Submitted by Ras Jahaziel
www.rastafarivisions.com
http://www.rastafarivisions.com

At this epoch of Mankind’s evo­lu­tion, where democ­racy and respect for human rights are being immor­tal­ized as indis­pen­si­ble virtues which every soci­ety must pos­sess and are uni­ver­sal yard­sticks by which the actions of gov­ern­ments are mea­sured, it is almost incon­ceiv­able that there are still those who con­tinue to reject the idea of repa­ra­tions for descen­dants of African slaves. Recently, a book on the sub­ject by Pro­fes­sor Sir Hilary McD. Beck­les, pro-​vice chan­cel­lor at the UWI Cave Hill cam­pus a lead­ing activist and eco­nomic his­to­rian was pub­lished. Enti­tled Britain Black Debt: Repa­ra­tions for Caribbean Slav­ery and Native Geno­cide, it sets out a com­pelling case for Repa­ra­tions from Britain which can­not be coun­ter­acted by any of the sophisms and spe­cious rea­sons posited by cyn­i­cal detractors.

Read full submission

284 responses to “The Path to REPARATIONS”

1. Moneybrain said:

The Moors ruled Spain NOT Europe, barely advanced a few miles into France although they were in Spain for hundreds of years.

Actually some historians believe the Moors were in England also, but that is debatable.

Money….the same goes for you, don’t let your love for Africa be influenced by minerals or money….LOL!!!

John…..if we can get the world to realize we are only humans, particularly the narcissists who believe they own and control the earth and the people on it, we would not even now be debating this mess.

2. @WW
    Actually Nth African “pirates” went as far as Iceland raping and pillaging the coast. They were not colonisers though.

3. Money…..no they were not, they were just ruthless and turned out to be also dumb.

4. MoneyBrain | October 16, 2013 at 8:46 PM |

@WW
    Actually Nth African “pirates” went as far as Iceland raping and pillaging the coast. They were not colonisers though.

…… they just took captives who they took back to Africa as slaves. Sometimes they would ransom them.

Egypt is another case in point.

The Sultans had European Military Slaves … the Mamelukes.

Problem is the Mamelukes being so war like, soon overthrew their owners and then ruled Egypt for centuries.

They have a place in history for they stopped the Mongols in Saudi Arabia.

They also defeated the Crusaders.

Their cavalry was among the best in the world.

Their last battle was the Battle of the Pyramides …… a defeat against Napoleon in 1798.

It is commemorated in Paris on “L’Arc de Triomphe” ….. hope my French spelling is right as is Austerlitz.

In fact Napoleon recruited some of the same Mamelukes into the French Army where they served with distinction at the Battle of Austerlitz, 1805.

….. and so, dna’s spread and spread as people moved around in this world and shared their blood.

….. lesson taking from memories of Captain Hutt and his epic tests, Harrison College, 1968/69 ….. and the internet!!!!!

5. The Moor conquest got as far as Tours in France before they were turned back at the Battle of Tours, 732 by the Franks.

They fell back to Spain.

6. Was Hannibal really black?

7. Well Well there has never been anything recessive in my jeans, having said that , the only reason Hannibal crossed the alps was the Phoenicians told him there was white pussy over there, I don’t care if I am part black, Asian ,Swedish, Goth. etc it doesn’t matter ,anybody with a snippet of intelligence knows what is the end result for us as a planet is . Party till its over

8. Boots Riley from the Coup* breaks it down
    Whether its Obama or McCain, Boots says we should have a plan of action to force politicians to do right by us…

How do you want your imperialism?
    Do you want a pretty black face
    or do you want an old ugly white face

9. This is the link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5itBgiz35T8 that should get the Battle of tours.

10. …. and just to keep our perspective, there are more people in slavery today than were taken out of slavery over the 14 centuries of first the Saharan and then the Atlantic trade!! …..At least if this link is to be believed!!

http://news.msn.com/world/30-million-people-are-slaves-half-in-india

11. @John

What hell is the matter with you?

The Descendents of slaves in the Caribbean have decided to fight this fight. What we need to hear are the details how they intend to push the claim.

12. David…..the point is who qualifies as a descendant….what criteria is to be used……

13. “the point is who qualifies as a descendant….what criteria is to be used……”
    ==
    You haven’t won anything yet
    but you have already lost in your mind

remember you are not “winning” anything except most basic human right

the court system has been set up for this sort of “adversarial legal fight”

You can worry about qualifying when you have won your basic rights and can top up your sun tan blackness for the money due

14. @Vincent

To the earlier comment, we need to hear more about the tactics the Caricom Reparations Committee plan to adopt. This where our inquiry needs to be.

15. We continue to ignore the complexity of the issue…examples….
    London Bourne an African slave bought himself out and owned three plantations and slaves,he had children the progeny of some are still here.
    Julian claims that his family(which includes COW)are descended from a black slave somewhere along the line.
    ….would they qualify?

