Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is scheduled to speak to the nation tonight (8 June 2011) at 8. It means that twice in less than two months Prime Minister Stuart, whose taciturn disposition contrasts starkly with the late Prime Minister David Thompson, will communicate to the people he was elected to serve . It was on the 26 April 2011 the Prime Minister participated in The Interview hosted by CBC’s Rosemary Alleyne which drew ‘comment’ because of its one on one format. Reports suggest the Prime Minister will make the cabinet his own tonight.

146 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Speaks To The Nation, AGAIN”

1. Looking forward to hearing what portfolios the following end up with:
    1 Chris Sinclair
    2 Donville Inniss
    3 David Estwick
    4 Ronald Jones
    5 Fraundel Stuart
    6 Dennis Kellman
    7 Mara Thompson
    Would also like to hear who is named as deputy PM

2. @Trithman Burton

Is Stuart frightened because he feels that “-“Mr.Impressions -No Substance- Big Maguffy Sinckler ” looks and sounds more prime ministerial than him?

You appear to be contradicting yourself here.

3. No comment!

4. That’s all folkes………the triffling and dipsy dodling is over. Will the new Minister of Finance please set forward?

5. Commeth the the hour, commeth the Man. The amateur hour is over.

6. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@David | June 8, 2011 at 7:00 PM |

“@Trithman Burton
    Is Stuart frightened because he feels that “-”Mr.Impressions -No Substance- Big Maguffy Sinckler ” looks and sounds more prime ministerial than him?

You appear to be contradicting yourself here.”
    No contradiction on my part David. Note I stated that : “he(Freundel) feels” that way, NOT me! What I believe is that Big Maguffy Sinckler , with his arrogant self, feels that he has what it takes to be prime minister. It would be appropriate to quote Clyde Mascoll:

“The truth is that listening tothe Minister of Finance is an exercise in itself. So much time is spent on style to mask the substance, that the listener’s focus is on the theatre – the emphasis on voice intonation, the scholarly glare over the frame of the spectacles and the pause for thought.

The style is all exaggerated, but where do you really stand on the substance?”
    I could never have ever said it better Clyde

Here is my full posting from which David quotes:
    “Just read a piece of paper that blew off the back of a truck speeding round the roundabout near my grandmother house here in Warrens..

Seems that the PM will be addressing the Nation tonight on CBC DLP TV and RADIO. The address will take the form of a pre-recorded statement, and will not be like the other aborted hit-and-run interview , when he was due to leave immediately after, for the royal wedding.

This will be a real real hit-and-run encounter, because he is really expected to leave the country immediately afterwards for China to see his Prime Ministerial TWIN Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford. The fact that this encounter with the Barbadian public is again happening in this guarded fashion, bears testimony to the fact that Stuart is still very afraid to meet the Press Corps in this country, so that he could be vigourously questioned about “Government By Serial Blunder’ as practised by The DEMS.

By the way, what’s with this silent mode that pervades the DLP? Agri. Minister David Estwick, the man with the reputation as being the most boisterous and cantakerous in the DLP, as well as sporting an ankle holster and Smith and Wesson, appears to have either lost his voice, or he has deliberately lowered his decibels, while he and his cohorts plan new moves that don’t look too good for Freundel.

Has Estwick made certain demands of Stuart, and is Stuart making tonight’s statement under duress, before he takes off for China? Will we FINALLY hear what’s the position with Denis (1) and Denis (2)? Is Stuart frightened because he feels that “-”Mr.Impressions -No Substance- Big Maguffy Sinckler ” looks and sounds more prime ministerial than him? Is Stuart Frightened because he might face a mutiny when he gets back from China? Is he thinking of that meeting that took place at Queen’s College, that he may not have been invited to, and is he keeping his eyes on Hartley and political anal-ass Wickum?

Looking forward to hearing you tonight Freundel …. Remember, whatever you do or say, bear in mind that the late king’s promised “Pathway-2-Progress” has turned into a a terrible tragedy, and a nightmare of mismanagement for the people of Barbados.

