The name of the person who made the submission withheld on request, obviously a DLP supporter – BU

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur relaxing on the East Coast on May Day

As we draw nearer to a General Election in Barbados, the focus will be directed more seriously on the party leader of the ruling DLP and that of the opposition BLP.

The reason for this is based on the fact that, in Barbados elections, the influence of the party leader has always been of paramount importance. In this regard therefore the recent record of Mr Owen Arthur as a member of Parliament must be placed under the microscope: has he demonstrated that he is a fit and proper person to lead this country at this crucial time in our history?

In examining this question, one is forced to take note of the fact that the recent debate on The Employment Rights Bill took place without contribution by Arthur, the leader of the opposition. This is of significance since it was the BLP Government under Mr Arthur that introduced the said Bill in  Parliament in 2002; since that time it had been referred to a Select Committee of Parliament .

But Mr Arthur’s continued absence must be a cause for general concern; He has Not, since 15 January 2008 to the present spent more than a total of 10 hours  in parliament. His presence has really been restricted to an exercise of “getting his name marked”.

Indeed Mr Arthur often leaves parliament before the chaplain whose function is merely to say the prayers at the start of the session. Against this background, Mr Arthur’s PHYSICAL FITNESS must be scrutinised. It is known that of late he has had to use a walking cane for support and he has complained of a back problem. Has this been a contributory factor since these problems often prevent one from sitting or standing for long periods?

In the current debate he delegated the job of leading the Opposition effort to Mottley and Marshall, in the Upper House, to Symmonds. Surprisingly Symmonds contribution was VERY supporting of government. The result is that both Mottley and Marshall’s contributions were exposed as being out of synch with that of Symmonds.

Recently Miss Mottley was given the surprising role of major spokesman in the Estimates Debate; Mr Arthur himself has often said that the debate of the Estimates is of much greater importance than the Budget Debate. When therefore he allowed Miss Mottley to play the lead role after presiding over her ignominious removal as party leader, we must therefore question the sincerity of this decision. The upcoming Budget Debate will put his physical fitness further to the test. One thing is  certain: Miss Mottley must know when she is being used as a stop-gap to cover for her fierce enemy Owen Arthur .

Recently too , the BLP held its May day bus excursion and  the published photo of a very tired looking Owen Arthur, uncomfortably reclined in a lounge chair and holding out his hand to a young family member, did not make for happy viewing .

1. Stacia Chaplin Avatar
    Stacia Chaplin

Putting it back on again. My cousin tell me last night check this internet. Say BLP busy online about St. Andrew. I see Irene last night in Belleplaine at lime we put on for the Carnvial. There are a lot of lies saying here and I am wondering what is the problem that there are so many lies that are here. She showed us how to get help from NCF for our Carnival that we wanted. She help people even though she is not our representer alll the time and that thing about Donna Hunte and Mia Mottley is bare junk. Owen and George stop MIa Mottley from running in her own party, and cursed her in the Nation and in the BLP saying she is not fit to lead. How comes nobody remember that. Also Donna Hunte Cox was down here with Irene week before in her campaign with her house to go away to buy things for her. That is there business becausethat cannot stop us voting for Irene and water does run and blood does clot and George trying to get in there family a long time ago till the girl he had trying to use dead. God is not sleeping. She got to cut George ass bad this time. We do not want GEORGE ANY MORE.
    Cannot stand that man. If you dont bow down to him he curse you if you dont take his drinks and every where he is going telling people take his almanacs and we rip them up. We done with him and my mother say she switch that Ms Sandiford has a different to her. He hear pastors invite Miss Sandiford to services like harvest etc and now he going church every Sunday now for over a year to get votes and my mother said it make her stomach sick with Paddy in the church and fronting. He now find Christ coming up to election and the only people in church checking for him is the family from Rock Hall. looks so bad. So he is so desperate he using the church and moving with a block man who leaving church and going back on block doing business and George going in the shop for drinks after church.People only laughing. I live in St. Andrew and I cannot stand George or Dale. The fellas get bare drinks and nothing. We dont have anywhere like a centre or resorce centre no sports playing field. Belleplaine criekct club cancel all home games this season and last season because they have no room to change for visitors nor toilet!! But George buy Miss Smith big house cash for his own self to show he got money and now to win election and telling the men bare junk all the time. But we know he thief her out last election but she says its not true but we know and we got to fix him good this time. A lot of people cannot stand George and his puffed up self and St. Andrew is so run right down. A lot of us tell him he got or vote all the time. And get drinks. We made a mistake last election but I cant wait and I am not forgetting this any more. Once my cousin help me on the internet I will represent that lady. Nobody who is not in St.Andrew do not know how we love that lady. All outsiders and drinkers and eaters talking and dont know. We dont all want drinks and talk. Children love her, men love her we women backing her right on.

