George Payne, Chairman of the Barbados Labour Party announcing Owen Arthur's return back in October

The decision by the parliamentary group of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to oust Mia Mottley as leader of the opposition has caused some to question the role of the Member of Parliament (MP) for St. Andrew George Payne. For about six years George Payne warmed the backbench of the House of Assembly of Barbados and did not โ€˜unpickโ€™ his teeth. By doing so BU has always held the view he disrespected the August Chamber and by extension the people of Barbados. The fact he was able to defeat his DLP opponent Irene Sandiford-Garner in the last general election should raise other questions about the sophistication of the electorate and more particularly how Payne has been able to foster ironclad support in the Orange Hill โ€˜boxโ€™. BU is on record agreeing with the decision to fire then Minister of Tourism George Payne by former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.ย  The extreme reaction by Payne to his firing which drove him to be silence for so many years should make political independents question his behaviour. If he were an employee in a company, how would his manager appraise his performance?

Q. Why does a citizen of Barbados aspire to represent fellow citizens by seeking their support to be elected to the House of Assembly?

A. When Parliament is sitting (meeting), MPs generally spend their time working … This can include raising issues affecting their constituents, attending debates and voting on new laws. Most MPs are also members of committees, which look at issues in detail, from government policy and new laws, to wider topics like human rights โ€“ Parliament UK

Is it reasonable to conclude that by not speaking in parliament for six years it can be concluded that George Payne failed to fully represent the people of St. Andrew? How then can one explain Payneโ€™s re-election in the face of a national swing in the most recent general election? Perhaps some day our political scientists and others better versed than BU in political behaviour will be able to explain how a dumb MP in parliament could still win his seat albeit with a narrow margin.

There will be other opportunities to discuss George Payne politics in the context of the last general election. The immediate interest is the role George Payne played in brokering the deal which has seen the return of Owen Arthur as leader of the opposition. While it is said politics makes for strange bed fellows, Payneโ€™s emergence in recent times as a Kingmaker in the usurpation of Mia Mottley bears careful study. In the same way Mascoll was overthrown for the more popular Thompson by Jones, Lashley, Sealy et al, the BLP parliamentary group has the same right to crown the leader of its choice. Sometimes forgotten is the right of the electorate to critique the internal workings of the two political parties. Decisions taken by the respective political parties will always have implications for wider society. Against the foregoing there is legitimacy in curiosity by Barbadians to question the role of the man of many hats.

Keen and even not so keen follows of the local political scene would have observed the building of bridges between Arthur and Payne long before the overthrow of Mia Mottley occurred. It was never hidden by the two actors. It could have been a deliberate ploy to intimidate Mottley. If such was clear to bystanders it is difficult to explain why Mottley and supporters should plead ignorance to the challenge to her leadership which inevitably came.

To the central point โ€“ why has Arthur returned at this time? Why has George Payne buried the hatchet and pledged his unswerving loyalty to Arthur at this time?

While it will always be about power and politics and several theories abound, the question remains – what is in it for Payne? What would have caused Payne to adsorb the public humiliation of pledging support to Arthur at this time after being silent for years in the former Arthur administration? He never once demonstrated public disaffection under Mottleyโ€™s leadership that we are aware of to signal he had a problem with her leadership. Is it a move flavoured with chauvinism? Is it a genuine belief by Payne and cohorts that Arthur is more competent to lead the party to victory in 2013? Is it the about questioning of Mottley on the basis of morality? Has a deal been agreed to between Arthur and Payne?

The time has come for Barbadians to be more inquiring of political decisions which smell rotten. To question is not to condemn. To continue to ignore the smell maybe at our peril. Whither the Fourth Estate?

1. george payne is no kingmarker. He is not even a real Attorner-at-law. He became a “Yawer” on a technicality.

Geore payne may be many things as outlined on page 30 of the weekend nations and as seen in that Warren’s Building but not a kingmaker.

