Nearly two weeks have passed since the BSTU instituted action against the principal of the Alexandra School Jeff Broome. Up to late yesterday [14 Jan 2012] there appeared to be no resolution to the matter. A meeting held under the chairmanship of Minister of Education Ronald Jones only served to proved BU’s position, management systems in Barbados have become seriously compromised as a result of incestuous practices by stakeholders.
It is clear the BSTU Executive believes so strongly in their cause that they are prepared to disrupt the relatively calm industrial relations climate in Barbados even if the children have to be made to suffer in the process. Their position is further demonstrated by a deliberate move away from following ‘normal’ grievance procedure. Regrettably the matter is deliberately being waged in the court of public opinion. While there are advantages to enticing public support sometimes, it should be done based on the full facts of the matter being revealed. It is evident that the cause of the industrial action by the BSTU is as a result of grievances which have been poorly managed over the years and left to fester. The speech day incident appears to be the straw which broke the camel’s back.
If we are to believe the underground chatter there is more to the mortar than the pestle. If local media intends to give honest coverage to this matter the public deserves to be seized of relevant information. If this is not possible because of legal considerations then the honourable thing is to avoid inflammatory reports like those we have been reading in the NATION for the past week.
Two peripheral issues created by the Alexandra matter, the roles of the Chief Personnel Officer (CPO) and the ailing General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) need to be given more public scrutiny.
The role of the CPO has not been given a lot of airplay except by Caswell on the blog Alexandra School Impasse: A Massive Failure Of Public Service Administration. Most public opinion has followed a predictable political discourse by calling for the head of the minister of education. We can agree however that the office of MOE should have been used to exert more pressure on the parties to clean up their act. We have already discussed how incestuous relationships affect how we do business as a country and here is a classic case.
The other matter is the role of Dennis Clarke, NUPW’s general secretary reported to be on leave until May because he is recovering from haemorrhagic fever. Although not unprecedented it is unusual the NUPW would seek to represent management [Broomes] in a matter against labour [teachers]. It is even more unusual that a senior principal in the union [Clarke] currently on sick leave would seek to undermine the person [Smith] appointed to act in the position. Again if BU chatter is correct the council of the NUPW has not met to approve the decision taken by Clarke. What is going on at the NUPW anyway? Is the membership not aware of how union business is being managed?
On the sidelines looking in what is a public ignorant and starved of the facts suppose to think or say? The time has come for Barbadians to wake up and fully appreciate how they are being ‘played’ by the many interest groups which run things in Barbados.

301 responses to “The Alexandra Matter: The Role Of The CPO and NUPW”
I am also a little surprised to see Mr. Dennis Clarke up and about in a work role, while reportedly he is off sick for the next few months. As Mr. Maloney has been speaking on this issue in the media, I am wondering if the information regarding Mr. Broomes could not have been given to him or the Acting General Secretary, rather than having the circumstance of Mr. Clarke seemingly being forced, or putting himself, into coming out to represent Mr. Broomes.
Regardless of who gave copies of those letters from Mr. Broomes to Mrs. Greaves, and the Chief Education Officer, which appeared in the Nation Newspaper today, the questions which need to be answered are first, what was the response, if any, of the Chief Education Officer to Mr. Broomes, and second, why did Ms. Greaves allegedly feel she was justified in depriving fourth form students at Alexandra of tuition in chemistry even if she felt the Principal was unreasonable or wrong in how he handled staffing matters in her department especially if she continued to be paid to teach during that time.
Seriously, is this an issue now?
One would think that children do not get beat in other schools across the island.
Because the TRUTH is that if a lodge man puts out his errant wife, not a fella, not one of his lodge buddies will move ito his house to help him raise his many, many children.
No man that is too much like real hard work.
Raising children is not easy going like sitting in a room chanting, eating and drinking.
It requires WORK.
Oh shoot, work is a 4 letter word ain’t it?
No wonder NONE of the lodge buddies turned up. The didn’t send thier wives or daughters either.
Why are we beating our children?
Yes this is an issue.
Teachers should not be beating our children.
We as parents should not be beating our children either.
