Submitted by Caswell Franklyn

Chang W. Lee/The New York Times

I hate to get involved in an area where I have no personal experience or knowledge. I cannot speak to the attraction and sexual urges that some people have for their own gender. I am therefore writing from the perspective of someone who has been brought up and culturally conditioned to believe that homosexuality is immoral, sinful and should be condemned. However, I recognise that homosexuals are people like myself, and must be entitled to some basic rights. The question now is which rights, since some among us are saying that the lifestyle should be recognised as normal under the law.

I hope that all can agree that a society/country must put laws in place to ensure that it survives and continues to grow. It is therefore reasonable when laws are put in place to discourage and punish the misuse of harmful drugs, even though some might argue that the addict is only hurting himself. In reality, he is harming the society because he would eventually become a burden on the state.

There is also an argument that the state should not intrude into the bedroom, and should not seek to criminalize what takes place there between consenting adults. That argument is also flawed because that conduct could be harmful to the society. What if you had two consenting adults: a father of 50 years and his daughter 25 years having sexual relations in the privacy of their bedroom? If you follow the argument about consenting adults, should the state allow that behaviour? The simple answer must be “No”, because such a union could produce mongrels that would be harmful to the society if you have too many.

Similar reasoning could be used to justify laws against homosexual unions. Such a union is barren and produces no offspring to replenish the population, and as a result the society would decline and become unsustainable. In order to ensure that the society continues to grow, the state cannot, or rather should not, encourage that type of relationship, especially in a small vulnerable society. No one has the right to contribute to the destruction of his country.

While I do not advocate a society where agents of the state would invade a bedroom to verify that only heterosexual relations are taking place: I do not advocate a society where the state would give its blessing to same sex unions.

1. @Caswell …tell me why do some men become sexually attracted to other men while in prison and have wives or girlfriends on the outside.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

I have never been to prison, and have no aspiration in that regard. Again, I have no personal experience or knowledge in the area. However, I assume that men get attracted to each other in prison because any port for a storm.

3. Life will continue… can people wake up and see that this is 2011 and not 1201… Its a new day and a new age. Same sex unions, also produce children, by todays modern means. The original author… wake up. All you bible pushers… he who has not sinned cast the first stone. I believe in that book and other religious txt… And they all promote love and unity.

Let live and let love continue. Nothing will stop same sex unions it will continue it will grow and it will remain. So those against it, wake up smell the coffee and accept change, if you don’t you’ll simply die and the new generation will take over. Its inevitable.

4. @ Pete
    Bring the evidence nuh and stop talking. Let’s see it.

5. also @ Pete
    I don’t believe that I have had the temerity to call anyone names here because of their comments, and I’d thank you to do the same…..

6. ” I assume that men get attracted to each other in prison because any port for a storm.”

So Caswell one must never say NEVER then.

7. @ You

I am gay, so that is evidence enough. Move on

No, but you have the temerity to talk a load of crap.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

I wll say, “NEVER”. During the storm I would rather stay at sea and battle the waves than sneak in the back of of an enemy port. In such circumstances, I am capable of paddling my own canoe.

9. When is the next poll? Anyone knows? Caswell do you know? Is Mia going to be returned to the helm of the BLP? When will elections be called? Just trying to start a meningful discussion because this nonsense about gays aint worth discussing.

10. @ Pete

Just because you are gay and have CHOSEN that lifestyle DOES NOT mean that I have to agree with it. You were not born gay – were you a gay 3-month old? 2-year old? CRAP! You were born a man and woman was given to man for his pleasure NOT another man. That’s your CHOICE. You do not have to be abusive. Have a great day!

11. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Caswell Franklyn ” I am capable of paddling my own canoe.”

But Caswell paddling your own canoe is non-reproductive and should be banned.

12. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting You “You were not born gay – were you a gay 3-month old? 2-year old?”

Even while I am not gay myself, I doubt very much that anybody CHOOSES to be gay.

And I recall my rural elementary school back in the 50’s, about 135 students with slightly more boys that girls, say 70 boys and 65 girls, ranging in age from 5 to 9, that is from lower infants A to class 2. I recall at least 2 boys who consistently engaged in girlish behaviour and were seen by the other 5 to 9 years old, and by the school and village community as she-she, the term we used in those days. In adulthood, both are/were gay.

Move forward, the 1970’s in another country, but the person is my 2 year old niece, who consistently engaged in non-girlish behaviour. I then did not see her regularly for decades, but as an adult she is gay.

So yes it is sometimes possible to identify gay child children even at elementary school age even when none of the children are sexually active. Because gay is not just about sex, gay may not even primarily about sex.

All 3 of these children referenced were raised by loving married heterosexual parents, who raised other children who are not gay.

