Nearly two weeks have passed since the BSTU instituted action against the principal of the Alexandra School Jeff Broome. Up to late yesterday [14 Jan 2012] there appeared to be no resolution to the matter. A meeting held under the chairmanship of Minister of Education Ronald Jones only served to proved BUโs position, management systems in Barbados have become seriously compromised as a result of incestuous practices byย stakeholders.
It is clear the BSTU Executive believes so strongly in their cause that they are prepared to disrupt the relatively calm industrial relations climate in Barbados even if the children have to be made to suffer in the process. Their position is further demonstrated by a deliberate move away from following โnormalโ grievance procedure. Regrettably the matter is deliberately being waged in the court of public opinion. While there are advantages to enticing public support sometimes, it should be done based on the full facts of the matter being revealed. It is evident that the cause of the industrial action by the BSTU is as a result of grievances which have been poorly managed over the years and left to fester. The speech day incident appears to be the straw which broke the camelโs back.
If we are to believe the underground chatter there is more to the mortar than the pestle. If local media intends to give honest coverage to this matter the public deserves to be seized of relevant information. If this is not possible because of legal considerations then the honourable thing is to avoid inflammatory reports like those we have been reading in the NATION for the past week.
Two peripheral issues created by the Alexandra matter, the roles of the Chief Personnel Officer (CPO)ย and the ailing General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) need to be given more public scrutiny.
The role of the CPO has not been given a lot of airplay except by Caswell on the blogย Alexandra School Impasse: A Massive Failure Of Public Service Administration. Most public opinion has followed a predictable political discourse by calling for the head of the minister of education. We can agree however that the office of MOE should have been used to exert more pressure on the parties to clean up their act. We have already discussed how incestuous relationships affect how we do business as a country and here is a classic case.
The other matter is the role of Dennis Clarke, NUPWโs general secretary reported to be on leave until May because he is recovering from haemorrhagic fever. Although not unprecedented it is unusual the NUPW would seek to represent management [Broomes] in a matter against labour [teachers]. It is even more unusual that a senior principal in the union [Clarke] currently on sick leave would seek to undermine the person [Smith] appointed to act in the position. Again if BU chatter is correct the council of the NUPW has not met to approve the decision taken by Clarke. What is going on at the NUPW anyway? Is the membership not aware of how union business is being managed?
On the sidelines looking in what is a public ignorant and starved of the factsย suppose to think or say? The time has come for Barbadians to wake up and fully appreciate how they are being โplayedโ by the many interest groups which run things in Barbados.

301 responses to “The Alexandra Matter: The Role Of The CPO and NUPW”
Time for chang ..that’s all I can say
this goes back to the perception of what people have said’It is all about who you know” and it is literally and shamelessly played out right before the public’s eyes. As for Clarke. he gives true meaning to:” Man take up thy bed and Walk”
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/broomes-letters-of-complaint/
David, if the report from the nation newspaper is true, then the teacher as well as some top official at the MOE should be ask severed. Mr. Broomes did his duty by writing the teacher as well as writing the MOE, so he had all right to speak out at the speech day after nothing, not even a meeting was called by the MOE to discuss the complaint against the teacher.
Taking one issue at a time, the teacher was wrong, the MOE was wrong. The older issues going back years, I believe that the BSTU is bringing those to the front burner to get rid of Broomes as well as to hide the bad actions of the senior teacher Amaida Greaves, the wife of the Acting Deputy Chief Education Officer Erwin Greaves.
Seems that the ministry did nothing much when either side complained, we like to deal with fires in Barbados not smoke. Either way that is the real cause of the problem the inaction of the ministry.
There is no easy end to this, there will be at least one casuality in this saga.
Undertaker
First thing, the Nation and Starcom have no qualms about milking any issue for profit.
Next thing, when was the last time we had an effective Ministry of Education that actually ran the school system?
Another thing, I don’t know, but I think Mr. Broomes is also an employee (labour) and is also entitled to union representation. However, if you insists that he should not be represented by a union in any attempt to hold on to his pick, then I will accept your logic for what it is.
Take up thy bed and walk…
You are not suppose to walklimp …when you drawing the tax payers funds..for a damsel in distress or a ole buddy in a ants nest…
@A teacher AND AX parent who knows
Are you willing to comment on the Nation report about Principal Jeff writing to the MOE about Greaves?
after reading both letters it would have been easier for Amanda to to take the easy road and comprise her principles at the beset of the childrens education. Here we have a series of events which have been going on for long period of time. In which a teacher dared to stand up for a good education of the chidren and a Principal using mediocrity to resolve an issue of importance to the children that being the welfare of “GOOD EDUCATION” in haste .
