An article by Sir Ronald Sanders submitted by Ras Jahaziel

Photo Credit: http://rastafarivisions

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, Friday April 12, 2013 – In 1838, British slave owners in the English-Speaking Caribbean received £11.6 (US$17.8) billion in today’s value as compensation for the emancipation of their “property” – 655,780 human beings of African descent that they had enslaved, brutalised and exploited.  The freed slaves, by comparison, received nothing in recompense for their dehumanisation, their cruel treatment, the abuse of their labour and the plain injustice of their enslavement.

The monies paid to slaves owners have been studied and assembled by a team of Academics from University College London, including Dr Nick Draper, who spent three years pulling together 46,000 records which they have now launched as an internet database.  The website is: ucl.ac.uk/lbs.

Read More: http://rastafarivisions.com/blacktruth/uncorrected-racism

1. Reparations for the descendants of black slavery are in order, but how will they pay?………..the US is saying 1.5 million to each person is due (tongue in cheek)……………how will Britain quantify it and when will they pay??, and please, for those of you who like to jump in, it is about black slavery from the African continent.

2. …..and who will it be payed too???…will it be defined by the melanin content of the individual or the DNA linkages to certain parts of Africa irrespective of the melanin content???

3. This is thought provoking, since they claim a drop of black blood makes everyone black……they can base it on their racist tendencies and pay according to melanin content, visible melanin content……..DNA screening of millions of people of African descent might cause them to go broke and defeat the whole purpose.

4. Interesting site,
    Africans were worth a lot as slaves due to physical strengths for work but were abused and treated as sub-humans–even though everyone goes to toilet the same the white people wanted separate toilets

5. Assuming that at least 40mn people were involved and reparations should be $500k–1mn/ person affected, then the cost would be $20-40Tr. Now forgetting that the Western World (Europe, USA) is currently BANKRUPT that sum or anything near it will never be payable under normal circumstances farless now. What would be a possible strategy would be to reach an immediate agreement to pay say $10tr in today’s $$$, starting in 5yrs and then pay up when the hyperinflation gets cooking and a coffee is selling for like $25. This is what happened in Germany after WW1 when the victors demanded reparations and eventually the Mark was printed in Billion Notes and was worthless. ( workers were paid 2x/ day at lunch and after work hours) It was like Zimbabwe today. (indeed, I have a $100Trillion Zim Bank Note in my wallet).

AS regrettable as the nasty institution of slavery was and is( pimping etc), proper reparations are totally impractical and who would you pay to? So let’s say every black person in the Americas received $100,000, would that help or hinder? Remember that money not worked for ie inheritances, lottery winnings etc usually does not improve the long term life of those involved as evidenced by high rates of early death, divorce, suicide, losing everything etc

6. Moneybrain………..at this time, i think monetary reparations would just be symbolic seeing that money is rapidly becoming useless. Peter Tosh or was it Bunny Wailer, was way ahead of their time when they envisioned the death of the dollar.

Personally, I would prefer trillions or quadrillions spent on the re-education of black people, I would see that as money well spent by the descendants of those who benefited and are still benefiting from the enslavement of the black race.

7. Moneybrain wrote “AS regrettable as the nasty institution of slavery was”

The only way you can argue against reparations is with the “outta sight outta mind” theory or “it happen too long ago and great great great great grand parents don’t matter.

Any black person who loves his family cannot be insensitive to the demise of his slave family.

Reparations should be paid even if the recipients use the money to buy ice and fry it. What a person does with his inheritance is his concern.

8. Hants…………….the money earned from slavery as we have come to realize is alive and well today, thanks to the people who invested in and funded slavery, when some of them realized they could not continue to pull it off, as in the case of France, they forced Haiti to pay for the people’s freedom for another hundred years, adding insult to injury………….that money is alive and well……………for want of a better word, we can now call the ones who have hoarded that money for so many centuries, Hoggs.

9. Here is an important essay on this topic from the New York Times:

http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/03/30/king-cottons-long-shadow/

Conclusion: It is not simply that the labor of enslaved people underwrote 19th-century capitalism. Enslaved people were the capital.

10. @Moneybrain

How about issuing bonds against against which we could trade and underwrite business with trading partners?

11. I believe WW is on the better track of spending to ensure top level education for black peeps, improving via education is critical especially in today’s World with excess humans ie excess labour. The world to come will be very tough since even less labour will be required due to Robotics, Nanotech etc.

Hants, I appreciate the emotional nature of this topic but to give loads of money directly is not the same as an inheritance since the reason for reparations did not directly impact the lives of peeps alive today. AS far as Inheritance is concerned the first family objective should surely be to focus on Education and prep for a sound future. Why would this situation be any different? Far too many humans coming in to a serious sum of sudden $$$ will waste it and cause themselves DAMAGE ie lets party and worry about the future later. Setting up Education, Community Centres et al would seem a better option.

12. @Moneybrain

What nonsense are you writing? How do you mean it does not directly affect Black people today? You need to rephrase brother.

