An article by Sir Ronald Sanders submitted by Ras Jahaziel

Photo Credit: http://rastafarivisions

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, Friday April 12, 2013 – In 1838, British slave owners in the English-Speaking Caribbean received £11.6 (US$17.8) billion in today’s value as compensation for the emancipation of their “property” – 655,780 human beings of African descent that they had enslaved, brutalised and exploited.  The freed slaves, by comparison, received nothing in recompense for their dehumanisation, their cruel treatment, the abuse of their labour and the plain injustice of their enslavement.

The monies paid to slaves owners have been studied and assembled by a team of Academics from University College London, including Dr Nick Draper, who spent three years pulling together 46,000 records which they have now launched as an internet database.  The website is: ucl.ac.uk/lbs.

Read More: http://rastafarivisions.com/blacktruth/uncorrected-racism

1. AC………i was calling Bushie to help you with elementary comprehension……….as you can see i have no problem with 5th grade comprehension.

2. Just got a little surprise…………..the Minister of Foreign Affairs for France, is a black female…………………..blacks have come a long way, particularly with a country like France given it’s history.

3. There was a buffalo soldier in the heart of america,
    Stolen from africa, brought to america,
    Fighting on arrival, fighting for survival
    Sorry just my inner Marley coming to the surface but this talk about reparations is a pipe dream it aint gonna happen so instead of wasting time and energy talking, writing or otherwise thinking of it better to concentrate energies on attainable goals.

First of all will it be reparations for all descendants of slaves in the “New World” which includes places like Brazil, Haiti, Cuba etc. or just reparations for those who were brought to the English speaking Caribbean and what is now the USA?

For the purposes of this exercise let’s say reparations are for descendants of the last two entities and for sake of argument let’s use the number 40 million which was quoted earlier, is that 40 million based on skin colour alone? Let’s bring the human element into it and by that I mean greed because as long as money or any benefit is being granted everybody wants a piece of the pie. How many people did we start out with again? That’s right 40 million but suddenly all the descendants of slaves who were impregnated by the Europeans and called mulattoes whose offspring dallied with Europeans and became quadroons and octoroons until they finally became “white” will claim their great great great granddaddy was a Buffalo soldier or their great gran 4 times removed was a scullery maid at some Plantation house or they can trace their lineage to Kunta Kinte. Suddenly that 40 million is 60 million or more and they may be correct because if you subject some of those fair haired blue eye people to a DNA test you will see that their Y chromosome goes right back to some dusky village in Ghana.

That little vignette is just to confirm that the descendants of slaves may not be all you may think them to be and they may claim a share of any reparation.

4. You about to witness the Pied Piper effect making children follow the music

5. Babylon your mental chains break
    yea yea yea yay yay
    For Ethiopia’s progress ourself we educate
    Well a lightning hotta earthquake
    Babylon your mental chains break
    yea ea ea ey ey
    Black people go home for righteousness sake
    oh rugu rue rue rue

The preaching is over, what’s your actions to this ?
    So long up inna them land, nothing you have accomplished
    Them inna them computer age, children beware of it
    Because everything, everything becomes cybernetic
    Repatriation, we endeavour, we’ll all make it
    Too much inna Babylon, that is too much for your kit
    Computer is them world, them number is 666
    That’s the mark of the beast, look out for micro-chip

6. While we have this tendency to place down the psychological trauma that racism have had on the people of color. It still presences real life psychological challenges for the people of color, who have been the victims of this ever present reality. Many still suffers from issues of self -identity, for having to relying on others to define their sense of value.

7. Reggae is jamaican african style music gone international endorsing black people to relate to their African roots and reject racial prejudice in Western society prevalent since slavery

8. @ Well well
    I don’t know where you have gotten the idea from that the bible was used to keep the slaves in line? When the historical record clearly shows that slaves who were found to be literate endured harsh punishments, and sometimes death at the hands of their masters; maybe you meant to say that the bible was used to justify slavery in: Europe Africa, South America, and the Caribbean?

9. Dr. Eric Williams’s book: “Capitalism and Slavery,” is a great resource for understanding the institution of slavery in the Caribbean.

