Attorney Alvin David Bryan (right) and Wilfred Abrahams (left)

Most people (used reservedly given the Advocate’s circulation numbers) have read the self-serving apologia in the editorial section of the Advocate directed at the Bajan blogosphere, in defense of what many agree is a toothless Fourth Estate of Barbados. A Fourth Estate that blandly and blindly follows the beat of the drum of whichever political party it is affiliated to, ignores glaring incidents of injustice in the Courts of Barbados and refuses to take members of government to task, even if the evidence jumps up and bites them on the gluteus maximus.

A few examples :-

• Barbados is taken to court in Canada in a civil lawsuit with costs running (on both sides) to almost BDS$16 million. This lawsuit involves the future of over 1% of Barbados’ total landmass, the purchase of  influence of the Fifth Estate (blogs) at BDS1,300.00 per week, the establishment of a blog in Miami, Florida, the collection of shredded documents in Barbados and their shipment to Canada to be reconstituted, the surveillance of the former wife of Owen Arthur, the surveillance of the family and person of former Attorney General Mia Mottley in Florida, the staking out of the Barbados consular mission in Miami Florida and the proposal to follow and stalk employees of that mission, contributing to the upkeep and election aspirations of Minister Denis Lowe (including importing Canadian experts to assist with his election), the use of false names and documents, the jail sentence of one of the parties who is now a fugitive from justice. Barbados wins the case in Canada and all is REVEALED. The case is fully and completely reported BU (Go to Search Box and use ‘Peter Allard’), with full document back-up. Yet, neither the Nation or the Advocate has even attempted to report on the matter. For them, it is as though it has never existed and the BDS16 million it cost is nothing – to the extent, we have to ask if one blog was paid BDS1,300 per week by Peter Allard, how much were others paid? The only other explanation is dereliction of duty as members of the Fourth Estate. Sub judice cannot be used as an excuse here.

• Barbados has a new Chief Justice commencing 1st January 2011. BU announced it prior to the Nation, who was then poked and  made its announcement some two days later. To date the old girl at Fontebelle is pissed because it did not get first crack, has made no reference to Chief Justice Designate Gibson. Neither of these two Fourth Estate organisations got the news first and, had it not been for BU, they still would not have the news because…, after all the pontificating about responsible journalism, they have forgotten that the first requirement of responsible journalism is to report the news. It is NOT, as they do, to pretend news does not exist, unless told that it does exist by their political masters.
  • Do you remember when BU was first to raise questions about  3S SRL, the company which was mysteriously given one of the largest government road contracts in Barbados? The Fourth Estate refused* to cover the story for months because they were scooped. Should it not be about reporting the news?
  • What about how the local Fourth Estate covered the Immigration Debate? Remember the anti-Barbados articles which were regurgitated by the Nation newspaper taken from the Guyana press? Remember how Barbadians were prevented from venting on the VOB call-in programs? We can cite so many cases of the Fourth Estate allowing itself to be manipulated.

In its editorial the Advocate focuses on the comments of Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin, as if they are in some way the Gospel according to Mathew and Luke. The Advocate ignores that Dottin’s job is currently alleged to be on the line and under fire and, instead of doing a bit of investigative journalism to find out if that is true and if Dottin’s remarks about the blogs might be because of the alleged attacks against his administration that may have contributed to the rumoured problems and possible resignation/dismissal he now faces, the Advocate, true to form, has written an editorial of such amazing and self-serving BS, that it makes one realize that the society it reflects is Barbados of 1910, not Barbados 2010. It was instructive to listen to a visiting criminologist in the local media this week. He commented on the importance of community policing. Of note was his advice to the top brass of any constabulary to sing from the same hymn sheet.

Well, Mr Editor (or what passes for an editor at the Advocate) your comments and Commissioner Darwin Dottin’s conflict to how the press and social commentators of the FREE world is currently being conducted. What you would seek to do is to limit freedom of expression of Bajans on our rights as citizens of a free country and world, to that which you think, under direction of your political masters, is appropriate. You Anthony Bryan can BUZZ-OFF. You do not have the pulse of the people or any real interest about what is important in this land to the people of this land. You are a political pimp and a disgrace to one of the most important Estates of the Realm.

