Andrew Nehaul - Tourism Consultant
Andrew Nehaul

I am a concerned admirer of Barbados who reside abroad. The slowly deteriorating economic situation on the island leaves me in bewilderment because there seems to be a lot of talk and no action. Nearly every day I read in the online press about more layoffs and business closures. Most of the writers on the blogs seem to be more keen on casting political barbs at one another than of providing creative, useful comments that might make Barbados better.

My profession has always been travel to the Caribbean and in Sweden. I see movement in the right direction from Aruba, Curacao, The Dominican Republic, St Lucia & Jamaica. I see nothing from Barbados. Barbados has a lot to offer the visitor. Unfortunately, the BTA does not seem to know their targets nor do they produce relevant information for their partners who sell the destination. Families, singles, honeymooners, wedding couples, seniors – all relevant market groups.

My question is:

What is there to do for them in Barbados?
How do you lure these persons to our shores?
What price?
How do we get them to return?

I am not here to tell the BTA what to do but they should be aware of what our competition is doing.

What is our competitors doing?

Weddings & honeymoons
One destination in the northern Caribbean has taken weddings and honeymoons so seriously that they have a Director of Weddings & Honeymoons. Not only their website but also a Facebook page with contact details and a telephone number that is open from 06.00 to 22.00 to cover all time zones in the USA as well as weekends for couples who MUST have an answer about their wedding choices now. Each wedding from the USA attracts at least 50 to 100 guests. In the southern Caribbean, one destination offers all honeymooners “One Cool Honeymoon” which includes the following:

• Complimentary bottle of champagne upon arrival
  • Complimentary souvenir gift
  • Certificate for a free night during the following year’s return stay
  • Another destination is offering a sizeable discount
  • “Companion Airfare Discount”. This offer applies to flights in all booking classes via LGW or via Hubs in the USA or Canada to the island. Clients
  • Buy one return ticket and the second return ticket is greatly discounted- see below for details
  • Weekday Departures from Europe US$777.00
  • Weekend Departures from Europe US$824.00
  • One island has a marketing offices sitting in Florida that monitors the sales of every flight from the USA to the destination. They know on a daily basis the loads of the flights.

If a gateway is not showing the performance they deem necessary, they contact their hotels, move their sales staff to the state to encourage sales and put offers in the market. This is proactive marketing.

The solution to our tourism turnaround lies in Barbados. We have creative marketing persons who can do the job. We can create the TV and radio ads required to promote Barbados – in Barbados. We have great photographers. I have seen their work which can compete with any other internationally. I have seen work in HTML & CMS locally which compete with the best. Why are we looking abroad? The best persons to help us – is us!

Lets get cracking.

On a lighter note.
If you are 55+ what is there to do after dinner in Barbados. Where do you go to dance and have fun? The Belair no longer exists. Am I ageing myself when I say Mary’s Moustache, Pepperpot, Alexandras, The Hippo disco etc? Where are the Barbadian entrepreneurs that made these places happen? The time has come to encourage them as well as the bands, the trios, the discos.

Let us have create an atmosphere that encourages good, clean entertainment and make it fun for Bajans to enjoy themselves.

The visitors will follow.

117 responses to “Our Tourism Product: Let Us Get Cracking!”

1. WELL!!! YES.
    But dont we have to replace the MORONS running the show now.??

2. Is it time for B’dos to become the St Tropez of the Caribbean? Would that count as “good, clean entertainment”? If not, why not?

3. WHY NOT??
    I dont know, WHY NOT.
    Problem is NEITHER do the “leaders” 🙂
    And they running the show

4. Have Hoteliers (Non government) gotten together to have retreats, conferences and workshops to determine the ways they will mprove marketing of their products? Don’t the hoteliers and persons who profit from tourism get together to brainstorm, create think tanks :exclusive of government, to determine the path they wish to pursue?

5. Be’Damned Alvin.ANOTHER good one!!

6. Ah Tink dey ent heah yuh.
    Mebbe yuh voice comin in a lil faint from Mars!!

7. Ah yes…but as they say ‘Barbados is a Christian country’ and we all know that the flesh is the devil’s child. Or do we?

8. @Alvin

Didn’t 11 past presidents of the BHTA complained leading into the last general election that they wanted to meet urgently with the Prime Minister? An indictment on the MoT maybe?

9. @RR
    Nah man, I ent nuh dat.
    Scarey!!

10. @David
    Yeah True.
    Alvin M O T long overdue!!
    Its the BATTERIES Alvin!!
    REPLACE YUH BATTERIES!!

11. LOL…yeah…sad innit? On the other hand marriages on the beach are OK and, apparently, ‘fun the for the over 50’s’ – oh dear. OK so let’s have ‘fun for geriatrics’…..which might just about mean ‘Holetown open after 10.0pm’ or ‘the Gap five years ago’.

