Kammie Holder, Insurance Underwriter

“I would like to say to them, if they are incapable of running this country in such a way as to preserve these fundamental social rights of the Barbadian people – that is the right to free education, the right to free health care – then they should really relinquish the reins of Government and let somebody else try,” – David Commissiong

I Kammie Holder endorse the aforementioned comments  despite the pervasive vindictiveness so evident in Barbados for speaking honestly and having an opposing view. The recent pronouncement by Honourable John Boyce that user fees may have to be introduced at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital QEH seems reactionary.

Below are 8 points why I am against any wholesale fees at QEH without broad consultation as required under servant leadership.

1) It will cause the escalation of Medical Inflation
2) Medical practitioners will use this as an opportunity to raise fees
3) Medical Insurance Premiums will dramatically increase which will see persons with reduced disposable income lapsing their policies.
4) Persons using the QEH are mostly the vulnerable under the income tax regime and not the middle income.
5) Persons with non hereditary Life Style Diseases who have not altered lifestyle should be required to pay some minimum fee for drugs and doctors visits.
6) Introduce a minimum $5 drug dispensing fees which cost less than a salty snack box.
7) Shut down the QEH cafeteria as it now sells the most unhealthy food and thus sending mixed signals to it outpatient patrons.
8) The middle class cannot carry anymore burden and medical insurance premium should be a tax deduction which would allow QEH to benefit from fees that would otherwise go to other institutions.

Minister Boyce please ignore the messenger but not the message, put aside party politics as all I ask is that you consider the above 8 points.

Finally, I sent both you and Minister Inniss a text on using a QEH Lottery to run the hospital. Barbados is a gambling society and the same vulnerable pensioner you want to protect would be able to continue to gamble, win as well as contribute to the running of the QEH.

I note with interest that the Barbados Lottery has a Black Belly Sheep eating money, perhaps to show our ignorance in creating money. Every day the Lottery brags they pay out over $33 million in winnings yearly but never how much they have collected.

Finally, a friend said good idea but politicians most likely get donations from the lotteries and will not do anything to cut the hand that feed them. I don`t believe him because we have politicians who put country first and cannot be easily bought and this idea will be embraced.

Remaining silent in a participatory democracy is like not voting!

104 responses to “No to QEH Fees!”

1. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Kammie, you say “Persons using the QEH are mostly the vulnerable under the income tax regime ” and then in the same breath suggest “Introduce a minimum $5 drug dispensing fees “.
    It is amazing that the same people like Publicicty loving Commissiong who called for “urgent action” to cut expenditure and reduce the fiscal imbalance expect that to be achieved without the two biggest areas of expenditure in the Bajan budget being addressed.
    Everyone wants to get to heaven but no one wants to die.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Finally, I sent both you and Minister Inniss a text on using a QEH Lottery to run the hospital. Barbados is a gambling society and the same vulnerable pensioner you want to protect would be able to continue to gamble, win as well as contribute to the running of the QEH.”

Now tell us more Mr. Holder, about this brilliant idea of yours. How do you see it working?
    We are certain that both Ministers and even the PM will commend you highly for such an ‘outside-the-box’ proposal emanating from your highly creative imagination.

We wish you luck.
    The poor unlucky lowly miller.

3. when did “Freeness” become a right. a govt has a responsible and a duty of safeguarding and preserving those state run entities that are vital to the heart and socio welfare of a country in one form or another, preservation does not necessarily entitles or gives one a free pass ,of most importance would be making sure that the socioeconomic and welfare of these bodies remain in tact and are functioning and always available,

4. If it is true that the majority of Barbadians support the DLP historically then I have a problem with saying that Barbadians are sensible people.

Barbadians should support the party that does the best for Barbadians. The Democratic Labour Party is a waste of time and the only thing that they achieved when in Power from the 1971 is to set Barbados back -”de-progress” Barbados , “depress Barbados” and down-grade Barbados and Barbados’s economy.

After all of this people still vote for them. What does that they say about you people. Richie Haynes ditched the DLP and many more ditched the DLP. What is ist about the DLP that people still vote for them. They like people whoo punish them. Black people are conditioned to ‘love ‘ people who treat them BAD !!! –and that is very evident.
    When is the DLP going to do something ‘good’ ?