The timelines for Broomes letters to Greaves and the MOE span May/June 2011.
It would instructive to learn similar timelines for the BSTU’s list of grievances and who were they directed.
I read in todayโs Sunday Sun that [Amaida] Greaves stated, in the BSTU document, that a female teacher was employed in Term 2 of the same year, counter to her (Greavesโ) recommendations. This teacher was employed from January to March last year, taught diet and healthy lifestyle, first and second form integrated science, and had been assigned to teach third form biology, chemistry and physics…I am informed that she possessed an associate degree in culinary arts. She also has โOโ Level biology as her only other science subject.โ
If it is indeed the case that a teacher who has never passed the OโLevel or CXC Physics or Chemistry exams was timetabled to teach to teach these subjects to 13/14 year olds I believe that this sets a bad precedent, is unfair to the children and can only negatively impact the teaching and learning environment at Alexandra school. It is an unfortunate and unprofessional situation.
says:
Here we have a series of events which have been going on for long period of time. In which a teacher dared to stand up for a good education of the chidren and a Principal using mediocrity to resolve an issue of importance to the children that being the welfare of โGOOD EDUCATIONโ in haste .
I think this smack of a leader…abusing his subordinates.. by usurping his power …..I am the principal and this is my school…my rule goes..Heads of Depts… input not needed…I say who is qualified to teach ..what .. I bring who i like …TELL ME..is this not abuse of powers.?
Not only will such breed what it has.. but (others) MOE need to tell us why they allowed this to fester….
No I WOULD NOT LIKE TO BE ONE OF THOSE 30 TEACHER …and NO I don’t think OTHERS will be bounding to AX or any other school to be led by this leader…..
It’s scary…so scary
As Principal he is encouraged to collaborate with his department heads but who says it is mandatory?
Here is what retired PS and IR practitioner of longstanding has to say about IR practices in the public sector reported in the NATION:
This quote is instructive given the exchange BU had with Blogger2012 yesterday.
Here is the link – http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/young/
Hi David
I am glad for today’s article. It proves that Broomes is a liar. Many times Broomes writes letters to the MoE and other places and tells lies, and many more times there have been letters of reply proving them as lies (I have a few dozen in my possession). BUT GUESS WHAT??? When he is exposed as a liar, nothing happens to him and the teacher/parent/student is made to suffer because he is too important/dangerous to be disciplined. I wonder who gave the Nation that letter??? Surely not the MoE – they are as surprised by it as you are. What happens when your supervisor writes you a letter which has a cc line saying it was copied to the boss and then (amazingly) the letter never gets to the boss. The next thing that happens is the recipient of the letter replies to the supervisor and also copies the reply to the boss who then indicates that they never saw/knew of the original letter for the supervisor???
I stand by what I have written. I can’t wait until he is sued for defamation.
After reading the revelations in The Nation, the Advocate, Barbados Today and last but certainly not least, of “a Teacherand AX parent who knows” right here on BU, It seems to me that this is going to be a hard nut to crack.
I think that the BSTU cannot be allowed to win this one for the sake of future industrial relations and governance in the School system.
I think that Mr. Broomes apparently made adequate documentation of his case re. his complaints against the teacher at the centre of BSTU’s current action. He therefore stands on quite solid ground to withstand the attack of the BSTU
I think BSTU does not have a reasonable case for the current dispute.
I think there may be some truth in a little of what “AX parent who knows” has divulged here but, in the absence of corroborating evidence, it is probably not actionable and seemingly has little to do with the current grouse against Mr. Broomes.
I think the MOE must take a major part of any blame for the current situation because of inaction over several years.
The Minister of Education and indeed the PM and Cabinet have a number of very difficult decisions to make. It isn’t like typical disputes such as people striking for salary increases or persons who are fired without cause, supercession cases, etc. This one requires serious thought especially with an election in the offing.
Solution may lie in MOE and other relevant entities finding significant inducements for Mr. Broome to voluntarily take up another post and at the same time transferring the teacher at the centre of the dispute to another school.
In the meantime, Continue threats about docking pay of striking workers.
Hi David
It is actually mandatory for Principals to have Heads of Department sit in on interviews for new staff simply because they (the HoD’s) are the experts in the respective subject areas and will have to guide and supervise the new staff as well as report on their performance to the MoE through the Principal. Broomes acknowledged this the last time Jones was brought in and promised to comply with the express regulations of the MoE in this regard. As usual, he continued to do what he liked without ensure.
