Submitted by Caswell Franklyn

Chang W. Lee/The New York Times

I hate to get involved in an area where I have no personal experience or knowledge. I cannot speak to the attraction and sexual urges that some people have for their own gender. I am therefore writing from the perspective of someone who has been brought up and culturally conditioned to believe that homosexuality is immoral, sinful and should be condemned. However, I recognise that homosexuals are people like myself, and must be entitled to some basic rights. The question now is which rights, since some among us are saying that the lifestyle should be recognised as normal under the law.

I hope that all can agree that a society/country must put laws in place to ensure that it survives and continues to grow. It is therefore reasonable when laws are put in place to discourage and punish the misuse of harmful drugs, even though some might argue that the addict is only hurting himself. In reality, he is harming the society because he would eventually become a burden on the state.

There is also an argument that the state should not intrude into the bedroom, and should not seek to criminalize what takes place there between consenting adults. That argument is also flawed because that conduct could be harmful to the society. What if you had two consenting adults: a father of 50 years and his daughter 25 years having sexual relations in the privacy of their bedroom? If you follow the argument about consenting adults, should the state allow that behaviour? The simple answer must be โ€œNoโ€, because such a union could produce mongrels that would be harmful to the society if you have too many.

Similar reasoning could be used to justify laws against homosexual unions. Such a union is barren and produces no offspring to replenish the population, and as a result the society would decline and become unsustainable. In order to ensure that the society continues to grow, the state cannot, or rather should not, encourage that type of relationship, especially in a small vulnerable society. No one has the right to contribute to the destruction of his country.

While I do not advocate a society where agents of the state would invade a bedroom to verify that only heterosexual relations are taking place: I do not advocate a society where the state would give its blessing to same sex unions.

1. It is really interesting to read opinions of persons whom communicate easily using the Twenty-first century internet and remain locked into a version of beliefs reportedly more than two thousand years old. The King James edition of this remains book remained after some had already been determined to be apocryphal around the mid seventeenth century. It has had a few adjustments by various brands of Christianity. Some thinkers still refer to Darwinism as an unsupported theory even in the presence of work of more recent persons like Watson, Crick and the twenty-first century definition of the human genome. The term “theory” does suggest that there is significant support.

Mammalian sexuality is a spectrum. That humans of the same designated sex can relate intimately should no longer be a question to anyone. Such couples, much like those designated as heterosexual are capable of a range of activities, some of which may be unacceptable in the eyes of the law, religions and others who may consider themselves normal.

Homosexuality, like other human variants has been with us for very many years. Other variations and behaviours were once criminalized, persecuted and punished, often by death. Some of these now acknowledgedly extreme reactions were also supported by laws, religions and people considered to be of the mainstream. Let us bear these historical facts in mind as we damn those who declare sexual preferences that are consensual and free of pedophilia, rape and and other predatory display.

2. I want de same sex I did gettin from de time I did bout 19yrs. old, upside down, cross ways, sideways n a lil 69 in between. Dat is about all I want wid ‘same-sex’.
    I gone fa now.

3. This from todayโ€™s Los Angeles Times, for those who try to use religious arguments. Ring any bells?

โ€œPolygamist leader convicted of child sexual assault

Warren Jeffs, representing himself at the trial, remains silent for most of his closing argument. ‘I am at peace,’ he mumbled.

SAN ANGELO, Texas โ€” Polygamist Warren Jeffs was convicted Thursday of sexually assaulting two child brides after a whirlwind trial in which he insisted on representing himself, only to remain silent through much of the proceedings and present just one witness โ€” a member of his sect who gave an extended Sunday school lesson on its beliefs.

The head of the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints stood stone-faced as a verdict of guilty on two counts of sexual assault of underage girls was read. The jury of 10 women and two men deliberated for 3ยฝ hours.

Earlier in the day, Jeffs stood mute during his closing argument, staring at the floor for all but a few seconds of the half-hour he was allotted. At one point he mumbled, “I am at peace,” and said no more.

Throughout the trial, Jeffs, 55, contended that his religious rights were being violated and that God would seek revenge if the proceedings continued.

The sentencing phase began after the verdict was announced, and Texas’ attorney general said it could take three days. Jeffs could face up to life in prison.

