Fruendel Stuart leads Arthur in latest CADRES Poll!
Click image to read Nation newspaper report – photo credit: Nation Newspaper

Based on the most recent CADRES poll Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is winning the leadership race. What must be of concern is that the Wickham poll was conducted before Minister of Agriculture David Estwick delivered one of the most powerful presentations of the campaign so far at the NCF on Friday night.

How will this translate in the individual constituencies with a 3.4% swing in play makes it a very interesting general election.

1. I was told that the nation paid for this poll.

Dont u think that the dlp had done its own sampling as well to determine how to frame its marketing strategy?

2. The reality is that while on the integrity characteristic of leadership, Owen is being destroyed by Fruendel, his real major problem is that the PM intellectually superior to Owen and the PM makes the difference look effortless on his party.

In addition the PM appears thus far a more politically superior leader and the once savvy Owen is now being made to look like an AMATEUR.

3. Observing I have asked you to give us the details that informed your predictions. I gave you mine to which you question 3-4, I replied with info on why I predict as I did. Can you do the same?

4. Here is the DLP Ad which promises to reveal some more.

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/arthurad.jpg

5. @fractured
    I told you since st.george that I am always only a rum shop away from a dlp meeting. Most time you can even find me in the crowd ๐Ÿ™‚

Let me know where to meet ya tuhnite let’s shake hands.

@TTP
    How it is your memory gone but yet you know I telling lies? Is this the same TTP of AX fame? Are you one of those who lose objectivity when party colours are worn?? Defeated has a different definition to whitewashed, and how can you condemn me when you yourself were concerned about strategy up until recently? I’ll advise you like I did others…stop picking a fight or bothering with me and go fight for Barbados. I’m harmless. Wink wink.

Just Observing

6. The DLP should resist privatization until entrepreneurship, and access to star-up capital is more pervasive across the classes and races in Barbados. I am tired of seeing the same set of faces, families, and people, getting first and prime access to all the new sectors of the private economy.

7. Well the Owen Arthur โ€ TOXIC effect โ€ is already taking root among the BLP candidates.

As a journalist you could well imagine I have to interface with both party camps. I was just on the phone with Edmund Hinkson and he told me he โ€ drop Owen from his platform with immediate effect !! โ€
    I said Hinks what you mean you serious ???

He pointed me to page 23A of the Sunday Sun of 17th February, 2013.

The most revealing part of his disclosure to me was that he was acting on the advice of Miller , Onions , Enuff , Observing , Prodigal and Tackle of BU โ€ UNITY โ€ fame.

Only Observing of the mentioned lot above……trying to wash his hands NOW !!!

What a day in politricks make !!!

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Before i was a “law enforcement agent” i had a number of jobs in my search for self half a century ago. During one such moment i worked as a teacher at an all girls school and was introduced to a home-ed student whose teacher believed to be “not entirely there”

During one of the baking classes the young lady (who incredibly later became a deputy permanent secretary) put too much sugar in the cake she was baking and then, when her instructor told her is was too sweet, reversed her mixing action and proceeded to rotate the ladle in an anti-clockwise motion because and i quote ” if i go rapidly in the other direction, the excess sugar will come back out!!” Pure genius. Befitting the management of the Barbados Public Service in truth some would say.

The CLICO mix is composed of many elements from varying quarters and allegiances that, like that cake, cannot be “un-mixed”.

If we are really honest with ourselves as opposed to using the DLP/David Thompson “was the leader and was Parris’ friend” or the BLP/Owen Arthur “did not direct the Supervisor of Insurance to cause Parris to cease and desist” we would realise that both of these men, minus the crystal ball, were, for the most part, only capable of seeing the surface of this financial shenanigan which, like the US sub-prime mortgage crisis, has brought many bajans and west indians on the doorsteps of poverty, during our golden years.

The thing is that for most of you, like Tariq Khan, Philip Mcquack and A-liar Shepherd QC, we the policy holders are only a source of quick money to shister again, among themselves, while nothing will come of the case.