The DLP has not performed since 1961 /1971
    and people still vote for them. Must be ignorant and foolish sheeple.None more so than the ignorant foolish bewitched people in ST. JOHN !!!! – I IS NOT A BLP operative. I is just a Barbadian wanting the best for Barbados. I is -JUST ASKING –

THE STINKING DLP

5. THIS GOVERNMENT IS THE WORST GOVERNMENT IN HISTORY

6. We have a National Insurance Scheme (NIS) which has worked quite well since 1967.

We should have instituted a National Health Insurance Scheme at the same time. We were short sighted and we did not do so.

However it is not to late to correct our errors.

Moving forward we must create a national health insurance scheme. We must do a proper actuarial study.

How much does it cost to run the hospital?

How much to run the polyclinics?

Etc. etc.

Once we have the numbers we, that is the government acting on our behalf, should set up a national health insurance plan.

Every Bajan who is living in Barbados should be issued a proper identification card which will permit her/him access to the tax payer funded health insurance system

We all pay in a bit as soon as we start to work and we continue to pay in for the rest of our lives. Companies pay in a bit on behalf of their employees. NIS pensioners pay in a bit out of their pensions. Self employed people including tradesmen, doctors, lawyers, prostitutes and drug dealers pay in a bit out of their earnings.

BECAUSE IT IS FUNDAMENTALLY UNJUST TO EXPECT THE SICK AND THE POOR TO PAY FOR THEIR OWN HEALTH CARE.

For example I am in my 7th decade and have never used the QEH. My dear friend who had lupus was hospitalized half a dozen times a year for about 25 years. ( In her whole life she spent about 500 days in hospital. I in contrast have spent about 10 days in hospital) There is no way she could have afforded user fees because her very serious illness and her frequent hospitalizations prevented her from holding a steady job, from running a business, and from purchasing private health insurance. However she did work a whenever she was able, but in her whole life she was never been able to work 40 hours per week for 50 weeks a year.

Because one of these day we will become sick.

And notwithstanding the criticism of national health insurance systems, please note that even in the very robust U.S. economy serious illness is the leading cause of personal bankruptcy.

Which is why President Obama is pushing so hard to have the “Affordable Health Care Act” passed (that piece of legislation which conservatives call Obama care)

Really publicly funded health insurance systems is the only way left to go

Of we can go back to Barbados <1938

And then we will have riots in the land again.

The choice is still ours.

7. Ever bake a cake?

I used to watch my grandmother bake as a wee babe, figuratively speaking, watch her add the eggs, butter, sugar, essence and all the rest of essentials.

Then, after licking the yellow and white bowl of the batter left in the bowl, I would watch as the delicacy came out of the oven, and enjoy yet another delicacy.

I liken the problem that our economy is experiencing to that cake that Gran made. When all of the ingredients were there, the cake was impeccable but it was only during the hard times, the world war(s) that, irrespective of how close you were to the bowl, that the taste of the cake faltered and you knew it had less flour or that the butter came from our goat’s milk.

The “cake of our economy” with its essential services of free education, free health care, free school meals etc has been faltering for a time much longer than this current DLP administration is being blamed for but few have the balls to say this.

Previous administrations have been responsible for “raping our cake” of its necessary ingredients and, being the disingenuous politicians they are, unlike Gran, are incapable of substitutiing molasses for sugar, goat milk butter, breadfruit/cassava flour alternatives.

We have, (and continue to) elected politicians and manned our public service with brassbowls who are incapable of thinking of substitutes post our glorious independence years.

THe reason that E W Barrow was a genius is that he baked a cake of change that, for its time, satisfied our palate, but as with all things, the ingredients have been withering and are no longer available in the market place.

Sugarcane and Tourism, staples to our cake of this Barbadian economy, have gone the way of the donkey cart, even while we are watching the cake being made.

THis is why Goddards is to be admired, for in realising that the bowl of the local economy is dwindling, they went outside for more ingredients. That is why Chefette is not a Goddards. Only parasites increase their population on a dying carcass.

It is unfortunate that the DLP is in charge of “baking the cake” at this time, for one major reason, it will not get to bake a cake for 20 years hence. That is sad, for Barbados SHOULD ALWAYS HAVE an alternative party to revert to when the other incompetents F UP.

I do hope that, people like Kammie Holder can stand back and look at the cake and see that we Bajans are the ones fully responsible for who we appoint to bake our cake, from either side of this BLP/DLP divide.

Every one of us is responsible for safeguarding the ingredients, the indolent public service, the wuk up youth and the workers in corporate Bulbados that Brugadown Johnson talk bout and get accuse of being racist.