Prosecutors used DNA evidence to show Jeffs fathered a child with a 15-year-old girl. Prosecutors also played an audio recording of what they said was Jeffs sexually assaulting a 12-year-old, and they played tapes in which Jeffs was heard instructing young women on how to please him sexually โ€” and thus, he told them, please God.

The FLDS, which has at least 10,000 members, is a radical offshoot of mainstream Mormonism and believes polygamy brings exaltation in heaven. They see Jeffs as God’s spokesman on Earth.

Police raided the group’s remote west Texas ranch in April 2008, finding women wearing frontier-style dresses and hairdos from the 19th century. At the Yearning for Zion compound, police also saw underage girls who were clearly pregnant. The call to an abuse hotline that spurred the raid turned out to be a hoax, and more than 400 children who had been placed in protective custody were eventually returned to their families.

But authorities brought sexual assault and bigamy charges against a dozen men from the sect, with Jeffs the highest-profile defendant. All seven who came to trial before him were convicted, receiving prison sentences of between six and 75 years.

Jeffs represented himself after firing seven high-powered attorneys in the six months leading up to his trial. He refused to give an opening statement as the case began, only to launch into a 55-minute sermon defending polygamy while objecting to a witness. He refused to cross-examine the state’s witnesses.

After the prosecution rested, Jeffs rose for a surprising opening statement in which he compared his plight to that of Mormon leader Joseph Smith Jr. and America’s civil rights movement of the 1960s.

4. Buddy Braithwaite Avatar
    Buddy Braithwaite

@ Random Thoughts

We could build a new mental hospital and solve the problem. Anyway after all the deviants are converted or sent to Devils Island (off the West Coast) we won’t need this big able new mental but who cares, we have a new cricket oval that we can’t affort either in money or use.

5. This country boy would like to add his two cents to the debate. I am in favour of Civil Unions for same sex couples but if they are unhappy with that term and want to call it marriage then as Kinky Friedman said โ€œI support Gay marriage, they have a right to be as miserable as the rest of usโ€

Now someone referred to procreation presumably they are worried that same sex couples wonโ€™t produce offspring, well I have news for them many gays are or have been married and have children some remain โ€œclosetedโ€ but others choose to leave their marriage. Someone also mentioned that the divorce statistics are lower for same sex couples than for traditional marriages well I know that I am mathematically challenged but where did those statistics come from? Has โ€œsame sex marriage been in existence long enough to have any meaningful statistics?

Now to Rosemary P who declared โ€œ I am looking for a gay man as a husband they respect women, love cooking, are very artistic and intelligent with a lot of common sense, enjoy beauty, have a great sense of humour, love to dance and enjoy life, keep their bodies absolutely in shape, know how to make a woman happyโ€. Seems to me that you left out an essential ingredient unless you have a pool boy or gardener to fulfill that need or perhaps you have thrown in the towel and gone Ann Landers (preferring cuddling instead of sex).

Back to the subject if many same sex couples get married perhaps the misery index will rise and they will no longer be called โ€œgayโ€. Finally we will be able to reclaim a word that has been lost to a whole generation. Many people of a certain age donโ€™t know the original meaning of the word โ€œgayโ€ and the word makes some of us a bit uncomfortable. I want to belt out โ€œdon we now our gay apparelโ€ in Deck the Halls instead of singing sotto voce.

6. To himilton Hill:
    Even if the heteros are beating wives, adulterating ans everything else, these thing are wrong! And gay and lesbian sex is also wrong. Remember the good old bajan saying ” two wrongs doan make a right.”

7. Hi hamilton hill:
    I know that you do not know much about animals. Unlike humans they do not just have sex all the time; it is mostly for procreation. A fluid is normally present to attack the male; from you two dogs scenario, imagine a secretion coming from a dogs anus, disgusting I know.

