Korea's leader, Kim Jong-un Photo: AFP/GETTY
Korea’s leader, Kim Jong-un –  Photo: AFP/GETTY

BU will not be accused of navel gazing by Sargeant and the offshore based Bajan posse. We all know that North Korea is no serious threat, therefore, why has the US mobilized its hardware with Guam nearby? Why has President Obama et al given so much time to North Korea and the youngster in  Pyongyang? Is this about China?

161 responses to “North Korea – Rhetoric or Threat?”

1. Pure bluster

2. Here is another view which says that the US is stoking the rhetoric as a means to boot Fatty Kim from office:

The US is trying to embroil South Korea in conflict with its Northern neighbor in a bit to oust its current government without taking heavy US casualties, political writer and journalist Dan Glazebrook told RT.

http://rt.com/op-edge/us-wants-new-korean-war-402/

3. background noise and posturing is similar to BBD crop over once a year

4. It is quite clear the Kim Yung Pung Wang Ting or whatever, is a jackass.

I strongly suspect that the action to deal with it will be sure and swift.

Yes, China could be a consideration, but then again, China may WANT the US to remove Kim Ping Ting, to ensure that someone more akin to the China considerations to be in place.

Probably China will ‘intervene diplomatically after the little boy has been removed.

It is not good for anyone, including China to have an unpredictable moron in leadership.

Thing is, that the twit is blustering like this, gives a strong clue to the state of the North Korean economy, or lack thereof.

5. Two points of view, one Korean and the other American. Which of the two has a history of provocation, intimidation and assassinations …?

BTW Marlo Ray, yah Jackass …!

6. Crosoe

I think your comments are very well thought through … I think there are worth the time and effort it takes to put fingers to keys … You are a very wise and informed man… I am glad that you are blogging with us.

7. @Baffy

We know you are partial to dictators but Fatty Kim?

8. @BAF… Hmmmm…not sure ‘time and effort it takes to put fingers to keys…not too much?” if you are pulling my leg or serious….but I will respond at face value and say thanks as a proper broughtupsy person should and say that I also think your comments are well informed and provocative and glad that we have had the chance to exchange ideas on occasion, also.

No one knows what tomorrow holds, but I am hopeful, and can say to all of you that it has been a blast the past few years and I hope, with the help of the Almighty, that it continues to be so.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You are aware that little mosquitos kill very big people. The US cannot ignore North Korea because it is ruled by an idiot. That is precisely why you must swat the mosquito before it does harm. It might not kill, but it could make you quite ill if you lave it alone.

Mind you, I think that he wants aid and this is his way of asking for it: the same tactics worked for his delusional father.

10. @Caswell

What sense does it make for the Koreans to defend a system of government which causes them to always spew war rhetoric to force aid?

11. Caswell

You are informed that Korea is ruled by an idiot. David you are convinced that Koreans spew war rhetoric. You two are also very well informed people of vast intellect, and demanding of deserved respect and appreciation ..

12. @Baffy

Tell us what you call it starting from 1950+ when the Korean War was stalled.

13. I call it keeping my cool and going with the flow …

14. Pacha will be along shortly ..

15. Green Monkey should be here by tomorrow

16. OMG….is BAFFY…is BAFFY…. Dennis Rodman????

Lol

17. Baffy is upset with us…meanwhile,

Somewhere in North Korea, a little village is missing its idiot.

18. Crusoe

I do admire your charm and good humor … Your wit is legendary …

19. @David
    What sense does it make for the Koreans to defend a system of government which causes them to always spew war rhetoric to force aid?

Not sure what you mean by that statement but there is no free will in the Hermit Kingdom, this is the 3rd generation of a dynasty of which the descendants of people who were considered enemies of the grandfather are still in prison gulags. The N Koreans have done this a few times and usually the west caves in and provides some relief in the form of aid, but this time the N Koreans may have miscalculated as even China voted to impose sanctions that will deprive the elite of the luxury goods.

There is some talk that young Kim is being controlled by his aunt and uncle two hardline associates of his father so the situation is fluid. The US has to be vigilant as NKorea may tyhink it has nothing to lose and when you have an Army of 1 million it is tempting to use it especially when you look over the border and see how well you kin are doing in the South.

Have to run, in the meanwhile perhaps you could watch this segment of an escapee from one of the infamous prison camps in NK

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=50136263n

20. Wunna must realise that Lil Fatty UN is part of the family DEITY!

Still he must prove himself by threatening the US in order to prove his potentcy. Most NK’s dont have a clue that Sth Korea is so rich or the US so powerful. They believe that NK is big and bad.

