Submitted by the Owner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hooliganism, Bullying, Intimidation, Moral Decay

All of the above, in my opinion aptly describe an experience I had recently. I remember in my youth and even to this day hearing persons muse about the fact that Barbadians are a docile people. One of the favourite things we like to say in times of despair is “if Bajans were like Jamaicans, the things that happen here, would not happen”. I assume that by quoting this statement, we are implying that we are a more tolerant society. Ask persons who have been victims of intolerance, if this is so and I guarantee they would not agree.

The moral decay that is endemic in our society, is not a new phenomenon. There have been incidents of violence, hooliganism, bullying, and intimidation for decades. What we are brilliant at, is sweeping it under the carpet or applying a band-aid on an open sore and hoping it would heal.

One of my favourite quotes is “All it takes for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing”. I live by this principle and one other, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. These are lessons learnt as a young impressionable child and they have stuck with me for 35years.

I own and operate a Boutique in Speightstown, St. Peter. On the morning of December 16th, 2013, while assisting a client, a ‘Lady’ entered the store and asked, “Is this Josephine’s Boutique?” I replied in the affirmative and she informed me that she had a delivery for me. I finalized the transaction with my client, all the while oblivious the other activity going on in the store.

I finally had a chance to speak to the ’Lady’, who was waiting on me in the store, this time accompanied by another ‘gentleman’, so I approached them to find out about said delivery. I was greeted by a HUGE box of garbage, with Josephine’s Boutique written on the outside. I immediately recognized the box, since I had put it in the garbage disposal area at the mall where I work the previous week and it had been collected on Thursday of same week. After my initial shock, I asked both of them, why did they bring a box of garbage and put it in my store. The ‘Lady’ responded in a sneering tone, “it was on my property so I brought it back”. They wanted no explanation or had any more time to converse with me. Their mission was completed and they huffed and puffed, got in their vehicles and drove off.

Again, their behaviour can only be described in the terms I listed at the beginning of this letter. Common sense, rational thought, decency, professionalism, respect, morals, principles all went south for the winter in this situation. Garbage is collected from one location, it obviously falls of the truck at another location and instead of reacting rationally, this ‘Lady’ and two ‘thugs’, drive to my store in Speightstown and dump the HUGE box of filthy garbage, in my store because the box says ‘Josephine’s Boutique’ on the outside. Bear in mind, everyone else in the mall has thrown garbage in the box since it was the biggest one in the disposal area.

This is an open sore, and no amount of band-aids will heal it. Who does such things, unless they feel that they can get away with it because we Bajans are ‘docile’ and we like to sweep things under the carpet? No more!!!! It takes a tiny pebble to start a big ripple in the ocean. I am that pebble.

531 responses to “‘Lady’ Mary-Anne Williams is it really you?”

1. My madda spent her entire working years as a Maid in several of the White homes in Barbados. And I remembered quite vividly: when my madda used to work for the white family. Who used to own a Super Market which was located on Roebuck Street at the time. And as a teenage, my madda took me to work with her one day, because Mrs. E wanted some work done around her home which located in an exclusive neighborhood in Cave Hill; if my memory serves right. And this Experience still burns in my memory today, because after spending several hours cleaning around Mrs. E home. Nature had started it course and I recalled going to back door to ask my madda if I could used bathroom. And to my horror, it was then I realized the maid ( my madda) had been given a separate Bathrooms from that the of Mrs E’s family. Which led me to conclude as a small boy that we weren’t looked upon as equal at the time. But on ther other hand, my madda worked for several other white Barbadian families during the years. Who treated her with the respect and dignity that is due to every human being. And as a matter of fact, some of the small white kids who are now adults and who had been raised by my madda’s hands still call her to this day. Now, maybe I am overreacting but as I revisit those childhood memories, I can’t help but to think that that practice was somewhat wrong.

2. Small man! What we do is bigger than anybody bout deh in Barbados. It is really de people that a slave like you look up to that really small, COW and all. Your masters can’t even earn enough to stop the bankruptcy of the small island. Deh aint no real capitalists fuh trute. He made his money because of slaves or lackeys like you in politics and bribing the civil servants.

