Submitted by DLP Supporter
Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur and Clyde Mascoll Chief BLP Spokesman on economic matters

The Democratic Labour Party family and the entire country looked on in total amazement last weekend when Owen Arthur conferred the highest BLP honour, the Grantley Adams Award, on none other than Clyde Mascoll who once served as a Leader of the Opposition of our great party. What a betrayal of the name of Grantley Adams. It is no wonder that the vast majority of the rank and file of the BLP are hopping mad over this gross insult to their collective intelligence. A dismal act of betrayal of the ancestry of that party that has clearly lost its way.

Mascoll’s reply to Arthur’s 2004 budget.

“Mr. Speaker, as I sat yesterday listening to the Right Honourable Member for St. Peter, once again I became convinced that the Right Hourable Prime Minister does not have any clue as to where he wants to take this country Barbados. The Right Honourable Prime Minister has no clear vision of the kind of Barbados that he wants to leave when he exists the political stage….The Right Honourable Member for St. Peter does not speak from a deeply-held philosophical position. His positions and policies reek of political opportunism and pragmatism. His blunderings and meanderings have been masked by excellent public relations machinery…

“Mr.Speaker… He is an excellent and affable politician but as a manager, he is a monumental failure. He is reckless with spending the public’s purse and as a Leader, he is a disappointment. Sir, with two of the biggest electoral mandates in our history, he has not moved us forward as a country. He has failed to inspire us as a people…

“He has been afraid to take the tough decisions, which is the hallmark of great leaders…He is afraid to offend his benefactors. Mr. Speaker, Over the last ten years since the Right Honourable Member for St. Peter became Minister of Finance, he has raised the national debt from $2.5 billion to $4.2 billion, an increase of $1.7 billion, which is approximately $1.1 billion in domestic borrowing and $600 million in foreign loans…
“Mr. Speaker, in addition to that magnitude of borrowed funds, this Minister, the Right Honourable Prime Minister, had an additional $900 million more in taxes in one fiscal year, than the last Democratic Labour Party Finance Minister. Mr. Speaker, that would have given the Minister, the Right Honourable Prime Ministet, $3.5 billion more at his disposal, than the Demicratic Labour Party would have had in 1994. Sir, the national debt is not just an amorphous figure that we conjure up. It is money that our children and grandchildren would have to repay. We are mortgaging our children’s future. It is debt that could be a noose around our necks. It is a debt that if allowed to go unchecked, may signal a return of the International Monetary Fund…

“Mr. Speaker, if there is so much liquidity in the banking system, why is it that our private sector was not able to borrow funds from the commercial banks and put into a venture like the Hilton Hotel? Why is it that it is costing the Government almost $190 million in the rebuilding of the Hilton Hotel? …This Government has continued to spend recklessly. This Government owes the people of Barbados explanations for a lot of wastage. This Government needs to tell Barbadians why they are no better off ten years later, in spite of increased national debt, in spite of increased taxes, in spite of more than $3.5 billion in debt…

“Mr. Speaker, the thing about it is that this Prime Minister is a catastrophic failure, when you look at the fact he had more resources than any other Prime Minister in the history of Barbados. The Prime Minister has, in fact, not made good use of the resources available to him and when you look at the social state in Barbados, the decline in the ability to get housing, the decline in the health care delivery, the educational system, the transportation system, you have only to conclude that this Government has wasted the resources of this administration.”

This is the same Clyde Mascoll that Owen now seeks to honour. What a shame. It is a political deception of the highest order. But the same way how Mascoll’s words were meant to warn the Barbadian voter in 2004, they remain true in again warning all voters today. Pay attention to the gospel according to Clyde.

Thank you Clyde for unmasking the real Owen Arthur.

1. Most of the comments heard on the street are that Owen trying to trick people. This over confidant attitude is now taken over with gloom that it is looking like another five years in opposition.
    So much so that not only is miller back tracking but onions and prodigal swiping wild like blind elder.

The discredited second hand leader was send out today to try and counteract the devastating blow that Owen gave the BLP.
    Good thing she did not leave because a lot of BLP candidates depending on her to get them back in parliament. I hope she bowl people like Toppin, Clarke, Payne and Marshall the Dosra.