8. Every now and again, i get a really good joke and laugh out loud.

Unfortunately, when you do these guffaws at 12.30 a.m, when people are sleeping, your neighbours does look at you real strange, especially you already got the reputation of being that “strange old man wid de wife that is like Mother Theresa”

Whu she does see in he doah? Man he like he use some obeah pun she causing he is a real character, cussing en carrying on when he get rile up”

David Commissiong.

Defender of the Faith!!

A man who had incredibly found his balls during the DLP administration and who suckled on the teats of the BLP, oops, you know that when you are miles up in the air, things appear different and what seems like teats might be balls.

During the Seethru years, DC NEVER, EVER HAD the intestinal fortitude to make ONE PUBLIC STATEMENT OF DISSENT when Owen was on the throne!

And now, Sir Galahad Commissiong rushes into the fray to fight for the common man

THe problem is that many Bajans see him hugging the Cuban drug dealer and consider Commmissiong to be champion of the underdog but, where was this champion when those Nigerians were incarcarated for 2 years just being on a chartered plane to Bulbados??

Oh please, dis ole man know de real story, not the sanitized one, so doan leh we go dere wid he and David Denny.

Time has a way of washing us in the Blood of the Lamb for as people around us descend 6ft for that last voyage of the flesh, by a wondrous process which i call “de recollections of those Alzheimer’s citizens dat left” men and women, formerly scamps, vagabonds and whores, are transformed into Beings of Light”

“Asperges me, Domine hypsope et mundabor, lavabis me et super nivem, dealbabor”

“Right on David, right on”

9. I remain baffled as to how the government can continue to pay those bills for free health care at the QEH. The bills there make those at UWI look like monopoly play. $70000 per year each dialysis patient x 300, $5000 to $30000 surgeries each day, millions in medication and medical supplies each year, food @ $60.00 per day for over i0000 persons, thousands in electricity and water per month, millions in high end equipment, salaries for varying experts– technicians, doctors, nurses, skilled artisans, pharmacists, diet specialists and countless others. We have to get real. Forget the alarmist David Come– Along. Barbadians have to get their boat in shape. Stop drinking so much rum and buy health insurance . We have been bred on a diet of freeness, government reliance and are irresponsible. Each is responsible for himself. Your tax dollars can only go so far. Moreover a lot of witless brutes around here work and pay not a single cent in income tax or NIS. The faeces have now hit the oscillator. More over the middle class are the beast of burden of this country. They pay income tax, vat, NIS, road tax, land tax and still keep medical insurance. But too many of us are neglecting our duty to ourselves and country. While I am at it The QEH authorities must get serious with all non bajans receiving care at the place and not paying. Care must be cut off if money is not forth coming. This must happen before they come to bajans for money. You cannot have foreigners eating for free and bajans paying . I know that this state of affairs currently exist at a high money eating unit of the QEH. I shall be watching for some of these persons currently get better care than bajans Next time around I shall call names. I know the facts . A lot of stealing occurs there also. That has to be curtailed. Largely the staff are excellent and proficient in their endeavours. That I know too. It has the potential to be a greater health facility. WE must all contribute to its operations but those non nationals must pay up front and it has to be stringently enforced. Any persons flouting such orders must be sent packing.

10. Lighthouse wrote

” More over the middle class are the beast of burden of this country. They pay income tax, vat, NIS, road tax, land tax and still keep medical insurance.”

When the middle class collapses financially who will pay?

11. These two intellectually and politically bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP factions have been helping substantially to bring Barbados to a second rate Third World Developing status.

Some very despicable ways in which they have been doing so, are by their – whenever they are holding the reins of governmental office in this country – putting in place, or maintaining, laws and policies and programs that are, or continue to be – on an every day basis in Barbados – in absolute flagrant breach of the following twelve (12) fundamental axiomatic principles (just below) that concern MONEY and its uses in the country.

