The letter of invitation sent to Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart from the Nation newspaper which has created a furor in some circles – CLICK on image to read the full letter. What is wrong with the letter? Have your say!

150 responses to “BU Talkback:Nation Letter Sent to Prime Minister Stuart”

1. @ David

You not using your head. The civil servants brought it to his attention on the eve on the election, and he is so concerned about the plight of the former PM and how he has been affected by this anomaly?

And he raises this at his first major political meeting.

You know bout political kite flying, right?

2. Good night all. Been a while.

How many DLP MPs and ministers made it to the CSME lecture?
    Is CSME now on the front burner or is this lip service?
    Since when is it disrespectful to invite a party member to defend the party?
    Since when do ruling governments “run” from an opportunity to “battle”?
    Will the current crop’s fluff be so forever see through and amateur?
    How much of the St. James THREE will walk up the steps of Parliament after the bell is rung?
    Are there really that many head in the sand ostriches in the DLP?

Just observing questions that Just Asking would ask.

3. @ Hants
    You are a gem For the others,this is what I found.

If I fought wild beasts in Ephesus for merely human reasons, what have I gained? If the dead are not raised, “Let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we
    die.”

New Living Translation (ยฉ2007)
    And what value was there in fighting wild beasts–those people of Ephesus–if there will be no resurrection from the dead? And if there is no resurrection, “Let’s feast and drink, for tomorrow we die!”

SOUNDS TO ME FREUNDEL PLANS TO LOSE THIS ELECTION with this talk
    His plans of Increasing his next potential pension confirms.

4. @DavidB

Fully aware of kite flying, Arthur is a pastmaster.

5. @ observing(..)

What happen to the 300million dollars OSA borrow for “rainy day”

6. 1 Corinthians 15:32 (New International Version)

“If I fought wild beasts in Ephesus for merely human reasons, what have I gained? If the dead are not raised, let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we die.”

Seems appropriate to me! The political dead can’t be raised so that is why he wants the 100% pension.

7. I think PM Stuart meant the BeastS of Epheseus aka the Eager 11. As regards the issue of protocol, the Dems should be the last to talk about protocol–a party known to foist their candidates, ahead of duly elected MPs, on to constituents.

8. So far no one has addressed the fact that Stuart reported Arthur told him ahead of the Talkback Forum that it was foolishness and he would not be going.

9. @ David

Owen was a past master at political kite flying indeed. I would say it was his trademark.

10. @Dexter

Did not see you post that says the exact same thing as mine posted later.

11. There is not a BLP supporter who posts here who does not recognize the evil in this plot. All this nonsense about the audience being friendly obtained only because the PM was not there.They had set their tables with knives and forks,but had soup as the main course.It is sickening that they who clearly know better,who surely can see the implications of such underhand maneuvering by an organization that has the ability to influence public opinion say nothing all because the spoils are set to fall in the lap of their party.This is wrong and every last one of you know it.The poll they commissioned reflects the mood of the people.Can we let nature take it’s course?

12. @ David

Here is my response to @ ac on another blog.

“You really think Owen went to Freundel and told him the Talk Back forum was disrespectful? Really, really??!!”

13. If Stuart would take his head out of the clouds and return to earth and come and talk to people, we would not have this communication problem. Beast of Ephsus, “Mountains laboring and birthing mice.” Bare nonsensical gibberish Horace,.Ovid and Dante long gone to the great beyond, why can’t Stuart realize we the people more interested in getting some food on the table and seeing tomorrow.How can you be for the people if you are unable to communicate with them ?

14. david

So far no one has addressed the fact that Stuart reported Arthur told him ahead of the Talkback Forum that it was foolishness and he would not be going.

ac vintage arthur the only problem is figuring out which Arthur going to show up, Not surprising at all, However i am awaiting his erudite counter cynical respond.

15. @ ac
    You sound so igrunt. Owen can’t tell Stuart when to call election but he can convince him not to attend a town hall meeting or send a representative.

16. @enuff

That is not the point and you know it. If the Opposition leader thinks it is nonsense why should the PM be persuaded?

