Kaymar Jordan, Editor in Chief, Nation Newspaper

The following was submitted by a concerned Barbadian who prefers to remain anonymous โ€“ Barbados Underground

It really is about time that every effort is made to bring some sanity back into the operations of the Nation Newspaper and deflect it from the path it has embarked upon. In its present state the newspaper is no more than a scandal sheet whose main agenda seems to be doing no more than creating sensation, much of which is anti government, and in the process breaking all the rules of propriety.

Some time recently one of the lawyers for Mr Leroy Parris of CLICO upon whom they have been waging a personal vendetta, went on national television to complain about two articles which the newspaper published . The first suggested that his client had gone ” MISSING ” in an effort to avoid being served process by a Marshall of the Supreme Court; the second “SERVED” referred to the first article and suggested that his client had gone overseas and also imputed that this was in his attempt to avoid being brought before the court on a CRIMINAL charge. Mr Parris’ lawyer made it very clear that he was informed that the CHIEF MARSHALL had no record of any failure by any Marshall to serve Mr Parris. In addition, the marshal for the area had confirmed that he had neither tried nor failed to execute service on Mr Parris. He also informed that his client had refuted any claim that he had left the island; in fact he had not left the island for months .

The newspaper went another step further on the road to establishing its status as a rag through its front page story in the Monday 19 March edition. The bold headline jumped out at you ” NOT WRONG ” and the byline continued “PSV head : Drivers not to blame in two accidents”. It went on to inform: “Executive member of APTO’s interim committee, Morris Lee said the association had conducted its own investigations. The circumstances relating to the accidents indicate they were not acts of carelessness. One was the fault of a slick from a nearby oilfield, and the other occurred when a car tried to overtake the ZR and struck it. As such , our investigations have revealed there is no liability in those matters which can be attributed to those drivers ,” Lee said. My immediate reaction to this story was the exclamation of incredulity…”

WHAT!ย  this is a serious contempt ”; investigations in this country, as far as I am aware are conducted BY THE POLICE; innocence or guilt is proclaimed BY THE COURT. But the matters have already been decided BY THE NATION NEWSPAPER. How can justice in these circumstances be achieved? This is a small jurisdiction where everyone is already affected by prejudice of some form and the Newspaper is amplifying it a thousand fold. Certainly it is about time that the public impose the greatest possible censure on the Nation for its continuous irresponsible conduct.

Is there no public agency to which this matter may be ventilated so that some sanity can be restored to the operations of that medium of information? Will somebody please help us ?

1. @ David

But you’re too old a hand not to know that there are two sides to every legal dispute and that was precisely why I was incensed. It was an entirely one-sided programme….on the legal aspects – never mind the standard opinionating. Indeed at one point there was downright misrepresentation of what a particular treaty was about.

2. There is a clarification in todays Advocate by the Judicial managers in reference to managers report article printed in the Nation(Dirty Rag) on Mon Mar 20 2012.

3. What credibility does the Advocate have when its paucity of coverage of the CLICO matter highlights that it has compromised journalistic principles as well?

4. Imagine the Judicial Managers were given permission by the Courts to give the government an official copy in Feb 20 Court Order .

5. @Sargeant
    Good post!
    Only the most naive would consider the Nation newspaper fair and balanced. The Nation is “eagerly” supporting the BLP through its ownership, editor, chairman,legal team- all BLP.
    Harold Hoyte could call a spade a spade because his heart was in journalism. This current editor and her “columnists” seem to put “friendship” first. Unfortunately,many people in Barbados still depend on The Nation as their only source of news but selling papers is one thing, selling your journalistic integrity is another.

6. If the BLP controls the Nation and The Advocate and CBC usually support the ruling party , some BLP lackeys are hoping for an election win for total control of the media in Barbados.
    Voters, Be Warned.

7. @JUST ASKING

“DOES everyone agree with me that this article is the worse ever article in the history of articles ???………………………..

I agree with you 100%. It is as if these Dems do not want any questions asked of CLICO. People are worried about losing thier life savings and all these Dems care about is their DAMN LYING PARTY. I know they have a lot to hide but were the tables turned, heavens help us, they would be on this blog lambasting the BLP morning, noon and night. Their dead king (I will not lie, cheat or steal) who was supposed to have this great legacy has been implicated in the sordid mess and they cannot deal with it!

8. @ David

“Let us not forget that the Advocate was a visible supporter of the BLP up until the last general election date. …………………………..

