BU Talkback:Nation Letter Sent to Prime Minister Stuart

150 responses to “BU Talkback:Nation Letter Sent to Prime Minister Stuart”
-
David wrote, “there is no reason why the PM and his salvo at the Nation should not have occupied the front page yesterday.”
The Nation is consistent in its mediocrity and partisanship.
-
@ ac | October 16, 2012 at 6:20 AM |
Here we have a permanent political pimp in the form of โacโ demanding that a person she perpetually describes as a liar and corrupt incompetent deceitful crooked politician tell the truth.
What you should be querying is why your party leader who claims to be the quintessential Mr. Integrity would want to associate and socialize with a man of such ill-repute according to acโs charge sheet. Donโt you find it passing strange that a man of FSโs falsely promoted squeaky clean character who denuded OSA in Parliament would want to make up and cosy up with such an immorally naked political prostitute?What does such social interaction say about Freundel? We all know his personally acclaimed title of Mr. Clean is because he was asleep all the time, never making decisions and never in charge of a ministry to award large contracts to friends. There was no time or opportunity to be exposed to the winds of corruption except in the $600,000 Ax arrangement. Yet he keeps known people tarnished with the corruption brush in his cabinet and on his advisory committee.
But to your credit, โacโ, there could be some truth to matter of the Freundel/OSA rendezvous to shaft the Nation. Because if Freundel could continue to be a close friend of Leroy P the leper then associating with OSA outside of Constitutional requirements would be like two little boys in the play park after an earlier little bust up.
Freundel has no compunction about sipping with the devil and selling his political soul in order to save his electoral skin.There is no honour among thieves and liars aka politicians.
-
If it is true that the conditions attached to the US $33M loan commit the government to “comprehensive reform” of the civil service, then that is what the civil servants should be worried about.
It’s deeds, not talk, that matter.
-
Sorry david ( notBU) but is not my credibilty and integrity at stake but OSA and as one seeking the highest OFFICE he should dispel or confront such a story . not look good going into an election.
-
@ miller ……………………….WELL!
-
@ ac | October 16, 2012 at 9:27 AM |
There you go again, ac, speaking from both orifices at the same time.
According to you OSA lost all credibility and integrity during his 14 years in office. Why are you asking the man to defend something that does not exist (in your estimation)?It is Freundel that has to bring evidence that such a meeting or conversation took place. He is the one with the assumed integrity and credibility. He is good at recording things either by tape or hidden video camera.
This is an excellent opportunity for him to prove he is good at securing things unlike the lost FBI report and the stolen CLICO forensic report. Can we expect the Ax report to disappear or be stolen by a BLP scapegoat operative?
When he presents the Integrity legislation to Parliament and it is passed and proclaimed before the dissolution of this Parliament we will then say he is a man of integrity and credibility. Making statements to the IPI of looking into matters of amending the laws on defamation will not do it this time.
-
Sources/tell me that the RT hon was on afishing expedition for the nation to get a quick and more controversial response from PM hence there are the the repeated phone calls by him and when that did not materalise his last resort was to confront the PM with the outrageous comment expecting the kind of response that would generate negatively towards the PM and give the Nation another heads up with a fiery headline. unfortunately OSA has been left holding the bag
-
@ DENZIL
“I dont know why Bajans believe Owen will not be sending home 10,000 civil servants. He must and he will and he is lying about it but whats new.”
What about this government? Read here:
http://idbdocs.iadb.org/wsdocs/getdocument.aspx?docnum=36818134Para 3.4 and 3.6(i) are tres interesting.
-
I have avoided any discussion with respect to the Nation Publishing company because I do not understand them.
ย
Having seen the copy of the letter, I am still at a loss as to how to rate the Nation Publishing Company or the Nation Newspaper. My first point is that an invitation of this kind cannot start and end with a letter.ย There must first be some direct contact and discussion with respect to time, place, format etc. Having received buyin from the parties, you write the formal letter of invitation.
ย
Proper manners and protocol would dictate that a letter of invitation from a serious organization to a Leader of a political party (far less a Prime Minister)should come from the Head of the Organization – signed by the Head of the organization.
ย
I would be charitable enough to suggest that the Nation’s personnel either know no better OR believe that manners and protocol are too old fashioned.
ย -
@ Enuff | October 16, 2012 at 3:52 PM |
The link to the IADB loan application document is proof positive that the government under whichever party MUST privatize, (divest to appease ac) or even close down a few statutory bodies. Many NGOโs in receipt of subvention from the Government would also be under severe pressure to seek private funding sources or close their doors.
The DLP must come clean on this one. This document reinforces the argument that the PMโs hands are being forced in the timing of elections by requisite fiscal revamping that must take place rather soon before loan proceeds can be released.