As a post script please tell Barbadians why you recently refused to give coverage in your newspaper about the arrest of your lawyer son Alvin David Bryan? The fact that he repaid the monies he was accused of stealing what does that say? That he is not a tief? Why is it that since the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has come to office it has coincided with an about turn in your political allegiance? What comes to mind is whether your master has now given you the go ahead to attack the Bajan blogosphere because the heat is now being turned up. Yours is a newspaper not worthy and does a grave injustice to our society.

85 responses to “The Barbados Advocate, A Disgrace To The Fourth Estate”

1. Amused, could you tell me one important point that this case decided and how it significantly impacts on Commonwealth Caribbean law?

2. -off topic–
    that other blog real poor yuh !
    man they cannot even garner 10 comments per post on average

3. @ Jeff, is the case not significant in that a serving Prime Minister of Barbados was sued outside of Barbados in a case relating to property and events in Barbados?

Pardon my ignorance but I did not know I could sue a Barbadian national who resides in Barbados in a Canadian court.
    More significant to me is that this case was tried in an Ontario court and the lawyers from the allard camp were from Orillia,Ontario. Population 30,000.
    Great place to go camping and fishing.

4. Yes you can SUE, Hants. Whether the court will assume jurisdiction is another matter!

5. Islanggal246 wrote “A letter that is not of the same religious dogma that they adhere to, WILL NEVER published! Yet they will publish the GLOOM and DOOM prophecies of many self elected GOD MEN and then in their classifieds section carry OBEAH ads.”

I did not know that either the Nation or the Advocate held ANY religious dogma.

And why do you have a problem with Obeah ads?

Don’t you know that Christianity and Obi are the two major religions in Barbados. And that huge numbers of peope believe in and practice bothChristianity and Obi.

It is called syncresis.

6. Jeff,Amused and Anonlegal. We need your opinion on the statement by the head of the Barbados Bar Association.

It is damning when the head of an organisation suggest that the public is at risk when dealing with its members.

Overseas Bajans are concerned because some of us have assets in Barbados that are worth many times more than our overseas assets.

Example a $1millionbds townhouse in Barbados would cost $1/2million bds in Quebec.

7. @Hants

One does not have to be a legal eagle to label the statement by Leslie Haynes the very height of ignorance. Here is the president of a body with oversight for handling lawyer complaints giving the public an insight to the hopelessness of them coming to the Bar association for help. By his statement he has also hinted that more criminal cases are in the works! Now how is a member of the public suppose to know who is an honest or crooked lawyer? What is the rule of thumb to use man.

God help us!

8. My mother was telling me about a friend of hers, who was having a major problems collecting some monies a lawyer had for her. This lady would call the lawyer’s office regularly for several months and every time she called, the secretary would tell her that he was not in. She would leave messages for him to call her and he never would call. So one day she got dressed and went to town to the lawyer’s office. She announced herself to the secretary and told her that she came to collect her money. She was told that the lawyer was out for the day and that she should call first. Well the good lady told the secretary that she would wait on him and took a seat.
    She sat there for several hours, patiently waiting. The lawyer who was in his office hiding came out and told her to leave his office immediately. She said that she was not leaving until she got her money. The lawyer told her that he would call the police if she didn’t leave. She told him to call them and she would lodge a complaint against him that he had stolen her money and wouldn’t pay. She asked him “who do you think that they would arrest now”? The lawyer took out his cheque book and started to write a cheque. The good lady reminded him to add the interest as well. She left with her cheque in hand.

9. @David,
    You are correct but I still want to hear the opinions of our BU Legal expert bloggers.