7. Estwick – Agriculture etc

M lashley Housing

Sealy Tourism

Blackett social care

Boyce Transport

Lashley Family etc

Suckoo Social Security

Hudson Intl Business

Sinckler Finance etc

Inniss Health

Lowe Environment etc

Jones Education etc

Todd Min State Housing

Kellman Industry etc

Brathwaite AG

Macclean Foreign Affairs

Benn Commerce & Trade

Boyce – Min in Office of PM

8. ‘Every downturn comes to an end’….’every recession is followed by a recovery’…

Lol. Methinks the PM underestimates this issue. ‘Recovery, in technical terms, similar to the ‘legal’ approach to things, may be measured by two consequtive quarters of ‘growth’.

But ‘essential’ and sustained recovery, is quite different.

By the way, who is the new CJ???

9. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Same old, same old hat Mr. Prime Minister,…..and more empty promises? I wish you would say something new and refreshing for a change. You are like Christopher Columbus, now discovering so much! When you came to the PM’s Office, you could not believe the amount of the country’s energy bill. Now you cannot believe the level of poverty in Barbados. Even though the poor will always be with us, how could you possibly not think that the level of poverty would be exponentially increased, after three years of bungling by a Government such as yours?

Sorry to say it, but the most remarkable thing about this televised statement is that you look far too much like an over made-up cadaver. Your words match your appearance.

And One Other Thing …. the DEMS have at long last fulfilled a promise. They have found a place for Kellie in the cabinet .. ALAS ….a promise they made to themselves, not for the benefit of the country really!

10. No real change to the Cabinet and no CJ! Disappointing>

11. Still waiting for the address. Probably I missed the true substance.

12. All I can say is “no sense in the change”. PM Stuart has placed his stamp all over the Government. A rubber stamp!!

13. Let us examine the objective of the televised statement.

14. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Words, words, words! Little substance, nothing new said; no sense of direction. Holding on for hope, that’s it. I am somewhat disappointed.

15. Quite clearly, to take the heat off and refer to the coming ‘doings’ of the administration, that they are actively addressing poverty etc.

To reassure that they ‘know’ what they are doing re the economy and assure that things will get better…some promise, who can make such? Especially when things like four seasons are in serious question?

To ensure that Kellman gets a spot and is kept happy as well as to put the face of the PM out there and show that he is communicating, even if only one way, to the nation.

However, it came across as a non-event and nothing like PM Thompson’s excellent media interactions.

16. old man river, Avatar
    old man river,

well de prime minister have spoken, he choose e, cabinet,no major changes, i glad that denis kellman get a little pic,one ting bout kelly he does speak to any body when he drivin,cause de people say that he do ah good job in de last ministry.and them said that he started de talk bout community tourism, but i say oh no it started by ah little fellow from eden lodge can call he last name . but that fellow really good when it come to community development, hope steve blackett take he under he wing, and give he ah job in de ministry, any way i gone.

17. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

I have seen an objective David, but it is an unworthy one, and I don’t want to over-emphasize it. Based on all the comments here, maybe you are the only one who has detected a noble objective David. So let’s hear it.

18. @Truthman Burton

The objective was to make room for Kelly as promised in April.

The intro was fluff to attempt to make an emotional connection to the public given the current economic environment.

The delivery came over as stiff and rehearsed.

He will have to go back to the drawing board, perhaps consider hiring Henry.

19. Out with it, David! Cos I ent spot none yet.

20. There is one thought that crossed my mind and possibly, just possibly, it is the same as Burton’s.

I hope not. But the following three months, or even the China trip, will tell.

21. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Stuart fly out Grantley Adams International already? Wish somebody could highjack that plane and bring he tail back here. He needs to be interrogated; the country want some answers! See what I told you? This was the real HIT-AND-RUN!