10. Something that might be of interest to professionals and experienced entrepreneurs willing to consult with Africans from Bim or elsewhere is the following website and organisation http://www.growmovement.org . Maybe peeps that contribute on this site,ie BU, may want to start a similar project for Bim?
    I have consultants available to participate here in TO, and could draw such a venture to others attention.

11. @AC
    LF is a very clever gent, who knows how to ensnare his audience. The Bible does address slavery of the Jews by Arabs and when those books were written slavery was very common. Indeed, the Arabs had African slaves many centuries before whitey. I wander why LF does not emphasise that fact? Probably not good for his business? Can of worms pointing out that Muslims permitted slavery too!

12. Moneybrain……………You might have missed some comments maybe a month or two ago dealing with the fact that Arabs enslaved blacks and still continue to do so today in certain parts of North Africa………….long before whitey.

Obzocky…………Don’t know if you ever hear of Kwame Nkrumah, I think he was president of Zambia, I may be wrong, but he wrote a book detailing that the white man went into his country with the bible and when he left he owned all the land and the only thing blacks were left to hold was the bible…………don’t get tied up, it was a powerful tool.

13. @ Money brain.It was important that LF show the connection of ownership of blacks slaves by Europeans it is part and parcel of the message about reparations nothing to do with LF being Clever.

14. @Obzocky and WW
    No doubt the Bible was used to keep people down by brainwashing them to believe that being poor and having a master was OK, even Godly. It is an excellent tool for misuse by unscrupulous maniacs. I know people today who still believe that they should not be well off in order to be close to God. Some believe God will take care of them, provide. I am very skeptical, doubting Thomas, BUT it was God that made me like that.

15. Okay! I understand the argument that the Bible had been used to keep the slaves in line.

But, I must also ask this rather stupid question though: what has God to do with man’s erroneous interpretation of the Bible?

And why are we blaming the Bible as though the Bible interprets its self; blame the interpreter and not the designer.

16. “And why are we blaming the Bible as though the Bible interprets its self; blame the interpreter and not the designer”
    ==

Western society call Africa Asia South America Caribbean Third World and reinterpreted world history and creation

Imperialism Colonialism and Racism are biggest sins inflicted on mankind

17. @Obzocky and 555
    The blame obviously must be placed on those who participated in the EVIL!

However, The Bible should not really be open to interpretation that is a flaw as is the Law in our Justice Systems. Humans of all colours, classes and creeds have far too many evil mofos extant, that is the real problem. Pols, Bankers etc lead that parade.

Just look at the many black leaders in Africa who treat their own peeps horribly eg powerful Nigerians dont treat Delta peeps too well ie where the Oil is. Does Mugabe treat the Zim Opposition followers properly?

18. I still believe the bible is nothing more than a history book, someones detailed accounts written by different races eons ago, stolen like everything else by europeans and interpreted to suit the times just for financial gain with slavery included……………don’t forget for a minute that the catholic church was implicit in funding slavery and keeping it very much alive and never apologized until very recently coming with a half ass sorry, although they fought tooth and nail for black people to be enslaved indefinitely………..so i take all things religious and the bible with large doses of aloes.

19. @WW
    I am skeptical bordering on cynicism!
    Without doubt some of the very best CONMEN are in the Religion Industry!
    They will sell your soul to the Devil for a couple cents. The Ten Commandments are lucid and should be obeyed and many other stories make sense BUT when the Cons decide they can corrupt anything! The Vatican Bank has dealt with some very dangerous criminals WHY? How come the RCs are so rich? Give us your $$$$ to help others! WHO?

20. Moneybrain………that is it, we have to keep and open mind if capable……………looking back at their track record…………they have managed to sell us everything not belonging to them except, so far………the air we breathe and sleep. If you keep track we may soon hear an excuse on why we must also pay for these things.

I keep telling people these religious organizations, vatican city, anglican, etc are all corporations that exist solely to make money.