It would seem that george payne somehow believes that dale marshall can become prime minister of Barbados and that as a consequence – all the legal work would go to his company.

that seems to be the dilemma in the BLP and may be why Owen Arthur cannot name a shadow cabinet. he knows dale is an idiot but has to stall because if he moves against dale, that is the end of him. This is not rocket science.

All Irene has to do is get the youth vote and the women’s vote in Orange Hill. THE BOTTOM LINE IS – GEORGE PAYNE IS A LIGHTWIGHT.

any man who compares himself with George Jefferson is in serious trouble.

The word on the ground is that rigging the BLP elections recently cost him a pretty penny. When he can become Chairman of the BLP, after people like Sir henry, Sir Louis, Tom Adams, Bree St. John and so on – that show the extent to which the BLP might be in need of a make-over.

2. Raquel Gilkes former public relations officer of the BLP is saying the following on Facebook page of one Lorenzo Harewood.

Raquel Gilkes says Oh really? There is no story? Kool. Again you display more insider knowledge of a party that you claim you do not support, than I who is a member. I bow to your superior knowledge, my dear.

What I do know is that the 6 TOLD Mia why they were removing her, in clear and concise terms. Yet I have never heard her, nor Ian Bourne mention the reason they gave. This reason was given BEFORE the press even knew about attempts to change. She has had several press interviews since then.

I just find it curious that there has been NO mention of it. It is even stranger that no journalist thought to inquire. Hmmm

Does anyone know of this?????

3. Can a woman who refers to Mara Thompson in the vilest of terms (which earned her a lifetime ban on another blog) with no open sanctioning from O.S. Arthur be considered as having any true credibility since my name is being dredged here? She is also probably patrolling these corridors under a new pseudonym.

Mrs Gilkes referred to Mara as a h**fer, sorry “heffa” and the pejorative for female pudenda beginning with “C”

She also refers to the late D.J.H. Thompson as “Deadvid” as opposed to DAVID, again I ask what credibility do we accrue from such a person?

4. Here’s a classic for you all to digest;-

Deadvid worshippers are SO desperate to scrape up accomplishments for him that they are claiming he was our youngest PM. Sigh, when both Tom and Owen became PM, they were younger (by YEARS) than Deadvid was when he became PM. Back to the drawing-board myth-builders…

Whether Mr Thompson was youngest or not, what is of note is how she refers to the former Barbadian leader – oh yeah, she’s a reliable fount of data… NOT!

Arthur has a loose cannon and he better watch out before she creates untold damage for his plans ahead…

5. ian borne bored burn bloated hates owen arthur

6. @Ian

Many sources have been telling BU you have been co-opted by the Mia camp, comment?

Those who missed the budget 2010 wrap up of Prime Minister Stuart and Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, you can watch a rebroadcast on the government owned cbc.bb at 2 PM tomorrow.

7. Do any of you know the reason that Owen and his group offered as the reason they went after Mottley with such haste and with such venom ?

It seems to me workings of one Jerome Walcott who created the two stories that have made the rounds that were further used as their excuse to evict her.

Please tell me that neither story is true and that it is not that way.

8. @too, too Sweet
    I don’t know; Raquel Gilkes the disgraceful former public relations officer of the BLP is suggesting that there is A reason and that this reason was put to Mottley. They are now not saying what it is and are suggesting that Mia needs to say what it is. If you know just say what it is.

9. If you wanna know ’bout Leslie Mottley talk tah Mia Haynes ….

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

10. Scene 2, Act of Treachery.

1. Get rid of Rawle by claiming he is medically unfit. Bring in Douglas Skeete the Treasurer and George Walton’s side-side kick. (RAWLE NEEDS TO BE CAREFUL WHO HE EATS OR DRINKS FROM.)
    2. Eliminate Cynthia Forde. BRING IN CLYDE MASCOLL IN ST. THOMAS!!!!!!!!

DIRECTOR:- George Payne
    …………………………..
    Watch this site for more REBBELATIONS as they unfold.

11. The BLP has/had set up an Investigative Team to look into the question of vote padding for the Conference.

Can any of the members tell the country what has been the outcome of the investigations-?