We can therefore expect general elections before the new year thereby leaving the dirty decisions for the BLP or with the DLP carrying them out under a renewed mandate on the basis that is what the people voted for.
-
wunna blp yardfowls trying sooooohard to make up ground after the smack down OSA got on sunday nite by PM STUART, HOW Embarrasing and what worst he was left holding the bag, still awaiting for denial or confirmation from the RT HON.
-
When is drawdown fo this IDB loan?
-
miller why don’t you stop yuh propagandising under the BLP the out and out PLAN is to SELL the properties the DLP had said in the Budget that they will divest by opening to the public sale of 30% of govt shares in GAIA and the Port authority not what OSA has planned the BLP ought to stop trying to FOOL the public.
-
The
first operation for US$33 million dollars4will be disbursed in a single tranche,subject to the provision by the authorities of evidence of compliance with specificpolicy measures that support the achievement of the programme objectives. The other two operations will tentatively total US$150 million4 The government and the Bank are exploring options to increase this first operation to US$50 million.
Basically as the ink drying the money can be transfered
-
So the BNB has been “divested” and not sold since Government and the NIS still have shares in it? Shares this DLP administration plans to “divest” totally thus making it an outright sale aka “privatization”.
We see you are crawling like the tortoise to the Privatization finishing line.
You started out totally against any privatization oops divestment of the GAIA and Port INC on national security grounds and because OSA says he plans to divest. Now you have reached to the 30% divestment landmark after reading what Sinckliar says he plans to do. What next? Waiting on the DLP (not Sinckliar since he will not be MoF if there is a next DLP government under Stuart) to announce a 70 % divestment or even do like a fiscal paro and sell all 100%? -
@Miller
So far the argument for privatization is not coherent.
-
@ millertheanunnaki | October 16, 2012 at 8:37 PM |
Meant for ac | October 16, 2012 at 8:16 PM |
-
@ David | October 16, 2012 at 8:38 PM |
“@Miller: So far the argument for privatization is not coherent.”There is no argument to be made for privatization.. The decision has already been made for us. Just a matter of implementation by whoever is in the hot seat. We have ceded our fiscal governance and the economy is in free fall. The only parachute available has the logo “Privatization” printed right around it.
-
@Miller
We have a social partnership, this is the time for that group to step up to the plate instead of Cedric Murrell muttering the irrelevant comment like the public service is looking for a raise.
-
miller @ ac
We see you are crawling like the tortoise to the Privatization finishing line.
You started out totally against any privatization oops divestment of the GAIA and Port INC on national security grounds and because OSA says he plans to divest. Now you have reached to the 30% divestment landmark after reading what Sinckliar says he plans to do. What next? Waiting on the DLP (not Sinckliar since he will not be MoF if there is a next DLP government under Stuart) to announce a 70 % divestment or even do like a fiscal paro and sell all 100%?ac @ miller
the above comment is a damned lie never said in any way i was against divestment. the debate started out when the BLP stated that CUTS and SAle of GAIA and BWA and TRANSPORT would be necessary and i have been adamantly against that, now the BLP has stolen the DLP plan of divestment to soften the impact from what they had previously stated as a SALE , i am not going to let you control my thoughts and put words in my mouth because of the blunder OSA made when he declared at the chamber of Commerce meeting what The BLP plans were to have a quick economic fix to the Barbados economy by way of SALE or :FIRE SALE” again OSA has been left holding the bag the same one he took to the interamerican development bank when he confronted PM STUART about the townhall meeting, still awaiting for his response,.
-
.@ ac | October 16, 2012 at 9:05 PM |
The faintest ink is greater or more powerful than the sharpest ac mind or convenient memory. And the David BU ink is indelible.
Just like the argument on WTE you have backtracked and proven to be a liar. A link to your arguments on this Privatization vs Divestment topic would determine who was for or against it from the outset and how much retracting/backtracking has taken place.
-
Cedric Murrell has to make those utterances to give the public the impression that he is independent and genuinely speaking for the workers. It is a mere show: don’t be fooled by it. This is the same Cedric Murrell who is the Chief Air Traffic Control Officer and despite the rules and conventions about a public officer not holding a political office, he is a chairman of a constituency council and chairman of a school board both of which he holds in his own right and and not ex officio.
Why you think that he is allowed to flout the rules of the Public Service with impunity, because he is independent? Don’t make me laugh!
-
@ Caswell Franklyn | October 16, 2012 at 9:20 PM |
“and despite the rules and conventions about a public officer not holding a political office, he is a chairman of a constituency council and chairman of a school board both of which he holds in his own right and not ex officio.”If what you are saying is factual then why can’t you tell us the constituency council and school involved? Would you be sued for libel or defamation if you do? Or is Cedric part of the labour union fraternity like you and sworn like a true lodge member not to โgrassโ upon one another.
