Submitted by Apollo 13 (comment)

These are good things that the DLP has done:

1. Free bus fares for children resulting in adding to the Transport Board’s $48 million deficit
  2. Free summer camps to the tune of millions to the taxpayers but fatted calf shared to its supporters, including Kenny Best who had a camp, some of their supporters had three camps each
  3. High petrol costs and allowing the Transport Board to run  a gas station illegally so that SOL can make back its millions spent on the DLP campaign and cover the costs of David Thompson flying up and down the world on SOL’s private jet
  4. Increase VAT to 17.5%
  5. Increase water rates by 60%
  6. Building a lot of poorly built chicken coops for houses and not being able to get neither renters or buyers resulting in the NHC not being able to access loans.
  7. Turning NHC into a hell hole in which to work with nepotism running rampant
  8. Firing Marilyn Rice Bowen and installing a brother as chairman while pretending in the by election to be champions of women
  9. Giving away the taxpayers land to JADA at Coverley in exchange for  free plane rides and gifts
  10. Ronald Jones cursing the principals and creating such a hostile atmosphere in the MOE that many senior staffers have left
  11. Stephen Lashley cursing out public servants and telling them to shape up or ship out as if he don’t know the rules governing the public service and now putting a gag order on NCF workers
  12. Raising unemployment from 6.5% to 11% in three years
  13. Spending over 2.5 billion dollars left as foreign reserves and cleaning out the sinking fund  in two years with nothing to show for it
  14. Running up the highest fiscal deficit ever over $500 million
  15. Three cabinet reshuffles in three years

1. Chaos at the hospital with a minister giving directives to move a patient to a private clinic and then suing the doctor who brought it to light and then the Chairman suspending the said doctor and then had to bring him back after the telemedicine failed
  2. Raising petrol products as they fancy up and down making no sense
  3. Appointing Kellman as minister and then changing the substantive minister to minister without portfolio resulting in the biggest cabinet ever in Barbados
  4. Creating chaos and low staff morale at the Tourism Authority promising to break it up into two companies and now realising that they don’t have money to do so
  5. Minister Lowe making sure when he was in charge of Urban that Patrick Todd’s father house got fixed
  6. Donville Inniss getting a road to his apartments paved
  7. Mass chaos in MPT resulting in more chaos on the road
  8. Supporting CLICO fooling Bajans that it was a sound and well managed company and now refusing to help policyholders in recovering their money

And these are not even all of the good things the DLP has done.

241 responses to “Barbados Labour Party Supporter Highlights 23 Mistakes Inflicted By Government”

1. Truthman Burton Avatar

@David | February 4, 2011 at 7:19 AM
    “The cheque contribution to Arthur was made public in an audit and can be said to be leaked. We can speculate with good reason that CLICO contributed to DLP, who is denying such?”

Be reasonable and balanced David! The amount paid to Arthur could be called a contribution. One should not call what was given to the DEMS a contribution. THE DLP WERE FLOODED WITH CLICO CASH! DID YOU SEE THE ENORMITY OF THEIR ELECTION CAMPAIGN, ILLEGAL BILL BOARDS AND ALL?

Incidentally, it seems that they have committed yet another illegality. Are those allowance cuts by Minister of Finance Sinckler illegal? I am checking, but can the experts confirm?

2. Truthman Burton Avatar

David, I wonder if the the Judicial Manager will order a Forensic Audit of CLICO’s various businesses. Should not such an audit reveal those elusive and secretive DLP campaign payments, which it appears could have been filtered through Families First?

Will SOMEBODY GIVE US THE TRUTH?

3. Truthman Burton Avatar

I AM TIRED, to the point of exhaustion, hearing about Owen and $75,000.00 I WANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE MULTI-MILLIONS PAID TO THOMPSON AND THE DEMS!!! IT HAD TO BE AT LEAST 10 TIMES WHAT THE BLP RECEIVED.

