Korea's leader, Kim Jong-un Photo: AFP/GETTY
Korea’s leader, Kim Jong-un –  Photo: AFP/GETTY

BU will not be accused of navel gazing by Sargeant and the offshore based Bajan posse. We all know that North Korea is no serious threat, therefore, why has the US mobilized its hardware with Guam nearby? Why has President Obama et al given so much time to North Korea and the youngster in  Pyongyang? Is this about China?

161 responses to “North Korea – Rhetoric or Threat?”

1. old onion bags Avatar

@Kim
    Who robbin this train boss …you or Jesse?

2. @Baffy
    U know full well that it is close to impossible to defend NK, U are far too clever to seriously believe that there would be any logical method that a lil kid in the know would not be amply able to trash.

Your hate for the US and the West, and love for leftist dictatorships tends to cloud your judgement.There is a moral middle ground that I have been trying to induce you towards BUT you are intent to kick and scream rather than see the light. However, there is hope for you still, especially when it registers that as evil and complex the Western leaders are the commies of China, Russia, Cuba are not exactly “sweetbreads.” All are absolutely BASTARDS!

3. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

@Well,Well
    ….I have always disliked political ruling families….
    Coming a little closer home,does Mia Mottley fit your description of a political ruling family?After all,her grandfather,father,2 uncles,and a cousin were front runners in the political stakes of Barbados.

4. Gabriel……………my point exactly, political families are destructive, and will continue to be nothing but destructive, however, it’s difficult to teach people who have eaten of the corned beef and biscuits for decades, that they were bought cheaply.

5. However, there is hope for you still, especially when it registers that as evil and complex the Western leaders are the commies of China, Russia, Cuba are not exactly “sweetbreads.” All are absolutely BASTARDS!
    ==
    If NK, China, Russia, Cuba stood up or Nuked US BAFP would weep not
    Maybe someone has told them they would cover their backs

6. @old onion bags,

Went to the river this morning.the other “fishermen” tell me I should have come earlier because one fella caught 7 Rainbows and the other 3
    I fished for an hour till I lost my float.Had to go buy more.

Returned to the river and continued fishing for another hour and hooked the biggest Rainbow trout I have ever caught.Took 15 minutes to land it on 8lb line.

What an awesome morning. Life is good.

7. The question remains, did the US provoke these people unnecessarily so.

North Korea has been railing against U.S.-South Korean military exercises that began in March and are to continue until the end of this month. The allies insist the exercises in South Korea are routine, but the North calls them rehearsals for an invasion and says it needs nuclear weapons to defend itself. The North has also expressed anger over tightened U.N. sanctions for its February nuclear test.

Read more: http://www.montrealgazette.com/news/NKorea+denies+SKoreans+passage+across+border+enter+factory/8187989/story.html#ixzz2PhuTjaL8

8. @David
    It makes no sense to annoy crazyass, incompetent NKs. Dem would aim at the US and nuke japan in error OR piss the US off and cost them $mn in FOOD AID! Who in their right/ sane mind kicks a madman in the ribs?

The US has like 50,000 Americans just over the border and remember they are still at War with the Nth even though somewhat suspended since 1953.

9. old onion bags Avatar

Congrats….ole dawg U….eattin nuff trouts n ting….but is cool cant beat me Puddin n Souse on Saturdays…Is nt the water too cold still ?…trout musse hear bout D nuke and running. If you want running time try a 50 lb crab cavalie on a 80 Lb hand line….on Silver Point rock to Silver sands beach…90 mins… back in 2005

10. Here is some info about the Kaesong industrial complex. A read of the following article suggest the suspension of operation will affect the North Korean economy more so.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-22011178

11. @Moneybrain

The logic of North and South Korea relations is illusive. Why never declare an armisice but agree to the KIC?

12. @old onion bags,

I release the fish I catch up here although they may be no more toxic than the Salmon from fish farms in China.

