Submitted by the Owner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hooliganism, Bullying, Intimidation, Moral Decay

All of the above, in my opinion aptly describe an experience I had recently. I remember in my youth and even to this day hearing persons muse about the fact that Barbadians are a docile people. One of the favourite things we like to say in times of despair is โ€œif Bajans were like Jamaicans, the things that happen here, would not happenโ€. I assume that by quoting this statement, we are implying that we are a more tolerant society. Ask persons who have been victims of intolerance, if this is so and I guarantee they would not agree.

The moral decay that is endemic in our society, is not a new phenomenon. There have been incidents of violence, hooliganism, bullying, and intimidation for decades. What we are brilliant at, is sweeping it under the carpet or applying a band-aid on an open sore and hoping it would heal.

One of my favourite quotes is โ€œAll it takes for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothingโ€. I live by this principle and one other, โ€œDo unto others as you would have them do unto youโ€. These are lessons learnt as a young impressionable child and they have stuck with me for 35years.

I own and operate a Boutique in Speightstown, St. Peter. On the morning of December 16th, 2013, while assisting a client, a โ€˜Ladyโ€™ entered the store and asked, โ€œIs this Josephineโ€™s Boutique?โ€ I replied in the affirmative and she informed me that she had a delivery for me. I finalized the transaction with my client, all the while oblivious the other activity going on in the store.

I finally had a chance to speak to the โ€™Ladyโ€™, who was waiting on me in the store, this time accompanied by another โ€˜gentlemanโ€™, so I approached them to find out about said delivery. I was greeted by a HUGE box of garbage, with Josephineโ€™s Boutique written on the outside. I immediately recognized the box, since I had put it in the garbage disposal area at the mall where I work the previous week and it had been collected on Thursday of same week. After my initial shock, I asked both of them, why did they bring a box of garbage and put it in my store. The โ€˜Ladyโ€™ responded in a sneering tone, โ€œit was on my property so I brought it backโ€. They wanted no explanation or had any more time to converse with me. Their mission was completed and they huffed and puffed, got in their vehicles and drove off.

Again, their behaviour can only be described in the terms I listed at the beginning of this letter. Common sense, rational thought, decency, professionalism, respect, morals, principles all went south for the winter in this situation. Garbage is collected from one location, it obviously falls of the truck at another location and instead of reacting rationally, this โ€˜Ladyโ€™ and two โ€˜thugsโ€™, drive to my store in Speightstown and dump the HUGE box of filthy garbage, in my store because the box says โ€˜Josephineโ€™s Boutiqueโ€™ on the outside. Bear in mind, everyone else in the mall has thrown garbage in the box since it was the biggest one in the disposal area.

This is an open sore, and no amount of band-aids will heal it. Who does such things, unless they feel that they can get away with it because we Bajans are โ€˜docileโ€™ and we like to sweep things under the carpet? No more!!!! It takes a tiny pebble to start a big ripple in the ocean. I am that pebble.

531 responses to “‘Lady’ Mary-Anne Williams is it really you?”

1. This is a typical case of disrespect and contempt by working class, council house people from Europe and North America who would normally be working in MacDonald’s who jump on a plane and come to the Caribbean and pretend – and are treated – as if they are superior.
    You get it every trading day in some stores in Broad Street when foreigners to the back of queues are served before locals to the front, and it is accepted as ‘normal’.
    If someone dumped rubbish in the street it will be an offence in the UK; if there is no legislation covering thugs and social vermin dumping rubbish in people’s boutiques then there should be.
    If not protestors should gather outside the home of the offender until there is a public apology. If not stop doing business with them.
    Getting in to technical arguments about the law is futile, it gives idiots with a lot of time on their hand the opportunity to vent their bile.
    I have asked before and I ask again: what do these people contribute to Barbadian society.

2. @ Hal Austin”This has nothing to do with the illegal dumping of garbage. It is an English woman demonstrating her disrespect for local people. She knows that backed by her husbandโ€™s oversized wallet she could get away with anything.
    Who were the goons with her? This small act of vandalism should not be allowed to end there.”

I am in total agreement with you Hal.