The Chinese maybe behind the scenes having a bit of fun pulling the puppet strings. China may have miscalculated by giving the US an excellent excuse to bring more weapons into the region without having to risk direct confrontation with an increasingly aggressive China eg Spratley Islands.

The NK’s are mostly a danger to themselves and their own longevity having to follow leaders that are seriously delusional. Just a few years back they lost 1MN+ to unnecessary STARVATION. Joining the military there ensures that starvation will not visit your home. NK has the highest proportion of population in the military of any country on Earth.

NK is worse than a cult since U dont get a chance to get out alive.

21. While the lone superpower is sitting on NKorea it too s coming under pressure for not closing Guantanamo.

Washington’s failure to close Guantanamo and release indefinitely held detainees is a “clear breach of international law,” UN human rights chief Navi Pillay said in a statement on Friday, as the “desperate” hunger strike nears two months.

http://rt.com/news/close-gitmo-un-pillay-403/

22. Moneybrain

I have the greatest respect for your point of view on international politicking … You have shown an intimate understanding of the major players in the game. It is as if you know them personally ..

Sargeant

Your views on matters such as these have always been uninfluenced and unbiased. I admire that.

Kiki

You are in the wrong place … 🙂

23. Baffy why don’t you go to North Korea to live and tell us what it is like.

24. I wonder where Caswell, Cruseo, and moneybrain and Sargeant get their information from to come up with this analysis. I guess it from the dishonest mainsteam media that no one with any access to real information, who knows history, unrerstands the geopolitical issues would come this type of analysis..

Bits of information ”Commentators in the international media speculate endlessly on the reasons for the North Korean regime’s behaviour. But the real question, which is never asked, should be: why is the Obama administration engaged in the dangerous escalation of tensions in North East Asia? The latest US military moves go well beyond the steps taken in the December 2010, when the US and South Korean navies held provocative joint exercises in water adjacent to both North Korea and China. Obama’s North Korea “playbook” is just one aspect of his so-called “pivot to Asia”—a comprehensive diplomatic, economic and military strategy aimed at ensuring the continued US domination of Asia. The US has stirred up flashpoints throughout the region and created new ones, such as the conflict between Japan and China over the disputed Senkaku/Diaoyu islands in the East China Sea. Obama’s chief target is not economically bankrupt North Korea, but its ally China, which Washington regards as a dangerous potential rival. Driven by the deepening global economic crisis, US imperialism is using its military might to assert its hegemony over Asia and entire planet…..“Clearly US officials, the administration of Pentagon, [and] the elite in the United States see China as a competitor of the United States in the long run”
    Washington is continuing to escalate military tensions in the global crisis triggered by the US confrontation with North Korea over its nuclear program. All of the region’s major powers are carrying out military exercises amid rising fears of a war fueled by the US “pivot to Asia,” aimed at containing China, North Korea’s main ally and protector
    It seems that the United States can make military threats against any nation that it wants, all in the name of national security and strategic interests. However, it’s a totally different story, when threats are uttered against America. What incredible hypocrisy. An amazing double standard…..Commentators in the international media speculate endlessly on the reasons for the North Korean regime’s behaviour. But the real question, which is never asked, should be: why is the Obama administration engaged in the dangerous escalation of tensions in North East Asia? The latest US military moves go well beyond the steps taken in the December 2010, when the US and South Korean navies held provocative joint exercises in water adjacent to both North Korea and China.
    Obama’s North Korea “playbook” is just one aspect of his so-called “pivot to Asia”—a comprehensive diplomatic, economic and military strategy aimed at ensuring the continued US domination of Asia. The US has stirred up flashpoints throughout the region and created new ones, such as the conflict between Japan and China over the disputed Senkaku/Diaoyu islands in the East China Sea. Obama’s chief target is not economically bankrupt North Korea, but its ally China, which Washington regards as a dangerous potential rival. Driven by the deepening global economic crisis, US imperialism is using its military might to assert its hegemony over Asia and entire planet
    It is about targeting North Korea right now but the overall strategy is one of surrounding China and Korea with military bases that stretch from Japan to the Philippines including Taiwan and the direct deployment of US naval and air forces all over the region..”

