The name of the person who made the submission withheld on request, obviously a DLP supporter – BU

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur relaxing on the East Coast on May Day

As we draw nearer to a General Election in Barbados, the focus will be directed more seriously on the party leader of the ruling DLP and that of the opposition BLP.

The reason for this is based on the fact that, in Barbados elections, the influence of the party leader has always been of paramount importance. In this regard therefore the recent record of Mr Owen Arthur as a member of Parliament must be placed under the microscope: has he demonstrated that he is a fit and proper person to lead this country at this crucial time in our history?

In examining this question, one is forced to take note of the fact that the recent debate on The Employment Rights Bill took place without contribution by Arthur, the leader of the opposition. This is of significance since it was the BLP Government under Mr Arthur that introduced the said Bill in  Parliament in 2002; since that time it had been referred to a Select Committee of Parliament .

But Mr Arthur’s continued absence must be a cause for general concern; He has Not, since 15 January 2008 to the present spent more than a total of 10 hours  in parliament. His presence has really been restricted to an exercise of “getting his name marked”.

Indeed Mr Arthur often leaves parliament before the chaplain whose function is merely to say the prayers at the start of the session. Against this background, Mr Arthur’s PHYSICAL FITNESS must be scrutinised. It is known that of late he has had to use a walking cane for support and he has complained of a back problem. Has this been a contributory factor since these problems often prevent one from sitting or standing for long periods?

In the current debate he delegated the job of leading the Opposition effort to Mottley and Marshall, in the Upper House, to Symmonds. Surprisingly Symmonds contribution was VERY supporting of government. The result is that both Mottley and Marshall’s contributions were exposed as being out of synch with that of Symmonds.

Recently Miss Mottley was given the surprising role of major spokesman in the Estimates Debate; Mr Arthur himself has often said that the debate of the Estimates is of much greater importance than the Budget Debate. When therefore he allowed Miss Mottley to play the lead role after presiding over her ignominious removal as party leader, we must therefore question the sincerity of this decision. The upcoming Budget Debate will put his physical fitness further to the test. One thing is  certain: Miss Mottley must know when she is being used as a stop-gap to cover for her fierce enemy Owen Arthur .

Recently too , the BLP held its May day bus excursion and  the published photo of a very tired looking Owen Arthur, uncomfortably reclined in a lounge chair and holding out his hand to a young family member, did not make for happy viewing .

1. @Prodigal Son

It is the onset of the silly season.

Perhaps we can settle the health issue between Stuart and Arthur by scheduling three 70 metre dashes.

2. @Mehandstied
    Wow, you are definitely optimitic

@Prodigal
    Agreed. My thoughts were the unmitigated gall. Smacks of arrogance, hypocrisy and even selfish insensitivity. If this is the best argument that the DLP can hatch in permanent cyberspace they are in for a very rude awakening.

3. These Dems forget how they were harsh on anyone who dared to suggest that David Thompson should have resigned when he finally allowed his doctor to say that he was terminally ill. Even then DT did not resign far less attend Parliament. And dont come telling me that there is a difference here.

And furthermore, when Clyde Mascoll was leader of the Opposition, David Thompson hardly attended Parliament. Do they remember when DT was flying up and down the world with Leroy Parris in CLICO’s jet so much so his daughter asked him if Parliament was in Miami? Remember too after the Haiti earthquake he flew out to Jamaica hoping to go there and was not allowed to? Wasn’t Parliament in session then?? And by the way, we have never been told who was paying for all of these joy rides especially since we now know that CLICO was broke!!!

I would like the DLP newbies to tell us how many sessions/hours DT attended Parliament during this time and I would then come down on Owen Arthur if it is indeed true that he has only put in ten hours in time in Parliament since January.

But tell me something, who in their right mind would sit down to listen to likes of Kenny Worst, Dennis Kellman, George Hutson, Patrick Todd, the Pitbull or the boring, boring Freundel Stuart……………can you blame Owen???

4. It is ironic that even the DLP supporters would be worried that Owen is not attending Parliament. It seems as though they are looking for a leader and they miss his astute leadership which is non-existent in their own party.
    WOW
    The DLP begging Owen to come to parliament so that its standard can be raised. And Freundel said that Owen is a nobody without the title of PM. Well it seems the DLP wants Owen to be a somebody and are begging and pleading for him to return RESCUE, RESTORE, and REBUILD.

It will be done DLPites, It will be done!