SO DAVID, TO BE BALANCED, HOW ABOUT DESIGNING YOUR MASTHEAD TO REFLECT THE MASSIVE HANDOUT! Don’t keep giving me a picture of the measley $75,000

4. Truthman Burton Avatar

@HAMILTON HILL | February 3, 2011 at 4:10 PM
    “See why he has to go ? He must, for we “Dimwitts In The Dems” will not allow this or any other blog to take us away from our game-plan . We shall remain relentless in our quest to rid this land of its first Despot ,Owen Semore Arthur.”

[a]Hamilton, you appear deeply hurt by that “DLP Dimwit” label I coined …. the contrariness though, is that despite the hurt, YOU KEEP REPEATING IT as though you have a desire to wear it! Look man … I am sorry …I withdraw it.

[b] Owen Seymour Arthur a DESPOT? I am going through my mental library, and I am trying to recall the most tyrannical behaviour by any Barbados P.M. IN MY LIFETIME..
    I have come up with : (1) The almost unilateral slashing of Civil Servants salaries. Owen did not do that , but he reversed it. (2) A frightening onslaught on the Church and Judiciary in Barbados during the the 1974 Constitutional Debate. That the Great Man. It definitely wasn’t Owen. (3) Acertain P.M. sent THE DEFENCE FORCE TO SEIZE THE CARSICOT COTTON [a forgotten DEMS Scandal] AGAINST THE EXPRESSED WISHES OF THE COURT DIRECTIVE! Again, That was NOT OWEN! WHY is it that THE DEMS seem to enjoy disrespecting THE LAW?

Want me to go on HAMILTON? You want to tell me where the REAL DESPOTS reside?

5. @ Truthman Burton….. No need to withdraw my friend .That is a perfectly clean shot. You branded a few of us and in an act of unity ,(that foreign commodity in de hive)I have worn it faithfully. Glad to see you are willing to strool down memory lane, since you got lost last time we did. To that frightening onslaught on the church ,I invite you to give a listen to verse three of the classic by RPB , A Bag Of Riddles .

6. I knew that the relentless attacks on this blog and in the by election campaign on Owen Arthur was well orchestrated. We got it here on the blog from the very HH. Too bad Owen Arthur is a treat to you all. You seem vexed that Owen Arthur is alive and well and your god and king has gone to the great beyond through his excessive drinking of Absolut Vodka and smoking…..

This man has the nerve to call Owen Arthur the first despot. He forgot Errol Barrow in his hey day, Bajans were afraid to open their mouths about here and then there was the unforgettable Sandi… like it or lump it, dismissed a minister to get his own way at the BTA and then call a general election rather than step aside.

May I remind the Dems to deal with the issues and how badly they have mismanaged this country since 2008. Rest assured that despite all of the rhetoric, the Bees left money in the Treasury for them to splurge otherwise, you would have heard them say that the Treasury was empty. They have never said that, they started to spend liken drunken sailors.

And so they came in and had a ball and began sharing out the fatted calf:
    – 2008 & 2009 big fete for Independence, Maxine McClean came on VOB and said we are doing things differently….2010 the money gone and they had to go back to the regular parade

-Sending Sandi and family to China, this could have waited until later after the recession has passed
    -Big youth fete and when there was no fete, the youth did not show up and Stephen Lashley and Maxine McClean curse the public servants
    – Elaborate swearing in ceremony at the much malign Kensington Oval
    -Six Roads fete to hand over keys
    -Stupid constituency councils, one is now organising garbage clean ups
    -Free bus fares while parents lavish their children with brand name clothes and Blackberries
    -Free summer camps, for as long as I can remember, children were going to summer camps organised by churches
    -Every week or so lavish parties at Illaro Court
    – Dont forget all the expensive trips by David Thompson on Sol’s jets
    -Unecessary spending at this time on jersey barriers at highway near Graeme Hall/LOB stretch
    -Unecessary spending of much needed foreign exchange on foreign airlines at this time
    -Expensive press conference by David Thompson from Guyana after he had kicked the Guyanese out
    -Having 19 Ministers and parliamentary secretaries ….a heavy burden on the taxpayers, many of whom are not producing
    -Paying consultants like Hartley Henry, his uncle, Pat Inniss and Cranston Browne among others hugh salaries. Dont forget the executive chairman of the BWA.