17. Taken by Google Wikipedia

The most well-known mention of the fable appears in Horace’s epistle on The Art of Poetry. Discussing what to avoid in a poem’s opening, he recommends

And donโ€™t start like the old writer of epic cycles:
    โ€˜Of Priamโ€™s fate Iโ€™ll sing, and the greatest of Wars.โ€™
    What could he produce to match his opening promise?
    Mountains will labour: whatโ€™s born? A ridiculous mouse!

WHAT HAS THIS TO DO WITH BARBADOS our anything with economies for that matter? Stuart is showing nothing more than he is above us in all aspects, especially learning. What is this all about? Classicism.

18. The Nation Newspaper bias is real for any right taking bajan who has not picked a side.
    In todayโ€™s newspaper Owen Arthur is not the Prime Minister but he gets to be on the front page saying they are ready. The Prime Minister and his government had a meeting but must hold page two.
    Kaymar Jordan seems to be wearing her jeans too low.

19. @ ac

Yuh got to think fuh yuhself!

Everyone has their political preferences and will therefore express some bias from time to time. But to believe blatant nonsense because your party or leader says it is truly unworthy.

20. @ David
    Your opponent, already leading in the polls, tells you few months before elections he is not attending a forum that involves engaging with the public–an issue you and your party have been heavily criticised for failing to do–and you concur with him? Then the likes of ac et al and that ‘Alice in Wonderland’ character Rawle from Brasstacks fame would want to convince us that the PM is a masterful strategist. At the end of the day how did the two parties look in the public’s eye?
    What it says to me also is that all the name calling by PM Stuart is a mere facade. Anyway this is all based on speculation so no more from me.

21. @Enuff

Even Albert Brandford agrees that Stuart should not have accepted. BU believes despite everything he should have sent a representative BUT it is obvious the DLP is now unfolding its election gearing and the politics must be read against this background.

22. Barbados in the TOP 10:

http://www.usnews.com/news/articles/2011/01/28/the-10-countries-with-the-most-debt?fb_action_ids=10151058062156423&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=other_multiline&action_object_map={%2210151058062156423%22%3A10150218591256591}&action_type_map={%2210151058062156423%22%3A%22og.likes%22}&action_ref_map=[]

23. So far no one addressed the fact that Kaymar said in an interview that the letter was clear inviting the PM or a representative to join the panel.

someone would have to read this to me and let me listen because I do not see the print or representative.

Kaymar had a field day with Mia, Harold, Peter and truly enjoyed herself among them.

The letter was poorly addressed and if the Nation had any shame Kaymar would be on the breadline. She lied about the contents of the letter on Starcom as an invited guest to David Ellis.

I continue to hear about the misrep of truth by Tdad politicians – is it travelling over here to their newspaper.

Although the intention may have been ‘good’ the process and representation by Kaymar made it poor, one -sided and distasteful.

We talkback in the polls – the only one to run the country is the Party in power through an election process with eligible voters being numbered and registered by the Electoral and Boundaries Commission here in Barbados.

Bajans talking back all now so. The Nation did not publish the letter but it was certainly circulated. We talk back ehhh!

The day that the DLP government cancels contract for Nation newspapers they would lift up their heads and recognize that enough is enough.

24. David | October 15, 2012 at 8:29 PM |

Barbados in the TOP 10:
    —————————
    Think some should still be talking Horace, Dante Ovid…or even own pensions for that matter? BLP incurred $ 4 billion in debt in 14 years and it took this administration only 4 years to increase it to $6 billion.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 15, 2012 at 8:04 PM |

If indeed a conversation took place between the PM and the Leader of the Opposition to that effect and extent enough for both of them to see eye-to-eye about the Nation’s real intent and agenda it only puts a lie to the expectation that the DLP has a bomb to drop on Owen Arthur in the upcoming campaign.

Sorry, but perspicacity dictates that a man who genuinely feels that his political enemies has something up their sleeves to knock to smithereens his ambition and reputation will not be colluding with any plan to negatively expose the agent working in his interest.
    Any enemy of my worst enemy must be my best friend.

Explain then, David, the conundrum wrapped up in the PMโ€™s statement of โ€˜sleeping with the enemyโ€™! An enemy whom you are going to drop a political nuclear bomb on in the coming weeks using an aircraft named the โ€œAwaken Sleeping Giantโ€ with a fictitious IED bomb called Little Dicky Boy Jerome on board instead of the Enola Gay heading towards Hiroshima.