Never caught a crab cavalie but have caught my fair share of Kingfish,Dolphins,Barracudas Bonitos,snappers all on hand line in Barbados

Also had an “assist” with a bill fish that weighed about 150lbs.
    After the Boat captain fought it for about half hour, I was the “crazy guy” who grabbed the beak and wouldn’t let go until we got it in the boat and killed it.

13. Baffy will not be amused that since the increased tension between NKorea and the others have seen the Philippines approving new US Naval Bases. Also Japan has reversed the decommissioning of a couple. There is some benefit afterall.

14. @David

The logic of North and South Korea relations is illusive. Why never declare an armisice but agree to the KIC?
    That’ was all an attempt to appease the North, you know the schoolyard bully that you try to bribe but his demands only increase until someone pops him in the kisser. There is a school of thought that a great percentage of the workers’ wages go to the state (NK), if NK continues on its aggressive stance it will be biting the hands that feed it.

One can’t discount the SK companies also taking advantage of the cheap labour in the North to boost their profit margins.

15. @Sargeant

Wasn’t one of the business considerations to support the KIC was to benefit from cheap NK labour as an alternative to Chinese labour, keeping it in the family?

16. Another question, why not construct the KIC in the demilitarized zone instead of on the volatile North side? A security issue perhaps?

17. @David
    The Demilitarized Zone is really a “no mans’ land” and soldiers from both sides have their weapons trained on each other across the divide. Placing civilians in that area would be playing Russian Roulette with their lives, plus under the treaty in which it was established it would not be possible to place this complex in that location and even if it was attempted the NK workers would try to make a beeline for the South.

18. Lets nuke him or send a tomahawk missile right up his crazy ass. No one will lift a finger after all he is brown.

19. The US military, with its history of vilification and war mongering continues to expand. Old bases are being reopened. Its jets, packed to the hilt with weapons of mass destruction can cross the Pacific w/o refueling and so many on this site will continue to focus and chastise a man that they have never even met.

Go America go … The Jackasses in Barbados are FIRMLY behind you …!

20. @Baffy

If Kimmy knows that the only Superpower on this earth is ready to nuke his rear end why do the obvious?

21. What if Kim is not an idiot?

What if he is serious?

What if he is indeed willing to nuke South Korea?

22. Japan was a fairly weak country when it attacked the U.S. at Pearl Harbour?

How quickly we forget.

23. What if others don’t like America and it is a set up
    Russia, China protecting Asia
    Wars and Drones need hemming in

24. As was the case with Iraq there is no evidence that NK has weapons of mass destruction. The medium range ballistic missiles it has can easily be intercepted.

25. Kims NK’s life is threatened with or without Nukes and he hasn’t got anything to lose, some people might not be scared to die, and would rather die than bow down and give in. That’s how US how their fun with muslims.
    gadaffi, saddam choice fight or die

26. Some people don’t know how to back down
    hence rhetoric escalates wars from both sides

27. @BAFBFP
    That was a fairly weak effort, if a man continuously threatens you with physical violence, if he acquires weapons and tells you how he is going to use these weapons against you, if his neighbours and friends ask him to back off but he ignores them and tells them they better get out of the way before they get caught in the crossfire, what will you do?

28. old onion bags Avatar

@ Sargeant

Could you explain why everybody NOW-adays somehow lookin to pick a tooth fight with Uncle Sam ? Is it that he is not appearing to have the might of one time?…Take the guy who duz calls in on Brass Tack…Anti- Amerry sumthing…Why is it that he always has a beef wid Uncle?This fella ( if you ever heard him) come on with a venom of a Bush master…Boss sometimes D golf balls duz comme off like true Commie Exocets…Now is it right to understand from ur comments that he is a Chinese fella posing as a Bajan in a Lodge tie …-tie dyed up in Kolij by ole Tank Williams bois?….man ah confused ..help a fella !……wha really gine on

29. Sargent
    If you were wise you would go for peace
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-22056387

30. In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Ghost
    We are sorry Almighty America, forgive our sins. Forgive us for choosing a leader that you do not like and forgive us for having one chosen for us and not allowing you to do the choosing. Forgive us for not adopting your system of private interest run governments. Forgive us for not trading in the US currency and allowing your companies into our country to buy up all of the competing concerns. Forgive us for not seeking reliance on imports from you the Almighty and for still finding a place for farmers to produce for the population. Forgive us for censoring the internet and the TV channels and for not allowing pastors into our country to corrupt our young. Forgive us for creating a means to better defend ourselves against those who may think that they are acting in your name, for history is replete with false profits. For you are a kind and caring God. You are a benevolent God. You are the one true God, America without end ..

