Submitted by DLP Supporter
Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur and Clyde Mascoll Chief BLP Spokesman on economic matters

The Democratic Labour Party family and the entire country looked on in total amazement last weekend when Owen Arthur conferred the highest BLP honour, the Grantley Adams Award, on none other than Clyde Mascoll who once served as a Leader of the Opposition of our great party. What a betrayal of the name of Grantley Adams. It is no wonder that the vast majority of the rank and file of the BLP are hopping mad over this gross insult to their collective intelligence. A dismal act of betrayal of the ancestry of that party that has clearly lost its way.

Mascoll’s reply to Arthur’s 2004 budget.

“Mr. Speaker, as I sat yesterday listening to the Right Honourable Member for St. Peter, once again I became convinced that the Right Hourable Prime Minister does not have any clue as to where he wants to take this country Barbados. The Right Honourable Prime Minister has no clear vision of the kind of Barbados that he wants to leave when he exists the political stage….The Right Honourable Member for St. Peter does not speak from a deeply-held philosophical position. His positions and policies reek of political opportunism and pragmatism. His blunderings and meanderings have been masked by excellent public relations machinery…

“Mr.Speaker… He is an excellent and affable politician but as a manager, he is a monumental failure. He is reckless with spending the public’s purse and as a Leader, he is a disappointment. Sir, with two of the biggest electoral mandates in our history, he has not moved us forward as a country. He has failed to inspire us as a people…

“He has been afraid to take the tough decisions, which is the hallmark of great leaders…He is afraid to offend his benefactors. Mr. Speaker, Over the last ten years since the Right Honourable Member for St. Peter became Minister of Finance, he has raised the national debt from $2.5 billion to $4.2 billion, an increase of $1.7 billion, which is approximately $1.1 billion in domestic borrowing and $600 million in foreign loans…
“Mr. Speaker, in addition to that magnitude of borrowed funds, this Minister, the Right Honourable Prime Minister, had an additional $900 million more in taxes in one fiscal year, than the last Democratic Labour Party Finance Minister. Mr. Speaker, that would have given the Minister, the Right Honourable Prime Ministet, $3.5 billion more at his disposal, than the Demicratic Labour Party would have had in 1994. Sir, the national debt is not just an amorphous figure that we conjure up. It is money that our children and grandchildren would have to repay. We are mortgaging our children’s future. It is debt that could be a noose around our necks. It is a debt that if allowed to go unchecked, may signal a return of the International Monetary Fund…

“Mr. Speaker, if there is so much liquidity in the banking system, why is it that our private sector was not able to borrow funds from the commercial banks and put into a venture like the Hilton Hotel? Why is it that it is costing the Government almost $190 million in the rebuilding of the Hilton Hotel? …This Government has continued to spend recklessly. This Government owes the people of Barbados explanations for a lot of wastage. This Government needs to tell Barbadians why they are no better off ten years later, in spite of increased national debt, in spite of increased taxes, in spite of more than $3.5 billion in debt…

“Mr. Speaker, the thing about it is that this Prime Minister is a catastrophic failure, when you look at the fact he had more resources than any other Prime Minister in the history of Barbados. The Prime Minister has, in fact, not made good use of the resources available to him and when you look at the social state in Barbados, the decline in the ability to get housing, the decline in the health care delivery, the educational system, the transportation system, you have only to conclude that this Government has wasted the resources of this administration.”

This is the same Clyde Mascoll that Owen now seeks to honour. What a shame. It is a political deception of the highest order. But the same way how Mascoll’s words were meant to warn the Barbadian voter in 2004, they remain true in again warning all voters today. Pay attention to the gospel according to Clyde.

Thank you Clyde for unmasking the real Owen Arthur.

1. Turncoats,floor crossers,fence straddlers, political opportunists.

I doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

2. DEMS

All your post proves is that there is no honour among politicians, oops, I think that should be crooks.

3. the DEMS are so stupid. in this persons attempt to make whatever point they are trying to make, look what DEM do…

“Mr. Speaker, Over the last ten years since the Right Honourable Member for St. Peter became Minister of Finance, he has raised the national debt from $2.5 billion to $4.2 billion, an increase of $1.7 billion, which is approximately $1.1 billion in domestic borrowing and $600 million in foreign loans…”

what is the national dept today and what was it in 2008? now of that is not a can of worms.