If you want I can discuss it with you at LENGTH!!!!!!!!!
@Random
Your last three submissions…true rantings of a lunatically effected soul
maybe a lodge boy right ?
@Caswell
“if you want to dock pay, dock Broomes”
I now know why you are a lonely londener -too blasted ignorant. No one wants you so you have to sit on the fence and talk shit.
just Asking
I’m very aware of the situation at AX, therefore I’ve been JUST ASKING about the relationship of the teacher and the senior officer. This has been cleared up but someone tried to deny, it had anything to do with the MOE’s refusal to discilinbe the teacher. Now, I,m totally in agreement with you, this is still Barbados and they all hold close together. Maybe the only way out is to offer Mr Broomes a golden handshake and retire him. However, the issue with the disgruntled teachers and the students are of paramount importance, some of those teachers, especially the ones who discredited the student publicly MUST be removed from the school.Mrs Greaves should also be retired with her normal graturity and count herself lucky for not being FIRED. Finally steps MUST be taken to protect the remaining schools’ principals, by tightening the laws governing industrial relations. I’m sure if this was H.C the matter would have been resolved LONG TIME.
If you carefully read the Ricky Jordan article in the Sunday Sun, you should be able to conclude that Broomes was trying to make work for at least two other persons. It would appear that Broomes created a subject called Diet and Healthy Lifestyles in order to justify keeping people employed. I came to those conclusion from reading the article, but I had difficulty believing that a principal would have been so silly so I contacted a teacher from Alexandra who confirmed my suspicions. I am informed that there is no syllabus for the subject and that the children spend time doing cross words. Further I am informed that the male teacher who benefits from Broomes’s curriculum change is his wife’s nephew. Could someone verify that for me? If it is so I would have much more to say on that subject.
It is amazing how uncritical persons can become when once they have resorted to giving uncritical support to one side in a dispute. I read those letters that were published in the Nation today ; I also saw a rebuttal of the charges made therein by Mr Broomes . Those rebuttals would automatically convey the view that Broomes is untruthful but has used a privileged position to make a preemptive strike against the teacher Mrs Greaves. It is instructive to note that Mrs Greaves has remained silent so far; the word out is that she has taken preliminary steps towards seeking the protection of the Law Courts for the vicious calumny.
of particular interest too is that Minister Jones has admitted what a bind he has found himself in while trying to find a solution ;HE HAS STOPPED SHORT OF ASKING THE ALEXANDRA TEACHERS TO RETURN TO SCHOOL . This should be a clear indication to all interested parties that the Minister recognises and accepts that the environment at the school CANNOT have those teachers AND Broomes present in a working situation AT THE SAME TIME. So the industrial action continues.
The contributions on this matter have turned up a mixture of objective comment and downright obscene shouting-off . But if we are interested in solutions to problems we must eschew every temptation at getting ourselves embroiled in invective.
I have said in another post that the Public Service Commission must act NOW. If the teachers are to return to the classroom , Mr Broomes has to be taken away from that school. This can be done through the process of conducting a full-scale inquiry into the impasse and sending Broomes on leave ,with his full entitlements ,while the inquiry is being conducted. This would not be an unusual or illegal step.
The public should also be wary of the wide-scale publicity being given to the so called resolution / petition supposedly signed by the students. Those of us who have taught know that students are easily and often taken over by mass hysteria; it would be a great surprise to me if 25 % of those same students were able to accurately relate to you the contents of that said resolution / petition . In addition , it is clear that Broomes has worked on the impressionable minds of the young students in order to whip up support.
As a final observation, i will simply repeat what I have said before.. TROUBLE has found Broomes at St Lucy, St James, St Michael , the BCA, and Alexandra. Who then would appear to be the culprit ,TROUBLE , or BROOMES ? I REST MY CASE.
“a subject called Diet and Healthy Lifestyles”
given the health issues Bajans face it seems like a good idea.
only you Scout would come up with that ridiculous solution that covers a myriad of Mr. broomes long past ambigiuos History. Can you see That because of MR. Broomes trhat there is a problem. Amanda to her credit had the “Balls” to stand up to his style or lack of management. She did not cow tongue to his outrageous demands and now she is being vilified.Barbados needs more Amandas who can stand up to the corruption that permeates this society. Tell me how is it right for mr. Broomes to put unqualified teachers to teach our children. People are always talking about substandard this and that but seem willing to settle for substandard education and this it what all sums up Amanda argument.
