Submitted by Apollo 13 (comment)

These are good things that the DLP has done:

1. Free bus fares for children resulting in adding to the Transport Board’s $48 million deficit
  2. Free summer camps to the tune of millions to the taxpayers but fatted calf shared to its supporters, including Kenny Best who had a camp, some of their supporters had three camps each
  3. High petrol costs and allowing the Transport Board to run  a gas station illegally so that SOL can make back its millions spent on the DLP campaign and cover the costs of David Thompson flying up and down the world on SOL’s private jet
  4. Increase VAT to 17.5%
  5. Increase water rates by 60%
  6. Building a lot of poorly built chicken coops for houses and not being able to get neither renters or buyers resulting in the NHC not being able to access loans.
  7. Turning NHC into a hell hole in which to work with nepotism running rampant
  8. Firing Marilyn Rice Bowen and installing a brother as chairman while pretending in the by election to be champions of women
  9. Giving away the taxpayers land to JADA at Coverley in exchange for  free plane rides and gifts
  10. Ronald Jones cursing the principals and creating such a hostile atmosphere in the MOE that many senior staffers have left
  11. Stephen Lashley cursing out public servants and telling them to shape up or ship out as if he don’t know the rules governing the public service and now putting a gag order on NCF workers
  12. Raising unemployment from 6.5% to 11% in three years
  13. Spending over 2.5 billion dollars left as foreign reserves and cleaning out the sinking fund  in two years with nothing to show for it
  14. Running up the highest fiscal deficit ever over $500 million
  15. Three cabinet reshuffles in three years

1. Chaos at the hospital with a minister giving directives to move a patient to a private clinic and then suing the doctor who brought it to light and then the Chairman suspending the said doctor and then had to bring him back after the telemedicine failed
  2. Raising petrol products as they fancy up and down making no sense
  3. Appointing Kellman as minister and then changing the substantive minister to minister without portfolio resulting in the biggest cabinet ever in Barbados
  4. Creating chaos and low staff morale at the Tourism Authority promising to break it up into two companies and now realising that they don’t have money to do so
  5. Minister Lowe making sure when he was in charge of Urban that Patrick Todd’s father house got fixed
  6. Donville Inniss getting a road to his apartments paved
  7. Mass chaos in MPT resulting in more chaos on the road
  8. Supporting CLICO fooling Bajans that it was a sound and well managed company and now refusing to help policyholders in recovering their money

And these are not even all of the good things the DLP has done.

241 responses to “Barbados Labour Party Supporter Highlights 23 Mistakes Inflicted By Government”

1. Well I can surely agree with the Clico issue. I thought I would have my money by now, I closed my policy with them nearly a year ago and still have not received a cent as yet.

2. I’m still awaiting a reply from Negro Man on my question to him. PLEASE tell me the positive things the DLP party did since coming to office in 2008? If I was a believer in the DLP that I knew and remember the awful days of the BLP in my early days, you DLP staunch supporters would really push me to the BLP. It seems that it is a sin to criticise anything the DLP has done or not done.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SCOUT

You are not fooling anyone.
    We all know that you are BLP.
    You have been unmasked and you are trying to keep up the charade.

4. Carson scout being realist maybe you should learn from that too.

5. On completely unrelated note. Isn’t the pm out of island ? So who is the acting pm ?

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SCOUT

There is no difference between you and Clyde Mascol, Kerry Simmonds, Johnny Tudor,Trevor Prescot, Rudy Grant and a few others.

Owen “seethru”Arthur bribed you with money or position and just like Judas you betrayed the DLP for a few pieces of silver.

You no doubt miss the subvention and you are fighting hard,but in vain, to have him back in office so that your personal gravy train can get rolling again.

7. Carson. What about Hammie La who is allergic to being on the Opposition benches.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hammie La is a decent man. Leave him out of this.

9. @ Carson Cadogan
    Decent?