5. @David
    Owen would win that race hands down. Stuart is going to start contemplating if to run now, tomorrow or next year. Then he has to use Chaucer to defend his reason to run. After which he has to set up a Commission of Inquiry to tell him if it is proper to do so. By the time he is ready to start the race, Owen would be a centenarian.

6. @Mehandstied

Lol…not to mention Arthur would have former champion sprinter Barney Lynch as coach.

7. old onion bags Avatar

In this race 2012 … MeHand…..ME thinks he could win it wid a foot tied and all ..lol

8. Original Copy Avatar

I would not make a joke of OSA health, it is clear for all to see that he is a very sick and consequently very frail as well. It little Barbados he will not be able to hide to medical ailments for long much less when FS ring the bell.

What will the public think when they see that OSA is not medically able to PM, that he knew it and didn’t bring the people into his confidence yet was still asking to be re-elected PM. FS recent comments about OSA being power hungry seem to suggest he is rolling the wicked for a major revelation.

9. If Owen Arthur had said the things Freundel Stuart said of Mr Arthur as reported in the press, heavens know that the Dems would have had this blog and the call in programme lit up with their condemnation.

Freundel, can we also say that you are also power hungry, the country is falling apart and you want to cling on to power so much so that you are going where no other PM has gone before by going a full 5 years at the expense of the people and Barbados. If you are not power hungry and since you are convinced that you would be remembered for your stint as PM, call the damn elections! What you frightened for???

Can I give you some advice, Freundel, Owen Arthur has a record…a proud record….14 years of growth in the economy and where Barbadians felt good and were doing good. Can you defend your non record, Bajans are suffering, the cost of living which your party promised to bring down is sky high, utility bills are sky high, some people cannot send their children to school, the poverty level is sky high as per your own Minister Blackett and you have the gall to talk about Owen Arthur’s record.

Breaking news Freundel, you can NEVER walk in Owen’s shoes!!

10. Boy o boy demin learn yet that de green limes does fall off de tree an lef de ripe ones, Wnnah tink that wunnah is de death angel. T he race is not for the swift. God is god.

11. @ Prodigal Son
    Most days by 2pm he does be drunk out of his head. if you dont believe me go to jemmotts lane by the bee man knock on the door and ask for him, drunk as a fish.

12. Freundel call the elections and prove yourself.

Freundel I have two quotes for you
    1. Go to the ant thou sluggard.
    2.Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!

13. @St.Paul

What is the relationship between Arthur and Gibson?

14. Fractured BLP Avatar

David of BU,

I told you and the BLPites on this site that the Pegasus Hotel tape…..will roll in due course .

Freundel knows Owen Arthur is in panic mode…..since Owen Arthur actions and words are the subject of that tape.

Kerrie Symmonds got wind of it just in time – take a re- read of Kerrie’s contribution in the Senate as reported in the Nation newspaper pages 16 & 17

1. Kerrie says, ” I do not perceive myself as a candidate for any office ”

STRANGE comment from the BLP standard bearer chosen for St. James Central !

2. Kerrie says, ” The Bill in 2012 represented word for word what was drafted in 2001 ”

STRANGE for MIA MOTTLEY & DALE MARSHALL to collectively in 2012 condemn their work of 2001 !

AND FINALLY

3. kERRIE ASKS, ” How is it not possible to lend one’s support to a Bill like this……I do not understand where the level of alarm comes from ? ”

No wonder the BEES remain in a FRACTURED STATE !!!!

ENUFF of these baseless BLPites……..throw them away in an OLD ONION BAG !

See wunnah in George STREET……March 2013 at the DEMS election victory celebration.

15. Both political parties are hungry for power, I remember, while following the DLP campaign in 2008, hearing the “pitbull” on a platform declaring “we want POWER, POWER, POWER”, what is the sense of running 30 candidates in a general elections, if it isn’t to gain POWER ?

16. It seems the DLP are coming again next general elections with the same warmed up humors they used in 2008, plus a few “oldie-glodies” . I remember going into Queens Park the night before the early 90’s elections to hear the report from DT about the secret meeting OSA had with the IMF. You can remember, he had given OSA until that date to come clean or he would reveal everything, there were thousands and thousands of people in Qweens Park that night, very few at the BLP meeting, I think in Bay Street. The DLP meeting started and finished and still we were listening for the report on the secret meeting that DT spoke about. I have never seen so many people leaving a meeting so disappointed and angry, now the DLP coming with the same “warm-up” soup about a secret tape at the Pegasus. It seems big people don’t learn from their mistakes, are they bringing “hardwood, 3S, over-runs, personal cheque again this elections? Can’t work, like the rasta man would say “wheel and come again.”