12. Listen!

Owen Arthur and nah group never had any sensible reason to ous Mia Mottley. THEY CAUSE IS A MAD GRAB FOR POWER.

This power-hungry gang of five felt that PM Thompson was dying and that since Bree St. John and Sandiford erred and called a byelection, instead of a general election, the DLP would have called a general election.

The felt that given the rumour about Arthur’s so-called economic ability, Barbados would have gone with him, despite not finding him acceptable on January 15, 2008.

THERE WAS SIMPLY NO CREDIBLE REASON.

THEY SAID THAT THEY WERE REVIEWING HER LEADERSHIP.

ESENTIALLY THAT MIA MOTTLEY WAS INCOMPETENT TO LEAD THE BLP BUT EVERYONE KNOWS THAT AFTER THAT ADDRES TO THE BCCI, IT WAS CLEAR THAT MIA MOTTLEY’S STAR WAS RISISNG.

The gang of five felt that were she to become Chairman of the party whe she would have given the address to Conference and then presented the BLP response to the budget, she would have been unstoppable. As I understand it, Mia Mottley is times more popular within the BLP than Owen Arthur. THEY SAY THAT IS WHY MORE PEOPLE ATTENDED THE BLP’S CONFERENCE ON SATURDAY TO VOTE FOR HER THAN ON SUNDAY TO HEAR OWEN ARTHUR.

Here is something else to consider. The Nation newspaper and Wickham condcuted a Poll. Sinckler was at 6.0%, then DPM Stuart 6.6%, Mia Mottley 18% and Owen Arthur 22%, with Hamilton Lashley 1%.

The point I am making is that depite being Chairman of the BLP (a highly visible post) George Payne could not get on the radar or was never considered for national leadership whereas 1% of the respondent felt the Hammie Lah could be a PM of Barbados.

THAT SHOWS WHAT THE PEOPLE OF THIS COUNTRY THINK OF GEORGE PAYNE, WHO IS NO KINGMAKER.

13. @BU – I have not been co-opted by anyone, if anything, I still feel Barbados’ best answer is a third party, but if you have a two chariot race and that particular race has only 2 chariots and 1 chariot has two horses fighting to be the Main Draw – Is it not natural to choose one over the other? You may have seen the older horse bite at the groom, while the younger horse pulls above its weight no matter what bit you give it to champ on…

If you select a particular horse for the chariot, it does not mean you were coerced to place the harness just so – you are simply choosing the superior performance since you have had a decade or more to see how each steed performs under pressure…

On that basis, I have made a decision and this is a problem for some in the BLP and in Dems – it even reminds me of when as a child growing up (parents divorced when I was 13) if I said something either of my parents disliked, then they would try to blame the other as the instigator of the idea.

When I make them both understand it is an INDEPENDENT idea that NEITHER of them MADE me draw a conclusion to, then I was a worse villain yet! I must have picked up some weird idea from school… I see eerie parallels here too.

Back to matter at hand, I see Mia as a viable option of my own free will and those who don’t like it? Deal with it! Reality is, however, Barbados needs something other than Tweeedledumb or Tweedledumber!

14. Ian Bourne wrote “Tweeedledumb or Tweedledumber”.
    mmmm. uh wunda who he mean.

15. So tell me please, the story making the rounds that Mottley was forced to pay out some money from an event that happened in St.Lucia between she and a young lady from a well connected St.Lucian family is not true or is it true ?

Also the follow on question the more recent incident as has been reported re a 14 year old being afflicted with the curse of Mottley, is there a name or names coming forward ?

16. BU wrote: “If he were an employee in a company, how would his manager appraise his performance?”

Random Thoughts replies: His employers the electorate of St.Andrew have given him a sterling performance appraisal, since they have reelected him even in the face of a swigg.

BU wrote “how a dumb MP in parliament could still win his seat albeit with a narrow margin.”

Some may say that the electorate in St.Andrew, are dumb (also), but Random Thoughts doesn’t think so.

17. “Owen Arthur … knows dale is an idiot ”

Fuh true???????????????????