These principles are:

1) Money CANNOT be owned individually, ONLY collectively by the people of Barbados;

2) Money CANNOT (be used to) make Money itself, NOR can it (be used to) cost Money itself;

3) Money, or its uses, CANNOT give rise to Money debt – nothing can anyhow;

4) Money CANNOT be used to pay back Money debt – which itself CAN NEVER exist;

5) Money CANNOT represent nominal incomes, nominal payments and nominal transfers, WITHOUT the actualization of attendant uses by the relevant people, of the relevant other people, resources, assets, psychologized digitized subjective value (so-called prices), etc, in the processes of the bringing of, the possessing of, the disposing of such incomes, payments, transfers in the context of the commercial business market systems in Barbados and beyond;

6) Money that is used in the process of the production and distribution of wealth, assets and other commercial tangibles and intangibles in the country, is indeed Money that helps to do so; but, however, there are NO incomes, payments, or transfers got in their respective circumstances that CAN do so – however big or small they appear – however much they are saved or not, institutionally or not ;

7) Money, or it uses, CANNOT be created by those written, print, electronic methods that are used by the relevant persons to express nominal incomes, nominal payments or nominal transfers in Barbados; ONLY by actually making it, minting it, etc – and thereafter the relevant people using it whenever wheresoever;

8) Money in order to be used in any commercial business transactional context must first be generally acceptable by most people as legal tender – what this implies, along with some other facts to the contrary, is that Money is NOT a medium of exchange;

9) Money CANNOT be TAXED by the government – ONLY nominal incomes, nominal payments and nominal transfers in the industrial commercial realms in this island, despicably sickeningly criminally, however;

10) Money CANNOT be spent – or used up – by persons, businesses and other entities including government, on the whole, on other persons, on other businesses, and on other entities, in contexts where the former do NOT get MARKET INCOME or MARKET PAYMENTS out of the commercial business activities that they are involved in;

11) Increases or decreases in the amount of Money (local) in circulation in the country, CANNOT increase or decrease or maintain the real actual cost of use of Money in the country; and

12) The mere use of Money, by its users, as a special unique non-tradeable, non-consumable, usable, measurable, socio-psychologically reactable to, physical commodity, in the commercial business transactional processes of the production and distribution of goods and services, CANNOT bring about any increases, decreases, or maintenances, in the levels of the real actual cost of use of Money in the country.

12. I ain’t calling no names, but some people does mek me sick wid dis talk bout free. De effing guvment doan wuk fuh a fucking cent so it can’t gih nuhbody anything fuh free. Free healthcare and education my ass!

De people rasshole taxes dat dem lickout was supposed to cover every fuck dat supposed to get cover. Dat was de agreement. Talking bout we taxes can’t do it all. Whose fault is dat. Who tell wunna bite off more than we could chew. We know dat wunna so ripping we off whe de days come. No service and no value fuh money. That is all we getting from dis guvment

When wunna tek de people money and buying de biggest rasshole rides Kffyin could import to pimp bout in, wunna din noh dat we taxes kunt cover um?
    When wunna decide to rent office space from the Biz Whiz, wunna check to find out weh de money wud come from?
    When wunna tekking up people gud money to splurge pon football matches and constituency councils, blow and still blowing millions in Warrens (de traffic situation still ain’t nuh blasted better),after wunna raise vat, road taxes, water rates (BWA still looking fuh money), fuel prices and sell out Bajans by selling Light n Power shares and introduce dispensing fees for dispensing shite medication, wunna really tink dat people want to hear bout paying fuh QEH service?

I agree wid de jump pon, wunna worst dan a jugga jugga dat cut out in de middle of Horse Hill.

13. @Ping Pong

We all pay when the tax base is eroded by its deminishing returns because it then points to the inability of the country to be productive to support a lifestyle it wants on a sustainable basis.

14. Now the Bush Doctors and Obeah men will be getting setting up shop at every corner to dispense their brand of medicine. Lawd dis guvernment got be rassholes. Dem put out a budget and didn’t know how it will affect the citizenry. I have never in my life seen and experienced such a backward and incompetent bunch as this present government. BAJANS PLEASE OPEN WUNNA EYES AND EARS and tek wunna heads outta de political parties backsides!

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright!!! | September 23, 2013 at 12:15 AM |
    “THis is why Goddards is to be admired, for in realising that the bowl of the local economy is dwindling, they went outside for more ingredients. That is why Chefette is not a Goddards. Only parasites increase their population on a dying carcass.”

‘Only parasites increase their population on a dying carcass.’
    What a turn of phrase? Where do you dive in the vast intellectual sea to find these pearls of wisdom aka commonsense?

It boggles the mind why Chefette has not spread its wings at least to the regional market.
    If it is deterred by the investment risks and bribery required to grease the palms of the crooked politicians couldn’t a franchise type strategy be arranged similar to the KFC to allow native business people in the individual territories to be the front for the Chefette brand?

