Dennis Clarke, General Secretary (l) Walter Maloney, President (r) NUPW 'Big Boys'

Nearly two weeks have passed since the BSTU instituted action against the principal of the Alexandra School Jeff Broome. Up to late yesterday [14 Jan 2012] there appeared to be no resolution to the matter. A meeting held under the chairmanship of Minister of Education Ronald Jones only served to proved BU’s position, management systems in Barbados have become seriously compromised as a result of incestuous practices by  stakeholders.

It is clear the BSTU Executive believes so strongly in their cause that they are prepared to disrupt the relatively calm industrial relations climate in Barbados even if the children have to be made to suffer in the process. Their position is further demonstrated by a deliberate move away from following ‘normal’ grievance procedure. Regrettably the matter is deliberately being waged in the court of public opinion. While there are advantages to enticing public support sometimes, it should be done based on the full facts of the matter being revealed. It is evident that the cause of the industrial action by the BSTU is as a result of grievances which have been poorly managed over the years and left to fester. The speech day incident appears to be the straw which broke the camel’s back.

If we are to believe the underground chatter there is more to the mortar than the pestle. If local media intends to give honest coverage to this matter the public deserves to be seized of relevant information. If this is not possible because of legal considerations then the honourable thing is to avoid inflammatory reports like those we have been reading in the NATION for the past week.

Two peripheral issues created by the Alexandra matter, the roles of the Chief Personnel Officer (CPO)  and the ailing General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) need to be given more public scrutiny.

The role of the CPO has not been given a lot of airplay except by Caswell on the blog  Alexandra School Impasse: A Massive Failure Of Public Service Administration. Most public opinion has followed a predictable political discourse by calling for the head of the minister of education. We can agree however that the office of MOE should have been used to exert more pressure on the parties to clean up their act. We have already discussed how incestuous relationships affect how we do business as a country and here is a classic case.

The other matter is the role of Dennis Clarke, NUPW’s general secretary reported to be on leave until May because he is recovering from haemorrhagic fever. Although not unprecedented it is unusual the NUPW would seek to represent management [Broomes] in a matter against labour [teachers]. It is even more unusual that a senior principal in the union [Clarke] currently on sick leave would seek to undermine the person [Smith] appointed to act in the position. Again if BU chatter is correct the council of the NUPW has not met to approve the decision taken by Clarke. What is going on at the NUPW anyway? Is the membership not aware of how union business is being managed?

On the sidelines looking in what is a public ignorant and starved of the facts  suppose to think or say? The time has come for Barbadians to wake up and fully appreciate how they are being ‘played’ by the many interest groups which run things in Barbados.

301 responses to “The Alexandra Matter: The Role Of The CPO and NUPW”

1. … put me on special leave with full pay as well.

2. @ observing
    How can anyone answer those questions without knowing the rules or laws which govern them. Afterall Mrs, Greaves is on strike?

3. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Just Asking at 6:20 p.m. “DONT you know that that is why lesbians does be so violent ?????”

It is a LIE to state that lesbiand are so violent.

In Barbdos as in the rest of the world, the most violent people are YOUNG HETEROSEXUAL MEN.

And I invite anybody who has contrary evidence to place it here.

Ain’t most of the people in Dodds for both violent and non-voiolent offenses MEN.

4. The Sunday Sun has painted a picture where a head of department goes on vacation, and on returning is told that a junior member of staff now has her position. If that is not bad enough, the head of department is then asked to teach the students the junior member thought. To make things even worse, the head of department is further replaced by another junior member of staff who does not have the relevant qualifications.

Surely these aren’t the facts. No one would threat they head of department in this manner. I will therefore wait on the facts in this case.

5. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting JUst Asking “THE ONLY SOLUTION NOW IS TO SEPARATE THAT TRAITOR OF A TEACHER WHO REFUSED TO TEACH THE CHILDREN”

Just Asking don’t we use the word traitor much too easily?

6. apologies, the head of department was on a term’s leave and not a vacation as i said earlier.

7. oh dear: unbelievable
    Someone has gotten Freundel to speak.
    Mary-Ann Redman is a magician. she got Freundel to speak!

8. @ac
    “How can anyone answer those questions without knowing the rules or laws which govern them. ”

oh, but we’ve done a great job of making comments, stating opinions and spouting arguments for the past week without knowing the rules or laws.

9. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Caswell at 5:32 p.m. “As usual someone picked on Broomes again and for peace there was another forced separation”

Man Caswell all these people just have to stop picking on Broomes and all will be well in the industrial relations climate of Barbados.

LOL!! LOL!! LOL!! LOL!! LOL!! LOL!! LOL!! LOL!! LOL!! LOL!! LOL!!

ROFLMFAO

10. The PM has spoken “It shouldn’t be about the contest for manhood and womanhood between adults. A word to the wise is enough,” he stressed.

11. Hants; He also seems to be suggesting that he is firmly on the BSTU’s side of this matter in his almost unique style. If that is so we are in for a long ride before this matter is settled.

Aside; I saw someone in the audience (no congregation) who would be a very good arbitrator in this matter as he could bring considerable negotiating, political and other experience to bear on the matter, Evelyn Greaves. AFAIK he hasn’t come down on any side in this matter and he has been out of the firing line for many years. He would be a good choice for an arbitrator when and if the current politicos can’t break the deadlock, with the added factor that if he is successful it could be spun as a feather in the cap of the DLP.

12. @ Checkit-Out
    Very interesting Checkit -Out, I haven’t heard him speak. Would appreciate it if you could explain why you think he’s on BSTU’s side.

13. Jokers all…..
    It is notable that the least explored approach seem to be what is the LAWFUL and RIGHT thing to do….

@ David, Your fixation with what is EXPEDIENT or EASIER to accomplish is disappointing…..it is so …….ac!!!

Bush Tea exposed the OBVIOUS mess that calls itself ‘education’ in Barbados years ago….now that the stuff has hit the fan, everyone sounding surprised and spouting nonsense.

The same brilliant people who have been cursing the PM for being ”easy-going’ and not offending anyone, now want him to fire Broomes for being an assertive manager who is not willing to let teachers under his charge do ‘as they like’.

@ Caswell
    You are one of the biggest casualties of this fiasco. Bushie REALLY thought that you had matured in the past ten years but….

Keep up the good work.
    You continue to align yourself with the wrong side of every issue – making it dead easy to know what is the wrong side… You are the kind of woman who would cause Bushie to head for the desert….

@ Observing
    where ignorance is bliss…

14. @Everybody

Think problems fermenting @ AX only…….

Wait till the Ellerslie BOMB EXPOLODE

Sumbody @ the TOP got sumbody @ EL pregnant.

Deal wid dat nxt ……I waiting

15. @observing
    Your question in all honesty does require a Yes or NO but making a comment pertaining to a persons history is opened for debate. Wheras not true with your poised “TRICK QUESTIONS’

16. @Bush Tea

What is described as being expedient by you is accepted as being pragmatic by others.

We are battling in a system which has a defect yet you expect to deal with a component in said system how again?

17. @Bush Tea
    Your comments are in breach of BU’s code of conduct. How dare you “insiult” me in a public forum. David, I insist that you searate Bush Tea or else I will withdraw my comments indefinitely and get my friends on other blogs to do the same. Btw, this is not a grievance so don’t send me to de comments policy section. I expect a response in 24 minutes or else!

18. @Observing

BU regrets to inform the matter will have to be kicked upstairs.

19. @Ms. Greaves

Seems like you got money coming if they wrong you…… thru the Law courts…
    A tidy sum I will add….

20. @BUSH TEA

Looks like it might have got you to “SEPARATE” yourself from society.

21. Independent; In response to my post above that suggested that FS had entered the fray and seemed to be on the side of the BSTU, You asked;
    I haven’t heard him speak. Would appreciate it if you could explain why you think he’s on BSTU’s side.

He started out by indicating that he would not do anything to be compared with Margaret Thatcher as someone who had done something to cause harm to a union. ie. as I see it, Don’t look for him to go against the BSTU.

He also indicated that he had practiced criminal law for sometime and had learned that if a criminal had committed a number of illegal acts over a period of time, the time would come when something drastic would have to be done and then indicated that that time was now. He was ready to take action. He was surely not suggesting that the BSTU could be equated in any way with serial negative acts.

That is, as far as I can recall, the gist of what he said. The actual words might have contained some caveats.

22. @Caswell

My comments were tongue in cheek as he has been noticeably silent on the matter which one would have thought was prime fodder for political gamesmanship.

There are some other schools with the same profile as Alexandra and these conflagrations haven’t been part of everyday debate so one can reasonably conclude that one of the following statements is true.