Amen

31. Updates:

The Pentagon has put on hold an intercontinental ballistic missile test in California, planned for next week, amid rising tensions with North Korea.

According to an official, speaking to AP, Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel has expressed concern that performing any tests at present could be misconstrued and lead to an escalation of the situation with North Korea. He therefore, decided to postpone the Minuteman 3 missile test until next month, the official said on Friday – although the test itself bears no connection to the ongoing military exercises between South Korea and the US around the Korean Peninsula.

http://rt.com/news/us-delays-missile-test-449/

The leader of the Cuban revolution Fidel Castro has urged North Korea and the USA to avoid confrontation and warned that if a war broke out on the Korean peninsula it would affect over 70 per cent of the planet’s population.

As the North Korean nuclear stand-off continues, the 86-year-old Communist icon and former President Castro blasted “the gravity of such an incredible and absurd event” in the region which is home to five out of seven billion people living on Earth.

A war in the region would result in “a terrible slaughter of people” in both North and South Korea and neither of them would benefit from it, Fidel Castro wrote in an article in Cuban Granma newspaper, cites AFP.

http://rt.com/news/fidel-castro-nkorea-crisis-401/

32. @David
    As was the case with Iraq there is no evidence that NK has weapons of mass destruction. The medium range ballistic missiles it has can easily be intercepted.
    Saddam never had any nuclear tests, NK has completed a few, they had a successful test of a long range missile recently. The problem with your interception theory is that if 100 missiles are fired and you intercept 99 the 1 that gets through still presents a major problem.

33. old onion bags Avatar

Boss …..man ee do all dem things in trute?….wait you able to write poety too?…..cook up sumthin fa we Sittin Bull… I hear ee not feelin too well …man you ranting strong tonite…

34. @Sargeant

And where will the nuke be aimed?

35. @David
    Honolulu; Seoul;Tokyo (for old times sake) or the space between BAFBFP ears

36. old onion bags Avatar

Baffy

You had better go put on a bush jacket suit and go and talk some sense in that poppet ass bfore he do something really silly….ya hear muh BAF ?
    He madd or wat?….Blow up Honalulu….what d rasta fari…He like want coolin off…come to Bdos sonny n chill…we got nukes too but the friendly ones….

37. Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we point accusingly in the opposite direction and deceive ..

38. @Sargeant

All bluster and we all know it. He tells the Embassies he can’t guarantee their safety after 10 April but he has no such message for the tourist and tourist operators…lol.

39. When you think about it North Korea has never openly assassinated a leader of another country. It has never dropped a single bomb on another territory far less a nuclear weapon on a sleeping civilian population. It has never imposed a “no fly zone” on another nation, nor shot down a civilian aircraft with military cannon that cost 273 Iranian lives. It has never invaded and occupied another country. It does not print its currency on demand. North Korea does not participate in rendition and does not execute a disproportionate amount its citizens as a result of their skin colour. No North Korean leader has ever been accused of war crimes by the “International Tribunal”. North Korea has never tried to shut down the Grantley Adams International Airport or influenced its down grading. They have never repatriated criminals to Barbados that have no relatives here. They have never shut down farms in other countries so as to pave the way for Korean imports. They are not the ones that refused to pay Antigua the monies owed for on-line gaming receipts.

Yet North Korea stands accused of being led by mad people …

The only mad ppl out there are the ones that find time to write shite on this blog ..

