Submitted by P O’Connor to the Barbados Advocate, CCed BU
Anthony Bryan - Publisher Barbados Advocate
Anthony Bryan – Publisher Barbados Advocate

With reference to your article – Straight to the Point: Prime Minister David Cameron should apologise – by Mr. John Blackman in the advocate 30/12/12

I have just read this article whilst visiting the island as a tourist from the UK and I am stunned that a national newspaper from a modern progressive country such as Barbados would employ a journalist with such prejudicial and homophobic opinion never mind put in print the blatant manipulation of a very complex topic such as colonialism. I will explain further but your editorial staff should be ashamed to promote such borderline medieval opinion, Google results alone paint a poor picture of this gentleman’s past rhetoric and his veiled journalistic style.

Mr. Blackman does well to highlight the abhorrent nature of colonialism and the bullying practice, which the west continues to use against its former colonies as well as the Middle East. However he does not seem to recognise that it is as a result of this colonialism that such hatred and prejudices remain. This is certainly something that should not be held onto and celebrated but disregarded along with the emancipation of colonialism. As a developed country one would not and should not patronise you into assuming that you and your readers are not capable of accepting, supporting and understanding basic human rights.

Granted it is difficult to dissect the article it is written in a scholarly tone but that does not disguise the fact it is clearly constructed to direct your readers towards the writer’s homophobic stance. Absolutely no one can justify the criminalisation and persecution (to the extent of hard-labor and death penalties) of homosexuals in the Caribbean and some African countries. To be hetro or homo sexual is an orientation of which we are born life does not make us gay or straight, but an article like this promotes the idea that to be gay is to be somehow morally wrong. Would the advocate promote the prejudicial view that to be born with a disability is wrong? or to be born black is wrong? No you would not.

Cameron should not apologise for promoting basic human rights, or for suggesting that the continued physical and mental abuse of gay people who happen, purely by chance, to be born in the Caribbean or Africa should be abolished. Granted he should not resort to the tactics that are associated with a painful history, however Mr. Blackman and the Advocate should credit Barbadians with a little more intelligence, and moral understanding to recognise that they too would not condone such prejudices to their fellow man or woman.

It is the responsibility of journalists to not incite hatred and as such Mr. Blackman is abusing his position but more over the Advocate is promoting his view placing your publication stuck fast with opinions last seen in the mid 20th century, in the UK it would be acceptable to report such an article to the police on the grounds of inciting violence and your paper would receive a call from the police. Perhaps a homophobic view is in place top down at the Advocate’s offices? I challenge you to print this reply because as a straight married man on the island with my wife and daughter it goes to show you do not have to be gay to be offended by homophobia.

Pull your socks up Advocate and join in with the rest of us its 2013 not 1950.

178 responses to “Barbados Advocate Article Labelled Offensive”

1. Brudda wah I tell you … HA HA HA. I wish yah all de best hear … 🙂

2. @BAFBFP

What did I tell you. You of all the intelligentsia on this blog should have picked up J’s writing style and phraseoloy. I don’t know how some people read.

Why don’t you go and help Simple Simon with her acre? She may give you a stick of cassava and some okras. I am coming down for 5 weeks, I won’t mind helping her farm. I love gardening. Now that I have my freedom 65 bus pass I does travel all bout the place at wunnah expense. ha, ha, ha. I could leave early in the morning and take a break when the sun get hot. Dr. Branker told me to keep outa de sun, that I in nuh Bajan nuh more, and cant take the rays down dere. He got me wearing a hat and sun shades in the sea. Me that used to run wild as a kid, climbing the sea rocks, etc., bare headed, bare footed and bare backed.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 3, 2013 at 1:51 PM |

So Economics is about people! Yuh bright ass brass bowl! Tell that to the slave traders and the plantation owners and commercial barons who exploited to the max the ancestors of people like you.

Stupid ass, you still think Economics is about people? Yes, you are right but only as any resource to be exploited for profit and treated as consumers of goods and services to make money for capitalists.

So let you ac and your band of simpletons prove otherwise in this grand game of supply and demand in the allocation of scare resources. If you had argued that Politics is about “people’ then you would have been standing on firmer intellectual ground. But poor you can only see politics in terms of OSA’s 14 year of exploitation and abuse of the Bajan people. Not so, ac?