It is all about the dying Petro dollar. If the US dollar loses its position as the global reserve currency, the consequences for America are dire. America’s imperialism, combined with its ultra-fiat status of unending debt creation, appears to have created a final downward spiral that has caused many of the top economies to abandon a sinking ship. It might not be too much longer before the rest follow suit. Now might be a great time to consider diversifying into other currencies, and even digital currencies, to mitigate growing losses in the U.S. dollar. A lot of countries are settling their financial transactions in their currencies by passing the Us currencies, Last week Australia agreed to pay for Chinese goods in its currency as demanded by china. A few weeks the United Kingdom did like wise. Therefore this fiasco has to be seen in the context of the greatest global financial collapse now spreading across Europe and the United States
    which is what’s driving this push for war.

For sergeant and all Canadians on site. The mainstream media has not mentioned this. The masses must not know.
    “…buried deep inside the official 2013 Canadian Budget that will result in depositor haircut bail-ins jumping to this side of the pond during the next bank crisis!
    Titled ECONOMIC ACTION PLAN 2013 and tabled in the House of Commons by Minster of Finance James Flaherty on March 21st, the official 2013 Canadian budget contains an explicit provision that Canada will pursue the bail-in model for systemically important banks for future bank failures! The bail-in provision in Canada’s 2013 budget can be found on pages 144,145:

25. baffy that not abad idea. look how many wives you can have and even live like a king/ maybe a poor one . but a “king’

26. islandgal246 and ac

Both in agreement. This is wonderful. North Korea has done good tonight. But there is no need for me to go anywhere. David, Crusoe, Money, Sarge, Caswell and Marlo Ray have already been there and spent some time there. I am prepared to accept their comments with seriousness that one would expect of an astute student.

@ allel Grimshaw

You are in the wrong place 🙂

27. Whenever society gets too stifling and the rules get too complex there’s some sort of musical explosion

28. North Koreans are hungry starved out people looking for help and attention. Them too hungry and starved out to fught any kind of war. This is all a ploy by the Leader. Call for a war and even fight one and after that the American Aid follows to build back the country ravaged by war –DITTO Iraq
    Good ploy by Kim but it aint going be no cake walk. Kim needs a soother and a tedy bear to cuddle

29. @allel Grimshaw
    Your points regarding the US protecting its currency are valid as are the threat of China. China intends to dominate the FE but do you think the Japs, Taiwanese, Phillipinos, Indonesians, Koreans et al are happy about that? They all TRUST the US more than they do China! I visit that region regularly and indeed was there for the last 3 wks of 2012. They dont agree with many American policies but certainly want the US around to defend them from China.

NK is a basket case lead by incompetent dictators that the Chinese influence as they please. This in and of itself creates distrust in the region because they all know that Sth K and especially Seoul is just a stone’s throw from the border. Therefore, the NK could easily place a nuke into Seoul killing hundreds of thousands in the process. The Chinese should NOT be playing that game as they know the NK fools have already misdirected missiles very near to Japan. Very high stakes poker!

The US in this particular case is absolutely correct to act as protector and I hope that when you see your children or grands playing with an open 100 gallon drum of kerosene and matches U would quickly move to difuse the potential conflagration.

30. @Baffy and allel
    Why would U want to defend the NK leadership, who believe that Unnie is GOD? Surely U love the innocent man in the street more than that OR is it that U chaps HATE the US above all else? Defending Chavez, Castro etc is to some degree understandable, even if those fellas are not the cleverest leaders in furthering the improvement in their country’s standard of living. At least they are trying in a nearly acceptable way.

31. You know, this is the perfect setup for yet another false flag attack.

32. @ bk

You are in the wrong place 🙂

33. @BAF
    lol, where should I be?

34. Oh please… a moron threatening to use a nuke and its a false flag attack?

Neither Saddam nor Quaddafi threatened anything …except supporting the (now almost defunct…interesting that) Euro as a new world currency standard, completely different scenario.

No, a moron wants to pick a fight to divert from his own inadequacy, well…..

Generalisations and posturing to ‘support the underdog’ are dangerous and a nonsense. Let the facts and issues determine the actions. Distinguishing facts are relevant, to suggest otherwise is silly.

My only suggestion is that yes, all diplomats and envoys should leave asap….if they have even an iota of sense.

35. Even if this idiot does not have nukes which is probably the case, he has missiles with a reported range of up to 2500 miles. This brings Seol and Japan in play. He can hurt people.

@Sargeant

What don’t you understand about the statement? Why is Fatty Kim trying to provoke tension? What is the purpose of a system of government?