3. Mark with my construction business we work in peoples homes all the time and trust me we are told if there is a washroom available and more often than naught a portable one is brought on site. I can only imagine the effect it had on you as a child, but it was not an unusual occurrence in my life. Many of the old homes I work on had bells and ringers calling staff down through back staircases so as not to be seen, this isn’t just a Barbados thing. The rich always live a better lifestyle than the poor not necessarily a more rewarding one. Your 48 years old 47 of it has been with Black barbadians in charge of everything govt , the schools ,most of the churches and this monkey still seems to be clinging on to you. I can only hope the newyear will free your spirit and allow you to enjoy the wonderful life the DLP is preparing for you..

4. “And to my horror, it was then I realized the maid ( my madda) had been given a separate Bathrooms from that the of Mrs E’s family. Which led me to conclude as a small boy that we weren’t looked upon as equal at the time.”

Mark your mother was the hired help! You have been in the Army right? Do the recruits use the same bathrooms as the Officers? As the Chief? Did you eat with everyone in the Army? In many older homes there are maid’s quarters built onto the house. At school we didn’t use the same bathrooms as the teachers. Many people have a guest bathroom in their houses and don’t allow people into the master bathrooms. Many have bathrooms for workers.

If using a bathroom that was designated for the hired help offended you then you are in need of serious help. Drop by Jenkins ASAP.

5. Pssssssst, Shopkeeper here with an update. I was finally interviewed by a member of our illustrious police force and my statement has been signed sealed and delivered to the Station Sargeant. Thank the stars for my connections ( surprise surprise) or I might still be making futile calls on a daily basis only to be told ” I will check and get back to you”
    Now let me reiterate for those who keep trying to find some connection between myself and the good Lady…there is NONE. I met her many times via my previous job, while working at the many cocktail events we hosted, or because the company I worked for sponsored, events such as Polo, Broadway to Barbados ect. I worked at these events, therefore I would have come into contact with many wealthy people, whether locals or hotel guests. I never had a tet a tet with her, I never said a bad word to her, I never had any reason to be in contact with her once the event was over unles I was making a follow up call concerning a purchase and that also never happened.
    I was at my ‘shop’, doing my Shopkeeper duties and this defiant act was perpetrated…SIMPLE. And by the grace of God, that said business is doing well, so when I said that to the Nation Photogropher, who was in S’town doing the usually man on the street interviews, that was and by George is still the truth.
    To anyone who thinks this is a trivial matter and I should just forget about it and move on….NOT GOING TO HAPPEN.
    Whatever the outcome, this has been exposed and if it makes one person stand up to ANYONE in the future who infringes on their rights, then all of this would not have been in vain.

6. Glad to hear that Lisa and thanks for sharing with the BU family.

7. Thanks for the update Lisa, you are a brave lady.

8. Don’t come by me and ask to use muh bathroom cause I gine show yuh de bush!

9. Lisa
    Whatever else, you have surpressed some whose cricularity and convolutedness is so ingrained in their thinking,they remain blind to reason.
    Your writing skills and great sense of humour tell a story of a confident, organised ‘shopkeeper’,keeping the fox from the door.Let’s hope that all will end well.

10. …circularity

11. Talking garbage- Meanwhile in Queens Park, Bridgetown,The Police band has gone.The music has gone. The fancy dresses and King Dyall suits have gone .Christmas morning has gone. The people have gone
    This is what was there before , during and after all the activities that took place in the fore of this park on Christmas Day.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/11659949924/

12. Don’t count too much on your connections, I too had connections when a Belgian ex pat carelessly crashed into my car some years ago. The statement I gave to the police on the same day, and another I gave to my “connection” sometime later, both went AWOL. End of Story.

13. Barbados is strewn with garbage from North Point to South Point and from East Point to Needhams Point, as it appears that much of the fleet ,including the newly acquired trucks , of the Sanitation Authority are out of order., and we are heavily locked in fight over a single box of garbage.
    What was in this box, a bloody red herring?

