George Payne, Chairman of the Barbados Labour Party announcing Owen Arthur's return back in October

The decision by the parliamentary group of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to oust Mia Mottley as leader of the opposition has caused some to question the role of the Member of Parliament (MP) for St. Andrew George Payne. For about six years George Payne warmed the backbench of the House of Assembly of Barbados and did not โ€˜unpickโ€™ his teeth. By doing so BU has always held the view he disrespected the August Chamber and by extension the people of Barbados. The fact he was able to defeat his DLP opponent Irene Sandiford-Garner in the last general election should raise other questions about the sophistication of the electorate and more particularly how Payne has been able to foster ironclad support in the Orange Hill โ€˜boxโ€™. BU is on record agreeing with the decision to fire then Minister of Tourism George Payne by former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.ย  The extreme reaction by Payne to his firing which drove him to be silence for so many years should make political independents question his behaviour. If he were an employee in a company, how would his manager appraise his performance?

Q. Why does a citizen of Barbados aspire to represent fellow citizens by seeking their support to be elected to the House of Assembly?

A. When Parliament is sitting (meeting), MPs generally spend their time working … This can include raising issues affecting their constituents, attending debates and voting on new laws. Most MPs are also members of committees, which look at issues in detail, from government policy and new laws, to wider topics like human rights โ€“ Parliament UK

Is it reasonable to conclude that by not speaking in parliament for six years it can be concluded that George Payne failed to fully represent the people of St. Andrew? How then can one explain Payneโ€™s re-election in the face of a national swing in the most recent general election? Perhaps some day our political scientists and others better versed than BU in political behaviour will be able to explain how a dumb MP in parliament could still win his seat albeit with a narrow margin.

There will be other opportunities to discuss George Payne politics in the context of the last general election. The immediate interest is the role George Payne played in brokering the deal which has seen the return of Owen Arthur as leader of the opposition. While it is said politics makes for strange bed fellows, Payneโ€™s emergence in recent times as a Kingmaker in the usurpation of Mia Mottley bears careful study. In the same way Mascoll was overthrown for the more popular Thompson by Jones, Lashley, Sealy et al, the BLP parliamentary group has the same right to crown the leader of its choice. Sometimes forgotten is the right of the electorate to critique the internal workings of the two political parties. Decisions taken by the respective political parties will always have implications for wider society. Against the foregoing there is legitimacy in curiosity by Barbadians to question the role of the man of many hats.

Keen and even not so keen follows of the local political scene would have observed the building of bridges between Arthur and Payne long before the overthrow of Mia Mottley occurred. It was never hidden by the two actors. It could have been a deliberate ploy to intimidate Mottley. If such was clear to bystanders it is difficult to explain why Mottley and supporters should plead ignorance to the challenge to her leadership which inevitably came.

To the central point โ€“ why has Arthur returned at this time? Why has George Payne buried the hatchet and pledged his unswerving loyalty to Arthur at this time?

While it will always be about power and politics and several theories abound, the question remains – what is in it for Payne? What would have caused Payne to adsorb the public humiliation of pledging support to Arthur at this time after being silent for years in the former Arthur administration? He never once demonstrated public disaffection under Mottleyโ€™s leadership that we are aware of to signal he had a problem with her leadership. Is it a move flavoured with chauvinism? Is it a genuine belief by Payne and cohorts that Arthur is more competent to lead the party to victory in 2013? Is it the about questioning of Mottley on the basis of morality? Has a deal been agreed to between Arthur and Payne?

The time has come for Barbadians to be more inquiring of political decisions which smell rotten. To question is not to condemn. To continue to ignore the smell maybe at our peril. Whither the Fourth Estate?

1. @Enuff
    Do you want to say that my dislike of Mia Mottley precludes me from opining that her treatment at the hands of Owen and the five other parliamentarians was unfair? What is inconsistent about that? How are the two linked in the first place?
    If I can prove to you that I took Thompson and the DLP to task for the way they treated Mascoll, and if you believe his treatment at the hands of the Dees bare striking similarity to what the Bees did to Mia would you then restore my image of consistency???

2. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

At Senator Garner,

“If we follow your logic, every Dem should have won their seat in 2008.”

Once again you try to twist what I say…..

I said:

“Sandiford Garner was not able to convince the people of St. Andrew that she could represent their interests better, even in the face of a national swing in her favour.”

This has nothing to do with the entire slate of DLP candidates. This has everything to do with your future viability as a candidate.

The political environment was favourable to DLP candidates, (there was a national swing). Even with the assistance of a national swing you could not prevail against a BLP candidate who (well certainly according to David) was somehow flawed in his representation.

If George Payne is as weak a political force as implied by David’s analysis above, why did you fail?