3. LOL @ Hal
    Skippa keep yuh shirt on…. Can you imagine how much BU must piss people like these off….
    LOL see how Ross is looking to goad bushie into impulsive actions so that he could identify, divide and control…this is where those fellows feel comfortable….and the status quo house niggers can always be relied on to provide the needed support …..you know… Like how these people “work hard” for all they have….
    Like how we need to know our place…and be grateful that they decided to let us live….

An article like this that shows how an ordinary citizen can stand up and say “ENOUGH OF THIS SHIT …I’m mad as hell and I ain’t taking it no more…” Is a REAL SERIOUS situation for these people yuh…
    …remember ROSA PARKS? ….an ordinary ‘Igrunt’ black woman that stood up (LOL actually sat down…)

Can you imagine what would happen if one or two top politicians were to do the same? …..shiite man….TROUBLE!!
    Picture them….
    ….Enough of this shit – I ain’t taking NO BRIBE!
    ….I ain’t selling out my people for your dirty money,
    ….wait your turn – EVERYONE is equal bout here
    ….I Don’t CARE who you are – NO ONE is above the law
    LOL…or….
    …Bring land Deeds or give PLANTATION DEEDS back his brass bowl land…….. LOL Ha Ha muh belly…

Bushie don’t know what Ross worrying about….that would NEVER happen bout here…..as Mac Fingall said so well today…..his status quo is safe….

4. Bush Tea I aint taking no bribes what????? have you given up on the black mans dream… being rich and married to a white woman? Quit toying with AC’s affections you know she has no chance with you Maybe you and chaucers big buddy can tag team the IMF woman to get her to loosen up the purse strings rather than begging , Hal …Barbados society….have you not noticed the roti and Chinese food on the island has been getting better.. this isn’t a coincidence.

5. @ jeff cumberbatch”Gabriel, you say that Lisa is doing the right thing. But what is she doing? Is she going to sue the mistaken depositor of garbage on her premises? Hope for the police to lay charges? Become the most popular current thread on BU? Bad manners and gaucherie are not criminal offenses, Lisa.”
    Rather insensitive on your part, Mr. Cumberbatch!

6. After MLK, Ghandi and Mandela were mentioned I had a bet with myself that someone would bring up the name of Rosa Parks. I am chagrined to report that I lost the bet, talk about giant leaps to come up with inappropriate analogies.

Hal must have something against the folks who live in Council houses, how dare they act like members of the Aristocracy. Dogs among Doctors, donโ€™t they know their station in life? What is Old Blighty coming to?

In the words of the comic strip character โ€œWe have met the enemy and he is usโ€.

7. @ Sargeant
    The Red Necks have always been worse than the aristocrats when it comes to naked violence and anti-social behaviour. Remember the Mods and Rockers, the Skin heads and Punks, the list goes on.
    As a nation we have already sold our souls; a new generation must come along and rescue the remains. It is the price of a fixation on tourism,
    But as a society we have to look closely at what we get out of the West Coast invaders we free ride on ordinary tax payers..

8. .”everybody that could fire Caswell done fire heโ€ฆ.Caswell now fireproofโ€ฆ.”

ROFLMAO…..hahhahaha..Bushie you are one dangerous ole goat! That quote is priceless. LOLLL holding mah belly!

9. H Austin

“Working class council house people from Europe and North America……..should gather to protest”

On behalf of working class people everywhere……you Johnny-come-lately and supercilious prick: get off your fat ass, come over from Bermondsey and confront the “vermin” then. I don’t think you have the guts though.

BT

Pillow talk babes…and that’s all it will ever be – talk. You don’t deserve her.

10. Dear Sir COW,
    by now you would have heard the news about your wife’s action. You need to sit her down and have another heart to heart talk with her. If by this time she hasn’t embraced the culture of this island and keeps making these embarrassing mistakes then you have been cuckold BIG time. I would like to suggest that you keep her fed and watered in one of the many stables you own. If you do have to let her out occasionally please attach a GPS device to her. And another thing she needs to apologize and compensate the proprietor of Josephine’s Boutique.