4. @ “Professor” Simple Simon

“I don’t believe that I still have to be correcting your grammar. In class 2 I taught you the difference between their and there. Boy you ain’t get it yet?”

You’re one to talk. That is called a typo as an effect of my fingers running faster than my brain. And a note of warning; since you’re so “sensitive” to grammar, even the dumbest of dunces would note that the term ‘ain’t’ is not correct Grammar nor is it correct English, as you were so ‘careful’ to mention. Learn to take your own advice before dishing it out to someone else. It makes you look like an even Bigger ass.

And I couldn’t help but peep how you consistently continue to avoid the content at hand. You’re an impostor if you and islandgal246 even dared to argue that you were “thinkers” as you both continually trivialize everything you read. So what’s your take on it?

Better yet. I shouldn’t ask such a question since you’re not even going to answer it. But for the sake of the topic am officially ENDING this run with you for it is clear that I am speaking to the Sphincter of a Horse’s end. And so, my dear good lady Simpleton, I bid thee adieu! Any further comments from you and your “supporters” would simply be no more significant than feces running of the walls of a bathroom in a sanitarium.

My apologies to David (B.U.) for turning this productive comment section into a nonsensical bicker-fest. As you are aware, it is not in my typical character to engage in such a thing.

5. @ Brother MillerTheAnunnaki

“So let you ac and your band of simpletons prove otherwise in this grand game of supply and demand in the allocation of scare resources. If you had argued that Politics is about “people’ then you would have been standing on firmer intellectual ground. But poor you can only see politics in terms of OSA’s 14 year of exploitation and abuse of the Bajan people. Not so, ac?”

I can feel the FIRE from here in Brooklyn!! I think its best that we leave these people to believe that “Economics” is so….Well, for lack of a better word; “Simple”. It is clear that engaging in any form of intellectual discourse (with a plethora of peer-reviewed evidence at that) would simply go over the small cherry seeds they consider to be a “head”. This is a situation of people developing a vendetta because they feel that their small prides have been hurt. So never mind them Brother Anunnaki. We must focus our energy on trying to help spread awareness to those who CAN be educated. Continuing to engage these saps would only lead to more bickering (A lost Cause), which would essentially get us nowhere and could potentially kill off the credibility and reputation of the Barbados Underground Portal.

6. again miller my opening statement “economic is not about people ‘ was more a question directed to you !if you reread my comments it goes on to show that lifeblood of an econmy is dependant on its people and purchasing power. dumbass. as usual you like to put words in people mouth dumbass and brother Bim follows right behind you.

7. @ AC

Actually; Capitalism in a nutshell is about Supply and demand. Capitalism needs people aka Labour in order to help with the process of resource allocation in order for there to be optimum profit maximization. Capitalism does not measure a “human cost”, but rather the presence of bodies to comprise a labour/workforce. Essentially, people are regarded simply as machines that work towards giving profits to those at the top of the chain. There are many problems with Capitalism (particularly Anglo-Saxon Capitalism) as a model for it 1) Does not take into account that resources aren’t easily expendable. 2) Being that there is an overarching emphasis on “competition” instead of “mutual-ism”. Capitalism is inherently imperialistic due to the fact that its emphasis of ‘competition’ insinuates the dynamic of there having to always be a “winner” (ie. richer economies) versus that of the “loser” (ie. poorer economies). Such a dynamic leads to there being economic exploitation of poorer nations as their economies are reliant on the capital that is owned by foreign corporate entities that come from richer economies to “invest” in projects that more often than not leads to the extraction of key resources from poorer nations that benefit foreign businesses. There is MUCH MUCH more to economics than many people tend to think. I believe that it should be taught to our young students on a secondary-educational level for they would be able to better understand the massive system in place known as “Capitalism” and how it exists as an imperialist structure. Know this, Colonialism NEVER ENDED. It merely changed face. That goes especially for the Caribbean and Africa.

8. brudda bim no agrument from me on captalism. just another legalise slavetrade.but be careful of miller . he like to put words in people mouths to win an argument or to pretend that people agree with him. he is the epitome of the “orginal snake oil salesman..