18. Why would the former government (BLP) appeal the case if certain players would have benefited allegedly?

19. THE FIRST STEP I TEND TO RECALL WAS BINDING ARBITRATION.

AS I FURTHER RECALL, IT IS ONLY WHEN THE FIGURE WAS ANNOUNCED THAT SOME MIGHT HAVE FELT THAT WERE IT PAID – THAT WOULD HAVE RAISED RED FLAGS.

How could THEY have justified paying all that money to a man who did not qualify to build a building he built?

20. @ Too, Too Sweet | November 28, 2010 at 12:34 AM |

I thought about that after Mia Mottley asked in her speech why the rumour had only surfaced after 2 1/2 years.

I think eveybody knows that these rumours are not being manufactured within the DLP or spread by anybody within the DLP.

You know, if the BLP said that Mia Mottley was not bright nobody would believe them. If they said that she has to get a prepared speech to talk about rocket science, the economy or medicing, nobody would believe them.

If they said that she was not the brightest woman her generation, nobody would belive them. So what do they do to keep her down but rig elections & spread vicous rumours.

Do you realise that when they spread the last rumous, her margin INCREASED TO 1655? I have never seen anything like it. The more rumours the BLP spread about Mia Mottley, the more popular she becomes?

THIS SIMPLY MEANS THAT BARBADIANS VIEW THE PERSONS SPREADING THE RUMOURS AS BEING SICK, LIGHTWEIGHT LOSERS.

So the BLP has to try to destroy Mia Mottley in order to make Owen Arthur relevant. AMAZING!!!

21. mottley forms 3 rd party
    same people who play deh supporting she now on this blog and in the dlp will eat she raw without salt
    all the salaciousness as to why she could never be PM would surface with force and vigour.
    i dont pay them no mind. they aint fooling me. barbados got some of the most dirty minded -grudgeful-minded -ignorant people in the world.

22. I was just on the Nation Newspaper website. Seems like they have video of Mia Mottley’s entire budget speech.

What she is saying sounds quite reasonable to me. She did not criticise the government, but was offerings what seem like credible alternatives.

PERHAPS THAT IS WHY SINCKLER SAID HE WILL TAKE A LOOK AT THEM.

I am just wondering why Mr. Sinckler did not say he will look at Owen Arthur’s proposal/s as well, didn’t he make any?

23. Why don’t you Mia backers ease up? Why all this foolishness about her being the brightest woman of this era? What you are doing is just making matters worse for her. And you should know that what Mia lacks most of all is humility, just a little bit. Let her know she is not the only person with ideas and that she cannot get her own way all the time. You are not helping her with all this nonsense.

HUMILITY , PATIENCE, FAITH, AND RESPECT FOR OTHER PEOPLE’S VIEWS AND FEELINGS IS WHAT SHE NEEDS NOW.

Cursing George Payne, Owen Arthur, and other people in the BLP does not help this situation. Let her wheel and come again. This is not the end for her.
    By the way if you scum bags are Bees you are testing the system. You either in or out. Stop the foolishness or form your own party

24. JennyM can you tell us the reason Mia’s parliamentary collegues use to switch their loyalty away from her to Arthur? I am hearing that there is a clear and concise reason for her removal and that this reason was put to Mottley for her to respond too, which she never did. Do you know anything about this reason? Former BLP public relations officer, Raquel Gilkes told me this, but cannot bring herself to tell what exactly is the reason; I think, due to some fear of Mia on her part. Do you know?????

25. Adrian

The leadership of the BLP cannot tell the difference between transparent and see through.

Do you really expect an answer?

26. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

I am amused by a piece of partisan opinion trying to masquerade as political analysis in this article. To question the “sophistication of the electorate” as to why the elected a particular candidate in the face of a national swing, speaks volumes about the analyst’s inherent bias. The candidate that the people felt would represent their interests better won. Such is the way of elections in a democracy.

David you would do better to examine why Sandiford Garner was not able to convince the people of St. Andrew that she could represent their interests better, even in the face of a national swing in her favour. In fact you might do well to question if she has further viability as a political candidate. If you cannot win with an national swing in your favour, what are your chances without the swing?