16. @Vincent H
    This whole issue is exceedingly complex. The best solution would probably be to invest in Education via Computer Labs etc and Health Care in majority Black Communities in the Cbean and Nth Am. Direct investing helping those who should be assisted without the ridiculous complexity of deciding who receives individually or how much and by passing Pols who would thief it!

17. It is a wonderful time to sue for reparations, although it should have been done much, much earlier…….regardless if slavery started in the year dot, it only became illegal when the same Europeans put laws in place to end slavery, i am sure trying to protect themselves from becoming enslaved, plus it had become unprofitable and their guts was filled to capacity….those same laws should be used to guarantee success for reparations, after all it’s only been a couple hundred years….the legal beagles need to go for it.

18. Well Well
    Universal Declaration of Human Rights
    Subsequent Human Rights Laws could and should also be raised in petition Statement of Facts identifying transgressions rife, blacks slaves were human for the record

Article 4 No slavery
    Article 5 No torture
    http://www.humanrights.com/what-are-human-rights/violations-of-human-rights/slavery-and-torture.html

19. Yeah……Kiki, the vehicle is right there, it only needs to be driven.

20. A global slavery index has just been created, to date there are 30 million people enslaved worldwide, at least that they know about. India heads the list of a few they mentioned:

India 14 million
    China 2.9 million
    Mauratania
    Pakistan
    Nigeria
    Haiti child slavery

I would bet anything that most of these people are enslaved so that the rich western nations can continue to achieve dirt cheap labor and delude themselves and others into thinking that they higher up, better off, richer than and superior to…………they are nothing but a bunch of leeches on the earth.

More the reason to continue that reparations lawsuit for the Caribbean islands.

21. David | October 17, 2013 at 7:02 AM |

What hell is the matter with you?

The Descendents of slaves in the Caribbean have decided to fight this fight. What we need to hear are the details how they intend to push the claim.

But they did not talk to me so don’t be going around talking like it was some kind unanimous decision …. it wasn’t!!!

If you really look hard you will find it is a clique that doesn’t give a damn about me but would seek to use my name to justify their actions.

That’s why I said I would apply to be specifically removed from any application which might seek to infer I gave it my support, as a descendant of African Slaves in the Caribbean who were victims of the trans Atlantic Slave trade..

However, now I realise the scope of slavery as it exists today I would modify my position to one which would seek resources from those who can afford to ameliorate the condititions of those currently enslaved, whether they are my cousins in West Africa or India ……. or wherever.

….. and I would not be looking to fight, rather to persuade.

Why can’t the same people who seek to fight not get up off their asses and go looking for help to improve the situation as it exists now.

I associate none of the characters with acts of charity.

Look at Bill Gates and Warren Buffet and Oprah Winfrey and God alone knows who else.

People do have consciences and will stand up and be counted …. and … the thing is, once they do help comes with little delay.

22. @John

Here is what to do, write a letter to Caricom Reparations Committee c/o Sir Hilary Beckles asking that you do not want to benefit.

23. David

You don’t understand my position. It isn’t as simple as “I don’t want to benefit” anymore.

Let me ask a simple question.

If slavery is so abhorrent and Historians estimate that 22 to 30 million people were taken from Africa over 14 centuries, how in God’s name can we ignore 30 million human beings who are today slaves and seek money for ourselves who are not?

Hilary Beckles and the Reparations committee should be shame.

My old Granny would have told them that long ago.

I must be dumb to have not spotted quicker just how horrible a set of people we must be.

Hilary Beckles and the Reparations Committee can go screw (up) themselves but I ain’t having no part of them!!

24. There is a dearth of women of marriageable age in China because female foetuses are aborted or female newborns either killed at birth or abandoned. In a one-child society such as China’s, males are preferred. The urge to procreate leads Chinese men to find women of other races to provide progeny, family is very important in China. There is a big problem of female abduction in China by men who are unable to find wives in their own region, due to the lack of females. There is a thriving trade in kidnapping brides from distant provinces where there is no shortage of women.
    Do not be fooled, the Chinese despise all other races, particularly the black. When they migrate to other countries they do integrate if they have to but back in China, black people are regarded with suspicion and disdain. Slavery in China? Yes indeed, for millennia.

25. People should shut up about China.. European Crimes cannot be diverted like in the old days

(The person who started banging on about China in previous thread is married to one)

MoneyBrain | October 13, 2013 at 2:48 PM |

@KIKI
    The real problem today is NOT WHITE Cunts alone. It is Chinese CREAMY/ YELLOW Cunts and the BLACK Cunt Leaders in Africa who are in the process of RAPING MOTHER AFRICA!

26. @KIKI
    You are correct.