KFC started out with a black woman frying ‘finger licking’ chicken in Louisville birthplace of Muhammad Ali (Louisville Lips) and the small business concept exploited by a white businessman called Sanders. Why can’t a similar expansionary strategy be adopted by the Chefette owners but with the workers having shares in the business from their bonus payments as part of their commitment to the viability of the business on the passing of its so-called founder?

We see the fast food business as a source of tax revenues to help fund the pending health crisis in Barbados. Let those with vision be proactive and impose initially a ‘small’ fat tax (to phase in the revised “Sin” tax regime in place of the dying cigarette trade).

What do you say, Sage?
    “Gloria Patri et Filio et Spiritui Sancto Sicut erat in principio, et nunc, et semper, et {vectigal} in saecula saeculorum. Amen”.

16. Leff Cheffette alone please!
    A lot of poor people would starve in these times if there wasn’t a Cheffette restaurant nearby.
    Who ever said it is better to be a “big fish in a small pond than to be a small fish in a big pond” probably didn’t know what he was talking about, right?
    15 down and 15 more to go.

17. David,
    I like the new header, congratulations.

I am getting like JUST ASKING………….I am tired talking about the ignorance this DLP is doing. Everyday you get up and wonder what next? One would have thought that this DLP who had a cure for ALL the so called ills Barbados faced before they came to power, they had ALL the answers and now cannot get not one fixed. far more, things have grown so badly that every sector is out of control. Did not the Minister who believes he is the circus clowns said that he fixed QEH and all was well. Remember how he used to cuss William Duguid every time he rose to speak in the House?

Now this morning Donville Inniss is saying that lack of confidence in the government is nothing new and as usual he goes back to OSA. Never take responsibility for anything and they have been the government for six years. His best buddy in the gang of 11 who wanted to oust the PM read what whomever wrote the budget………..it was him who.told Barbadians that people have lost confidence in the government.

I thought the outspoken Minister would have used the occasion yesterday to to tell Barbadians what or if anything has been done to correct the error he pointed out in the “municipal” tax levied on Barbadians. I am waiting to see what is the true rate used for the consolidated tax in a few days when I see my pay slip. Stinkliar read one thing and the IR announced another. As we know it, it has to be what the MOF read in the House………….we shall see!

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Leff Dem | September 23, 2013 at 7:57 AM |

You are a boss. Who taught you to write in such sweet vernacular terms?
    Many genuine Bajan people could speak it but to write it in such mellifluous style and pleasing to the eyes is a rare literary skill.

Please continue in order to keep the language alive.
    Let us work together on a project to compile a compendium of cuss words and phrases unique to Bajans for posterity. Jamaica might have done a similar thing.

Let us start with Bushie’s “Brass bowls”.
    We can also welcome the contributions from ac and Islandgal with special consultancy of an editorial nature from our resident sage PODRYR.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | September 23, 2013 at 9:38 AM |

Let me also congratulate David BU for the attractively presented header.

In regard to the DLP Cabinet ministers making conflicting pronouncements that contradict one another and create confusion not only among the local lay population but also among investors and international lenders and their associates in the credit rating agency business.

For example, we recently read the PM during his visit to Canada confirming his government having no plans of privatizing the Airport. What is he implying here? The same thing he implied with regard to the UWI fees prior to February 2013 along with many broken promises? Is he flying a kite to prepare the way for the forced sale of GAIA to secure those much promised foreign loans to shore up the dwindling foreign reserves?

Is he going against his Minister of Finance budgetary announcement and proposal to sell off some of the government’s holdings in the GAIA?
    The following extract represented his government position in the2012 budget:

“Undertake an Initial Public Offering of 30% of the shares of Grantley Adams International Airport Inc, the Oil Company and Barbados Port Authority, and the listing of these companies on the Barbados Stock Exchange. Over the next few months, a valuation of the entities will be undertaken and the IPO process initiated. The listing of these three major entities on the stock exchange will serve to inject some much needed life in the exchange. The IPO process will be undertaken in a manner that will ensure broad share ownership which promotes economic democracy and market liquidity.”

20. “Prime Minister Richard Sealy”
    LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL

——————————–
    Yaaaaaaaaagga ==Pon Top

21. David,

It is clear that you are not studying the above twelve (12) fundamental axiomatic principles.

For, if you had been studying such you would have been able to glean there form that there is NO such thing as a TAX base.