2. Ladies and gentlemen that was a paid political advertisement. Next!!

3. ammm, Stacia.
    haven’t we seen this exact post from you somewhere else before??
    Not doing your message any justice.

4. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Let us look at The Barbados Advocate and the BLP – The Advocate was undoubtedly one of the biggest supporters of the BLP while they were in office. They had editorials promoting the BLP continuously. Look at the columnists – David “Joey” Harper – former BLP CEO and candidate, former BLP cabinet minister Philip Goddard. In other words, the Advocate newspaper has still allowed persons affiliated to the BLP to write and criticise the current government.
    However, the Nation REFUSES to allow anyone from the DLP to write. They are not blind, they know that their columnists are BLP supporters but they refuse to ensure balance.
    How can you justify Hoyos, Brandford, Ezra Alleyne and Peter Symmonds in the same paper and NO BALANCE from the other side.
    We have the spectacle of a shameless sellout to the BLP by the Nation newspaper.
    I challenge anyone from the Nation newspaper to come on this blog and defend this biased policy but I will not hold my breath. The Nation simply cannot spin this one- 7 definite BLP columnists and two leaning BLP in Tennyson Joseph and Ricky Singh.
    The Nation newspaper should be ashamed.

5. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I am calling out Kaymar Jordan, Vivian Ann Gittens and the rest of the big wigs at the Nation- Come on the blog and explain why you are boycotting any columnist from the DLP.
    Is this a directive from your chairman – former BLP Senator Sir Fred Gollop?
    Let the people of BARBADOS know if the Nation columnists who speak on politics, economics and business must reflect the opposition talking points ?
    The same way that they bombarded our PM to come and speak – Come on Kaymar, speak and let us know- why this once balanced beacon of journalistic freedom has now become the journalistic prostitute of the BLP to be used for the party’s spin –
    Is Pat Hoyos and Clyde Mascoll the only columnists who we should hear on econmics and finance?
    You are doing Barbados an injustice – time for balance.

6. Observing; I wonder if there might be a little bit more to the message than you have given it credit for.

For example.
    Suppose Stacia Chaplin is a real identifiable person (I know some Chaplins from St Andrew and some of the people who monitor this blog may know a real Stacia Chaplin)
    Suppose there are a fair number of St Andrew voters who know Ms. Chaplin and think that she is believable and trustworthy.
    Suppose some of the things she says in the post above resonate with uncertain voters.
    Suppose the repetition captures some potential voters who might not have seen the other message.

Some of those suppositions might not be accurate but I think you see my drift.

I think that, despite the feeling that George Payne should win hands down, If the good senator gets a few more identifiable real persons to write into the election watch on her behalf and George does nothing similar to counteract any damage caused, it might mean the difference between winning handsomely with the swing or losing by a few votes, despite the swing.

In fact, I think therein lies the value of this BU election watch to the candidates especially those who have a battle on their hands. Ignoring the possibility of winning or losing a few votes by something said and not combatted in this forum might make the difference between winning and losing. The politicos should only ignore the BU elections watch at their peril.