The Dems better beware that their leader Fumble Stuart has never won a seat twice. Maybe this was part of why David Thompson wanted his wife to take over from him.

Just a thought, hummmmm

Dynasty theory does not seem far fetched now!

7. @Prodigal Son…

Just asking, as an independent observer…

Why didn’t you bring up the “Dee” promised Freedom of Information Act and the “Dee” promised Integrity Legislation in your above diatribe?

Two separate follow up questions:

Would the “Bees” promise to implement the same?

Would the “Bees” actually implement them? (Please note that both Mottley and Arthur claimed to disclose their assets publicly in Parliament.)

8. The erection of High Rise Housing in the areas mentioned in Thursday’s Nation if already approved by the Chief Town Planner represents a potentially serious mistake by the ‘powers- that-be”.

Multi-family, high density housing in the form of High Rise units will inevitably become a housing solution for Barbados in the not too distant future. However if any of units proposed are eventually constructed it will be the first abd last of such in Barbados! Built in the areas proposed, the units will create instant ghettos.

There are myriad problems associated with thoughtlessly planned High Rise housing and if we are to adopt this housing form there MUST be wide ventilation of the proposals with the public of Barbados. This is not a decision for a Minister or Chief Town Planner alone.

Let us begin by choosing locations which are not presently ‘built-up’. I would have suggested the Six roads area but they have already started sheeting the place with small single-family units – a most unfortunate use of a valuable and scarce resource.
    In addition to careful site selection and sensitive design the following are among the stakeholders and issues for consideration: Fire Service, Police, Postal Service, Sanitation Service, Welfare Dept. , Physical and Mechanical maintenance, Traffic flow, Day care facilities for for infants and the aged, Recreational and exercise facilities including traffic-free walking trails etc., etc.

I am all for High Rise housing in Barbados but we must get it right the FIRST TIME!

9. Chris far as I know they were promised and suppose to have been implemented in 2008. If they were actually to done in that year is another matter entirely

10. Truthman Burton Avatar

@Prodigal Son | February 4, 2011 at 3:33 PM
    “Unecessary spending at this time on jersey barriers at highway near Graeme Hall/LOB stretch”

True Prodigal. Theirs has been mismanagement of the highest order. They have been distributing so much largesse, Owen said it could not now be of the “fatted calf” anymore …. he said The DEMS were dishing out from “THE FATTED HERD” LOL LOL LOL. Uh laughing but this IS serious business.

That Jersey Barrier work appears to support the notion that the DEMS, after their constant demonisation of the ABC Highway Project, now want to CLAIM THE PROJECT AS A DEMS PROJECT, hence the tinkering here, and tinkering there …. all to prolong the project and deceptively make it appear in the minds of Barbadians, that the DLP had to work for the whole length of their five-year term to achieve completion.

I am amazed that they have dilly-dallied on the Highway for long, when all that was required were cosmetic works by the time they took office.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SERPICO

“However if any of units proposed are eventually constructed”

All you and the other Barbados Labour Party jokers on this blog such as SCOUT, have to do once they are constructed would be to go and demolish them.

12. @Truthman Burton: “I am amazed that they have dilly-dallied on the Highway for long, when all that was required were cosmetic works by the time they took office.

But (and please correct me if I’m wrong)…

Without the Dee promised Freedom of Information Act we will never know the truth.

Will we?

(At least, not publicly. And certainly not in time to make a change to the status quo.)

13. Truthman Burton Avatar

STEUPSE! DIS DLP DEMWIT [Dimwit] AGAIN !!

14. Truthman Burton Avatar

That STEUPSE was for CCC Christopher, not you!

15. @TB: “That STEUPSE was for CCC Christopher, not you!