And do you know why they switched their allegiance? Most people do things that are in their own interest. Apparently they were promised a TV licence by the BLP government and ever since they did not received it, the BLP is the worse thing for them. The dead king in his attempt to win elections, promised them one, have they got it yet and still they are in bed with the government because it suits their end game.

9. old onion bags Avatar

All these time wasting tactics are but just that…. to draw out matters postponing payment (if any) for the poor pensioners.Why can’t some believe that at the age of retirement( 65+) the need for money to survive is most crucial for quickly despairing folk.
    First we were kicked to the curb, by Min Health Donville, leaving us to deal with escalating costly,but ineffective drugs…all to save $ 12 million…(CBC Sunday :People and Places )…. BUT at the expense of LIFE ????
    Now to treat us members of the aged population with such scant respect while pompously parading as a gentlemen of the civics smacks of true frauds and nonentity turkey cocks.
    How long does it take to read a 34 page document….4 weeks ? Notwithstanding mention of a reply ….But as it was (is) with the Alexandra issue…at a previous post ….referred to as FINGERING…..we also now on DISPATCH…whatever that means….
    When it was first exposed that CLICO was facing problems, certain BIG UPS were given the opportune to go and get their monies FIRST before the shit hit the fan…we understand this included members of the ruling party as well ….Tell us how do you sleep at night..?..What manner of men would sit by and condoned this relegate behavior …when their present office was initiated by some of us now members of the ” lowly and depraved lot” ? Are we no more deserving than a blind beggar on the swing bridge after having the foresight to provide for ourselves during the autumn years only to be robbed by strong hard back vultures ?
    But fellow pensioners..LET THEM KNOW ..we will not let it end so……ELECTIONS coming fast and we will have our say…..we shall hit where it HURTS MOST…..D (X)…Peter shall pay for Paul make no mistake about it . Dispatch and FRIENDS……..some of YOU ..shall soon become SOME OF US…MARK OUR WORDS !!!!! BARP awaits…

10. miller to @David | March 20, 2012 at 10:08 PM |
    โ€œLet us not forget that the Advocate was a visible supporter of the BLP up until the last general election date.โ€

One of the outstanding qualities of the late PM was his astute ability to broker deals even over a bowl โ€œof-fishโ€ soup.

A promise of a licence for a TV station was offered as part compensation if support by way of free election ads was given. The BLP did not accede to an earlier similar demand from the small time make believe media mogul so a reversed Clyde Mascoll move was put in train. No station signals yet relaying from the tele dayrells air; but a 5 years guarantee of advertising revenue from the public purse would do fine for now until a similar favour is requested next time the bell is rung. If the electorate decides to stay the course with the ruling crop then a similar quid pro will be played out on the tv deal and the poker chips called in……………….

miller,
    I had not read you blog when I posted my response to David above. We both had the same info, thanks.

11. The iisue with the Nation is not over whether CLICO should be covered or not. That is a no brainer. The issue is are they reporting the facts or presnting the news with a particular slant or bias.
    People should be able to believe what they read. Many people see the sensational headline-not everyone sees the small correction that is printed.
    Present the facts but not like Sanka Price – who states that late PM Thompson should have been on top of the Supervisor of insurance but neglects to mention anything about Owen Arthur’s failings in the same article.
    This is the consistent type of one sided dribble that is coming from the nation’s writers. You are not sure now if you can beleive what you read- Many people are still looking for a letter with signatures “affixed”.
    The fact that the BLP supporters are so quick to defend the Nation should be a glaring confirmation of their biased reporting.

12. @ac
    “There is a clarification in todays Advocate by the Judicial managers in reference to managers report article printed in the Nation(Dirty Rag) on Mon Mar 20 2012″………………………………….

ac,
    You really mean to tell me that this nothing of a newspaper can now print something on this matter when it has NEVER printed anything on the report before. Wow! and you call that responsible journalism???

13. @Prodigal Son

Let us not confuse the issues. Most of us want to see justice and fair play. How would you like if injudicious comments by the PM and co were to compromise litigation efforts in the future which is sure to tag this matter? Then you would be quick to cast blame by saying the PM should have known better as an experienced lawyer.

That said BU agrees the communication on the Clico matter by the government as been lacking. Let us agree the process has been breached by the leaking of the report. The objective which you and others yearn for may not be realized because of it.

14. old onion bags Avatar

We talking about PARTISAN…well more and more BU showing its true COLORS and ONESIDENESS….one does not have to look so far as the Nation News or the Advocate….The treatment of RANDOM is a perfect example ….David | March 20, 2012 at 8:29 PM |
    Mr.Robert Ross for once I agree…

robert ross | March 21, 2012 at 2:47 AM |
    I was disappointed in your response to Random way above. She did, and very precisely, ask pertinent questions.