Either FS is a liar or OSA is a big idiot and one which Bajans like Rhianna would call a c**t.

26. Enuff @ac

@ ac
    You sound so igrunt. Owen canโ€™t tell Stuart when to call election but he can convince him not to attend a town hall meeting or send a representative.

ac @ Enuff

i got a few choice words fuh yuh nigga. who de soo and soo you call igrunt . the PM got more integrity in his little finger than can be found in anypart of OSA body the PM spelled out in detail the Time day and place where OSA the two faced Beast spilled his guts, What is there not to believe ,the story cover all details surrounding it including OSA trying to get in touch with the PM on the friday, THe fact of the matter for toooooo long OSA has been able to get away with falsehoods and no body had the guts to call him up on it publicly now you Enuff one of OSA troglodytes comeout of yuh cave to defend this two faced beast you need to go back to where yuh belong. ,

27. @miller

The BU household is all ears!

28. @ Clone

I don’t agree with the front page placement of Owen versus the second front page placement of Fruendel. After all, it was the PM’s first major meeting and he seemed to have had a good night among his followers. To me, the DEMS meeting gave the sense of “game on” and because of that it was worthy of greater prominence.

But, how many times in the recent past have the BLP had significant well-attended Sunday meetings where substantive issues were addressed and nothing shows up in the Nation until Thursday on the political page near the back?

And how many times have the Nation’s editorials been quick to jump on the opposition’s back. For example, I was at the meeting in Black Rock after the junk status was announced. The mood and the contributions were serious and concerned. But the Nation carried a picture labelled “Jubilant Bees” or something to that effect, and the editorial made a similar comment, when nothing could be further from the truth.

Not to mention headlines being dissonant from the story details. Studies show that headlines carry a much longer lasting impression than the story content.

Think of the recent big pink headline “CLEARED”, when it was only Freundel saying he was going to ignore the interim forensic audit report and consider himself, the DLP and David Thompson exonerated.

In 2007, “HIGHWAY TO COST $180M” in 2 inch red letters, but the actual interviewee said that the scope of the work had tripled, but the cost still had to be negotiated and would be much less than 3 times the original $60M budget.

So, the DEMS need to cool the temperature. Anyone can find biases if they keep looking for them.

29. People’s the world is watching us, let us be on our best behaviour now. Please take a seat. Have a glass of water – now, sip some more slowly.

Blue Gold and Black are the colours of our flag.

You guys showing oona true colours here though.

Pride and Industry.

‘The Lord has been the people’s guide for past three hundred years. With Him still on the people’s side we have no doubts or fears.

Upward and Onward we shall go inspired exalting, free and greater will our nation grow in strength and unity.’

We loyal sons and daughters all do hereby make it known ….’

Come on household the long hours of campaigning and canvassing and taking night due ain’ come yet. Take another sip of the water fresh from our coral rock.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dexter | October 15, 2012 at 8:39 PM |
    “…. BLP incurred $ 4 billion in debt in 14 years and it took this administration only 4 years to increase it to $6 billion.”

You are assuming that the BLP came to power and the national Debt was zero. Or that the debt the BLP found was paid off in the 14 years. That is not the case when the bullet loans borrowed by Richie and Sandi are factored in.
    The main point is that the BLP administration can point to assets and other infrastructural developments to show for the borrowings during their term in office. Where are the assets to show for the additional $2 billion? Black-Gollop Primary?

31. Observing(…) | October 15, 2012 at 7:26 PM |
    Good night all. Been a while.

How many DLP MPs and ministers made it to the CSME lecture?
    Is CSME now on the front burner or is this lip service?

Mr. CSME Owen wash Mara Thompson in curse because she from the islands. He cuss she for running he say no Bajan could run in the islands. He curse the leaders of the islands. The short man curse the entire Caricom during the St. John bye election. All of a sudden Mr. CSME Owen and his pimps gone back to placing CSME on the front burner. You can fool some of the people etc.

32. @ Brief

The day that the DLP government cancels contract for Nation newspapers they would lift up their heads and recognize that enough is enough.
    =================================

Stop this crazy talk! Now!

You looking to hold up Barbados to international ridicule and scorn among civilized nations?

Whatever you think, freedom of the press is the bedrock of our democracy. You don’t like them today so you destroy them. And tomorrow, when you need them, who is going to help?