13. @David
    Great concept and I would throw in experienced entrepreneurial consultants into the mix, ie utilise seniors who would like to share their expertise/ experience to help black peeps set up business, finance etc. Loads of retirees with serious ability who are bored out of their minds and would gladly devote 10-20hrs / wk to keep mentally active.

There are many ways to accomplish this in a very effective way. I doubt just giving peeps loads of cash is the way to go especially youngsters, naturally Hants is a mature gent who would easily know how not to ill treat capital.

14. David your answer to Moneybrain is correct. He would be wise to try another line of reasoning.

15. Let us not forget, that thousands of people of African descent in America. Haven’t had the unfortunate pleasure, of living under the predominance of that inhumane institution of slavery.

16. Moneybrain wrote “naturally Hants is a mature gent who would easily know how not to ill treat capital.

Moneybrain you are so full of “shaving cream”. I know black fishermen,farmers and carpenters who did not go to secondary school who have done a lot better than me.

wheel an come again like de Trini girl used to tell muh.

17. For starters:

Allow ALL West Indians who meet matriculation requirements to study at ANY UK university (both at the undergraduate and post graduate levels) at the same cost as UK citizens.

Removal of the air passenger tax for C’bean destinations.

Duty free access for West Indian products to the UK market.

18. Gents, I was alluding to the fact that the Institution of Slavery has been illegal for 179 yrs so we did not live at that time and suffer first hand. Surely life today is much better for black peeps than 179 yrs ago. My family back then were still suffering from being sent down in coal mines at the age of 9 and many dying by 25 from lung probs. I am unaware of any of my family that have had to face such conditions in recent times. Naturally, no one has compensated my family for that treatment years ago. I know there is no equivalence to slavery.

19. Oh shoot, Moneyb knockin’ ’bout up in here … I stepping back let some odder body deal wid he bo’. I los’ my edge long time ..!

20. @Moneybrain

If your family circumstance by your words cannot equate to slavery why mention it? One does not have to be physically present to be scared by it. Physical and mental experiences can compete.

21. @Hants
    Tru dat I know plenty fishermen, shopkeepers etc I grew up on the village pasture playing sports with who have several iceboats/ shops etc through sensible management.

22. Baffy,
    I knew it would not be long, especially with such a sensitive topic,that U would keep out a dee fray! U know I would mix in some good concepts wid some controversial points in order to discover who guuunn cuss me.

Venting good for the health, yuh know!

23. @David
    I hear you regarding the psychology of slave History. While I appreciate the concept I personally believe that it must be used as a personal psychological motivator to prove one’s own worth/ success.
    What I mean is that I have used the very negative experiences in my life ie bullying by older family members, undeserved racism by a few at school/ other venues to enhance my life and progress. So I would strongly recommend that reparations also be used to address negative psychology within the community.

24. @Moneybrain

While what you say suggest is conceptionally the ideal it can be better executed at a personal level. Equating it with the scare of what instituionlized slavery wrought on BLACKS cannot compare.

25. Hue-Man Rights

26. VENGENCE IS MINE SAITH THE LORD Avatar
    VENGENCE IS MINE SAITH THE LORD

no sort of compensation can equal to what our ancestors went through that means money and we are still going through mental slavery today our minds is very still locked this takes GOD to intervene to set everything the way it should be from the beginning where was the first two begins created which part of the world? we are the chosen people of Israel the Hebrews we had to go through this slavery its more to this cause of what our ancestors did to the saviour in the past when he was here in the flesh we said crucify him plus we broke the laws of Yahweh slavery was and is mentally our punishments so take heed whenever your child or even you as an adult do something that is contrary to how life goes they we face lashes in the child case or some form of discipline so that’s the same that happened here do you all really think that such a set of people can go through something so damaging mentally and physically without a serious punishment that includes what we did to the most high son and not pay our dues? its much bigger than us just getting lock in chains for no reason?? u sure ? think again its all in the bible look in Deuteronomy chapter 28 and see who you really are so called black man are so called negro or Hispanic or the north American Indians all of you are the 12 tribes of Israel Hebrews you are

27. Here is a quote from the New York Times article posted above:

We are accustomed to reckoning the legacy of slavery in the United States in terms of black disadvantage. The centrality of slavery to the nation’s economic development, however, suggests that any calculation of the nation’s unpaid debt for slavery must include a measure of the wealth it produced, of advantage as well as disadvantage. The United States, as W. E. B. Du Bois wrote, was “built upon a groan.”

28. It must be also noted, however, that thousands, if not hundreds of thousands of free blacks had already made they home in the free state of Massachusetts. Prior to and after the ratification of the Constitution had occured. Which leads us to concluded, that not all blacks of American descent are entitled to the reparation money.

29. @ Mark Fenty
    Runaway slaves were forcibly taken from family in Africa or born in slavery

30. The original Constitution of United States had at one point, eleven clauses validated slavery within its territories. And this all came to light when Dred Scott (a free colored man) petition the supreme court for his freedom, which was obviously denied. Scott vs. Stanford, is one of the more important cases in American history to date.