@Caswell
Do two wrongs make a right? Or provide cause for an island wide shut down and unmovable negotiating position?
Given all that is being suggested about what has happened under Broomes watch which has created a toxic teaching environment at AX, what does it say about the position the Secondary Principals Association has taken?
The ugly question should be how is the situation at AX being played out across our school system today?
What happen at AX is not new . The only thing new is that what once was a whisper has become a chorus and those who are supporting MR. Broomes have also been vocal about the way the big ups bring in their unqualified family and friends to do jobs while the qualified person is shown the door. Now that their is an opportunity to stop the connection there are those who are being swayed by the theory that the Amanda is wrong for not teaching when right before your very eyes as stated in the letter her brief was against the fact that an unqualified peer was given a job that he was not prepared for..God some people can’t see the forest for the trees.
This one is a real confuse one with battle lines drawn and ready for all out war.Also a test for the PM’s stewardship as it strikes me as everyone doing what they feel is right as they don’t see anyone that can tell them otherwise or to back down.With people getting in behind different opposing camps it’s beginning to look like a prelude to the general elections.There is a lot of B & D going on here.Manipulation is taking place to create instability.That was no accident at CBC the other night.
For the PM,the DLP and the Country, night is running until day catch it.In all fairness to the people of Barbados they should be allowed to have a say in who should lead them at this juncture. The present leader should have a mandate from the people. The people should not have to go around saying ‘I don’t know bout he… I ain’t vote for he.” and having to limp from one crisis to the next until election day.
The confusion now start.
It says that they are acting based on procedure and regulations. Everyone has mixed up all the separate issue and attempted to remain blameless for their part in them. There’s no right or wrong here any more, no winner or loser. The best of the worst options have to be taken and damage control done.
I asked a question on an earlier blog regarding withdrawal of labour and stating an absolute ultimatum as a means of dispute resolution. No one has answered that yet so I’ll try another one. Can anyone explain how the MEHRD or Civil Service can legally and procedurally remove Broome from Alexandra without his consent and agreement…”forthwith”?
How could any right thinking unbiased person conclude that the solution to this could be to be rid of Mr. Broomes? Truly the BIBLE must be fufilled; Right is now wrong and wrong is right! After reading Sunday Sun Barbados now understands why this teacher had the temerity to act as alledgedly reported in defiance. This whole thing is about EGO? We were held to ransom for this? SHAME on all who participated.
@Observing
You have answered your question several fold.
A cooling off period must be created and in the circumstances it is more practical to remove the ‘leader’ who is NOT getting his charges to follow at the moment.
Well ! Well ! Well! Two letters blew off the back of a truck travelling somewhere between AX School and the Nation newspaper,and the brisk tradewinds fueled by a massive High Pressure system centred in the mid atlantic ,blew them straight into the Nation’s Offices.,and NOW ALL OF BDOS finally knows the TRUTH ! In the Civil Service,one doesn’t disobey their Superiors Orders,they do them as long as they are reasonable,under PROTEST.Before I was backing Broomes 100%,now I am backing him 200%.The topic should now be ‘the separation of Mrs.Greaves from the Civil Service’,and we all know NOW,that ain’t going to happen,and Broomes CANNOT be removed either,unless he AGREES…So what do we do,…transfer the 30 teachers to Schools around the Island.Now ,if that teacher is neither disiplined or fired,then that would mean that ANY other individual in the Teaching Service CAN do the SAME thing,i.e, refused to teach for a whole term,and still go to the ATM every pay day and withdraw his/her’s salary,and don’t give a damn about the Principal or the MOE.
Read that Mr.Jones stated that the PM might be able to used his Office to bring an end to the situation.Mr.Jones,ALL of BDOS need a solution NOW ! He would only dilly dally and come up a nonsensical solution at the beginning of the next Michaelmas term.