A request TO CBC DLP TV. DO the PM a favour. PLEASE DO NOT RE-RE-RE-RE-TELECAST THIS STATEMENT as you normally love to do.

22. When is the PM going to reshuffle the Cabinet?

23. I gine throw the sprat (not jack) then……

How much he going to China to borrow? 500Million?

24. @Rose Art

The cabinet serves at the pleasure of the PM, the fact he has validated the existing means he thinks there is no need to reshuffle.

The PM has spoken, let it be done.

25. The Prime Minister will now be responsible for National Security, the Public Service and Urban Development. Immigration also falls under his portfolio.

Denis Kellman now becomes Minister of Industry, Small Business and Rural Development.

Dr Denis Lowe is Minister of Drainage and the Environment. Previously he was also responsible for Water Resource Management.

Dr Esther Byer Suckoo now has Social Security added to her Labour portfolio.

Dr David Estwick is Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Water Resource Management.

Michael Lashley is now Minster of Housing and Lands. He was relieved of Urban and Rural Development.

Patrick Todd is now Minister of State in Lashley’s ministry.

26. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@David | June 8, 2011 at 8:49 PM | @Truthman Burton
    “The objective was to make room for Kelly as promised in April.
    The intro was fluff to attempt to make an emotional connection to the public given the current economic environment.
    The delivery came over as stiff and rehearsed.
    He will have to go back to the drawing board, perhaps consider hiring Henry.”
    David, I already spoke about the DEMS finally FULFILLING A PROMISE, the one about Kellie, made to themselves for themselves.

BUT I said, ‘Noble objective” Sadly there is none.

27. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@David | June 8, 2011 at 8:49 PM |
    “The delivery came over as stiff ….”
    David, you seem to have a real sense of humour. You clearly did not want to repeat my statement that the PM “LOOKED LIKE AN OVER-MADE-UP CADAVER WITH WORDS TO MATCH”, so you settled for “STIFF” ahahahahhehehehaha.

28. @Undertaker @8:56… Todd was already a Minister of State in Lashley’s ministry…

29. I don’t think henry could help in this situation. I think the pm need to watch the kings speech and understand the power of word. they lacking power in his speeches.

30. Did I not argue a few weeks ago that the government should have addressed the issue of the backlog of immigration cases before rushing into blocking non-nationals from public health care? Did I not also posit that it was a sign of incoherent policy making?

When you start bad, you end bad. The DLP never had any credible plans/policies in place that were suitable for governing Barbados in this the 21st century. The manifesto, which serves as a window into the thinking of a political party, was woefully short on comprehensive policies, and was instead a collection of paragraphs filled with ‘pie in the sky’ promises.

The truth is that the vacuousness of the policies required the charm and wit of the late PM to impress the populace, but now he is gone there is no one with those skills to sell the message.

How sad that all PM Stuart can announce after three years in government and over 6 months as PM is a pit eradication programme–a strategy long promoted by the last government, which had “committed itself to the removal of pit toilets from the landscape by the year 2017.” The PM somehow now realises that plenty pit toilets still exist in urban Barbados.

31. I would like to comment on the Prime Minister’s address.I would like to talk about *star quality* and personal appeal
    I wanted to talk about content
    I wanted to give a critique
    but I have not yet learnt the art of talking about or critiquing NOTHING !!!!!

oh Krackie !
    When will Chris Sinckler be made Prime Minister ?

32. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

An Excellent result, meanwhile it needs to be pointed out while this broadcast was being shown this evening, the PM was carrying the officail duty of welcoming HRH Princess Anne to Barbados who is here to attend the Emerging Youth Leaders Conference being hosted in Barbados with over 250 vistors to our island at a relatively quiet time for tourism, an excellent result all round, Barbados and the Barbadian people are a very large attaction even for Royalty with us hosting HRH Prince Edward and his Wife to take part in his ROYALIST REGATTA HELD OUTSIDE OF BRITIAN FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER AND IT WAS HELD IN BARBADOS IN APRIL OF THIS YEAR.