David’s argument above is that the voters of St. Andrew are somehow “unsophisticated” which I do not accept. What I do propose is that it because you are a flawed political candidate who could not bring home the bacon for her party even in the midst of a large national swing.

So what is it Irene, do you have “unsophisticated” constituents? Or are you just a bad choice for the constituency?

3. @ Adrian Hinds

The connection is pellucid…then again as I have consistently argued neither comprehension nor analysis is a strong suite of many who masquerade as intellects on BU.

@ Senator Garner
    No you did not snap, you just nearly fainted. Walk with smelling salts next election just in case. Finally don’t get into any verbal warfare with BU folk, instead go prepare your next senate speech and continue your work on the QEH rebuild/repair project.

4. the barbados economy might not be run by owen arthur alone but who else in this time has done it better than owen arthur ???. this last budget is an example of what we will get and what we have gotten before from the party in power whenever they come to office. hardships and an assault on the middle class and poor in this country will be the order of the day justified by fanciful explanations propped up by partisan political yardfowls absorbing the hardships grinning their teet and shouting my party all the while wishing and hoping that the blp would come to the rescue of the country–as has happened over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over againnnnnn!

5. @Enuff
    That’s it??? It’s pellucid? Did you use that word to give weight to your shallow response? Not even your name is sufficient. chupse!

6. @ My Name Is Not Sylvan | November 28, 2010 at 11:11 AM | Bajan Pandayโ€ฆ..

you cannot have it both ways. You at the same time espouse that Owen was power hungry and that he will hand over to Dale Marshall?

++++++++++++++++

I never said Owen Arthue will hand over to Dale Marshall. I IMPLIED THAT THE DEAL BETWEEN PAYNE, DALE AND ARTHUR SEEM TO SUGGEST THAT. IF I AM WRONG – WHAT ARE THE TERMS OF – WHAT IS BEING TOUTED AS: “THE PRIOR PARK ACCORD.”

How could I be so gullible TO EVEN SUGGEST THAT ARTHUR WILL HAND OVER TO DALE when Mascoll has been assigned lead responsibility of finance and the economy and when Kerrie Symmonds has just been placed in the Senate.

If Arthur were to hand over to anyone it would either be Mascoll or Kerrie. Dale WHO? DIDN’T DALE MARSHALL SCRAPE HOME BY A MERE 44 VOTES IN A SEAT HELD ONCE BY SIR. GRANTLEY ADAMS?

7. Slightly off topic.

Some will say Prime Minister Stuartโ€™s oratory skills cannot compare to the late Tome Adams and David Thompson. What cannot be denied is Stuartsโ€™s command of the English language and by extension the classics. Barbadians will get the opportunity to listen to his response today at 2PM as well as Chris Sinckler on cbc.bb.

BU suspect as Stuart gets comfortable in the role of PM he will morph into a potent adversary in the debates to come. He will have to if he is to fill the void by Thompson.

Here is a snippet from Budget 2010:

[audio http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/marshallquip1.mp3]

BU has been trying to get a copy of the Leader of the Oppositionโ€™s reply to budget 2010.

BTW, why is CBC broadcasting only the government speeches? Why not Arthur’s?

8. Need I say more?

Adrian Hinds | October 28, 2009 at 12:05 PM |
    Is anyone surprise about the perceptions the public of Barbados has about her? Since school days people had their views about her, and several incidents since then have only led to convincing more people about these perceptions. Her refusal to address any of the issues surrounding her further led to their solidification in the national conscience.

It was said by a reporter that Owen Arthur giveth and he taketh away. Owen Arthur gave us Mia Mottley the potential successor and leader of the BLP. He saved her when the public had tried and convicted her over the homosexual debate, remember his call for Barbadians to cease and settle and to leave Mia alone? It is only fair that he be given the responsibility of removing her from around our necks.

9. What is this nonsense about George Payne beating Irene Sandiford Garner in the last general election.

The record shows that George Payne spent $34,880.89 whereas Mrs. Garner spent a mere $17,674.00, yet he barely scraped home: 2632 to her 2589.

Take the AE1 box as an example. 1075 votes were cast. Payne got 701 and Garner 374.

Everyone knows that all DLP members would have had good reasons to vote in the last election. My point is that there are 1647 eligible voters in this box. But even in a BLP box Payne could not even motivate BLP members to vote for him.

10. @ Enuff | November 28, 2010 at 1:52 PM |

It was said by a reporter that Owen Arthur giveth and he taketh away. Owen Arthur gave us Mia Mottley the potential successor and leader of the BLP. He saved her when the public had tried and convicted her over the homosexual debate, remember his call for Barbadians to cease and settle and to leave Mia alone? It is only fair that he be given the responsibility of removing her from around our necks.