10. Fair and Balance Avatar

Some questions about clico that the Government should answer.
    (1) Is Clico under Judicial Management, if so who is the court appointed Judicial manager?
    (2) Is it a fact that Parris got a 11 million payout from Clico as demanded by Duprey? if so why have Policyholders not be paid as well?
    (3) Are agents being paid when they have written no new business in some cases to the tune of $15,000.00 per month for some agents? and if so why can’t policyholders get their money?
    (4) as a follow up to 3 above, are agents being paid for doing nothing.
    The opposition seems busy fighting with themself so i will have to start asking the questions.

11. Fair and Balance

Insurance Agents are paid based on insurance policies previously written. If the Insurance company is honouring those polices as part of its book then the agents who wrote the business must accrue the benefit i.e be compensated.

A Judicial Manager has been appointed, he is a partner with one of the Accounting firms, his name escapes at the moment.

Where is this 11 million payout for Parris coming from?

Agree that the way forward for CLICO needs to be articulated for the public. The fact it has become a political football is regrettable given the financial implication for so many policyholders and the country.

12. Truthman Burton Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | February 2, 2011 at 9:08 PM |
    “SCOUT
    You are not fooling anyone.
    We all know that you are BLP.
    You have been unmasked and you are trying to keep up the charade.”

Carson, Is it not YOU, the bizarre DLP character who is really carrying on the charade? You have said absolutely NOTHING about the TWENTY THREE DAMNING ITEMS that APOLLO 13 has posted here to start this discussion thread! You have COMPLETELY SKIPPED THE ISSUES, and instead have made some silly irrelevant remark to SCOUT.

But that’s how you DLP bloggers have been functioning. A whole lot of bare-faced DLP propoganda, while this so-called “sqeaky clean” government continues to break every promise it has made… and boasts emptily to Barbadians about the wonderful things it has done!

13. GOVERNMENT will embark on a major high-rise urban housing project, the first of its kind in Barbados.

400 apartments will be constructed at Mason Hall Street, The City; Valery, Brittons Hill; The Grotto, Beckles Road; and at Exmouth, all in St Michael.

14. To All BU BLOGGERS
    When any of you see my friend Negro Man, tell him I’ve left a package with a question in it for him; THE REPLY IS URGENTLY NEEDED.
    Hants
    Are you serious about these high-rise buildings? It seems the NHC has gone crazy, somebody’s pocket is getting really fat. When we concentrate on building houses, that calls for much foreign exchange to import materials, then these houses are sitting there and government is begging people to buy them. Not that they are not needed but in a recession consumers are very cautious about committing themselves to a long term financial agreements when the economic future looks so bleak, in fact I’ve been informed that some new house owners have already returned the houses to NHC. We are using our limited foreign exchange to build houses that are not being purchased and the few that are being purchased, no foriegn exchange is being generated. We need to put a halt on any further NHC consruction until we can build up our foreign exchange.

15. CCC
    You’re sounding like an enraged maniac, what happen to you? the question I’ve asked Negro Man has touched a nerve in you? Maybe it will be better if you do like him and keep your mouth shut. I’ve been asking the DLP for a long time either charge or lock up somebody for all those accusations and “evidence ” you have against members of the BLP or SHUT UP ; at lease one person has shut up, Negro Man you’re a sensible fellow.

16. Hants,
    6 or 7 story housing blocks in Bridgetown is something to herald? Worse if the ‘artist’s impression’ is close to the final product. Can anyone say ghetto? Who advising the government?

17. The question is, who are these private contractors that the Min. Housing and the Government are collaborating with, on the behalf of, and for the benefit of the people of Barbados?

18. Seems like Apollo 13 have already forgotten about the first budget that DT presented and the drastic increases and taxes contained therein.

19. We must get rid of the DLP at the next general election…they are a bunch of clowns who have no idea at all how to run this country.

20. @Jenny M

When there was the Mascoll Thompson conflict did BLP supporters offer comment?

It is the nature of political discourse that the opposing side would offer an opinion.

21. Raw Bake,

I had to go out so I had to break off the list of the good things that the DLP has done since 2008 but I did not forget the harsh repercussions of the first budget introduced by the king, David Thompson.

