Senator Santia Bradshaw and CEO of  Pyramid, Barbados Labour Party candidate for St. Michael South East

It has been drawn to BU’s attention that several companies which Senator Santia Bradshaw has significant interest have benefited in the hundreds of thousands from the Enterprise Growth Fund (EGFL). EGFL is a government agency which manages several funds to ‘assist with financing through tooling and retooling and expansion of businesses in the productive sectors’.

Based on the documents attached Pyramid Entertainment Management Inc  received what is described as a cumulative grant in 2011 of $450,000.00, Got Rythmn Inc received $146,000 in 2010 and Entertainment Network $51, 857.00.

In summary three Santia Bradshaw companies received $647,857 from the EGFL over a relatively short time period.

This is a government agency which is funded by the taxpayers of Barbados therefore BU deems our forage into the financial transactions mentioned as a matter of public interest. We want to know the basis for advancing greater than six hundred thousand dollars to the goodly Senator. The taxpayers want to know!

Relevant Links:

158 responses to “Senator Santia Bradshaw Companies Rake in $647,857 From Enterprise Growth Fund”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I wonder who dragged you kicking and screaming and made you pen this article.

This information has been knocking around FACEBOOK for a while now.

This smells like the Augean Stables.

2. wow!! Now I qould say this.the BLP Operates in government doing alot of foolishness to make the DLP look bad ………the turth will be told…………..

3. Is there any implication that Ms. Bradshaw did something wrong? From the documentation presented, I can only infer that she made application to the EGF and having been assessed by the competent agency within that institution, her projects were deemed worthy of support. It appears that these grants were made under the current DLP administration.

Given the role of the EGF, the grants seem in order in the absence of evidence that Ms. Bradshaw was able to exert undue influence on the decision making process; which hardly seems likely.

Will we also know the basis for advancing funds to all the companies on the list? I note for example that Caribbean Media Corporation got grants totaling $620,000 and Banks Holdings got grant amounting to $1,159,479. These are both publicly traded companies or subsidiaries of public companies.

Public interest would require that we also inquire into the basis for these large grants to public companies. If we do not also pursue these questions then it would appear that we are on a smear campaign against Ms. Bradshaw.

And let it be clear, if Ms. Bradshaw has done anything wrong, she must face the consequences; but it seems unfair for her to be pilloried for seeking finance to develop her businesses.

4. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan
    It may well be on Facebook but I have not seen it and am very glad it has been posted here for all to see.
    There may well be good reason why the lady in question has been the subject of such Government largesse. If there is, then this gives the opportunity for those in the know to contribute that information to this post, and for us in the general (voting and tax-paying) public to understand those reasons.
    If you are in the political sphere you need to be alert to the fact that questions may be asked about potential conflicts, undue influence being applied or favours being accepted. You need ready answers to any questions and evidence that you followed process and procedure, that no rules were bent for you; and that no influence was brought to bear.
    Ms Bradshaw looks like an intelligent and self-possessed woman and I look forward to her putting her side of the case on this Blog.

5. And, Carson, it is your administration that would have to explain why it saw it fit to grant (not even lend) her the money. Not so??

6. David why are you only questioning amounts paid to commpanies connected to Miss.Santia Bradshaw.

Dont you think the public needs to know why the following amounts were also paid during the same financial period as well.

Art & Stage Inc. $ 136,097.00
    B.A.G. Consulting 60.000.00
    Banks Holdings Inc. 1,159,479.00
    BIDC 763,000.00
    Invest Barbados 12,344,241.00
    Tropical Blooms 60,000.00

I think this is a very low blow by BU.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DavidB

I know of instances people who have tried to to get funding from this agency, the amounts were tiny in comparison with the amounts disbursed and they have been turned down flat.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I want you all to know that all of these agencies are infested with Barbados Labour Party operatives. Fourteen years of appointments to agencies of political hangers on is difficult to undo in a mere four years.

9. @Patenham

If it is one thing BU CANNOT be accused of is asking questions. In this case we have asked questions of Senator Bradshaw because she is a public figure seeking office to parliament with the likelihood of making up the next government. You can feel free to ask all other questions you want it does not change the right for us to know the circumstances her companies got 640 thousand dollars from EGFL. The reasons the other companies got monies may well be of public interest but for the moment we will start with Bradshaw.

10. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Once again there seems a complete lack of accountability. Its a bit like the TIRF (Tourism Industry Relief Fund) where MILLIONS of taxpayers monies are paid over to protect employment. Months later the businesses close and over 630 people are out of work.
    Meanwhile, small businesses like ours, who pay all their bills, do not apply for taxpayers monies/subsidies/grants are kept waiting over TWO YEARS for VAT refunds.
    BTA staff walk-off the job yesterday, apparently due to a sick building but there is still enough money around to fund a new luxury Audi SUV.

11. David i understand the point you have made but Santia is not only public figure but an opposition Senator.

Do you think government would advance these funds unless all criteria was met.

12. @patenham

It does not matter if she is an opposition Senator, it does not matter whether she qualified based on a non disclosed criteria. What matters is the public has a right to ask questions if the optics do not look right.

13. Me thinks the HEADING of the article needs to be changed from “SSB . rakes in $647,857 from EGF.” ….to “SSB applied for Loans for various companies from EGF and was successful ” As a promotional lawyer,part of Ms. Bradshaw job is to apply for loans FOR MANY COMPANIES for clients….its her job ……BIG DIFFERENCE don’t you think…… why the sensational journalism now?… that is quick to excited the Carson kind. If Ms. Bradshaw made these applications to EGF ( along with many others)….and these amounts ..$647,857 were acquired monies thru false documentation or bias…then bring proof BU …so Carson and like could cool down..before doing another Kentish.

14. @David

Then why not ask EGFL to declare basis on which all grants have been made.
    That would be fair.

15. @Onions

Do you mean like how politicians got loans APPROVED by the Barbados Developoment Bank which crippled it? Or the two million which Hardwood was able to get APPROVED by EGFL?

16. @Penteham

A story will always have many angles. You are correct BU selected one.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

“Me thinks the HEADING of the article needs to be changed from “SSB . rakes in $647,857 from EGF.” ….to “SSB applied for Loans for various companies from EGF and was successful ””

Of course you would like that as it would make it easier for you. The problem will always be for your Barbados Labour Party that when its members are involved with HUGE sums of TAXPAYERS MONEY Bajans attenae will always rise whether you like it or not.

I saw plenty people on FACEBOOK asking questions about these transactions. There is unease out there. So Bajans have a right to ask questions and now you rush on the blogs to try to shut them up. Dont ask any questions, just vote BLP, is that it?

WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT BAJANS DONT TRUST THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY with their tax dollars.

Your track record is poor. Bajans have a right to ask questions!!

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

……and especially since your Barbados Labour Party left so many “fifth coulumnists” in place in the Government service.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

which officer it was who approved this free money?

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 26, 2012 at 7:52 AM |
    “……and especially since your Barbados Labour Party left so many “fifth coulumnists” in place in the Government service.”

You mean like the one that “stole” the FBI report and the CLICO forensic audit report from the PM?
    If you know who these BLP operatives are why not fire them or transfer them to those ineffectual departments and agencies to ‘neutralise’ their efforts to undermine your moribund administration?

We know what will be done with the likes of you come February next year.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:

Aren’t you being a bit hard on Santia Bradshaw in this instance?
    She is an Opposition Senator but this matter of grant funding is in the realm of her private business enterprises. She has no fiduciary responsibility to the public or tax payers on this one.

The Minister of Finance under whose portfolio the EGFL falls is the person to provide justification for making these grants. Ms Bradshaw is the applicant and recipient not the approver and grantor.
    The EGFL has a Board appointed by the Minister. No grants can be disbursed without the blessings of the Board and by extension that of the Minister.

Ms Bradshaw acting on behalf of the grantee businesses must have satisfied the necessary criteria to have received the grants.

I am still not convinced that these grants were awarded during the present regime’s turn at the financial wheel.
    What about the $12. 3 million disbursed to Invest Barbados? What was this for? To cover salaries and rental of expensive offices? When were these funds disbursed?

Who will be called to explain and justify the other grants? Certainly not Santia! Invest Barbados and Banks Holdings Ltd whose CEO was once the Chairman or sat on the Board of the EGFL?
    Let the Minister or the Chair of EGFL exercise their fiduciary responsibilities and explain why these grants (not loans) were awarded.

22. @Miller

BU does NOT care where the explanation comes from.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnakiIneitherBnorD)

Let me see if I have it right, no one is supposed to ask any questions about anything in Barbados unless your Barbados Labour Party give them permission to do so.

Did I hit the nail on the head?

All Bajans are doing are asking questions, I thought that was there right?

What are you all so afraid of?