8. mr franklyn has raised a very interesting topic out of which sober debate devoid of sentiment and emotion can very well serve to educate and inform and perhaps influence public opinion.from the time i was a boy over fifty years ago, homosexuals referred to as “bullers’ and lesbians referred to as “wickers” were very much evident and accepted in barbados. thoughy the behaviour was frowned upon ,it was very much a part of the barbadian landscape with the west coast assuming the title of “gold coast” and the behaviour transcending all classes, creeds, religions and races. indeed, some of our most prominent citizens including a deputy prime minister in the 60’s and70’s were known to be so inclined. while there were some well known lesbians as well, “wicking” was not known to as prevalent as lesbianism is now. like mr ffranklyn, i can’t speak to the advantages/disadvantages/merits/demerits of indulging in this unusual behaviour but i am of the view that a behaviour which stifles life itself by inhibiting procreation should not be encouraged or given the blessings of the state. having chosen a path or lifestyle which defies creation itself, it is ironic and hypocritical that such persons now bully the state for adoption rights. i hope that no government in barbados subscribes to a notion of placing children with impressionable minds in such a situation where their upbringing could very well be influenced and contaminated by unusual behavioural patterns practised before they eyes. in addition, homosexuality or bulling in my view must involve dabbling with faeces at some time r the other and i learnt at wesley hall boys’ school a long time ago that playing with filth was unhygienic and unhealthy. good luck and best wishes to the peroetrators of those who indulge in this behaviour but do not rock the boat which have grudgingly embraced you for so long.

9. As a child growing up in another country, I heard Barbadians frequently being ridiculed by other Caribbean people as being the “gay capital” of the Caribbean. This will always be a hot topic simply because it speaks to one’s moral condition. We are not all perfect, not even the church, but just because the church is not right doesn’t mean it can’t see something that is clearly immoral and liable to degrade human society. You don’t have to be gay or have gay friends, or be a gay sympathiser to see that. We only have to look at UK or USA to see how the gay agenda has slowly but surely dismantled stable societies with people cowering in fear and being afraid to speak their minds until, now, only the ‘gay’ voice is on par with the voice of the terrorist. Stupid politically correct policies have lumped gays in with blacks (that’s a whole other story) and caused nothing but confusion and disintegration. I dare you! You!

10. Is it possible that we are misguided in allowing these practices to gain acceptance in our society. I am not suggesting victimization or such, but allowing TV shows that promote these relationships as normal and acceptable, as well as adopting moderate terms for the traditional Barbadian terms of bullers and wickers, acts to create an atmosphere of encouragement for those seeking to bring these practices into the mainstream. Do as you wish in private โ€“ but these practices should not be accepted as normal.

11. Live and let live.

The late Canadian PM Pierre Trudeau said “The state has no business in the bedrooms of the nation.”

Canada however is not Barbados.

I would be surprised if same sex marriages are legislated in Barbados but the common law unions will continue.

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This debate is very interesting and has caused me to to conclude that we have a lot of people who do not think for themselves. Instead, they prefer to piggy-back on other people’s opinions and adopt them as their own. I want those who support the stomach churning act of homosexual intercourse if they would be happy if their sons were engaged in such acts.

Lots of people pretend to support same-sex relations simply because they want to fit in. The main problem is that we have too many “gay” people in positions of influence who exert considerable pressure. They are very vocal and those who have differing opinions refuse to express them out of fear of being ostracized. Every right thinking person knows that same sex relations are unnatural.

13. “The main problem is that we have too many โ€œgayโ€ people in positions of influence who exert considerable pressure. They are very vocal and those who have differing opinions refuse to express them out of fear of being ostracized. Every right thinking person knows that same sex relations are unnatural.”
    Caswell I can’t believe that you have just uttered those words! Tell me, do you have any Union members that live an alternate lifestyle? Is membership only allocated to straight people? How do you know if all members are straight?
    ” They are very vocal and those who have differing opinions refuse to express them out of fear of being ostracized.”
    Who exactly are you speaking about? The gays being afraid of being ostracized? Or the straight who have differing opinions are the ones who are afraid?
    I am truly very disappointed with what you have stated.

As Hants said the common law unions will continue even if they aren’t legalized.

14. Perhaps what we need is for all the politicians, talk show hosts and others in positions of influence who are gay to step out of the closet which would lend ‘credibility’ maybe to their cause?

15. Another thing Caswell you are advocating that a persons who are homosexual are not capable of holding down influential jobs? Or they should not be given these jobs? Should they people be punished and hunted down? Tell what does a person’s private life has to do with their professional life? Don’t they employ heterosexuals? And it is ok for a heterosexual to be promiscuous, have women and children all over the country and still hold down an influential position. Their private life has nothing to do with their professional life. Such hypocrisy makes me want to puke!

16. @David …you wouldn’t want that happening because the numbers will surprise us! And furthermore what would you think would happen if they did?