27. @My Name Is Not Sylvan

There will come a time when such analysis will take place. For the moment Payne is under the microscope and we have given reasons which you are free to debate.

28. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

to isolate one member of any political party and to ascribe to them the role of “kingmaker” is a false argument. The person who claims the confidence of the majority of the Parliamentary group is elected to the post of Opposition Leader. It is set out in the Constitution of Barbados.

It is a credit to the Barbados Labour Party that it has more than one person who is widely perceived to capable of doing a better job of running the Government than the current crop of jokers. The Parliamentary Group have made their choice. As you observe in the article above, as always, the people have the final say.

The DLP has made much of the perceived schism within the BLP and we have seen MANY commentator who before October had nothing good to say about Mia Mottley or Owen Arthur. However now Mia is “washed in the blood of the Lamb” so to to speak. Is this a genuine concern for Mia Mottley?

I think not.

The calls for Mia to form her own party or to resign are by and large being made by people who up to now have been vocal supporters of the DLP. Are their calls for Mia to “fight to the death” rooted in genuine concern for her?

Once again I think not.

Yes there are supporters for Mia Mottley that are not happy with the new dispensation, in any democratic process there are winners and there are losers. Are those people going to advocate the political destruction of the BLP (the party that they support) on the altar of the pre-eminence of Mia Mottley?

Again I do not think so. To do such would be illogical.

Mia Mottley herself has indicated that she remains a loyal supporter of the BLP. She has to her credit remained loyal to the party and done nothing publicly to hurt the party’s profile.

So the question must be asked where to the loudest and most vocal calls come from?

The same people on this blog who in September had the worst things possible to say about Mia now appear publicly to be her greatest fans.

The people of Barbados are not fooled.

The DLP has a vested interest in the whole Mottley/Arthur discussion because it occupies public opinion in at a time when the DLP is vulnerable to any mention of the Sinkler/Stuart dynamic. The DLP is frantically trying to generate as much sound and fury over the BLP’s internal issues because it deflects attention away from their own internal squabbles.

It also deflects attention away from the fact that they are now struggling to pay the piper for the previous three years of spending. As much as they may try to blame the BLP, the economic statistics on the current account deficit do not lie.

29. Adrian
    I don’t know much bout these people but I hear that Mia was doing what she felt like and wont respect Dale, her Deputy or the Party chairman, Payne . They got vexed and say” This woman doing she own thing and wont listen to nobody. She got to go. We thought Owen was bad but she worse……..let we go…..!!!!!! ”
    I hear they say people in her ministries when she was in government complained about her bullying and not listening. So the men could tek it no more..they called back Owen. She bring it pun she self they say. That is what I hear but nobody aint talking out loud.Best thing for she to do is keep quiet and change she attitude and come again…better ….later cause time longer then twine.

30. @My Name Is Not Sylvan

Understand your point to a degree.

You should also appreciate given the nuance of Barbados political landscape we will have public discussion on these matters. Often times where there is a void and or partisan positions it all helps to stoke the rum shop talk.

In the case of the BLP it is all the more relevant because of the unusual situation of the dirty laundry gone public with the matter under discussion.

31. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

I would never deny Bajan’s right to political discussion. However the apparent concern for Mia a by people who a few short weeks ago thought she was “the worst thing to happen to Barbadian politics” is less than convincing.

Mia has a bright future with the BLP, yes the party has issues to be resolved, however much of the public discussion has clearly been for the advancement of a political agenda that has nothing to do with wellbeing of either Mia or the BLP.

32. @ Jenny M | November 28, 2010 at 7:07 AM |

Humility and humaity you say?

I do not want to get into BLP business but as I recall, Mia Mottley was the only person in the BLP who was calling on that party to pray for PM Thompson. EVERYONE ELSE WAS WISHING THAT HE WOULD JUST DEAD, WHILE IT IS CLEAR THAT THE GANG OF FIVE OPE TO PROFIT AT HIS DEATH.

In fact, the very day THE GANG OF FIVE were ousting her, she was calling on the country to pray even more for him.