Dictatorships flourish where the press is weak and cowardly.

Disagree, with them, called them biased, but don’t try to kill them off because it will come back to bite all of us in the rear.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brief | October 15, 2012 at 8:55 PM |
    “Peopleโ€™s the world is watching us, let us be on our best behaviour now. Please take a seat. Have a glass of water โ€“ now, sip some more slowly.”

What hypocritical cover-up sweep-under-the-carpet nonsense is that?

Isn’t the world watching when people like ac and Carson lambast a former PM left right and centre calling the man more corrupt and crooked that all the mafia bosses put together and who would put all the corrupt African dictators to shame.

What do you think the world is thinking about our governance system and adherence to the rule of law when such an alleged corrupt evil individual can run again for Parliament and be head of a Government in waiting?

The DLP and its leader have made serious allegations of corruption. Let them follow through. What is the hold up? The Pierhead marina? BWA? CLICO?

34. The Prime Minister has awaken from a Coma and it shows. He is talking a lot of irrelevant crap. If he think his empty strategy of attacking Owen and Mia is going to work while he ignores issues such as Clico and the AX fiasco——he LIE !!!

He needs to select who is going to be in the Opposition shadow cabinet after after the next election with the-
    BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

35. Interesting ‘Owen thought it was foolishness’ and sent MIa. Guess that was the GS of the BLP doing but it could not have been without the Leader’s of the Opposition consent.

Did he foolishly send Mia? or did Mia go foolishly to represent the BLP?

Kaymar truly enjoyed it. She bragged and boasted the following day about numbers in the audience, and streaming hits. Also the people got answers and raised issues of the day (obviously current issues were discussed).

I agree with PM where was Harold Hoyte all these years? He appears before the polls, sits on a Talkback panel for leaders of political parties days before elections.

And someone wants me to believe that this was not a Nation newspaper plot to further strengthen their intention to decapitate Freundel after their (Nation Pub) could not get it followed through by an Eager Eleven scandal as it did not have the signatures to prove that there was a plot to remove Freundel.

I do not know why Freundel would accept an invitation from Kaymar Jordan as PM or in a personal capacity. He would definitely got to be desperate to get info out and ignorant to BU or CBC.

So to Kaymar and Company get dignity. Wait for an invitation.

36. as for the PM . he stated adamantly how and when and where the story happened. You mean to say that the Pm placed OSA at a scence where we was not and made up the story. Words that can be be libelous at best and cause serious ramification for the PM it is almost 24hrs later and OSA has yet to say nay or yea

37. @watching
    “All of a sudden Mr. CSME Owen and his pimps gone back to placing CSME on the front burner.”

And where has Freundel had it for the past 2-3 years? better yet, where do you think it should be?

“he stated adamantly how and when and where the story happened.”

Are you admitting that Owen and Freundel is conversation buddies now?

@brief
    “I do not know why Freundel would accept an invitation from Kaymar Jordan as PM or in a personal capacity.

agreed. But why send no one at all?

38. Owen Arthur been caught in so many lies its hard to remember half of them, one that comes to mind is he protesting he was not at the Cabinet meeting when the VECO issue was decided. The PM and MOF brought written evidence to the House that placed Owen squarely in the meeting. I dont know why Bajans believe Owen will not be sending home 10,000 civil servants. He must and he will and he is lying about it but whats new.

39. oberving(…)@ac

Are you admitting that Owen and Freundel is conversation buddies now?

far for me to admit any thing to do with their association. however the story as told by the PM has OSA signature all over it, starting with the phone calls made prior to talking with Stuart, the proof of the story lies in were OSA stated he is not ‘Associating himself with that foolishnes” and so he did not,

40. Denzil

The DEMS have not said emphatically stated that they will not be sending home 10,000 civil servants either. They are the ones who are saying that the BLP would be doing so. However, what amazes me is the fact that neither Arthur nor the other three has sued Sinckler for making comments about the plot to send home civil servants. If what Sinckler has said we’re true, Arthur would be a deceitful liar. In the absence of a lawsuit, I would be forced to believe Sinckler.