Owen Arthur made Mia Mottley? She went to Queens College!!!! The woman is natrally bright. I have never heard that rumour spread about Owen Arthur. It is only said that he is an economist. PM Stuart is dealing with that now on TV.

OWEN ARTHUR BLACKMAILED BLP MEMBERS TO MAKE HIM LEADER. HE BELLYACHED AND SAID THAT HE COULD NOT SURVIVE AND THAT POLITICS FOR HIM IS A PINFUL EXERCISE AND TOO DIFFICUL A BURDEN TO CARRY.

In contrast, Mia Mottley never cried or pleaded with anyone to make her leader of anything.

11. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

I love how the DLP operatives invent history to suit their own PR, the “Prior Park Accord” So if I follow this correctly Payne having convinced a majority of people to bring Owen Arthur back was somehow going to engineer getting Arthur to hand over the reins to Dale after he had engineered the relection of the BLP? He must be a kingmaker indeed to get all that done.

Try at least to be plausible in your spewing

Why don’t you talk about what David Estwick was threatened with if he went ahead with his press conference?

12. @ Bajan Panday
    You must learn to read before you write. If you did, you would have realised that those were the words of ADRIAN HINDS not me. I was merely supporting my contention that Adrian Hinds, like so many including yourself, is inconsistent with his arguments and a mere hypocrite. All of a sudden he is calling for a reason as to why Mia was removed after he insulted and maligned the woman for months on BU.

13. Until Owen Arthur tells us EXACTLY why Mia Mottley maybr “unsuitable” or “unacceptable” as Prime Minister, this will remain an issue. Mia ought to say to Arthur: Tell the people whay you know about me and let the people decide. Mia’s character is being destroyed on a daily basis and Arthur is being given a free pass.
    This entire episode stinks to the high heavens.
    I now call on Arthur to publicly stats wht is wrong with Mia.
    I now call on Mia to challenge Arthur to publicly state what is wrong with her.

14. @ My Name Is Not Sylvan | November 28, 2010 at 2:32 PM |
    He must be a kingmaker indeed to get all that done.

++++++++++++

No!!! This just highlights that these are 5 power-hungry men who are joined by greed and united in their mutual hatred of Mia Mottley.

It also demonstrates the level of corruption within the ruling segment of the BLP and why there is need for that prevention of Corruption Act.

GEORGE PAYNE CANNOT BE A KINGMAKER BECAUSE HE DOES NOT HOLD THE CARDS, NEITHER DOES HE COMMAND THE RESPECT OF THE ELDERS OF THE PARTY.

THE REAL KINGMAKER IS OWEN ARTHUR for one simple reason. IF OWEN ARTHUR WERE TO JOINS MIA MOTTLEY, GLINE CLARKE WILL FOLLOW AND THAT IS THE POLITICAL END OF PAYNE, TOPPING AND DALE MARSHALL, WHO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH MIA MOTTLEY.

15. The fact is Owen Arthur is now Leader of the Opposition.
    If Mia wants the post she can do like Richie Haynes did—take Cynthia, Rawle, Duguid, and get two of the Govt side with her. She can’t get Irene (she aint in there so she should keep she mout shut and work to beat George if she ever can at this stage).
    She can try Estwick and Kelman….they have nothing to lose. She would have six and Owen would have five. She can take back over the Opposition Office.
    She only needs 16 candidates. Persuade Duguid to stay here and ind 10 more candidates. She has at least two already for sure…Prescod and Marshall. Needs only 8. She could try Arthur Holder, tell Liz and Wood come back. With five left;Go for cousin Commisiong, her two brothers;and two friends….
    They are now a pressure group ‘the Mottley Crew” and could become a party…names being proposed are Mia Liberal Party, Barbados Liberal Party , the AOP (Anti-Owen Party) or MOP (Mia Only Party).
    This is just too easy……you got the money,the people, the popularity, the brains, the ideas, the young people, all of those young women who love Mia real bad, the artists, the middle class, …….you all don’t need the BLP (Barbados Labour Party)

Stop griping and cussing and do yah ting. 2013 awaits you!

16. @ Jenny M | November 28, 2010 at 5:21 PM |

I do not agree with you. Why should Mia Mottley let corruption, election rigging and the ugly past of the BLP run her from that Party?

CAN’T YOU TELL THAT MIA MOTTLEY’S BUDGET PRESENTATION WAS INTELLECTUALLY SUPERIOR TO OWEN ARTHUR’S RAMBLINGS?

Didn’t you read Perter Wickham in today’s Sunday Sun?
    Mia Mottley is not power hungry I think she is only 42 so why should she let a tired, stale geriactric brigade run her. That sounds both scientifically and logically impossible,.