Here we have had two Royal Visits one by HRH Prince Edward and his wife and this current visit by HRH Princess Anne, visits like this stand out in the minds of the British and can only do wonderful things for our UK Tourism numbers.

33. @ Pooposition Is At Sea

You sound desperate.

34. An excellent address by PM Stuart. He demonstrated that there was no need for any significant changes in the Cabinet.

No doubt Owen is shaking in his boots once again……as there was no General Election call by Stuart !

The longer Owen has to wait the THICKER that SPECIAL file the DEMS have on him becomes !!

Too bad fuh……OWEN !

35. Mr. Prime MInister, I LOVE you.
    You’re such a gentleman.
    I just love everything about you.
    I LOVE you Freundal.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

36. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Not at all desperate my friend more a case of being real and alert, it is your bits and pieces Party that are desperate, disunited and disjointed and on the verge of cracking trying desperately to put on a show of unity when you and all like you know there is NO UNITY WITHIN THE BLP IT IS A CASE OF ONE OR THE OTHER LOOKING FOR THE SOFT SPOT TO PLACE THEIR DAGGER, The old people ofthen say TWO MAN RATS CANT LIVE IN THE SAME HOLE and neither MAN RAT in Mottley nor Owen can live in the same hole.

37. @David

“Perhaps he should hire Henry”

Lol. I think Henry done have a few clients in the DLP already….like “PM in Waiting” Sinckler and Mara.
    Why would he want to support the Sandiford Twin? Watch and see who will lead the DLP into the next election.

38. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Proposition at Sea

Dont waste anytime responding to enuff et al. Regardless to what the PM says or does people like him will attack him. The electorate will speak.

People like enuff wanted Donville to be moved, but he is there to continue health reform.

The people of Barbados will decide whteter they are satisfied with the DLP’s tenure in less than two years.

Mr. Prime Minister I am supporting you and your party 100%.

They wanted him to speak,jhe has spoken, now they want to compare him with Thompson. Their styles and personailty are different..

Morning Bonny, are you a memberof the Credit Union?

39. Hi so Barbados is having its share of problems with leadership. Where is uncle Owen Arthur. He was doing a good job. We need to be careful about desiring change it could be for the better we hope but it could turn out bad. Seems as if the change from Owen to David turned out bad.

40. The PM did refer to one other thing. Thta some people watch on the sidelines for the political entertainment.

This was subtle but unnecessary. Yes, people watch on the sidelines because people expect more from our politicians, that is why they watch and criticise and to use his own argument, more must be expected from our politicians for the sake of the poor and disenfranchised in the country, contryary to his argument that such criticism will harm such as those.

Further, if anyone really is entertained by the politicians and their actions, it is not surprising, seeing the type of behaviours put forward by some of those in Parliament, past and present.

Maybe paranoia, but I get worried anytime a politicial personage circles anywhere arround freedom of speech, because that in effect was what he was doing, not criticising the ability to do so, but attacking the fact that people are exercising their right to do so.

Don’t like the criticism? Tough!

41. Stuart is simply re-arranging the deck chairs on the Titanic. These changes are absolutely pointless, and reflect a stunning lack of appreciation that more drastic action is required.

Fail.

42. Stuart is not Thompson and therefore will have a different style and method of communicating. That difference in how Stuart communicate with the people should not diminish the effectiveness of his message.

43. “Excuses are the tools with which persons with no purpose in view build for themselves great monuments of nothing.” – Steven Grayhm

People are always blaming their circumstances for what they are. I don’t believe in circumstances. The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and, if they can’t find them, make them. –
    George Bernard Shaw

44. @ David

Effectiveness of his message?

What non-sense you talking, you letting everyone here know that you are DLP supporter with an official post in the Upper House now?