4. that is something ac would say right onions

5. I remember that debate,,,thought it was an excellent budget reply and a caution for the taxpayers and bajan masses in general, But that was when Mascoll was an economist, an excellent civil servant, I took his response to economic developments seriously…….BUT Now he is a Politician, a Joker, never to taken serious…..he who has no standard falls and follow anything…
    Politicians are just like Priest, a bunch of hypocrites ….self grandeur hooligans

6. If anyone can get into Mascoll’s head it would be to find out what his expectations were when he crossed the floor. One can assume he wanted to serve as a member of parliament. If we look at where he finds himself now – on the outside looking in – the conclusion must be that things did not follow to plan. BU’s position is that if an MP wishes to resign from the party banner he/she was ran under it should trigger a by-election.

7. The Arthur / Mascoll merger will forever be viewed with suspicion ; there has never been any sincerity attached to it . As a Dem Mascoll was always perceived as being a much brighter economist than Arthur and continually attacked him for his failure to restructure the Barbados economy . But then expediency played a cruel trick on them both . Mascoll allowed himself to be lured into the BLP camp under the Arthur initiative to put Mia Mottley in her place and ever since then he has had to undergo a credibility crisis . Remember he was surprisingly named by Arthur as joint deputy leader along with Mottley leading up to the last election? That move sounded the beginning of the end for Mottley so far as Arthur was concerned . But one of Mascoll’s greatest failings is that he is a coward . Why if he and Arthur are so convinced that the BLP has the elections already won did he not go back to St Michael North West and RECLAIM his seat presently held , according to the Wickham poll , by a fragile Sinckler ? His new ally Arthur must have impressed upon him that to cement his political future he must win a seat in Parliament . Or maybe his eyes are firmly fixed upon Dr Worrell’s job in the Central Bank . Dr Worrell , an eminent economist of international repute is clearly not a favourite of Arthur or Mascoll . This post makes it very clear that Arthur and Mascoll have some explaining to do to the Barbados electorate ; has Mascoll changed his views of Arthur’s economic policies ? Is he also an advocate of the privitisation philosophy now being touted by the BLP ? If for example, as Anthony Wood shouts , 16,000 jobs have been lost in the private sector within the last year is it not logical to expect under a privitisation initiative that this figure would at least double over a similar period while the private sector carries out its usual fat-trimming exercise ? Somehow this Arthur / Mascoll accommodation does not seem to be working out for the two of them ; it has all the characteristics of an unholy alliance ; we will have to wait to see how it affects the BLP . Mia Mottley is not dead ; she might only be snoozing .

8. In the current scheme of things Mascoll is a non story, a non issue and a continually unrebutted economic thorn in the DLP’s side. Some of his same arguments then can be applied in a limited way to the current government.

Focusing on him. Or him and Arthur does nothing to the broader story.

9. @Observing (…)

Arthur has spent a lot of time promoting Mascoll in the party however if one is to judge the political temperature Mia appears to be better placed. Her ascendency to lead the party seem inevitable. Agree with you that Mascoll has to be a footnote in the campaign to come. The DLP will obviously like to stoke the Mascoll factor. Let us see if Arthur repeats the error from the last election.

10. Can you observer explain what Mr Mascoll is saying in his article in today’s Nation. You must be dreaming that Mascoll and Owen are non issues
    He is saying that Dr.Worrell was out of place to speak out against the IMF chief. Mr Worrell is not a coward like Clyde. He did the right thing and the deputy chief said that he is reviewing his paper. Something Clyde and Owen should be doing in writing papers to the world’s government of how to get out of the recession.

Mascoll record as a politician is dismal and also historical as the first opposition leader in the world to cross the floor and join the government benches

Is Mascoll also saying that the wages of Barbadians should be reduced like they did in Latvia.
    The public forced the Nation editorial to ask Owen for details on his give back plan.
    You have not won yet, the pressure is being applied slowly until February next year.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | November 1, 2012 at 8:42 AM |
    “You have not won yet, the pressure is being applied slowly until February next year.”

Can we take it from you, Clone, that your man intends to take us down to the wire, to the very bitter end?
    Remember the Governor said we have 14 weeks of forex left. And he was speaking as at end of September. We had October; now we have November, December and January left to burn up the forex. Is that the plan? To leave negative forex for a February election?

12. DLP…ALL YA D BEST…..You guys sure this ain’t a WARNING being sent to a certain St.Philip man …should he win his seat and CROSS D FLOOR ? Like
    Hammie La….like Rambo Blackman……cheez whiz….If you guys don’t know how to treat your own….BEWARE DEM WILL CROSS OVER WHEN THE TIME COMES…..cuddear…
    DOAN WORRY BOUT MASCOLL …..he sittin tight….tighter than some…IF YOU KNOW WHAT WE MEAN…..whaloss

13. Wanna forget…..we give Fundy an AWARD too…”.for making it so EZ”
    Whaloss !

14. It amazing that this is the same Mascoll that lead the DEMS out of a hole and then they slapped in the face. I believe that the DEMs need to take the BEAM out of their eyes…

15. @Clone
    “You must be dreaming that Mascoll and Owen are non issues”

ya getting tie up man. Mascoll is a non issue politically and with regards to the coming election. Fortunately for the BLP he’s a “side show” with a weekly voice, attacks against whom will resonate ZERO with the electorate. Owen however IS an issue and he MUST show how is proposals will work over the long haul and why they are better than Worrell’s “one path.”