17. SHUT -UP !

18. It will be interesting to observe how the BLP brings the Mottley/Arthur factions together. In the case of the DLP Mascoll succumb to the politics of inclusion and the DLP was able to nurse itself back to political fitness.

19. @David,
    Here is the likely scenario.

Owen and Mia will play nice and present the BLP party as a cohesive force to fight the next election.

If they lose, Owen will resign as leader and Mia will lead the BLP again.

If they win, Owen will be Prime Minister and Mia will have to wait at least 5 years.
    She will be only be about 50 years old by then and Owen will have completed the tutelage of his star pupil.

20. Pretty Blue eyes Avatar

@Jenny M – What crap you talking bout Mia, you sure you aint Raquel Gilkes. Mia is a most hmumble person, go among her constituents and ask a question, I have met her because of my job and give me her any day, she takes the time to talk with people we call the scum of the earth she shakes their hand ask their name .When she got in she found jobs for many of her constituents that were walking about begging, she is the only opposition MP that was asking the country to proa for David Thompson, Owen Arthur was wishing him dead and as rumour has it she refused to ask that silly question, which to my mind is inrance, if the country had foot the bill for the head of state so what, it was our duty to do it.If Owen Arthur thinks he can get in now if an election is called, he is delusional, whoi the hell want him. Did you listen to Mia’s repply to the budget, she was the only one who offered alternatives, Owen , Dale and Kerrie, talk foolishnes for the whole night. Look woman or man leave Mia alone what they did exposed the type of people they are, the type we do not want to run the country and cetainly we do not want Owen as a leader, he rambled for the whole debate let him go back under the rock he crawled out from

21. @Hants

Let us hope in the name of democracy it will be as easy as you stated.

22. David re. your Nov 28, 2010 at 7:03 PM post;

An alternative reading of the tea leaves.

If the budget impositions prove to be unbearable to a significant proportion of the population, relatively muted protests occur and the economy does not improve significantly, Hants scenario will likely unfold as there might then appear to be a fairly reasonable chance that the BLP could unseat the DLP in the 2013 elections.

If the Sinckler budget appears to be working, the DLP propaganda against Owen gains traction and his popularity plummets, and the economy shows strong signs of improving, there would objectively be little chance for the BLP to win those elections. Mia might then choose to challenge Owen for the Chairmanship of the party but allow him to lose the 2013 elections and be seen as the main architect of that failure. She could then take over the BLP fully after the elections and rebuild it over the next 5 years while in opposition.

I think her chances of winning a 2018 election would be quite high all things considered.

But none of these readings are absolute. There could be several important global, regional and national developments in the coming months and years that could change the outcomes totally.

We are not living in a steady state world in these times.

23. THE BEST THING FOR BARBADOS IS FOR THE BLP TO LOSE THE NEXT GENERAL ELECTION.

ARTHUR WOULD THEN HAVE TO STEPS ASIDE HUMILIATED AND FINALLY RECOGNISING THAT HE IS ‘YESTERDAY’S MAN’ AND THAT THERE IS NO CLAMOUR FOR HIM.

PAYNE, GLINE CLARKE, TOPPIN AND DALE MARSHALL SHOULD LOSE AND THEN SOMEONE STEPS FORWARD TO REBUILD THE PARTY.

In the interst of democracy, the BLP needs to loose the next general election. I agree with the view expressed elsewhere taht the electorate need to force change within the BLP since the present leadership does not even want to address the voter fraud made public recently.

HOW CAN THE BLP FIX THE ECONOMY AND CHANGE BARBADOS IF IT CANNOT EVEN FIX THE VOTER FRAUD WITHIN THEIR PARTY?

24. @ checkit-out | November 28, 2010 at 8:24 PM |

I DO NOT AGREE THAT MIA MOTTLEY SHOULD CHALLENGE OWEN ARTHUR FOR ANYTHING.

He said that there is a clamour for him and the gang of five said that they stand a better chance of winning with Owen Arthur. All of them said that they were “reviewing” Mia Mottley’s leadership.

As I understand it, Cynthia Forde stepped aside as general Secretary, so that the Owen Arthur geriatric brigade now has full control over the BLP.

They promise BLP members and supporters a victory. My advice to Mia Mottley is sit back and wait. As Wickham said: COME TO THE CENTER AND WAIT.

My advice to PM Stuart is to run the full 2 1/2 years but do everything in your power to show that 2.5% grown in 2011-2012 as projected. secondly, try to satisfy the resolution that accompanied your budget this year.

