“I would like to say to them, if they are incapable of running this country in such a way as to preserve these fundamental social rights of the Barbadian people – that is the right to free education, the right to free health care – then they should really relinquish the reins of Government and let somebody else try,” – David Commissiong
I Kammie Holder endorse the aforementioned comments despite the pervasive vindictiveness so evident in Barbados for speaking honestly and having an opposing view. The recent pronouncement by Honourable John Boyce that user fees may have to be introduced at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital QEH seems reactionary.
Below are 8 points why I am against any wholesale fees at QEH without broad consultation as required under servant leadership.
1) It will cause the escalation of Medical Inflation
2) Medical practitioners will use this as an opportunity to raise fees
3) Medical Insurance Premiums will dramatically increase which will see persons with reduced disposable income lapsing their policies.
4) Persons using the QEH are mostly the vulnerable under the income tax regime and not the middle income.
5) Persons with non hereditary Life Style Diseases who have not altered lifestyle should be required to pay some minimum fee for drugs and doctors visits.
6) Introduce a minimum $5 drug dispensing fees which cost less than a salty snack box.
7) Shut down the QEH cafeteria as it now sells the most unhealthy food and thus sending mixed signals to it outpatient patrons.
8) The middle class cannot carry anymore burden and medical insurance premium should be a tax deduction which would allow QEH to benefit from fees that would otherwise go to other institutions.
Minister Boyce please ignore the messenger but not the message, put aside party politics as all I ask is that you consider the above 8 points.
Finally, I sent both you and Minister Inniss a text on using a QEH Lottery to run the hospital. Barbados is a gambling society and the same vulnerable pensioner you want to protect would be able to continue to gamble, win as well as contribute to the running of the QEH.
I note with interest that the Barbados Lottery has a Black Belly Sheep eating money, perhaps to show our ignorance in creating money. Every day the Lottery brags they pay out over $33 million in winnings yearly but never how much they have collected.
Finally, a friend said good idea but politicians most likely get donations from the lotteries and will not do anything to cut the hand that feed them. I don`t believe him because we have politicians who put country first and cannot be easily bought and this idea will be embraced.
Remaining silent in a participatory democracy is like not voting!
Kammie, you say “Persons using the QEH are mostly the vulnerable under the income tax regime ” and then in the same breath suggest “Introduce a minimum $5 drug dispensing fees “.
It is amazing that the same people like Publicicty loving Commissiong who called for “urgent action” to cut expenditure and reduce the fiscal imbalance expect that to be achieved without the two biggest areas of expenditure in the Bajan budget being addressed.
Everyone wants to get to heaven but no one wants to die.
“Finally, I sent both you and Minister Inniss a text on using a QEH Lottery to run the hospital. Barbados is a gambling society and the same vulnerable pensioner you want to protect would be able to continue to gamble, win as well as contribute to the running of the QEH.”
Now tell us more Mr. Holder, about this brilliant idea of yours. How do you see it working?
We are certain that both Ministers and even the PM will commend you highly for such an ‘outside-the-box’ proposal emanating from your highly creative imagination.
We wish you luck.
The poor unlucky lowly miller.
when did “Freeness” become a right. a govt has a responsible and a duty of safeguarding and preserving those state run entities that are vital to the heart and socio welfare of a country in one form or another, preservation does not necessarily entitles or gives one a free pass ,of most importance would be making sure that the socioeconomic and welfare of these bodies remain in tact and are functioning and always available,
If it is true that the majority of Barbadians support the DLP historically then I have a problem with saying that Barbadians are sensible people.
Barbadians should support the party that does the best for Barbadians. The Democratic Labour Party is a waste of time and the only thing that they achieved when in Power from the 1971 is to set Barbados back -”de-progress” Barbados , “depress Barbados” and down-grade Barbados and Barbados’s economy.
After all of this people still vote for them. What does that they say about you people. Richie Haynes ditched the DLP and many more ditched the DLP. What is ist about the DLP that people still vote for them. They like people whoo punish them. Black people are conditioned to ‘love ‘ people who treat them BAD !!! –and that is very evident.
When is the DLP going to do something ‘good’ ?
The DLP has not performed since 1961 /1971
and people still vote for them. Must be ignorant and foolish sheeple.None more so than the ignorant foolish bewitched people in ST. JOHN !!!! – I IS NOT A BLP operative. I is just a Barbadian wanting the best for Barbados. I is -JUST ASKING –
THE STINKING DLP
THIS GOVERNMENT IS THE WORST GOVERNMENT IN HISTORY
We have a National Insurance Scheme (NIS) which has worked quite well since 1967.
We should have instituted a National Health Insurance Scheme at the same time. We were short sighted and we did not do so.
However it is not to late to correct our errors.
Moving forward we must create a national health insurance scheme. We must do a proper actuarial study.
How much does it cost to run the hospital?
How much to run the polyclinics?
Etc. etc.
Once we have the numbers we, that is the government acting on our behalf, should set up a national health insurance plan.
Every Bajan who is living in Barbados should be issued a proper identification card which will permit her/him access to the tax payer funded health insurance system
We all pay in a bit as soon as we start to work and we continue to pay in for the rest of our lives. Companies pay in a bit on behalf of their employees. NIS pensioners pay in a bit out of their pensions. Self employed people including tradesmen, doctors, lawyers, prostitutes and drug dealers pay in a bit out of their earnings.
BECAUSE IT IS FUNDAMENTALLY UNJUST TO EXPECT THE SICK AND THE POOR TO PAY FOR THEIR OWN HEALTH CARE.
For example I am in my 7th decade and have never used the QEH. My dear friend who had lupus was hospitalized half a dozen times a year for about 25 years. ( In her whole life she spent about 500 days in hospital. I in contrast have spent about 10 days in hospital) There is no way she could have afforded user fees because her very serious illness and her frequent hospitalizations prevented her from holding a steady job, from running a business, and from purchasing private health insurance. However she did work a whenever she was able, but in her whole life she was never been able to work 40 hours per week for 50 weeks a year.
Because one of these day we will become sick.
And notwithstanding the criticism of national health insurance systems, please note that even in the very robust U.S. economy serious illness is the leading cause of personal bankruptcy.
Which is why President Obama is pushing so hard to have the “Affordable Health Care Act” passed (that piece of legislation which conservatives call Obama care)
Really publicly funded health insurance systems is the only way left to go
Of we can go back to Barbados <1938
And then we will have riots in the land again.
The choice is still ours.
Ever bake a cake?
I used to watch my grandmother bake as a wee babe, figuratively speaking, watch her add the eggs, butter, sugar, essence and all the rest of essentials.
Then, after licking the yellow and white bowl of the batter left in the bowl, I would watch as the delicacy came out of the oven, and enjoy yet another delicacy.
I liken the problem that our economy is experiencing to that cake that Gran made. When all of the ingredients were there, the cake was impeccable but it was only during the hard times, the world war(s) that, irrespective of how close you were to the bowl, that the taste of the cake faltered and you knew it had less flour or that the butter came from our goat’s milk.
The “cake of our economy” with its essential services of free education, free health care, free school meals etc has been faltering for a time much longer than this current DLP administration is being blamed for but few have the balls to say this.