MIA MOTTLEY MIGHT HAVE BEEN OUSTED BY THE GANG OF FIVE BECAUSE THEY WANTED HER TO ASK THE THEN PM THOMPSON TO RESIGN AND TO CALL ON HIM TO SAY WHO WAS PAYING HIS MEDICAL BILL.

If Mia Mottley wanted power, she would have run for chairman of the party despite the election rigging. HOW COULD THE BLP REMOVE A WOMAN FROM OFFICE BECAUSE SHE DID NOT CUSS A PRIME MINISTER WHO WAS ILL?

33. @ My Name Is Not Sylvan | November 28, 2010 at 8:01 AM |

Tell me something: IF A MAN RIGged AN INTERNAL ELECTION TO WIN, WOULD HE BUY VOTES, either IN CASH OR WITH FOOD, EVERY WEEK, AS HAPPENS AT THE ENDING OF THE WEEK CLUB?

How much did the recent BLP election cost (in terms of cash) each candidate who was running for the post of Chairman?

34. @John
    I expect answers from the BLP; which ever camp feel tuh speak. :0

@JennyM
    Your proposal doesn’t sound like the clear and concise reason former BLP Public Relations Officer, Raquel Gilkes says was given to Mottley.

35. @Bajan Panday

You are pursuing a line which does not* make sense.

Are you saying that people who were involved in the last BLP annual conference would know of what you speak and do nothing?

36. @ Jenny M | November 28, 2010 at 9:03 AM |

Your post is froath.

GEORGE PAYNE AND THE GANG OUSTED MIA MOTTLEY BECAUSE GEORGE PAYNE SOMEHOW FEELS THAT DALE MARSHALL CAN BECOME PRIME MINISTER OF BARBADOS.

I have to agree with a post I saw somewhere else which points to Julius Caesar and those men giving a silly reason why they murdered him. The gang of five is now advancing an equally sily reason.

But the deal seems to be that Owen would get elected, serve a little time and then hand over to Dale Marshall. Can you imagine Dale Marshall becoming Prime Minister of Barbados

SO YOU SEE HOW THE COUNTRY AND THE OFFICE OF PM IS BEING ACUTIONGED OFF?

37. My Name Is Not Sylvan | November 28, 2010 at 9:47 AM | David,

I would never deny Bajanโ€™s right to political discussion. However the apparent concern for Mia a by people who a few short weeks ago thought she was โ€œthe worst thing to happen to Barbadian politicsโ€ is less than convincing.

+++++++++++++++++++

This is silly hogwash.

In a Nation newspaper/Wickham poll, Mia Mottley’s approval rating was 18%. At a time when everyone was concerned about the economy, Owen Arthur was a mere 22%.

You would think that being a 3-term PM and the only economist in Parliament, his rating should have been more than the 42% PM Thompson was.

Imagine, a rating of 18% when the country was told that Barbadians would find her unacceptable.

She did not put thousands intended as campaign contributions into her personal bank account but Barbadians were instructed to find her unacceptable.

YOU WILL NOT HAVE A POINT WITH PEOPLE WHO THINK. THAT IS ONE OF THE REASONS CBC WILL SHOW SINCKLER’S AND PM STUART’S BUDGET CONTRIBUTION, AGAIN, TODAY AT 2.

Listen BLP eveil doers and spreaders of mis-information. Owen Arthur is not the only living mortal who can manage the Barbados economy.

IN THE SPIRIT OF TRANSPARENCY, FOI, ACCOUNTABILITY, GOOD GOVERNANCE AND DEMOCRACY – PLEASE TELL THE COUNTRY WHAT IS THE REAL REASON MIA MOTTLEY WAS OUSTED BY THE GANG OF 5 AND HOW COME THEY COULD NOT GET 6 SIGNATURES?

You see why everything was done (including rigging the elections at the BLP so children who need parental consent would have voted) so Mia Mottley would not become Party chairman? Had the rank and file voted for her, Owen Arthur’s rumour that Barbadians do not find her acceptable would have been knocked down.

