The name of the person who made the submission withheld on request, obviously a DLP supporter – BU

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur relaxing on the East Coast on May Day

As we draw nearer to a General Election in Barbados, the focus will be directed more seriously on the party leader of the ruling DLP and that of the opposition BLP.

The reason for this is based on the fact that, in Barbados elections, the influence of the party leader has always been of paramount importance. In this regard therefore the recent record of Mr Owen Arthur as a member of Parliament must be placed under the microscope: has he demonstrated that he is a fit and proper person to lead this country at this crucial time in our history?

In examining this question, one is forced to take note of the fact that the recent debate on The Employment Rights Bill took place without contribution by Arthur, the leader of the opposition. This is of significance since it was the BLP Government under Mr Arthur that introduced the said Bill in  Parliament in 2002; since that time it had been referred to a Select Committee of Parliament .

But Mr Arthur’s continued absence must be a cause for general concern; He has Not, since 15 January 2008 to the present spent more than a total of 10 hours  in parliament. His presence has really been restricted to an exercise of “getting his name marked”.

Indeed Mr Arthur often leaves parliament before the chaplain whose function is merely to say the prayers at the start of the session. Against this background, Mr Arthur’s PHYSICAL FITNESS must be scrutinised. It is known that of late he has had to use a walking cane for support and he has complained of a back problem. Has this been a contributory factor since these problems often prevent one from sitting or standing for long periods?

In the current debate he delegated the job of leading the Opposition effort to Mottley and Marshall, in the Upper House, to Symmonds. Surprisingly Symmonds contribution was VERY supporting of government. The result is that both Mottley and Marshall’s contributions were exposed as being out of synch with that of Symmonds.

Recently Miss Mottley was given the surprising role of major spokesman in the Estimates Debate; Mr Arthur himself has often said that the debate of the Estimates is of much greater importance than the Budget Debate. When therefore he allowed Miss Mottley to play the lead role after presiding over her ignominious removal as party leader, we must therefore question the sincerity of this decision. The upcoming Budget Debate will put his physical fitness further to the test. One thing is  certain: Miss Mottley must know when she is being used as a stop-gap to cover for her fierce enemy Owen Arthur .

Recently too , the BLP held its May day bus excursion and  the published photo of a very tired looking Owen Arthur, uncomfortably reclined in a lounge chair and holding out his hand to a young family member, did not make for happy viewing .

1. More desperation.

2. St George's Dragon Avatar

You could also ask where the absentee Prime Minister is? Although he has made some appearances in the last few months, he was absent from the scene for quite a while
    Will he continue to speak to us in the run-up to the election, or will he go back into his retreat again?

3. What about the fainting spells of the PM?

4. Without being accused of being partisan anyone is entitled to reasonably ask why Arthur felt he should have participated in the debate on the Employment Rights Bill, easily one of the more important pieces of legislation in the last decade. Hansard will record that he felt it was not necessary to participate.

5. old onion bags Avatar

@ Mario
    Oh umm .. Stuart at the BDF..man we all become ill sometimes.Lets not go there….

6. old onion bags Avatar

But talking about who we seeing ever night on CBC..so far we had Lashley I, Lashley II , Sen.Garner, Kenny Bovell, Donville… Owen Arthur on at the BCCI meeting……guess you all can see him now….near Parliament too…can’t have it both ways

7. Less than TEN HOURS in 4 1/2 Years ????? But what more can you expect from a man who describes the Parliament as a POOR- RAKEY PARLIAMENT? But does anyone know if any deduction of his salary is ever made ? TEN HOURS????? Well! Well!

8. @Onions

The debate was over two weeks.

9. old onion bags Avatar

Sometimes one must pick their battles…(an ole war saying)…I don’t know…

10. “European Central Bank (ECB) Governor Mario Draghi and Spanish Prime Minister Mario Rajoy both said on Wednesday they wanted Greece to remain in the euro.

“I want to state that the governing council’s strong preference is that Greece will continue to stay in the euro area,” Mr Draghi said.

The Governor of the Bank of England, Sir Mervyn King, warned that the eurozone was “tearing itself apart” and the UK economy would not escape “unscathed”.

He told a news conference that the euro area posed the greatest threat to the UK recovery, and there was a “risk of a storm heading our way from the continent””. – taken from a BBC news story, 16 May, last updated 17:32 GMT, titled: Greek Syriza Leader Tsipras Attacks EU and Merkel.

Well, who thinks that Barbados will not be affected by what is happening as part of the Eurozone debt crisis, while so many Barbadians become drunk on stupor and trivia.

11. So a DLP yardfowl said that Owen only has spent 10 hours in Parliament since January and we all believe it. Some one who would not even give a sign in name??? Give me a break!