25. I am looking into the situation and I am not receiving any of the vibes you people are talking about. I really should not be looking though because things are revealed to me and I then reveal them to others

I revealed over a year ago WHAT EVENTUALLY HAPPENED TO THE PREVIOUS PRIME MINISTER. IT IS IN THE ARCHIVES OF THIS BLOG. anyone can check it. Believe it or not

At that time, I also revealed that Chris Sinckler COULD be Prime Minister of this country. I believe I use a stonger word than could. I also expressed my likings for Donville Inniss as Prime Ministerial material.

26. I want the Government to do the best for Barbados and stop worrying about winning or losing the next election. Do what is best for Barbados. Just do the best for this country and cut out all the foolish talk about the opposition and Mia and Owen.

Do the best for Barbados and at the election the people will decide, Forget the talk ! This is a new Government as far as I am concerned. This is the Freundel Stuart led DLP GOVERNMENT and I am prepared to give this Government a chance.

I will make my pronouncements after I see where Stuart is heading. So far he has moved slower than an African Snail-Slow to act-procrastinating —not yet thinking about a candidate for St .John –WTF is he waiting for ?
    A candidate should have been thought of long time ago. This is December. Stuart was acting PM for the longest time now. What de ass he waiting for ? Santa Phucking Claus ? or is he Santa Pause. Pausing AND PROCRASTINATING PROCRASTINATOR

27. 1989: Uneployment 15+%
    1989: 3.6% growth
    1990: -3.7%
    1991: -3.9%
    1989 – 1992: Tourist spend -8%; arrivals -16%

Yet the DLP got re-elected in 1991..history has a funny way of repeating itself.

28. Stop dividing the BLP. Stop dreaming. Don’t forget that Mia was central to the BLP for years. Stop placing blame. If Mia has no sin let her keep casting stones. You jokers don’t realize she only posturing. Has she ever claimed to be a moralist?

29. The one suite of attributes that characterizes the better past PM’s of Barbados has been a willingness and capacity to work very hard, action orientation and decisiveness. Barrow, Tom Adams, Sandiford, Owen Arthur and David Thompson come to mind as examples of such leaders. I don’t know how Freundel Stuart fits into that group, but it might be useful if some who knows him could give us their views on how he measures up in the characteristics above.

Bajan Panday; I think that if Mia Mottley wishes to lead the BLP in 2013 and thereafter she might be best served if she held some formal office in the Party. Thus my suggestion of the chairmanship. Abstaining from competing for the chairmanship this year was probably a good political move but I think that maintaining that stance might be counterproductive for her in the long run. But what do I know? I’m no politician.

30. People are fed up with and do not trust politicians, be they B or D.

They realise that politicians will not get them out of this mess.

O$A may actually have done the country a favour by doing what he did as it showed up many of them for what they really are.

31. @Enuff; Jenny M:
    If I am no threat why must I come off and shut up? Leff me, nuh!
    @I Am Not Sylvan: MEN in the House today ran two and three times, losing by wider margins than I did. Swing or no swing. In the same constituencies. Veterans. You did not question their viability. Your bias is clear. Leave the analysis for those equipped to analyse. Chewpse! Wait fuh me to leff! I will now go and do the work YOU pay me to do.

32. EXCELLENT SENATOR!!!

ALL OVER ST. ANDREW, BUT CONCENTRATE ON THE WOMEN AND YOUTH VOTE IN ORANGE HILL.

33. George Payne is not even yesterdayโ€™s man.

He is simply obnoxious and hates himself because he is short and bald.

He has not respect for women and it is clear that he feels that they should be used and tolerated and that once the price is right “anybody” can be bought.

HIS PHILOSOPHY IS AND HAS LONG BEEN – WHY CANVASS AND WORK FOR THE PEOPLE OF ST. ANDREW WHEN YOU CAN BUY THEM WITH MONEY OR FOOD?

In 2003 GEORGE PAIN received a mere 66.1% of the votes cast and polled 2852 votes. This is a massive Dโ€™cline from 1999 when he received 3524 or 79.2% of the votes cast in St. Andrew.

Today he is barely scraping home by less than 50 votes in circumstance where each election, the DLP ran somebody new, EVENTHOUGH PAINSTILL HAS TO SPEND MORE OF THE PEOPLEโ€™S STASHED MONEY ON THEM.

In any event, his reality is still that of Dโ€˜minishing returns.

But why does he want to be in Parliament in circumstance where he is not representing the people of St. Andrew? What sweets lure him. Can we find the answer if somebody ask Al Barrack?

It is clear that George Payne feels that all it takes to secure the vote of the people of St. Andrew, is offer them some food on Thursdays even if he stays away form Parliament and attend to his personal business eventhough accepting a cheque each month from the Treasury.

He did not speak in the budget; he is arrogant, rigs elections, buys people, is rude and disrespectful to the Speaker of the House and anybody in authority and yet he feels he will be re-elected by the people of St. Andrew. Why?