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 3, 2013 at 8:33 PM |

Well it seems that not even you, “ac”, are immune from the miller’s oily venom.
    Look how he was able to indoctrinate you into becoming one of the biggest trumpeters of the need to clean up Bim especially its much heralded heritage capital B’town.
    And to think that the miller didn’t have to put his slimy foot in your dry mouth for you to cry out first with pain and now with pleasure of the joys of keeping Bim clean.
    Now that’s what you call an ac’s epiphany moment.

10. miller get lost ! you silly nut. how you can give credit for any thing is beyond the rationale of the second coming of christ and his ressurection. must i remind you that i had already started a clean up program with a few of my freinds. the video was to highlight the lack of education among the public about the enviroment and the many different ways people use to abuse it .get serious and get off that pedestal you have perched your self on, before i kick yuh dumbass off it.

11. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Brudah-Bim | January 1, 2013 at 2:01 PM |

“And I find it ironic that someone with a name like “Smooth Chocolate” can say that homosexuality is perverse when it is accepted in our backwards society for a Bloody 40+ year old man to try and get into a 17 year old girl’s pants. What TYPE OF BULLSH!T IS THAT?! Put that in your pipe and smoke on it fudge boy. You can call me a buller too, but as the brother and cousin of Homosexuals..”

ARE U ASS? HOMOSEXUALITY IS TOTALLY PERVERSE AND NASTY so too is PEDOPHILIA etc ANYTHING ALONG THOSE LINES

you do not have to worry about what i call u or think of you ..i have NEVER been interested in bajan men, nothing personal really.

12. @ Smooth Chocolate

Hey fudge boy! Explain how exactly is homosexuality is similar to Pedophilia? How exactly can you call it perverse when even countless animal species engage in homosexuality in the wild? If it is perverse, you’d better bring forth empirical data to support such a notion. Otherwise, you’re just a senseless bigot….

13. I know for a fact that the homosexuals I have interacted with are people just like us heterosexuals, with the same problems and same goals in life. To compare someone who is attracted to the same sex to someone who likes to screw little children is highly inaccurate (if not blatantly RETARDED). The two couldn’t be further from each other in terms of spectrum. And little did you know, the pedophiles who attack little boys are in fact “Heterosexuals”. You forget that Pedophilia is essentially rape. Rape is about asserting POWER and DOMINANCE through violation of one’s body. Just as how rapes in Prisons don’t equate to the attacked/attackers to being homosexual; it is merely a case of circumstantial homosexuality. You really need to take up some Bio-Psych courses in order to understand the dynamics. There are countless studies out there in direct refutation of your backwards theory.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I don’t go I the wild, so pardon my ignorance. I always thought that was propaganda that was used by the gay lobby to justify them playing up in faecal matter. How come I always seem to miss the episode on tv that shows gay animals in the wild. If I found two sheep bulling, I wouldn’t eat the meat.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Brudah-Bim

There are countless studies out there that support whatever the people paying for the study wants. For example: there was a study that said that coconut oil was bad and people moved away from its use. Subsequently, we discovered that the study was commissioned by soya bean producers. We now know that coconut oil is a superior product to soya bean oil. So take the study about normal homosexuals with a pinch of salt. Normal and homosexual are a contradiction in terms.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brudah-Bim | January 4, 2013 at 1:04 PM |
    “Hey fudge boy! Explain how exactly is homosexuality is similar to Pedophilia?”

Don’t expect Fudgy to respond in a rational way.
    Let him or her dare to quote the book of Leviticus or some other archaic authoritarian moral source and we will deal with him or her accordingly starting with his same Leviticus- chp. 15; vs: 19-29. If she is a menstruating she should be put in solitary confinement and we will need to avoid her like the plague for at least 8 days.

17. @Smooth Chocolate

i have NEVER been interested in bajan men, nothing personal really.

Really? Your homophobic statements would suggest otherwise, or is it only non-Bajan men that you’re interested in? Time to come out, methinks.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Caswell Franklyn | January 4, 2013 at 1:15 PM |
    “If I found two sheep bulling, I wouldn’t eat the meat.”