These people and institutions/organizations need to be named and shamed for such a blatant violation of the rules. So we have Mr. Freundel in charge of the Civil Service pretending to be Squeaky Clean Mr. Integrity and allowing this ridiculous nonsense and blatant rule violation to take place right before his very eyes.One wonders what the DLP apologists on this blog have to say about crassness.
The Nation Publishing Co might lack finesse, and appreciation of the canons of protocol but this if true is a downright breach of decency and adherence to rules and regulations. -
Joe higgins a MP of ireland Parliament in reference to Privatisation of govt assets
sniffling off of govt assets branded the privatised or blue printโ a neoliberal huckster deal which will involve pawning the assets of the people to pay off money to lendersโ@miller the above quote was onr many of my comments here on BU on Privatisation.
-
Miller
I am not protecting anyone. I saw him. Featured in the news as Chairman of St. Philip South Constituency Council, and I knew when he was appointed as Chairman of St. George Secondary School. If you want a little bit more information on the nastiness, when he was elected as President of CTUSAB he was not even a delegate but they needed to install a DEM.
Miller don’t misjudge me.
-
@ Caswell Franklyn | October 17, 2012 at 6:31 AM |
Caswell, I am not misjudging you. Just giving a little squeeze to extract more info from your bank of knowledge and experience in order to put things in perspective.
We both drink from the same fountain of truth and share an ardent desire to see integrity and adherence to the rule of law in public life for the sake and protection of the countryโs fledgling democracy.
Do you know the exact source of the rules dictating appointed public officers from participating in political activities or holding politically appointed office other than in an ex-officio capacity?
So this Mr. Integrity label being attached to Freundel is just one big sham.
One wonders what ac and CC have to say about this blatant abuse of power by the PM?Can just imagine their response if they would be so bold as to come on BU on this one: โThe BLP and OSA did it so we could do it too. Itโs now our turn to abuse the systemโ.
-
Miller the BLP and OSA has an opportunity to attack the PM integrity by confronting him about the circumstances surrounding the Town hall meeting and what OSA told him but they have avoided that like the bubonic plague i wonder why DAY three still awaitiong for a response
-
@ ac | October 17, 2012 at 1:31 PM |
Ac, it is 4 years 10 months less100 days we the electorate are waiting on the passing of the much promised Integrity legislation.
How can you compare 3 days delay from an “ac’ labelled liar with the time taken by Freundel (he was the AG from the outset) to implement FoI and Integrity legislation. Who is the bigger liar?Can’t you see you are flocking a dead horse and as long as you do that I will in turn flog you, the one in acute comatose (ac).
-
miller
-
@ ac | October 18, 2012 at 5:40 AM |
There is something wrong with the script. Can’t view it.
So you will have to precis his message.
Like everything else associated with this giant of a man handling matters made of glass (fragile) with wooden hands and feet of clay things falls apart whether asleep or arisen. -
miller………………..miller what about the video you can,t view “the message or the messenger .or both .here is another piece of major legislation that the BLP and leadership has slowed down for the use of political expediency and ransom not surprisingly since it has to do with corruption.they rather play “ping pong ” politics than to see such a piece of legislation see the light of day
-
@ ac | October 18, 2012 at 10:13 AM |
I can initially see Stuart at the podium then its fails to roll. Never mind. Tell us what he is on about.
BTW, silly political twat, how can the BLP slow down legislation? The DLP has the majority in Parliament or are you looking into the future 6 months down the road like a true clairvoyant.
The BLP did not slow down the Constituency Council bill or the bill to amend the appointment of a CJ. But in your eyes 100 days are like 4 years and 10 months in the sight or your DLP god. -
Wuh miller that wouldn.,t be the first time the BLP stood in the way of major legislation like bills that affect workers rights the BLP record on such bills are dismal and this one is no exception..
-
miller you got some ballz. you keep talking to a f@$k idiot day in day out. the DLP’s game plan is lie, lie, lie and lie somemore.
you should really stop wasting time with this ass ac. all the talk about awake and shite and Stuart still ain’t call the date. what does that say? oh right, he is in control.
keep up the good work DLP.
-
@caswell re. Cedric
clearly ya got ya man. Pity he can’t respond articulately even if given the chance. You should go a little further and tell us who else sits on that same said council ๐ some here might open their eyes wider.@ac
standing in the way of and opposing are two different things. With a 20-10 majority this government could have enacted virtually any legislation they wanted. -
@davidnot BU) this fuh you
-
what am i looking for ac? the leaderless leader? or the fowls keeping noise? because i listened on Sunday night and i what i did not hear was a to plan move Barbados forward.
so what im i looking for ac? what?