Thanking you in advance,
    Islandgal

11. That type of behaviour is typical of the Moral Decay and that people we allow to come here to live bring with them. I believe that a more logical and practical approach could have been had. She could have called you and politely informed you of the problem and make arrangements for you to correct it. Then if you did not correct problem deal with the issue a different way.

12. Lawson, I respectfully beg to defer with your analogy of the black man’s dream. Brother, I do not know what to make of your comment but I guess you have your reasons for advancing it? Now actually, the true dream of the black man,is being himself in world that is constantly trying to define him in negative ways. And this idea that it is somehow the black man’s dream to married a white woman as he amass his richest, is utter stupidity predicated upon the common Sweeping- generalization.

13. Fenty

Just to say that, as you probably realize, Lawson is the resident cynic who is simply testing our perceptions. He should not be taken, nor would he wish to be taken I’m sure, as one uttering universal truths.

I would want to say that it is the black man who continues to define himself negatively – no-one else with any sense at least.

14. like COW really care what YOU think of his wife………..

15. Lawson, you ought to be circumspect to respect to your usage of an Absolute to describe the common practices of a people. You have sought in your statement to somehow attributed this practice to the entire black race. Now have you given any thought to the fact that there is always an exception to the general rule? And that by applying an Absolute to any group of people; you’re in essence doing a disservice to those elements that aren’t party to such behavior.

16. Hal thinks all the bars on the windows and doors in Barbados are to keep the North American and European council flat people out…Lol

17. Ross, I agree that there is a certain element within the black community that continues to defined themselves in less the favorable ways. But, it would be wrong on your part to smear the entire black community with the practices of this ill- informed element.

18. AC can you shut up for a change?

19. Ross, you should never use an Absolute unless it applies to the First and Second Amendments of the United States Constitutional.

20. Mark Of course nothing is absolute except death and taxes just like all white people are not mean whip owners and rude. Do I think that is a black mans dream of course not but that isn’t the game that is being played here. The envelope is being pushed to incite a response. If Hals newspaper really thought he hated council flat people they probably would drop him like a stone,

21. @ Ross
    I meant to say: you should never use an Absolute unless it applies to the Constitution of the United States of America. Now, I only hope that you haven’t taken what I’ve written seriously, because it was meant to be a joke?

22. islandgal246 | 29/12/2013 at 8:54 pm
    AC can you shut up for a change?
    //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

save yuh breathe,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,cow couldnt careless what yuh think neither does ac,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

23. Okay! Lawson, we’re now beginning to engage our world with the correct kinda lens. Now, I supposed you’re right but you ought to be more careful, especially when you’re utilizing such dictums to characterized black people.

24. And Lawson, death and taxes aren’t absolute as you seem to think, because the Hebrew Scriptures tells us that some will not see death. ( their wiil be change as their are caught up in the air with Jesus) And there are some people who haven’t pay dime in taxes and have already gone to the Great Beyond.

25. Lawson, the intellectual disable in America have never work a day in their natural life. The state takes of their needs! So you know that their have never pay a dime in federal, state and municipal taxes?

26. As a people we are mostly a load of cowardly hypocrites. I bet my last dollar that if most of those who are now skinning COW’s wife alive, if they had to encounter her tomorrow, they would not utter a single word in defence / support of Lisa.
    We will forever be like the man whom the plantation manager had kicked in his arse,he picked himself up, and with a broad smile, said. “skippa, dah was a good one!”

27. do you all agree you are much better off in barbados than where you came from?you should thank god for the white man taking you away from this.these is you people and where you mostly came from.
    http://youtu.be/ZRuSS0iiFyo

28. OF ONE’s BETTER HALF

Gentlemen,

I have been married to the Misses for over 50 years so to all intents and purposes, though i does curse still, I am “homo domesticus” i.e. domesticated man and not homosexual something or the next, after all this is Bulbados

What does this mean?

Quite simply put, I am the man in my house and my wife gave me permission to say so!!

Sir Charles is wed to Lady Mary, Hoagie or whatever you want to call her.

He made his bed and is lying down in it, he has no choice, he married a younger woman for all the obvious reasons and even though some would agree that he is a wise businessman, in the affairs of the heart he would have made some choices that are questionable.