12. @David,
    I specifically refered to the HOTELIERS: exclusive of GOVERNMENT getting together and solving their problem or at least coming up with their own solutions. What does meeting with the Prime Minister have to do with it. The Hoteliers; not the BHTA, or the BTA can meet over a weekend at one of the hotels and thrash out the problems. Why did the hoteliers of Barbados (all ov them) not get together and see if and how the Almond could have been saved. Why did,t the get together anPrime Minister have to do with it.

13. @Alvin

Isn’t the BHTA an association which is comprised of mainly hoteliers?

14. Sorry the blog got short circuited. As I was saying Why didn’t they get together and see if cooperaqtively they could have formed a company to buy out the hotel? “just asking. I am brainstorming…What are they doing? I have never heard of a “retreat” of hoteliers and tourism officials (NON Government…ie no ministers, no civil servants, just hoteliers managers, staff, even cleaners and save their collective hides?

15. @Alvin

Don’t you read the news? Hasn’t Doyle from Crane made a bid to buy Almond?

16. @David
    The BHTA is supposed to be an association comprised mainy of hoteliers, with GOVERNMENT representatives or Government apointed representatives. I want a retreat of Hotel workers and managers EXCLUSIVELY…everyone. Why is that so hard to understand. Have a brainstorming session including gardenters, cooks, cleaners managers, owners come up with a working document and THEN sit down with Government and thresh out how to implement the proposals. . The people responsible for marketing Barbados, manufacturersm marketers (in all areas) are too lazy to do the necessary footwork to market their products are the ones wh are holding back the island. Marketing requirs pushing your product and going back to the potential buyer over and over again, negotiating, etc in order to get your product sold. Yes Bushie, I was a telemarketer for over a year with the Canadian Automobile Association. I know the meaning of rejection when you are trying to sell a product but success comes with persistence. The hoteliers of Barbados have to assist in selling (marketing) their products.

17. @RR
    How about a “joint venture”
    A New night “Venue” “GERIATRIC GYRATIONS”

Raw 2202v plugged directly into every ZIMMER.
    “Come to GG for that ELECTRIFYING experience”
    “Go with the GLOW”

Mebbe we can impose on ALVIN to do the Grande Opening??!!

18. @Alvin

Yes Bushie, I was a telemarketer for over a year with the Canadian Automobile Association.

Yuh ole bundle ah fun ,Yah!!
    Surprisin wuh yuh get up tuh ifn yuh bored.
    WHY?? Yuh stop??

19. @David
    So???!!! Doyle “made a bid” what happened? Didn’t the owners (Trinidadian) wish to sell? Didn’t he follow through with the negotiations? How long ago was that? What is the reason the sale dhas not been completed? Was it a werious bid or just a feeler? Did the other hoteliers and the Association meet with Doyle to get any input, or any information from him? Was a it a secret bid? Didn’t any of the other hotels think of joining with him? So many questions to be asked of the hoteliers.what’s the matter with them? And Adrian, what was your input? All I see you doing is bemoaning the fact that you did not get your refund from the VAT office. How about you organizing a workshop of the type I suggested. Haqve you made sales pitches-even by e-mail to tourism associations in other parts of the world/ Have you visited other successful tourist destinations to see their methods and how they might be applicable to Barbados/ Have the hoteliers collectively, or individually put any of the suggestions offered on these blogs into practise; even as a pilot project, to see the results/

20. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Alvin, i
    if ‘ALL’ you have seen is me bemoaning the non-payment of overdue VAT refunds, then clearly I have wasted 25 years of my life on Barbados.

21. @Bushie
    You asked why I stop? That job was one of three jobs I was doing at the same time..8.30-4.30, at the hospital,5.00-10,00pm at the CAA, 11.00-2.30 at a private lab. I know what hard work is esoecially in the winter. I had an objective and worked toward it. So I know what is possible.

22. Exactly…oh where are the dreams and visions, the poets, the artists? Is ‘who’s buying what’ or ‘let’s all sit down and talk’ the best we’ve got? In essence all we do is worry about whether gayness causes earthquakes or whether cleavages preclude communion. Wonder-full.

23. @Adrian,
    I am talking about NOW when things are tough. I never, and would never imply that you have not done anything, but NOw is the time for all good men to come to the aid of the country. So how about organizing that roekshop, tetc that I suggested. Let’s see the hoteliers working together. I am still waiting for the answer to my questions. And Dr. Love, the idea of “geriatriac Gyrations” may not be as bad as you might think. The baby boomers are now becoming (very wuickly) geriatrics, retiring or about to retire. Hqve hoteliers directedany of their marketing at this group/ What about offering other incentives for young people? Different marketing techniques required.