14. Colonel

Your comment about “connections” is very interesting. By a “connection” I take it you mean a friend who might be expected to watch over your affairs and ensure they are dealt with efficiently – as they should be in any event. If so, your experience with connections is exactly as mine – which raises the question whether the concept of ‘friendship’ is as undeveloped as everything else, that is whether, in reality, no one gives a sh.. about anyone else

15. @ Lisa

You have a very powerful case, with or without ‘connections’. In fact, ‘connections’ in Barbados border on corruption. You have the support of ordinary people.
    Your case is simple: an intruder, accompanied by two goons, came in to your shop and dumped rubbish.
    Ignore the background noise about whether or not it is legal. The point is if ordinary people walked around with boxes of rubbish and dump on other’s people’s property, or offices, there will be social chaos, leading to widespread blood shed. It just cannot be allowed to happen, that is what the law is for.
    Can you imagine a boy from the block going to Cave Shepherd and dumping rubbish, or some upmarket Mall in St James, or on COW’s property.
    First, they be be manhandled by the so-called security, or even shot. Barbados has a long history of black boys being shot in mistake for monkeys.
    Basically, it is a criminal offence. Where is the Guyana-born director of public prosecutions in all this? Where is the attorney general in all this? Where is the Opposition in all this? Where is the church in all this?
    Why is it that our leaders have gone dumb on this matter?
    The other point that I have raised on a number of occasions: New Barbadians, and their local friends, are heavily armed. They believe the natives may rise up and are equipped for this. So be careful.
    I remember when a Lebanese store owner in Swan Street allegedly assaulted a middle aged woman and crowds gathered outside his store until the matter was amicably resolved.
    Where are t he children and grand children of these people? They should form rings around the homes/businesses of the offender until they come out on their knees and apologise.

16. keep talking Lisa ,little nuggets in that box of garbage would finally bear truth,

17. Colonel

And of course by ‘friends’ I don’t mean Lisa’s new friends on BU NOT ONE of whom was prepared to stand with Island but who, in the same of solidarity, are happy to push a racist agenda from the safety of Bermondsey or God knows where. Gutless the lot of them.

18. Dreamer

I have no time for the DPP. But is it actually necessary to refer to him as being “Guyana born”?

19. and BWT lisa don’t EVER mention that you hob nob with the rich and famous,,,,,,,,,,shopkeepers are not allowed such a privilege,,,,,,,,,my mother was a shopkeeper that is how i know,,,,,,,,,,,

20. What brave lady what David…
    ….she is a NORMAL lady….
    …most of the rest of us are a bunch of brass bowls….

21. Most people in Barbados are probably shocked at the fact that a normal everyday black woman would stand up so confidently and insist on her RIGHTS….even some who support Lisa….

Ross and Lawson of course are pissing scared that such action could lead to others taking similar stands and exposing their own mediocrity and the fact that, like Sir and Lady COW, they too only enjoy the status that they do PRECISELY because Bajans are such jackasses generally.
    ….people like Colonel Buggy and Sargeant – army types – are trained to maintain the status quo ….shiite man, how dare a Corporal question Colonel buggy’s action…the very gall!!!

@ Lisa
    Not one shiite will come of this officially….NONE
    That is what Jeff has been trying to tell us.
    NOT because you are not right, but because this is Barbados – where white people has some god-given right to break any law without any fear of consequences…..except of course it impacts a richer white person.
    Caswell Franklin can tell you chapter and verse about standing up for RIGHT in Barbados….and the price to be paid.

But Bushie can tell you that it is the absolutely best thing that you can EVER do….to stand for RIGHT
    It is in fact, the difference between being a true LADY (or gentleman), and a brass bowl…..
    …and we do need people like ac and Ross to remind us of the role and function of house niggers back in the plantation days…

22. @Lisa
    “if it makes one person stand up to ANYONE in the future who infringes on their rights, then all of this would not have been in vain”
    Amen

@Bushie
    See if ya cud get she ta sweet talk Caswell so he cud start mekking some progress on BUP.

23. Seems like pessimism is rife in this country.
    Anyway, I threw out a sprat to catch a whale and boy did I draw in a humpback or what? My little 85 year old dad reminded me on Sunday that we got a relative or two in the constabulary and I made a call which led to my statement being recorded. Whether it is thrown out, torn up, high-jacked, hood-winked…I don’t care. Fact remains, it should have been recorded on Dec16th and I did not hesitate to say this to the good gentleman who was recoding it.
    As for the contents of the box, what difference does that make? It could have been filled with shredded paper, or roses or feces….point is, it is not right to bring it into my store, just because you assume that I dumped it on your property.
    Smh..I get accused of being well to do, I get accused of withholding details about a supposed relationship with the good Lady, I get accused of having an agenda..so I post exactly how I came to know this person and now I’m to ‘keep talking’, with the inference, that soon I will reveal, I’m the one who does her mani-pedi and she don’t tip……stuuuuuuuupppppse