O.K all you who are clamouring for Mr Broomes “separation” from the school? who will replace him? Mrs Greaves? Ans: NO WAY. Must it be an ex AX student? Ans: NO WAY. Could it be another man? Ans: He would get the same treatment as Mr Broomes. Must it be a woman? Ans that depends on if the disgruntled teachers approve. The million dollars question then is, If none of the above,who would want to put their career on the line to become principal of AX? Ans; We don’t know. Conclusion. Then how can or should you get rid of the ONLY MAN who can bring back some respectability to the AX? Who is airmarked to replace Mr Broomes?
I seems as though Minister Ronald Jones succumbed to the calls for him to intervened and only made himself look silly. His job is to provide leadership, not react because there are calls from a section of the community to do the wrong thing. Mr. Jones is a former president of the Barbados Union of Teachers and it would appear that he learned nothing while occupying that position. Firstly, he must know or ought to know that the teachers at Alexandra School have no confidence in him. They accuse him of deceiving them when Broomes’s moon was full the last time. The teachers claim that Jones made certain promises to them to resolve the matter and when they went back to work, he did nothing. They don’t want to be bitten twice by the same minister.
Secondly, Jones must know or ought to know that the ill-advised meeting that he convened was really the role of the Chief Labour Officer. He should have instructed his permanent secretary to refer the matter to the Labour Department. It would appear that Government does not have respect for the institutions of the State.
The Labour Department Act, Cap 23 states, in part, at section 3:
It shall be the duty of the Chief Labour Officer –
(a) to receive and investigate all representations whether of employers or of employees, made to him concerning any business, trade, occupation, or other employment with a view to settlement of disputes and grievances and to conciliation especially regarding hours and conditions of work and regulation of wages and to report thereon to the Minister.
Now that the Minister has failed are they going to send it back down to the Chief Labour Officer. Even though I do not agree with the view being espoused by Dennis Clarke and the Ministry of Education that the BSTU did not follow the procedure, Can I ask if the Minister followed the procedure? Maybe the Permanent Secretary should have advised the minister, which is his duty and not seek to instruct the BSTU on correct industrial relations procedures which is not his duty. If the Ministry had referred the matter to the Labour Department, I do not see the BSTU being so disrespectful of the Chief Labout Officer as to refuse his invitation for conciliation. I understand that Mr. Burnett is back so at least we would have had someone who knows what he is doing in terms of dispute resolution. Sadly, the politicians like to get the glory, but this time it backfired.
ac Do you think Mrs Greaves is the only teacher who is dis-satified with the form they are assigned to teach? What should the others do, follow the example of Mrs Greaves? I know we are heading for anarchy in this country, everyone is a “boss” with thei own rules. Then we want to teach children conflict resolution!!!!!!!!!!!!1. Young people LAUGHING AT WE>
What is the representative for St. Peter saying about this matter? Why don’t they ask him to help resolve this dispute? He has a vested interest in the imbroglio: The School is in his constituency, many of those intimately involved including the parents are constituents in his riding and will certainly be voting in the next election; he knows many of them personally and has been known to resolve a few Industrial disputes in his time.
If they can’t find common ground, he can always take them out o the woodshed.
Nationnews:
Greaves also says in the document that she was on a term’s leave in Term 2 of 2010-2011 and expected that upon her return in Term 3 that she would have returned to her Term 1 timetable. “But the principal informed me that he was reassigning [the female teacher] to teach part of the timetable of Mrs Greaves, that he would use [the male teacher] to teach other parts, and that he was asking me to teach [the male teacher’s] fourth year chemistry class.”
According to the report in the article of the Sunday Sun, Greaves thought she was being replaced by unqualified teachers.
“it is more practical to remove the ‘leader’ who is NOT getting his charges to follow at the moment.”
the questions still begs… how within the confines of the law?