1) All the bad apples ( teachers) teach at Alexandra
    2) The Principal is a self promoting egotist whose intransigence has led the school community to the most recent stand off.

23. WHAT kinda Prime Minister we got in Barbados though ???
    WHA’ Stuart really is though ???
    WHA um is he doing though ???
    WHERE the heads that gwine rolll????
    WERE THE HEADS THAT ROLL ON THE COIN USED BY THE CAPTAIN OF THE BARBADOS T20 TEAM WHEN HE SPIN THE TOSS ????
    WHYis Stuart still Prime Minister of Barbados?
    WHY WHY WHY
    WHY RASSHOLE WHY ????????

24. @ Checkit-Out
    Thanks for the info, this will be a very interesting week.

25. David
    There are many ways to deal with such a situation. However, the CORRECT way is the one that sends the right messages to everyone involved – and that includes now, thousands of our children, to whom the clear message MUST be that this country stands for PRINCIPLE (and in this issue, that is also PRINCIPAL) lol

The message to teachers and employees must be that if paid to do a job, they are to do that job and that there can be no guarantee that the boss will be a sweetbread.

The message to bosses must be that their authority is to be used to improve efficiency and that the days of might being right are gone

To Government the message must surely be that the MOE is a waste of time and money. Time to scrap the whole extinct animal.

To ac, the message is clear …. She wrong as usual.

@ Observing
    Bring it on…. LOL. Although Bushie was tossing you a compliment…

@ ac
    You mean that you have not deduced already that Bushie is ALREADY separate from society….MUST YOU ALWAYS be slow and wrong…? LOL

26. @Bushie
    Thanks and I know. Just needed a break from the “adolescent display of machismo”. Freundel does kill muh.

Like you though I sincerely hope the right message is sent. Else we will feel the repercussions for years and governments to come.

@old onion bags
    Didn’t the Lord say to be fruitful and multiply???

@all
    This is recent opportunity number 2 for Stuart to truly show “real leadership” under duress. He missed the first one (11 times) , let’s see how he tackles this one.

Night night.

27. maliv ankopon (mrs) Avatar
    maliv ankopon (mrs)

ok round 3-deadlock;everybody holding blows-the affected unions, their supporters, the head and his supporters, the MOE trying to appear impartial when the affected teacher is connected to their machinery. wuh loss what a “kadooment”/”commess”/bacchanal. it is like a standpipe fight.the head bring a three legged man to bat fuh he- a man who really and truly shouldn’t be there. the minister admit it like a albatross round he neck.he thought the problem would go away by ignoring it.he introduces red herrings like the unions are divided.that is not the issue here. the issue is the irretrievable breakdown between the teachers and the head of AX. then he talks about not being able to speak for the BUT.he cant speak for any union and he shouldn’t even be brokering any agreement.i am sure FS must be tell him try and solve it. you all created the monster-tame the beast. and the letters that end up in the nation possession-how about if they never reached the intended target, like how the union letters never get noticed at all, at all by the head? let all the terrible stories come out. at least the bloggers on BU beginning to move from the entrenched positions they had last week. and what implications does all of this have for BAPPS who jumped to the head’s defence? they must be shivering in their shoes-one straw could start a landslide.
    this problem is not going to subside until the dreaded “separation” takes place.the workers have a good cause and while i would advocate returning to school, if they feel they have been ignored previously, turned around and made to look like their grievances were fabricated, then how is the matter to be solved. can’t you see the victimization that will take place.if workers’ pay gets docked for attending a union meeting you can imagine what would happen if the two opposing forces meet again inside the walls of AX?remove the scales from your eyes bajans; begin to see the union’s side.it’s an ugly mess created by a complicit set of politicians and their lackeys. only they can undo the mess they have created. playing the feminist card, the ego card, the student card, the child’s rights card, the education as priority card is not going to cut it.this is what happens when you let the loose cannon roll around on deck.several may get broken shins, others may have to jump in the water to escape until they can get that cannon tied up and functional again.and notice the head has been very silent-advice from the lawyers, no doubt.hoping to get the best out of a really bad situation created by his lack of vision.enough said.

28. I may be totally wrong, but at this juncture of the AX impasse it seems somewhat ill advised for FS to jump into the fray right now.