17. St Paul,

Instead of peeping behind Owen, it would have been better for you Dems if you had shown the same interest in your dead king and maybe he would have been alive today. “Wunnah” would not be so desperate now. Why did you not report when your dead king was all over the place drinking ABSOLUT VODKA…… I saw him on Foundation field drinking like a drunken sailor. Months later we heard he had pancreatic cancer. He’s whom you should have been checking up on.He may have been alive today if “wunnah” had told him…man dont drink so much vodka!

Mr Gibson is a friend of Owen for years, what’s your problem, or are you a snob who dont think that a former PM could have a friend who lives on Jemmott’s Lane?

18. @ Old Onions
    What housing programme what?
    The Minister is merely finishing projects started by the BLP including the one at Mason Hall Street that I heard him on the 12.30 news talking about as if it is new; though Wade Gibbons, while still at the Nation, reported on this project in April 2011.
    What is even more laughable is the secrecy over who the land owner is when there is only one parcel of land on Mason Hall Street suitable for such a project not to mention the fact the person was approached by the previous administration with the idea. In short, the government’s housing ‘policy’ is short-sighted and antiquated!! Why else would they be building single family starter homes in 2012?

19. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

Chupes, we could all ask where is the absentee Prime Minister. I cannot wait til 2013 when we kick them all out. Where are the 500 homes in 500 days, why is the cost of living sky rocketing. To Stephen Lashley what is it with the stupid antiques bill or whatever it is called, pure crap is more like it. This present government is the worst I have seen in all my years

20. old onion bags Avatar

I happen to be up Sin John today n check caretaker S…….he told me how he has a problem. I said what problem….he said…we have to find a way to keep Pomodamues the Greek happy …as he missing sleep
    The Greek relates how nowadays he gotta sleep wid ONE eye open as the buried dowry no longer safe……

21. Harry Mo-The Market Blender Avatar
    Harry Mo-The Market Blender

And Freundel said that Owen is a nobody without the title of PM.
    ———————————–
    If he said so in truth, he is a Dog and indicates what is wrong with Barbados, the snobbery , the class consciousness and class distinction stink. He should know better than to speak those words

22. Why Speculate Avatar

@ David .
    I appeal to you this time that , as moderator of this blog , you use your good offices to confirm whether the alleged record of Mr Arthur’s attendance in Parliament since 15 January 2008 is near accurate or just a wicked rumour.
    A revelation of the FACTS will at least spare us some of the idiotic comments being used to justify the record . Please help us David .

23. @ Why Speculate
    And the record of PM Thompson during Mascoll’s leadership of the DLP too.

24. @Enuff

The criticism is being made of leader no?

Thompson was not the leader and his irregular attendee can be offset by Payne’s..lol

25. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Why Speculate: “A revelation of the FACTS will at least spare us some of the idiotic comments being used to justify the record . Please help us David .

An interesting and relevant request.

One might presume the “Barbados Official Gazette” has such information.

Now, where exactly does one get the Barbados Official Gazette on-line?

26. @ David
    Lawd clearly if DThompson had lived he would have become an untouchable King in Barbados. Whatever he did right or wrong is excused.

27. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Enuff: “Whatever he did right or wrong is excused.

So DT was God?

Weird….

28. old onion bags Avatar

All the DLP yardowls like they are lying low nowadays ..a wonder how come….? Fatten calf like its finished.

29. Chris Halsall Avatar

@oob: “Fatten calf like its finished.

Perhaps the electorate realize they’ve been taken advantage of… and there will be no more calf’s….

30. @ Halsall

Um seems so.

31. old onion bags Avatar

CHalsall
    If you listened to Brass tacks today…Wickham came out and slam one that they did not want to hear…TRUTH…He said he could not see how this Govt will win this elections…..That must have gone home …they are so hurt that they gone to bed early… but I warned them almost everyday….prepare yourselves….you dish out TOO MUCH on the poor people followed by tricks to AX and arrogance of a don’ t want to read….stickin it to you suckers attitude. Not to forget CLICO and the $3.3 M……BUT ONE DAY HAD TO COME….I told ya so ..but they had to hear it from Wickham…THE POLSTER…not onions

32. old onion bags Avatar

They aint want to listen to the Ole man…but I tell them

33. Chris Halsall Avatar

@oob: “If you listened to Brass tacks today…

I didn’t. Perhaps I should.