24. @Alvin
    I know the meaning of rejection when you are trying to sell a product but success comes with persistence

I love you man.Your unintentional humour triggers my imagination.

I see a scenario:
    Canadian peaceful evening!!
    Phone rings!!
    Three hours later, a womans voice calls:
    Heye Honey why you so long on the phone??!
    OH!!
    “Well why you ent tell the man YUH ent got nah KE AR!!”
    “OH ” Yuh cant get a word in edgeway!!”
    “Man jus pay de five dalla ,yer food spoilin”

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | June 15, 2013 at 10:37 AM
    “Have a brainstorming session including gardenters, cooks, cleaners managers, owners come up with a working document and THEN sit down with Government and thresh out how to implement the proposals.”

Yes Alvin, let us continue to play your little ‘pass-the-buck’ game.
    So a group of hoteliers have followed your advice and they have collectively (workers included) agreed that the best way forward to boost tourism numbers and spend is to implement the following:

Establish casinos to entertain the visitors.

Establish one or two private and secluded beaches (nature reserves by the sea) for visitors only or for those who see nothing wrong in sunbathing naked.

Target niche tourism markets like the disabled and the GLBT communities.

Decriminalize the use of marijuana for those visitors and locals who want to get ‘high’ off weed and not bath salts. After all, we encourage the visitors to partake in our finest spirits and to visit our rum distilleries.
    Now even Mount Gay (Remy Martin) is importing some of the finest blend of Scotch whisky to “smooth” the palate of the discerning connoisseur of fine spirits.

Now Alvin, please advise your government on how to act and very fast on these, should we say, rather ‘innovative’ proposals?

26. @Alvin
    and I ean this kindly.
    you and I could Wuickly become goqd freind.
    WE cad wuickly get iintoi deepe discuxions about babay boomers NOw becoming Geriatrics wuickly and dicscuss my idea I tort bad which is really not sa bad as we rapidly aging.
    Hqve you miclaid your spektkles again.
    luv frong Dacter LUv

27. Miller

IF the gardener or maid did come up with those proposals they should be made senators, elected as Diocesan Trustees, and be given honorary doctorates.

28. @Robert Ross;
    Your attempt at cynicism falls flat. It shows how you think of lowly gardeners or maids. Are you saying that people at this level in the work force cannot have innovative and productive suggestions?That is the problem with so many people. in the same industry we are discussing. And in fact so many people in Barbados. Instead of looking at every proposition in depth and discussing the possibilities, they want to “throw cold water on it from the begining”. Indeed some gardeners and maids are much more productive and forward thinking than so many of the people in authority..Managers, politicians, directors andeeven owners.

29. @Alvin

You are rambling. Are you aware that the hotel is privately owned and as far as what was reported in public three offers are on the table? What hoteliers meet what!?! There is no obligation on the part of anyone to bailout/invest if it does not mesh with objectives.

If the government has decided to shift resources away from the tourism sector all the players must get on the same page and this is the MoT’s responsibility given the sector’s contribution to GDP.

30. @Dr. Love.
    your diagnosis was correct. I had indeed mislaid my spectacles, but the problem with the spelling was that i am having difficulty with the space in which I am writing and after about four lines in the space I am typing withoutbeing able to see what has bee typed. sorry about the errors wher you saw a w it should have been a q such as “quicklu”etc. However back to the blog I am putting the onus on the hoteliers to protect themselves. Market for yourselves. There is a tourism policy already in place (enunciated some years ago.) that serves as guidelines. The hard work is up to YOU, not civil Servants who are only implimenters of policy. Marketing is the purvue of the hotels. Government is not supposed to markte for you. Do you think the Federal government or even the provincial government advertise or do marketing for Delta, hotel, Marriot’s Or the King Edward Hotel? I am yet to see any attempt by the hoteliers to market Barbados as a Convention destination (not big conventionsbut small to medium conventions. Cuba obtains a large amount of publicity and return visitors by having conventions discussions etc. year round. we can learn a lot from them, instead of arrogantly adopting the attitude that we can’t learn from them but instead can teach them. We are far behind in marketing our product and adapting our product to suit available markets.

31. By the way; None of you can outlast me. I’ll be here to answer any of your posts.

32. @Alvin.

HOW RR thinks of LOWLY gardeners and maids??!!!!!!
    Are you REAL(Stupid question I know)
    He, RR, just mentioned them as gardeners and maids.??

LOWLY.
    I ONLY see you saying!!

33. @David
    If the government has decided to shift resources away from the tourism sector all the players must get on the same page and this is the MoT’s responsibility given the sector’s contribution to GDP.
    Bull!!!How about ALL the hoteliers getting on the same page and working toward a common goal…Increasing tourism product.Of course the hotel is privately owned, and it is up to the private sector to come up with the solution. If none of them want it so succeed come out and say so. But the privte sector has to find the solution.

34. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Alvin,
    perhaps you missed this, when you were talking about meetings –
    ‘With this in mind, I convened a BHTA Private Sector Strategic Partners meeting in early May this year. As could be expected, a high level of frustration was expressed and there was understandable distress from several of our members regarding the lack of movement in areas key to the survival and blossoming of Barbados visitor economy’.
    Patricia Affonso-Dass – BHTA President – 12 June 2013

The question perhaps that should be asked, was the Minister of Tourism invited and why did not the MOT convene a meeting like this weeks ago, when it was so obvious the arrival figures were falling.

Next week (22 June) the stated booking window of the much vaunted Barbados Island Inclusive $11 million promotion closes. Has it driven an additional 15,000 people in forward bookings and are they likely to generate the $30 million in spending anticipated?

I would have thought that only ten days before the latest booking date of the promotion, that the BHTA would have ascertained from its members if their bookings were substantially up.

35. @ALVIN
    I want to make a promise to you.
    IF EVER you stop blogging here I am gone the same day (OK NO LOSS) but nonetheless a Real promise.
    You brighten my days and strengthen my endevours to strive for further education.
    I hope you go on to your second Century.
    This morning I sat and tears were STREAMING down my cheeks.I have not laughed so for ages.

So”there is in the midst of darkness ;Light”

36. @David. Are you really aware of what you are saying?
    There is no obligation on the part of anyone to bailout/invest if it does not mesh with objectives.
    Why then should the Government be put in that position? The problem is that the hoteliers are not prepared to 1Take the risks2exert the necessary effort. 3willing to wait on government (the people’s) money to bail them out, 4unable to come up with their own solutions.

37. @Alvin
    I need couple/few of your answers.
    How many beans make 5??
    CHicken or the Egg?Which is first.?
    Thought formulation or Speach emission .Ditto.

How do you spell ALVIN (ah the HARD ONES FIRST aye??)

38. @Dr. Love
    Don’t try to defend the indefensible. I know what RR meant and it is exactoy as I said and I deliberately referred them as “lowlY’ because that is what his juxtaposition and reference was intended to convey. he said: “IF the gardener or maid did come up with those proposals they should be made senators, elected as Diocesan Trustees, and be given honorary doctorates.

39. @Adrian
    Here again is what I am referring to. You convened a meeting..Was it a workshop? Where were the other players in the Hotel industry; the workers? Why did there have to be government involvement in this meeting Of course the sentiments expressed would be expected, because the same requests for Government involvements would be expressed. where were the sugggestions from hoteliers coming out of their own “retreat” and conclusions. This “meeting” would only be a talk shop to point out the deficiencies and not the proposals for improvement. “With this in mind, I convened a BHTA Private Sector Strategic Partners meeting in early May this year. As could be expected, a high level of frustration was expressed and there was understandable distress from several of our members regarding the lack of movement in areas key to the survival and blossoming of Barbados visitor economy’.

40. Alvin……..you are doing great.

41. @Dr. Love
    You got to come better than that if you think you can affect me. My back is broad and tough.

42. @Well Well. How are you? I missed, and miss you.

43. @Island Girl
    Yuh late bout de place ??
    En Alvin,”exsposin” he self.
    !!!

44. @Alvin
    Yuh Noggin de same.

45. I am ok, been watching from a really great distance……it’s funny, but unfortunately I am sure some still have not produced the answers nor solutions, it would be much better if they thought deeply about the existing problems and deal with cause and effect.

46. Alivn…….keep trying.

47. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

Who is this guy Alvin?Is he an apologist for the DLP or is he one of the chipmunks?Seems to me he is a bit ‘o both.Writes rubbish all the time.
    Btw I hope you had time to shower and refresh yourself between those 3 jobs you claim you had.Do us a favour and cut the garbage questions and stop the DLP rant.The DLP is clueless from the top down.When they are not buying votes they are threatening to club/shoot bajans to death for speaking out against the inertia that is governance in Buhbaydus.Crapau smoke we pipe ’cause the sow under the counter since January ’08.

48. Oh no………., sigh………… That did not last long.

49. @Well Well. Will do. But their ears hard.They Duncie!!.Can on think in one dimension; no imagination, unwilling to think for themselves or outside of the box in which they have put themselves and walled it around.
    @Dr. Love. Of course my noggin tough. It got to be eontending with the likes of the three Mousketeers and you.

50. @Alvin

The Tourism sector pays the bills, it is the most important sector for generating forex. The hoteliers can come together but government has to lead because it is the government which is responsible for planning/ managing our resources. It is a simple position which you should acknowledge.