Our hard earned money means nothing at all and Owen, Hal Gollop, David Thompson, Leroy Parris could not care less.

Let me just show you the extent to which this hoodwink is being carried.

Everyday the change management specialist Sir Basil Springer espouses some dribble about what needs to be done in Barbados and seeks by his ingratiating style to get another couple million dollars from government for his failed entrepreneurial schemes.

This is,a polished ponzi scheme, if ever i have seen one, replete with the presence of another shister, millionaire Boos, who has never put a cent into the entrepreneurial mix

However he/they start each daily news paper column with the words of God seeking to make people believe that they are in touch with the Creator while raping this country (and other regional countries) of its limited entrepreneurial resources.

Wake up Barbados. Don’t get caught up by these peripheral issues when you put your “x” down, put it down based on competency and since neither side seems to have more than 10 who are competent, then use character next, (that leaves out Lynch, Michael Lashley, Dale Marshall and nuff others)

Faced with these options and challenges, try to do the right thing.

9. @ac

Hear ye, hear ye. I will listen to you this time. Now you and your cohorts and party members should pray that no storms, blizzards, or floods delay myself and others who coming down to cast our X.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

sorry in making the previous point forgot to include the point that Sir Basil also is on of the directors of said firm being sued, yet can seek to resurrect himself under cover of night to rape the general public under a different pseudonym.

11. All sitting prime ministers eventually become the popular choice if given time but does not necessarily mean they will win the subsequent election. This happened to Errol Barrow and Owen Arthur. The general trend is still that the DLP will become the first one term gov’t in this country. The battles will come at the constituency level and how many seats the parties will win

12. @ Burning Red

Pray tell us why you think that Mia has no respect, or words to that affect. If she were the leader of the BLP, that is where I would be casting my vote. I don’t think it kosher for you and others, like Perlixin Pearlie, to cast aspersions at others based on hearsay, rumours and perceived lifestyles. We don’t know what may befall us and/or ours tomorrow, next week or next year. Live and let live.

13. I think that Dr. David Estwick’s presentation at the NCF DLP manifesto launch was a clinical destruction of Arthur and the mock B Mascoll.Arguably,one of the best platform speeches ever in Barbados.

Clyde Mascoll is being given too much influence by Arthur in the BLP and those who know Mascoll know that he he thinks of himself first.
    The BLP hiearchy need to stop Mascoll from destroying the BLP as he is helping the Dems in evry election since he crossed the floor.Mascoll is turning out to be a bigger help to the DEMS than many thought.

14. @IG246
    โ€œThe US election polls said that Romney would win by a huge landslide but the results showed differentlyโ€.
    Were these Republican skewed polls? No reputed national poll had Romney winning.

@ Amused
    MAMโ€™s only weakness, which is also her great strength, is her loyalty to her country in general and specifically to the party of her grandfather and her father and she has, in my fond view, the potential to be far greater than either.
    Are you implying that her grandfather and father were men of great distinction? Well I will grant you that her grandfather as Mayor of the City of Bridgetown for many years may lay some claim to being great but her father? Her father is a household name in his own household but in Barbados greatness is allotted to many people, some of us could even claim to be poor great. What is this fixation that you and Miller have with Mia anyway, Joan of Arc? Miller should remember how the saintly Joan met her demise.

The results of the poll must have Freundel ever the historian gloating, he must be saying to himself โ€œThe reports of my death have been greatly exaggeratedโ€ (Mark Twain).

15. wow!!! look at the DEMS go. LOL!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

16. Not BU the BLP have a rude awakening coming their way when the north middle and the East, the West and the South rise up and dismiss their old and tired looking leader, when Mottley done with Arthur he will sent to the political BLP trash heap, Mottley will have alongside of her maybe Frizzled Fowl Forde but not a soul else from those that ganged up to gang rape her from the leadership of the BLP. Arthur gone, Symmonds gone, Gail Marshall gone, Pain gone, Toppin gone she is on track to being the only MP to remove so many of her party in one fell swoop.