Hey, that’s cool.

I’m more concerned about having questions answered than deriving insult from language.

But for some reason few will speak to my questions.

Do you think I should take this personally?

16. Truthman Burton Avatar

@HAMILTON HILL | February 4, 2011 at 3:32 PM
    “To that frightening onslaught on the church ,I invite you to give a listen to verse three of the classic by RPB , A Bag Of Riddles.”

Hamilton, I am trying to locate that RPB song. I am not much of a calypso fan, but I will check it out. In case I don’t find it, would you post that particular part of the lyrics?

17. Truthman Burton Avatar

Christopher,
    For quite sometime now, I have been experiencing the same challenge that faces you on this blog! Not one of the DEMS apologists would give a direct and TRUTHFUL answer to any of the issues raised here. They would not answer me, nor Prodigal Son, nor Apollo 13, nor Fair and Balance etc. All of us are waiting for answers to the large number of questions raised about the serious mismanagement of Barbados by the DEMS.

The DEMS are focused only on CURSING Owen Arthur. Even in their weekly column today in the NATION newspaper,with SO MANY SERIOUS ISSUES before them, that NEED THEIR ATTENTION, they insult the intelligence of Barbadians by continuing to curse and insult Owen Arthur. That’s what they call leadership. I am so embarrased for Barbados.

18. @TB: “For quite sometime now, I have been experiencing the same challenge that faces you on this blog! Not one of the DEMS apologists would give a direct and TRUTHFUL answer to any of the issues raised here.

So then, the question must be answered by you and yours.

How, *exactly* is this problem solved?

This is a sincere question to you.

Please answer.

-Chris

19. HAMILTON HILL | February 4, 2011 at 10:14 AM |

You said;
    “Checkit- Out ——- In an earlier posting while responding to one by George Brathwaite , you wrote “you could be speaking for me”. While I do understand that it is your prerogative to choose your own topics , I still ask the question why ? Since you out post George by odds better than ten to one , why give the appearance of piggy backing ? George’s was a letter that came straight from the heart. Should I take it that you two share the same heart ? I hope not for George , for all the world to see has made his covenant known.”

Your deductions are wrong this time. I am not George Brathwaite. George Brathwaite is not Checkit-out. David can confirm this from the IP addresses, I am sure. I was never a member of any party and I am almost certain I never will be. The nearest time I came to being a member of a political entity was in the early 1960’s when I was a member of a defunct social group that was called the League of Democratic Youth.

That extract of “you could be posting for me” was from the heart as George Brathwaite was saying a number of things which I had said myself about Owen Arthur in more than one earlier post. To repeat, I think that Owen Arthur made an invaluable contribution to Barbados in his first and second terms as PM. I think his intellect arguably outstripped that of any of the other Prime Ministers of Barbados, past or present. I think that he honestly had a concern for the common man that informed all his actions. I think he was perhaps the most hard working public servant I have ever met. However, I also think that his treatment of Mia Mottley was atrocious and the latest incident of leaking of the Campaign financing files, which can be implicity tied to him by virtue of his responses to the Nation reporter on the matter, was not only uncalled for but counter productive and crass.

My posts are totally honest and are essentially vignettes of what I can deduce from the facts in the public domain relating to the various topics. I have no axe to grind. I have never sought favours from any politician or political party and so I think I can compliment those who I think have done something worthwhile and express negative views on the ones who in my view have done something egregious. Apparently, people like Charlie who perhaps lack comprehension and cannot conceive of someone who can see both the good and the ill in politicians of either party, can’t distinguish between contortionism and fair comment which can see a politician as doing some good at times and some bad at other times. To his mind, and to others of his ilk, the BLP and its members can never do any good and the DLP and its members can never do any wrong. That purblindness is matched in some members of this board who operate in the same way on the political distaff side.

HH, one of your posts led me to believe that you could be impartial although leaning to the DLP. Perhaps I was wrong.

