The following video is instructive—and required viewing for ALL Barbadians. The commentary explains key lessons from Hurricane Melissa, a Category 5 storm that devastated Jamaica. For Barbadians and others, it MUST serve as a wake up call. The question is not if a similar catastrophe will strike Barbados, but when.

Key takeaways noted by the blogmaster:

1. Mandatory building codes — Cement roofs, proper drainage, and supporting interventions must be compulsory to create a resilient environment. Do we still rely on a DRAFT building code in Barbados?
  2. Food security and sovereignty — Reduce dependence on tourism and the controversial issue of beach access. Invest in farmers and local resources; unlike tourism, agriculture anchors survival in a world that is characterise as being in perpetual chaos..
  3. Community networks — Citizens must build support systems to withstand and recover from crises. Depending on politicians is likely to be foolhardy. It was ordinary citizens that responded quickly while the government and politicians became bogged down in bureaucratic processes trying to score political points.
  4. Climate justice — Treat climate change with seriousness. Integrate alternative energy options more aggressively and embed justice in adaptation. In Barbados have we solved issues associated with generating intermittent energy to supply the national grid after too many years?
  5. People power over politics — Citizens must leverage collective strength and bypass politicians who perpetuate polarisation and feather nest as a result of nurturing systemic corruption.

All of this should be familiar to Bajans. A word to the wise ought to be sufficient.

Thanks to Bentley for the interestig video – David

14 responses to “Barbados: Not If, But When”

1. She looks fat and comfortable.

2. If you had watched the video you would know she is living in Nairobi.

3. THE MASONIC PHILOSOPHICAL & reLIEgious CONCEPT “Ordo ab Chao” – “ORDER OUT OF CHAOS” – A MOTTO OF THE 33RD DEGREE IN FREEMASONRY

#GeorgWilhelmFriedrichHegel, the “MAN” @the center of the “STORM” that we know as the #HegelianDialectic is the philosophical praxis describing how ideas & history evolve through conflict, “DISASTERS” & “CRISES” – moving from an initial “THESIS” (an idea/state) to an opposing “ANTITHESIS”, whose “CONTRADICTION” is resolved in a higher-level “SYNTHESIS”, which then becomes the “NEW THESIS”, driving continuous development, or “CONTROLS” or GOV* “DICTATS”!!!

This process, involving “SUBLATION” from the German word: #Aufhebung, where elements are simultaneously “PRESERVED”, “NEGATED”, & “ELEVATED” which explains “PROGRESS” (LoL) in terms of “CONSCIOUSNESS”, “LOGIC”, & “HISTORY”, moving from simpler to more complex, unified understandings of how thing should or ought to be!!!

JAMAICA WILL NEVER BE THE SAME – FOR YOU HEARD #Emerald (IF THAT IS HER REAL NAME) USE THE TERM; #BuildBackBetter – (INTERESTING)!!!

GOV(s) never let a “GOOD CRISIS GO 2 WASTE”!!!

The term “BUILD BACK BETTER” has been used by multiple world leaders & international bodies (like the #WorldEconomicForum (WEF) & #UnitedNations (UN) incorporated into existing “ANTI-GLOBALIST MESSAGING” & “CONSPIRATORIAL DIMENSIONAL ASPECTS of what is being called #TheGreatReset”!!!

In these narratives, the “PHRASE” is cited as proof that “GLOBAL ELITES” are using “CRISES” like the “COVID-19 PLANDEMIC” to introduce radical, top-down social & economic changes that threaten national sovereignty & individual freedoms!!!

TAKE FROM THAT WHAT YOU WILL

#JamTownGOV* is gonna’ use this “CRISIS” that some are calling “AN ACT OF GOD” (when the “REALITY” is that “HUMANS” have NOT* EVEN seen the “TRUE JUDGMENT OF YAH”) – for what J-Town experienced is the result of the actions of men, where the forces of nature step in & show us how puny we are – incapable of protecting ourselves from a mosquito bite that could be terminal!!!

Andrew Holness hopefully got a “WAKE-UP CALL” (which I doubt) because if there is any “JUDGMENT” – it’s on his “WATCH” & on his “GOV” and maybe, while laying up on his bed “THE HOLY SPIRIT” must be dealing with his conscience!!!

The reasons for that however are too deep for this discussion!!!

What does not seem to have been learned is the fact, as outlined in the VT, is how the “MECHANICS OF CONTROL” are being implemented given the “CRISIS” J’cans are in at this moment!!!

CLEARLY, WE LEARNED NOTHING FROM THE COVID PLANDEMIC OR BERYL OR MELISSA OR WHATEVER OUT OF HELL COMES NEXT

The dialectic is at work!!!

These #WickedDirtyBasterds exploit “CRISIES” for their “MASTERS” own ends!!!

Believe me, when “TRUE JUDGMENT COMES” – we will all know it!!!