Previous administrations have been responsible for “raping our cake” of its necessary ingredients and, being the disingenuous politicians they are, unlike Gran, are incapable of substitutiing molasses for sugar, goat milk butter, breadfruit/cassava flour alternatives.
We have, (and continue to) elected politicians and manned our public service with brassbowls who are incapable of thinking of substitutes post our glorious independence years.
THe reason that E W Barrow was a genius is that he baked a cake of change that, for its time, satisfied our palate, but as with all things, the ingredients have been withering and are no longer available in the market place.
Sugarcane and Tourism, staples to our cake of this Barbadian economy, have gone the way of the donkey cart, even while we are watching the cake being made.
THis is why Goddards is to be admired, for in realising that the bowl of the local economy is dwindling, they went outside for more ingredients. That is why Chefette is not a Goddards. Only parasites increase their population on a dying carcass.
It is unfortunate that the DLP is in charge of “baking the cake” at this time, for one major reason, it will not get to bake a cake for 20 years hence. That is sad, for Barbados SHOULD ALWAYS HAVE an alternative party to revert to when the other incompetents F UP.
I do hope that, people like Kammie Holder can stand back and look at the cake and see that we Bajans are the ones fully responsible for who we appoint to bake our cake, from either side of this BLP/DLP divide.
Every one of us is responsible for safeguarding the ingredients, the indolent public service, the wuk up youth and the workers in corporate Bulbados that Brugadown Johnson talk bout and get accuse of being racist.
Every now and again, i get a really good joke and laugh out loud.
Unfortunately, when you do these guffaws at 12.30 a.m, when people are sleeping, your neighbours does look at you real strange, especially you already got the reputation of being that “strange old man wid de wife that is like Mother Theresa”
Whu she does see in he doah? Man he like he use some obeah pun she causing he is a real character, cussing en carrying on when he get rile up”
David Commissiong.
Defender of the Faith!!
A man who had incredibly found his balls during the DLP administration and who suckled on the teats of the BLP, oops, you know that when you are miles up in the air, things appear different and what seems like teats might be balls.
During the Seethru years, DC NEVER, EVER HAD the intestinal fortitude to make ONE PUBLIC STATEMENT OF DISSENT when Owen was on the throne!
And now, Sir Galahad Commissiong rushes into the fray to fight for the common man
THe problem is that many Bajans see him hugging the Cuban drug dealer and consider Commmissiong to be champion of the underdog but, where was this champion when those Nigerians were incarcarated for 2 years just being on a chartered plane to Bulbados??
Oh please, dis ole man know de real story, not the sanitized one, so doan leh we go dere wid he and David Denny.
Time has a way of washing us in the Blood of the Lamb for as people around us descend 6ft for that last voyage of the flesh, by a wondrous process which i call “de recollections of those Alzheimer’s citizens dat left” men and women, formerly scamps, vagabonds and whores, are transformed into Beings of Light”
“Asperges me, Domine hypsope et mundabor, lavabis me et super nivem, dealbabor”
“Right on David, right on”
I remain baffled as to how the government can continue to pay those bills for free health care at the QEH. The bills there make those at UWI look like monopoly play. $70000 per year each dialysis patient x 300, $5000 to $30000 surgeries each day, millions in medication and medical supplies each year, food @ $60.00 per day for over i0000 persons, thousands in electricity and water per month, millions in high end equipment, salaries for varying experts– technicians, doctors, nurses, skilled artisans, pharmacists, diet specialists and countless others. We have to get real. Forget the alarmist David Come– Along. Barbadians have to get their boat in shape. Stop drinking so much rum and buy health insurance . We have been bred on a diet of freeness, government reliance and are irresponsible. Each is responsible for himself. Your tax dollars can only go so far. Moreover a lot of witless brutes around here work and pay not a single cent in income tax or NIS. The faeces have now hit the oscillator. More over the middle class are the beast of burden of this country. They pay income tax, vat, NIS, road tax, land tax and still keep medical insurance. But too many of us are neglecting our duty to ourselves and country. While I am at it The QEH authorities must get serious with all non bajans receiving care at the place and not paying. Care must be cut off if money is not forth coming. This must happen before they come to bajans for money. You cannot have foreigners eating for free and bajans paying . I know that this state of affairs currently exist at a high money eating unit of the QEH. I shall be watching for some of these persons currently get better care than bajans Next time around I shall call names. I know the facts . A lot of stealing occurs there also. That has to be curtailed. Largely the staff are excellent and proficient in their endeavours. That I know too. It has the potential to be a greater health facility. WE must all contribute to its operations but those non nationals must pay up front and it has to be stringently enforced. Any persons flouting such orders must be sent packing.
Lighthouse wrote
” More over the middle class are the beast of burden of this country. They pay income tax, vat, NIS, road tax, land tax and still keep medical insurance.”
When the middle class collapses financially who will pay?
@Ping Pong
We all pay when the tax base is eroded by its deminishing returns because it then points to the inability of the country to be productive to support a lifestyle it wants on a sustainable basis.
These two intellectually and politically bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP factions have been helping substantially to bring Barbados to a second rate Third World Developing status.
Some very despicable ways in which they have been doing so, are by their – whenever they are holding the reins of governmental office in this country – putting in place, or maintaining, laws and policies and programs that are, or continue to be – on an every day basis in Barbados – in absolute flagrant breach of the following twelve (12) fundamental axiomatic principles (just below) that concern MONEY and its uses in the country.
These principles are:
1) Money CANNOT be owned individually, ONLY collectively by the people of Barbados;
2) Money CANNOT (be used to) make Money itself, NOR can it (be used to) cost Money itself;
3) Money, or its uses, CANNOT give rise to Money debt – nothing can anyhow;
4) Money CANNOT be used to pay back Money debt – which itself CAN NEVER exist;
5) Money CANNOT represent nominal incomes, nominal payments and nominal transfers, WITHOUT the actualization of attendant uses by the relevant people, of the relevant other people, resources, assets, psychologized digitized subjective value (so-called prices), etc, in the processes of the bringing of, the possessing of, the disposing of such incomes, payments, transfers in the context of the commercial business market systems in Barbados and beyond;
6) Money that is used in the process of the production and distribution of wealth, assets and other commercial tangibles and intangibles in the country, is indeed Money that helps to do so; but, however, there are NO incomes, payments, or transfers got in their respective circumstances that CAN do so – however big or small they appear – however much they are saved or not, institutionally or not ;
7) Money, or it uses, CANNOT be created by those written, print, electronic methods that are used by the relevant persons to express nominal incomes, nominal payments or nominal transfers in Barbados; ONLY by actually making it, minting it, etc – and thereafter the relevant people using it whenever wheresoever;
8) Money in order to be used in any commercial business transactional context must first be generally acceptable by most people as legal tender – what this implies, along with some other facts to the contrary, is that Money is NOT a medium of exchange;
9) Money CANNOT be TAXED by the government – ONLY nominal incomes, nominal payments and nominal transfers in the industrial commercial realms in this island, despicably sickeningly criminally, however;
10) Money CANNOT be spent – or used up – by persons, businesses and other entities including government, on the whole, on other persons, on other businesses, and on other entities, in contexts where the former do NOT get MARKET INCOME or MARKET PAYMENTS out of the commercial business activities that they are involved in;
11) Increases or decreases in the amount of Money (local) in circulation in the country, CANNOT increase or decrease or maintain the real actual cost of use of Money in the country; and
12) The mere use of Money, by its users, as a special unique non-tradeable, non-consumable, usable, measurable, socio-psychologically reactable to, physical commodity, in the commercial business transactional processes of the production and distribution of goods and services, CANNOT bring about any increases, decreases, or maintenances, in the levels of the real actual cost of use of Money in the country.