What there is, though, is a certain series of innumerable despicable RELATIONSHIPS that exist between the government of Barbados and many other people, businesses and others in this country, whereby this government is criminally found to be NOT ONLY stealing countless portions of the incomes, payments and transfers of the said people, businesses and other entities on an ongoing basis, BUT is ALSO found to be forcing – by way of its own criminal sanction – those said people, businesses and other entities to hand over to it – out of their own incomes, payments and transfers – those amounts in representative results (in most cases money) in evil wicked abominable TAXATION that it will have so wickedly sought to and will have eventually got.

Moreover, it is the same MONEY CIRCULATION PROCESS that is used across various industrial commercial business contexts, and from which money is being used and ever recycled (circulated) and partly as evidence of this evil wicked direct income, payments and transfer TAXATION.

Ironically, the truth is that with the recent new Barbados currency coming on stream in June of this year, it has too meant an increase in the money (local) base of this country – but a decrease (and rightly so) in evil wicked TAXATION for this intellectual politically bankrupt and decrepit DLP government.

So, fundamentally the question therefore must be about all kinds of users of it – including the government – in Barbados securing and actually having the use of money as a means of paying for the use of it out of their own income, payment and transfer remunerations ( in the case of government, it constantly steals the others remunerations to facilitate its doing so – not the only method though), and as a means of their representing their own income, payment and transfer remunerations in whatever contexts in this country.

The fact of the real actual cost of money (local) reaching alarmingly outrageously high levels in this country, means that there will be consequently – on that basis alone ( but there are other bases though still) less and less use of money from out of the money stock to represent nominal incomes, nominal payments and nominal transfers (and less evidence too of the use of it by the relevant people to represent evil wicked TAXATION) in the commercial business contexts of this country.

22. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

@Leff Dem
    “after wunna raise vat, road taxes, water rates (BWA still looking fuh money), fuel prices and sell out Bajans by selling Light n Power shares and introduce dispensing fees for dispensing shite medication, wunna really tink dat people want to hear bout paying fuh QEH service?”

Let certain misguided people know. What is perceived to be free bout here is paid for in taxes. Now they’ve taxed us to the brim but not a thing ayn getting better, them getting worse. Now to come and tell we fees for QEH?

As Ive always said all those jokers know to do is tax and pull a fat cheque, then turn round and call we the unproductive and ungrateful ones. They are some of the worst employees.

23. About the header a big thanks, it is not new although seldom used.

24. After reading the today’s Nation I am convinced that Government is contemplating selling the Airport and CBC. You should recall the PM’s stance on free university education and look what happened.

25. David. David. Prodical fool you. He just like the MoF reading and ain’t see a big mistake. I thought it should be Barbados Underground. However, it is displayed Undergeround. I understand graphics can look good but a spelling mistake destroys it.

26. millertheanunnaki | September 23, 2013 at 9:40 AM |

@ Leff Dem | September 23, 2013 at 7:57 AM |

You are a boss. Who taught you to write in such sweet vernacular terms?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I don’t believe you miller approving such distasteful language to get over a point. Do you fell that people wid Leff Dem to align with a dirty mouth.

27. @Caswell

The prime minister has given his word this is not the case.

28. David

If you are that silly, go ahead and rely on the PM’s word.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tell me Why | September 23, 2013 at 11:41 AM |
    You are bringing a moral perspective to the man’s writing style. I am just looking at it from an academic analysis of its linguistic value to a vernacular treated as “inferior” as a means of communicating.

To use a red herring to entice you away from the man’s style and encourage you to focus on the substance. Which you would ‘rather’ prefer? A man speaking his mind by writing in a crass but honest manner or a lying deceitful two-faced serpent-tongue hypocrite hiding behind big words and obfuscation as the calypsonian Classic quite aptly put it?

30. I see nothing worng with paying a 5 dollar or 10 dollar if I seek treatment at the QEH.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 23, 2013 at 11:42 AM |
    “The prime minister has given his word this is not the case.”

Then the PM who is supposed to be an honourable man needs to clear the air and clarify if he and his Cabinet have abandoned the proposals announced in the 2012 Budget.
    Any decent leader of integrity would do just that.

We await to see if similar back peddling would be done with regard to RE when the promised Electricity ACT Amendment Bill is debated some time this year.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Kevin | September 23, 2013 at 12:08 PM |
    “I see nothing worng with paying a 5 dollar or 10 dollar if I seek treatment at the QEH.”