41. @Caswell Franklyn

“However, what amazes me is the fact that neither Arthur nor the other three has sued Sinckler for making comments about the plot to send home civil servants.”

are you sure of this?

what would make you believe anything Stuart said about Arthur? because Stuart say so? Stuart said Arthur told him he was calling him for a couple of days or 3 times, something to that effect, do you know Arthur? is that alone something that sound like he would say? to all people Stuart? there is only one thing that could make the BLP lose this election and it would be the Mia vs Owen show again.

so why on earth would Arthur go and make comments like that to Stuart. and then send Mia? ask anyone who knows Arthur well and they will tell you, he does not have a lot of time for Stuart, so Arthur calling Stuart would make Stuart look like a Giant and that is what Stuart needs to sell. hence this “story” from Stuart.

i think given the event they would have talked and Stuart moved this “story” from some discussion but lets see who was present as Stuart said, will come forward and back his “story”.

Stuart needs to rally his base and that was all it was, nothing more but a lot less. it did going over well in the hall.

42. Disturbed.
    People , let us be serious . This talk back fiasco is all about integrity . I heard Kaymar Jordan say on Brass tacks to David Ellis that SHE sent An IDENTICAL LETTER TO BOTH PARTIES inviting them to the session . I have now seen a copy of the letter which was made public by the secretary of the DLP George Pilgrim to whom it was copied . The letter WAS NOT SENT/ WRITTEN by Kaymar Jordan . It was signed by someone FOR MARILYN SEALY .She is therefore a LIAR on that score . Secondly the letter made public by Pilgrim was addressed to The Honourable FREUNDEL STUART , Q.C.,MP Prime Minister of Barbados etc . The question must therefore be asked : Is there an IDENTICAL person in the BLP ? How could there be an identical letter ? If the public cannot rely on the integrity of the editor Kaymar Jordan then the Nation Newspaper can be manipulated for any purpose. I would expect Kaymar Jordan to come back on brass tacks and at least clear up this mess and see if she can explain this act of DECEIT .

43. @ David .
    On another score :can you imagine Jerome Walcott and George Griffith appearing above a Nation front page caption ” QEH MESS ” ? Surely they were referring to a period pre 2008 when Walcott was Minister of Health and Griffith the Chairman of the QEH Board . That was the period when EVERY KIDNEY infected patient was at his wits end because there were no dialysis machines functioning at the QEH ; Not one elevator was functioning except ,as RPB sung ” to push up grass at the QEH ; simple items like toilet paper could not be found on the wards etc , etc etc . But as they say , a picture is worth a thousand words . The look on the face of the five on the front page of the Nation does not convince anybody that they were confident about any genuine complaint about the present QEH .There goes the nation AGAIN !!!

44. the guide,jackass.and what is this on public internet.
    you living in a hole.
    here are your people /what good for the goose!!!!!ya know
    http://youtu.be/SULoScsVFzA

45. racist talk?
    you living under a rock the guide?
    if you don’t like what i have to say and deny having a brain big enough to understand what i speak of .
    sorry your mind is too small and stupid to get my points.
    or you fuendel whatever his name is
    http://youtu.be/t9DcvRAHLVs

46. @Disturbed

Using all reasonableness there is no reason why the PM and his salvo at the Nation should not have occupied the front page yesterday. It is reminiscent of the time when Hartley Henry and Carol Martindale clashed about whether the Cadres poll which placed the DLP ahead should be front page news and it should have been. One day we will find out. Regrettably partisan politics is not placed first ahead of national interest and what is ethical. Both political parties have contributed to the current state.

47. 24 hrs later and no Yea or NAY from OSA about what PM Stuart. until OSA confirms or denies the story Pm stuart said revealing OSA not “associating himself with the TOWN hall meeting calling it as nonsense . PM STUART has the benefit of the Doubt. another reason why the RT HON cannot be PM of barbados , he lacks integrity..

signed
    Waiting for a response.

48. David (Not BU)

Re your comment at 11:30 last night.

You asked if I am sure. I am not sure about anything but I will tell you that I have no interest in who forms the next government because it will just be a case of six or half dozen. That said however, if no case is filed I would be advising every public servant who would listen to vote against the BLP. If Sinckler is a liar he should be discredited and that is the only way that I will accept.

49. but ac even if OSA say is did not happen, you will then say he is a lair. you are one sad joke of a person.

50. @Caswell

To reinforce your point Donville repeated at QC Sunday and challenge Arthur to sue.