10. @David. The top lawyers, of which Leslie is one, are fed up with the courts as well as the also-rans. They are on the warpath. I’m afraid that a lot of these arrogant, undereducated recent lawyers, who think a law degree confers divinity on them are about to learn the hard way what most Bajans already know, the value of humility. I would be very suprised if a couple of them do not get first-hand experience of the joys of custodial sentencing – in other words, get their backsides locked up.

On the one hand, we have the Barbados tourism and financial sectors persuading people that Barbados is best, which is good…….and on the other hand we have the nepotistic David Simmons appointees to the Bench and a rage of complete jackasses admitted to the Bar, letting the side down.

We are asked for a list of good lawyers. Why not start with Leslie himself? He can probably refer you and he is a good lawyer. The problem with top lawyers is that their client lists are usually full (and some of them do quite a bit of pro bono work, but there has to be a cut off line). I also very much regret to say that the title Queens Council is not any longer a basis that can be relied upon. It has become a political favour, rather than an indication of excellence.

As I commented in an earlier report on BU, the problem with clients is that they choose the lawyer who tells them what they want to hear, rather than the lawyer who tells them the truth. In other words, financial considerations aside, the choice is not dictated by expertise in jurisprudence, but by the ability to mirror the client’s wishes and desires.

For a long time BU (and I support this 100%) has campaigned for basic law to be taught in schools. IF EVER this need hit us in the face, it is NOW! And do you know something? After two years of compulsory, basic law in schools, school children will have reached the same stage as these jackasses that are now being churned out of Cave Hill.

11. @Amused

The bigger point here is the unwillingness over the years of the Bar Association to demonstrate leadership in regulating its own. Unfortunately Leslie finds himself as President of the Bar at this time and he will have to deal with the flack accordingly. His politically lame statements clearly demonstrate his disgust but he will have to take some of the flack because he is a lawyer who is currently heading a failed institution. The public will direct its ire at him!

12. Our closest ally US occupy with three quarter, THREE QUARTER of ALL LAWYER in WHOLE world…! No LOL at that no? One lawyer for every three hundred citizen… Now what good that do…?

13. @Amused,
    “For a long time BU (and I support this 100%) has campaigned for basic law to be taught in schools”.
    Basic construction should be taught in schools so contractors can’t tief from yuh.
    Basic business practice should be taught in schools so merchants can’t tief from yuh.
    Basic auto mechanics should be taught in schools so mechanics can’t tief from yuh.

Cut the crap. A legal system with a Bar Association that cannot prevent its members from stealing client’s money is fundamentally flawed.

When a Lawyer steals a clients money and spend it on trips to exotic destinations that money cannot be recovered and in Barbados the client is left without compensation.
    If said Lawyer steals $100,000 and is himself in debt to the tune of $500,000 how is the poor client going to recover his life savings.

14. @Hants. No, sir. Many people don’t ever come into contact with contractors and many do not drive and have no need of mechanics. As for merchants, by putting in that category, you make my case for me. The Law is a part of the every day life of all. And yet it is not taught in our schools ane people are woefully ignorant of it, despite the principal of law “Ignorance of the law excuses nothing”. Since the law does not allow us to plead “I didn’t know”, maybe it is our duty to our children to ensure that they DO know.

@David. The BBA is a toothless, useless statutory organization. I suspect it is only there because it is statutory. If you look at the Law Society of Upper Canada’s website, you will find that it lists the names of all lawyers that are found guilty of infringement of its rules and gives particulars of those infringements. Ditto the Law Society of England and Wales. The BBA needs to do the same. I think Leslie is sounding a warning to it on the necessity of policing the legal profession far more effectively.

As for the prosecution of lawyers who misuse clients’ accounts, with the greatest respect, that is not a matter for the BBA. It is a criminal offense and is the province of the Director of Public Prosecutions. All the BBA can do is to suspend of disbar. But MY feeling is that lawyers who misuse clients’ accounts should be locked the fu** up.

15. @ Amused
    Is there any requirement for lawyers accounts – particularly their client’s accounts, to be audited?

Should this not be part of the mandate of the BBA?