20. The DLP promised on page 47 of their manifesto that a DLP governmment will publish details of agreements and contracts involving the government and its agencies and give formal ministerial statements regularly on projects.

Do they?

We would like to see details of the contracts for the work being done on the highway and for the Coverley project. They held the BLP up to ridicule and scorn without producing any evidence of wrongdoing and Bajans believed David Thompson.

They said on page 7 of the said manifesto, Barbadians can rest assured that a DLP administration will do something meaningful about this vexing issue of the cost of living because we are beholden to no one. Have they done anything, it is has gotten worse and worse.

On Page 48 of the said manifesto, they were to immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring a declaration of assets by public officials, so I dont know if it means them or those in the public sector. They were also going to immediately introduce a code of conduct for ministers. Have they done this?

The BLP if it is to win the next election will have to make the same promises and keep them if they are to earn the people’s confidence again. As a result of the inuendo put out there by the DLP operatives with no evidence, they must do this. The DLP machineryin George Street fabricated the lies, kept repeating them and the Bajan public bought the propoganda line, hook and sinker that every BLP politician was corrupt.

Now the DLP ministers will have to deal with the mistrust that they put into people’s minds as the stories fly around Barbados about them!

21. @checkit-out | February 4, 2011 at 6:05 PM |

With all due respect…

You spend a great deal of time trying in this message to prove that you are not some anonymous coward.

Wouldn’t it just be easier speaking as yourself?

Just try it.

Some day….

22. Truthman Burton,
    The Dems are not about dealing with the issues. Hamilton Hill said on this thread that they are going to be relentless in their quest to rid this land of Owen Arthur. Can you imagine this? Why? What has Owen done them? Or is this person one of the persons that Owen stupidly brought into the BLP in his idiotic policy of “politics of inclusion”. Those are the ones giving him licks now.

Owen presents a threat to the Dems and they are mad that after their god and king said that Owen was like a stale cartoon of milk, pass its sell by date that Owen is alive and well and their god and king gone to the great beyond or according to Georgie Porgie, they had to plant him.
    (Hello to GP)

23. Christopher Halsall | February 4, 2011 at 4:08 PM |

@Prodigal Son…

Just asking, as an independent observer…

Why didn’t you bring up the “Dee” promised Freedom of Information Act and the “Dee” promised Integrity Legislation in your above diatribe?

Two separate follow up questions:

Would the “Bees” promise to implement the same?

Would the “Bees” actually implement them? (Please note that both Mottley and Arthur claimed to disclose their assets publicly in Parliament.)

Chris far as I know they were promised and suppose to have been implemented in 2008.

24. @ CCC
    When will you get a life and start dealing with FACTS. Stop looking for partisanship where there isn’t!

25. Check it out
    Bring any evidence be it policies, speeches, legislation or actions for the social mobility of the Barbadian public to show that Owen Arthur had a better intellect than Errol Barrow.

26. Christopher Halsall. re. your post of 6:16 pm;

In this world there is room for everyone. The brave ones like you who have nothing to gain nor lose from political machinations and the anonymous cowards like me who know exactly what politicians and political parties can do in a small Island community to not only individuals but to their families who they think might be dangerous to their future aspirations or their legacy and who also might have some concern about expressing certain political views in a climate that is not yet like Jamaica or Antigua but that seems to be getting there.

I think this medium offers opportunities to all types to make their contributions and is the better for it. This medium would not be the same without contributions from such persons as ROK and yourself (largely technical, non-political ones but I think you would admit that current Parties in Power are seldom attacked by you) as well as the Scouts, Charlies, ac’s, bonny peppas, etc. of this world.

Go and work in the Public Service sometime as a genuine public servant (not a consultant), subject to the whims and fancies of politicians, and see what the world they inhabit is really like. Rub shoulders with the politicians who say one thing to their constituents and the exact opposite when their constituents are out of earshot.

There is no danger in writing the things that you write. Indeed, your posts that practically always speak to FOIA, anonymouseity, IT matters, etc. are not controversial and do not attract violent reactions. There is no benefit to making such posts anonymously.