He would have been more humiliated that when Minister Sinckler an PM Stuart D’skinned him in the budget.

COME AND AGAIN AND THINK THIS TIME BEFORE YOU WRITE.

38. Bajan Panday wrote “MIA MOTTLEY MIGHT HAVE BEEN OUSTED BY THE GANG OF FIVE BECAUSE THEY WANTED HER TO ASK THE THEN PM THOMPSON TO RESIGN AND TO CALL ON HIM TO SAY WHO WAS PAYING HIS MEDICAL BILL…HOW COULD THE BLP REMOVE A WOMAN FROM OFFICE BECAUSE SHE DID NOT CUSS A PRIME MINISTER WHO WAS ILL?

I do not regard it as cussing to ask for a dying Prime Minister to resign. Because after all nobody in the BLP (nor the DLP) was responsible for David Th0mpson’s poor health and subsequent death. And I said before his death and reiterate now that to ask whether the taxpayers were footing PM Thompson’s medical bills was and is a legitimate question. After all Prime Ministers are only first among EQUALS and the State should NOT pay medical bills for a PM that would not be paid for a citizen EQUAL. After David THompson’s death we heard from PM Stuart that the State, that is we the taxpayers paid $85,000 USD to bring the dying PM back home. I would much rather have heard of this before my tax money was spent. There are a lot of EQUAL Bajans dying abroad and the state does NOT pay for them to come home, and indeed it should NOT do so. It woud have been cheaper if the PM had died in the abroad and his family paid to have his body shipped home. A lot of us would like to die “on the rock” but I don’t think that they State should pay $85,000 USD to grant us our dying wishes, especially not when EQUAL sick Bajans are kept on a public waiting list at the QEH for months or years (in pain) because we do not have the financial or human resources to look after them immediately. Barbados ain’t rich. We have to spend what money we have on cases where there is hope. We should NOT have squandered $85,000 USD of taxpayers money repatriating a dying Prime Minister. And I’d say this regardless of party. If Adams, Barrow, Adams, St. John, Sandiford, Arthur, or Stuart was dying overseas I’d feel the same way.

And we the taxpayers still do not know if this is the only bill that was paid without our knowledge or consent.

39. @My name is no slyvan
    [Mia has a bright future with the BLP] bright? really? how so? How long before this bright future begins to bare fruit? It is being said that Mia was given a clear and concise reason as to why she was remove. Would her future require a change of heart from those who removed her or would it require their removal from parliament? If the former is the likely scenario, how convince are they of their “reason” for acting in the first place?

40. This is why I pay certain bloggers no mind:

Adrian Hinds | October 28, 2009 at 2:59 PM |
    Mia as some sort of a leader was already rejected at the polls.
    In the last election Mia presented herself as the leader of the BLP St.Micheal team. She was fully aware the party who won the most seats in the St.Micheal cluster, went on to win the election. She talked about being a Mottley and going to bat for Bostic against Todd in the City. She was soundly rejected although buying her own victory in St.Micheal North East, as she always does. Outside of St.Micheal north east where here victories are bought and paid for she has no political currency, but Arthur does. However I do not see the BLP resolving their differences in two or three years.

41. Raquel why can’t you use your name when posting on BU? What random thoughts what. Those opinions in your piece above are the collective thoughts of the Owen, the gang of five and the Arthur Bees. This is what we get from Westminster.

42. @ Bajan Panday
    You can’ have it in the glass and the bottle too. If Owen Arthur tried moved against the Warrens building scandal, can he be hand in glove in any possible corruption too?

43. Just to prove it was consistent criticism and character assassination:

Adrian Hinds | October 31, 2009 at 1:02 AM |
    ha ha ha WIV I think you have your Islands, and politicians mixed up. That sounds like something that was rumoured to have occurred in St. Vincent. lol!