If that it what Irene has to do to win in St. Andrew–then we have come to a very sad place.

But whereas George Pain is not interested in working for or speaking on behalf of the people of St. Andrew, Irene Sandiford-Garner is already doing so.

34. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

Irene, Irene, Irene,

Why do you suddenly impute that I’m a male chauvinist? The discussion was about a blog in which David claimed that the voters were “unsophisticated” because they returned what he saw as a defective candidate instead of you. I pointed out to him that the voice of people is the voice of God and I saw it that the flaw was not in the voters but in you.

Where does the fact that you are a woman come into this?
    My bias which I have no difficulty in claiming is being for the BLP, which I would point out has a better record of putting women in positions of power than your party.

I just point out the following….

In the face of a large national swing towards the DLP you were unable to win your seat.

I know you DLP people like to blame someone else for your failures, you blame us in the BLP, you blame the recession, you blame the civil servants, you blame me for being a chauvinist, and now you seem quite content to blame the voters.

The pattern is quite consistent.

35. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

Bajan Panday,

Do you really think that comparing a politician’s performance in 1999 when the BLP received all but two of the seats to 2003 when the BLP received a 2/3 majority in the house and then in 2008 when they were voted out of office forms a valid analysis of the candidate in question?

So to summarise you are saying that….

A politician did better when there was a massive swing for his party than when there was a swing against his party.

hardly an earth shattering conclusion.

What I am pointing out is that your candidate couldn’t even win with the swing for her party.

You will have to do much better than that to convince anyone.

36. Senator
    I aint really trouble you, but you sound like if you want to join Mia Party. If you are a real Dem how come you so interested in Mia now? Mind yuh business and keep yuh eye on ST. Andrew. Mia was in there since 1994 and you now trying to get in. You think she cay bout you. Stop being a clown….you think she woulda fight your cause….and wha cause she got?….she think she got a right to royalty…..you forget that song she playing all bout the place saying that she royal…you know wha da mean?….she royal….not you….Don’t get in the big people business……and beside you is a country girl……YOU BETTER LEARN FAST!!!

37. @ My Name Is Not Sylvan | November 29, 2010 at 8:31 AM |

The stats is not my thesis, this is:

George Payne is simply obnoxious and hates himself because he is short and bald.

It is clear that George Payne feels that all it takes to secure the vote of the people of St. Andrew, is offer them some food on Thursdays even if he stays away form Parliament and attend to his personal business eventhough accepting a cheque each month from the Treasury.

He did not speak in the budget; he is arrogant, rigs elections, buys people, is rude and disrespectful to the Speaker of the House and anybody in authority and yet he feels he will be re-elected by the people of St. Andrew. Why?

38. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

I wasn’t going to respond to you Bas but I thought your last statement was like so many DLP statements on these blogs.

There is one single fact in the entire last contribution and that is this….

George Payne did not speak in the budget debate.

The rest of it are simply your inventions, and rumours and innuendo that you have elevated somehow to fact. So, really like so much about the DLP when you strip away the sound and fury and look at the facts, there isn’t much to you lot at all. All the promises, and policies and campaign rhetoric are very impressive (and loud) but when we look at what you have done, it is clear that for the most part its a lot of sound and fury signifying nothing.

I must correct my self on something I typed above, there were actually two facts in your earlier contribution….

George is very definitely bald.

39. ARE YOU SAYING THAT GEORGE PAYNE DID NOT RIG THE BLP MEMBERSHIP LIST AND THAT HE DID NOT PAY $560 TO REGISTER DELIGATES IN RAWLE EASTMAN CONSTITUENCY, WITHOUT RAWLE EASTMAN’S KNOWLEDGE?

I READ THAT IN THE NATION NEWSPAPER AND RAWLE CONFIRMED IT?

WHAT ABOUT THE NATION NEWSPAPER REPORT THAT SAID THAT THE WOMEN’S LEAGUE SUBMITTED A LIST OF 210 DELEGATES EVENTHOUGH A MEETING WAS NOT HELD TO SELECT DELEGATES?

NONE OF THESE WOULD HAVE VOTED FOR MIA MOTTLEY. SO WHO RIG THE ELECTION – THE GENERAL SECRETARY WHO WITHDREW OR GEORGE PAYNE?

EVEN IN HAITI THEY OPPOSE FRAUD IN ELECTION. HAITI BUT NOT THE BLP!!!

AND TO THINK THAT BLP MEMBERS (INCLUDING OWEN ARTHUR) WAS GOING ALL OVER THE WORLD TELLING PEOPLE ABOUT FREE AND FAIR ELECTIONS.

HELLO!!!!

40. The Dems believe that if you keep telling lies, people will eventually believe them, case in point Bajan Panday. The lies he says over and over again on this blog are amazing.