-
@Davif (not BU)
To be fair what you heard was a party leader rousing his troops. Don’t read what you shouldn’t into the meeting.
-
@ ac | October 18, 2012 at 6:12 PM |
Why donโt you deal with the matter raised @ Observing(…) | October 18, 2012 at 2:25 PM |
We already know what’s not in the PM speeches. The following:
Indications of any resolution to the CLICO fiasco.
His government’s position on privatization/divestment. Something that must take place very soon.
The Future of Sugar industry. Will we have a crop next year?
What plans the government has to deal with the continued loss of market share in tourism out of the UK and wider Europe especially to Cuba.
Funding of the UWI and the necessary restructuring that must take place before September 2013.
The restart of the Four Seasons project.
And as a professed adherence to the rule of law when will Al Barrack settlement be concluded.We are tired hearing about the BLP 14 years of misrule and OSA unfitness to rule and the bogey international recession. It is not a recession but a much needed long-term correction to the overly abused international financial system and markets. Same thing is happening now in the commodities markets and we are not preparing ourselves for the obvious severe consequences for the countryโs import bill and foreign reserves.
-
David | October 18, 2012 at 6:42 PM |
@Davif (not BU)
To be fair what you heard was a party leader rousing his troops. Donโt read what you shouldnโt into the meeting.
____________________________________________agreed David but listen to what Arthur talks about at his meetings. he lays out ideas which rouses his troops and by extension the rest of the country. (i say the rest of the country because like it or hate it, he gives you something to discuss on moving the country forward.)
here is a PM talking all over his face and not one idea outlined. you tell me, is that fair to the public of Barbados. keep in mind this is a man we does not do a lot of talking because that is not his style. should we not now be hearing some of his plans by now?
be fair David and tell me.
-
@David (not Bu)
The point is that the BLP has been in campaign mode for a while now. Let us see how the DLP campaign develops. They have now turned up to the party. It looks like it will be a dirty campaign which one would not be inclined to associate with Stuart.
-
here is what Dale marshall former ag told the IPI
cautious about disclosing their assets and indicated that such an expectation on public
figures to do so would deter citizens from pursuing politics.
Adriel Brathwaite, attorney general of Barbados, expressed his personal commitment
towards introducing a modern defamation law that would protect journalists from
prosecution unless there was malicious intent. He said that proposed amendments to the
Defamation Act had not been formally introduced to his office and that, once this
happened, any changes would still need to be revised by the cabinet before being
approved. โI have no doubt that the issue of criminal defamation will be addressedโ, he
told IPI. โWe are committed to the issue of freedom of the pressโ, he added.
Referring to criticism about the delays in approving or changing legislation, particularly
the Defamation Act, Brathwaite said the amount of time needed depended on the
legislation in question and the priority given to it by the cabinet. Sources told IPI that
work on the integrity legislation is underway and that a draft of a new defamation act is
expected to be submitted to Parliament โsometime in the near future.โ -
once again i have to agree with you about a dirty campaign but i think after what we heard from the DLP the last campaign about all the wrong doings and then nothing happened and the fact the country is in a mess, i don’t believe the dirty campaign will work for both BLP and more so DLP.
it is also going to work against Stuart. persons in this country wanted him to speak to a number of issues which are affecting them and he did not, person say that is style, so how can he they come and have all the talk in a campaign that will be a dirty one at that?
how does he think he could come to the country and not address the burning issues of the day? i think this is a fair question to be asked.
-
David “It looks like it will be a dirty campaign which one would not be inclined to associate with Stuart.”
Politics campaigns are always dirty.
Bajans do not go to “political mass meetings to hear reasoned speeches about governance.
They go to be entertained and to enjoy the comedic utterances by power hungry opportunists.
Imagine if Eric Lewis ran for political office.
-
@ miller and other BLP mal contents listen as Dale marshall open he mouth and the story jumps out giving a reason for public figures avoiding politics.
-
We are talking dirty here, nothing like you have seen before.
-
@david(not bu)
You are absolutely correct. The independent and young vote will scoff. No amount of legislation will change people’s mind. A dirty campaign will keep people home, not bring them out.
So you. Admit that legislation depends on the “priority” given it by cabinet. I say nno more. -
@David,
Bad economic times / recessions bring out the worst in people especially those who have been “living large” and are desperate to maintain their status.
-
////////////// NEWS FLASH ////////////////////
—————————————————
EXTRA ! HOT OFF THE LIPS
FROM THE SEAT OF POWERELECTIONS DAY IS JANUARY 23, 2013
1/23/2013
Is there a significance to the numbers ? -
@CESS*NEWS
if it was that date, you know Stuart will just change it now he hear it come out. lol