I ain’t calling no names, but some people does mek me sick wid dis talk bout free. De effing guvment doan wuk fuh a fucking cent so it can’t gih nuhbody anything fuh free. Free healthcare and education my ass!
De people rasshole taxes dat dem lickout was supposed to cover every fuck dat supposed to get cover. Dat was de agreement. Talking bout we taxes can’t do it all. Whose fault is dat. Who tell wunna bite off more than we could chew. We know dat wunna so ripping we off whe de days come. No service and no value fuh money. That is all we getting from dis guvment
When wunna tek de people money and buying de biggest rasshole rides Kffyin could import to pimp bout in, wunna din noh dat we taxes kunt cover um?
When wunna decide to rent office space from the Biz Whiz, wunna check to find out weh de money wud come from?
When wunna tekking up people gud money to splurge pon football matches and constituency councils, blow and still blowing millions in Warrens (de traffic situation still ain’t nuh blasted better),after wunna raise vat, road taxes, water rates (BWA still looking fuh money), fuel prices and sell out Bajans by selling Light n Power shares and introduce dispensing fees for dispensing shite medication, wunna really tink dat people want to hear bout paying fuh QEH service?
I agree wid de jump pon, wunna worst dan a jugga jugga dat cut out in de middle of Horse Hill.
Now the Bush Doctors and Obeah men will be getting setting up shop at every corner to dispense their brand of medicine. Lawd dis guvernment got be rassholes. Dem put out a budget and didn’t know how it will affect the citizenry. I have never in my life seen and experienced such a backward and incompetent bunch as this present government. BAJANS PLEASE OPEN WUNNA EYES AND EARS and tek wunna heads outta de political parties backsides!
@ pieceuhderockyeahright!!! | September 23, 2013 at 12:15 AM |
“THis is why Goddards is to be admired, for in realising that the bowl of the local economy is dwindling, they went outside for more ingredients. That is why Chefette is not a Goddards. Only parasites increase their population on a dying carcass.”
‘Only parasites increase their population on a dying carcass.’
What a turn of phrase? Where do you dive in the vast intellectual sea to find these pearls of wisdom aka commonsense?
It boggles the mind why Chefette has not spread its wings at least to the regional market.
If it is deterred by the investment risks and bribery required to grease the palms of the crooked politicians couldn’t a franchise type strategy be arranged similar to the KFC to allow native business people in the individual territories to be the front for the Chefette brand?
KFC started out with a black woman frying ‘finger licking’ chicken in Louisville birthplace of Muhammad Ali (Louisville Lips) and the small business concept exploited by a white businessman called Sanders. Why can’t a similar expansionary strategy be adopted by the Chefette owners but with the workers having shares in the business from their bonus payments as part of their commitment to the viability of the business on the passing of its so-called founder?
We see the fast food business as a source of tax revenues to help fund the pending health crisis in Barbados. Let those with vision be proactive and impose initially a ‘small’ fat tax (to phase in the revised “Sin” tax regime in place of the dying cigarette trade).
What do you say, Sage?
“Gloria Patri et Filio et Spiritui Sancto Sicut erat in principio, et nunc, et semper, et {vectigal} in saecula saeculorum. Amen”.
Leff Cheffette alone please!
A lot of poor people would starve in these times if there wasn’t a Cheffette restaurant nearby.
Who ever said it is better to be a “big fish in a small pond than to be a small fish in a big pond” probably didn’t know what he was talking about, right?
15 down and 15 more to go.
I like the new header, congratulations.
I am getting like JUST ASKING………….I am tired talking about the ignorance this DLP is doing. Everyday you get up and wonder what next? One would have thought that this DLP who had a cure for ALL the so called ills Barbados faced before they came to power, they had ALL the answers and now cannot get not one fixed. far more, things have grown so badly that every sector is out of control. Did not the Minister who believes he is the circus clowns said that he fixed QEH and all was well. Remember how he used to cuss William Duguid every time he rose to speak in the House?
Now this morning Donville Inniss is saying that lack of confidence in the government is nothing new and as usual he goes back to OSA. Never take responsibility for anything and they have been the government for six years. His best buddy in the gang of 11 who wanted to oust the PM read what whomever wrote the budget………..it was him who.told Barbadians that people have lost confidence in the government.
I thought the outspoken Minister would have used the occasion yesterday to to tell Barbadians what or if anything has been done to correct the error he pointed out in the “municipal” tax levied on Barbadians. I am waiting to see what is the true rate used for the consolidated tax in a few days when I see my pay slip. Stinkliar read one thing and the IR announced another. As we know it, it has to be what the MOF read in the House………….we shall see!
@ Leff Dem | September 23, 2013 at 7:57 AM |
You are a boss. Who taught you to write in such sweet vernacular terms?
Many genuine Bajan people could speak it but to write it in such mellifluous style and pleasing to the eyes is a rare literary skill.
Please continue in order to keep the language alive.
Let us work together on a project to compile a compendium of cuss words and phrases unique to Bajans for posterity. Jamaica might have done a similar thing.
Let us start with Bushie’s “Brass bowls”.
We can also welcome the contributions from ac and Islandgal with special consultancy of an editorial nature from our resident sage PODRYR.
@ Prodigal Son | September 23, 2013 at 9:38 AM |
Let me also congratulate David BU for the attractively presented header.
In regard to the DLP Cabinet ministers making conflicting pronouncements that contradict one another and create confusion not only among the local lay population but also among investors and international lenders and their associates in the credit rating agency business.
For example, we recently read the PM during his visit to Canada confirming his government having no plans of privatizing the Airport. What is he implying here? The same thing he implied with regard to the UWI fees prior to February 2013 along with many broken promises? Is he flying a kite to prepare the way for the forced sale of GAIA to secure those much promised foreign loans to shore up the dwindling foreign reserves?
Is he going against his Minister of Finance budgetary announcement and proposal to sell off some of the government’s holdings in the GAIA?
The following extract represented his government position in the2012 budget:
“Undertake an Initial Public Offering of 30% of the shares of Grantley Adams International Airport Inc, the Oil Company and Barbados Port Authority, and the listing of these companies on the Barbados Stock Exchange. Over the next few months, a valuation of the entities will be undertaken and the IPO process initiated. The listing of these three major entities on the stock exchange will serve to inject some much needed life in the exchange. The IPO process will be undertaken in a manner that will ensure broad share ownership which promotes economic democracy and market liquidity.”