@oob: “Wickham came out and slam one that they did not want to hear…TRUTH…He said he could not see how this Govt will win this elections.

To be honest, I find it a bit strange. We have open dialogue here on BU, but important exchanges on “Brass tacks” is hidden from recorded knowledge.

Or, try to get historical data of the Barbados Newspapers from the Barbados Library.

Lots of speculation.

Accurate data is unavailable.

34. old onion bags Avatar

Maybe David could direct you to the link for all ova n away..the program is on 11.00 am – 2.00 pm daily …yes Brass Tacks is heard on a site by overseas listeners ..Any one remembers ?

35. old onion bags Avatar

There you go…most expedient.

36. Chris Halsall Avatar

@David: Cool.

Doesn’t work under Linux.

Is there a transcript anywhere?

37. @Why Speculate

As always BU has a willing inbox.

38. @Chris

Please!

39. Chris Halsall Avatar

Or even a direct link to a MWF would be fine….

40. Irene Sandiford-Garner Avatar
    Irene Sandiford-Garner

That the article posted has elicited such defensive vitriol is instructive.

41. For over 4 years the DLP was still campaigning even though they had won the government, I warned them over and over that when they awake and realise they have the government, general elections would be right around the corner. Some-one seem to have awaken them from the shock that the lies, humors and promises they made actually fooled many voters (including me) to give them a try. The DLP has disappointed BIG TIME and I and many many many more are ready to return to the lesser of the two evils the BLP. Sharpen your pencil Mr Arthur, return to the Owen we knew when you first became P.M, your first two terms were excellent, it was only on your third term you became tired and arrogant, I hope the rest have done you good because, if ever this country needed you, IT IS NOW>

42. Chris Halsall Avatar

OK. I stand corrected.

When you allow the site to execute their JavaScript, you get access to these links:
    http://vob929.ocmnet.net/Files/Files%2012/Audio/Brasstax/May/BrasstaxMay17-1.mp3
    http://vob929.ocmnet.net/Files/Files%2012/Audio/Brasstax/May/BrasstaxMay17-2.mp3
    http://vob929.ocmnet.net/Files/Files%2012/Audio/Brasstax/May/BrasstaxMay17-3.mp3

Sucks to have to trust their JavaScript….

43. Chris Halsall Avatar

@The scout: “For over 4 years the DLP was still campaigning even though they had won the government, I warned them over and over that when they awake and realise they have the government, general elections would be right around the corner.

Please correct me if I am wrong, but were you not also a serious advocate for “fly overs”?

Do you now, four years later, still think this is the optimal solution?

I ask this question seriously.

44. Irene Sandiford- Garner
    I do respect your boldness to identify yourself on this blog, however, I must tell you, I had you to win the seat in St.Andrew in the lkast general elections. Your chances next time around is not very good, not by any fault of yours, but if you didn’t win when there was a swing towards the DLP, I don’t see you beating George when there is a swing away from your party. The DLP has waited to long to drive for the winning poll, the BLP is too far ahead to be caught now. Broken promises of investigations against the so-called wrongdoings will haunt your party next time around.

45. Chris
    You are a pain where it hurts. How many times did you ask me that question and how many times I have answered you that “fly-overs” was and still is the answer to the problem at Warrens, Lime junction especially. PLEASE READ READ READ; don’t ask me the same question over and over again. Forty-five million dollars has already been spent at Warrnes alone and all that has happened is the problem made worse.

46. HAMILTON HILL Avatar

Prodigal Son you pun vacation or wah?How you does find time ta answer every BLP critic?Got to give it to ya cause even though ya blind,much don’t seem ta pass ya.You always pun de ball.

47. old onion bags Avatar

@ Scout
    I don’t see you beating George when there is a swing away from your party.
    I can just see Georgie now !

48. Owen Arthur will fool those who allow themselves to be fooled.
    Owen Arthur has an awful record when it comes to reducing inefficiency and wastage in the public sector. Yet he is so shameless that he goes before the Employers’ Confederation and complains about “swollen beauracracies” while behind the scenes he is courting financial and political support with promises of diplomatic postings, board chairmanship and contracts – Nothing New! Arthur is offering nothing but the same old tired politics of the past- Transform what, stupse!

49. old onion bags Avatar

Bye Bye !…you want me laugh at that like George..ok..hahaha..