Having said that though, “Pathways to Progress” had plenty promises that we knew COULD NOT WORK but we still elected the DLP 20-10. There may be some comfort there for the BLP.

And yes, Mascoll has a dismal political record

Just Observing.

16. Are you sure the beam in their EYES ?……..Let’s now standby for the Waterman Report…..from the little read from Barbados Today special bulletin….it will be an attention grabber….and a sure sign the bell get tekk up…at long last.

17. It would appear as if the DLP is still hurting because Mr Mascoll left them. But the DLP must learn to treat all of their own with respect not just the ‘blue-eyed boys and gals”.
    It would be a great day of revelations if Mr Mascoll ever geive his side of the story as to why he was forced to leave the DLP. To his benefit he has always said he will not speak ill on the party which he had the privilege to lead.
    If they are not careful another “biggie” will be coming very soon
    It is time the DLP get over Mr Mascoll’s exodus!

18. @ observer (…)
    Man you shabby shabby….Mascoll wha? DLP on a sure way to the back burner….. you like carson clone and blindy ac are classic cases and reason why…IMAGINE A DLP YARDSFOWL …find time to write a whole nuttin thread to CRITICIZE and pique… a BLP member…..you ever see any of my thread so? Too shabby ….just like the renaming of the St.Lucy Secondary, Garrison Secondary….DLP aint build nuttin so like blackbird….to be remembered… they renaming our schools…wanna poor all bout..SHAMEFUL….go hide do.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

old onion bags | November 1, 2012 at 9:38 AM |

Are you talking about the same Mascol who Seethru called, from the floor of Parliament, “a petty, self confessed Shop Lifter’?

Or who Billie called, “Malik wid teets”?

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

dont forget, “when you put on Soldier man boots, prepare for Soldier man blows”.

21. Was Rambo Blackman not a DEM that was part of the Sandi demise that awful morn in the hallowed echelons of the Parliament ? Was Hammie La not a cross-er of most recent johnnie walkers ? People cross the floor in all Parliaments all ova D world…So why the attack..other than you all have nothing to talk about ….(surprisingly too cross-ers including EWB) all from your party ..I wonder why ? Was Mascoll not the leader of Opposition when a certain fellow walked way …and den come back and now gone back away ? Get real ….IT GO HAPPEN SOON AGAIN….DEMS you better watch out!

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mr. Campaign Manager

As you will soon find out that, as the old Bajans say, “egg in hah nuh rite at BIG ROCK dance”!

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onoins

You say that you were in politics a long time.

You remember Seethru saying that if he had a retarded child he would not name it Clyde Mascol?

24. Mascoll crossed the floor and he has had to deal with the fallout from the decision. The criticism which he has attracted has to do with one minute being leader of the opposition and next minute Junior Minister of Finance. Like the appointment of Simmons to CJ, the short time between the appointments rightfully continues to provoke discussion.

25. @Watching
    Your deduction is spot on.All dem sour grapes.The fact that the OSA party can boast a formidable array of talent including five UWI lecturers in economics must be a huge thorn in the side of the party which boasts of a financial analyst,(sitting in the office of the prime minister who himself appears not to understand this buhbaydus economy,)who does not know the difference between a fiscal deficit and a physical deficit,a napoleon syndrome pun unintended.

26. @ Gabriel tackle
    Five UWI lecturers in economics !!! Why dont they make their skills available to the world at large ? We dont need that kind of luxury in this small place.

27. Clyde Mascoll was treated in the worst way by the DLP.

He made a personal decision to walk away after people like Chris Sinkliar and Hartley Henry actually drafted a letter (now we know Sinkliar likes drafting letters, gang of 11) in which cowards like Michael Lashley signed without even reading. What man worth his salt would stick around for such bad treatment after the now dead king wanted back the position from which he walked away.

Maybe looking back it was not wise at the time to join the BLP but he thought it wise at the time. Get over it, Dems. You all now wish you had not treated him as you really needed an economist. God knows Physical Deficit should never be near the MOF more so Sinkliar.

If Clyde does not want to get into the fray of elective politics, that is his choice, leave the man alone!