“Prime Minister Richard Sealy”
LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL
——————————–
Yaaaaaaaaagga ==Pon Top
About the header a big thanks, it is not new although seldom used.
It is clear that you are not studying the above twelve (12) fundamental axiomatic principles.
For, if you had been studying such you would have been able to glean there form that there is NO such thing as a TAX base.
What there is, though, is a certain series of innumerable despicable RELATIONSHIPS that exist between the government of Barbados and many other people, businesses and others in this country, whereby this government is criminally found to be NOT ONLY stealing countless portions of the incomes, payments and transfers of the said people, businesses and other entities on an ongoing basis, BUT is ALSO found to be forcing – by way of its own criminal sanction – those said people, businesses and other entities to hand over to it – out of their own incomes, payments and transfers – those amounts in representative results (in most cases money) in evil wicked abominable TAXATION that it will have so wickedly sought to and will have eventually got.
Moreover, it is the same MONEY CIRCULATION PROCESS that is used across various industrial commercial business contexts, and from which money is being used and ever recycled (circulated) and partly as evidence of this evil wicked direct income, payments and transfer TAXATION.
Ironically, the truth is that with the recent new Barbados currency coming on stream in June of this year, it has too meant an increase in the money (local) base of this country – but a decrease (and rightly so) in evil wicked TAXATION for this intellectual politically bankrupt and decrepit DLP government.
So, fundamentally the question therefore must be about all kinds of users of it – including the government – in Barbados securing and actually having the use of money as a means of paying for the use of it out of their own income, payment and transfer remunerations ( in the case of government, it constantly steals the others remunerations to facilitate its doing so – not the only method though), and as a means of their representing their own income, payment and transfer remunerations in whatever contexts in this country.
The fact of the real actual cost of money (local) reaching alarmingly outrageously high levels in this country, means that there will be consequently – on that basis alone ( but there are other bases though still) less and less use of money from out of the money stock to represent nominal incomes, nominal payments and nominal transfers (and less evidence too of the use of it by the relevant people to represent evil wicked TAXATION) in the commercial business contexts of this country.
@Leff Dem
“after wunna raise vat, road taxes, water rates (BWA still looking fuh money), fuel prices and sell out Bajans by selling Light n Power shares and introduce dispensing fees for dispensing shite medication, wunna really tink dat people want to hear bout paying fuh QEH service?”
Let certain misguided people know. What is perceived to be free bout here is paid for in taxes. Now they’ve taxed us to the brim but not a thing ayn getting better, them getting worse. Now to come and tell we fees for QEH?
As Ive always said all those jokers know to do is tax and pull a fat cheque, then turn round and call we the unproductive and ungrateful ones. They are some of the worst employees.
After reading the today’s Nation I am convinced that Government is contemplating selling the Airport and CBC. You should recall the PM’s stance on free university education and look what happened.
@Caswell
The prime minister has given his word this is not the case.
If you are that silly, go ahead and rely on the PM’s word.
David. David. Prodical fool you. He just like the MoF reading and ain’t see a big mistake. I thought it should be Barbados Underground. However, it is displayed Undergeround. I understand graphics can look good but a spelling mistake destroys it.
millertheanunnaki | September 23, 2013 at 9:40 AM |
@ Leff Dem | September 23, 2013 at 7:57 AM |
You are a boss. Who taught you to write in such sweet vernacular terms?
……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
I don’t believe you miller approving such distasteful language to get over a point. Do you fell that people wid Leff Dem to align with a dirty mouth.
@ Tell me Why | September 23, 2013 at 11:41 AM |
You are bringing a moral perspective to the man’s writing style. I am just looking at it from an academic analysis of its linguistic value to a vernacular treated as “inferior” as a means of communicating.
To use a red herring to entice you away from the man’s style and encourage you to focus on the substance. Which you would ‘rather’ prefer? A man speaking his mind by writing in a crass but honest manner or a lying deceitful two-faced serpent-tongue hypocrite hiding behind big words and obfuscation as the calypsonian Classic quite aptly put it?
I see nothing worng with paying a 5 dollar or 10 dollar if I seek treatment at the QEH.
@ David | September 23, 2013 at 11:42 AM |
“The prime minister has given his word this is not the case.”
Then the PM who is supposed to be an honourable man needs to clear the air and clarify if he and his Cabinet have abandoned the proposals announced in the 2012 Budget.
Any decent leader of integrity would do just that.
We await to see if similar back peddling would be done with regard to RE when the promised Electricity ACT Amendment Bill is debated some time this year.
@ Kevin | September 23, 2013 at 12:08 PM |
“I see nothing worng with paying a 5 dollar or 10 dollar if I seek treatment at the QEH.”
Fair enough! Those who can pay by all means pay based on a mix of the value of the benefit they are receiving and their ability to pay.
But what about the unemployed or those not in receipt of incomes?
What about the children? Would they access the services free or would their parents/guardians be responsible for the user charges?
What provisions would you make for these “vulnerable” groups? You need to explore that side of the situation before being so hard and fast in your conclusion.
will any Government refuse to school, provide health care, transport or house any so called “poor Black man or woman”? They will continue to get the “free” benefits because they constitute a large voting bloc. However crapaud smoke yuh pipe if you live in a so called heights or terrace. You better look out for your self because those people have money under the their beds.
There are too many who take out much more than they put in. Government’s income is falling. It is at the level of 10 years ago. Can we get blood from a stone?
Leff dem regardless of the profanities has said it well.
@Kevin: Even if every person (270 000) went to the hospital ten times a year and paid $10 each time, the hospital would only collect $27 million. The shortfall is of the order $80 million/year!
User fees could average (i.e. some higher, some, lower) $3000/ person/week.
@Ping Pong
We have been living above our means for some time, the protracted recession has exposed our nakedness is all. Buckle up!
Wow,
When I look around , I’m amazed that every Tom Dick and Harry have the latest $1500 Iphone and Blackberry and contributing $20 and more to Lime and Digicel profit margin with foreign nexchange going to London and Irelnad for a service that is not necessary . But complaining just becasue you have to pay a liitle $15 for your own health! and help cutdonw on the deficit. Yet still we brag and say we educated!!
Today’s Nation says it all and tells all and sundry who are paying attention that this DLP Government is nothing but a farce.Those of us who have recognised the ineptness and the ignorance of this Administration can only come to the conclusion that Stuart is the biggest jackass of a PM we have ever had.Hear the fool:”I have ordered an ongoing analysis on the effects of expenditure cuts announced in last month’s budget,to bring down an unsustainable debt.Research would be done in the month of Sept and by the end of Sept it should be with……so that we can SEE THE IMPACT of the budgetary measures on the Public Service etc”.A visionary and intelligent leader would have done all this in the lead up to to Budget.He goes on to talk such childishness that its patently clear this man is out of his depth long time.Of course the blame game is played.Stuart,we don’t buy your crap.Save it for the mortuary that is at George Street.Do us a favour;leave the leadership of the Government to someone who is capable of leading us out of the morass and inertia that has overtaken the country since you clowns came on the scene.Leave please!
In these harsh economic times Countries all over the World are doing what has to be done to increase revenues. Barbados is no exception. Just look at what Bermuda is doing in another area.