21. @Well Well

“I still believe the bible is nothing more than a history book…”

Well! You’re obviously free to exercise your gift of self-determination/ freewill the way you see fit. This however, does not change the fact that God’s word will be the final arbiter of man’s destiny here on earth. And whether you choose to accept the bible as fact or fiction, it has no relevance to God’s divine purpose for our human existence; his words will be made know with or without your unqualified opinion. You have question the existence of God, why? Because you believe that the very notion of God is impractical to authenticate through the applicable medium by which we engage our empirical reality. Surely, this does not prove beyond a reasonable doubt that just because he can’t be seen with the human eyes and touch with the human hands, that he fails to live. Even our universe in all it splendor, gives witness to the awesome power of a merciful God who awaits the repentance of a rebellious lot. Moreover, your belief I surmised, is based fundamentally, on the inanimate pages of a book that requires the spirit of the living God to actuate its very essence. Indeed, the Almighty God communicates to his people through the intuitive-conscience; the very notion that appears extraneous to our human understanding.
    Finally, in the not to distant future, the power of the living God will make itself felt upon the face of the earth. And at the moment, every knee should genuflect, and every tongue shall confess that Jesus is God…

22. Obzocky
    i love how you are waxing warm in your prose and I love it, but be careful you are the minority here on this blog when it comes to belief in things of GOD and the Bible.

23. Obzocky……………..you gotta learn to differentiate…………..i don’t believe in religion……….i think the man made version of the bible is suspect…………….this has nothing to do with a higher entity which may be responsible for creation…………the things i don’t believe in are all man made. there are very separate and distinct from each other.

24. AC
    What you doing listening to Farahkhan and calling Caswell a radical.

25. The thing with religious people, they are not able to separate man made nonsense from spirituality……………that is why we have wars, ethnic cleansing and all kinds of crimes being committed in the name of everyone’s individual religion, and everyone seem to have a different version of God…………yet the world is on a fast track to hell in a handbasket. I like keeping things simple…………..Don’t know if anyone one has noticed but all the religious tele-evangalists are now crawling out of their holes…………watch out for more corruption on earth.

26. The history book called the bible will continually predict the destruction that is ahead of us as long as man continually makes the same mistakes every century of every thousand and million years and continually expects to get different results.

27. The former British Prime Minister, Margaret Thacther, was viewed by many as a vile racist .

Margaret Thatcher ‘Unabashedly Racist’ Says Australia’s Foreign Minister Bob Carr .
    The Huffington Post UK | By Jessica Elgot Posted: 10/04/2013 09:06 .

Australia’s Foreign Minister Bob Carr has claimed Margaret Thatcher made ”unabashedly racist” comments when they last met, warning him not to let immigrants “take over” Sydney.

‘I recall one conversation I had with her in her retirement where she said something that was unabashedly racist,” he told ABC television on Tuesday night.

”She warned Australia – talking to me with Helena [his wife, who is of Malaysian origin] standing not far away – against Asian immigration, saying that if we allowed too much of it we’d see the natives of the land, the European settlers, overtaken by migrants …..

The Huffington Post UK | By Jessica Elgot Posted: 10/04/2013 09:06 .

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

The Bible is so called “Black” History Book.
    The Bible was re written many things removed . Words removed and some made up. Its the closest thing we have for a true accounts of our past.
    You may go to Church for 20 years and learn nothing to help your self just go to Church and pay out your funds.
    A man can go to Bible college for 3 or 4 years and open a Church . Make a living and not help you just take from you.
    “Blacks” are the Jews
    “Whites” are the Jewish , ish means LIKE us, not us ,

29. You see with farrakhan he does not preach theology like the Christian faith . He dissects the bible so that it could be understood as a book that chronicles the lives of ordinary people trying to survive under extraordinary circumstances ,he is not a “pie” in the sky preacher.

30. Thatcher was undeniably a vile evil demon occupying human flesh………the australians should have thrown her out, just like the way the British threw the worst criminals they had out of england and they had to find their way to australia…………..demons occupying human flesh seldom remember history.

31. @WW
    While I have little knowledge of Maggie’s racial views I am very aware of her Economic Views and Policies. The saying “we are all Thatcherite’s now” was born as a result and has been used by Russian’s et al. Maggie saved the UK and many different Nations with her Iron hand fix of the languishing Socialist Sclerosis.
    Greatest Economic UK PM in at least 100yrs!

32. Moneybrain………………they are many Brits who would agree with you and an equal amount who would disagree. I guess it depends on who was affected positively and who was affected negatively by her policies. My issue with her was her vicious racist practices.