Watch the December 9th 2007 BLP nomination for St.Micheal northeast. It tells several stories. One of which is the acknowledgement by Mia Mottley of the negative perception Barbadians have of her. The BLP St. Michael team was introduce that very night and all them spoke to theme that was design to โ€œplay-upโ€ Mia feminine side. It was very obvious, and very uncomfortable for Mia. But do not take my word for it. Go to their website, look in their archives, and watch all the videos dated December 9th 2007. Was it coincidential that a very feminine sound was remade to focus on Mia. Yet to Barbadians She is not Royal, and nobodyโ€™s queen.

44. @ David | November 28, 2010 at 10:25 AM | @Bajan Panday

You are pursuing a line which does not* make sense.

Are you saying that people who were involved in the last BLP annual conference would know of what you speak and do nothing

++++++++++++++++++

The ruling faction of the BLP seems to be about cover-up. The attitude seems to be – as long as the party wins, what the heck? For Rawle Eastman, Cynthia Forde, the elders and others, there is more to it than winning. They seem to feel that Grantley Adams was about service and not just winning.

THE QUESTION IS, HOW COME YOU CAN’T HEAR ANYTHING FROM OWEN ARTHUR CONDEMING THE ELECTION RIGGING?

How can he talk about discipline when even Bees are saying that he only went to to parlaiment to get his name mark?

How can he talk about discipline when on the very day Parliament was meeting he called a political media conference at the UWI to cuss Mia Mottley and yet his approval rating was a mere 22% while hers was 18%?

After putting thousands intended for campaign contributions into his personal bank account, how can he talk about discipline. You see, that is why for the BLP – the economy is a distraction tactic.

EVERYBODY IS SUPPOSE TO FOCUS ON THE ECONOMY AND FORGET THE MESS IN THE BLP.

EVERYBODY IS SUPPOSE TO FOCUS ON THE ECONOMY AND FORGET WHY THEY really GOT RIDE OF OWEN ARTHUR A MERE TWO MONTH AGO.

45. @My Name Is Not Sylvan (whoever you are). I am who I say I am. V. Irene Sandiford-Garner. If we follow your logic, every Dem should have won their seat in 2008. I did not call for a recount at the Alleyne School on the night of January 15th. I did not snap at my supporters and tell them there was nothing to celebrate after the returning officer announced the winner of the St Andrew seat. Analyse that. As David said, the true analysis will come in due course. I said days ago to those of you who are concerned about me and the St. Andrew seat. Do not be. Flattered by your attention, but DON’T PANIC.

46. @Bajan Panday
    In Wickham’s last poll he made mention of Arthur’s dwindling political stocks as reflected in that poll. It seems Arthur saw this and agreed and made the mad dash to rescue himself by benefiting from Thompson death.

47. @ Adrian Hinds | November 28, 2010 at 10:56 AM | Raquel why canโ€™t you use your name when posting on BU? What random thoughts what. Those opinions in your piece above are the collective thoughts of the Owen, the gang of five and the Arthur Bees. This is what we get from Westminster.

I am not so sure you called it right. That sentence structure and aloofness sounds like a former BLP candidate who served in the Senate.

It is really not that difficult. Judging from her presentation on BFP, Racquel is not that measured. This person is talking down to Barbadians.

48. @ Random Thoughts

I have read you last blog and am please advise you that it is nothing short of total garbage.

I am applying to BU to remove you from the blog for a period not to exceed 1 years for your ignorant, stupid and wasteful comments.

49. @ BAJAN TRUTH | November 28, 2010 at 10:57 AM | @ You canโ€™ have it in the glass and the bottle too. If Owen Arthur tried moved against the Warrens building scandal, can he be hand in glove in any possible corruption too?
    +++++++++++++++++++

Owen Arthur needed two votes to become LOO and Political leader: George Payne and Dale Marshall. What is the tradeoff. In a Arthur win, which Ministries would they get: Housing and AG?

Do you see Gline Clarke being led by Dale Marshall or George Payne? THIS IS A TANGLE WEB. JOINED BY GREED AND DIVIDED BY HATRED FOR MIA MOTTLEY.

50. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

Bajan Panday…..

you cannot have it both ways. You at the same time espouse that Owen was power hungry and that he will hand over to Dale Marshall?

At least WIV’s arguments were consistent.