17. All those wishing to contribute to the BLP being asked to make all cheques payable to Fitswilliam, Stone and Alcazar, attorneys at law?

Will that firm be audited by the DLP if they will and it is true?

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 17, 2013 at 1:15 PM |

Wow, what a volte-face from the Sarge!
    Is this the same loyal officer who in earlier contributions took Wickham poll to task when they were not favouring Freundel and the DLP?
    Such a โ€˜turncoatโ€™ of opinion is called intellectual dishonesty and professional disingenuity, Sarge.

The cost of being born is the debt owed to death. One cannot exist without the other on the same coin called Life.
    As for our political Joan of Arc, itโ€™s morally superior to settle oneโ€™s inevitable debt fighting for your country (as an old soldier like you should know) than being visited by the grim reaper for lying, cheating and stealing.
    Remember the motto of the West Point Academy now relocated to St. Johnโ€™s parish Churchyard: โ€œI shall never, lie, cheat or stealโ€.

Sorry Hammie Hill, but just had to rub that little salt in the mortal wound.
    (Your friend of last resort and final confidant(e), Anubis).

19. @ David

Why did your Nation Newspaper decide run all of the CADRES poll graphs and figures in black and white and NOT colour as has been the case with every other poll?

Media dishonesty in high places.

20. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

@ Pat

But wait now look this blessed First Sunday in Lent you come to call my name in foolishness. Hear you “I donโ€™t think it kosher for you and others, like Perlixin Pearlie, to cast aspersions at others based on hearsay, rumours and perceived lifestyles.” Dear-heart, I understan where you coming from, but dont get tye up Pearlie talks de facts.When Pearlie get news Pearlie does check it once and check it twice like Santa Clause in da song and Pearlie dont talk out til Pearlie know that wuh she talkin is de facts. Yuh get dat? Facts, not rumour. All like now so I get a sweet wun lil while ago dat I checking cause when I talk um out pon dis internet um gine be murda pon dis internet hey. But yuh see, I gotta mek sure da um is true first, cause is Lent and de Devil out and nuhbody in settin nuh trap fuh me. But lemme give ya a hint… a certain party panicking and duh gine got a crisis meeting today at a certain body house, but guess who in invited. Murda!

Anyhow Pat dear-heart me and you is still friends, so come long down and get some sun pon yuh skin and see yuh famblies and ting and spend some a yuh Mercan or Canadian money. Eat some souce, drink a cocoanut water, belch and feel good. And vote DEMS.

21. Peter Jilkes here is some honesty for you:

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Burning Red | February 17, 2013 at 1:42 PM |

You mean you accept the Wickham poll findings of Stuart being the preferred leader by a 3 point margin but dismiss the findings that the BLP could get 17 seats as opposed to the DLP 13.
    So if Owen, Pain, Toppin and Marshall go who would be going from the DLP camp to make Wickham poll look reliable?

BTW, Symmonds cannot go if he is not holding seat.

Let us see how much red you see for you to run from that, โ€œbullcowโ€!

23. @TO THE POINT | February 17, 2013 at 11:47 AM | Man whu you mean by โ€œamused who never needed encouragment to stretch the truth to its limitโ€? I live in a world where it is โ€œthe truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.โ€ That means I am not allowed to be economical with the truth. Gimmu a break, do.

@Observing. Enjoying your post greatly. A master-class.

@pieceuhderockyeahright | February 17, 2013 at 12:24 PM | You have given me a terrific laugh. I donโ€™t necessarily agree with everything you said, but with a lot of it.

24. @ Pearlie

Um doan madda who dem get now, if the dey toss Owen After overboard, dem LOSS. If dem get Owen After to proclaim Mia as Deputy PM, dem LOSS. If Mia fire Owen After and lead the BLP in Election Day, dem LOSS. If Dale Marshall put on a woman’s dress and go to a transvestite party, dem LOSS. If George Payne take off he hat and show he ugly big head, dem LOSS. If Toppin stop hopping, dem LOSS. If Noel Lynch became intelligent overnight, dem LOSS. If Blind Clarke stop wukkin and lusting, dem LOSS. If Denist Agard pull out all of dem nuff nuff horse teet in Sandra Husbands head, dem LOSS. If Lynette Eastmond start back eating Cheese and left Owen After, dem LOSS. If Santia Bradshaw became a political grasshopper like she father, dem LOSS. If Cynthia Forde rebuild she chattel house sitting pun prime real estate, dem LOSS.