28. David,

By the way I heard leaks from the COI. Here is what I have heard:

> Jeff Broomes to be moved to a desk job in the Ministry or early retirement
    > Amaida Greaves to be disciplined
    > Jeff’s cousin to be fired
    >The secretary to be disciplined
    > The deputy Principal to be reassigned

The thing is I have heard from Mia Mottley that by law, the recommendations cannot be implemented by the Personnel Department. I dont know, maybe Caswell would, he is quite expert on these matters.

We shall see after the awoken giant’s cabinet meeting today!!!

29. @Prodigal Son

Read what BT published. Let us hear what the PM has to say later. BU says later because the PM promised there will be an announcement this week. It would be the greatest travesty if this week passes without a pronouncement on the AX matter.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son | November 1, 2012 at 2:57 PM |

You have no idea what you are talking about.

31. Imagine now Mascoll is open as consultant on a Chief Economic Advisory Panel . Bim will only be a homestead…chawww…enuff said
    I call that a better deal …..don’t know about some…but a class is class and is always in demand….more mobility n less stress…wanna tink politics is all

32. CCC

You dont know what you are talking about. The DLP is famous for eating its own.
    After the St Thomas by election, DT wrote a letter of resignation and got on a plane. Clyde Mascoll took over, helped the party win seven seats. DT wanted to come back when he felt it was time to reclaim his throne. Some backstabbers went behind Clyde’s back with a signed letter in hand to the GG, the GG rebuffed them. The elders told Mascoll resign, Mascoll refused at first. All the while DT kept in the background letting Hartley Henry and Sinckliar do the dirty work. Mascoll finally resigned to save his soul, DT reclaimed his throne. I will spare you the gory details of Kellman crying from George Street to St Lucy and of Undine Whitakker cussing DT worse than a pirate in George Street. Dont tell me I dont know of what I speak, I live here!

So sad, he did not live long to reign on his throne!

33. Prodigal Son wrote “Dont tell me I dont know of what I speak, I live here!”

Very good spin Podigal. Windies need you in Bangladesh.

34. @Prodigal Son

It is clear that Thompson ran away from a third election defeat which was inevitable given Arthur’s popularity. It was strategic. Political pundits knew Thompson was always going to return.

On 1 November 2012 22:45, Barbados Underground

35. Hello Hants,
    Hope you are well! Are coming home to vote? Freundel needs your help.

36. @Prodigal Son

Nobody in Barbados needs me or my vote.

37. An election is due in Barbados soon. 8 weeks left until the end of the year and it will be the new year. At this time of the year, it gets dark very quickly and 8 weeks will feel like 5 weeks. Thinking that it is dark too early, Freundel Stuart will continue to sleep. Here is is a man who said earlier, that he is allowing anything to disturb his night rest and that he comes from a chattel house to Illaro and he aint care bout a boy , he aint changing and that includes sleeping early and waking up late.We are dealing with the future and we are doing so by preparing now. We cannot live in the past; Now, this moment, this minute is what we will deal with and with what is before us now! What we have is the DLP who has been asleep not only the last 4years but for the last 41 years. The DLP fell asleep in 1971, Barrow took a break to recharge his batteries and the rest ia history. On the other hand we have the BLP with tried and tested leadership in Owen Arthur who is very capable of turning the country around.

Continue to sleep, Freundel Staurt.
    Sleep and dream because you are dreaming and fantasizing, Mr Stuart and then you are sleep walking.

38. It seems like the DEMS will never get over or forgive Clyde for crossing the floor after they treated him so badly, but they will sing the praises of the opportunist Hammie “I in it to see what I can get for me” Lashley aka snake in the grass.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son | November 1, 2012 at 5:34 PM |

You have a very fertile imagination.

40. @ Prodigal Son… You have got to know that it is easier….much easier to convince even BLP faithful souls that Barry Jack or Woggy had planned to make a meaningful contribution to Barbados,than it is to sell them the notion that Clyde Mascoll has any real dedication to their party.Driven to punish the DLP he committed political suicide.With all that ambition to be Prime Minister he himself positioned the relegation to nothing higher than the rubber stamp that says Govenor Of The Central Bank.Prodigal would you call that political acumen?

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

EVIL AS HELL THE LOT OF THEM

Reudon Eversley

The long dark night of the BLP has come to an end. May Barbados never see the likes of it again. By the way, I want to encourage other Barbadians who were similarly targetted by the BLP because they were Dems or were otherwise affiliated, to tell their story. Barbadians must get the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. It must no longer be kept under the carpet. So Mia Mottley is calling for justice for BLP supporters. Why didn’t she call for justice for me, when I was editor of the Advocate and was being persecuted almost on a daily basis by the BLP?