The indications seem to be that Mr. Broomes is very unlikely to give in to any blandishments or overt coercive measures that the PM might and could reasonably take. His unexpurgated CV as can be gleaned from the pro BSTU posters on BU, suggests that he will not take the blame for the impasse; allow the BSTU or MInistry to appear to win; or go riding willingly into the sunset. Likewise, as a chastened MInister Jones has probably found out, the BSTU people and the 30 AX teachers are not likely to be budged from their trenches easily either. It is not a typical pay dispute for which an intervening PM has all the cards in his hand for a resolution. There are several factors in play here, not the least of which is the political one. FS should not personally get into it unless he already has an iron-clad solution which is not evident from the information that has been presented in the public domain.

FS’ speech today at the Errol Barrow Day Church service, suggested that he had committed himself to leading a Government attack to solve the problem. In my view he has telegraphed that he is leaning on the side of the BSTU. If so, what could his negotiating strategy be? Bringing in an arbitrator does’nt seem likely after he has stated in public that he will essentially be leading the charge? Finding some method to overcome any obstinacy on Mr. Broomes part to being separated from Alexandra by, for instance, an expedited pension and a big special gratuity or by believable veiled threats to make Mr Broomes future in Barbados somewhat difficult if he isn’t compliant with the offer?

Does any of the BU family think that the PM will have or has the ammunition to dent Mr. Broomes resolve?

Will he be even handed or seen as even handed in dealing with Mr. Broomes and Mrs. Greaves? Could a strategy also be for her to be offered a similar package and or veiled threats? Can FS afford not to be seen as being even handed and an honest broker?

Will the main parties to the dispute be likely to pay due respect to his high office to the possible detriment of their image or will they continue to demand their pound of flesh?

THis matter is of tremendous importance to Barbados, not just to the BSTU and Mr. Broomes alone. It can affect the whole Trade Union movement as well as labour relations for the forseeable future if handled badly, and therein FS’ comments at St Lucy Church today were quite sagacious. I am looking forward to see how he handles this case which is much more complex, imho, than anything that Owen Arthur had to deal with.

29. Now it is publicly known that the “Ansentee Teacher” is wife to the Deputy Chief Education Officer (Ag), what role is/has he been playing in all of this.
    I am convinced that there is indeed more in this mortar. What if he had been given the appointment as CEO, instead of Laurie King? What part would he be playing in the negotiations? Now that King has received the appointment, will this affect the decision of Karen Best who was one of the front runners, along with King, Greaves, Farley and Jeff Broomes?

30. I forgot to add above that: I think FS’ will harvest the whirlwind if he effects the separation of Mr. Broomes from AX without the concomitant separation of Mrs. Greaves also.

31. PRETTY BLUE EYES Avatar

@RANDOM THOUGHTS, CASWELL FRANKLY AND A PARENT & AX TEACHER: Quite frankly I am appalled that you people in your role as leaders could even think that it is such a great sin for Mr. Broomes to criticise the teacher in public. After reading the Sunday sun I believe that the whole of Barbados now have a clearer idea as to what Mr. Broomes had to deal with. Now here is this teacher who acted insubordinately by refusing to teach students, mind you she is paid to do that, to teach is her primary aim. if she thought that the teachers were not qualified so what. I work in an environment where i feel many times that the decisions made by management are not always in the best interest of the company but we live with it.We want our jobs so even if we think it is below us we do it, who gave that teacher the right to think other wise, IT SHE WAS IN A PRIVATE SCHOOL SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN FIRED. But that is why this society have gone to the dogs, here it is this woman is dead wrong and Unions are ignoring the wrong she did which is affecting the students, but they are looking at a few critical remarks made in public SHE WAS WRONG, HE HAD EVERY RIGHT TO DO IT. I remember Sandy Lane and Royal Shop in both instances the employees were wrong but Leroy Trotman marched for days and even threaten to shut down, Bridgetown, well we all saw the outcome of that every one of them fired and I was so glad. This Unions do not encourage their members to do what is right they are just pay raise and step on my toes and I will strike unions. Take a look at Unions around the world France, Nigeria, England they fight for more than these things for their members so that if they call a stike, the whole country shut down not in Barbados. Back to the issue, article clearly put today in the Sunday sun made Mary Redman and those backing her look like irresponsible fools

32. PRETTY BLUE EYES Avatar

Nows that we know the teacher at the centre of this fiasco, husband works at the MOE, we are beginning to understand what went on here.If Mr Broomes made complaints to the Ministry for her, how far did they go. This need further investigation, I believe that some public servants need to be relieved of the position if they cannot and will not act in the best interest of the institution in which they are employed. No wonder public servants are looked upon with such disdain, they sit and draw a salary but does nothing to earn it.