Whatever the hell dem do now, dem STILL LOSS.

25. David (not BU) | February 17, 2013 at 2:03 PM |

The people don’t want back Owen After, you can’t get that thru your thick skull? De man is damaged goods and badly damaged as well and running up and down Barbados saying ‘Call the Damn Elections Fruendel’. What an idiot, as Fruendel said he like pig clambering for Saturday to came so he can go to market. He is bacon, saugages and souse.

Fruendel really make him look like a Nit Wit tho.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (not BU) | February 17, 2013 at 2:03 PM |

Confession is good for the soul!
    Now for the No. 1 โ€˜bullshitterโ€™ for the past 2 years.
    The prize goes to the lying buffoon Sinckliar.

Now you see why the miller is so much against the BS par excellence.
    He can fool you guys here on BU but the miller smells a โ€˜bullshitterโ€™ especially in the arena of Finance and Economics the same way a carrion fly smell a decaying carcass 10 miles away or even the horny Fractured BLP can smell an ovulating bare pooch cat called ac down on the farm in Deacons.
    Piss off, Mr. Bullshitter Sinckliar your days in the sewage are over, one way or the next.

27. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

BU David. Pearlie tekking a break from writing pon youre internet til polling night. I gine come and peep now and den, but Pearlie keeping she mout shut fa now and keeping she news ta sheself cause Pearlie breadfruites heng low and nuhbody in blaming Pearlie fuh nuffin. Next ting ya know dem gine say Pearlie influence de polls. Murda! Anyhow, Happy elections to all! See wunna polling nite. Ah gone!

28. Miller

I agree with you re Sinckler. He tried to make people believe he knew what was going on but all the while he did nothing in attempt to appear smart.

Don’t let your heart be troubled, Sinckler will have a very minor role in FS new Cabinet, Minister of Foreign Affairs or some such. Dr. Estwick will be made Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and either Michael Carrington or Richard Sealy will be made Deputy Prime Minister.

29. @observing

checkmy blogs on theax issue, if ur mememory serve u correctly,i was saying that broomes could not be trnasferred, but after reading the constituion i had a change of heart. Thats why u need emperical evidence to make decisions. I was man enough to point out why i changed my mind, but pay me no heed go campaingn for the b’s while i for the d’s . how u like that. blessed sunday. u ahd lunch yet?

30. @pat

yah coming down, gim mah a shout and your other friends here.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Peter Jilkes | February 17, 2013 at 2:17 PM |
    “If Denist Agard pull out all of dem nuff nuff horse teet in Sandra Husbands head, dem LOSS. ”

Peter Pearlie Gilkes you really perplexing and doing dixie today. You even maket he miller laugh about the dentist and horse โ€œteetโ€.
    You are really Keeping it clean on this blessed โ€œSunโ€ day after returning from Church to feed your bare pooch cat called ac.
    But before you take a turn in the miller do you realise that your punning could back fire on you?
    โ€œDem Lossโ€ is what the Wickham pool is showing.

But we must compliment the Dems on a well thought out strategy to discredit Owen. The have come up with the brilliant idea: โ€œWhy not use $3 million of the Families First financial legacy to bribe Peter Wickham to manipulate the findings to make Freundel look good.
    After all, Bajans like to vote for a popular leader and if Freundel is promoted as the preferred leader why not go that way but let it look as part of the balancing act as if the Dems are trailing in overall stakes by a similar margin.
    Four days is a long time in an electoral campaign season and any thing can happen to bring a last minute surge from the propaganda impact.