The Prime Minister, unelected as he is, should put the people of Barbados out of their misery and call elections. The only reason the PM aint calling elections is because he knows the gang of wild boys (his own) going to toss him upon his head and put Sinckler to lead the party into the elections.

The man has no charisma, no appeal, no substance and has a basic political character flaw, he cannot connect with the people.

45. These are the good things Fruendel do:-

1. __________________________________
    2. __________________________________
    3. __________________________________
    4. __________________________________
    5. __________________________________
    6. __________________________________
    7.__________________________________
    8. __________________________________

46. @Rose Art

Calm down and have a reread of the comment:

Stuart is not Thompson and therefore will have a different style and method of communicating. That difference in how Stuart communicate with the people should not diminish the effectiveness of his message.

In summary Stuart can be expected to deliver his message in a different way but the message to the target audience should be the same as if Thompson had delivered it.

47. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

I missed something last night; it may be because I am so far away so to hell with technology. Please tell me; can you name any elements of the Prime Minister’s speech last night that was either enlightening or indeed had some measure of ‘effectiveness’? I am not here to bash the Prime Minister nor am I wondering if it is an oversight that only some UK students were invited to meet with him very shortly. What concerns me are omissions. No mention of a Chief Justice after the position is vacant for more than a year. There was no mention of the gross income from tourism and, how with the suggested increases, it is lessening the burden on the very poor people that the Prime Minister now realises live in Barbados. Did the Prime Minister by chance after his reference to the hurricane and what is possible in the aftermath, give you the evidence that there is evaluation of the damage and a clear plan on how to proceed? Did the Prime Minister take Barbados into his bosom and trust by stating what measures the DLP administration is taking to curb the negative images that, rightfully or wrongfully, have been thrown around in the region? Is the Prime Minister stating that all ministries, all sectors, and the Ministers that lead policy in those areas are working so well that only minimal change was necessary? Did the Prime Minister provide incentives for persons such as James Paul to keep on working on behalf of the party when incompetence may have been rubber-stamped? Is Dr. David Estwick the political football and underdog in the current set-up of the DLP? Is not the Prime Minister worried that the Minister of Agriculture may decide to shoot from the lip and rest the steel, thereby doing untold damage to the factions that exist within the DLP-led administration? Is Prime Minister Staurt finding it strategically useful to back away from identifying a Deputy Prime Minister, who will his decision anger or ostracise? I do not think the Prime Minister was effective or strategic last night. I am convinced though, there are dark shadows lurking near him and his fear is exhibited by lack of dealing with particulars or demonstrating decisiveness. I wish him well; but I am sure that the names of Inniss, Estwick, Sinckler, and maybe Thompson bring much discomfort to a man who refuses to shine although the torch of leadership is in his grasp (although not firmly held).

48. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Roseart

We do not vote for a prime minister, they are slected from among their peers.

49. David
    What is the message P.M Stuart brought? I listened eagerly to hear my P.M at last come out of his shell and address the nation on pertinent issues, like the appointment of the new C.J that caused a rush through Parliament at mid-night, the spirally cost of living, the REDjet affair, the Myrie affair, the reduction of his cabinet because of the resession, among others, all I got was “a lotta long talk” saying things that the smallest child already knows. He could have appointed Kellman without the fanfare. Who will act as Dep P.M while he is out of the country? Why not Min of Finance or the A G ? Why can’t he appoint a permanent Deputy? Mr P.M you have done more damage to the DLP image than if you had kept your mouth shut.

50. It would be better if the DLP “yardfowls” would also keep their mouths shut, since it is impossible to defend the undefensible.. It is too close to another general elections for the party leader to be causing such damage to his party. Did the senior members of cabinet or the party get to read his statement before the national address was made? If so the entire party must carry the shame, if they didn’t get the chance to read and critique it, then P.M Stuart is just like former P.M Sandiford, either way, this party has a lot of work to do if they want to be serious contenders for the upcoming general elections. Sandford handed the BLP the government on a silver platter, Stuart is giving them back on a golden one.