33. http://www.nationnews.com/index.php/articles/view/silent-22-speak-out/

It States:
    By Toni Yarde | Mon, January 16, 2012 – 12:08 AM

Twenty-two Alexandra teachers, “who come to school every day”, have written new Chief Education Officer Laurie King requesting a meeting.

In a letter dated January 14, a copy of which was obtained by the DAILY NATION, Alexandra’s Silent 22 – as they call themselves – state that the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union president Mary Redman does not speak for them.

And they argue that if those on strike honestly believe their personal differences with principal Jeff Broomes are so deep that they cannot, or do not, want to work with him – “or with some of us” – they should seek transfers.

“We are sincerely requesting that we or a representative group of us (even including ancillary staff and students, if necessary) be allowed to meet with the ministry (minister),” they wrote.

Well, the plot in this movie has now thickened. The way it is looking the only thing left to do is to either close the whole school or to call in a priest.

34. David,

I was going to say that I wonder what the teacher – teacher relationship is as far as the striking vs non-striking, but the nation’s story I believe says it all. Broomes has his 22 supporters and the 30 are against. This will not have a pretty ending.

I would send Broomes to the MOE to take the acting duputy post and send Mr. Greaves back to his substantive post (he had to be advising his wife-maybe covering up too) Also, scatter those 30 odd teachers to other schools, who don’t want to go would take early retirement. (hopefully Mrs A Greaves would)
    Of course this would lead to the whole country shutting down (by the unions) so it would never happen.

The children and Broomes will surely pay the biggest price in this one, either way there will be a lot of tension in St. Peter for a long time coming.

35. @Undertaker

and Bush Tea would have us believe the solution is plain as day and the ‘leader’ Jeff Broomes is entirely blameless for the situation which has developed at AX.

36. Retired Teacher. Avatar

The speculation surrounding the Prime Minister’s thinking on this matter is very interesting ; no one has so far suggested that the comments he made indicates any sympathy to Broomes’ position.
    We must not forget that the Prime Minister is a lawyer / philosopher of some eminence ; he knows that there cannot be much said in favour of a client who cannot avoid getting into trouble . That is a peculiar character trait of the man Broomes that his supporters JUST WILL NOT ADDRESS. I am absolutely sure that that trait will not escape the Prime Minister’s scrutiny.
    Another factor seems to have been lost on commentators ; this is NOT a fight between Broomes and his teacher Mrs Greaves ; This is a battle between Broomes and the BSTU which has mounted a platform against his MANAGEMENT of the Alexandra School ; Mrs Greaves’ involvement only serves as the CATALYST on this occasion that has resurrected the perrenial problem that IS THE MAN BROOMES . Mrs Greaves’ complaint can be resolved in the law courts, but ,given Broomes’ record, that will not solve the fundamental problem the BSTU are fighting against.
    whenever we come down to the nitty-gritty in trying to effect some sort of solution to this problem , the question that has to be resolved is : WHAT MUST BE DONE WITH THIS MAN CALLED BROOMES ? Today the problem is with the Alexandra School ; should Broomes be allowed to take that problem another step forward tomorrow ? The PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION MUST ACT. THE RECORD SPEAKS . BROOMES = TROUBLE.
    Q.E.D.

37. @Retired Teacher

You are correct and it is why in the blog it was termed ‘the straw that broke the camel’s back’.

The problem and AX is longstanding. Does it have to do with a headmaster imposing much need leadership as Bush Tea is of the view?

The jury is out on that to tell the truth.

Bush Tea is obviously seized with info which is still hidden from public view.

38. A teacher AND AX parent who knows Avatar
    A teacher AND AX parent who knows

Broomes must go.

In 2003-4 the same Broomes who is telling lies on his teacher in public decided to teach a pre CXC (4th form) class in conjunction with an alien from Melmac (go figure who that was, think AL*). He hardly went to the class and after the students did very poorly in the promotion examination (as expected) he decided not to correct the scripts (so the children did not even know how badly they did) instead have them act out a play which had nothing to do with the CXC programme and was later entered for NIFCA so he culd fabricate marks. The Head of Department struggled in vain for the chldren to be taught and none of the bleeding heart parents or PTA said a word. The next year 16 of the 18 students Broomes taught failed the examination miserably – the worst record in the school’s history. One that passed went to lessons with the Leslie Lett (now Head of Department) and the other one with me. Broomes’ failures represented over 90 per cent of the students that failed. He is so incompetent that even if he went to class they would have failed as he did not know the syllabus and used the wrong texts. What does the parent lobby have to say about that?