17. @islandgal

It would move a national conversation on the matter which is where we need to be.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

You must be aware that people all over the world disrespect christian teachings and symbols and claim the right to do so under their right of freedom of expression. However, when someone gives the slightest, and sometimes even untentional, disrespect to any thing about the muslim religion, he has to go into hiding out of fear of being killed.

A similar thing applies when someone voices his opinion against what people like to call an alternate lifestyle. (I call it an alternate death style because practitioners cannot propogate the species). Go ahead issue your fatwa against me to your gay army: I will continue to share my views.

To answer your questions, I do not care if any of my members are gay or straight: I don’t want to know. I do not deal with them on a sexual basis. All I am asking is that gay or straight people do not FORCE their life preferences on anyone else. By the way, the opposite of straight is not gay: it is bent.

Islandgal246, in your anger you misinterpret me: it makes me wonder if you are not one of those gals with testicles.

19. “To answer your questions, I do not care if any of my members are gay or straight: I donโ€™t want to know. I do not deal with them on a sexual basis. ”

.” The main problem is that we have too many โ€œgayโ€ people in positions of influence who exert considerable pressure. They are very vocal and those who have differing opinions refuse to express them out of fear of being ostracized.”

Are these people in influential positions being dealt with on a sexual basis?

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

I knew a gay youngster from birth. One day I saw him in the uniform of a leading security firm. Calling him by his nickname, I asked, “How did you get that job”. He replied that he went for an interview and the man said that if the gay youngster gave him piece that he would get the job. So I ask what did you do, and his reply was, “Well I got the job”.

That is not an isolated case: the public service is being populated by lots of people who behave similarly. The reason is simple: people in influential positions are making sure that their gay, I mean bent, friends get the jobs.

21. “I asked, โ€œHow did you get that jobโ€. He replied that he went for an interview and the man said that if the gay youngster gave him piece that he would get the job. So I ask what did you do, and his reply was, โ€œWell I got the jobโ€.”

And some heterosexuals don’t get jobs and promotions this way too? And some Secretaries doan sleep wid dem bosses fuh promotion?

22. Caswell,

You are being nothing if not emotive and islandgal246 is tearing you to shreds. Your weakest point so far is this

“Every right thinking person knows that same sex relations are unnatural”.

One might easily have substituted “that black people mixing with whites”, that freedom for the slaves”, that freedom of religion” and all those backward, unenlightened views based on what people who are not right thinking believe that those who they consider to be right thinking want.

David, while we are at it, can we also bring the adulterers and cunnilinguists, male and female, out of the closet to start this “national conversation”?

Good grief!

23. @jack spratt

Trust you to ‘muddy’ the discussion.

24. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Caswell Franklyn “โ€œEvery right thinking person knows that same sex relations are unnaturalโ€.”

But Caswell all o’ we born and find homosexuality and ALL o’ we gine ded’ and leave it.

So methinks that it is not so unnatural after all, other wise why would nature (heterosexual mothers and fathers) continue to produce homosexuals.

From the time I was at elementary school, decades before you were born Caswell we had boys whom we described as “she-she” and many or most of them grew up to practice homosexuality. And yes this was long, long, long before the days of gay rights.

I know that homosexuality will continue until God comes for his world.

Because the Bible states that when God comes he will find us “marrying and giving in marriage” (in other words, God will come and find many, many, many of us in the middle of the sex act (or as we say in Barbados in the middle of a good foop) and some of those sex acts will be homosexual, or as we say in Barbados bulling and wicking.

So Caswell you may as well chill, because NOBODY on earth has the power to stop homosexuality.

25. Murder has been with us from time in memorial so do we accept it?

26. Ok, don’t accept it David, and it will not happen again.

Incidentally, we do have a law against consensual homosexuality even in private. Are we interested in arrest and prosecution? Perhaps you and Caswell should give the Commissioner a nudge.

27. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

With murder one person takes the life of another without the other’s consent.

What 2 consenting men or 2 consenting women (or more that 2 if that gives them their groove back) do together in the privacy of their bedrooms is none of your bloody business (nor yours)

Lovs ya David!!.

28. Is it only about what happens in the bedroom?

To accept this new normal wont we have to introduce legislation to protect certain rights which are part of a marital condition?

The conversation has moved passed the sex when it exists.

What kind of society do we want to maintain/build?

29. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

So are we going to post the COP and his men (and women ) in the bedrooms of all the fornicators and adulterers too?

And if we do who is going to be available to catch the real, real criminals?

30. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

David we want the same HUMAN society that has always existed.

One where some people are sexually strait laced, and like Ping Pong don’t believe in fun even in the matrimonial bed.

And the society where some like you and me and Bonny Peppa believe that we have to have our fair share (or more than our fair share of fun) before God comes for his world.

Because in Heaven there is no marrying nor giving in marriage, in other words no sex, nor fooping in Heaven, so we have to enjoy it here while we can ( although my Muslim and Fundamentalist Mormon friends may disagree with me that Heaven is foopless)

31. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

But David the right of adult humans to sexualy satisfy themselves with another consenting human adult is a human right. Just like the right to breathe God’s good air. And it is none of the legislator’s bloody business, nor your’s neither (nor mine)

If the legislator’s want work to do let them put legislation in place to punish Bajan men for fooping severelly mentally retarded girls (and then abandoning the resulting children) who can neither consent nor testify.

Ask the legislators to fix that one URGENTLY.

32. Is this all teh BLP has to offer? stupse. come with something that will make me vote for you please….

33. @ Caswell
    Hol yuh corner boy! Yu right! Don’t mind all those liberal, politically correct foolish people. The homosexual agenda is not just about sex it is about changing society to suit them. I’m not for that. There is an established order and they do not have a right to force their opinions on the likes of those who respect the established order. They are NOT part of it. You have many supporters. When fire comes – de liberals ah go burn!

34. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear Str8 Up

I am NOT BLP, nor DLP.

I like large numbers of other Bajans have to change my vote regularly. Because politicians spoil (and become stink) regularly. Just as regularly I and many other Bajans have to throw them on Mangrove landfill and bring in a fresh set (who alas spoil and become stink just as quickly as those so recently thrown out.)

35. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear You! who said “There is an established order”

Alas the established order has too often been wrong.

And who also wrote “When fire comes โ€“ de liberals ah go burn!”

And just as soon as fire burns one set of liberals, another set of liberals raised in the homes of “the established order” will grown up

36. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

And let us remind everybody, homosexuals couldn’t get any children to adopt, unless heterosexual parents had not first failed.

37. have been reviewing these posts and I am disappointed thta this conversation continues to drift from the main point, Can a shift to the “alternative lifestyle” improve the cureent human condition? Brekers of all the ten commandments have been around form the garden of eden, like the alternative lifestyle, they are still wrong.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Random Thoughts

Your comment at August 6, 2011 at 2:13.
    It is already a crime to have sex with mentally retarded girls. Section 8 (1) of the Sexual Offences Act states:

Where a person under circumstances that do not amount to rape has sexual intercourse with another who is an idiot, imbecile or mentally subnormal and who is not the person’s spouse, that person is guilty of an offence and is liable on conviction on indictment to imprisonment for a term of 10 years.

That is just one of those offences that the State refuse to properly investigate and prosecute. It is my humble opinion that there is no need for the retarded person to testify if there is a child involved. DNA does not lie.

Some of you choose to deliberately misrepresent my views on buggery, oops, I mean homosexuality. I don’t want to stop man-on-man buggery: I just don’t want the practitioners to keep trying to force everyone to accept their unnatural lifestyle as normal.

39. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Caswell ” he went for an interview and the man said that if the gay youngster gave him piece that he would get the job. So I ask what did you do, and his reply was, โ€œWell I got the jobโ€…the public service is being populated by lots of people who behave similarly. The reason is simple: people in influential positions are making sure that their gay, I mean bent, friends get the jobs.”

Dear Caswell: I am distressed to hear that a youngster was made to prostitute himself in order to get a job in the public service a job which is funded by MY tax MONEY. This is not what I expect form a civil service which is paid with MY MONEY. The person who did this to the young man should be FIRED.

40. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Home “A chrisitian nation will not leagalize acts that go contrary to its faith”

You know don’t you that Barbados has long, long ago decriminalized fornication and adultery. Both activities which are deeply contrary to Christian teaching.

And it is a good thing that these acts have been decriminalized otherwise about 95% of us would be in jail.

Because I am sure that only less than 5% of adult Bajans can say “I was a virgin at my marriage and so was my spouse and since our marriage neither of us have ever had sex with anyone else.” Or ” I have never been married and I have NEVER had sex with anyone. I am a virgin, and will remain so until marriage or death.”