36. @ David
    “Why is Fatty Kim trying to provoke tension?”
    Perhaps because he has been handsomely rewarded for doing same in the past.
    Perhaps because his father has been rewarded for such posturing in the past
    Perhaps because his grand father has been similarly rewarded…!

Perhaps it plays EXACTLY into what the “Enemies of BAFFY” wants
    – as it promotes their arms industry (which is all they now have)

Perhaps it gives them the required excuse to build up forces in a region where they feel REALLY threatened (by China)

Perhaps this is a case of a child being manipulated……
    ……want more?

37. @Bushie

It was a rhetorical question.

38. @David
    Why is Fatty Kim trying to provoke tension? What is the purpose of a system of government?

Bushy explained the reason in his usual succinct manner by writing that they have been rewarded in the past and I would add that the young man is trying feel his oats, there are many Generals around him and they may have some doubt about the young punk who is the leader. Don’t forget he wasn’t even the first choice of his pater, his older brother was but he proved to be a wastrel and has been known to prowl the gambling dens of Macau. What better way to prove your manhood than by threatening to take on the big bad wolf. There is a time for everything and one of these days the citizens of NKorea will pull a Ceausescu on the leadership.

@Baffy
    Sarcasm doesn’t become you, but I can see why you are in love with Kim and NK (it doesn’t have any Political Parties) but Baffy you may be out on that ledge by your lonesome even your hero (Fidel) has asked young Kim to stop ratcheting up the tension, and the Chinese (the new capitalists) know that any conflict will harm their economy and even drag them into a conflict that they don’t want , if Kim thinks that a potential nuclear conflagration would be like a semester at a Swiss boarding school (which he attended) he has another think coming.

39. People seem to think that being killed by nukes is worse than being killed by bombs or living in war zones as daily reality.

40. I am envious. All these people here speak with such authority, such intimate knowledge of the leader of a population that eclipses that of Barbados’ in shear size. And too refer to him as Fatty Kim and moron … all these millions of people following a Fatty moron … I am so proud of the independent nature that the product of our educational system has adopted. I am proud, so very proud to be Bajan …!

41. @Baffy

Fatty Kim is the nickname the Chinese have given him which we have coined but the BU house has to be honest here, compared to Gaddafi he is a lilliputian.

42. @Baffy
    It is NOT just Fatty Moron but NKs have been BRAINWASHED for at least 2 generations to believe this family is GOD!

Their food supply depends on their compliance with the Deity! There is NO DISCUSSION about the Pros and Cons of Deity Dictatorship in NK!

These NK “leaders” will attempt to hold the World to ransom simply because they cant produce their own food but they know it is not worth it for SK and their allies to vanquish them once and for all.

It makes no sense whatsoever to place Unnie in the same position as Fidel, Hugone et al!

43. In a related matter, talks breakdown between Iraq and Western negotiators.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/02/26/iran-nuclear-talks_n_2764270.html

44. I have always disliked political ruling families, they are a destructive force and visit their destructive ways on the countries they rule without fail.

Even with Americas’ might i don’t think they are crazy enough to take on the Chinese, they may try to reel them in but you are talking 1/4 billion people as opposed to 1 billion Chinese, and right now that is the only country with plenty moola to lend………….anyway, it might be a moat point, the Chinese have already convinced certain countries to bypass the US dollar when trading, it is probably a matter of time before the US dollar crashes.

45. Baffy feelings like they are hurt because someone called the Dear leader “fat”, well Baffy how about corpulent? Among millions of starving people he appears to be extremely well fed, but Baffy many people on this blog have disagreeable names for Freundel and Owen and a clutch of politicians and nary a word of protest has been uttered by you.

Baffy don’t trust Political Parties but is in love with a dynastic dictatorship.

46. old onion bags Avatar

Kim Jung is another Estwick….BARE BLUFF…..since when you duz want to lickup a big able Amerrca…..and duz tell eva body to leff D place….WOOF WOOF WOOFF……ah mean….yelp yelp yelp….by the way poodle done quite as Kyfin steal ee thunder….Min of Nutglass

47. old onion bags Avatar

Baffy……bare shavin cream den !….

48. I cannot deal with the disappointment. I have tried really hard to agree with my brethren above and still have to face complete rejection. I did not oppose anyone; I respected their points of view and held my tongue in deference to a greater good, but alas the result of my efforts is distrust and condescension …

I tried to change, Lard knows I tried to change … Heaven help those who scorn my name, for wah ever it is that I tek wearing off now … HA HA HA

49. Both sides are bad nobody is good