24. Hal that is the problem garbage was put on COW’s property and returned to the person who created it, maybe not in a nice manner but returned all the same, and yet Lisa mentions nothing of the mall owner she pays for services, nothing of the garbage contractor who removes it and fixates on that woman. I would be asking questions of these people before she is portrayed as the Rosa Parks of the cardboard community.
    I would suggest to Lisa that if she has tape of her putting the box in the garbage keep it.
    Maybe everyone is silent because they find ,this is not the hill they want to die on. to quote an old army phrase.
    Tomorrow to get your old age pension it will go up to 66 1/2 from 66 years how many people will have to work another 6months? 3000-6000 will be on the dole in a few months, businesses are closing up at an alarming rate etc, etc, Hal do you really think Lisa’s box is on forefront of their minds.
    Isnt it catholics that store arms in their basements? Race fear mongering I guess is not beneath you, you are getting even more pathetic.

25. So what LIsa we are beginning to get the picture… one of a “cross over black” who was dumped on by the whites… yuh know LISA they have been many so blacks and usually they pay a high price fortunately for u it was a box of contents persumably Yours which was returned to You .other noticable blacks like O.J and Tiger woods had to pay a high price…..U LUCKY DOG…..BTW the lowly blacks are forgiven when one of our own stray away from the pack. WELCOME BACK LISA.

26. @Bush Tea

An attribute of a normal person is to be brave don’t you think?

@Lawson

Have you joined the hard head club or is it that you have identified with the Caucasian out of comfort?

It does not matter if Lisa’s business name is on the box, what matters as it relates to Lisa is the ‘lady’ leaving the box in the woman’s place of business. Why not outside the door to meet your piss poor argument half way. Let us be clear, if she had done similarly in BU’s place of business she would have been looking down the Glock.

27. Bush tea “she” (lisa) went in the lions den she got stung now here on BU crying and you called ac a “house nigger” f… k U.. ole MAN

28. David,

I hope that you are joking re the Glock. Would you really take someone’s life or attempt to do so simply because of his or her bad manners? What if she had stepped on your shoes without saying sorry? Why is there so much anger? I must confess that am surprised at your stated reaction.

29. NO LISA is not a freedom fighter NO she is not a MLK or ROSA PARKS just a person whose sensitivies were bruised by those with home she had high regards and maybe respect until a rift occured … many of whom were her associates and business clients. ….now she seeks support among her own……..No story of real significance. ROSA PARKS NO

30. @ Lisa
    Those negative comments should be expected from a supine, court jesters of a population. The central organizing principle in Barbados is how much shite Black people are to take from White people, foreign and domestic. These lackeys are willing to employ all kinds of gymnastics to justify this wrong that was done to you.

How much damage has COW and his people done to other peoples’ property over the years. How much damage has his companies done to the environment while he constructed his monopoly? We say again if Mary-Anne Hess (Williams) had come around us doing this we would, without regret, emptied at lease one magazine in her centre mass. In these circumstances, there would be no need to find the bought off police. They would find us!

31. @Jeff

If the action of another threatens the ability to support myself and family then it become a matter of protecting the right to survive. Hopefully by brandishing the Glock – in much the same way Estwick essayed in parliament – the message would have been received, hopefully.

32. @Pacha

The building of Apes Hill has dislocated the indigenous monkey population who now terrorize the surrounding residents in Hillaby Turners Hall etc. BU remembers when Cow planted the trees bordering his polo club to the disadvantage of the eyesore properties owned by Blacks in the environs. If there is any doubt to the mentality at play here Lisa gets it.