This is a โ€˜do or dieโ€™ general elections campaign since many people can fall if the Dems are removed from office including Leroy and his backers. The โ€˜Families Firstโ€™ Account can be the subject of a money laundering investigation.

So you can add the following to your jingle and parody of lies:
    โ€œEven if we pay that prostitute Wickham $3 million to sell his professional ass the Dems still LOSSโ€.

32. @Pearlie

yah goin and left ac by she self. you better come back here and blog and stop that foolishness u aint coming back till near elections. I am ordering u back to blogging. how yah like dah.lol

33. Reality is that, following Sinckler’s crass comments, he has lost all credibility with international bodies and orgnisations, such that neither he nor Stuart have.any.
    Babados needs to deal with international organisations and businesses to even survive.
    Neither of these two can carry Barbados forward.

Mark my words. Before three years is out, either Donville Inniss or Estwick will be leading the DLP.

34. The poll is a statistical measure; it has a statistical margin of error of +/- 5%. Therefore a result of 3.4% in favor of either party is a Statistical tie. There is still a very real possibility of a 15/15/ stalemate, a one term for the DLP, or a lost for the BLP. Six ball left, Six runs needed. But that is a view one must have if the poll is their only window. If you mix that with on the ground reports, you can come away with a totally different view. I get the sense from the DLP who don’t pay as much attention to Cadres polling as the BLP, that they like what they have been seeing and hearing on the ground; From the BLP I get the sense that the September poll aside they haven’t been seeing the response to match on the ground.

35. On Owen as Leader:

The one major mistake that Arthur has made for this election, is not soundly endorsing Mia Amor Mottley, future Prime Minister of Barbados, as his Deputy.

THAT is the real problem. In doing so, it would have given the people what they want and shown that the BLP is indeed strong and has overcome its issues.

Then to compund the issue, according to news reports, that idiot Lynch apparently made a remark while on the platform, about Marshall being Deputy PM, that further puts a spanner in the works.

However, I also have some reservations on the poll, as Stuart really has done little to engender comfort as to his ability and proactivity.

36. Crusoe you really think Specks like Barbados are thought of at international levels? chupse! and further to this that Arthur who can hardly speak better than a child would taken more seriously than somebody else? Don’t polite professionalism and international diplomacy fool you that Arthur has captured international praise and attention.

37. @Hinds,

When we go to arrange terms on loans, when we need to work with Caricom and any international convention, it is relevant.

And the ‘bald pooch cat’ does not cut it.

38. I started by saying that even if Stuart is the preferred leader, that don’t mean he will win his seat. I will not differ from that statement. First of all, I am not believer in polls since as we all know, polls are conducted in any area and probably, the people being interviewed at the time could be a B or D. Suppose Murphy’s Law is brought into play and 90% turn out to be sympathisers for a particular party. Just think about the result. However, being someone who followed politics from the 90’s and always predict the winner…..I can say without fail that the ruling party will receive only 10 – 12 seats. I will reserve any comments on Friday.

39. guess what i went to a different church today not my regular church and lo and behold the minister was preaching about integrity. i almost fell of my seat. BTW i don/t know him and he don’t know me., but this Integrity issue is catching on like wild fire. another note of interest that all the while OSA was in the streets campaiging Stuart took his to the churches , Could really make a difference with the christian and evangelical votes. Tek dat in wunna pipe and smoke it. PM STUART BOSS MAN

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Adrian Hinds | February 17, 2013 at 3:40 PM |

” and further to this that Arthur who can hardly speak better than a child would taken more seriously than somebody else? Donโ€™t polite professionalism and international diplomacy fool you that Arthur has captured international praise and attention.”

So on whom does that reflect?
    Imagine a well-educated sophisticated, proud and discerning people electing a government for 14 years headed by puerile leader incapable of communicating with anyone above 7 years old.
    What does that say about the Queen and her Privy Council who bestowed the title of โ€œThe Right Honourableโ€?

What a laugh you are, Adrian, making โ€˜mockโ€™ sport of your own people and Head of State!
    Keep it up, mate, you are more funny than a barrel of black ass monkeys.