The FULL truth of this matter is still to be disclosed, the MOE is stuck between a VERY hard rock and a VERY HARD place. They only hope is that some-one can convince Mr Broomes that he should step down, with obviously a tangible sum of money. Failing to do this and this case goes to Court, too much will be revealed and a lot of heads will roll, at all levels of the education and government system. This lady has thrown many spokes in many wheels and a lot of people will fail. This has nothing to do with partisan politics, it goes deeper than that. I would sit back and watch this unfold, God help all the players in this movie
Scout @ 5:20. Are you the same Scout who posted earlier? Correct me if I’m wrong, but have you had a change of heart?? Did I miss something?
Scout @ 5:20
have you had a change of heart??? Are you the same Scout? Did I miss something?
Sargeant
Leave Mr. Arthur out of this: it is his administration that sowed the seeds of this conflict by interferring in the Public Service. Some of you would recall that Broomes was a teacher at St. Lucy Secondary. He had to be separated from that institution and they promoted him to Deputy Principal at St. James. Then came another forced separation and he was sent to the St. Michael’s School. As usual someone picked on Broomes again and for peace there was another forced separation to Alexandra being promoted to principal in the process. I seem to remember that they were finding it hard to place Broomes and the Chairman, Alvin Burgess, who was also CEO of the BLP was persuaded to hire Broomes.
It would appear that Broomes was promoted twice to alleviate conflict. I am not in his head but it is reasonable to infer that Broomes created this impasse to benefit from another conflict promotion to the then vacant post of Chief Education Officer, since it is my understanding that he was interviewed for that post.
Someone asked about removing Broomes without his consent. As I understand it, Broomes cannot be transferred without his consent but he can be placed on special leave while an investigation is being conducted into the affairs at the school.
@Caswell
Your bias is unmistakeable and your choice of questions/comments to respond to quite convenient. Maybe the BSTU should learn a bit from you about picking battles and effective selective disclosure.
@Scout
“it goes deeper than that. I would sit back and watch this unfold, God help all the players in this movie”
I’ve been saying this now for days. If only others truly wanted to understand its national gravity instead of simply picking sides, the discussion may be more constructive and instructive,
Here is another comment via email which gives another slant on the issue:
A read of Sir Roy’s statement will show that at no time did he speak to any of the specific issues that the BSTU are using as cause for withdrawing labour and calling for Broomes’ head. Actually, I’m still unsure as to if he simply supports the union’s case, or also supports the union’s ultimatum for Broomes’ separation. Stranger still is CTUSAB’s attempt to remain neutral in their statements. Everyone has an agenda in this conflict. Our children and an institution continue to suffer.
@Observing
Agree with you that for the BSTU to move the matter to ADR and withhold labour immediately merits explanation.
An arms distance view is that the work environment at AX had become untenable and the union who should be privy to all the info wanted to bring it to a head.
Could the manoeuvrings have anything to do with the idea that they want it resolved before an anticipated change in government 🙂
Quoting Scout at 5:20 p.m. “Failing to do this and this case goes to Court, too much will be revealed and a lot of heads will roll, at all levels of the education and government system.”
If the case needs t go to court, I say let it. Sometimes the courts are the ONLY place where difficult issues can be resolved.
You say too much will be revealed. I say THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS TOO MUCH TRUTH. I say that these things are better done in the bright daylight of the courts.
Way too much happens in the back rooms of lodges away from the daylight and we the taxpayers end up paying for nonsense.
If government and education heads need to roll, I say LET THEM ROLL.
The manoeuvrings are more a case of knowing how the law and our systems of government work; knowing that the individual cases are weak (and even collectively still don’t justify the call for separation); recognising that it has to be “all or nothing” and very quickly if they are going to get any satisfaction without more major fallout. What they should have done though is come with an almost air tight, explainable case that the public could at least swallow, even if they didn’t like the taste, and then move forward with gusto. Instead we have the mess that has obtained. The BSTU gambled badly, changed course out of opportunism and now holding the entire process to ransom because they know they can’t allow anything else to happen. Integrity, credibility, history and future leverage are at stake. Look at where their stated “policies” are coming from. Certainly not Redman. She’s just the mouthpiece, and not even a good one at that. Dig a little deeper and further to see why Sir Roy was so quick to jump on this bandwagon too…Actually, it was his support that emboldened the BSTU to dig in and not budge, believing that they have the national support of the BWU’s workers. Again, a bad gamble that could backfire in unimaginable ways. You really think Sir Roy is privy to all the facts in this case?… sigh, the comedy (tragedy) continues.