The GANG OF ELEVEN wanted to get rid of Freundel because he fainted three times, he is a bad diabetic and he is capable of running this country and Owen who suffers from diabetes as well is not. I have never heard that Owen had any fainting spells.

By the way, come to Parliament to hear what…. Kenny Worst in the chair, OMG!! The people of Barbados dont care about these things, it is the economy, stupid!

12. The result is that both Mottley and Marshall’s contributions were exposed as being out of synch with that of Symmonds.

so was mr syuarts position on sir roy out of sync with mr inniss and mr sealy

13. @balance

Touche!

14. MarketWatcher Avatar

The article is puerile. My word. Just think. Barbados does not have adequate leadership and the world may be about to dip into recession again. Let’s hope not. But Can the PM or the Finance Minister explain the impacts of Greece possibly not remaining in the Eurozone on Barbados? Can the local media? Can the financial gurus in the opposition? At the end of the day, we the people suffer. Stalemate never is or was a satisfactory ending to a chess game.

15. To be absolutely honest, from reading the comments here, one can’t help but conclude that our political leaders are the most useless, incompetent, dishonest and pathetic lot conceivable.
    …seems that they are matched only by the quality of the discussion here.
    ” your man has a bad back”! ; ‘oh yeah, and yours have diabetes ‘ : ” but yours fainted more than mine” “your man can’t speak proper English” etc

So even if we can rid ourselves of the political clowns, who are we going to get?
    …Onions? Ha ha ha LOLOL 🙂

Man PDC, wanna looking palatable yuh…

16. Reality vs Wishing Avatar
    Reality vs Wishing

I think we are seeing some gross double standards, since when is it acceptable for a person collecting taxpayers payments and not show up for work?

This joker has not put in two eight hours days work for his salary even as he has been collecting taxpayers monies since 15th January 2008

Absolutely amazing that is allowed to rob taxpayers in this manner.

17. old onion bags Avatar

So even if we can rid ourselves of the political clowns, who are we going to get?
    …Onions? ……..No Bushie
    Reallllyyyyyyy full of it !.lol

18. Sooo, ammmmm…. ya want we to vote now based on physical fitness?? really? this is the bloody best that can be done as an argument?
    This post is out of sync with the views of the people.

hey, while we’re at it let’s scrutinise everybody’s physical fitness for crying out loud.

19. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

“This joker has not put in two eight hours days work for his salary even as he has been collecting taxpayers monies since 15th January 2008 ”

and we have a PM not doing his job but get pay.

20. Where is the Leader of the Opposition ??

The leader of the Opposition is spending his time fine tuning his plans for the economy as soon as the BLP resumes the Government in the not too distant future. He is busy fine tuning the Manifesto on Ministries, Personalities and RESOURCES.

Rescuing Barbados calls for serious thoughts so kiss yuh tail and go and ask what Mr. Slow also known as Mr Slothful what he doing about the Eager 11 and while you are at it ask Where is the Governor General he promised Barbados. Stuart is an imitation Prime mInister, yuh know like –imitation jewellery. To an untrained mind and untrained eye he might appear to be genuine but to the trained eye , he is a fake. The untrained eye is the collective eye of DLP lackeys and yardfowls who even give yardfowls a bad name

So frig you whoever you are that write this crap post==TEK DAH !!!!

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I do not want it to appear as though I am defending Owen Arthur, but for the benefit of Amazing (7:26) and Reality vs Wishing (9:02) I want to point out that whether Arthur is in the House or not, he is entitled to receive a pension of two-thirds of the last salary he received as PM for the rest of his life. It would not be sensible for him to accept the salary of a backbencher because if he does he would forfeit the significantly higher pension.

It would be a better point to say that since Arthur is not receiving a salary as an MP, he is putting in as much effort as he is being paid. I hope that I was able to assist your analysis.

22. Five For Fighting Avatar
    Five For Fighting

@ JUST ASKING

The question you should ask though is, can OSA contain the facts on his medical ailments long enough to make it to election season/day?

BARBADOS TOO SMALL TO THINK HE CAN. FACTS AND EVIDENCE THEREOF ARE LIKE SMOKE, YOU CAN HIDE THEM.

23. Five For Fighting Avatar
    Five For Fighting

One of the best kept secrets thus far but open season is just around the corner and I am sure this matter will come sharply into focus on the platform when either CS or DE ask if OSA is medically fit to be PM and if the people of Barbados have a right to know.

24. Five For Fighting Avatar
    Five For Fighting

If the rumours presently circulating are true then this could make Haggatt Hall 08 pale in comparison.

25. “I have never heard that Owen had any fainting spells”
    Most people refer to them as hangovers.