The fact is that many believe that that budget threw the economy into a tail spin that has contributed to a longer recession. Also remember that many of the tax measures were not “implementable” e.g cellphone tax and lotto winnings.

I remember that DT said that Owen Arthur was selling out Barbados and was in bed with the merchant class. This was during the sale of BS&T. He said when he won, if the ink hadn’t dried on the sale, he would stop it. The deal was actually signed after the change of government and he did nothing.

He was going to bring in Cost you less, what has happened to that? From all reports, the man behind the project is up the creek now and cant do it.

David Thompson after harshly criticising Owen Arthur over Kensington Oval, the first thing he did was to drag the GG down there for a pappy show to install ministers at great cost to the taxpayers. This is how they squandered the money the Bees left. DT declared to the world then with PM Skerritt up front grinning… I am going to bring in fruits from Dominica where there is such an abundance, they are rotting down there. From the time DT said that, I said what a lie, how could DT not know that you cant bring in fruit from Dominica just so! Why, because of the fruit flies and other pest infections! Has a shipment of fruit ever arrived from Dominica since the change of government?

The Dems in their manifesto promised to give a certain % to small contractors (I was searching for their manifesto to find the exact % but cant find it right now) and they are giving most of the work to one big contractor, oh and one more, compliments Michael Lashley.

The Dems have the biggest cabinet ever in Barbados, 19 ministers and three parliamentary secretaries and yet the country is on auto pilot like when DT was dying. Fumble Stuart need to get rid of Harry Husbands, Physical Deficit Ince and Irene Sandiford as they are drawing taxpayers monies for nothing…. a waste of time. They need to get up and start producing, they are all cost over runs to the tax payers.

These are more of the good things the DLP is doing.

22. I AM NOT SAYING WHO I AM-GO FIGURE Avatar
    I AM NOT SAYING WHO I AM-GO FIGURE

REASON # 16
    —————–

THE DLP GOVERNMENT 2008 -2011 IS THE WORST GOVERNMENT IN THE HISTORY OF BARBADOS AND PERHAPS THE CARIBBEAN

NAME A GOVERNMENT IN BARBADOS THAT THIS IS BETTER THAN–
    2003, 1994 -1986 ?

23. The Dems are building houses to brag that they have built more houses than the BLP, that’s all this building houses is about.

The fact is that the houses are not being sold. From all reports received, I understand that only 4 of the Four Roads houses have been sold after all the razzmatazz and big concert to hand over keys during 2008 at a cost of over BDS$100,000.00.

The Dems believe in this mendicant mentality as far as Bajans are concerned. No government has any right looking to provide so much housing, create the environment to help people to find jobs and introduce measures that would make loans available so that low income people can become eligble and so build what they want.

Many if these houses are so expensive now that no low income persons can afford them and the middle class person dont want the type of houses being built in any case, so who is going to buy these houses now? So isn’t it madness to tie up so much money in houses just to say we build more houses than the BLP.

Utter madness, DLP style, just like the constituency councils, now organising collection of garbage, wasn’t this being done before?

24. For as long as I can remember the following pharse has been around. If America sneezes we catch the cold. That however only applies when convenience demands. NEWSFLASH ……Barbados is still a part of this world ,so certain reverberations maybe , just maybe felt in Bim . Take a look at the G 7 countries and tell us what unemployment is now , and what was it three or four years ago. Here in New York ( now Checkit-Out knows ) fifteen thousand teachers are slated to be sent home soon ,and that is on top of another six thousand who were already earmarked for the chopping block. How is the mess at the Q.E.H. set at the feet of this government ? Has that place not gotten worse year after year under successive administrations even before Owen Arthur’s first ?While there are certain short comings for which the government’s feet can be held to the fire , I think that the question Apollo 13 missed is this.” Why is it me and not the opposition leader shining the light on these critical issues “? Surely these would have worked better than that seriously flawed strategy . See why he has to go ? He must, for we “Dimwitts In The Dems” will not allow this or any other blog to take us away from our game-plan . We shall remain relentless in our quest to rid this land of its first Despot ,Owen Semore Arthur .