33. Ac
    Louis Farakhan is one of the best smooth talkers in the USA. You took a real look at the church where he was preaching. Do you really understand his brand of muslimism. Elijah Mohammed is a god; Christ and all the other people are just good men. Elijah Mohammed is the one and only true god. Don’t let me and Caswell see coming down Broad Street in a couple weeks stumbling over you muslim dress hear. i like him as a speaker but he is a real fraud.

34. i am not interested in anyone representation of who their god is. after all most of what people practiced in religion is by FAITH ,LF teachings goes beyond the teaching of who God is but with a preference on its history. Hence his expose on the topic “ReparationS and who is to blame There are not many churches who will venture into such teachings out of fear but would prefer to remain silent.prefering to preach rather than teach.

35. “The Bible is so called “Black” History Book.
    .. ..
    “Blacks” are the Jews
    “Whites” are the Jewish , ish means LIKE us, not us ”
    =
    that’s like an epiphany

36. The British Covered Up Their Actions (Terror, Torture, Murder) in Kenya :

I will refer to the book , Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain’s Gulag in Kenya , by Caroline Elkins.

This book looks at the Mau Mau Rebellion in Kenya between 1952-1960.The Mau Mau war of liberation was waged principally to gain freedom and to recover the land, which had been arbitrarily taken away by the British colonialists for their habitation and exploitation.

Elkins’s book reveals how British colonial officials (and, to some extent, the top levels of British government, including the champion of liberty, justice, and Western values: British Prime Minister Winston Churchill) explicitly approved, defended, or implicitly supported the following methods for dealing with Mau Mau freedom fighters:

1) summary executions
    2) random murders (i.e. group 100 detainees Mau Mau together; randomly choose 30 and kill them to instill fear in the remaining 70)
    3) torture by rape (also gang-rape, public rape), sodomy, sexual mutilation and sexual violence (castration, use of foreign objects designed to inflict pain or damage sexual organs)
    4) torture by relentless unprovoked physical beatings often resulting in death
    5) awful health standards in the camp that spread infectious disease
    6) humiliation to individuals and groups (forcing people to eat feces, be covered in feces)
    7) slave labor
    8) forced starvations and severe water deprivation
    The list goes on and on.

Elkins describes the actions of British colonial government in Kenya with the following statement .
    Quote:
    Its detention facilities, “interrogation” and “rehabilitation” tactics, and overall “counterinsurgency” bare a shocking resemblance to Nazi Germany.

After years of denial and cover up the British Government finally admits guilt . I refer to the article , Imperial guilt, denial, and delay , by Gwynne Dyer .
    Quote :
    SIR ERIC GRIFFITH-JONES, the attorney-general in the British colony of Kenya at the time of the Mau Mau rebellion, was a sensitive soul who worried that the torture and murder of detainees in the prison camps where suspected Mau Mau supporters were being held was “distressingly reminiscent of conditions in Nazi Germany or Communist Russia.”

So he wrote the governor in 1957, warning him that “If we are going to sin, we must sin quietly.”

It stayed quiet for a long time—so quiet that many British people were able to believe that their empire had somehow been nicer than the others. But empires are tyrannies by definition, built by violence and maintained by fear, and the British empire in Africa was no exception. Half a century late, the British government has finally been forced to admit that.

The Mau Mau rebellion in Kenya in 1952-60 was suppressed with great brutality. The Kenya Human Rights Commission estimates that 90,000 Kenyans were executed, tortured, or maimed in British prison camps during the “Emergency”, but nobody was ever punished for the horrors that happened there, and none of the victims ever got an apology. Until now.

By 2011, the Kenyan survivors of the camps were mostly in their 80s and dying off fast, and the few people in the British Foreign Office who even remembered that ugly episode probably assumed that the shameful details would be buried with them. But then five survivors of the camps lodged a claim against Britain for compensation, on behalf of some 6,000 victims who were still alive, and the whole can of worms was re-opened.

The British government used every legal trick in the book to avoid admitting liability. It even claimed that the victims should be seeking compensation from the Kenyan government, not from Britain, since that government inherited all of London’s legal responsibilities when Kenya got its independence in 1963.

When that claim was rejected by the courts, the British government claimed that no fair trial was possible since it was all too long ago: there would be “irredeemable difficulties” in finding relevant witnesses and documents. We’d love to help you, but alas there are no records.