26. Maybe Mr. Arthur feels that he is not accountable to anyone.The BLP arrogance that the people rejected in 2008 is still there. Nothing new!

27. old onion bags Avatar

@ How about 11 for fighting
    RUMORS RUMOURS…didn’t your mommy tell you about rumours…..Just when you want to start a little mischief…..what else but RUMORS … ( song) …………another clutch at a straw….DLP yarfowls

28. Cat pies and pepper Avatar
    Cat pies and pepper

Owen is a seriously nasty piece of work, how he set up Mottley and Marshall for the fall and then suckered Symmonds to carry out his hatchet job on the two of them is an amazing act of political savagery at its best.

29. Cat piss and pepper Avatar
    Cat piss and pepper

No rumors my friend it was there for the National hear

30. Not wishing anything bad on him but whenever I see Owen Athur he looks awful shaky and frail when he speaks though his voice is stronger than you expect from his small and shrunken frame.
    I am clueless. He does look ill anybody knows the real story on his health?

31. Arthur must be unable to believe his luck. I haven’t heard him speak, but just the sight of Fruendel tells me that if there’s anybody LESS LIKELY to defeat Arthur in a general election, it is him and, by the way, ‘Cat — and pepper’, do you have to be quite so vulgar. You’re denigrating the Bajan brand. It’s not clever to use such a name, in fact, it is stupid!

32. “This joker has not put in two eight hours days work for his salary even as he has been collecting taxpayers monies since 15th January 2008

i am of the view that members of parliament should attend the sittings unless they are ill or out of the country with the permission of the speaker and the knowledge of the clerk of the house; but this seemingly dontcarish attitude to the responsibilities of parliament and by extension their constituents have gone on without censure for years. but alas, they are politicians and not parliamentarians and perhaps can be forgiven for not sufficiently au failt with the nuances of parliament.pity such an important observation has to be raised under a partisan banner for m rthompson hardly attended parliament when mr mascoll was leader of the opposition as well.

33. “Not wishing anything bad on him but whenever I see Owen Athur he looks awful shaky and frail when he speaks though his voice is stronger than you expect from his small and shrunken frame.
    I am clueless. He does look ill anybody knows the real story on his health?”

during mr barrow’s sojourn in the opposition between 1976-1986 particularly during the second session’ it was clear that mr barrow was ill. he slept in the house during debates so much that he even fell out of his chair one time. i would never forget miss miller’s exclamation’” look , barrow fall down!” he did not last long after winning the elections. mr arthur has consistently expressed his admiration for mr barrow culminating in the erection of a statue of mr barrow. perhaps mr arthur wants to follow his idol to the very end.

34. Maybe OSA is in dire need to REBUILD! RESTORE !and RECONSTRUCT is debilitated image!

35. Not That Chris Avatar
    Not That Chris

Why should Owen be rushing to do anything, the PM passing on any and everything and making no decisions…and HE i the PM.

NO wonder Sinckler et al was going to move him. Except the speaker tell him that what tehy were doing , haha.

Anyway, Sinckler, Sealy or Inniss will be Opposition Leader come March 2013.

So, the curretn Opposition Leader is resting up for elections, as he should!

Congratulations PM Mottley!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2013!

36. Not That Chris Avatar
    Not That Chris

@Five For Fighting if the current rumours are true, OSA aint the only one that batted outside his home ground, THAT is a WUHLOSS!!!!!! I WAS STUNNED!!!!!!!!

37. Why Speculate Avatar

Why Speculate
    David , we do not need to speculate over Mr Arthur’s attendance in Parliament ; it can only be a matter of record ; the statement that Arthur has not spent more than 10 hours in parliament during the present session CAN BE CHECKED FOR ITS ACCURACY. It is however very interesting to read some of the defences being posted of the alleged record . Are some of them suggesting that a record such as that is justifiable ? I REALLY HOPE NOT !

38. old onion bags Avatar

@ the Cat piss
    RUMORS RUMOURS…didn’t your mommy tell you about rumours…..Just when you want to start a little mischief…..what else but RUMORS … ( song)

39. old onion bags Avatar

When Boss ARTHUR…..walks up those steps to Parliament and Onions holdin the …..all wanna largess fowls like ac……belly going be urting….
    Onions will later come back home and get on BU…..with poison scratch grain and water……ready to feed the sorrowful birds…but you know what …..I gine can’t find a feather…..all DEM gine be en route to the wilderness..dammed for another 14 yrs to pick out each odders botsie with song of I shudda…..and If stuarie shudda wuddas……..mark my words !

40. @balance

To repeat, Sinckler made mention of this loan in the budget last year. However has true to form pointed out it seems a conditionality of the loan is to maintain the 17.5% VAT. We can accuse Sinckler of possibly not being transparent on this deal but it was not secret.