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnakiI(neitherBnorD)

“The EGFL has a Board appointed by the Minister. No grants can be disbursed without the blessings of the Board ”

What is the name of the Officer who recommended to Board that this free money be given?

What are the names of the Members of the Board who gives away free cash?

When are you applying for your gratis money?

Just asking questions, so dont blow a gasket, ok?

25. I am not one to complain when information that should be freely available in a democratic society reach us in a surreptitious manner. It only demonstrates the need for FOI legislation. Presently, I have in my possession a copy of a letter written by PM Thompson, on the PM’s letterhead, to LIAT asking them not to withdraw the staff pension fund from CLICO, and promising a Government guarantee if necessary. You don’t think that such information would reach lowly me unless it blew off a truck. Incidentally, I was not able to discern the license plate of the truck: all I can tell you is that it was big and blue.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 26, 2012 at 10:03 AM

CCC, hold your horses, man! The BLP is not yet back in power. A few more weeks and you will be back in 7th heaven cussing and condemning blaming them for every wrong that took place between 1994-2012.

The present DLP administration, according to you and others, disbursed these grants to businesses in which the Senator is involved.
    Do you expect Bajans to receive ‘honest’ responses to their right to queries on this matter from a member of the party you perpetually describe and vilify as the blasted lying party?

According to you the BLP and its operatives including the one you placed there at the EGFL will not tell you the truth but only lies?

So Bajans should direct their questions to those elected to bring ‘integrity and fairness’ to public life.
    Or is this what you like to hear but not see put into practice: “I will Not Lie, Cheat or Steal!”

Just remember a blown gasket can be replaced. But the replacement of your brain is irrefutable if not totally impossible.

27. dem does call it good old bajan teefing..dem can not help it it in dem culture.
    wonder if an blow jo__ were needed for these so called loans.
    oh well who caress it is just he peasant taxpayers money.
    who cares about them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

28. again i ask tell me a country run by blacks that is not badly run and corrupt.
    got any on the tip of your tongues,??????????

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“again i ask tell me a country run by blacks that is not badly run and corrupt.”

Is that the reason for the Barbados Labour Party hiring a WHITE campaign Manager?

The Barbados Labour Party dont believe that voters would trust them otherwise, so they are using tricks now. Also we are being told that “there is only one leader” and “the party united” and all the other nice LIES!!

30. @ Caswell Franklyn

“I am not one to complain when information that should be freely available in a democratic society reach us in a surreptitious manner.”
    =======================

But the information was and is readily available to the public. The financial report of the EGF is a public document and anyone can obtain the referenced corporate documents from the Corporate Affairs Office by paying a small fee. So, I don’t think anything was hidden that had to “reach us in a surreptitious manner.”

There is far less intrigue here that the participants of the blog, including the originator of the story, like to induce themselves into believing.

And, Carson, it is still your administration and they have to take responsibility for anything done on their watch. No excuses about “fifth columns” are acceptable.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DavidB

I see we have a prison costing 700 million or billion or whatever, yet the man at the top of your then Government said that he didnt approve it .

32. @DavidB

Because it is public does it pre-empt the need to ask questions? Is that it?

33. Now the former PM’s letter to LIAT was obtained surreptitiously. Hallelujah to that!

We need to distinguish between information that is available to the public and information that needs to be ferreted out.

We do need a Freedom of Information Act to strengthen the hands of citizens and the Press in their quest to make politicians on both sides more accountable.

The current opposition is making hay with the revelations about the government’s misdeeds, as well they should. But I can bet you that once in power, they will be just as cagey with the information that the public ought to have access to.

34. David | October 26, 2012 at 2:12 PM |

@DavidB
    Because it is public does it pre-empt the need to ask questions? Is that it?
    ================

Absolutely not!!

But pretending that somebody was hiding something and that it had to fall off the back of a truck adds unneeded drama.

My take is this: If the grants were obtained through the appropriate channels and met the criteria, it does not matter who gets them, so long as the information is there for the public to see. In this case the information was there for the public to see.

Now, if we have a suspicion that political influence was exerted for Ms. Bradshaw to obtain the financing, that would be fair game. Other than that she should face the same scrutiny as all the other grantees.

It seems very tainted (if true) that a company controlled by a former EGF Chairman obtained the largest grant to a private sector company. Should that apparent conflict of interest not bother us more?

35. David. This is what you call “cheap” politics. Are these loans in arrears, thus your reason to be sensational? Why not deal with Banks Holdings with successful businesses and Fund Access who never show a financial report with all the monies received, but just duplicating operations with BIDC. Will EGFL be repaid loans by these large entities including BIDC? Yes. we are rapidly entering the silly season, but please reduce offensive stories without basis.