25. Scout you are a clown sorry to say.
    Here is a government doing what Barbadians have been asking for .Build high rise housing because of dwindling land space.
    Billy Miller the BLP member for the city spoke of Urban renewal to bring life back to Bridgetown. This is being done to provide houses for poor people in Mason Hall Street, Cats Castle, Green field. This will remove the slums and squalor of those places. Have you ever been there?
    The plan also spoke of an improve housing stock to withstand hurricanes which would destroy most of the houses in St Michael if a category 1 pass over Barbados.
    The problem with you scout and all the Other BLP operatives is the government continues on a path which sensible Barbadians are agreeing with. The St John Bye election has taught you nothing the people are fed up of your negativity and INFIGHTING .Go sort out your problems scout and Apollo 13.

26. High-rise units in other parts of the world do tend to evolve into
    crime ridden mini ghettos.
    But the main problem here in Barbados will be the elevator maintenance.
    Not just the stink of urine which defines it as a high rise, but our seeming inability even to keep our hospital elevators in working order.
    Carrying the weekly groceries up 6 floors is no joke.

27. This Apollo guy must have bump his head. For to be feverhisly trying to say that the DLP has done little in two years > He forgetting that it took 14 years for the BLP to do anything and they yet to fix the roads in ST. JOhn. Moreover Ythey left a balloning deficit which the BLP has to ask the citizens to pay and now you supporter of the BLP acting like wunna had leftsurplus for the DLP to run the country. THe BLP left this country in financial dooooo. Maybe if the BLP didnt left all this financial mess with its constant borrowing the country would be in better shape. Not to mention the Barack debacle that the BLP left for the Dems to pay. Wunna think money grow on trees. At this point and time the main issue is getting the defecit down after 14years of financial madness by the BLP.
    Yuh bull sh..t doesn’t even deserve a response.

28. @ Charlie

Well tell the blog that the IADB neighbourhood upgrading programme i.e Greenfields, Cats Castle etc is the BLP programme, and that the DLP only had to collect the cheque after all the hard work was done. FYI urban renewal DOES NOT mean bad strategies like incompatible 6-7 storey high rises in neighbourhoods such as Mason Hall Street.

29. Charlie
    That is the problem with some of you ardent supporters, you jump at eveything your party say as right. High rise buildings are O.K but the maintainence is high too. Regularly serviced elevators and 24 hour surveillance is needed; this is not even being provided at the QEH. The biggest problem would be being able to evacuate persons from those top levels in case of emergency. I’m not saying that it is impossible but a comprehensive study should be done before the announcement of such a venture, this is stepping into a new and different type of residential housing. My position still stands on this whole matter of massive house building, we are using up much foreign exchange and we’re not developing areas to get back foreign exchange. In times of plenty these projects could work, what we need is to stabilise the economy first.

30. ac
    You are very thin skinned, once someone does not agree with you, you get very nasty. Apollo 13 made very pertinent points that needs addressing but all you can do is try casting blame on everyone else and try to get arrogant, then you want to blame Owen for doing the same, if you were in his position you would be like him or even worse.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SCOUT
    No one paying any attention to what you are saying.
    You have been unmasked. You are no more than an Owen”seethru”Arthur disciple. Owen the worst man in Barbados, the man who threaten Bajans who disagreed with him with the task force.
    The little despot who is now a “has been”.

This is what Our PM had to say about your little despot Seethru;
    “Fear and Terror are weak bonds of affection, where fear ends, hatred begins”.

That is why most people, with the exception of SCOUT, HATE him now. He is no longer a threat to any one.

As for APOLLO 13, he can take his comments and shove them where the sun does not shine.

32. @SCOUT

Question. Was it the DLP that got Barbados into this financial mess?
    Was it the DLP that borrow and borrow and spend like drunken sailors.
    Now that the DLP is trying its dam best with the little money it has to balance the budget and take care of the other problems confronting this economy you called me “nasty” Well nasty is asking a guvment to do more than they can do with having nothing to do it with.
    It took 14 years for the BLP to screw everthing up fiscally. Now you expect the DLP to fix everything in 2 years. Show me the MONEY and let me know where to get it from then the DLP can do everthing you want them to do. The DLP cannot afford to go on a borrowing spree like the BLP. to show how much they can do. IN
    the end the taxpayers gonna have to foot the bill as apparent now.