41. Here is another issue which will be muddied in partisan politics. Is Arthur’s record as revealed above accurate and if yes, why? BU recalls there was a similar discussion about Liz Thompson when she was a Senator.

42. Wuhloss’ the hypocrisy of OSA talking about privatising CBC.now we allunderstand the meaning of “talk is cheap”

43. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@five for fighting
    Spare us the lecture on “coming clean” on health matters.

@the writer and supporters
    Spare us the lecture on “rumours”

Dare we forget we lost a PM 2 years after his election? And did without him for over 18 months because of “unknown” health reasons?

Blind partisan hypocrisy is worst than layman hypocrisy. It has a slightly higher stench.

@david
    I do believe that our MoF has and continues to be “less than forthright” on a number of things. For political reasons maybe, but, he’s not “smooth” enough with the cover up BS. He’s almost “see through” no pun intended.

44. old onion bags Avatar

Lashley on the news harping…….”More Housing Solutions on the Way”…..houses fa who ? After this draconian 4 12 years of suffering and living off family n eatin today ..not tomorrows……somebody could find money to buy starter houses ? Man Lashley like the rest of you tongue criers could really HUSH 3……all that they going be left to do( PR) is GIVE THEM AWAY…like the lady yesterday.LOL…..I better go and see if I cud get one fa free…….Wait …Coverley now got a Chicken Barn outlet… boy……to draw people what else……now who go go off the Hway to buy chicken in Coverley when the Chicken Barn HQ …just down the hill ……its called DESPERATION !!!!…….or bait n switch

45. old onion bags Avatar

Now let me see…the cheapest House up-e-dey cost $ 347,0000…. a large wing snack at Chicken Barn cost $17.50…..hmmm….really …..S T R E T C H I N G ..IT !

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“He has Not, since 15 January 2008 to the present spent more than a total of 10 hours in parliament.”

This is scandalous. Less than 10 hours since 15 Jan, 2008? Can anyone tell me how many private sector workers could work 10 hours between Jan. 2008 and now and still have their job?

It seems like there is one law for the Meades and another for the Persians.

Let us look at it this way:
    Between Jan. 2008 and let us April 2012 that would be:134 months
    Substract from that lets say a calender month for holidays for each year not counting 2012 if Parliamentarians get holidys,

that would leave :130 months.

The average HONEST, HARDWORKING, BAJAN employee working in the private sector working 40 hours a week including up to April 2012 would have worked:5,200 HONEST HARDWORKING hours.

Yet the EMPLOYEE of the HONEST HARDWORKING BAJAN, Owen , worked less 10 hours during the same period!………AND STILL GOT PAID!

Tell me if I have it right?

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Wuhloss’ the hypocrisy of OSA talking about privatising CBC.now we allunderstand the meaning of “talk is cheap””

Dont let that fool you again.

They said that in the 1980’s as well that is when Mickey Waldron was Chairman of CBC.and they have been in office three times since that and they never did it.

These people are a bunch of Liars.

48. old onion bags Avatar

@ Aarson

“Better to keep your mouth closed and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt”?
    Abraham Lincolm

49. When will the next Nation newspaper poll conducted by Cadres be held?

In all my life, the upcoming election is the most uncertain. You have a sense that the BLP will take it but still teh DLP may be able to redeem themselves with 12 months left and a number of housing projects, Cost-U-Less, Marina, Four Seasons projects to come thus reducing the unemployment rate. they may even squeeze in a fuel clause which stops the monthly fluctuation of oil and stagger it over 3 month periods and take the avearge while subsidising the difference.

All in all, this election is uncertain and open unless there is some extraordinary occurrence.

P.S I’m thinking Verla Depeiza may win a seat also….

50. Elections must be coming soon, some new yardfowls are out and are in nasty form…………..Why Speculate, Reality v Wishing, Five for Fighting, Cat Piss and Pepper, Neutral.

David, are you sure that this is not one person using multiple names….they all seem to be of one mindset…straight out of George Street.

These Dems are desperate and you can clearly see that they have resorted to Alinsky tactics…identify the opponent, attack and demonise. The mere fact that people are saying that they are fed up with the Dems have them frantic, they cannot afford to lose their fatted calf having been in wilderness for 14 years and with the prospect of being back there for another long period. OMG…that is enough for them to go ballistic with lies,slander and nasty attacks as we are witnesssing here.

They are now trying to attack Owen’s health, when their king was sick, it was a big secret, we were told it is none of our business, for two whole years the dead king drew a salary, we hardly saw him, he did not go to Parliament and we could not know what was wrong with him. They now have the unmittigated gall to come on this blog and talk about Owen.

What deceitful people these Dems are!