13. Random Thoughts you are too wicked LOLLL .

My female dog like to hump her basket ball and Caswell loves to go solo like “paddling his canoe”

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

You got me wrong: I do not like to go solo, but it is preferable to using my manhood as toilet paper.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

In Sao Paolo, Brasil the City Council has recently passed a law to have a Heterosexual Pride Day. Apparently, straight people, in that country, are feeling so marginalised because of the advocacy of the gay rights people that they feel the need to compete.
    Read all about it on the following link:

http://www.mediaite.com/tv/brazilian-city-council-approves-as-yet-undefined-heterosexual-pride-day-celebrations/

We do not need that weird behaviour here

16. I’m no prophet or christian franatic but somehow I have this gut feeling that what happening at that Galaxy Show a few nights ago is just a WARNING of what is to come if this country does not clean up its act. We have drifted so far from God that I fear something will happen to this country to bring us back to our senses. It’s not too late Barbados for us to ask forgiveness and repent of our unGodliness. I don’t want to sound like a prophet of doom and gloom but if this burden was placed on me to deliver to this country, I will do it without fear. I expect the negative responses I will get but each of us MUST answer for ourselves, I have delivered the WARNING, it is up to you to accept or refuse it. May the Lord have mercy on your souls

17. Random Thoughts Avatar

Scout 2 years ago teh same thing happened to the only child (a son also) of a friend of mine. He went to work, came home, went to pay a little football with the fellows, and dropped down dead.

He was in his 20’s, married, the father of a young child. His family is still devastated, because it was so unexpected. There is no need to be unkind to this family, especially so as you are a Christian.

The young man’s family is suffering enough because of his sudden death.

If any of your young family members have ever died suddenly (as one of mine have) perhaps you would find a little sympathy in your heart.

18. To Island gal 246:
    Studies done in relation to men having sex with men in prison indicate that the sexual attraction or act end when the individual leaves prison. One of the few cases in Barbados saw the act between a prison guard and an exprisoner when they were caught in the act by the police behind the old kensington compound. the vast majority of these men go back to straight lives. The impact that is it having here is that it creates a conduit for the spread of HIV into the straight population when unsuspecting partners are infected, if infection occurred in prison. The other small percentage were men who had a bisexual lifestyle before they committed to prison.

19. Random Thoughts
    I don’t mean to be unkind to anyone, I’m just stating that this act is against the laws of Godliness and is punishable by death. The same thing would go for someone who breaks into another person’s house and is shot dead, I would extent sympathy to his/her family but that does not make the act right. Barbados needs to clean up their act or it will be cleaned up for them, this is NOT the first WARNING,we had Emily that peeped into our face, them we had Tomas who gave us a “town/tongue” lashing, now this sudden death of the designate winner of an immoral show. MY GOD is not sleeping, it is time we return to our christian beliefs and stop making a mockery of God

20. mr franklyn am i to understand that you might opt to become gay when you become soft if you are not soft already.

21. Scout,

So if death is the punishment for this sin, why does everyone die eventually? Punishment for something else? What of a new born child?

22. “Studies done in relation to men having sex with men in prison indicate that the sexual attraction or act end when the individual leaves prison”

You sure bout that? Men are such good LIARS.

23. Lord please come for your world.

Gay man marries transsexual woman in Cuban first

By Jeff Franks
    HAVANA | Sat Aug 13, 2011 8:33pm EDT
    (Reuters) – A gay dissident and a transsexual woman married on Saturday in what was said to be a first for Cuba, then draped themselves in the rainbow flag of gay pride and rode through the streets of Havana.
    In a simple civil ceremony surrounded by much hoopla, Ignacio Estrada, 31, and Wendy Iriepa, 37, signed a marriage certificate, exchanged rings and kissed before a state official, who wished them much happiness.
    It was not technically a same-sex marriage, which is prohibited in Cuba, and drew no interference from authorities
    http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/08/14/us-cuba-wedding-idUSTRE77D01E20110814

24. Yesterday, at the National Ecumenical Service Monsignor Vincent, aka Harcourt Blackett, came out swinging for gay rights. I was not surprised that a catholic priest would be so forceful in his support for buggery. Before some nut says that he was talking about gay rights and not the homosexual act, go and disabuse your mind of that nonsense: the two cannot be separated. My first reaction was that he aught to be ashamed of that putrid nonsense but after reflection I realised that he is representing the Catholic Church, a veritable bastion for buggery of young boys. They probably introduced more young boys to buggery than they led to GOD.

Harcourt go and look for a job and stop defending the indefensible, you are only trying to justify an exercise where men go fishing for E. coli and not fishing for souls, which should be your job.