41. @ac

Dont gloat. Wait till Friday nuh. Maybe the minister comes to this blog.

42. @pat
    OOps ! did i gloat i sorry! i was just excited !

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | February 17, 2013 at 4:14 PM |

The god you believe in is, hopefully, the same god that Stuart does not believe in and to make mock sport and think that your god is some toy to use and abandon is committing an act of โ€˜Hubrisโ€™, if you know what that means.
    Itโ€™s like going to church on Sunday and afterwards on every occasion heading straight to the rum shop to drink a pint and a half; playing stud poker in the evening after picking two fares with no condoms on- one in Nelson Street and the other in Bush Hill and expecting to sleep with your wife later in the night or early next morning and donโ€™t expect things will catch up with you.

Listen ac, Integrity is not a piece of advice you can go to church to acquire. Neither is it something you can acquire by marketing yourself as a โ€œgoodโ€ person.
    It has to be something innate not thrust upon you for political expediency.

One wonders if the same Freundel the new found god fearing man has forgiven David Thompson for all the things said about each other and denuding OSA is Parliament.

โ€œTo thine own self be true, and it must follow, as the night the day, thou canst not then be false to any man.โ€ ~William Shakespeare, Hamlet

โ€œA man cannot be comfortable without his own approvalโ€. ~Mark Twain
    โ€œA man has to live with himself, and he should see to it that he always has good company.โ€ ~Charles Evans Hughes
    One wonders if Leroy Parris is considered โ€œgood companyโ€ for a man of Integrity.

44. Miller the quality of your contributions has sunk to an all time low .

You should be arrested for contriving the substance of information appearing on pages 23A and 27A in the Sunday Sun of 17th February, 2013.

45. It is with a heavy heart that I now return to this BU site as I witness the actions and word of our esteemed leader have our BLP now cast in darkness.

I recently warned my BLP comrades on this to call on Mr. Arthur to level with the people of Barbados. That they did not do and now we are again hours away from the DLP exposing Mr. Arthur in public again.

46. miller there are people in the bible who believed in God and their integrity shone through no matter what tempations of the world handed them. The minister focus was on temptation and how ones uses their integrity to overcome the lust of the flesh like greed and selfisheness for material gain. i wish the same could be said for the RT HON. whose lack of INTEGRITY has become his undoing.

47. @fractured
    What wash hands what. Every time I reply to one of your posts I go and get hand sanitizer and mouthwash. My hands are and will be always clean!

@adrian hinds
    I’ve been sharing me “picks” and thoughts for about 2-3 months now. A pop over by BU General Election Picks would give you a glimpse of my evolving thought. I’ll hit refresh on Tuesday morning and give you my final score.

@amused
    Mercy bowcoop. I try!

Just Observing

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | February 17, 2013 at 4:59 PM |

I am sorry, โ€œFracturedโ€, if I quote from writers you are blissfully unaware.
    Sorry, but I just can’t see reading the Nation Sunday Sun as a priority. Maybe the Mail on Sunday or Sunday Express or even the Sun on Sunday.
    The miller treats the Nation Newspaper the same way he treats the CBC television. Just another form of rare boring entertainment and unsophisticated light reading or viewing just to keep away the sprite of boredom especially when one is confined to the daily throne.
    So what’s so interesting in the Nation that you come to disturb the miller’s day of rest with your consistently boring intrusions?

49. @TTP
    Comrade! Well effin I did nose dat you was one of dems I din gine gih ya such a hard time!

On a more serious note, I take your word regarding the change of heart with Broomes. I won’t even bother searching to try to prove you wrong. Just remember that every disagreement does not come from the mouth of an opponent. And, sometimes knowingly sparring with a friend (rather than cussing he out) makes you stronger for the real battle.

And yes, I had lunch, washed it down with some angostura bitters lemonade, belched, caught niggeritis, slept for 3 hours and here now drinking an evening brandy while watching the sun go down. You are welcome to join me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Observing