7. old onion bags Avatar

The Dems are desperate….LOL ! Wickham’s poll in this mornings paper will show you why …

8. Purely objective Avatar
    Purely objective

@ old onion bags .
    If i were you I would discount the Wickham poll . It lacks basic credibility . This very post has at least raised doubts over Mr Arthur’s interest in anything to do with our Parliament . Even the staunchest opposition supporters in their efforts to defend him , have not disputed the claim that he has clocked up less than TEN HOURS of attendance during the present session of Parliament ; Miss Mottley has been publicly discredited by her leader and party in her role as a leader ; Mr Sinckler has publicly declared that he has no interest now nor will ever have any interest in becoming Prime minister of Barbados . Then we have Mr Stuart who, amidst the turmoil , continues to lead this country with a quiet , calm assurance and ( according to Miss Mottley ) with DIGNITY , DECENCY , and DECORUM . The Wickham poll is asking us to believe that he is the one least favoured by BARBADIANS . Wickham’s poll IS AN INSULT TO THE INTELLIGENCE OF BARBADIANS . You ONIONS may continue to rely on it ; I CANNOT .

9. old onion bags Avatar

@ Purely Objective
    If it were up to you…. we should dismiss the outcome of the coming elections as well. Ever read Alice in Wonderland ?

10. old onion bags Avatar

Stuart …LEADING with who. ?….man you like the white rabbit going down the hole.LOL

11. Purely objective Avatar
    Purely objective

@ old onion bags
    Yes , I have indeed read Alice in Wonderland and am confident that Barbadians have no intention of replicating A MAD HATTER’S PARTY in this country of ours .

12. old onion bags Avatar

Purely Objective
    It’s time for your medicine……go drink a glass of REAL WATER…..

13. Purely objective Avatar
    Purely objective

As a matter of interest why would ” a private sector group ” commission a poll of this nature and GIVE THE NATION EXCLUSIVE RIGHT TO PUBLISH IT ? Interesting : STUART vs NATION , WICKHAM and an UNIDENTIFIED ” PRIVATE SECTOR GROUP . This all spells CONSPIRACY ………

14. Does it matter who fund it? What matters is that the Nation newspaper has done what it always does, commission a poll.

To repeat, the DLP should take the results onboard and strategize accordingly.

15. old onion bags Avatar

Man face it like a man ..a good ass whopping coming…and all the twisting and turning can’t do a thing to stop it….strategizing wha ?….if they could not do the simplist… steer a lil country out of a forecast-ed economic tempest which other lessers have proved could be done..without all the WACK..of global economies at every chance they got..how could one expect them to deviate from this onslaught now ? You give them too much credit…next thing they will beg OSA to show the how…a real bag of laughs. Ever heard of daft..dafter ..dandilioness ?

16. i meaning there is nothing wrong about conducting a poll however the information gives a contradictory analysis in that it seems to be speaking out of both sides of the mouth in effect some what cockeyed !the numbers don’t really compute.The DLP knows what it must do and shall! one thing the DLP must not do is to ran scared and bite the bate so glaringly obvious from this poll

17. old onion bags Avatar

De DLP…hurt’….eva see a salmon tot retriever when it get hit by a motor vehicle……you hear …lot of squealing and hollaring (ac)…. before the mongrel succumbs to the inevitable…such is there lot…

18. @ old onions
    …do you recall your counting your chickens by looking at the eggs in the AX matter recently.
    In retrospect one would think that you would be a lot less boastful about speculations from WickHam in any upcoming elections…

The fact that 30% thinks that Owen would be a more decisive leader (ONLY 30%?) does not seem that impressive for a man who was PM for 15 years. …on the contrary….
    …and the same respondents have rated the DLP candidates to have more strengths and fewer weaknesses than the BLP candidates.