33. David you said she was struggling, a fact denied by Lisa herself. What else may you have got wrong
    Yes it matters what was in the box if it was dog shit brought into her store that is awful if it was full of her receipts exedra that would be different, If you cannot see the difference please do not invite me to your home.
    As to you and Hal and Pacha threatening white folk with guns and mob violence is this going to happen before or after you kiss there ass for the loans to bail you out

34. @ Jeff Cumberbatch
    We have had some relatively pleasant exchanges in the past and we welcomed your insights then. However, for you to project a criminal legal system as the only response for citizens or employ legal ease to strip this incident of its sociological meanings, suggests to us that there is no law in Barbados for ordinary folk. You remind us of Barrow telling Bajans to stay out of Coleridge Street, if we wanted justice . The same is true today. And our recommendations were so inclined. You also remind us of Grantley who defended a White man who shot a Black man and said he thought it was a monkey. Or the lawyers who theifing Black people’s money every day. In this matter too we have taken natural law into our our hands, as you will be sure to tell us, and now transact legal matters in ways that avoid any lawyer, in Barbados, putting their hands on our money. In short, your legal training has effectively checkmated the natural rights of ordinary people and as such has achieve precisely the aims of those they were written to serve – the White people in Barbados! Well done Jeff!

35. Come on Jeff
    How is it bad manners to walk onto someone’s palace with two muscle men and dump a box of garbage….? You still stale drunk from Christmas?
    Bad manners is farting in public …or not saying “Good morning” ….or belching loudly.

Step on shoes with saying sorry shiite!

How about someone stamp on your damn toe while having their two henchmen there to bust your ass if you protest?

You are right David – Glock time!

36. And the reaction here on BU is to shoot first and asked questions after.. nothing else is of great importance to this issue. one now is being told to accept a shorten version or else….. very generous indeed ..very generous BU…..

37. @ David
    Wuh you aint got to tell Us. Any man who could accumulate hundreds of millions of dollars and over 20% of the arable land in a small country since 1975 (circa) must have done immense damage to the environment, cultural formation, bribed Black politicians and civil servants, corrupt the political system. Even building the DLP’s headquaters. COW might right now be causing the deaths of many people but we don’t and maybe can’t know yet.

Now we have this White bitch Mary-Anne Hess (Williams) who comes to Barbados and sees the differential treatment meted out to White people and assumes the confidence that she can kick Black ass. Cow and his people were kicked out of St Vincent some years ago for trying this kind of shite across there. But in Barbados anything goes, for White people. This Mary-Anne Hess (Williams) should have been shot!

38. @Lawson

An owner of a boutique suggesting in an interview that she is happy with sales for the season says what?

39. Typical South African / Israeli logic from Lawson as expected…
    Woman walks into YOUR place with two intimidating goons! but YOU are being aggressive and racist if you pull out your equalizer…..

40. She said it ask her, was she lying to the press???

41. You complete idiot!
    Who said anything about shooting first?

You may feel inferior and be content to be intimidated in your own store (if you were smart enough to own one) by a gang of intruders. However there are some persons who have NO SUCH inferiority complexes and who will NOT tolerate such disrespect and intimidation.
    It is sometimes called dignity …..

42. @Lawson

You have the last word.

43. Now we have a black woman who have lie in bed with the whites having supporters of her cause promoting anarchy…….

44. @David[BU]

It is now 12 hours less 6 minutes from the New Year.

When you effect the Banning Treaty can you extend it to Lawson to?

45. @PUDR

Respect all opinions 🙂

46. Piece of the rock In case there is a banning, I would like to help in your life choices and BU contributions in the coming year in the way of an analogy…. When you die…you do not know it … only the people around you realize it…the same as when you talk stupid

47. I like that one Lawson, it is probably not original but it piques the thought processes.

Which is why i asked you to be banned because for a man that is not an AC, the polemics you have employed in this article, of late, which seek to trivialize Lisa’s position on garbage being deposited in her place of business, to the simplistic reasoning about what she said her business was doing, befuddles me.

To whom much is given, much is due, and you should not lie down with Brass Bowls or you will become a brass bowl by osmotic association

48. BTW I also cast that vote under your submission to say that I liked what you said, did I do good?

49. PUDR One year a friend came to visit me in Barbados, a few days before while installing a light fixture outside at minus 30 he dropped it and cut his nose off .I cant remember how many stitches it took to get it back on , but he looked like claude rains when I picked him up at the airport. For days we would get drunk at the bar and rant and rave how he should sue Peerless the fixture maker for not fixing the sharp edges on the fixture, sue the home owner for buying this piece of junk that he wanted installed pay for ruining his trip
    Finally somebody got sick of hearing us go on and on came over and said I do a lot of this labor stuff ….did you have a hardhat on…ranting and raving over. When all is said and done you cant just go crazy over the end result you have to look at all the pieces, many people could have played a part in this outcome and blame meted out as such.