In addition, there are express regulations required for the hiring of teaching staff vis-a-vis their qualifications. You cannot have unqualified people preparing your children for exams. Broomes has consistently ignored these and the parents have not complained. They prefer to pay for lessons at other schools, notably St. Michael’s, St. Leonard’s, Harrison College and QC.
@Checkit-out
You should not be so hasty.
Did you read Ellsworth Young in the Nation?
Here is a question, who at the MOE would leak those letters in the Jordan column?
@A teacher AND AX parent who knows
Where is it stipulated that it is mandatory?
On 15 January 2012 15:33, David wrote: > @Checkit-out > > You should not be so hasty. > > Did you read Ellsworth Young in the Nation? > > Here is a question, who at the MOE would leak those letters in the > Jordan column? >
Documenting his case on what grounds, That he is the Principal and can do whatever he wants to do? even if it causes chaos and unrest within the school system one that we are seeing Now. A leader although he must be “FIRM’ must also be constructive and inclusive about the sensitivities of those he lead if not it would be all for Naught! Amanda challenging the system afterall and standing up to MR. Broomes was not a bad idea given Mr. Broomes past history of employee relationship[.
There are rules issued by the MoE and PAD that govern recruitment. They have been indicated in circulars from time to time and the Public Service Act speaks to how interviewing panels are constituted. In addition, the Civil Establishment Qualifications Order addresses the qualifications of teachers. I am sure the person who leaked the letter does not work at the MoE, just watch tv on mornings and see who has a clone of a grandchild that can pilot plans from the womb.
Thanks to ac who understands that being in charge does not mean that one has absolute power to break the law, ignore best practice and terrorise those that disagree; if not we can have some principals like Josef Stalin, Pinochet, Kim Jong II, Idi Amin and Hitler running our schools. They were very strong leaders and the public loved them for a while; then their slips showed and the same admirers had hell getting rid of them.
Time to sweep out Broomes is long overdue.
@AX
Right now the media is grabing at straws in their PR department. Like Broomes by “Any means necessary”would eventually come back to haunt them.
Greaves, who has a longstanding background in education โ as a teacher at Alexandra, a former student of the Speightstown school and the wife of Acting Deputy Chief Education Officer Erwin Greaves โ declined to comment on the issue as it raged within the last week.
—————————
NOW , isnt this the real real real real real issue ????
DIDN’T I ask on this blog the question as to why should errant workers behaved badly when spoken to ??
ISNT this teacher in question not transgressing ??
ISNT it because she is the wife of a Ministry Official that nothing was done about this situation ??
DONT you know that everybody can see the light now ????
If Dennis Clarke is on sick leave is he receiving sick benefits from the National Insurance?
And if he has returned to his customory work, that is as a trade union negitiator, then it is clear that he is well enough to do his regular work.
Therefore if he is receiving tax funded NIS benefits then NIS needs to withdraw those bnenefits.
If of course he is being paid sick benefits by his union membership, then it is up to his membership to compel him to remain on sick leave, or to compel him to return to work and to cut his sick benefits if he does not.
In Barbados employees who are well enough to do their regular jobs are not permitted to receive sick benefits at the same time.
No exceptions.
Quoting David January 15, 2012 at 11:10 AM “As Principal he is encouraged to collaborate with his department heads but who says it is mandatory?”
Who says it is mandotary David? We the taxpayers.
We pay our school principals well. We expect them to be wise. No we DEMAND that they ALWAYS act wisely.
We the taxpayers say so. That’s who David. That’s who.
Okay I beginning to understand. it probably went something like this:
Teach who?
Not me.
I don’t care who you complain to, I ain’t teaching them.
Look cah yuh rass from round me.
You can’t tell me nothing?
You know who I is?
@Media
I notice a new direction evolving where the media, (after seeing that last night, Mary had not “buckled”)…has taken to, of selecting ONE of the teachers TO BE LIME LIGHTED.and attacked.
@Greaves
Mrs.Greaves…hold tight like Mary hear,..we the fair minded public can see this move…(take it from me:LLB)….they can only “talk” bad of your action.
You being singled out like a gazelle is only to hope you tire and say something stupid.Be quiet.
Just know other teachers..( 96%)Heads of Departments of AX report similar abuses and as a whole “got each other back” STAND FIRM.
@AXteacher
I am sure the person who leaked the letter does not work at the MoE, just watch tv on mornings and see who has a clone of a grandchild that can pilot plans from the womb.