33. The DLP cannot afford to go on a borrowing spree like the BLP.

The problem is that is has. Little over 2 billion added the national debt isn’t little change around here.

34. partof that was to help pay the overridding bills the BLP left and ran the country. If there is nomoney in the government coffers the alternative is necessary. These problems were created by the BLP and unfortunately left for the DLP to fix As of now the DLP is moving in right direction in correcting thefiscal defecit left behind by OSA and his crew and guess what if all the extreme borrowing wasn’t done under OSA we would not be at this point! Some one has to clean up the mess and the job ain’t easy

35. What bills? there only that wasn’t there is the bill for al barrack which noone seem to wish to pay.

36. ac
    The BLP screwed up, as I stated over and over again especially within the last five years of governance, but the DLP came along and tightened the screws, they, as the late P.M said had to divide the fatted calf, that’s why some lavish spending went on, a fete for every little thing the party was doing even just handing out keys to four house owners, a few million on two big Independence fetes the first two years, a big fete for a youth retreat among many others. This party stood a good chance at the beginning of their term to tell bajans that they have to tighten their belts for us to get out of this mess, but what they did, spend big too, even now almost all the DLP MP’s are ministers. It is because of this that I’m critical of the handling of the economy by this government, they are not behaving like serious matured people. I heard David Estwick at a constituency meeting talk about the massive fiscal problems this government was facing, yet with all that I saw some areas where lots of money was spent just to satisfy a few hierarchy, all that David got was a demotion, but “time longer than twine”. However, I predict he will become the next Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados

37. anthony
    I question whether the haste to get the new C.J in place is to rule on the Barrack issue in favor of the government. I was told then that the matter was pass that stage but since I’ve learnt that government has put it back in court. I’m watching with interest to find the outcome of this matter. The BLP has left a centepede with the DLP to kill and they are playing with it. Problem is, when it stings we will all feel the pain. The DLP needs to stop canvassing and deal with these matters, it is time they stop casting blame on someone else and deal with the situation. President Obama found USA in a bigger mess than David find Barbados and the onus was on him to get the problem cleared up or they would find someone else. We like quoting the USA and using them as reference when it suits the party, well use that as a guide to get the matter cleared and stop blaming the BLP. What many bajans want is not a return to the BLP but a government that is capable of putting this country back on a firm footing, if the DLP can’t do, let’s find an alternative government to do it.

38. what bills ? If the is no surplus in the overment coffers pay civil servants . To keep hospitals an police services etc and other services provided by thegovernment up and running l Then what is the other alternative . either to borrow or close the country down. The fact that the DLP had to borrow money tells you that there was no or very little money left to run the government after the BLP left . Again I say the DLP is moving int the right direction to correct the problem.

39. Ac again it seem you have no idea how governments have worked before. They run year to year the ability to pay them is derived from having a current account surplus since the has always been a fiscal deficient. This surplus is used to keep the government from borrowing for normal expenditure and then use borrowing to pay for capital growth while it wait for revenue generation for the year. This has been reason why other than last 3 year the country has has always had a current account surplus except for 3 or 4 years in past 50 years. The country always been run this way where there has never been any giant surplus. Borrowing is mainly for capital expenditure not normal expenses.

This is what barrow left for tom what tom left bee what bee left barrow what barrow left sandi what sandi left owen and what owen left david. The exception to this is what david left stuart

40. David;

I’ve been looking at the topic in this thread and the fact that relatively little effort seems to have been made to refute the specifics of the 23+ mistakes of the current administration that Appollo 13 has identified.

I’m wondering if an alternative approach could be looking at the DLP manifesto and seeing what they have delivered on after being in office for at least 60% of their allocated time.