BERMUDA
The cash-strapped Corporation of Hamilton is to introduce pay-and-display parking tariffs on all roads in the city in an effort to increase revenues.
And plans for an “aggressive” car clamping policy and an increase in the number of traffic wardens on the streets are also in the pipeline as the municipality struggles to maintain essential infrastructure services.
Next month, parking fees will be introduced to streets that historically motorists have not had to pay to park on, while parking rates will also change.
http://www.royalgazette.com/article/20130923/NEWS/130929911
You would rather that you didn’t have to do these things but you have little choice.
Gabriel
Um is patently obvious that you didn’t help elect Stuartie and can’t live with the thought of a DLP administration. You didn’t put them there so you carry no weight in asking them to leave. So haul ass lil boy.
Gabriel | September 23, 2013 at 1:29 PM |
Our Prime Minister Stuart is head and shoulders above you.
Another thing Gabriel, are you taking over from “Old Onion Bags”?
Your comments are as meaningless as his were!
WOW
I support you one hundred percent.
There is a company here in Barbados advertising an expected shipment of new iPhones to the Bajans.
iPhone 5c…………………………….$1,450.00
iPhone 5s……………………………..$1,699.00
You can bet your last dollar that when this shipment of iPhones arrive on our shores that they are not going to be enough even at that ridiculous price.
Too many Bajans are being encouraged to be stupid by the Barbados Labour Party and their supporters.
It is ok to buy a Northface school bag for your 5year at $450.00 but too much to pay $15.00 for a service at the QEH or Polyclinic which might save the little one’s life!
Amazing!!!!!!
Far too many of us are EDUCATED FOOLS and the Barbados Labour Party loves it like that.
Hi CCC. I wonder if your university daughter moving with one of the latest phones? Based on your statement, it look as if you will give her a Nokia 100. Good dad.
@Tell Me Why
Thanks for the feedback on the header.
Why don’t you people stay focused on the gist of the submission? Is it not obvious what is a troll?
Tell me Why | September 23, 2013 at 2:42 PM |
My daughter is as sensible as I am. She lives within her means. She does not put her hat higher than she can reach it.
@David “has exposed our nakedness is all. Buckle up!”
But David if we are naked we can’t be wearing a belt. Methinks that you are mixing your metaphors.
@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 23, 2013 at 2:00 PM |
“There is a company here in Barbados advertising an expected shipment of new iPhones to the Bajans.
iPhone 5c…………………………….$1,450.00
iPhone 5s……………………………..$1,699.00 ”
Now if you guys were that smart you would have told the lying buffoon Stinkliar to implement the cell phone tax announced in an earlier budget.
Here is a gold mine of easy taxation with a fairly inelastic demand curve and you silly guys have given up on it but instead you have gone trawling at the bottom of the fiscal pool to attack the underpaid workers by cutting their reverse tax credits in half and calling them crooks and cheats. What kind of reverse Robin Hood nonsense is that Carrion?
All you guys had to do in order to make the cell phone tax workable was to change the base of tax from a specific rate of $4.00 p/m imposition to one of ad valorem to say 5% of the value of the top-up or on monthly post-paid bill based on the net or pre-VAT value.
On the other hand you could have introduced a separate of VAT on a range of luxury items or discretionary spending items including cell phones for non-business use.
Come on, Carrion, you need thinkers in the DLP not only yard-fowls like ac, Fractured BLP, Mr. Anti-Nation and yourself.
There is nothing wrong in principle to the introduction of user charges for the services provided by the QEH as long as they are below those charged by the private sector for similar services. But how did you arrive at the magical figure of $15.00? Would that figure apply to people like you CCC- the well-off Constituency Council dictator feeding on the decaying DLP calf- as well as the unemployed or even the people whose reversed tax credits were mercilessly snatched away?
Why not a range or scale of user charges based on the services to be rendered and the ability to pay by the intended recipients?
Why the hell do we have a CEO pretending to be a doctor of scientific management and hospital administration? Why don’t you apply for the job? We all know full well that many services provided by the QEH will soon be privatized or- to use a more palatable term to ac’s gullibility- ‘outsourced’ with user charges or fees attached. It’s better to do the work “in-house” and ease the pain than to wait until later and have those user charges determined by the IMF or some other external market oriented price-setting agency.
Of course what has been put on the table for further debate is way out of your league and intellectual pay grade since it requires a modicum of commonsense and intellectual energy on your part to think things through. In other words we don’t expect a valid response other than cussing and attacks.
Prime Minister is gone off to Canada to get first class medical examination and treatment. The rest of us will have to contend with the inadequacies of the QEH. . “Dems now, Dems again”. Take that Bajans
“when did “Freeness” become a right”
When the DLP coalition opposition in their eagerness to win the 1961 elections told the tenants in the government units not to pay the NHC any more rent and the rest has been history since then AC.
:”I have ordered an ongoing analysis on the effects of expenditure cuts announced in last month’s budget,to bring down an unsustainable debt.Research would be done in the month of Sept and by the end of Sept it should be with……so that we can SEE THE IMPACT of the budgetary measures on the Public Service etc”.”
I think the Prime Minister was on safer ground when he chose the option of not speaking because the above statement by the Prime minister is a perfect example of one putting one’s foot in one’s mouth. should be advised not to speak on matters about which he does not know.
“I see nothing worng with paying a 5 dollar or 10 dollar if I seek treatment at the QEH.”
Now this administration since coming to office has taxed the citizens of this country to the bone under the guise of a recession and things according to the administration continue to grow worse.
what confidence can I therefore have in the ability of the administration to effectively manage the five or ten that they now want to extract from me for waiting long hours to obtain attention or medication at the QEH.
So my friend the five and ten is not the issue but what if the sore in their view does not improve and needs further treatment and it goes to fifty and hundred. I bet my bottom dollar you would say that people go to the FMH and pay one hundred and twenty and in want to pay a little 50 or 100 to the QEH.
The problem my friend will remain as long as the administration continues to apply doses of bread and fish remedies to serious maladies requiring macroeconomic attention.
@ balance | September 23, 2013 at 4:42 PM |
“… should be advised not to speak on matters about which he does not know.”
The PM if he were really smart with street credo should know that ‘Lying’ is a practised art with all the rigorous demands of any other traditional profession.
A good liar must be consistent and must be a bit superficially familiar with the subject matter being lied or bullshitted about.
We are surprised he has not mastered the smooth transition from lawyer to lying politician. The fool is just too much out to sea when it comes to matters of financial or fiscal quackery. No wonder the dead King chose the Lying bullshit buffoon Stinkliar over the pretending idiot savant Stuart of fiscal management who has acquired the rare leadership quality of vacillation and decision-making in a reverse osmosis fashion. He goes back and reverses every thing he agrees to in Cabinet sessions.
@Miller
Your call!
@ millertheanunnaki | September 23, 2013 at 5:07 PM |
David BU:
In my enthusiasm to show the obfuscation prevailing in the current dispensation of governance in one of my moments of stupor I reproduced some gobbledygook in the above post. The second part of the above post should stand and the first part removed.