Truth be told, the DLP has more power struggles than the BLP, you know. Wait until David Estwick dont get what he wants. The Bees will sit back and wait, oh wait Kellman is saying he should be deputy PM. Well, judging from the PM’s interview in Sunday’s Sun, this wont happen too soon. He will procrastinate and pontificate whilst he does his laundry!

I too would like to know who paid for the apartment DT lived in whilst he was not in hospital in New York, who paid for all the back and forth on Sol’s plane especially for summoning the plane for the final time from Miami to New York only for the doctors to say that he could only go home on an air ambulance.

It is in DLP’s bloggers interest to keep focussing on Mia and Owen and not on their mis-management of the economy which has caused all of us to be suffering now. They came in and spent, spent, spent like drunken sailors. There is one thing they cant say is that they found an empty treasury. You know they would have said so loud and clear!! Now their chickens have come home to roost and we will all suffer.

Deal with the facts.

I want to know what is going on with CLICO and who will foot the bill for what the late PM promised for the OECS?

41. @ Prodigal Son | November 29, 2010 at 1:05 PM |

WROTE:
    I too would like to know who paid for the apartment DT lived in whilst he was not in hospital in New York, who paid for all the back and forth on Solโ€™s plane especially for summoning the plane for the final time from Miami to New York only for the doctors to say that he could only go home on an air ambulance.

BRING THE PARLIAMENTARY QUESTION AND let the entire gang of five co-sponsor it.

SECONDLY, LET THAT BE THE FIRST QUESTION YOU ASK IN THE ST. JOHN BYELECTION.

THIRDLY, ASK THAT SAME QUESTION IN St. Michael North, St. Joseph, St. Andrew and ST. George North and Christ Church South DURING THE GENERAL ELECTION.

YES!!!! YOU HEAD ME, CHRIST CHURCH SOUTH?

42. @ Senator Garner | November 29, 2010 at 7:00 AM |
    @I Am Not Sylvan: “MEN in the House today ran two and three times, losing by wider margins than I did. Swing or no swing. In the same constituencies …..”

Ask George about swinging? Clint Eastwood used to swing too…..a rope, so George should know.
    …………………………………………………………..
    GEORGE IS THE KING..!!!!
    1. King of St. Silas Youth Group
    2. King ..for LIFE… of Standard Cricket Club
    3. King …in the ’94 Elections. He paid up subscriptions which had been unpaid and recruited new members by the bus load. Vote padding is nothing new.
    4. King of Kensington Oval. Anyone who could have a private box at the Oval has to be a King!
    5. King of Royal Westmoreland. If you could hold your big ‘do’s” there without the commoners from St. Andrew present, you have to be a King.
    King of Land Speculation. (Father was an animal speculator, buying and selling pigs.) Teaming up with Barrack on land deals is not surprising. MORE TO COME ON THIS LAND SPECULATION BUSINESS.
    6. King of Kiwanis. Went into Combermere when the late PM was head-boy, put a neck-rope on Dale Marshall the Key Club’s President. No wonder he leads Dale like a sheep…..all the way to Dowell’s Chambers.
    7. King of Arrogance and disrespect to females. Whose mother threw a cup of water in their face for disrespecting her.
    8. King of the BLP. He has turned Owen into his whipping boy. Owen takes the licks; George runs away.
    9.GEORGE IS THE KING!! All for self and his subjects get the left-overs.

43. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

Having looked over this thread and looked at everything George Payne is according to the DLP supporters you know what REALLY stands out?

In the face of all that is alleged above by people who seem to confuse noise with fact, the FACT is that the people of St. Andrew elected George Payne to be their representative. Despite a national swing against him the DLP candidate FAILED.

What is also telling is that the DLP blames this on “unsophisticated voters of St. Andrew” they do not look at the candidate the fielded and ask why could she not succeed in the face of all that she had going for her. If George Payne is this person that they are making him out to be why does he get elected?

The DLP supporters on this thread would tell you it is because St. Andrew people are “unsophisticated”.

But then again, that is just like the DLP, they like to blame other people for their failures. They blame the BLP, they blame the recession, they blame the APD, they blame the sun the moon and the stars because nothing could ever be their fault.

The fault my dear Irene is not in the sun the moon or the stars, and the sooner you accept that the better off you will be.

44. @Bajan Panday

Can someone answer Adrian’s question?

Are you prepared to admit what BLPites are keeping under wraps regarding the usurpation of Mottley?

45. @ My Name Is Not Sylvan | November 29, 2010 at 5:58 PM |

You asked:

If George Payne is this person that they are making him out to be why does he get elected?

++++++++++++++++++

I believe theanswer is the same way he was making sure he got elected Chairman against Mia Mottley.