36. Sorry!!!!! I meant Invest Barbados and not Fund Access.

37. Why do you guys have to be so defensive on this issue? Here it is again. BU wants to know the basis for disbursing six hundred thousand plus to Senator Bradshaw’s companies. For those who want to ask questions about the other companies and the criteria for disbursement by EGFL please do. BU has an interest in the matter how we have raised this matter. If we want things to change in Barbados we have to get use to asking the hard questions. More to come.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What was done with the money?

39. @ Carson

The prison ain’t cost no $700 million.

Do you add the interest cost on a mortgage to the cost of a house? That is the scam that the Central Bank Governor tried to pull, but it only worked on DLP partisans who want to believe the worst.

If you follow my posts carefully, you will see that while I have a preference, I try to be fair.

If Owen disavowed responsibility for any decision made by the Cabinet of Barbados while he was Prime Minister, then he ought to be held accountable for that.

But I do recall him saying in Parliament in 2008 that any problems found with regard to his administration should be blamed on him because that is where the buck stopped.

40. It is my belief that a lot of the money that finds its way to the EGFL originates from the National Insurance Scheme. You see the EGFL is seen as an investment arm of the Gov and as such can attract the attention of the NIS decision makers. In actuality the EGFL is a middle man for the “off budget” financing the both admins are guilty of. This kind of trickery however is mere for public consumption as international agencies such as the World Bank are not glamored by this (one of BU contributors was from the World Bank, forgot his handle, but he is now in the Bahamas with his own blog)

41. @ David

“If we want things to change in Barbados we have to get use to asking the hard questions. More to come.”
    =================================

But failing to ask the most glaring questions that ought to be asked with regard to the documentation that you offered in support of the story is what has me puzzled.

Are there to be no hard questions about Banks Holdings especially, but also CMC?

Does this apparent corporate welfare to rich and established companies seem proper?

Does it not matter that a company run by a former EGF chairman was one of the main beneficiaries of this largesse?

What circumstances could possibly justify grants to these big companies rather than loans?

Is this not just giving money to their shareholder?

If these grants were made during either the BLP or DLP administration, I do not care. The questions remain valid.

If the Bradshaw grants happened under the BLP that would also raise the bar and require a good explanation to satisfy me. They would need to show that the proper rules were followed and that there was no under political influence.

Sometimes, we are so engaged in our crusades that we fail to see what is before our very eyes. David, I think that, unfortunately, you fell into that trap in this case.

By all means, ask the hard questions, but ask ALL the hard questions; including the ones that are virtually jucking out our eyes for attention.

42. I meant “no undue political influence.”

43. DavidB

I agree. How the hell does Banks Holdings qualify for a grant of any kind, not once but twice …? Wah, they are installing wheel chair elevators …?

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DavidB | October 26, 2012 at 4:00 PM |

I support your line of reasoning. If David Bu was to dig a bit deeper he might just stumble across some very interesting ‘facts’ / information.
    First it might be established that those grants were made in timeframe that would put a lie to Senator Maxine McClean’s claim that the DLP is generous kind and sympathetic to all business proposals whether or not they come from BLP supporters.

Second it would uncover much corruption involving the use of taxpayers’ money/NIS contributions. Another sink hole to drain away the people’s money for corporate support for political party funding and the corrupt politicians’ personal aggrandizement.

Imagine granting public money to a commercial entity owned by foreign shareholders?

45. Tell me one country that is run by white people that is not corrupt,has no crime,prostitution,politicians and the people who do not participate in bribe taking and all the people live moral lives
    White run countries are the most corrupt with a bunch of maniacs who love to kill,bomb and maim
    The two major world wars were European inspired wars

46. Negro I ain’ hear from you fah a long time bro … Good to see you still livin’ ….

47. Here is a question to illustrate BU’s position. The books of CLiCO and several companies in Barbados were scoped by reputable external auditors yet the integrity of the balance sheet and specifically the asset registers can be questioned. Usually the average Joe Citizen does not question the external auditor. This thinking has to change. Yes BU tagged Senator Bradshaw to make a point ie. if you are running for public office your business must be an open book. In the process of questioning the Senator it does not stop us from querying other matters we feel pertinent.

48. But why the need for an external auditor who has to be paid in US money (500,000 US per month)?

49. @BABFP

Isn’t it a regulatory and compliance requirement?