Of course the global economic climate, which was already buffetting us when they took power and should have been factored into the promises made in the manifesto, should be taken into account in evaluating the performance vs promises ratio. In addition, they have 40% of their time left so that much can still be done to fulfill some of the untouched promises / committments in that time.

In any case; as a start, I’ve outlined the promises contained in the first 10 pages of their 29 page 2008 manifesto that could possibly be used by the usual protagonists to compare the manifesto promises with what was actually done; what could have been done in our straightened circumstances; and what was totally infeasible to even attempt doing.

Of course, also, a number of things were done that were not in the manifesto.

The edited extract from the manifesto is below:-

DISTRIBUTIVE SECTOR
    Provide incentives to new and existing small and medium size players to come into the (Distributive) sector.
    ensure that at least 40% of all government’s procurement requests for goods and services are reserved for sourcing from small and medium size

enterprises.
    review the basket of goods on which VAT and other impositions have been removed. We commit to expanding that basket significantly,
    examine the feasibility of removing the VAT on utility bills for households and businesses alike.

IMPROVING ACCESS TO PROPERTY OWNERSHIP
    The Democratic Labour Party believes that landownership is too important to the Barbadian identity to be left totally to market forces. The time has

come for Government to intervene to ensure that every Barbadian gets an opportunity to own a piece of the Rock.

In the first 100 days of the new DLP administration (we will) remove VAT from building materials on houses valued up to $400,000.
    Establish a Home Ownership Revolving Fund for public sector workers with 5 years service who are first time homeowners. This fund will be capitalized

with an initial injection of $40 million.
    Provide 500 lots of land in five (5) months at $5 per sq foot for first time homeowners. These lots have been identified and land will be acquired by

private treaty where necessary to speed up the process.
    Provide 2,500 house spots for sale to low and middle income wage earners in the first term of a DLP government.
    Commit to building 2,000 housing solutions. These will include rental units, terrace units and starter homes.
    Increase the tax deduction for mortgages to $20,000.00 per year.
    Commit to building and main- taining a pool of rent-to-purchase units for low-income earners, pensioners, and the disabled who may not qualify
    for mortgages and loans.
    Commit to realizing the concept of Housing Communities, for low income earners in which all the amenities are provided
    Promote the concept of starter home projects and partner with private sector companies (through tax incentives) in promoting the concept of “build and

live”, a long tradition in Barbados.
    Explore the concept of reverse mortgages with the financial institutions and give incentives where necessary to provide for dignified standards of

living for our elderly in their golden years.

HEALTH
    Under a new DLP Government, health will once again be at the top of the national priorities list.
     A new DLP Government will immediately embark on a health promotion campaign to sensitize the public to the dangers of unhealthy lifestyles;
     We will intensify the campaign to stop the spread of HIV/AIDS;
     There will be no user-fees for public pa- tients at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital;
     We will implement a “Rescue the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Plan” which will include:
    – Increasing the number of trained medical personnel.
    – Moving swiftly to effect change, including reduced waiting times, at the Accident & Emergency Department of the QEH.
    – Constructing a new Accident & Emer- gency wing and providing more beds and
    – Expanding the Asthma Bay.
    – Setting up a General Practitioner service as an adjunct to the A&E unit to streamline patients entering it, thereby alleviating long waits.
    – Upgrading the geriatric hospitals to treat the elderly for emergencies thereby taking the strain off of the A&E unit and freeing beds.
    – Upgrading and opening selected polyclinics on 24 hr/7days a week basis.
    – Making the latest treatment options available to ordinary Barbadians at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

EDUCATION
    To this end and within the first 100 days of our administration the Demo- cratic Labour Party government will convene a National Consultation on

Education with a view to formulating a plan to:
     Address the relevance of our present edu- cation system
     Ensure adequate and affordable educa- tional opportunities for every Barbadian
     Make school a rewarding experience for every child
     Ensure that every school child benefits fully from the educational system
     Help every child to realize his/her poten- tial through education