15. I guess some would prefer for the advocate to take the some paper route as the Nation. when so many parties are in involved in a story like CLICO it is hard to decipher FACTS from half truths .the Nation has made a decision to risk journalistic standards in favour of political milage and varifiable information.Yes indeed the public does have a right to know however we are the losers when we are being misled .The Advocate approach is suttle and should be commended until all Facts canbe verified

16. Once you rile the Dems and truthfully bring out their nastiness expect to be attacked. That is par for the course. they see no wrong in what their members do. So I say to the editor of the nation keep it up. keep the grig in the Dems . It has only just begun.

17. David of Brass Tack
    has so rightly said… the PM MUST COMMENT ON THE JM REPORT..the man is not a MUTE BUTTON…He is PM and cannot continue to avoid everything by not saying anything on matters of concern to citizens…it his job to LEAD…He MUST deal with matters in his capacity…dodging like baseball player does not cut it..He must act….Is this what they want another TERM do ..duck , run, and avoid…foolishness man!

18. @onions

You too need to come up for air.

You label BU a D and CCC labels us a B.

We must be doing something right.

19. @ David .
    The second part of the article is brought into focus by the story published in the latest edition of BARBADOS TODAY . That story paints a totally different picture from the position which the Nation presents on behalf of Mr Lee . For example , the alleged cause of the accident is being flatly contested in so far as the presence of oil on the road was concerned . In addition issues surrounding the number of passengers traveling on the bus as opposed to the number that the bus is licensed to carry have been raised . Both of these are legal considerations that can have an impact on the resolution of this matter . Whether that resolution is by litigation in the law courts or by amicable resolution the matter of evidence through investigation will be crucial . In fact it has now been made known that an accident reconstruction specialist has been brought in from overseas to advise one of the parties who have an interest in the matter. In this regard I must support the writer of the article that the Nation should tread rather more cautiously in matters where the courts may be called upon to decide and settle disputes . Responsible journalism requires nothing less .

20. @An Observer

Your observation is most acute. In light of the obvious shortcoming which the Nation report suffered concerning the minibus accident, one is left to determine motive:

1.Incompetence
    2.Sensationalism
    3.Public Relation (shadows)
    4. Combination or all of the above

21. @ David…a thought

And isn’t it also the case that, as with BU, both newspapers have those dual charges levelled at them from time to time? They are essentially ‘improvising’ and the improvisation may change with the course of time and the vagaries of the moment.

22. Observing (and observing) Avatar
    Observing (and observing)

@ !
    “The issue is are they reporting the facts or presnting the news with a particular slant or bias.”

Every media organisation does.

“in favour of political milage and varifiable information.”

They printed an extract from the report. Whether the information (3.3M, missing assets etc.) was true or not then is all at Deloitte’s.

I pick door number 4.

Also
    “That said BU agrees the communication on the Clico matter by the government as been lacking.”

Amazing thought that it wasn’t lacking in the early days. “soundly managed, in good hands, principle back, don’t panic, all is well, keep paying premiums, on solid ground, esteemable gentleman, friend and pal.” The silence is deafening.

FSC chief executive officer – “no comment”
    Sinckler – “I have not seen it” (sounds like “I do not know of any letter”)

Credibility is key. when it’s lost among leaders all is lost. Sinckler lost his. Freundel is in danger of damaging his, via AX, heads will roll and now this. CLICO is just one of a myriad of symptoms of a bigger issue which the ruling party hs to deal with. Unfortunately there may be more water in the boat than the size of the available bucket is able to toss overboard. The clock is ticking.

Does anyone have the official press release from Deloitte???

23. Another cheap shot and slanted version of how the nationand the BLP would want the electorate to view the news after all the practice of dismantaling of the story is totally up to those who write it and not to the source from which the story comes Therfore for one to blame the source is another way of blaming the messenger afterall the messenger and the message should be throughly verified before the message is sent.TRUTH should be the basis of the message and not the dismantaling of the story

24. old onion bags Avatar

Ya Know dear ac..of recently…you talking a roll.
    Wonder what will be your position when AX re-enters ?
    Call a spade a spade…and move on…didn’t we..

25. It is interesting to note David Ellis’ view on the growing perception in reaction to the lack of a communications strategy on the CLICO matter. Some of us are not alone in the view and it has nothing to do with being politically partisan.