Whereas he rigged the membership list at the BLP, you cannot be faulted for believing that he buy votes in St. Andrew (cash on the day and food on Thursdays)

I already showed you that in the last election, Goerge Payne spent some $34, 880.89 while Irene spent a mere $17,674.00.

BY THE WAY, IS IT NOT TRUE THAT PAYNE RIGGED THE MEMBERSHIP LIST AT BLP?

IS IT NOT TRUE THAT MEMBERS OF THE BLP HAD SECURED AN ATTORNEY TO FILE AN INJUNCTION TO HAVE HIM EXPELLED UNDER SECTION 19 (I THINK IT IS) OF THE BLP’S CONSTITUTION BUT MIA MOTTLEY TOLD THEM NOT TO?

You can find out things in this country you know! All you have to do is go places and blend in.

NOW!! LET US TALK ABOUT THAT $10 MILLION FOR THOSE TERRACE UNITS AND THAT BUILDING AT WARREN’S.

HOW EXACTLY ARE YOU AND GEORGE PAYNE INVOLVED. I CAN SEE YOU NOW!!!

YES! TAKE YOU GLASSES OFF AND PUT THEM BACK ON.

My Name Is Not Sylvan, how well do you know Dale Marshall?

46. @ David | November 29, 2010 at 7:34 PM |

You asked:
    “Can someone answer Adrianโ€™s question?

Are you prepared to admit what BLPites are keeping under wraps regarding the usurpation of Mottley

Let’s review the events.

A gang of five (Owen Arthur, George Payne, Ronald Toppin, Dale Marshall and Gline Clarke) barricaded themselve in BLP headquarters; engaged armed police to guard the gate so ordinary members could not get in.

This gang of five (the power-hungry-geriactric brigade) had summoned Mia Mottley to a meeting TO BE TOLD WHY THEY WERE OUSTING HER. She did not attend.

The gang of five had earlier met and signed: “The Prior Park Accord.” Mia Mottley was charged by the power-hungry gang of 5, sentenced by them, hanged and then invited to her trial.

HOW ON HEAVENS EARTH, COULD SHE HAVE BEEN TOLD ABOUT WHY SHE WAS BEING REMOVED WHEN TWO LETTERS WERE PREPARED: ONE WITH FIVE SIGNATURES AND ONE WITH SIX NAMES HOPING THAT DUGUID WOULD HAVE SIGNED?

The real reason they moved against Mia Mottley is because they were wishing PM Thompson would die; the DLP would called a general election; based on the state of the economy Owen Arthur would win and the power-hungry gang of 5 who are joined by greed and hatred for Mia Mottley – would again have access to the trough.

HOW COME THEY COULD NOT GET DUGUID TO SIGN?

Based on what Barbados Today reported, he went to the Prior Park meeting even though he did not sign “The Prior Park Accord.”

47. “My name is not Sylvan”….. wuh this mean? u mean you aint me?

48. @Bajan Panday

Wheel and come again!

49. Donโ€™t you see a strange scenario unfolding?

At a time when the BLP is engaging in fraudulent practices to augment its membership and at a time where it presented an internal voters list where even people who were not members of the BLP and had never indicated an interest in join, are now members of the BLP.

At a time when the BLP is desperate for people to join it but Barbadians continue to see it (under it present leadership) as a big turn off – the DLP is able to put on display, over 250 persons, who on their own free will and accord, have willing and knowingly joined the DLP.

The BLP has reached such a low, that it is now paying people to join it.

You know, Einstein once said that insanity is doing the same thing twice and hoping for a different result the second time.

Just 2 ยฝ years ago, the people of Barbados found Owen Arthur unacceptable.

They found-out that unknown to anyone, he had put some $750,000 intended as campaign contributions, into his personal bank account. He is now saying that there is a clamour for him. Mind you, in 2008 when they rejected him, Barbadians were concerned about corruption.

2 ยฝ years later, Owen Arthur comes back to the people, this time with a gang of five made up of men who feel that a woman cannot lead them. A group of men who are responsible for the mess at the Warrens Building; who gave $10 million to build a few terrace units; who are responsible for the mess on the ABC highway and are also the architects of electoral fraud within the BLP.

Owen Arthur is now leading a group of men who are paying for people to join the BLP and somehow using the economy as a distraction tactic, Owen Arthur and this gang of 5 – are hoping that the electorate would find them acceptable 2 ยฝ years after the same electorate told the BLP to change and re-invent itself. But the BLP comes back even more corrupt but somehow expects to form the government

THIS HAS TO BE EITHER POLITICAL INSANITY OR BEING BLINDED BY A DESPERATION FOR POWER.

50. Dear Bajan Panday:

Methinks you doth protest too much.