The major issues which will be addressed include:
     Co-education
     The School-leaving age
     The promotion of non-academic subjects
     The duplication of efforts (subject offerings) at schools
     Inter school transfers, between primary and secondary and between secondary and secondary
     The treatment of slow learners
     School attendance and drop outs
     Teacher recruitment, deployment, training and rewards
     Transporting school children Discipline in schools
     The interaction between parents and the school
     The public interaction with schools
     The use of school property for commu- nity and other activities
     School security

In particular, a DLP government is committed to:
     Establishing new, state-of-the-art pre-school learning centres in close proximity to existing industrial complexes such as Wildey, Newton,

Grazettes, Six Roads and within large communities across the country.
     Extending the Textbook Loan Scheme to include Primary Schools.
     Revising the Secondary School Curriculum to meet the needs of modern Barbadian children. It is anticipated that new subjects like Family Life

Education, Ethics, Civics, Life Skills, Information Technology, Art, Music, Drama and Sports will feature more prominently in the curriculum.
     Designating certain “non-traditional grammar schools” as centres of excellence in these disciplines.
     Raising the school leaving age to 18 years.
     Establishing a new “Community University” to continue to study, research and teach these subjects at a higher level.
     Subsidizing the Amenities Fee for Students at the UWI.
     Infusing a problem solving approach and a pursuit of excellence in one’s chosen discipline into our education system.
     Teaching the subject of Enterprise at every educational institution and at all levels.

FAMILIES FIRST
    A DLP government will….
     Establish a Ministry of Family, Social Care and Community Empowerment to bring together under one umbrella all de- partments that deal with

family matters.
     Give maximum support to parents in raising their children.
    Ensure adequate resources to provide counseling to families and guidance to parents in executing their responsibilities.
     Provide education for young people so that roles within marriages and other relationships could be better understood and more rationally

allocated.
     Facilitate and provide a more humane sys- tem for the collection of maintenance from delinquent fathers.
     Provide counseling and rehabilitation for delinquent parents.
     Develop programmes and policies to eliminate the serious issue of domestic violence.
     Supplement the income of families to en- sure that it does not fall below an accept-
    able minimum.

A DLP administration will ……
     Put special emphasis on skills training for children whom the present education system is failing
     Broaden the scope and availability of adult education opportunities
     Promote programmes to foster and sup- port strong family units and relationships
     Provide training and support in skills such as parenting, dispute resolution, effective communication
     Develop and inculcate a relevant system of values at all levels of society
     Eliminate the emergence of loutish behaviour in various neighbourhoods
     Eradicate the scourge of illegal drugs wrecking our communities
     Protect minors against indecency, vulgarity, illegal activity, and corrupt practices
     Restore Barbados’ reputation of respect for authority, property, traditions, icons and symbols
     Devise and foster a value system, in consultation with community leaders, to influence the country’s outlook and behaviour.

The Democratic Labour Party will review the Barbados Youth Service with a view to introducing a comprehensive National Youth Service Programme to

ensure that all young people are exposed to opportunities for empowerment and make a smooth transition to adulthood.

SENIOR CITIZENS
    The Democratic Labour Party is committed to caring for all Barbadians in their senior years. A
    new Democratic Labour Party government will:
     Introduce a minimum pension threshold for all Barbadians. No Barbadian citizen will receive less than BD$500 a month on reaching pensionable

age.
     Maintain the differential between contributory and non-contributory pensions.
     Ensure that old age pensioners receive a non-contributory pension of $6,032 per year which is $502.66 per month and contributory pensioners

will receive $7,384.00 per year or $615.33 per month.
     Increase the tax-free exemption threshold for pensioners receiving $3,000.00 per month or less.
     Repeal the legislation that discriminates between government pensioners retiring before 1975 and those after in relation to their government

pension and NIS pension.
     Reduce the drivers licence fee for drivers over 70 years of age.
     Introduce a deductible allowance for nursing home fees and expenses.
     Encourage Senior citizens to use the Community Resource Centres for training and recreation.