@robert

To your thought posed earlier, you are correct of course, we all have biases.

One strategy BU has used to date is to open the blog for submissions/comments from others.

In any week more blogs are posted by others compared to the BU household.

Such an approach we hope compensates for any interest which the BU household may hold on the myriad of issues posted on.

26. David wrote “To your thought posed earlier, you are correct of course, we all have biases.”

David yuo (personally) and as owner/operator of BU has the right to run the blog as you choose.

Anyone who doesn’t like it can go fly a kite! but not by de airport doh.

27. spell checker not working for “you”. lol

28. ac,

Not too many people buy the Advocate, they employ no journalists, they wait for the talking points from George Street and download everything else from the internet.
    It has zero credibility.

29. Observing (and observing) Avatar
    Observing (and observing)

the fine for flying a kite by d airport is more than ignoring the SOI and selling potentially invalid policies! Go figure!

30. @ Old Onion Bags….you are the B’s version of a C C C.Your posts also resemble those of one Tina Roach.One and the same?

31. @ prodigal

it doesn’t matter how many people that buys or read the newspaper the TRUTH should be always the focal point of the story and not the Newspaper or the Editor who in this case is more talked about not because of fair and balanced reporting but in a most despicable attempt to mislead the reading public with its views and “rush to printing” without verified facts and information which can be misleading.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 21, 2012 at 6:42 PM |
    “…. the TRUTH should be always the focal point of the story and not the Newspaper or the Editor …..”

What is the TRUTH? Do you know the truth about the CLICO affair? Do you know how much money was donated as campaign contributions to both political parties or only the $75,000 OSA put in his bank account?

Does the same precept or principle apply to the CBC or Advocate or only to the OSA owned and controlled Nation and VOB?
    I donโ€™t expect you to respond because you have the knack of avoiding the inconvenient Truth.
    โ€œI WILL NOT LIE, CHEAT OR STEALโ€ WAS THE BIGGEST LIE EVER TOLD!!!!

33. Kaymar Jordan should be fired by now, she is irresponsible and is capable of destroying the paper. i am very disappointed of the standard it has reached, but then again was miss jordan the right person for the job, what expereince she had in print journalism at the level of managment? Experience is our wisest teacher.

i am not disappointed at the response at old onion and miller, they are so parnoid and myopic in thinking, that they must bring the politics into everything. The article is dealing with the irresponibility of the Nation.

34. “Its main rival is owned by an open supporter of the DLP and sits in the chair of one of the governmentโ€™s crucial statutory bodies”
    For 14 years of BLP government, the chairman of the Nation newspaper sat in the Senate as a government appointed senator.
    The Nation is clearly pushing a BLP agenda.- just look at the choice of columnists and not one person from the DLP can get a column in the Nation to rebut.

35. old onion bags Avatar

@HH
    You mean you come on this blog just to say that ?
    I consider it in very poor taste to be compared similar to a blurr..
    Seems you have a dislike for the text I post…..Never once however, have they been untruthful.I know the JM Report caused quite a stir and maybe a friend of yours getting plenty stick…but look man call a spade a spade. Any fool can see the EXTENDED DELAYS on any matter to do with CLICO and the poor pensioners……the reasons are also quite obvious too…. which I know you don’t want me repeat..but again be assured,everyone knows….never mind all the showboating today in the senate.
    So sorry if I am making you and yours so uncomfortable…but you see we pensioners WANT OUR MONEY and will take all opportunities available (soon will march on Parliament) to let powers that be know, we are destitute .Rather that knock..help.. we really do need it ! BARP is no country club.

36. @Onions

Trying to see the logic in your suggestion about delays. The longer the CLICO matter plays out the more political damage to the DLP.

37. The Nation has a 7 day pro BLP offensive. Here is how it goes:
    Monday – Harry Russell
    Tuesday- Tennyson Joseph
    Wednesday – Sanka Price
    Thursday – Clyde Mascoll
    Friday and Saturday – Editor : Sanka Price
    Sunday – Albert Brandford, Pat Hoyos, Peter Simmons, Ezra Alleyne

Have you ever heard any of the above columnists criticise Owen Arthur or the BLP- That is my challenge to the fellow bloggers- In the coming weeks, check if any of those columnists will ever say anything critical of the BLP.
    The ties between the above and the leaders in the opposition are deep and real. We would like to think that we are getting news but we are getting coordinated opinions portrayed as facts.