De Nial is a rather long river in Africa?

False assessments of reality and motivations tend to bring serious problems.BUT the vast majority either have to figure that out after the fact or never. I respect your right to make your choice of view, no matter how erroneous.

Words to the Wise—-I would’nt make any major purchase on the basis of receiving a large sum of $$$$ for your share of Reparations anytime soon.

27. @Victor
    Please man, KIKI is a young inexperienced Dreamer who just does NOT want to learn the Truth, YOU MUST DESIST! LOL

MB is thought of as some evil manipulator, potential conqueror and divider in order to SAVE WHITEY! Please dont attempt to tell him the TRUTH which is ALL RACES have LARGE numbers of racists in their midst to say nothing about Same Race FRAGMENTERS who will say and do anything for Power and Money! OH NO, ONLY Whitey is capable of such! LOL LOL

28. Oddball ‘Skull 5’ Fossil Suggests Early Humans Belonged To Same Species

LiveScience  |  By Charles Q. ChoiPosted: 10/17/2013 3:55 pm EDT

GET SCIENCE NEWSLETTERS:
    SUBSCRIBE
    FOLLOW:
    Archaeology, Evolution, Ancient Human Skull, Anthropology, Biology, Daily Discovery, Human Ancestors, Human Evolution, Human Skull Georgia, Paleontology, Prehistoric Skull, Prehistory, Skull 5,Skull 5 Humans, Science News
    The earliest, now-extinct human lineages, once thought to be multiple species, may actually have been one species, researchers now controversially suggest.
    Modern humans, Homo sapiens, are the only living member of the human lineage,Homo, which is thought to have arisen in Africa about 2 million years ago at the beginning of the ice age, also referred to as the Pleistocene Epoch. Many extinct human species were thought to once roam the Earth, such as Homo habilis, suspected to be among the first stone-tool makers; the relatively larger-brained Homo rudolfensis; the relatively slender Homo ergaster; and Homo erectus, the first to regularly keep tools it made.
    To learn more about the roots of the human family tree, scientists investigated a completely intact, approximately 1.8-million-year-old skull excavated from the medieval hilltop town of Dmanisi in the Republic of Georgia. Archaeological excavations there about 30 years ago unexpectedly revealed that Dmanisi is one of the oldest-known sites for ancient human species out of Africa and the most complete collection of Homo erectus skulls and jaws found so far. The world’s largest, extinct cheetah species once lived in the area, and scientists cannot rule out whether it fed on these early humans.
    An artist’s conception revealing what “Skull 5” may have looked like some 1.8 million years ago when he (the scientists suspect the remains come from a male) lived.
    This fossil, the most massively built skull ever found at Dmanisi, is the best-preserved fossil of an early human species discovered yet. It probably belonged to a male, and its right cheekbone has signs that it healed from a fracture. [See Photos of the Dmanisi Skull & Excavation Site]
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/17/skull-5-fossil-early-humans-species_n_4117510.html

29. The reparations lawsuit will hopefully be responsible for not only sending a message to potential enslavers, exploiters who are very much alive today, did i say potential, these leeches ARE still exploiting and enslaving, but will also help in opening the eyes of black politicians, example, how could Haitian president(s) in good conscience live in palaces while their people are enslaved by the Dominicians and their children enslaved by whomever, what kind of vicious leaders is Haiti cursed with, in saying that, the French owes Haiti hundreds of years of reparations money for making them pay for 100 years to be free..

It would pay the current crop of Caribbean leaders to pay special attention to modern day slavery, while the attorneys pursue a class action lawsuit, as Amused suggested, on behalf of individual descendants of the African slave trade perpetrated by the Europeans, i now believe the governments in the Caribbean should be left completely out of the lawsuit, why, cause there is modern day slavery happening right on their doorsteps that they should have known about for years and what did any of them do, including the leaders in Haiti, nothing, maybe they will do the same thing if their own people are re-enslaved.

30. Moneybrain………….in an interesting twist England is seeking aid from China, they need them to invest in England, they don’t care about China’s history of enslaving their own people, England is hitting rock bottom and glad for the Chinese moola.

31. Slave master spit inna dem face dem tek dat wit a smile
    Di banks of the nile so mild and so fertile acres more than a zillion mile

I wouldn’t receive $$$$ my friends would

32. @WW
    Racists beliefs et al are regularly suspended when money is involved!

33. Money Brain (cunt)

34. @John. Your over-emotive comments and amateur attempts to invoke history as well as the almost pathalogically negative views you express on Hilary Beckles makes us all start to believe that you have some sort of personal axe to grind.

As I burn the midnight oil working, I have read with no small degree of astonishment what seems to show that you have lost the plot; but it is arguble that you ever had the plot in the first place.