31. Moneybrain……………you and your family and descendants for another 7 or 800 years deserve every penny spent on you on education or whatever reparation is suitable to these times, so do every American of African descent and all the peoples of the Caribbean of African descent…….the descents of slave masters cannot live long enough to repay the damage and misery, death and destruction visited on our ancestors. We are still seeing the effects of our ancestor’s enslavement today…………..there is not enough that can be ever repaid to the descendants of slaves.

For those who may not be aware, the cotton gin was invented by a former slave Eli Whitney…………..not knowing of the value of patents, he did not patent it and was robbed of his invention, his descendants were never compensated.

32. Moneybrain……..slavery was only ratified in Miss. last year, when a resident realized they had neglected to do so for 150 years………..you give them a lot of credit they don’t deserve.

33. Mark……don’t let them fool you with psycho babble, no black person miraculously appeared in the west from the 15th century onward, none of the people who are in the Caribbean, North America or England hopped a plane or boat and decided to come across to the west to be enslaved….every last one of our ancestors were stolen, sold out or kidnapped and brought to these regions……every thing else is his lying story, distorting history for financial gain.

34. Tom Rieke……there must be a way to make the descendants of slaves realize that as long as the black race is in existence the money illegally earned from enslaving our ancestors will remain alive. The slavery laws in and of themselves were illegal.

35. VENGENCE IS MINE SAITH THE LORD Avatar
    VENGENCE IS MINE SAITH THE LORD

compensate us with the same blood money alive an well today? you got to be kidding me that sounds like a lot of folly to me besides we are priceless gems what compensation what the only penalty is death by fire cause we are very well priceless begins no amount of monies can mend our fractured countenances so don’t get fool wid it

36. PM……………….you sound very much like INCORRECTO with your addled, bipolar rantings…………please go take your medication.

37. The bible was a useful tool in Africa and later the Caribbean, North America and Europe, to keep slaves in line…………like the part where they told the slaves the harder you work, the closer you will get to heaven, causing some slaves to work themselves to death while they sat their white lazy asses in the shade living large……….PM carry your crap elsewhere.

38. I see you WELL! WELL! up in hey finding all kind a reasons for black people not getting their just dues. However when it comes to whitey getting there dues in Bim u have no problem getting all all over govt as..s … Joker!

39. AC……………you are trying to get paper money in your hand to spend, that is not what reparations to black descendants of slavery is about…………….i will leave it to Miller and Bushie to try to explain this to you…………..I would be more than happy to see you get a billion dollars in your hand and then can’t spend it because it is worthless…………..you still don’t get it.

40. AC……………………..if black people get billions of dollars in reparations, you can guarantee within five years whitey will have back every cent………………..i will not even try to explain that one to you. MILLER, BUSHIE, AC needs you!!!

41. AC………………i challenge you to decipher this, should keep you busy for sometime.

QUOTE BY MARCUS GARVEY: IF THE NEGRO IS NOT CAREFUL HE WILL DRINK IN ALL THE POISON OF WESTERN CIVILIZATION AND DIE FROM THE AFFECTS OF IT. SMBH

42. when Marcus Gravey made that statement he was mostly talking about people like you well! Well! a glaring example of one Who have abandoned their homeland to drink from the poison fountains of the West all in the meantime pointing a critical and accusatory finger at those who have stayed behind to face the fire.

43. AC…………you did not disappoint, of course you would interpret it in you own twisted way………………wait for reparations in the form of paper money………..you just wait. People like you are afraid to leave Barbados…..you cannot abandon nor leave behind the people you support (DLP), you would be outside of your element and comfort zone and would not know what to do…………..you have to face the fire that you and your party created…………I was free to fly, I am not a yardfowl.

44. AC…………..I did not realize that you are also geographically ignorant, without going into too many details……………the Caribbean is also considered WESTERN CIVILIZATION…..you will have to google the rest….i refuse to indulge you in certain things, remember my wing span is much wider and I can fly much higher………yardfowls cant.

45. We obviouly have to take into consideration the historical context in which Marcus Garvey spoke those words. We are taking about the 1920’s America; so Garvey’s words were quite appropriate for that time and place.

46. @ well ! well!
    worse than being a yardfowl ! you are a traitor and a coward and a hypocrite not because you abandon your homeland in hard times but because you have the audaucity to be crtical of the ones left behind who are working there a.ss off to find a better solution while you nestle comfortably among the agitators and the evildoers of the blackman’s past , yes indeed you are drinking from a poisionous cup.
    Physician heal thyself.

47. Mark Fenty………Marcus Garvey was a visionary…….his words will apply to the next 500 years, that is what visionaries do, they can see into the century.

48. don;t worry about my ignorance . what is at stake is your hypocrisy, as for calling on bush TEA for assistance , i belive he can assist in giving you a Bush tea bathe to cleanse your soul .

49. AC……you deserve to suffer, you enabled the ones to set the fire…….now you will burn There is no law that says I have to burn with you……burn AC burn.