2. Poor you,

It is now better to try something else. We were lied to, promised the world in 100 days and look what we got! have you no shame, how could you come to the people for another term when you have failed so miserably.

Your policies certainly have not worked, have they? With unemployment nearly 13%, do you really expect Barbadians to go down the same path as they went blindly with you wild boys?

It is time to change course, right now we are going off the cliff with sharp jagged rocks at the bottom. The lies and tricks the dead king played in 2008 will not work this time, we are on to you! Is playing politics the nasty way, the only way the DLP knows?

I pity you!

3. I think Barbados has set a Guinness book record. We were going over the cliff for the past four years. This must be the longest cliff to fall over in the world.

4. Prodigal,

Only you and Owen trying to fool Bajans.

In 2008 Owen stepped down as BLP leader, saying he had a good run.
    In 2009 October Owen curses Mia in public,saying her morals are poor.

In 2010 October he stabs Mia in her back and take over the BLP leadership.

In 2012 October he says Mia and he are the “best friends” (obviously if Owen is telling the truth then Mia agrees with what Owen told Barbadians about her in October 2009)

Whom fooling who…..NOW ?

5. clone,
    Could you please ask around George Street when will I be able to get my tax refund? Please ask if it would be before Christmas? I was accustomed to getting my refund in July/August but since you wild boys came in, heaven help us. I would really like an answer!

6. clone,
    I think you who live in a glass house should tread gently when talking about “fractions” in the BLP. The DLP has been a party in turmoil since 1987. David Thompson patched it together to fool Barbadians to vote for the DLP in 2008.

Do you remember when Cammie Tudor told the DLP MP’s to gather at the MOE and unbeknownst to them he took Sandi to the GG and Sandi became PM?

Do you remember that that action nearly break up the DLP?

Do you remember when Richie took four DLP MP’s and formed the NDP with lots of DLP members joining him?

Do you remember after 1994 when DT took over?

Do you remember when DT resigned and walked away?

Do you remember when DT came back and the big fight that broke out in the DLP between Fumble and DT when DT challenged him for the presidency?

Do you remember the stinging 17 point indictment Fumble put out against DT?

Do you remember the fight to wrestle the post of leader of the opposition from Clyde Mascoll?

Do you remember the famous letter which DLP MP’s signed without reading which Chris Sinkliar and Hartley Henry took to the GG to remove Clyde Mascoll?

Do you remember the mass exodus of DLP members during this time when DT was practicing his blood sports?

Do you remember how 11 members sat down in cabinet next to a PM and then got up and plotted against him?

Do you remember the frantic five?

Now who’s fooling whom about party unity? That is the story of your party not the BLP.

7. Even you , Miller and Onions beginning to see the noose tightening around Owen’s neck.
    What is it with you DLP jokers doa…..my name sounds good right?…..It don’t making much more sense spending time in here when ..like today ..could do some good canvassing….. Loa and bestill…. DLP jokes I come back to find…not good….Have you all not yet realize its all OVER?….Everywhere I went …the questions was ” When Stuart calling D elections?”…ask the wiser amongst you what that meant….. Fellas keep taking…..

8. @ clone
    So much so that not only is miller back tracking but onions and prodigal swiping wild like blind elder.
    when it all over….I really want a Good laugh AT YOU…..Blind ?he hehe….better to be blind than walkin bout SLEEPING…

9. @ Carson/Reudon

I’m sorry to hear about your tale but I cannot judge the truth or falsity of it. I guess we must take your word for it. But at the end of the day, what comes across in your posts is an extreme bitterness and hate which does not serve your cause.

As a former journalist you ought to come across as balanced instead of unhinged.

Neither party is guiltless in how they deal with people they consider their enemies. Ever heard of the guy called Stokes who was an investigative journalist whose body was found jammed in a tree in the Belle in the early 1970s?

In recent times there have been horror stories about people who have lost their jobs allegedly because of their perceived affiliation with the BLP.

Again, as in your case, we would have to take their word for it.