By choosing its headline “IT’S OWEN”, the Nation is clearly drawing conclusions based more on wishful thinking than on logical analysis.
    …much like you Onions…. LOL

19. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bushieac
    Aru aru aru aru aru..I hearing bear yelps and screams and moans….and seeing an animal on its back trembling and grimacing, four feet stuck up in the air like Neblett goat….. before it takes its last breath…lol

20. The numbers in the poll are all over the place and in-cohesive OSA leadership 51% ! competence 44% where is the cohesiveness in those numbers should one believe that the two can exist in the same environment without the other which leave Stuart with 49% on Leadership and 56% on competence! the information or misinformation gathered from this poll shows mischief and “intent” as the headlines say one thing but the information says another go figure!

21. The DLP should not discount the poll. Last time George Belle had the BLP winning and Wickham’s poll was right on the money.
    Do not shoot the messenger DLP supporters.
    The Prime Minister must now strategize how he can win the Government again. He did make a mistake as David had pointed out on many occasions by not calling the elections months after Mr. Thompson’s death. That showed he is not a political animal. Owen Arthur was down and out and he had the sympathy vote even if he had loss some seats that will happen anyhow.
    The next mistake is not making Chris Sinckler his deputy from the morning of the vote to make him leader. David Thompson made Mr. Stuart his deputy after having a torrid time with him while in opposition so therefore he should have recognize that your perceived enemies can be your biggest assets as Owen Arthur has proven by giving Mia some level of prominence by letting her reply to the estimates and she is now quietly toeing the party line.
    He still has time. Mr. Stuart make Chris Sinckler your deputy and forget about Richard Sealy who cannot get you two extra votes.

22. DIDNT we tell them so ever-since?
    DIDNT we tell them that the word on the ground is =ONE TERM ?

old onion bags | May 20, 2012 at 9:50 AM | @ Bushieac
    Aru aru aru aru aru..I hearing bear yelps and screams and moans….and seeing an animal on its back trembling and grimacing, four feet stuck up in the air like

OLD ONIONS –Yuh bad
    didnt I ask the Question-
    WHY is Freundel Stuart still Prime Minister of BARBADOS ??

As usual they will now try to discount poll results but we dont need a poll , we have done our survey and it is scientific too if you know the science of doing polls. If you take a sample of areas and then you sample different sectors of the population in each area and you hear certain sentiments , yuh dun know what the results are likely to be .

I had warned in earlier posts that all hell would break loose when the results of the next poll ( this one) become available. Nobody in the DLP can face the public now and they squeezing each other’s balls. They shame

BLP= 29 seats
    DLP =0 seats
    INDEPENDENT=1 seats

23. Here he is…

http://www.nationnews.com/index.php/articles/view/its-owen/

[img]http://www.nationnews.com/images/cached/inc/uploads/articles/0520_preferred_choice-450×350.jpg[/img]

24. It’s Owen

It’s Owen Survey shows Opposition Leader Owen Arthur re-emerging as favourite to lead the country.

By Kaymar Jordan, Editor-In-Chief | Sun, May 20, 2012 – 12:10 AM

Owen Arthur has re-emerged as the “preferred” leader of Barbados, and despite lingering concerns about infighting at the helm of his Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP), the current political wind seems to be briskly blowing in the party’s favour.

These are among the key findings of the latest CADRES survey, which points to a national swing against the ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) and strong dissatisfaction with the performance of the Freundel Stuart-led administration.

Of the 1 080 respondents to the survey, which was carried out last weekend in the 30 constituencies, only 29 per cent said they approved of the job being done by the Prime Minister, compared to 43 per cent who did not approve of his performance. The other 28 per cent were either unsure or would not say.

To add to the woes of the current leader, who assumed the leadership of the Government just over a year and a half ago, following the death of Prime Minister David Thompson, he is neither preferred nationally nor seen as the best DLP man for the job.

25. Purely objective Avatar
    Purely objective

The published results of the poll defy reasoning especially in the area of leadership. The bold Sunday sun headline declares ” ITS OWEN ” and goes on to suggest a 29.8 vote in favour of Arthur and a 9.9 vote in favour of Stuart . This result was achieved by throwing the distraction presented by Mottley ,25.5 and Sinckler 19.9 into the equation . When we come to the Leadership Approval category , the poll reflects 43% showing approval for Arthur and 29% for Stuart . This result was returned without the Mottley – Sinckler distraction . One is forced to ask how does the pollster explain the significant narrowing of the gap in this instance ? Further confusion is added when the same chart reflects a 37% disapproval of Stuart and a 26% of Arthur another significant narrowing of the gap between these two . Against these statistics it is extremely difficult for the pollster to justify the overall analysis published on the front page article .