That excludes pussycats of course, right Caswell? LOL!!!
    If you see two women wicking what would you say?

It’s impossible for two rams to “bull” (no pun intended). Nature does not accommodate for such unless some human agent intervenes and applies some form of heavy duty lubricant as they are keen to do in their own ‘ramrodding’ escapades.

19. @ Caswell Franklyn

“There are countless studies out there that support whatever the people paying for the study wants.”

I beg to differ. There is even a Wikipedia page upon the matter. It is a WELL DOCUMENTED phenomena substantiated by countless Scientific organizations.

Here’s the link and you will see the plethora of gay animals: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_animals_displaying_homosexual_behavior#Mammals

“If I found two sheep bulling, I wouldn’t eat the meat.”

Let me guess, because you wish to avoid contracting potentially debilitating diseases such as “Sheep HIV”? Come now, it is likely that you have in fact eaten countless of animals that took part in gay sex. How would you know? Honestly, your quote sounds like it comes from a place of DEEP INSECURITIES!

20. @ smooth chocolate

“you do not have to worry about what i call u or think of you ..i have NEVER been interested in bajan men, nothing personal really.”

Wow! If this isn’t an incriminating statement then I am the bastard father of Queen Elizabeth II. I think it is clear now where this ‘hatred’ stems from. I wish you the best of luck on sorting out whatever it is you need to work on in your head. Clearly, you come off as conflicted. And FYI, I’m a Yankee born TrinBajan, Though I identify more with my Bajan roots.

21. There ARE countless studies out there paying for the DESIRED RESULTS, IT WILL NEVER STOP, IT’S CALLED THE VEHICLE TO FREE ENTERPRISE. CAPITALISM.

22. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Brudah-Bim | January 4, 2013 at 1:13 PM |
    . You really need to take up some Bio-Psych courses in order to understand the dynamics. There are countless studies out there in direct refutation of your backwards theory.

IT IS FILTHY, NASTY AND PERVERSE….don’t need any kind of education to change my mind….i have no problems with gays just their stinky sexual habits…

“, I’m a Yankee born TrinBajan, Though I identify more with my Bajan roots”

I DO NOT GIVE A RAT’S ASS WHAT U ARE…i said i was not interested in BAJAN MEN NOTHING PERSONAL…U FALL UNDER THAT UMBRELLA, ur statement says so..

get some class please, i am entitle to be attracted to anyone from the opposite sex without u trying to justify why i would not want bajan breeding. but i will tell u this, i have lived all over, i love barbados, the only men i see anywhere that blatantly disrespect women are bajan men, i have many bajan friends but they will tell u, that I have NEVER had a romantic interest in any them…my husband is British, i am British and love it…call me all kinds of names, which is typical of u bajan men when ur scorned but i care not nor never will

AS I MATURE I MIGHT SEE HOMOSEXUALITY FROM UR POINT OF VIEW BUT I DOUBT IT. BTW my favourite relative was gay, i loved him to the max, BUT he knew i thought of his sexual habits as nasty perverse and disgusting…i have the ability to separate the sin from the sinner, unlike u

23. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Peltdownman | January 4, 2013 at 1:28 PM |
    “Your homophobic statements would suggest otherwise, or is it only non-Bajan men that you’re interested in? Time to come out, methinks”

u people are really, really silly…can u not see and understand that i am female? OF COURSE I LOVE MEN NOT interested in Bajan men u clown.

i am 100% mixed breed female and proud too of my breeding

24. @ Well-Well
    “There ARE countless studies out there paying for the DESIRED RESULTS, IT WILL NEVER STOP, IT’S CALLED THE VEHICLE TO FREE ENTERPRISE. CAPITALISM.”

Then please explain where those capitalist interests lie? Just how exactly does it manifests in our economy? What is their ultimate corporate Agenda in Bim?

25. @ Smooth Chocolate

(^_^) I really don’t give a damn. Later Fudgy gal! MWAH!

26. It’s hard to come by educated people on this subject, but you sound like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

27. Having read this I thought it was very informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time
    both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still
    worthwhile!

28. Quality posts is the crucial to interest the viewers to pay a
    visit the web page, that’s what this site is providing.