Perhaps it is the loose arrangements which encourage weak minds with free access to large funds to do foolishness.
    Simply by having regular audits in place would improve governance in the area significantly.

16. @Jeff

Although BU understands why you may want to skirt this issue its merits an opinion don’t you think?

@ BT

On what grounds? Do we audit the other professions although the sums are less?

17. David,
    I just saw your post @6:33 by chance. I am awfully busy now, but I promise a comment later.

18. @Amused,
    You have unwittingly painted a picture of a corrupt Legal system with a toohless organisation that puts John q Public at risk to being robbed by dishonest Lawyers.
    You have duly warned our Overseas Bajans to minimise their dealings with Bajan Lawyers and those of us in Canada should pay Canadian Banks the extra 11% on any Business we transact in Barbados that involve Lawyers.

Better to give up 11% than risk all in the hands of Bajan Lawyers.

Thanks for the warning Amused.

19. It is an indictment of our education system that tax dollars is being used to educate these people only for the profession to attract the kind of reputation which we continue to hear and read about daily.

20. The consumer is severely at a disadvantage when it comes to choosing the following:
    1. doctor
    2. lawyer
    3. mechanic
    4. building contractor
    5. Tradesmen
    And it is the poor man that they rob, who has limited funds to fight back.

21. @Hants. I never “unwittingly” do anything. And thinking that things are different in Canada shows that you have not looked on the Law Society of Upper Canada website and checked out the complaints and findings. Canada has just as large a lawyer population of “under educated” idiots as Barbados. Remember, you get what you pay for – and that is as true in Canada as it is in Barbados.

But, in Barbados, with a justice system in the courts that has completely broken down (and believe me, it has broken down) with a lot of so called “judges” that ought to get their backsides fired, how can you expect not to have serious problems with the lawyers?

The changes have to come from the TOP. And until the top gets its act together and raises the bar for the whole profession, what the hell do you expect from the lawyers? If the justice system is weighted towards those with the money, how can you expect certain lawyers not to go for money as well? Monkey see, monkey do.

My indictment, Hants, is of the whole justice system that is the leaving present to the country from our last Chief Justice and his wife.

And if you want to pay an extra 11% for banking services in Canada, instead of using the excellent banks (some of them Canadian) already in Barbados, it is your money.

@David. You are 100% correct.

22. @ David
    On what grounds? Do we audit the other professions although the sums are less?
    You can’t be serious David.
    What other profession collects and holds on to people’s personal funds?

Evey other institution or body that enjoys the privilege of receiving funds from the public, or even from restricted groups – is HIGHLY regulated.
    The Banks
    Credit Unions
    Finance Companies
    Insurance
    Pension funds
    ….even normal businesses must submit audited statements to Inland Revenue annually, and account for any public liabilities.

If a lawyer could just collect people’s money ‘just so’ and not have to report to anyone, what is to stop them from being another Sanford? (who was audited!!)

Bush Tea is not surprised that Amused did not respond, all lawyers seem to feel that they have a right to all kinds of benefits that do not apply to anyone else…..

Bush Tea would venture a bet that an audit held now, would find that there is a wide gap between the net liabilities of any lawyer’s client funds -and the actual balance held on the bank…in more cases than we would imagine..

23. @Amused who wrote “And if you want to pay an extra 11% for banking services in Canada, instead of using the excellent banks (some of them Canadian) already in Barbados, it is your money.

That is what it cost to use the ” services” of a Canadian Bank or Trust company in Barbados depending on the transaction and the level of security you are paying for.

I still want to hear from Jeff and Anonlegal especially with regards to Amused’s statement “with a justice system in the courts that has completely broken down (and believe me, it has broken down) with a lot of so called “judges” that ought to get their backsides fired,”.

24. @David,
    I trying to provoke a discussion between Amused,Anonlegal and Jeff Cumberbatch but duh mussey too busy.

25. @Hants

Jeff indicated earlier today that he is extremely busy but he will comment later.