10. My point is that both political parties have skeletons in their closets, but they are the only choices we have. Our responsibility to to sieve and to weigh, and make our judgement as to which party is the better choice at the moment in time.

And don’t come talking about a third party unless you are willing to be its founder(s). This applies to all those who come up with that stock response whenever the not so nice side of our political system is revealed.

11. Hi Onions,
    Owen in opposition now.
    I remember just before he was VOTED out office….he admitted he had illegal immigrants working at private residence (in essence he broke the law)

Now in 2012 Owen Arthur tell Barbadians that he will re institute tax allowances- that the Law says are illegal (that the law abbiding gov,t rightly stopped)

Owen Arthur is just a FRAUD ( he believes in illegal transactions)

Here are 2 examples Prodigal

1. Changing ZONE 1 land to ZONE 2 to help out his friends DAVID SHOREY.

2. Depositing a $ 750,000.00 cheque in his personal bank account – which was intended for other parties.

So here is the question – why bring back a FRAUD in Owen Arthur ?

12. SO MUCH shite by so many uninformed

13. Bajans voted a Government out of Office in 2008 because they wanted change
    The Government was doing well yuh know
    Unemployment was down to the lowest, froeign Reserves at the highest. Everybody had money in their pockets. The electorate voted fora change and they got change. We are now worst off than ever under the DLP with no sign of the DLP being able to rescue the country.
    But in all of this one commenter carrying the aalias “what a mystery” above can call Owen a Fraud ?
    I keep saying that you all seem to want somebody without sin to run a Government. If a Prime Minister and his Government can do the job that is all we ask for.

I am sure that none of you would want your boss to come to your house to see how wunna does treat wunna spouse. I thas nothing to do with him/her, it is your business and as long as you do the job that you are supposed to do, everything is ok with you and the boss. Some of the commenters on these blogs display a attitude of tribalism as Barrow used to refer to
    Some o wunna too bias though !

14. Just Asking,
    I ask again why bring back Owen Arthur the FRAUD ?

He promised to take Barbados to Republican status in 1999 – he even had John King compose a Republican song.

2012…..Where are we now ? Owen now promising to change the Constitition ? To make himself President for LIFE ?
    He promised GREENLAND would receive garbage by year 2000 – he left office in January 2008 – not even a plastic bag of garbage was received at GREENLAND.

The man is a PARRO politician – allowing his arch enemy Peter Wickham to set him up – win which general election ?

You believe the DEMS easy ???

15. you blp yardfowls clueless money in the pocket money that money was borrowed now everybody got to pay back dem that had in the pocket and them dat had not. voodoo economics and the people fell for it! neveragain.

16. Just asking
    You believe that Bajans got really short memory but I am not one of them.
    In 2006 -2007 things were getting tight so where were people having this lot of money in their pockets.

David Thompson saw the opportunity where Bajans were under pressure from the cost of living and spoke about lowering the cost of living. That was something he had no control over to lower.

School children were not going to school every week and that allowed him to introduce free bus fares.

Just asking I would bet that more SUVs and pick up trucks were sold between 2008 and 2012 than between 2000- 2007.

If things are that bad where is that money coming from.

Bajans are just living their lives and will reelect the government shortly.
    I recognized that you are getting scared because you did not end with your 29-1 victory sign

17. @Clone
    “David Thompson saw the opportunity where Bajans were under pressure from the cost of living and spoke about lowering the cost of living. That was something he had no control over to lower.”

So why did you give the electorate and lending agencies the impression that you had control over it?

PM Thompson’s address to the Thirty-Eighth Annual Meeting of the Board of Governors of CDB in 2008:

While there was some reduction in the rate of inflation to 4.1% at the end of 2007, the high cost of living remains top priority for Government and in this regard measures are being taken both at the domestic and regional levels to address this issue.

18. OSA declaress his A>>>>>SSS calls on others to do so. HA! HA! HA!

19. @ac

You personal attacks on Arthur has become boring. Yes he like all of us is imperfect, to blame him for all the ills which befalls Barbados is simply pushing your head in the sand and detracting from your credibility.