You call that nuclear writing : most witty,,(Nut and nuttete.)
You ain’t teaching them?
Awright, you think I is a sweet bread?
I ain’t frighten for you nor nobody else.
Wait and see wuh I gine do.
Now get out my rasshole office.
Quoting AXteacher/parent “if not we can have some principals like Josef Stalin, Pinochet, Kim Jong II, Idi Amin and Hitler”
Please add Fidel Castro and Robert Mugabe to this list.
Mugabe used to be a school teacher too. Imagine working under his “leadership”
Night has fallen on the unions. The darkness in which we are now engulfed has been caused by a tugging at the egos of the personalities of the unions. The unions were formed a a bulwark against oppressive management and now we have the same labour movement against the workers . How did we get to this point? We got there and fast because we no longer deal with the integrity of the situa
tion. We defend our friends and we ignore principle. The NUPW should in the interest of clarity state who is epresenting them in this impasse. If they want to relieve Dennis Clarke of his sick leave let them state so. Barbados does not look good in this situation. Is there a fall back position in this impasse? Is there a situation when no one wants the other person to look good? Can we have a “neutral” third party who has the confidence of the parties to broker a solution ? I suggest it cannot be any union afflitated menbers. The Church prehaps?.The PM cannot impose a solution. When he had his problem , he did nothing and continues to do nothing. He does not have the moral courage or the balls to solve other people’s problems. He must solve his own.
This situation CANNOT go on another week. We cannot break the union. I say let the teachers go back to work and give Broomes a term’s leave, not a separation. In the meanwhile a body consisting o the church, HR practioners. and others from those in the soft skills area be put on the case .The warring factions would have had time to cool. I dont think a trade union solution can be found. Think on these things
The Germans never wanted to get rid of Hitler, but the Americans and the Commonwealth (including my daddy) had to go in there and cut his rass.
When the BSTU had the same media lapping up its every word there were no complaints.
The things is, that made money for two weeks and has gotten stale.
Time for something new to keep the money train running.
@true to form
Agree with about the need to have a cooling off period.
There is also enormous risk to a weak Prime Minister’s office if he enters the fray and is unable to resolve the dispute.
i wonder, it could be the other way round too. ‘look woman, i tell you to teach the classs, you have to teach the class or else- you can’t tell me how to run round here, you in the principal, i is the principal and i in charge if i tell you to teach the class then teach the class’ . the only way out of this conflafration is for the teachers to be reassigned or mr broomes to be reassigned. thereis no resolution on the horizon that could usher in reconciliation.
Dear True to Form
” Go back to AX ..give Broomes leave.”
Firstly, Broomes would not have it..”Nobody ent gine in his school dread”
SO this will never happen.
Secondly,can’t you see these teachers FEAR THIS TYRANT.
I don’t work there, and from what I hear,.. I fear him.
All those tyrants(the AxTeacher and ac) listed were MAD MEN.
Maybe now you get it
mr maloney is reported in the press as saying that the comments of the bstu should be directed towards the ministry of the civil service and not the cpo. what say you mr franklyn?
Quoting AXparent/teacher “he is too important/dangerous to be disciplined.”
Stupse!!!!!!!!!!!! an old man with a bachelor’s degree??? Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dangerous what????????????? An old man who maybe weighs 160 pounds soaking wet? Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Surely people are not frighten for the lodge boys?
When I was just a child a big able lodge man’s wife put a monster horn in she husband. Went to her sister’s house had the child, the sister raised the child to be a big, big shot in the Ministry of Education.
The young wife returned to her home and lived with her lodge man husband until death parted them in old, old age.
Neither he nor his lodge buddies could do one rass about it.
From that day forth neither lodge man nor lodge woman could scare me.
Lodge men are only scary if you let them scare you
Surely people are not frighten for the lodge boys.
When I was just a child a big able lodge man’s wife put a monster horn in she husband. Went to her sister’s house had the child, the sister raised the child to be a big, big shot in the MInistry of Education.
The young wife returned to her home and lived with her lodge man husband until death parted them in old old age.
Maybe Dr. GP can tell us if long term use of alcohol damages the brain.
And does this damage occur if alcohol use is light, moderate or heavy?
And does the degree of damage if any is the same whether the use of alcohol was light, moderate or heavy.
Or does alcohol use have absolutely no effect whatsoever on the brian?
Quoting David the blogmaster “If we are to believe the underground chatter there is more to the mortar than the pestle.”
Our West African ancestors even while enslaved, even while not havein much formal education were WISE enough to creat this saying “there is more in the mortan than the pestle?