Would you recommend the second part is submitted as a separate post?
I am quite willing to oblige.
@ David | September 23, 2013 at 5:35 PM |
“Stet”! Let it remain as is. Deletion of subsequent posts would be required for a clean trail.
Thanks!
Millertheanunnaki(neither B nor D)
My simple answer to you, just stick around don’t rush the brush.
The non revolutionary and visionless Stuart will brook no competition in respect of the country’s sole TV station,aka DLP-TV.For a country that boasts a high standing on the Human Development Index,what is the fear of both the DLP and the BLP in having another TV station here.Trinidad and Guyana have several TV stations.Why does not the OAS,IADB,IMF,World Bank,OECD insist that the citizens of Barbados be allowed to watch a competing TV station in Barbados,so that we become better informed since we all are aware that some valuable news items are doctored to remove the truth from public view because it might cast the Government in a poor light.It all affects the type of administration we get to govern the country.
but wait balance “Guise of a Recession” u mean that PM stuart and the DLP sold the recession story to the WHOLE WORLD and nobody expect the BLP yardfowls got wind of the bigLIE, u mean that PM stuart could have such capabilties to pull off the recession story without nobody picking teet expect the BLP yardfowls and their leadershi and to think that PM STUART could have fooled so many world economist is a trick bigger than a houdini.
With the long waiting periods at the QEH and polyclinics will Barbadians be willing to pay for these services or pay the extra and go to private doctors with a far less wait time?
Only an idiot would believe that user fees would be $5 or $10. What will it be when one is hospitalised, $20? Some real dunces abound in the DLP supporters’ camp, no wonder that same level of thinking emerges from the Cabinet.
I truly wish that all the filthy mouth contributors would leave one sided politics out of their postings and relate to sensible facts. Barbadians are extravagant wasters. Cell phones, gas guzzlers, brand name clothing and accessories, cruise vacations, shopping in Miami, fast food eating, continuous liming and partying, high credit card debts, remy hair(brain retarded, self haters, low self esteem and loss of identity individuals), We have our priorities wrong. Barbados requires a non politician to run this place for four years and put things in correct perspective. National youth service and civics teaching for all youth, agricultural work for all who cannot find or want no work, forced work for all prisoners and strict enforcement of discipline in schools and laws of country would be the order of the day. Indiscipline waywardness and the flesh have set to rot in this land. It would be interesting to see the Singapore story and their strict enforcement of values and law. That is missing in Barbados. There is a lot of foolish BLP and DLP chatter. There will always be opposition to strong leadership in a democracy but leaders have to stay the course. The human loves to be pampered and caressed but sometimes steady discipline and correction is required. Do you remember TOM “As from midnight tonight tighten your belt” and not one of you dared raise a voice and you complied. Let us set about playing our part as dutiful citizens. The leaders need to speak to their charges and guide them how to cut personal expenditure. Such programmes should be abundant on television nowadays.
Barbados has beyond “THE ENTITLEMENT CAPITAL OF THE WORLD” and nobody dare say nuttin about it.
I’m really sick of CCC and his BS now. you and the jackasses that think like you want putting is a cup of water and drowning. how many people do you think can afford those phones? ya jackass. why are you people so F-ing dishonest? but as the older people would say, your time is coming. enjoy it now Carson, your time is coming.
@lighthouse “Barbadians are extravagant wasters. Cell phones, gas guzzlers, brand name clothing and accessories, cruise vacations, shopping in Miami, fast food eating, continuous liming and partying, high credit card debts, remy hair.
1. It is our own money. We worked hard for it and we can spend it as we like.
@lighthouse “Barbados requires a non politician to run this place for four years and put things in correct perspective.”
2. And who is this non-politician? And who made him Lord and master over us?
@lighthouse “agricultural work for all who cannot find or want no work,”
3. So you plan to reintroduce slavery? Our foreparents worked 211 years with our pay. We will NOT do it again.
@lighthouse “forced work for all prisoners”
4. Our foreparents worked 211 years with our pay. We will NOT do it again. You can crack our heads and shoot us if you like, but we will NOT be enslaved again.
@lighthouse ” Indiscipline waywardness and the flesh have set to rot in this land.”
5. You lie. Stupid incompetent politicians and their thieving friends have set rot in this land and they are led by Freundel “Leroy Paris is my friend, he is not a leper” Stuart
@lighthouse “There will always be opposition to strong leadership”
6. Taxing people to death is NOT strong leadership. Embracing thieves is NOT strong leadership. Threatening to have people beaten and shot is NOT strong leadership. Suggesting that Barbadians deserve more slavery is NOT strong leadership.
@lighthouse “The human loves to be pampered and caressed ”
7. This is NOT true. Bajans have proved over and over, and over again that we are willing AND able to work hard, BUT, BUT we object to politicians and their thieving friends misusing our money
@lighthouse “Do you remember TOM”
8. And where is TOM? We are not afraid of the duppy TOM. Some of us don’t even remember the self indulgent fool. Like many of those who sought to oppress us he was taken out long, long before his time.
@lighthouse “The leaders need to speak to their charges and guide them how to cut personal expenditure.”
@lighthouse “not one of you dared raise a voice and you complied.”
9. A good number DID NOT comply. They silently but effectively voted with their feet. They migrated and Barbados some it its brightest and its best. We have not recovered as yet.
10. We are not anybody’s charges. We have ceased being children. And do you really believe that this self indulgent, big guts crop politicians can teach anybody anything about discipline? Take the beam out of thy own eye, before telling is to take the mote out of ours. Do you really think that some politician driving a $100,000 car paid for with MY TAX MONEY, can tell me not to spend $300 of MY OWN MONEY on remi hair?
A PEOPLE CAN BE EFFECTIVELY GOVERNED ONLY WITH THEIR CONSENT.
wait david (not BU) you very evil wanting to boil and drown people you must be working for the MAFIA,,,,,,and you got the nerve to call people dishonest.,
@Lighthouse “the flesh have set to rot in this land.”
You joker.
There is no other group in Barbados that has more outside children than OUR politicians and other powerful men.
There is no group with bigger bellies than OUR politicians.
There is no group that can drink as much rum as OUR politicians
And some of them may be herb smokers too.
And didn’t your friend TOM die of a cocaine overdose?
And those people are supposed to teach us discipline?
How?
Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I think you just vex ’cause we sick and tired of you fellas licking up we money.
Look de money tree de’d.
I was talking to a friend the other day. She has spent the past 46 years working as a maid, cooking, washing, cleaning, minding children, minding old people, cleaning children’s and old people’s botsies.. When her last employer died she received $10,000 in severance payment which she invested into Leroy Parris’ CLICO. The same Leroy Parris whom Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has told us is his friend.
Now she is old and wants her money back so that she can pay her Queen Elizabeth Hospital user fees, she cannot get a cent our of CLICO. Since the Prime Minister has told us that Leroy Parris of CLICO is his friend and is not a leper can Prime Minister Stuart tell my friend if she is going to get her $10,000 back so that she can pay her Queen Elizabeth Hospital user fees?
