking successful innocent woman minding her shop and business?

When you learn to exercise your own call for good moral standards by not saying the most despicable things about OSA without justifiable evidence then we will follow suit in showing respect to those you hold in high esteem provided they work to earn it and learn to keep it.
    First step is to tell them to stop telling lies. Some of us, even if not you, do have a modicum of commonsense and some intelligence, you know. We can easily discern bullshit or verbal garbage and can readily trace its source when it is being dumped in the public domain.

44. Robert its funny how the woman became a struggling entrepreneur although an interview in the nation with her she is doing very well she said, I am sure as time went on she would have been crippled or some other vehicle to create sympathy. Look at the picture it is a bleeding carboard box for gods sakes not garbage strewn all over the store. When you cry wolf at every noise when the animal is really there no-one believes it because they treat it as (pardon the joke) white noise. Please fight for things that are meaningful at let little situations like this divert you The govt just loves this donkeys arguing over a box when in two days your retirement age goes up to 66 1/2 with out a mention.

45. Gabriel from Heaven

You are here too and been listening to “Too marvelous for words” again?

Lawson

Haven’t seen it. So much then for the “I hate the Nation” nonsense.

46. @ Robert Ross

We are well aware that, for you, we could cuss Black people in the worst ways and you never have a defense for them. But when once we turn our guns, and you may interpret this figuratively if that suits your purposes, on this White bitch, MARY-ANNE WILLIAMS, we could anticipate an intervention by you in your own pseudo-intellectual, though thinly veil, protection of the White power structure, in Barbados.

The attempts by some to drag this issue into the mire of a deceitful bureaucratic system intended to dilute the gravamen of a White woman abusing the rights of a Black woman is expected. This is the nature of the post slavery period that White people have left us with. However, these tired moves will not stop us from connecting these actions to an empirical history, determining what the existential realities are nor projecting that the intentions of the White peoples of the world are not much different than their past actions. We have no abiding interest in splitting hairs or going to a White systems of legalisms to find truth. For us this report should be properly located where it properly belongs.

Why is it that in a world where Black peoples in majority White countries are still being treated as less than equal. But in majority Black countries people like you have all kinds of narratives to justify some type of White privilege. This is a generalized argument we make across the board. Whether we are talking about White expatriates, or Indians or others. You all seem to feel that Black majority populations should bow to Whiteness and genuflect to their desires and wants. Yes, we can also expect the well worn argument that all White people are not the same, in an attempt to deflect the centrality of international racism.

We want you to tell this bitch, Mary-Anne Williams, that if she had come on our property in similar circumstances that she would have been shot like a dog. That action would have been taken without other considerations. We would not care about tourism arrivals and all the other considerations that the stinking politicians are measuring today. This writer is not the average scared to death Negro who wunna expect to eternally to be frighten for White people.

Lastly, we have no respect for the ignorance about ‘Sir’ or ‘Lady’.This bullshit that Bajans can’t seem to find a way to jettison.

47. Pacha

Sorry -I think you have a serious problem.

48. Yes, we suffer from the effects of slavery and racism!

49. And so is the United Nations that some years ago documented the presence of what they called a crypto-racism, alive and well in Barbados.

50. No you suffer from small man syndrome coupled with a deep resentment for common sense, you think since no-one knows who you are you can call for anarchy, physical violence on individuals and like a sneak thief in the night no-one can do anything about it, Lol Well your ilk have ran everything for 47 years now probably most of your life …how’s that going by the way…