Nuff said. Bed time

40. @David
    The ways of the East can be mysterious to those of us brought up in a different culture, in another life I used to work with several Chinese and we would go for “Dim Sum” often, the conversations that flowed between the dishes as well as the workplace interaction allowed me to peer into their world.

In Korea to “lose face” can be devastating and if Kim backs down without a sound explanation it would appear to the general populace that he has lost face, so to assuage the “losing of that face” he may do something local such as attack a S Korean fishing boat or Navy vessel and position it as some important strike against the enemy.

41. BAFP and BU possie insult US daily with Anti-Imperialist Slavers rhetoric much worse than Kim NK uses and US has changed its missile test country code location to BD as safer mission

42. old onion bags Avatar

Baffy
    So what it is you saying man….is common sense to play ‘powful loser’ right? We in lil Bim can still continue to get nuff barrells comin outta D US of Yeah…, compared from to what from Dim Sung Puck ?…..like you din get no candy canes in April or no Salvation Army thrift happy pants?….Is it not called playin the survival game We dun kno ..Allllllllllllla-them doan give two brass coals bout a 166 sq mile Rock…..but we got to learn to play d game… Like you havent learned from the late great Errol -D-One-…statlilites of none, friends of all….B is called expidient democracy by no choice….if alllllllllawe did like you and play powful foolish, where would we be today ..?
    Like you want the lil water n crumbs cut off…Think !

43. Onions
    THAT is called brown nosing….

44. old onion bags Avatar

@ Hants
    Never caught a crab cavalie but have caught my fair share of Kingfish,Dolphins,Barracudas Bonitos,snappers all on hand line in Barbados

Never held a Crab Cavalie ( pompas) on a hand line…..then you havent fought a true Bajan Leviathan..Once I almost lost a finger snagged in the 90lb line sometimes peelin of the baller at a swift 10 meters per sec…dangerous work indeed…Fun unlimited too…{For those who dont know like David] ..to bait a crab cavalie you place 3 baby black cobblers ( with spines) on a hook the size of a man’s index finger or a whole 10 inch live crab..( like ac lol)
    Holding the bill fish’s beak is easy when the fish is on its last legg….but full cuddos anyway….

45. old onion bags Avatar

Thanks Bushie…..man he is a rebel without a sensible cause….I wonder if he ever did know the true reason for John Bull Big gun….Baffy..ya gots ta read and listen to the ole camerons, not just get on El Radio and play pretty boi….Lol

46. Gud mauning Onions. Haven’t talk to u in a while but now all is quiet on the battle lines here in bubbados /i notice u catching crab….how about them crab lice u caught no mention of them….i hear u close shop fuh days….

47. @BAF
    You fighting a losing battle, some people never seem to have time to consider alternate views, as is the case with most bajans in general.
    The majority of the world is still in love and in bed with the so called ‘great’ USA. Don’t get me wrong though I don’t support either side, not that it would matter anyway. We will hear of more wars and rumors of wars

48. old onion bags Avatar

@ bk
    ..in love and in bed what…doan get tie up…you miss the point….we cunt give 2 ras-bowl bout U-Yes-of yeah…..point is we wanna eat….in love ? get real do…a ole sea dog like onions…no sir is like dis den…consider this if we din in Uncle back pocket fa salong….Sam Crouchie n Duppy probably
    wood have just walkin hay and staked some new claim in the name of Farrook….and repatriating suga in the name of the king…all because we poorly n venerable…..

49. old onion bags Avatar

And dun knon of all the newly forms of Franz Frannon’s modern day ways of neo-colonism….so bring sumthin new….WE need the banks and infrastructure that follows…..talk cheap, but life steep!

50. old onion bags Avatar

@ bk
    How many Bajans you know of…sending home remittances from Kim Mitch Hut land? …How many Sarge and Hants and Moneybags… you know of up there suckin sweets by a opportunity? and soon retire from a good job like Baffy? How many tourisitess or ship loads duz B in d port a regular?…

Like you so din learn from the Grenada experince… when you allign wid the wrong bed fellows….it all boils dun to choice amongst the better evils…doan get tie up !