Then the lawyers for the claimants discovered that the government had been concealing the existence of an enormous secret archive, some 8,000 files from 37 former British colonies, which had been removed from the Public Records Office and stored elsewhere. It was hidden precisely because it documented the various crimes and atrocities that the British imperial authorities committed while trying to suppress various independence movements.

In the end, after a court battle so long that two of the five lead claimants died, the British government concluded that it didn’t have a legal leg to stand on. Last week it announced an out-of-court settlement that gave some 5,228 Kenyan survivors of the camps compensation of about $5,700 each. It also agreed to pay the $9 million legal costs that the claimants had run up while the government lied, stalled, and stonewalled.

Foreign Secretary William Hague even said that “the British government sincerely regrets that these abuses took place”—but he stressed that the British government was not admitting any legal liability for the actions of the British colonial administration in Kenya. It just felt bad about what had happened to those poor old Kenyans long ago, and wanted to make them feel better by giving them some money.

Well, no, he didn’t actually say that last sentence, but why couldn’t he bring himself to say “it was our fault and we’re really sorry for what we did”? Because there are half a dozen other claims waiting to be submitted by the victims of other atrocities during Britain’s long retreat from empire.

There are the relatives of Malaysian villagers who were massacred by British troops in 1948. There are the Greek-Cypriots who fought against British rule in the 1950s and were imprisoned without trial; they claim that many were tortured and executed in the camps. There could even be claims from Yemen, where an Amnesty International report documented torture and genital mutilation of detainees during the revolt against British rule in Aden in the 1960s.

The British government’s strategy is the same in every case: deny, dissimulate, and delay. Hague’s refusal to admit liability, even as he pays off the Kenyan claimants, is part of that larger strategy. And the Foreign Office has already said that any future claims may be dealt with under the controversial secret court system established by the new Justice and Security Act, which comes into effect next month. If you don’t like the law, change it.

37. The Reparation Movement needs to file a lawsuit against Britain . There is no time to delay, act now before the British destroy all the secret documents containing the atrocities they committed in the colonies from slavery to independence .

38. There will be no more worrying about bag or grub worms, moths, etc.
    Most people have their own reasons to landscape their yard
    to attract wildlife. Also known as the weed-eater, the string trimmer is indispensable if you
    have a lot of trimming to do around the house, fences, walkways, or posts.

39. akonu
    “The Reparation Movement needs to file a lawsuit against Britain . There is no time to delay, act now before the British destroy all the secret documents containing the atrocities they committed in the colonies from slavery to independence ”
    =
    I concur but they’re parasites spying watching our chatter covering backside

40. BRITAIN DESTROYED RECORDS OF COLONIAL CRIMES

Thousands of documents detailing some of the most shameful acts and crimes committed during the final years of the British empire were systematically destroyed to prevent them falling into the hands of post-independence governments, an official review has concluded.

Those papers that survived the purge were flown discreetly to Britain where they were hidden for 50 years in a secret Foreign Office archive, beyond the reach of historians and members of the public, and in breach of legal obligations for them to be transferred into the public domain.

The archive came to light last year when a group of Kenyans detained and allegedly tortured during the Mau Mau rebellion won the right to sue the British government. The Foreign Office promised to release the 8,800 files from 37 former colonies held at the highly-secure government communications centre at Hanslope Park in Buckinghamshire.

The historian appointed to oversee the review and transfer, Tony Badger, master of Clare College, Cambridge, says the discovery of the archive put the Foreign Office in an “embarrassing, scandalous” position. “These documents should have been in the public archives in the 1980s,” he said. “It’s long overdue.” The first of them are made available to the public on Wednesday at the National Archive at Kew, Surrey.

The papers at Hanslope Park include monthly intelligence reports on the “elimination” of the colonial authority’s enemies in 1950s Malaya; records showing ministers in London were aware of the torture and murder of Mau Mau insurgents in Kenya, including a case of aman said to have been “roasted alive”; and papers detailing the lengths to which the UK went to forcibly remove islanders from Diego Garcia in the Indian Ocean.