“I asked them in the Budget one year, ‘Tell me where to cut’. I don’t mind cutting, but tell me where to cut. I ain’t cutting wages and salaries, I aint cutting staff and I can’t stop debt servicing’. So cut what?” he told a packed school hall. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/no-job-cutting/
“So all those people out there who are holding on to a job, the difference between you having that job and you not having that job is the Democratic Labour Party winning the next Government… At the end of the day the BLP is in political business to serve their masters, and their masters are not people who look like your or me. They are in business to serve the people who they have to pay debts to.
“The DLP, on the other hand, is in the business of politics to serve the people of Barbados.. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2012/09/10/10000-to-go-home/
Nuhbody ain’t call my name so I gun keep me mouth shut. To besides, I does really doan got nutton to do wid
cuntsfoolish people.All I gine seh is that if my mouth filthy it ain’t get filthy from tawking bull shit like wunna and wunna DLP masters.
If people waan buy shite wid dem money dat duh wuk fuh, it is dem money, not wunna wun. When wunna jumping pun a plane and gine over n away, nuhbody doan seh nutton. Stop watching de people and do de work wunna getting pay to do. If wunna caan get do, leff de
fuckingplace!Wunna din noh dat de belt di want tightening last year? Tell me why we keeping CBC? Besides getting people tuh sleep at night wuh purpose um serving? How much o we money wunna does waste pon dat crappy broadcasting corporation evree year. Wunna every stop an ax de people ef duh wud prefer to get rid uh CBC instead of mekking people pay fuh (bad)service at de QEH.
Wunna so jus want locking up in de shitehouse in de 12 o’ clock sun.
what happen to you ac? you feeling the heat?
i say dishonest because that is what it is you and your kind are. did i not make myself clear?
right or wrong the DLP is doing what it feels it must. we can’t have a honest discussion because you and your nasty dangerous kind are not honest. so to is the government. before they come level with the people of this country they hide but you can hide and buy land but you can’t hide and wuk it.
CCC would want to lead a dishonest discussion about cellphone costing $1600. lets look at that for a min. Barbados has 270000 people. less that 1% of the country will buy that phone. so is this how this DLP government is running the country?
T-7 days.
Out of Barbados’ meager population only a few can afford to buy those high priced useless phones, eat big and take holidays to the USA. I pity the poor fools , literally poor or struggling middle class who live above their means. They will soon realize which god they are serving.
There are so many unemployed/underemployed now, that I personally know, how can they buy these things. To get a visa to America after paying over 400 US, not quite sure, pay that money only to get turned down unless ya holding down government work or ya look white.
Nuh country out there to accept bajans looking for work overseas, dem ny!ggaz must stay in dey hell holes and ded!! Unemployed, well hustle, starve or do crime.
No more “Give me your tired, your poor”
David (not BU)
Thr truth hurts, I know.
All you BLP people has to do is to band together with the Government and call on the Barbados private sector to pay into the Treasury the more than $700 million in dues, taxes, and other monies and all this would go away.
Simple.
“Suart is the biggest jackass of a PM we have ever had.Hear the fool:”I have ordered an ongoing analysis on the effects of expenditure cuts announced in last month’s budget,to bring down an unsustainable debt.Research would be done in the month of Sept and by the end of Sept it should be with……so that we can SEE THE IMPACT of the budgetary measures on the Public Service etc”.A visionary and intelligent leader would have done all this in the lead up to to Budget.”
In my heart I endorse the Commissiong quote since it strikes at the two pivotal features of working, responsible and compassionate statehood and statecraft as we have always understood it. I recognize, however, that the idea of ‘contributing’ directly is not new, though new to us, and may be forced upon us by economic exigencies for which Government must take its share of responsibility. The problem is that once free education and free hospital health care are gone, that is likely to be the end of it whatever the state of our economy and whatever government is in power.
The matter was being discussed by some pharmacologists today at a pharmacy I visited. We agreed that on issues like this we talk too much and do too little. Is it time to march? If not, why not? And when might it be time to march about anything?
robert ross | September 24, 2013 at 2:00 AM |
The problem is that once free education and free hospital health care are gone, that is likely to be the end of it whatever the state of our economy and whatever government is in power.
the real problem would occur if we all wring our hands and do nothing pretending that we can continue on the same path a path which would eventually lead to self destruction leaving behind a giant footprint of “What if”s.
The tone of the Nation BLP newspaper:
Front Page – Sep 24 – 60 LAID Off – The Headline
(inside the story in fine print :”their notices indicated that they would only be out of work for one week”)
Columnist – Tennyson Joseph – content – criticizes the DLP. What’s new?
So much for balanced journalism when the opposition has full control of the largest newspaper in the country which owns the largest radio station in the country.
With all the support the Nation BLP newspaper has been giving the BLP for the last 6 years, you would have thought they would have won the public’s hearts by now.
Bajans are smarter than the people at the Nation BLP newspaper think they are.
They clearly see how biased and onesided the Nation BLP newspaper has become.
@Carson C. Cadogan | September 24, 2013 at 12:15 AM |
All you BLP people has to do is to band together with the Government and call on the Barbados private sector to pay into the Treasury the more than $700 million in dues, taxes, and other monies and all this would go away.
From 2008 to 2013 it has been the responsibility of the DLP administration to collect taxes.
Tell the DLP government todo the job for
Caswell Franklyn | September 23, 2013 at 11:52 AM |
If you are that silly, go ahead and rely on the PM’s word.
The PM’s word is tres more reliable than yours Cassie. We still waiting in vain for the 10,000 people you swore would be laid off months ago. The number of times you have lied cannot be counted.
The PM chooses his words carefully if what he says on the possibility of sourcing the $400 mil without cutting jobs is realized that’s fantastic news.
We know the BLP yardfowls and hypocrite liar Cassie don’t like to hear news that helps Barbados.
When did Caswell call a number?
You are a liar WAITING
@ Walk Good
Dont take Caswell Franklyn seriously . The man has a persecution complex . That is why he was fired from every job he has ever held . Mark you he was fired from the NUPW TWICE . Please do not draw any comparison between our Prime minister Stuart and Caswell Franklyn ; our PM does not deserve that .
@Walk good | September 24, 2013 at 7:24 AM |
Listen “Walk good” before you start getting your partisan political rocks off on Caswell it would do your moral soul justice if you were to refrain from associating the PM as a man of truth and integrity and even managerial competence.
The man is a bold-faced liar and hypocrite so stop with your ‘holier-than-thou’ shite when it comes to Caswell.
We will rely on Caswell’s word a million billion times before we rely on anything your incompetent PM says.
And the evidence is there for everyone to see. His recent mutterings in Canada of pure obfuscation is one of a zillion examples. A good liar must always remember what he lied about before.
“The Barbados Labour Party is planning to send home 10,000 public servants if it wins the coming general elections.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I know Caswell can defend himself but until …
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2012/09/10/10000-to-go-home/
Meanwhile in the land of the blind and overly educated….
“FROM EARLY NEXT year, people using the Folkestone Marine Park will be expected to pay a fee.”