#OnThatNote

#ImDone

4. We live in a world where educated people defend secular versus non secular, neoliberalism versus central government, environmentalists versus frackers/fossil, capitalism versus the many alternatives. There is no certain path for the ‘ignorant’ among us to follow, our educated people are failing us?

5. “We live in a world where educated people defend secular versus non secular, neoliberalism versus central government, environmentalists versus frackers/fossil, capitalism versus the many alternatives. There is no certain path for the ‘ignorant’ among us to follow, our educated people are failing us?”

I wish I was deep instead of macho..
    If I ruled the world I would make Businesses concentrate on providing service not profit. You may call it capitalism or socialism or community minded if you like, but it beats the fat greedy capitalist piggies who get others to do their work and make their monies.

No News is Good News
    In the world of the Trump Chump it is better for peace of mind and wellness to stop reading/watching the news.

With democratic values under attack from populists within and former allies without, there are no simple solutions
    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2025/dec/09/donald-trump-civilisation-war-europe

6. Terence Blackett Avatar

THERE IS A CRISIS COMING THAT WILL COMPLETE;LY ROCK THE WORLD AS WE KNOW IT & HARDLY ANYONE IS PREPARED 4 IT

#TheNastyBasterds who “THINK” they are in charge are doing their level best to exploit every “CRISIS” they can, to bring about “COMPLETE & UTTER OBEDIENCE” from the “MASSES”!!!

In the below VT is one #LarryEllison who is said to be the 2nd richest humanoid on earth – but looking at the “GUY”, he looks like a “DISEASED NEANDERTHAL” in lock-step with #TonyBlair who is a “TRAITOR” of the worst kind – making “JUDAS ISCARIOT”, “BARABBAS” & “BRUTUS” look like school-yard play-boys!!!

The world has come to a very “NASTY PLACE”, where “SUB-HUMANS” are “DEMONS” clothed in a putrefying physiological garb & their only intent is “DOMINATION” at any cost!!!

THEY WILL FAIL MISERABLY

The time 4 these #BloodSuckingAdrenaChromeVampires to come 2 an abruptly “DIVINE END”!!!

7. $407m to resolve insurance matters

GOVERNMENT, FOR THE seven-anda-half years it has been in office, borrowed $7.341 billion and has repaid $9.643 billion, revealed Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn yesterday.

Straughn told the House of Assembly yesterday that the total sum was borrowed between June 2018 and September 2025, but he gave no further breakdown of the monies.

The information came out as the House of Assembly was debating simultaneously, under the Special Loans Act, resolutions on the borrowing of $313.6 million from China SINOPHARM International Corporation (SINOPHARMINTL) to finance 80 per cent of the cost associated with the design and construction of an outpatient clinic, a patient ward, a burn unit and a laboratory centre comprising Queen Elizabeth Hospital Enmore Site Extension Lot 1 Project; the construction of an oncology centre, an administration office comprising Queen Elizabeth Hospital Enmore Site Extension Lot 2 Project, and the borrowing of $100 million by way of two loans from the OPEC Fund for International Development to strengthen social services.

The country has a four-year grace period to repay the loan and the first payment will be on February 10 and August 10, 2029 in relation to the $313.6 million. For the $100 million loan there is a five-year grace period with a 20-year plan at three per cent.

Straughn, in relation to the overall borrowing since 2018, pointed out that $407 million was to resolve the Clico and British American matters which, he said, were foisted on taxpayers.

Collapsed

The regional insurance conglomerate collapsed in January 2009, leaving thousands of investors throughout the Caribbean without their nest eggs.

Straughn said the anger by the almost 3 000 investors in May 2019 was justified since for ten years, the policy holders were left “languishing” and then the matter was foisted on the then incoming Barbados Labour Party Government to resolve, using taxpayers money.

“We had to resolve the matter and people were justifiably angry because it should never have taken ten years to resolve and to this day, things are still unresolved in other places,” he told the House.

At the time it was $600 million and while people are saying they were not certain where the borrowed money was going, taxpayers had to rescue the policyholders.

Straughn also pointed out that there were plantations, owned by the company, pledged in order to resolve the matters in relation to the other territories.

He questioned how Clico, a pan Caribbean company headquartered in Trinidad and with subsidiaries in Barbados and the OECS was allowed to get away from dealing with the issue of the subsidiary companies.

“Financially it is important to understand when a Government makes decisions to assume something, absolving people of responsibility, there is something fundamentally wrong with that. The company failed and the parent company looked out for themselves and we ended up having to deal with not only Barbados but the OECS,” the minister said.

He said that after that point, Barbados had a $38 million negotiation to get back the plantations and to be put into production to assist with finding employment for young people through the Farmer Empowerment and Enfranchisement Drive.

Those on hand for the sitting of the House included members of the Soroptimist of Jamestown International, participating in the United Nation’s 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence under the theme United Against Digital.