Indeed, posts that speak to technical matters do not benefit from anonymosity. Posts that speak to political concerns often, perhaps usually, do. Could you imagine WIV posting some of the things he does under his own name?

One other matter, the name Chris Halsall could be viewed as an anonymous one in Canada with its millions of people and where a “chris halsall” post would indeed be treated as anonymous. Perhaps you are still throwing yourself back to that environment.

You said;
    “You spend a great deal of time trying in this message to prove that you are not some anonymous coward. Wouldn’t it just be easier speaking as yourself? Just try it. Some day….”

You got it wrong! I wasn’t trying to prove that I am not some anonymous coward. By posting as Checkit-out I was and am admitting I am anonymous. Who ever heard of a real name such as Checkit-Out? Check out your logic.

Those who do not wear tunnel vision spectacles that see themselves as superior because they write technical, non-controversial articles under their own names, should recognize that that was not the thrust of my post.

I also don’t think it would be easier to post under my real name and I think I have the majority of the posters on BU on my side in that one. Probably over 90% of all posters are anonymous. Why do you think that is so? Or do you think you are the only one who is right and must always show your superiority and our inferiority in this regard?

27. Charlie;
    Do you know what intellect is? Do you understand it when I said “I think his intellect arguably outstripped that of any of the other Prime Ministers of Barbados, past or present. “?

What has intellect to do with speeches, policies and the like?

I was a relatively junior public servant when Barrow was prime minister and I’ve been to meetings where he presided and observed how he operated. Barrow was a patrician, pure and simple. The impression I have of his intellect (my personal impression) was that he was quite bright but not in the class of Owen Arthur whom I also attended meetings with over many years and can say had one of the sharpest intellects I’ve ever encountered.

28. For our ignorance but if agents are paid 60% or thereabouts for new business how it it logical to write that CLICO Agents are being paid in the way Fair and Balance has stated?

When were the illegal policies written?

Why would the Oversight Committee under BLPite Layne not have mentioned it?

29. @ checkit-out,

Posting anonymously is “safer” and way more fun than if we used our real names.
    To besides Christopher Halsall is a rite man and nuh body in Babadus doan do dem nutten.

Yuh in see none uh wunna ( not even David ) en tek me on wid dee Secret Caribbean story bout COW ?
    It pun de net doh.

30. checkit-out wrote “Owen Arthur whom I also attended meetings with over many years and can say had one of the sharpest intellects I’ve ever encountered.”

You are either joking or at least as “sharp” as these men to be able to judge their intellect.

31. @Hants

What story are you referring? Post the link!

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Truthman Burton

You are so corny that it is unbelievable.

but one thing that I must say in your defense, you are doing a hell of a job misleading your fellow Barbados Labour Party clowns. Especially that FRAUD, SCOUT.

Keep it up, you are being very useful to us.

33. Hants re, your post of Feb 4, 2011 at 8:18 PM;

I was’nt joking!

I am not comparing myself with any of the gentlemen. But I don’t think that one has to super-intellectual to be able to gauge if someone has a great intellect or not. However, imo. intellect per se. does not necessarily translate to value or extent of contributions, greatness etc. as other personal (negative) attributes can often detract from the natural expression of an intrinsic high intellect

There are a few people in the public arena that I’ve met or observed at work in Barbados who I think possessed outstanding intellects. Tom Adams was one. Owen Arthur was another. Mia Mottley, another. Chris Sinckler another. In the private sector I’ve been greatly impressed by such persons as David Ellis, Mr. Johnson (I forget his first name) from Starcom, Mr. Williams the Gen. manager of BL&P. Basil Springer of Systems. Dr. Sealy (Nick Sealy’s son), and a few others whose names don’t come to mind as I write.