However, among the documents are a handful which show that many of the most sensitive papers from Britain’s late colonial era were not hidden away, but simply destroyed. These papers give the instructions for systematic destruction issued in 1961 after Iain Macleod, secretary of state for the colonies, directed that post-independence governments should not get any material that “might embarrass Her Majesty’s government”, that could “embarrass members of the police, military forces, public servants or others eg police informers”, that might compromise intelligence sources, or that might “be used unethically by ministers in the successor government”.

Among the documents that appear to have been destroyed were: records of the abuse of Mau Mau insurgents detained by British colonial authorities, who were tortured and sometimes murdered; reports that may have detailed the alleged massacre of 24 unarmed villagers in Malaya by soldiers of the Scots Guards in 1948; most of the sensitive documents kept by colonial authorities in Aden, where the army’s Intelligence Corps operated a secret torture centre for several years in the 1960s; and every sensitive document kept by the authorities in British Guiana, a colony whose policies were heavily influenced by successive US governments and whose post-independence leader was toppled in a coup orchestrated by the CIA.

The documents that were not destroyed appear to have been kept secret not only to protect the UK’s reputation, but to shield the government from litigation. If the small group of Mau Mau detainees are successful in their legal action, thousands more veterans are expected to follow.

It is a case that is being closely watched by former Eoka guerillas who were detained by the British in 1950s Cyprus, and possibly by many others who were imprisoned and interrogated between 1946 and 1967, as Britain fought a series of rearguard actions across its rapidly dimishing empire.

The documents show that colonial officials were instructed to separate those papers to be left in place after independence – usually known as “Legacy files” – from those that were to be selected for destruction or removal to the UK. In many colonies, these were described as watch files, and stamped with a red letter W.

The papers at Kew depict a period of mounting anxiety amid fears that some of the incriminating watch files might be leaked. Officials were warned that they would be prosecuted if they took any any paperwork home – and some were. As independence grew closer, large caches of files were removed from colonial ministries to governors’ offices, where new safes were installed.

In Uganda, the process was codenamed Operation Legacy. In Kenya, a vetting process, described as “a thorough purge”, was overseen by colonial Special Branch officers.

Clear instructions were issued that no Africans were to be involved: only an individual who was “a servant of the Kenya government who is a British subject of European descent” could participate in the purge.

Painstaking measures were taken to prevent post-independence governments from learning that the watch files had ever existed. One instruction states: “The legacy files must leave no reference to watch material. Indeed, the very existence of the watch series, though it may be guessed at, should never be revealed.”

When a single watch file was to be removed from a group of legacy files, a “twin file” – or dummy – was to be created to insert in its place. If this was not practicable, the documents were to be removed en masse. There was concern that Macleod’s directions should not be divulged – “there is of course the risk of embarrassment should the circular be compromised” – and officials taking part in the purge were even warned to keep their W stamps in a safe place.

Many of the watch files ended up at Hanslope Park. They came from 37 different former colonies, and filled 200 metres of shelving. But it is becoming clear that much of the most damning material was probably destroyed. Officials in some colonies, such as Kenya, were told that there should be a presumption in favour of disposal of documents rather than removal to the UK – “emphasis is placed upon destruction” – and that no trace of either the documents or their incineration should remain. When documents were burned, “the waste should be reduced to ash and the ashes broken up”.

Some idea of the scale of the operation and the amount of documents that were erased from history can be gleaned from a handful of instruction documents that survived the purge. In certain circumstances, colonial officials in Kenya were informed, “it is permissible, as an alternative to destruction by fire, for documents to be packed in weighted crates and dumped in very deep and current-free water at maximum practicable distance from the coast”.

Documents that survive from Malaya suggest a far more haphazard destruction process, with relatively junior officials being permitted to decide what should be burned and what should be sent to London.

Dr Ed Hampshire, diplomatic and colonial record specialist at the National Archive, said the 1,200 files so far transferred from Hanslope Park represented “gold dust” for historians, with the occasional nugget, rather than a haul that calls for instant reinterpretation of history. However, only one sixth of the secret archive has so far been transferred. The remainder are expected to be at Kew by the end of 2013.

THE GUARDIAN 18/4/2012.

41. America is a racist and extremely dangerous place for black people /Afro-Americans . White men continue to kill unarmed black teenager and then go free.

http://youtu.be/EG5RO1-31Bw