Caswell Franklyn “Broomes cannot be transferred without his consent but he can be placed on special leave while an investigation is being conducted into the affairs at the school.”
That should have been done long ago.
@Random Thoughts
uh gotta admit doh, you real random fa trute.
@Hants and Caswell
What is the trigger or infraction that justifies special leave in the Public Service? Which Act speaks to it? And what documentary evidence would you need to justify it without invoking a lawsuit of mammoth proportions?
Let me ask another unemotional question. For those that believe Broomes should be removed for the reasons stated (breaching the code, management practices etc.)…would you be comfortable with having Mrs. Greaves removed as well at the same time for (allegedly) breaching the code, management and communication (or lack of) practices etc.??? Even if it simply to “conduct an investigation?”
minister Jones in a recent article stated that in 2010 He intervened and there was some resolution. and some calm .however he goes on to say maybe it was a calm that was beguiling because under the calm there was something bubbling of the volcano which has erupted. How can Minister Jones after his intervention not follow up on wether the conditions and terms were met by the parties involved. now it behooves me to think that since he was a party to past grievances how could He have sat back and not know what is happening ?
@Observing
Yes to removing Greaves as well pending an investigation.
DONT you know that both Dennis Clarke and Leroy Trotman have errred in this matter and both of them should pack up and go home, in the case of Clarke — stay home ???
DONT you know that all the Union Leaders except the BUT have erred on this matter ??
DONT you know that I prefer to work with men and not women ?
DONT you know that female teachers in this country are largely responsible for the deterioration in the schools?
DONT you know that a man would have reacted differently to this situation and would not have take an extreme position ?
DONT YOU KNOW THAT THE ONLY SOLUTION NOW IS TO SEPARATE THAT TRAITOR OF A TEACHER WHO REFUSED TO TEACH THE CHILDREN NOT ONLY THEN BUT FOR THE LAST TWO WEEKS , SEPARATE SHE AND HER FRIENDS FROM THE SCHOOL AND ALLOW JEFF BROOMES TO CONTINUE HIS ‘GOOD WORK’???
DONT you know that Caswell seem to be eating humble pie ?????
DONT you know that only females would be so adamant about their positions not willing to compromise or be flexible ???
DONT you know that that is why lesbians does be so violent ?????
DONT you know that all along commonsense told you that their position was too extreme and that they were trying to cover something that would have remained covered if they had succeeded in getting rid of Broomes ????
DONT you know that I real vex that this situation have wasted our time disadvantaged the children and inconvenienced many people over fooolishness???
WHY is it that you can discipline or evn reprimand a worker especially women who take everything personal ??????
@Just asking
Don’t you know you are talking a whole bunch of SH….t !
You’ve earned my continued respect. I’m tempted to wager how many others who support the BSTU will answer this question honestly.
@Observing
Special leave with full pay could also be given to Mrs.Greaves pending the outcome of a proper investigation.
Broomes should also get full pay until the issue is resolved.
Oh boy, not only is MOE’S underwear showing, it has a big hole in the crotch.
@ i Wonder,
It probably went like this:
“But Mr. Broomes, this teacher from my Science Department does not have the requisite qualifications or experience to teach the fifth year CXC class”
Wha I ain’t care if he got qualifications or not. I send he in your Department. I is de Principal so get out my so and so office, and stop “pimping bout behind people”.
understood. The powers that be would have to ensure the stated reasons for placing on special leave fall within the law and have enough evidence to justify it, else a dangerous precedent with future implications would have been set. This sounds like the most reasonable solution to the mess honestly. Question is, will BSTU sacrifice their member of two years standing (yip, two years would ya believe it?) and Public Relations Officer to be sent on special leave?
Quoting Scout “with obviously a tangible sum of money.”
And where is money going to come from?
Another question for BSTU supporters. In what capacity is Patrick Frost speaking when he states (or dictates) public policy, action and explanation on behalf of the union? President? General Secretary? Honourary Member? Concerned citizen?