34. Remember the DLP hag promised to give a cabinet report periodically. The late David Thompson did start it but since his sickness, we have had none. Even at this point in time we have heard nothing from P.M Stuart about his plans for barbados over at lease the next two years, we have not had a report from him on the stewardship of the party. Personnally I’m disappointed in the leadership of P.M Stuart so far.

35. Check it out
    I may not know what it means therefore here is some definitions from a dictionary and how it can be used
    Noun
    1.The faculty of knowing and reasoning; understanding.
    Intellect is one of man’s greatest powers.
    2.That faculty in a particular person.
    They were chosen because of their outstanding intellect.
    3.A person who has that faculty in great degree.
    Some of the world’s leading intellects were meeting there.

Now tell me where Owen Arthur easily outstripped the rest of PMs but more specifically The Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow

36. Check it out
    By the way
    Many civil servants would also tell you that Owen Arthur was the most foul mouth of all PMs at meetings.
    They were glad to see the back of him because he was spiteful and vindictive.
    Why would a man of such great intellect have to resort to fear and intimidation to get his way?

37. @ David

http://www.tvthrong.co.uk/secret-caribbean-trevor-mcdonald/secret-caribbean-trevor-mcdonald-episode-2

Trevor’s final stop in the Caribbean is Barbados where he visits the most famous celebrity haunt on the island, the Sandy Lane Hotel, which boasts many famous guests including Elton John and the Queen.

And he meets wealthy property developer Sir Charles Williams who owns vast amounts of the island. Trevor visits him at his plantation mansion house where he lives with his wife and their pet pig, and he takes in a polo match where each and every horse on the field of play is owned by Sir Charles.

He shows Trevor his latest development, a £425m golf course with luxury villas, and his most prized creation – the appropriately named Port St Charles marina, haven for many high rollers, including Bill Gates who moors a yacht there.

Sir Charles built his empire from scratch, but his critics say with developments selling for $7m, the only people to benefit are the super-rich.

Charles says: “The Prime Minister made his message clear, he said, ‘Don’t do anymore.’ Because he said it was having an impact on the social structure, and I obeyed him, like a good boy.

“There were three ambitions I had, a pretty wife, a nice sports fisherman boat and a fast sports car, and all three cost me a fortune.”

Trevor says: “Charles is proof that if you have enough money the Caribbean can be a very accommodating place.”

38. Charlie;

The example you quote above has very little to do with intellect imho.

I can’t disagree with you that Owen Arthur was often dictatorial, high handed and even offensive at meetings. He struck fear in many attendees, including some Ministers, but I don’t recall him being foul mouthed to the extent of cursing anyone at any of the meetings I attended. My recollections of Barrow, Tom Adams and Sandiford are that they were also dictatorial and high handed but never really offensive.

But, in my view, those attitudes came, to some extent, with the territory and the awesome power of a Prime Minister. They should be disaggregated from the innate intellect of the person.

All PM’s cultivated excellent memories. They needed it to impress their constituents of their individual knowledge of the person’s family, etc. to get their vote. All Barbados’ PM’s were well read. All Barbados’ PM’s were intelligent. All Barbados’ PM’s could talk pretty. Most of Barbados’ PM’s were charismatic. Most wanted first and foremost to do well for Barbados. All wanted to perpetuate their party in power for as long as possible.

Judged by the yardstick of perpetuation of their party in power over contiguous terms I wonder which PM was the most successful. Was it Owen or was it Barrow? If success is related to strategizing and doing all that is necessary to retain power and having the intellect to choose the right policies to get that result tell me which PM was the most successful?

Re. strategies, much has been said about Owen’s politics of inclusion in so far as the Hammie Lashleys and Mascolls are concerned. But there is another dimension to that strategy that is not often recognized. Owen Arthur, unlike any other PM in Barbados before or since him, went out of his way to bring the very best people into the public service whether they were BLP or DLP or NDP or any other kind of P. I know for a fact that Owen Arthur was instrumental in bringing excellent talent into the Public Service even though he knew that some of the individuals had significant leanings to the DLP. David Thompson, on the other hand, is reported to have done the opposite, in spades.