There were nine students from Harrison College, Queen’s College, Combermere, Springer Memorial and the University of the West Indies. (AC) Please see also Pages 4, 13 and 14 for more reports from Parliament.

8. What do these percentage increases mean in terms of volume output Minister Weir?

Weir: Agriculture seeing growth

AGRICULTURE IS GROWING despite facing some challenges.

Minister of Agriculture, Food and Nutritional Security Indar Weir said the evidence of this was in the Central Bank’s third quarter economic review, as he assured Barbadians there would be adequate supplies of ham, pork, poultry including chicken, and eggs this Christmas.

He was responding to statements from Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne, who said agriculture was in decline.

They were speaking in the House of Assembly yesterday during debate on a resolution seeking Parliament’s approval for Barbados to borrow $313.6 million from China SINOPHARM International Corporation to expand the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

Weir chided Thorne and said the Opposition Leader was engaging in “a load of generics” about agriculture when the evidence from the Central Bank was that the sector grew by 10.1 per cent between January and September.

“Agriculture output, as it relates to livestock, in the third quarter was also up seven per cent and I bring these numbers to this House because I challenge The Honourable Leader of the Opposition to go to the Central Bank report and read what is reported there,” the minister said.

“Food crops rose 12.3 per cent.

So [agricultural] output was 10.1 per cent for the third quarter in 2025. Meat production increased 9.1 per cent, egg output rose 14.5 per cent, pork expanded 3.7 per cent, and chicken production climbed to 2.7 per cent.

“Despite all of the bad weather, flooding, everything, chicken tunnels collapse, climate change made it very difficult for agriculture, and this Minister of Agriculture still got a 10.1 per cent growth [in] three quarters,” Weir added.

The Member of Parliament for St Philip South also assured Barbadians that “ Christmas is upon us, [and] we have not heard any waves at all about any shortages of any kind of food”.

“Barbadians consume a lot of ham in this country at Christmas. We now have an abundance of ham and pork available in Barbados. We have chicken, poultry, available in abundance in Barbados [and] table eggs. And these are consistent with the Central Bank report for the third quarter,” Weir said.

He shared that while at this time last year Barbadians were paying $10 a pound for sweet potato, this root crop “is now $1.75 per pound for Barbados to consume”.

“When you hear the Leader of the Opposition speak, you will think that nothing is going on in this country in agriculture. Yet every single day, farmers show up all the time, the same poor people that he wants to talk about, young men and women show up every single day, rain fall, sun shine, to make sure that food is placed on our tables.

The minister said the authorities were “working towards great things like getting into climate-smart agriculture using vertical farms” and that greenhouse technology was being introduced at secondary schools.

There was also an effort to “work towards bringing down the food import bill”.

“There are challenges. You have climate [change], you got unpredictable rainfall, you got droughts, you got pests, you got all kinds of diseases, but we have been able to manage through all of that to bring some stability to the sector,” Weir said. (SC)

9. Obviously we have to adapt to the changing environment and build appropriate houses. If I had to rebuild right now I would build smaller to stretch the money to cover category five standards. Smaller, but stronger! As it is, I have to rely on hurricane straps, shutters and insurance coverage.

I find the interest in agriculture is growing among householders. If you don’t hit the hardware stores soon after delivery of seedlings yuh bus’ luck. And when I am early and lucky, I hardly make it home without somebody asking where I got them from. Last time, I gave some away to a young lady who asked about them. She was very happy.

I think we do have to help ourselves and not rely on government. You can grow stuff in very small spaces and every little bit helps.

Our government is slow to move. The thieves are now organised and carry weapons. The inspection of vendors will probably not be sustained. The monkeys still wreak havoc. Agricultural lands are being sacrificed. And I am yet to see all the technology being deployed. Farmers need real help!

Hurricane season soon come again.

10. @Donna

Interest may be increasing, but the extent to which material growth can be achieved is limited by the fact that we live in an era of developed housing developments, many of which have zero lot lines or almost.

11. David,

Stuff can be grown even on concrete roofs l those on my garage and verandah. All you need are steps or a ladder. I would do it if I didn’t a much bigger than average lot. Also boxes, bags, buckets, bathtubs, hanging baskets work rather well and save one from weeding. Right now I have several plant pots in my verandah growing vegetables. Granted, I have a bigger verandah than most. But vines need very little space as well. They grow upwards. Spinach, tomatoes, squash, pumpkin, cucumbers, string beans take up little space.

You are not looking to feed a country, just a family. And not necessary providing everything. Every little bit helps though.

12. Agree Donna but those who chose to live in built up areas in houses valued $600, 000 plus see practicing agriculture as not aligned to their expectations.

13. “….those who chose to live in built up areas in houses valued $600, 000 plus see practicing agriculture as not aligned to their expectations.”
    ~~~~~~~~
    This will change OVERNIGHT when their donkeys are reduced to eating the damn concrete…and the useless money that they made on the deals…