Which brings me to my posit.

He is screwed.

He obviously by now has heard of his wife’s idiocy and clear misunderstanding of her role, title, and “power by proxy”

Sir Charles CANNOT castigate her in public and offering a public apology for the giddy headed brat who got more than she in her nit picking days ever hoped for, would be precisely that.

An apology would reflect badly on his judgement at so many levels and he would “loose face” on many levels so, Lisa, while it is unfortunate you will “eat cake” on this one.

It is just the way of the world, sometimes you win and most times we loose.

IF SIR CHARLES HAD BALLS he would bit the bullet on this one and make the apology and forever cement his position among the hearts of Bajans as a man of principle BUT IF HE WERE TO DO THAT, while the currency that he personally gained would be RESPECT and the acclaim of an unforgiving Bajan public that he did the right thing it could be a problem for his marriage.

IF HOWEVER SIR CHARLES’ BALLS are BIGGER than Lady Hoagie’s he would accompany the “Lady” into the store and stand next to her while the “Lady” gave the apology

He looses no face, but he is there to accompany his not so elegant woman into the fray.

Sir Charles gains face among all and sundry, Lady Hoagie gets to understand that she is the “Potentate of his Kingdom” and MUST act as such, LIsa is accorded the civility that is befitting the incident, the BU family is pacified, Jeff looses a lawsuit/job/consultancy and everybody is happy.

I forgot to mention AC,

oh she comes on here and claims (i) that she spoke to Fumble about the matter and (ii) Fumble and Jones, realising that it was a matter of National Security, needful of some head cracking, interceded with Sir Charles and brokered this deal

29. @David [BU]

THE TOACATBU Treaty

In 24 hours, at the stroke of midnight, do not forget how you too can bring cheer to all BU citizens, and the wider population of Bajans too, by enacting the TOACATBU Treaty (pronounced “toe-cat-boo”).

The luminaries Jeff Cumberbatch and Robert Ross will by now be hustling to their law books to find out what treat this is.

Hants, BushTea and the Anunnaki being high science men would, like you, have already discerned its meaning

“TURN OFF AC ACCESS TO BARBADOS UNDERGROUND”

It is only fair man and i is agin begging you to begin de new year wid dis act of kindnes for all we BU-nians, man it is the decent thing to do,

I cyan tek it nuh more David[BU] man i does now find myself reading he/she garbage!! You believe dat!!

I does be looking tuh see which one uh dem get to de cuntputer and scribe a ting and, depending on the coherence en ting, i does say dat it is he writing, but mos uh de time it does be she.

Now David[BU] effing my likes get to be more dan de amount u comment pun Lady Jane article, as man, you gots to do enact dis treaty ting man LOL

30. Fly-tipping is the illegal dumping of rubbish or bulky items on land not licensed to receive it. It can be dangerous to health, it pollutes land and waterways and costs significant amounts of public money, which could be better spent elsewhere, to clear away.
    Dumping waste illegally is a serious criminal offence that can carry a very substantial fine. An offender can even be sent to prison. It is also an offence to allow fly-tipping to take place.
    Fly-tipping is also associated with dumping waste from vehicles. In this case the person who owns the vehicle can also be prosecuted, which means that it is possible for a prosecution to occur when only the vehicle, not the driver, is identifiable. The police and authorised officers of the department of the environment also have the powers to stop, search and seize vehicles used or suspected of being used for illegal waste activities, including fly-tipping. That is the law in the UK.
    Have the Barbados police intervened in this serious anti-social incident yet, or are t hey intimidated by the size of the offenderโ€™s wallet?
    By the way, the academic lawyer who claims that anti-social behaviour is not necessarily a crime should re-read his legal theory books.

31. ” I bet my last dollar that if most of those who are now skinning COWโ€™s wife alive, if they had to encounter her tomorrow, they would not utter a single word in defence / support of Lisa.”

@Boy Blue you wanna bet? How much? I will and plan to confront her whenever I meet her about this.

32. H Austin

What legal theory books are those?. Please quote chapter and verse. Remember the premise of the “academic lawyer” (Jeff) is ‘anti-social behaviour is not necessarily a crime’. You are saying it is.

33. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

Looka Hal Austin calling you out to we own version of de OK Coral and none other that Robert Ross goading he on.

Jeff, I tink dat you gine get shoot down like Val Kilmer shot down Ringo Starr in Tombstone but then again I wonder if Lisa gine tek anybody to court doah so even if you wrong, you still gine end up right Cumberbatch

@ Island Girl 246 – ***-****

Doan forget to text me you number, you lovely ting you causing, as long as you gi’ me instructions, i’ll be you huckleberry and tell Lady Hoagie evey ting you wants me to tell she. Your wish is my command

Doan mind dem udder fellow dat gine crawl out de woodwork wid dem pretensions uh love as soon as i put mine pun de table, dem is charlatans and are to be ignored

34. Islandgal

Boy Blue said ‘most would do nothing’. You are not ‘most’ are you? How many people said they WILL (not would) join you? Not BT; not David, not H Austin et al. DON’T put money on it..

35. @ R. Ross
    An advocate is not always a theorist and I do not expect you to understand this. But all criminal offences are forms of anti-social behaviour, but all forms of ant i-social behaviour are not ‘crimes’.
    However, they are all forms of deviancy.
    In criminological theory this is called labelling . Sadly, quite ofsten people training to be advocates have one or two lectures on criminology and legal theory, if the UWI is anything like UK universities.
    As to the titles of books, look for them yourself.

36. Pieceeh

You’re all talk this morning. But when it happens, let me know in advance. I will come, watch and take notes. We can then post the encounter.

37. H Austin

LOL. .What a wanker you are.

38. @ R. Ross
    I see you are resorting to the Bajan way of debate. All I am saying is that in my experience legal advocates ie attorneys and barristers, are not very good at legal theory.
    Further more, they know very little about criminology or legal theory, unless they have taken further courses of study.
    By the way, wanking is a form of deviant behaviour. So is abusive language.

39. H Austin

Dissembling, the use of fascist language, race and class antagonism, and bull-shitting are also forms of anti-social behaviour – and you are an endomorphic recidivist – in fact a ‘lifer’ – as you have just proved.
    This has NOTHING to do with what is or should be taught in schools. That’s just your escape route.

40. @ R. Ross

What is that in plain English, or Bajan, if you cannot cope with the conventional English language?
    Or am I to take it you are opting out of any further discussion?

41. David

Please will you ask H Austin to write a post on ‘onanism as deviant behaviour’.

42. @ Lawson

I do not hate. I am an Ivy man to the marrow in my bones. I dream about the Ivy/Howells X Road/Tichbourne, Belmont, St Giles and Combermere.
    I do not have a single dream about the UK.

43. H Austin

But I thought you were the legal theorist? But OK…now what is it you want to discuss?

44. @ R. Ross
    Nicer to see you are a theorist of deviancy. Do you support any school? Or do you just have lots of time on your hand?

45. H Austin the ‘Dreamer’

‘Time on my hands’…about as much as you I’d guess. Now get cracking on onanism.

46. @ R. Ross
    I dream every day – that Barbados will get rid of dimbos and progress as it deserves to do.
    First in the line for expulsion should be you. You make no contribution to the progress of the nation.

47. H Austin the dreamer

LOL. You get better and better.

48. so to sum it all up the responses generated were not so much as one of support for lisa but those of hypocrisy ,responses that vent anger and frustration at mary anne,which gave thought to where we are as a people,i also submit that if this episode had a different character the response would have been far and few in between and less hostile.every one except a few had the hallmarks and makings of hatred and contempt for one person absolutely nothing to do with well sound advice which would have served a better purpose ., there is no way to explain how adults can be so consumed and filled with such vile and hatred of another, i hope us we enter 2014 we would reconciled and see the error of our ways and remember that when all is said and done we are the ones that build a future ones that the younger generation must follow for years to come……

49. @ R. Ross
    Thank you. Plse give me a basic lesson in criminological theory. I am keen to learn from a leading lawyer and you are top of the tree..

50. H Austin the dreamer

I don’t need to. You’ve claimed that spot for yourself. I’m just an old hack don’t-ya-know..