You asked;
    “Why would a man of such great intellect have to resort to fear and intimidation to get his way?”

Perhaps he hadn’t overcome all his devils.

39. The PM who was not afraids to see to it that the people were well educated and did not see finances as a determent in doing so has to the greatest of the two, that said EWB

40. @checkit-out

Given you liking for politics which is evident in your comments on BU and the fact other civil servants must have strong views about the politicians they serve, what is your view,, based on observation, how civil servants do their jobs?

41. Look Minister of Finance is hinting “Wage Freeze”for civil servants

42. David; Your question about Civil Servants is an extremely good one. I can’t do justice to it now. But I’ll get back to it very soon. For now let me just say that there is vast scope for improvement in almost every aspect of the civil service but there are a number of civil servants who have done and are doing excellent service, way beyond the call of duty for Barbados, imho. I also think that person for person, the Civil servant is in no way inferior, in all respects, to the private sector worker.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FRAUD(SCOUT)

If you run down your shadow you can never catch it.
    That is what you BLP clowns are trying to do.

44. David
    I know it was a question directed to Checkit-out but permit me to be presumptuous enough to try to give my opinion of our civil service.
    The civil service in Barbados is large and therefore the level of service varies drastically. Given that to me the older workers were more dedicated to their work (even though there were some awful ones), the younger workers seem more interested in just doing a ordinary day work, playing by the rules. Also the question of acedemic qualifications comes in focus, many of the young ones with their degrees and no work experience, believe they are superior to the older one with years and years of work experience. This problem is made worse by the then government, stating that only persons with degrees should hold certain posts, therefore many of the old workers are retiring as soon as possible in their top positions because the post can only be filled by a degree holder. This is leaving a vote in the civil service that can cause detrimental chaos to the service. Even with all this, there are many civil servants who go beyond their duty to put in extra work at no extra pay to see their dept is functioning effectively, which means sometimes working on saturdays and sundays. The only difference between civil servants and private business workers is that it is easier to fire a private person than a civil servant and some of them take advantage of that situation.

45. CCC
    Your behaviour border on that of a dictator, still glad you’re only a blogger. You have put a partisan political view to the performance of the government, I have put mine but because I’m not on the same page as you therefore I’m labelled a fraud; that is cool with me, you can’t get under my skin I’m much thicker than that but to another person who might be wavering between the two parties persons like you would push them to support the other party. I speak my mind and speak it fearlessly, because I don’t ask any favours from any politician. Like Oya said, her father told her to wish people who try to be nasty to her a good life; that I wish for you.

46. @ David.

Re Hants | February 4, 2011 at 9:14 PM |
    “Charles says: “The Prime Minister made his message clear, he said, ‘Don’t do anymore.’ Because he said it was having an impact on the social structure, and I obeyed him, like a good boy.”

No comment David?

Perhaps one of our UK bloggers can download the video.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SCOUT

“Your behaviour border on that of a dictator”

The only dictator is your lord and saviour Owen”seethru”Arthur

48. @Haunts
    Hants | February 5, 2011 at 9:48 AM |

@ David.

Re Hants | February 4, 2011 at 9:14 PM |
    “Charles says: “The Prime Minister made his message clear, he said, ‘Don’t do anymore.’ Because he said it was having an impact on the social structure, and I obeyed him, like a good boy.”

No comment David?
    I am not David, but did he not boast about promptly getting permission in 2008 that he could not get from the previous administration.
    So much for being a good obedient boy.

49. @Hants

BU has written about these matters several times. What can we say to add? Tried to find the video with no success.

50. CCC
    Even with that comment, I’m STILL a supporter of the DLP even though I criticise them because I hold the party in high esteem and they are not living up to the standard set by Errol Barrow. I will continue to speak my mind, that includes wishing you well. Don’t bother with me deal with getting the party elections ready for the big one. I serve ONE LORD, the ALMIGHTY not “seethru” Arthur nor “Vodka Thompson”