26. @objective
    It would be nice if your blogging was consistent with your name.

27. Purely objective Avatar
    Purely objective

@ observing
    It would be nice if you would explain the source of your objection !

28. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@objective
    I would but I think it would be pointless.

29. old onion bags Avatar

Purely Objective
    I can’t understand why pundits always try to turn the tide rather than observe and learn from the flow……#*#@ man,… Mario a 10 year old from Baileys primary if he were given Stuart performance as comprehension exercise when asked ..Was Stuart a good leader would answer NO….Did he have vision… Mario answers NO…..Do you think he could regroup the confidence and lead the party…..Mario Yes..in another life time.

Stuart unseen outside the class room door……unmoved

30. old onion bags Avatar

@ Clone
    The next mistake is not making Chris Sinckler his deputy from the morning of the vote to make him leader. David Thompson made Mr. Stuart his
    deputy after having a torrid time with him while in opposition so therefore he should have recognize that your perceived enemies can be your biggest assets
    By your solid analysis……Why that means Chris or Sealy or DonV should be considered a crutch ..to help prop up the Master….But if we remember right PMs don’t appoint no deputy and remain in office for long (DT)…Are you saying Stuart is on the way out ?…if so how do you plan to achieve this…hope that he crosses the floor ?..Certainly not another Eager…you will have to send to China first ..to see if they could quickly fashion (like clones) any Harwood balls..eleven of them to be EXACT…cuz the odder place shut down.

31. I never thought I would live to see the day come when Dems would dismiss a poll done by one of their own, though he says that he cannot disown his past but he is an independent. I believe him.

They better take the data seriously as from my reading of it, he may have polled strongholds of the DLP. If this is what your own are saying, then things may be bleaker than we can imagine.

32. But onions, why did you not tell me that it was the CLICO “terrorist” who called CBC and cancelled the Socaholics fete. He said he was calling on behalf of the PM. Now who would believe that after all that has happenend that he and Stuart are still friends.

What is Barbados coming to when a disgraced man can call a government corporation and say he calling on behalf of the PM and cancel a private sector funded event. After all the sordid details of the forensic audit, who would believe that this man is still up in the bowels of the DLP making decisions? All they did was to enrage the staff and they are just waiting until elections.

33. old onion bags Avatar

But Prodigal
    You din hear the best…..It is said it was because…..THE COLOR RED…Yes red you heard me right….Too much red was being portrayed….you could imagine people could be so petty. Wicham polls like it lick up and bring out all kinda wrath….COLOR RED…imagine that a wonder why ?

34. Would this panic over the colour red also extend to Kaddooment bands this year? Can any of the sections be depicted in the colour red? Would this event had been cancelled if the staff wore blue??
    Just Asking, can you help us with this logic????

35. old onion bags Avatar

I would like to borrow a truck…..and load it with all those love sick hurt puppies this morning as result of the polls….Din Onions tell them time n time again..ONE TERM….what they waste money for ? Now hear them lamenting…..the polls biased and skewed….like hell..Wickham…why you din include the swing is 5 % BLP as I calculated..with a high probability of a 22-8 outcome…that is my only grouse…again I say DEM urt’.
    For those mathematically inclined.. they can go look at Davids election watch and using 5% increase on those marginal seat of 2008….and they will know who gine OUT and who COMING IN….(projecting same vote participation)…..

36. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodigal
    News in the wind of approaching an ..X factor … the talk is of amend of ways.They giving not ultimatums as of yet…..Like I said from here on in they taking away a lotta meat to make a new Gran-burger…..point is if ingredients go bind…..next few days will be interesting

37. @ NationBLPnewspaper

You political hacks never cease to amaze me. Here you are criticizing and acusing the Nation of being pro BLP, when you have:

1. A Socaholics event being cancelled because the colour red was chosen
    2. The first 25 minutes of the CBC news highlights DLP ministers or backbenchers engaging in activities of no real significant importance
    3. The Government Information Service focusing on the DLP
    4. All DLP events being televised on CBC
    5. The first 6 to 8 pages of the Advocate focusing on DLP politicians or supporters
    6. The Advocate not reporting on critical matters in Barbados if in their opinion it may see the DLP in a negative light

“Is Pat Hoyos and Clyde Mascoll the only columnists who we should hear on economics and finance?”

How many times did VOB hosted call-in-programmes where the specific topics were on matters related to the economy, and invited members of the DLP, including Frank Alleyne, Jepter Ince, Chris Sinckler, thereby giving them the opportunity to defend policy, and they refused to turn up.

“You are doing Barbados an injustice – time for balance.”

Where is the “balance” at CBC with Rosemary Alleyne, and the Advocate?

Come on pimp, surely you can do better than this nonsense.

38. Well done, Artaxeres, I could not have said it better.

39. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

As usual, the same old cry “CBC does do it too”- the only defense for the Nation’s sellout of journalistic standards is “CBC does do it too”.
    Arise from your ignorance,novice- Breaking News – CBC and The Barbados Advocate always favour the party in power. Do you forget the BLP candidates for St. Michael prior to the last election on CBC highlighting the houses to be repainted for Cricket World Cup?
    Do you remember the Advocate front page editorials defending the BLP ?

The Nation was supposed to be the balanced paper – “all the paper for all the people” – fearless in its reporting and willing to mash anyone’s toes.
    The Nation has now been compromised- Can you ever see Kaymar Jordan criticising her good friend Owen Arthur? The Nation has stacked their columns with straight BLP supporters from Albert Brandford and Ezra Alleyne to Peter Symmonds,Pat Hoyos and even the official spokesman for the opposition every Thursday.
    When all is said and done , the reality remains that The Nation is basically an extension of the BLP campaign – you can always tell a paper’s political leaning by the columnists and contributors they employ – Remember , the Nation does not pick or create the news but they certainly can pick the columnists whose views they wish to promote.The Nation newspaper’s choice is clear. They are clearly the lead soprano in Arthur’s political choir.

40. old onion bags Avatar

@ clone
    The DLP should not discount the poll. Last time George Belle had the BLP winning and Wickham’s poll was right on the money.
    First time that I have know you to have spoken with sense and wisdom…wish you could transfer some the same to ac……notice she is nowhere to be found…..ac….come girl stop sulking..Onions told ya be prepared for the wilderness ever since January..now ya seein lil light..

41. The seats I see being held, but none other are:

– Kellman- Ronald Jones – Donville Inniss – Chris Sinckler – Michael Lashley – Stephen Lashley – Mara Thompson – Brathwaite

I suspect both Stuart and Hammilton Lashley will have trouble holding their seats.

But those could be the othet two held.

42. Oh, and Estwick and Hutson. No other. That makes 12.

43. old onion bags Avatar

Sorry drop S Lashley , Estwick, Donville M.Lashley,Hutson who ?….that makes 8

44. @Crusoe
    I agree with you except for Hutson. Don’t see him holding on to his seat at all.

45. old onion bags Avatar

Imagine Stuart managed to coral these fellows like bait fish …holding the DLP party in the midst of troubles…..The footsmen had NO BALLS…that what .Now Donville up in the media fight for he one seat….I hear housing Lashley calling out his name tonight on CBC…he better look to his own seat…take care..or is this a sign ? Watchin n waiting

46. Observing (and awaiting the bell) Avatar
    Observing (and awaiting the bell)

@Crusoe
    Hutson and Brathwaite aren’t sure seats by a long shot. Actually Hutson is due for an early retirement. Brathwaite will have to fight for his life.