Surely we are wise too???
Surely we understand that this issue will not be solved until we discover what else is in the mortar, besides the pestle, and deal with that thing or things that is sticking in the craw of the mortal/pestle dyad.
Deliberate personal attacks are anything but random.
Anyway, the ratio of idiots I personally know that never touch alcohol to those that do, is about 50:50.
random thoughts lest you forget mr barrow chose mr sandiford and the rest is history.
Here is a question which David (BU) posted on FB a moment ago on the Nation’s page:
This was a very nice post. I enjoyed reading your blog today very much.
Love to write?
Check out these Writing Jobs
Remember the last infamous letter?
Is it in the realm of possibility that an ambitious officer could have leaked the letter in an attempt to embarrass a new appointee?
Quoting ac on the Alexandra School Impasse blog “one can only hope that the PM would take a stand and not openly protect his friends against the RIGHTS of The People”
We have not yet forgotten that Freundel Stuart has said “Leroy Parris is my friend”
We will not forget it as we get to the polling booth at 6:00 a.m. on election day.
The soiling of Alexandra’s reputation by the day is hurting old scholars outside the island as well. Here is a comment received by email:
se into whose care they have been entrusted. Barbados you are letting down your youth. Get back to the business of teaching, deal with the egos off line. This display of disunity is not only on shore but off shore. I am saddened by this controversy”.
Freundel Stuart is NOT my friend.
And for clarity.
Owen Arthur is NOT my friend.
Mia Mottley is NOT my friend.
late to the party but here goes….
agree on the cooling off period, but the BSTU isn’t going to accept this.
“It would instructive to learn similar timelines for the BSTUโs list of grievances and who were they directed”
Bingo! the lack of information or proof from the union given their EXTREME stance and critical ultimatum should be worrying for all.
@Undertaker
good post. If only people would read the facts objectively.
@Random thoughts
“If it is indeed the case that a teacher who has never passed the OโLevel or CXC Physics or Chemistry exams was timetabled to teach to teach these subjects to 13/14 year olds I believe that this sets a bad precedent”
Granted, but it’s the principal’s right by law to do what he likes where teacher allocation and timetables are concerned. There are ways to complain. Greaves should have used and documented these
“We pay our school principals well. We expect them to be wise. No we DEMAND that they ALWAYS act wisely”
Is this demand the same of our teachers and unions??
Finally,
@AX teacher and parent
What happens when your supervisor writes you a letter which has a cc line saying it was copied to the boss and then (amazingly) the letter never gets to the boss
hmm, are you willing to say the same for the BSTU’s letters which are cc’s but are not full copies?? What about all the supposed letters that we still have yet to see, or hear a quote from?
“It is actually mandatory for Principals to have Heads of Department sit in on interviews”
no it is not. it is tradition and based on practice. I could be wrong but if you quote me the law/regulation/document that speaks to protocol for hiring temporary staff. Likewise
“there are express regulations required for the hiring of teaching staff”
this refers to appointments. One can argue that a temporary worker can have a little “less” than is required given certain circumstances.” Look at the qualifications for the post of teacher,
Quoting balance | January 15, 2012 at 1:33 PM “random thoughts lest you forget mr barrow chose mr sandiford and the rest is history.”
Thanks balance for reminding me.
It only goes to show that Barbados scholar Prime Ministers like Grantley Adams and Errol Barrow are only human and like all of us are perfectly capable of making idioit decisions at times.
@Random thoughts
Sadly, my Grandad was an alcoholic who died from over drinking.
In his last days @59 he was so belligerent on his daily escapades that we turn to abusing his wife and then his children whom we know he loved.
They don’t call ethanol with colouring Devil’ Soup for nothing.
Most definitely it affects the brain and the liver.
Who introduced BEATING children, corporal punishment of children at Alexandra school?
Is it not true that under Gabrielle Thompson and the school had for decades NOT permitted the beating of the pupils it its care?
Do the current children know that their parents who went to Alexandra were not beaten at school?
Do the current parents know this?
Does the current PTA know this?
Jeff Broomes must know this as his wife went to the Alexandra school during Gabrielle Thompson’s administration. She knows that there was a policy and practice of NO BEATING OF THE CHILDREN.
Who introduced beating children at the Alexandra school?
Why?
Quoting observer quoting me documented these
โWe pay our school principals well. We expect them to be wise. No we DEMAND that they ALWAYS act wiselyโ
Is this demand the same of our teachers and unions??
YES. YES. YES. The demand is the same of the teachers and the unions. Yes. Yes. Yes.