38. old onion bags Avatar

@blogger2012
    i am not disappointed at the response at old onion and miller, they are so parnoid and myopic in thinking, that they must bring the politics into everything. The article is dealing with the irresponibility of the Nation.
    For once I wish you would be honest…The jest of this post is definitely politically poised.But…. you now want to submit yours….by all means..wish however, you would do so sensibly.

39. Sanka Price – Check this out
    Sanka Price is the editor of the Saturday Sun – There is a section called Eff I wuz and Question Time:
    I have noticed that every single point raised by the opposition somehow makes it into these columns portrayed as questions from citizens.
    When the DLP was in opposition, Albert Brandford and Ezra Alleyne would constantly criticize the opposition in their columns. Now the BLP in opposition, Albert and Ezra lambasting the government and not a word to criticise the opposition from a Nation columnist.
    What is really sad is that they are so much in the echo chamber, that Kaymar Jordan and company seem to beleive that they are doing a good journalistic job.

40. old onion bags Avatar

Hint: How many months before elections? Add to the list Ax and Barrack.

41. @Onions

You have been asked to challenge the points in the submission about the slant the Nation has given to the two stories cited. Instead you elected to dismiss the submission by using a broad brush. Show how it is partisan. Show how by presenting the minibus story the way it has that it is shown to be inaccurate and skewed to being sensationalistic.

42. old onion bags Avatar

Why now I just watch CBC..CBC.CBC…. almost every politician aired on the 7.00 pm news was from the DLP……You boys cant be serious attacking the Nation?….again John public no fools….
    We had Darcy,Irie,Georgie(had on a pirate patch 2)Maxie, and of course Donvy..and this was a similar every night for the year.
    A joke posting…..Blogger2012..not to be taken seriously.

43. @miller

SOUND BITES! and HIGH DRAMA! good enough fuh yuh ! thats all dats matter! NEVER MIND THE FACTS!

44. St George's Dragon Avatar

Availability of information and analysis by the press is a key contribution to the checks and balances of a functioning society.
    Barbados needs a paper which tries to expose wrongdoing.
    The Nation can be sensational but it is the only newspaper in Barbados which does anything to uncover real news stories.
    The Advocate is a joke. It prints press releases from Government and private companies verbatim. No critical analysis; no thought.
    The forensic report on Clico must be one of the most important news issues in Barbados but I don’t believe the Advocate has mentioned it at all.
    I find this post hypocritical. The Nation must check that all the facts they publish are 100% true? Meanwhile, the author of this post can post anything they like on BU.

45. old onion bags Avatar

Admit it..you post this article RIGHT ?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | March 21, 2012 at 8:05 PM |

Did you hear how D B the marina wharf rat tried to dismiss Senator Cave’s concerns about Barbados’ rising national debt? The bullshit artist stated that if you take away this and deduct that and make allowances for both you would end up with a 50% reduction of the national debt.
    Now ole onions, we know that you know a little bit of public finance so explain where the 50% debt reduction not paid back would end up or disappear to. In the marina basin or the Careenage sink hole? One would expect this kind of sh*te talk from the Physical Deficit Ince boy. But from a so called economist and accountant beggars beyond belief! The only way you can get rid of debt is by paying it back or by declaring insolvency and Court sanctioned bankruptcy. Now this is the same man that accused the BLP of all sorts of โ€˜off balance sheetโ€™ financing strategies and creative accounting techniques; yet by waving a magic finger already stained from being caught in the marina redesign cookie jar and 50% of the countryโ€™s debt would disappear into thin air.

47. What is interesting is that many are saying this submission is hypocritical without challenging any of the specific points raised.

About articles posted by BU, which articles are being challenged as untrue?

Stop the generalizations.

If one has to be critical do so in a way which allows for reasonable discussion on the specifics.

48. Also it is known to those who are honest about it that the Nation editorial department is split down the centre when it comes to political leaning.

Why bother, it suits each political party to play the public and we lap it up every time.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 21, 2012 at 8:14 PM |
    ” ….@miller:SOUND BITES! and HIGH DRAMA! good enough fuh yuh ! thats all dats matter! NEVER MIND THE FACTS!..”

So ac, it’s Ok when I take a turn in the likes of June the Fool but when it comes to your fumbling boy no can do. Just remember men who fumble tend to suffer from Onanism leaving people like you very frustrated.
    What facts? That his slug man of pal is not a leper. Notice how Leroy’s previously confessed friends have ditched their buddy out of sheer electoral convenience. Now those are really fair weather cocky friends indeed!

50. Can anyone say what is the criteria for dishing out legal work by the government?

Is it an arbitrary decision or is there a protocol?