Fair enough! Those who can pay by all means pay based on a mix of the value of the benefit they are receiving and their ability to pay.

But what about the unemployed or those not in receipt of incomes?
    What about the children? Would they access the services free or would their parents/guardians be responsible for the user charges?

What provisions would you make for these “vulnerable” groups? You need to explore that side of the situation before being so hard and fast in your conclusion.

33. David

will any Government refuse to school, provide health care, transport or house any so called “poor Black man or woman”? They will continue to get the “free” benefits because they constitute a large voting bloc. However crapaud smoke yuh pipe if you live in a so called heights or terrace. You better look out for your self because those people have money under the their beds.

There are too many who take out much more than they put in. Government’s income is falling. It is at the level of 10 years ago. Can we get blood from a stone?

Leff dem regardless of the profanities has said it well.

@Kevin: Even if every person (270 000) went to the hospital ten times a year and paid $10 each time, the hospital would only collect $27 million. The shortfall is of the order $80 million/year!

User fees could average (i.e. some higher, some, lower) $3000/ person/week.

34. Wow,
    When I look around , I’m amazed that every Tom Dick and Harry have the latest $1500 Iphone and Blackberry and contributing $20 and more to Lime and Digicel profit margin with foreign nexchange going to London and Irelnad for a service that is not necessary . But complaining just becasue you have to pay a liitle $15 for your own health! and help cutdonw on the deficit. Yet still we brag and say we educated!!

35. Today’s Nation says it all and tells all and sundry who are paying attention that this DLP Government is nothing but a farce.Those of us who have recognised the ineptness and the ignorance of this Administration can only come to the conclusion that Stuart is the biggest jackass of a PM we have ever had.Hear the fool:”I have ordered an ongoing analysis on the effects of expenditure cuts announced in last month’s budget,to bring down an unsustainable debt.Research would be done in the month of Sept and by the end of Sept it should be with……so that we can SEE THE IMPACT of the budgetary measures on the Public Service etc”.A visionary and intelligent leader would have done all this in the lead up to to Budget.He goes on to talk such childishness that its patently clear this man is out of his depth long time.Of course the blame game is played.Stuart,we don’t buy your crap.Save it for the mortuary that is at George Street.Do us a favour;leave the leadership of the Government to someone who is capable of leading us out of the morass and inertia that has overtaken the country since you clowns came on the scene.Leave please!

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

In these harsh economic times Countries all over the World are doing what has to be done to increase revenues. Barbados is no exception. Just look at what Bermuda is doing in another area.

BERMUDA

The cash-strapped Corporation of Hamilton is to introduce pay-and-display parking tariffs on all roads in the city in an effort to increase revenues.

And plans for an “aggressive” car clamping policy and an increase in the number of traffic wardens on the streets are also in the pipeline as the municipality struggles to maintain essential infrastructure services.

Next month, parking fees will be introduced to streets that historically motorists have not had to pay to park on, while parking rates will also change.

http://www.royalgazette.com/article/20130923/NEWS/130929911

You would rather that you didn’t have to do these things but you have little choice.

37. Gabriel
    Um is patently obvious that you didn’t help elect Stuartie and can’t live with the thought of a DLP administration. You didn’t put them there so you carry no weight in asking them to leave. So haul ass lil boy.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Gabriel | September 23, 2013 at 1:29 PM |

Our Prime Minister Stuart is head and shoulders above you.

Another thing Gabriel, are you taking over from “Old Onion Bags”?

Your comments are as meaningless as his were!

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

WOW

I support you one hundred percent.

There is a company here in Barbados advertising an expected shipment of new iPhones to the Bajans.

iPhone 5c…………………………….$1,450.00

iPhone 5s……………………………..$1,699.00

You can bet your last dollar that when this shipment of iPhones arrive on our shores that they are not going to be enough even at that ridiculous price.

Too many Bajans are being encouraged to be stupid by the Barbados Labour Party and their supporters.

It is ok to buy a Northface school bag for your 5year at $450.00 but too much to pay $15.00 for a service at the QEH or Polyclinic which might save the little one’s life!

Amazing!!!!!!

Far too many of us are EDUCATED FOOLS and the Barbados Labour Party loves it like that.

40. Hi CCC. I wonder if your university daughter moving with one of the latest phones? Based on your statement, it look as if you will give her a Nokia 100. Good dad.