In today’s Daily Mail Online, there is a report of current slavery worldwide: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2464715/Nearly-30-million-world-slaves-reveals-new-report-India-China-Pakistan-worst-offenders.html .

I note with little surprise that Haiti (a member of Caricom and a potential plaintiff to the reparations law suit) is listed as an offender, according to the Walk Free Foundation.

But it does NOT invalidate the claim of reparation mde by the descendants of victims of the Atlantic Slave Trade. Nor will it invalidate the claims of others currently enslaved against those governments and private indivuals who enslave(d) them. What it does do as far as Caricom is concerned, is to weaken the already tenuous claim that its GOVERNMENTS have to bring an action. I am reminded of the principal of equity that a claimant must come to the court with clean hands. Haiti’s hands ain’t that clean it seems. Nor are the hands of the successor governments in any of the Caricom. But the hands of the (in Haiti) victims and (in all Caricom, including Haiti) descendants ARE clean.

Our beef, those of us who are desdendants of the victims of the Atlantic Slave trade, is with the governments who supported and encouraged that trade. And it is important, as it opens the door to other victims in other parts of the world. It is not our job to step through the door for them.

I continue to maintain that it is an individual matter as part of a class action and if you choose not to opt in, that is up to you. You, in the meantime, would benefit from the ministrations of a good psychiatrist and some meds. I urge you to seek them out.

35. Reparations: do the maths

Cost of 1 Slave at Todays Equivalent Price = $50,000

http://youtu.be/UjuqTJCba-Q

36. Slave
    that’s what they call you and you know its true
    http://youtu.be/M6Geq5mjgmI

37. One thing they could not change
    Is I colour they could never rearrange

Them take I and I from Africa
    and claim say that them a the Ruler
    but Jah Jah Rules Forever

Them change I and I Black Brother way
    Them change I and I Black Sister way
    But one thing they couldn’t change
    Is I Colour I Colour
    http://youtu.be/UhvXIVEOPMY

38. MoneyBrain | October 17, 2013 at 9:10 PM |

@WW
    Racists beliefs et al are regularly suspended when money is involved!

Yes Money……………particularly when said racists are dead broke and are now considering food banks for their population who will be shortly on the verge of starvation if their the government cannot source funds or invade some country for it’s wealth.

39. @KIKI
    You looking to Buy or Sell cunt?

I dont trade in such! Gold, Silver, Stocks etc—YES!

Sometime ago I recommended that since Millions of Black lives were lost in the Atlantic Slave Trade, today’s average Life Insurance coverage of HALF MILLION would be appropriate so why you now DISCOUNTING the value to $50,000?

40. There are limited resources in the world. To fund reparations requires diversion of some of those resources.

Nothing emotional here, simple fact of life.

Anyone involved in Capital Expenditure planning in even the most simple of businesses knows the puzzle.

Barbados routinely boasts of its position in the Human Development Index. The below link allows the reader to analyse by numbers how the various indices vary from country to country.

In 2012, Barbados was 38th in the HDI, Trinidad 67th and Jamaica 85th.

Haiti was 161st, India 136th and Cameroon 150th.

http://hdrstats.undp.org/en/countries/profiles/CMR.html

Why doesn’t the Reparations Committee of Caricom reinvent itself as the Haiti Committee of Caricom and seek to attract resources there?

You say and I quote “Our beef, those of us who are desdendants of the victims of the Atlantic Slave trade, is with the governments who supported and encouraged that trade.”

You do realize I hope that the Atlantic Slave Trade was outlawed back in 1807 and there has already been a bicentennial celebration!! How do you feel about the Government that outlawed it?

Your article quotes the two worst offenders are China and India.

What has any country in Caricom had to say about the government’s of China and India wrt their countries’ participation in modern day slavery?

Silence!!

…… no emotion involved in the above analysis, just cold hard facts of life!!

41. @ MoneyCunt
    I cunted you out for one simple reason

42. @KIKI
    Your LACK of MATURITY? EXPERIENCE? EXPOSURE to other RACES???

43. How do you keep a Cunt in suspense?

44. @KIKI
    By using the word first and last?
    POOR vocabulary afflicting you again?

45. @KIKI
    Dont worry I have PHYSICALLY SUSPENDED many Cunts in my days.

46. We have come a long way since 1807, no doubt about that.

That’s why I feel the thinking behind reparations is totally screwed up.

This is an old one but one my old Granny would have recommended http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AuDg4JELjHA. I believe we should count our blessings and seek to help those less fortunate than ourselves and straighten out our thinking.

I have absolutely no plans of screwing up my thinking.

47. @CU NT
    We’re done Scum
    http://youtu.be/yKnXGJsHNKA

48. @John | October 18, 2013 at 10:18 AM | “I have absolutely no plans of screwing up my thinking.”

There are some who might say that such plans would be repetetive/redundant.