On 5 November 2012 10:29, Barbados Underground

20. OOPS my bad now pray tell me with a draft bill for FOI sitting some where parliament since 2008 why hasn.t OSA much effortto seeing that bill passed instead trying to pass himself off as an advocate for FOI in drama style . hey this is politics declare what assests BLAH, BLAH ! BLAH!

21. @ac
    Comin from a dumbo like you… who knows nothing about CIVICS….( sounding like that fool on VOB right now)….that aint beyond your pea brained intellect….LOL ELECTIONS BELL go fix that..too

22. Onions HAK HA!

23. Onions HA HA!

24. @ac ..Don’t speak to me..
    You and the rest of the BU Pterosaurs …launched your futile and most asinine attack on my week end thread….”Citizen Choices”….HAK HA.yourself!…only for the pea brained army of Ms.unintelligible and Mr.nauseating and Mr.Pineapple Dribble to be the subject of a last laugh….Serve you all right…..ass-heads all!

25. after fourteen years of vodoo economics under the OSA and the BLP which gave bajans a false sense of security of putting money in their pockets which was borrowed bajans have found themselves on the ropes in these hard economic times with having to repay the “socalled instant wealth” what a shame now the BLP is trying another gimmick of telling barbadians that they can replay the good old days with another high wire dance called PRIVATISATION in the disguise of trickle down economics.

26. I had the opportunity to listen to Mr Stuart’s discussion on the trickle down theory in economics and also to hear the real economist Mr Arthur addressing a constituency group in Christ Church , both on Sunday last . It came through to me that even in the field of economics Mr Stuart was able to demonstrate a better grasp of economic theory , greater clarity of thought and a far more superior delivery style than the economics guru who nowadays, is given to ranting , raving and loose talk . The feeling came across that Mr Arthur has really lost it .

27. Now you see OSA is trying every trick in in his hat first PRIVITUISATION then when the onslaught against such he backtracks now as a lifeline he tries “declaring assets” forgetting that he as an economist highly praised and tiouted by his party still must tell the public how the BLP going to give freebies and bring down the defecit using trickle down economics which only help the wealthy and deprives the poor it is time OSA throw out that old bag of tricks and find new ways for fixing the economic mess

28. @ Constituent
    Giving all the lucrative house building contracts to one BIG company and now the $12m concrete storage tanks is surely not trickle up economics!!

29. I must mention which I bought every one of the of the materials during the dollar
    store, except my fish. you need any past times or damage cloth lampshade since the base for
    this plan to save money. And, of course, this particular sharpener is actually not too expensive and also it comes down through a great
    warranty. The cup is created out of translucent plastic so youll manage
    to see when the getting full. When youve tried the little handheld ones but found that youre longing for something
    a bit fancier, youll hope to check out at the Swingline Optima Electric Pencil Sharpener.

Confirm it out to determine when this will be the sharpener that is appropriate for
    your very own needs. As part of fact, I recently wrote
    wanting bigger savings through school supplies and also not being frightened to walk back out the
    door whenever the store does not offer up the awesome deals they advertise.
    This looks and acts similar to a pen it is actually a rectification tape which is actually about a
    powerful inch long you simply put over the error.

30. I read this post completely concerning the comparison of
    newest and previous technologies, it’s awesome article.

31. peut trouverRalph Lauren sur divers magasins autour Le monde.
    Une fois vousn’est pas se sententcomme laissant le confort de votre logements acheter nouveauvêtements, vous êteslibre de check outnotre sites internetet vous allez visiteRalph Lauren collection; vous pourriez également faire certains achète ici. Ralph Lauren du spectateur et Style de folle Plaid sont juste plusieursde nombrelignes de vêtements que vous pouvez choisissez. Diagnosticquelque chose qui sera monter votre Optionsest complètement réalisables car il y plein delignes que serez idéal pour stature physiqueet mode de vie. Ralph Lauren est prêt àvous habiller avec leurs innombrablesligne de vêtements, quelque votre personnalitéest. avail nos dernières traite, check out site internet immédiatementet la première personne à découvrez.