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/users-to-pay-fees-at-folkestone-park/
Someone – Lighthouse – said that foreign nationals are being treated for free and that this should stop. There are, or certainly were, international agreements in place for reciprocal arrangements for free health care. Thus if I go to the UK I get the same health care as anyone else. If they come here, they do too.
The same Lighthouse, in a manner very reminiscent on here lately, declares “Next time I shall name names. I know the facts.” Please Lighthouse, stop thrashing about. Put up or shut up.
I am trying hard not to break up this little DLP Hate Festival, but I must ask this question, what part does the over $700million owed to the Treasury of Barbados by the private sector of Barbados play in all of this, also the $10million owed to the QEH?
I await your answers!
Let me give some shout outs here to my favorite jokers:
Top of the morning ,
JUST ASKING
In all your hate filled splendor
millertheanunnaki(UNCLE TOM)
Not making any sense as usual.
PRODIGAL SON
Still foaming at the mouth about the DLP.
@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 24, 2013 at 10:25 AM |
Don’t you, with your inchoate intellect, understand that the picture you paint of gross fiscal incompetence is a massively poor reflection on the part of the administration you hold up as the paragon of integrity and managerial acumen?
You guys have been in charge for the last 5 years and 9 months and have exacerbated the situation by imposing more taxes on top of taxes that are certainly not being collected.
Who is responsible for collecting these monies? Trinidadians or Guyanese or St. Lucians or even the IMF?
Well let’s see who is to blame for this one. OK, here is the turnkey answer: The Barbados Labour Party.
There goes your answer, Carrion!
@Miller
As PW stated on the talk show today, many of these companies don’t have the cash flow so employees will have to go home if these companies are hammered. What a mess!
The nation does whatit does best. Whip up gossip .innuendo an half truths any about who take that newspaper seriouly got rocks in their heads many of which can be found feathered among the nest of the BLP brigade.any how it makes good fish wrap though.
@ ac | September 24, 2013 at 1:12 PM |
“… any how it makes good fish wrap though. ”
In your case ac, it does make good facial tissue and toilet paper.
The crap you write is so intellectually offensive and deceitful it can only give yourself verbal diarrhea.
Here you are blaming the BLP for the current economic quicksand when only 3 months ago you were extolling the ability of the DLP administration to bring “stability” to the economy. How can an economy be stable in a sea of quicksand engineered by the BLP over six years ago?
Here you are again extolling the virtues of the DLP to stop the regime of ‘freeness for all’ but at the same time not seeing the alternative as a form of privatization as government removes itself from the market place that provides these “free” goodies.
You are just one confused idiot that should wrap yourself in the same Nation rag sheet and flush it down the toilet of contradictions and obfuscation.
September 24, 2013 at 10:25 AM |
“I am trying hard not to break up this little DLP Hate Festival, but I must ask this question, what part does the over $700million owed to the Treasury of Barbados by the private sector of Barbados play in all of this, also the $10million owed to the QEH?”
I await your answers!
NO part Carson when juxtaposed against the significant amount of monies Government owe to businesses and individuals in the form of refunds and litigation etc.
Wait balance are u fuh real,,,,,,,,How the hell do u expect govt to pay anybody or afford any freeness when these entities refused to pay their fair share, no wonder govt broke .Also what about employees NIS funds that these business collect but never pay ,, in any other countries these business would be sold at the steps of govt auction houses , boy wunna going be broke forever cause wunna like being f..ck and alwas seem to enjoy it…
balance | September 25, 2013 at 12:16 AM |
It boggles my mind why you Barbados Labour Party members and supporters are so allergic to the the TRUTH.
During the run up to the last General elections you got your operative ANN REID to do a study To show how much was owed to the Private sector by Central Government, I still have the newspaper article, and that study showed that Government owed something in the range of $45million. There was this a big sound and dance of how this amount could do so much for companies in terms of new employment and pushing companies along but no mention of the nearly $700million owed to Government which they owed.
BALANCE I know that you BLP supporters are very BONE HEADED but try to work it out which amount is more, $45milliom or $700milliom?
If the Private sector claims that they can do so much with $40million, how much more can be done with $700million including repaying the $48million owed by Government?
JUST TELL ME “balance?
should read “$45million”.
Before I forget,
Even the few cents owed to ADRIAN LOVERIDGE would be repaid!!!!!
The Government ought to pass a law where employees can take employers to Court when they discover that employers are deducting NIS dues from their salaries and not paying them into the NIS.
Make such law favorable to employees so that they can easily win such cases and also make it mandatory for the employers to pay all court costs and employees legal costs as well.
“but given that the electorate voted significantly for change there is a reluctance on their respective parts to accept responsibility for their own actions. Hence the questioning of data and of anyone that forces them to reflect on the choices they made. Further, this inhibits rational thinking and fosters inaction and all the while things are getting progressively worse because of it.”
Carson and Ac I understand your dilemma so I commend the above statement to both of you free of charge
“I would like to say to them, if they are incapable of running this country in such a way as to preserve these fundamental social rights of the Barbadian people – that is the right to free education, the right to free health care – then they should really relinquish the reins of Government and let somebody else try,”
AC and Carson – I commend the above to you. Who Knows, even the two of you might do a better job.
wait David Commissiong should be thanking his lucky stars that this govt gave his client free room and board at a govt facility at taxpayers expense after his country refused him entry. i wonder how many of his clients he has represented for free. A govt is a business run and owned by the people just like Commissiong needs money to pay his bills so does GOVT.
Reblogged this on CARIBBEAN VIBE – News.
Pingback: No to QEH Fees!
While many of you throw insults at each other the BLP and DLP politicians soicialize together while remarking to each other” You like that one ah put pon yah today”. Its amazing so many of you are so brain dead and behave like if the BLP and DLP are beyond reproach
Mr Holder your suggestion is an excellent idea and I actually enjoyed your pointed column Swimming Upstream in the Nation, perhaps you were offending too many. Hope the relevant authorities take up your suggestions or the locals with money to burn run with the idea
When You Dream, Everyone Wins!
Dream Lottery proceeds support enhanced patient care, innovative equipment, education and
research at St. Joseph’s Health Care London, London Health Sciences Centre and Children’s Hospital
at London Health Sciences Centre. These hospitals receive more than 1.5 million patient visits each year, providing excellent, compassionate care for patients and families from across Southwestern Ontario and beyond. In addition to caring for local residents, the hospitals are referral centres providing specialized services in support of the excellent care of the region’s community hospitals. To learn more about our featured patients, please visit http://www.dreamitwinit.ca/the-cause.
OMG, a good idea but the politicians and their crooked friends will steal the lottery takings. The DLP and BLP is a gang of thieves aided and abetted by civil servants who are also thieves. Ask about the big up persons who get kickbacks from not doing audits of companies like Courts, AA, R L Seale, etc
@ Robert Ross
I speak only of persons who come here directly and specifically for care. That their only business here is to get continuous care at the hospital for years non stop and owe thousands of dollars. . I refer not to travelers and bona fide workers etc. Take time Ross all in due time will be made known. Barbadians cannot be cut to bleed and such continues. The pot in such a place is boiling over with turmoil, disquiet, ration of care and vexation. The QEH is a powder keg. In all of this non payment by those who should pay still exist.