41. @Ping Pong

We have been living above our means for some time, the protracted recession has exposed our nakedness is all. Buckle up!

42. @Tell Me Why

Thanks for the feedback on the header.

43. Why don’t you people stay focused on the gist of the submission? Is it not obvious what is a troll?

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Tell me Why | September 23, 2013 at 2:42 PM |

My daughter is as sensible as I am. She lives within her means. She does not put her hat higher than she can reach it.

45. @David “has exposed our nakedness is all. Buckle up!”

But David if we are naked we can’t be wearing a belt. Methinks that you are mixing your metaphors.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 23, 2013 at 2:00 PM |
    “There is a company here in Barbados advertising an expected shipment of new iPhones to the Bajans.
    iPhone 5c…………………………….$1,450.00
    iPhone 5s……………………………..$1,699.00 ”

Now if you guys were that smart you would have told the lying buffoon Stinkliar to implement the cell phone tax announced in an earlier budget.
    Here is a gold mine of easy taxation with a fairly inelastic demand curve and you silly guys have given up on it but instead you have gone trawling at the bottom of the fiscal pool to attack the underpaid workers by cutting their reverse tax credits in half and calling them crooks and cheats. What kind of reverse Robin Hood nonsense is that Carrion?

All you guys had to do in order to make the cell phone tax workable was to change the base of tax from a specific rate of $4.00 p/m imposition to one of ad valorem to say 5% of the value of the top-up or on monthly post-paid bill based on the net or pre-VAT value.
    On the other hand you could have introduced a separate of VAT on a range of luxury items or discretionary spending items including cell phones for non-business use.

Come on, Carrion, you need thinkers in the DLP not only yard-fowls like ac, Fractured BLP, Mr. Anti-Nation and yourself.

There is nothing wrong in principle to the introduction of user charges for the services provided by the QEH as long as they are below those charged by the private sector for similar services. But how did you arrive at the magical figure of $15.00? Would that figure apply to people like you CCC- the well-off Constituency Council dictator feeding on the decaying DLP calf- as well as the unemployed or even the people whose reversed tax credits were mercilessly snatched away?
    Why not a range or scale of user charges based on the services to be rendered and the ability to pay by the intended recipients?

Why the hell do we have a CEO pretending to be a doctor of scientific management and hospital administration? Why don’t you apply for the job? We all know full well that many services provided by the QEH will soon be privatized or- to use a more palatable term to ac’s gullibility- ‘outsourced’ with user charges or fees attached. It’s better to do the work “in-house” and ease the pain than to wait until later and have those user charges determined by the IMF or some other external market oriented price-setting agency.

Of course what has been put on the table for further debate is way out of your league and intellectual pay grade since it requires a modicum of commonsense and intellectual energy on your part to think things through. In other words we don’t expect a valid response other than cussing and attacks.

47. Prime Minister is gone off to Canada to get first class medical examination and treatment. The rest of us will have to contend with the inadequacies of the QEH. . “Dems now, Dems again”. Take that Bajans

48. “when did “Freeness” become a right”

When the DLP coalition opposition in their eagerness to win the 1961 elections told the tenants in the government units not to pay the NHC any more rent and the rest has been history since then AC.

49. :”I have ordered an ongoing analysis on the effects of expenditure cuts announced in last month’s budget,to bring down an unsustainable debt.Research would be done in the month of Sept and by the end of Sept it should be with……so that we can SEE THE IMPACT of the budgetary measures on the Public Service etc”.”

I think the Prime Minister was on safer ground when he chose the option of not speaking because the above statement by the Prime minister is a perfect example of one putting one’s foot in one’s mouth. should be advised not to speak on matters about which he does not know.

50. “I see nothing worng with paying a 5 dollar or 10 dollar if I seek treatment at the QEH.”
    Now this administration since coming to office has taxed the citizens of this country to the bone under the guise of a recession and things according to the administration continue to grow worse.

what confidence can I therefore have in the ability of the administration to effectively manage the five or ten that they now want to extract from me for waiting long hours to obtain attention or medication at the QEH.

So my friend the five and ten is not the issue but what if the sore in their view does not improve and needs further treatment and it goes to fifty and hundred. I bet my bottom dollar you would say that people go to the FMH and pay one hundred and twenty and in want to pay a little 50 or 100 to the QEH.

The problem my friend will remain as long as the administration continues to apply doses of bread and fish remedies to serious maladies requiring macroeconomic attention.