Anonlegal must still be ticked at how we dealt with his friend Roxanne.

This is a topic the most courageous lawyer will run from.

26. @Hants
    I haven’t been on the blogs for quite a while. I have been working on some big matters. I am only now scrolling through this thread. I will comment when I have a chance.

David, for years, you have criticised many persons that I know personally. As you are aware, I find many of your criticisms unfair and in some cases uninformed. Notwithstanding those criticisms I have continued to post on the blogs. Nothing has changed.

On another note, since when is an e-mail address required to post on BU?

27. @Anonlegal

It is a feature BU turned on to eliminate the large number of ‘Anonymous’ comments which made conversations hard to follow. Unfortunately WordPress ties the Name required field to Email required field. Feel free to enter any email of your choice, fictitious even.

28. I should mention that it is my recollection that at least one story appeared in the local press about the Canadian claim relating to the Kingsland Estates dispute.

The Canadian court was not the proper forum and the claim had no merit. It was therefore dismissed. I have no opinion on the story’s newsworthiness.

29. @ David

Ok. That tells you how long I have been away.

30. @ Hants
    I have no problem with what Leslie Haynes said. I would add that if a person wants an attorney to handle a conveyance, they should probably retain a law firm with a good property department or an attorney whose primary practice consists of converyancing (So that I am not accused of soliciting business let me state that I don’t have a conveyancing practice).

You will notice that most complaints to the disciplinary committee relate to land matters. Land matters are lucrative. Sometimes the fees from one good conveyance can help a sole practitioner pay all of his bills for a month or two. The lucrative nature of a conveyancing practice entices attorneys whose practices consist of mainly litigation to try their hands at conveyancing. In and of itself there is nothing wrong with this because Caribbean trained attorneys learn conveyancing at Law school (NB: English trained barristers do not). However, sometimes these sole practitioners, who are not experienced in converyancing, do not order their accounts properly. They therefore find themselves in problems. (NB: some attorneys seem to be just dishonest)

My view is that if you have a problem involving family law, you should look for someone with experience in that field. If you have a legal issue relating to a company you should probably approach an attorney that has some expertise in company law. If you have a non-contentious land matter, you should go to a firm or a sole practitioner whose main practice is conveyancing.

Amused said:

“I also very much regret to say that the title Queens Council is not any longer a basis that can be relied upon. It has become a political favour, rather than an indication of excellence.”

I agree with this statement. Although I somehow suspect that Amused and I will disagree on who deserves to be a Queen’s Counsel and who doesn’t.

Hants also wanted me to comment on the following statement made by Amused:

“But, in Barbados, with a justice system in the courts that has completely broken down (and believe me, it has broken down) with a lot of so called “judges” that ought to get their backsides fired”

I have heard Amused criticize some of the judges who have been recently appointed. I have been before them and I have met them. I have not experienced any problems and have no reason to doubt their judicial abilities.

Re the system, it definitely has its problems but I am of the view that there is a need for more judges, personnel and technology. That requires more resources. Until that happens, it will continue to experience problems.

31. @David,
    This discussion about the Legal system needs to be resurrected.

The contributions by Anonlegal and Amused have been informative.

32. @Hants

As you know BU has some issues which are pillar issues, legal/justice issues will be highlighted from time to time.

33. Interesting reading p7 of the Barbados Today Online today. Looks like leading criminal lawyer Andrew Pilgrim agrees with BU’s position regarding the justice system in Barbados, justice delayed is justice DENIED!

http://edition.pagesuite-professional.co.uk/launch.aspx?referral=other&refresh=4j0YnM710qP5&PBID=87ad6005-1972-4d63-92b0-8927eda53c7a&skip=

Wonder what Anonlegal and Jeff have to say to the matter now.

34. Little Miss Muffet Avatar
    Little Miss Muffet

HEY bushie.Guess who is that fellow in the photo above, evading the camera wid the BIG SQUARE HEAD ?

35. Wait until you see the UK edition of the Nation – full of rubbish.