Vote for the BLP and get more of this.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The full story of how I was treated by the Barbados Labour Party has not been told but I will do so one day and Barbadians will see what an authoritarian government we had. How we were on the brink of dictatorship because when the press is attacked and bullied into submission, freedom is always in danger.

Some ill-informed Barbadians said I was too big for my boots when I reported Owen Arthur to the World Press Freedom Committee. If you do not stand up for yourself, no one else will. If they only knew what was happening to me, they would have been in full agreement. The media in Barbados were afraid of carrying the story. They apparently did not want to experience the wrath of the BLP.”

Wicked as hell the Barbados Labour Party.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“How many Barbadians know, for example, that the BLP complained to the Advocate’s management because I refused to eat their food at a media luncheon to launch their 1999 general election campaign? As a result, I was threatened with dismissal. Well, I sought legal advice and was prepared to sue the Advocate for breach of my human rights so they backed off.”

Revenge is what the Crooked Barbados Labour Party.

44. Here is a quick true story.There was once a man who lived in Nurse’s Land and used to tie his cow on the gully hill pasture every morning.While everyone milked their cows in the morning,he chose to do it when he came from work,problem was that people would beat him to it.Mad as hell he poisoned the feed,to poison the milk to poison the thief…..He poisoned the cow.An ass existed long before Clyde Mascoll.He was the brother of O O Bags.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Why would I want to eat from the BLP ? Their yardfowls used to leave the most foul messages on my voicemail, telling me they are going to get my … you know what .. out of the Advocate because I am a Dem. They could have easily poisoned me had I eaten their food and I certainly was not going to expose myself to that risk. I have my children to live for.

The BLP wanted someone else to be editor of the Advocate. I never asked why the person in question did not get the job. I knew I was chosen on the basis of my professional track record, qualifications and vision. Systems Caribbean Ltd., after interviewing a short list, recommended me for the job. And, let me say this, without blowing my trumpet, the Advocate made a dramatic turn-around under my leadership. The record is there.

I have a copy of a letter which Owen Arthur personally wrote to my chairman. I have kept it so that my grandchildren one day will see how this man tried to take bread out of my mouth. And I had done nothing wrong. He called my office one morning hopping mad. I told him I had just come in for the day and had neither pen nor paper in my hand to take notes of what he was saying. His letter, claiming I was disrespectful, said I told him I was taking no note of what he had to say. Different meaning!”

If you want more midnight nasty phone calls from Seethru, cursing you stink, stink, stink,

Then vote BLP!.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The BLP is now demanding the justice they denied others. But they are getting a good deal. A well-known BLP person was recently appointed to a senior post at a statutory corporation which the BLP had refused to give that person. That would have never happened with a Dem under a BLP government. But I will say this: David Thompson is a gentleman – has always been. He has treated them all with decency and fairness which they did not show to Dems when they were in power.

After I was forced to leave the Advocate, I could not find work in Barbados. I had to go overseas to earn a living to feed my children. I applied for a job at a government institution for which I was perfectly suited. I was invited to an interview but I was warned it was just a sham. My source told me that a certain person said I would never work in Barbados as long as the BLP was in power. I called up the HR person at the organization in question, told him to withdraw my name and keep the job because I didn’t need it as I had a better one overseas. A BLP yardfowl even saw me at a public event overseas and remarked, in front of everyone present, that the BLP had made a “refugee”. Incredible but true.”

Beware Barbados the Mini Dictator wants back in.

47. @ Prodigal Son ..Since you are the cussing police you need to submit your report from the incident at Brown Sugar Restaurant.It would tie in nicely with your defense of Clyde Mascoll,since it all came about through an attempt to find a safe seat for a new found stepney.

48. @ Carson
    The Dems are virtuous and never tried “tried to take bread out” of anybody’s mouth, yet a man was recently awarded $809 744.43 with interest at six per cent per annum and cost for two attorneys.for being dismissed in a manner the Court deemed “reprehensible in the extreme”.

49. @ Reudon Eversley…Quite a few people know of the torment thrown your way by none other than Owen Seymour Arthur.While you had every legitimate reason to attack the BLP there were times{many times} that you permitted your partisan position to dilute a perfectly strong argument.This stance might well have damaged your credibility.Now is the time for you to emerge from the shadows of anonymity,relieve yourself of the pseudonym CCC,and embark upon a Campaign of Courage and Conviction that takes you up the steps of a political platform to seek the redress that has eluded Carson for quite some time now.Put a face to your fight.With any luck Barbados may finally see the back of Owen Arthur.You,me and Mia would be real efing happy.

50. save us David!