39. WHAT is the specific charge against Broomes if you say that Broomes = Trouble?
    WHAT is the specific charge against 11 people named as the Eager 11 , if you say that Heads gwine rolll?????

40. If I had to send home everyone that it seems must go, I would have to hire a lot of people to fill there vacancies. Seems that the post of Head Master should be a contract post. So far, I would need a new senior teacher, new headmaster and some new officals to work at the ministry of non-action (formally education), some are saying a new minister too.

41. Richards jordan Avatar

PRETTY BLUE EYES: your post at12.06am is very interesting where you spoke of public servants needs to be releived etc now tell me who will represent them when that happens now-not Denis Clarke /Walter maloney -these same Management Defenders –these same two o no – Walter does the same cuss the statt at N H C, and at the last EXECUTIVE meeting cuss the staff at NUPW , Denis has done the same things to stafff that Broomes has been accused of doing so you see why Denis /Walter must run to his side , ask Denis about employing FAMILY and friends ,ask Walter about houses (work for work ) but we see and ALL of Barbados now see how NUPW is run- FAMILY AFFAIR (LODGE FAMILY not the school) lets hope that members can remove these two MONEY grabbling jokers .

42. As far as i am aware the two CLOWNS The CLARKE and MALONEY Show should not be representing Broomes in this instantbut only if he had a personnel dispute with his employer that being the MOE.Those two clowns have overstepped their bounds and their members should boycott their headquarters.

43. Retired Teacher. Avatar
    Retired Teacher.

@ Just asking.
    My dear fellow, if you are having a problem with your comprehension, you may usefully seek the assistance of A TEACHER AND AX PARENT WHO KNOWS. He is still actively involved in teaching , and it would seem he is a teacher of English as well; I have long since retired and might be a bit rusty. I hope that I have pointed you in the direction where you may get the help you have asked for.

44. i wonder how long PM Stuart going to take to go head on and tackle the balooning AX saga i heard all the attention sound bits from his speech yesterday. i hope it isnot a repeat of the very famous and not to be forgotten “HEADS WILL ROLL’ cause as for now we all how many did not, BTW HAPPY NEW YEAR PM. I am still awaiting that annual Speech too.

45. @ac

He suggested head would roll if it was found out there was an attempted palace coup. He is obviously satisfied that there was not or he is not ready to inflict any action at this stage.

46. David that is only speculation on your part .The PM has invoked “The right to Remain silent” on the Eager 11 and that is all we the public know

47. @CBC
    What is going on at CBC ? Is there no one with a sense of neutrality in command up there?

How in the name of COMMON SENSE could you allow Alexander students on Morning Barbados set ….(the morning before the PM is about to make his input)..to further fuel this situation ?

Or was this but an eleventh hour ploy by uncle Jeff ?……the student all said the same thing.. we are supervising as there as there are no teachers and… this “”warring” now has been going on for quite a while.

Shame on ” you as the only broadcasting station” for this (cloaked) one-sidedness.

Can no one up there see that both the parents and students will have to interact with one or both of the opposing parties AT THE END of all of this ?

CBC this was yet another of your current blunders ..like your porn. You all should be exhibiting neutrality and COMMON sense during this time.

But there again…many times BEFORE Uncle JEFF would appear on set to read poems and update on the welfare of his dear gran daughter who we are told is projected be the next nuclear scientist.

CBC will you never get it right ?

48. @ David@1:09
    Without saying who is right or wrong in the Alexandra saga, but just focusing on the issue of providing leadership I would have to question Broomes ability to be an effective leader. An effective leader inspires people to work together for the common good of their organisation. A leader is fair and follows best practices and established protocol. In order to be fair, a leader establishes standards which need to be adhered to . Creating controversy again and again is NOT the hallmark of a good leader.

49. I am writing the epilogue of Alexandra now…I ain’t waiting.

Regardless of the final decision.

The future of the School will be tarnished and will take many years to recoup.

Disrespect for the teaching profession will continue..

The headmaster will look back and one day say ..”What ? ”

THE ELECTORATE VOTE will be prejudiced by this outcome.

It will happen again.