41. Fair and Balance Avatar

@ David of BU
    “Insurance Agents are paid based on insurance policies previously written. If the Insurance Company is honouring those polices as part of its book then the agents who wrote the business must accrue the benefit i.e be compensated”

David in your usual rush to defend this government you clearly do not check all your facts. Insurance agents are paid based on policies previously written however they are paid based on a scale where first year commissions are paid between 30 – 60% of the annual premium upfront when the business is settled. In other words insurance agents have to generate new business in order to earn a proper income as the second and subsequent years are paid between 2 to 5%. Since Clico is not authorized to sell new policies for more than a year now then the agents are only earning at the very low level. My understanding is that Clico agents are being paid at the same levels as if they were writing new business. In other words they are getting free money while policyholders and investors can’t get theirs. No wonder they have not sought employment elsewhere, who would if they are getting free money.
    Since there is an anonymous judicial manager in place then he should be recall since he is not doing his job by allowing free money to be paid to agents. Furthermore it’s my understanding that Parris, Thornhill and Brewster are still making all the decision contrary to the law if the judicial manager is in place.

About the 11 million paid to Parris you should asked Duprey since he insist that it should be paid. I am anxiously waiting to see how quickly the Death Claim for the late PM will be paid and whether it will be before policyholders who were waiting for benefits well before his death.

42. Fair and Balance Avatar

@David of BU
    “Agree that the way forward for CLICO needs to be articulated for the public. The fact it has become a political football is regrettable given the financial implication for so many policyholders and the country”

Clico became political when they finance the DLP political campaign with Millions but highlighted a $75,000 it paid to Owen Arthur and the BLP through its subsidiary CCB.
    Maybe they should have thought of the financial implications when they got into politics of financing political campaigns. But then again they may have gotten back some of their benefits when the DLP refuse to act after the collapse of the company but allowed the cartel to get out their money.

43. Well the Transport Board losing 48M and the Accountant still not qualified (at least the financial controller is said to be) but since the accountant is the first to handle the money we wondering if the money get count right.

44. @checkit-out

Thanks for putting up the information, the problem with using manifesto promises is just that, they are promises which successive governments have broken i.e. not delivered. Also as you know we are operating in a global recession and the government has little or no wriggle room. The reason for the burgeoning deficit is because it has been keeping the army of occupation employed. The day is coming soon.

@Fair and Balanced

You are entitled to believe what you want but you should bear one thing in mind. Irrespective of BU’s opinion on the issues you have the opportunity to counter.

The point BU made is a fact to explain the point that agents are paid based on business booked. If you want to argue something else which at this point feel free.

The cheque contribution to Arthur was made public in an audit and can be said to be leaked. We can speculate with good reason that CLICO contributed to DLP, who is denying such?

45. @ Fair & Balance

You are right. Agents at British American are now being paid less than the administrative staff because they are unable to write new business.

46. @enuff

What are you agreeing to? On another note, is there any government policy you agree?

@Fair and Balanced

Had a quick check of how agents are generally paid not sure you have gotten right.

47. That one must continue to sell policies/pensions and clients maintain their payments for one’s salary to be decent. Agents at BA going home with 1/10 of what they were making before.
    Ideas yes, but actual policies none that I can think of right now.

48. David

Could you explain where fair and balance got it wrong ? Not all insurance companies operate the same way but an example would be good.

Humm policies that did work and have no fallout. Well there was the no smoking in public places and the 5 year license. There was the restoration of credit union 3k but that was taken away.

49. @ Checkit- Out ——- In an earlier posting while responding to one by George Brathwaite , you wrote “you could be speaking for me”. While I do understand that it is your prerogative to choose your own topics , I still ask the question why ? Since you out post George by odds better than ten to one , why give the appearance of piggy backing ? George’s was a letter that came straight from the heart. Should I take it that you two share the same heart ? I hope not for George , for all the world to see has made his covenant known. I will confess that there is some intrigue in reading your posts , and at times I think I know who Checkit-Out really is . What I do know for sure is anonymity is still some men’s best friend.

50. Mr. Hill
    I gave “check it out” a name of Mr. Contortionist because he keeps twisting and turning on issues affecting his party. You do not know where he stands from his postings For example, One day someone says something negative about Arthur he agrees and the next day another person says something positive about the same point and he agrees again.