41. Random Thoughts Avatar

Since so many people seem to find gay sex abhorrent because gays cannot reproduce, I am asking here on behalf of the post-menopausal sisterhood if we are permitted to have sex, since we cannot reproduce either. Or is it that our post-menopausal sexual practices are so abhorrent that such practices ought to be criminalized.

I am asking also sexual intercourse with contraception ought to be criminalized, since such sex acts are non-reproductive.

I am asking also if Caswell is the Pope? and notifying him that even if he is we are NOT Catholic.

I await your responses.

42. @Caswell:
    Is any one noticing the deafening silence of Mr Arthur? What has become of him? is he in Barbados? Mia has continued to rise and she seems to be all set to take over the leadership in a real battle that would show she is has won teh leadership fair and square and one that was not ceded to her. CAN’T wait until teh results of the Poll are published

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Str8 Up

This debate is about the legalization of same-sex unions. What does that have to do with Miss Mottley or Mr. Arthur? You can afford to juxtapose: you are anonymous, I am not. Not me and that Pele case!

44. Caswell Franklyn wrote “What does that have to do with Miss Mottley”
    mmmmmmmmm

45. @Random Thoughts – my response

LOL. You’re a riot! Really you’re too amusing even to a sexually strait laced curmudgeon like myself. By the way, it’s kind of creepy that you ( a post menopausal woman; your description) associate the (not) playing of the national anthem at the Rihanna show with weddings/ no fun in the matrimonial bed / same sex unions!! You dirty ole girl…fantasies about young female rock stars at your age(?) … or is there another sexually strait laced old curmudgeon in your life causing you to rant at 12:30 in the night ?!

Here’s some Rihanna songs for you to play this Sunday (sort of interpreted your mood with some commentary):

“If it’s lovin that you want” – don’t we all? – “You don’t love me (No No No)” – truth hurts but you’re not a kid anymore – ” Now I know” – acceptance is the first step to a solution – “SOS” – a cry for help is good – “Unfaithful” – some people feel this is the only way – ” Hate that I love you” – it’s hard to let go and this can lead to – “Good Girl Gone Bad” – mid life crises can cause some of us to do strange things. You seem to want it – “Hard” – in a – “California King Bed” – maybe with a little bit of – “S and M” – but unfortunately your frustration only seems to result in – “Man Down”.

Enjoy.

P.S. Play the national anthem at the start, it always gets me in the mood, at “attention” and all that….

46. @Ping pong………Play the national anthem at the start, it always gets me in the mood, at โ€œattentionโ€ and all thatโ€ฆ

some people take viagra and you play the national anthem….. LOLLL well to each his own I guess. I hope when in public you do not embarrass yourself with your flagpole.

47. Islandgal246

unfortunately at my age I seem to be permanently in a period of official mourning – half mast it is! But let me tell yuh not so long ago my neighbour asked why I played the anthem 3 times every night!

“you can never be too patriotic” I replied. Sigh. All a memory now.

48. The established order is only wrong because people won’t follow it. The world, alas, is full of rebels and people who just want to do what they want instead of what has been laid down. By the way, I keep seeing some nonsense about hetero parents producing gay children. Tosh!!! A gay lifestyle is a CHOICE – there is no evidence whatsoever that people are born gay. One chooses to be gay. Period.

49. @ Caswell

“I hate to get involved in an area where I have no personal experience or knowledge. I cannot speak to the attraction and sexual urges that some people have for their own gender.”

“Every right thinking person knows that same sex relations are unnatural.”

” I am therefore writing from the perspective of someone who has been brought up and culturally conditioned to believe that homosexuality is immoral, sinful and should be condemned.”

“This debate is very interesting and has caused me to to conclude that we have a lot of people who do not think for themselves. Instead, they prefer to piggy-back on other peopleโ€™s opinions and adopt them as their own.”

Contradictory?

50. @ You

“A gay lifestyle is a CHOICE โ€“ there is no evidence whatsoever that people are born gay. One chooses to be gay. Period”

Well what an absolutely pathetic and stupid thing to say. You really need to be educated. Unfortunately, I do not have the time and inclination to do that for you. So continue with your ignorance is bliss attitude, well in your case, blinkered!